Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Orchestria Palm Court

Our player pianos make us unique! But our food makes us special. We feature rich European-influenced American dishes using things like:
- Eggs from vegetarian-fed free-range chickens, high in healthy Omega 3 fatty acids
- White whole wheat flour, a variety naturally high in fiber yet light enough for pastry
- Vegetables from local farms that are certified organic growers
- Butter, milk, and ice cream from grass-fed cattle, another Omega 3 source.

Our food is not low-fat or low-calorie, but its ingredients are healthful. The meal will leave you feeling reinvigorated, not weighed down!

27 E. William St
San Jose, CA 95112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Austrian, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Friday - Saturday 5:45pm - 9:00pm (last reservation 8:00)
Sunday 4:30pm - 8:00pm (last reservation 7:00)

Cross Street:
1st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 288-5606

Website:
http://orchestriapalmcourt.com/

Entertainment:
The Orchestria Palm Court restaurant features music from a century ago, as originally heard in a bar/restaurant - on nickelodeon player pianos. You'll find it to be a unique and charming dining environment.

Don't forget to check out the self-playing violin, masterful engineering from 1912 that still plays beautifully!

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on William St. and alongside the park on Market St.

Public Transit:
The restaurant location is three blocks south of the Paseo light rail stop. Bus stops are location on 1st and 2nd streets.

Executive Chef:
Chef Moris

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Orchestria Palm Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.9

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Authentic (10)
Cozy (9)
Fun (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Romantic (7)
Casual (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Organic (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
158 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic! I am so in love with this restaurant. I can't stop talking about it. A visual feast and wonderful step back in time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great old time atmosphere. Player pianos make for a unique experience, and the food (rib eye steak, Austrian goulash) did not disappoint. Great birthday dinner date for the wife.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great restaurant with delicious food, interesting menu, and great ambiance.
The restaurant is like a music museum: Player pianos, piano rolls, etc.
Orchestria Palm Court is great fun before or after visiting the California Theater or any time.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2017

The food is very good. The authentic historical player pianos are fascinating and the staff love to tell you about them, and set them playing for you. Very special environment. A real gem. And their soda fountain is authentic too!

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great atmosphere, locally sourced high quality ingredients and great flavors.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

What an absolutely marvelous venue! Reproducing pianos, player pianos (one with a violin), music boxes, and recording players from a century ago; an ice-cream parlor like I grew up working 50 years ago; and absolutely superb food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

I discovered Orchestria Palm Court on a Trip Advisor page showing the most romantic restaurants in the South Bay. Although I don't know if I'd describe it as romantic, the food was very good, while the service and the atmosphere were outstanding. The place is fully of player pianos and other very old musical machines. It was very enjoyable!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Easy to find location, plenty of street parking. Open only 3 nights a week, 11 tables, for 4 hours. Make reservations. We saw a lot of walk-ins who had to be turned away whilst we dined on a Saturday evening. (A few lucky ones came back and got tables!)

Soda jerk was a phenom managing cocktails and soda fountain ice cream specialties all night. The "live" music never quit with player pianos taking turns chiming out Leo Falls operettas for the month of September. Regrettably, we did not get to see the player violin perform. But we did our first time to the Orchestria Palm Court, and so we knew exactly where to celebrate my son's grandparents visiting from Canada. Everyone enjoyed the cheese plate, wine and entrees to their signature profiteroles and coffee. The chocolate malt shake was sublime. We had two between my 3 year old and myself.

Best. Rib. Eye. Ever.

Wear comfortable shoes as you'll be placing your order at the counter in the back -- but it's totally cool. You're surrounded by kitsch. They'll bring the food and drinks to your table, at the proper temperatures, and the house bread is yummy.

We totally gorged and celebrated the food , drink and company, and the following day we all felt amazing and couldn't stop talking about the experience.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

This is a great place old timey player pianos all cycling through them. Old timey fountain drink counter and shakes. Good food and a very curtesy staff, fantastic gem in San Jose.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

I decided to go to OPC for my 30th birthday, it is not easy to find things that have an antique feel to them so I was very happy to have discovered this restaurant. I used to live down the street and never saw it so you can miss it but once you're inside it's like you're not even in San Jose anymore. The restaurant is beautiful with art nouveau tapestries on the walls and little antique movie prints everywhere including the bathroom. There are self playing pianos and violins around that play as you dine, and they are a great addition! The service was fast and the food was amazing. They also have their own made to order drinks that my daughter got to indulge in. The desserts were also delicious. I wish I could go every week! It's definitely worth it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Our first time here and we were no disappointed. I couldn't wait to share our experience about the delicious food, we both had the chicken. The quaintness and uniqueness of this restaurant was very enjoyable. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Fun, Organic, Good for Groups, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The ambiance was even more than I expected. Incredible player pianos, old turn-tables, etc. Food was great and service was perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This was such a fun restaurant. We felt like we were dining inside a museum. The old phone booth, player pianos and music boxes were fun to listen to and look at. The old fashion soda fountain was a plus. You can walk around and look at all the pianos which is interesting to watch as they play. We need to go back just to have their fountain treats. Menu was small but diverse and tasty.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

What a wonderful and amazing little place this is! We discovered it as we found it was close to one of the local theaters and were very surprised at how good it was and interesting the interior is. They have all these incredible antique pieces that play music including pianos, one that plays a zylophone and one that even plays a violin! We took a friend there for her birthday and she absolutely loved it! Not too mention the food is very good the menu is small enough but still plenty of wonderful things to choose from! We look forward to going back and trying new things on the menu including some of their amazing desserts and sodas from their bar they make there with everything being organic!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

We went on a Sunday evening and there weren't too many customers but we had fun anyway. It's like eating in a player piano museum. The service was great and I really liked my meal - ribeye steak. Looks like it would be a nice place for a fountain drink - they have an old fashioned fountain with all the accessories. It was fun.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

All Organic menu and good tasting food at a reasonable price.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Service was great, the rib eye and salmon dishes were really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

This charmingly quirky restaurant is unique, in that it is filled with vintage player pianos, player violins, some with player drums, that surround the dining room and play randomly and sporadically throughout the meal. My wife and I always find it charming. The chef prepares nuanced dishes that are locally sourced and have never disappointed this foodie. In particular, their Hungarian Ghoulash is the best I've ever had, and their fish dishes are always wonderful.

Both the food and wine prices are incredibly low, and there is a strict no-tipping policy as the already low prices for the value include a 15% tip. It is our go-to place before a play at the SJ Stage - mere footsteps away- as well as City Lights Theater Co. a mere half block away.

You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We loved the theme and 1920's appliances. The costumes were wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 1, 2017

A unique experience. Delicious food, attentive service, great ambience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Casual, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We were disappointed given the prior reviews. Bread was good, main courses were very good. My wife had the Rib eye and I had the pasta. Coffee and Cappuccino were average at best. The dessert was a disappointment. We shared the Banana Split; however, they were out of strawberry ice cream and only had chocolate syrup for topping. It wasn't up to par. We will not be making a return appearance.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fun, casual dining in a small slightly "funky" restaurant with lots of old automatic music instruments. Limited menu and wine list, but good food and reasonable prices

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Not my first time here. I just love the player pianos and the diversity of them. The food is good with large portions!! I like that the menu changes! My husband tried something from the soda fountain and loved it.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Every thing about this place is great. Especially like the mechanical musical instruments.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, People Watching, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Delightful. Friendly staff. I love that the order is taken by the bar so we got to hang out at the table and talk/look around at the neat instruments.

I had the rib eye, it was soooo tender and juice/melted in my mouth. Irish creme brulee was heavenly! Must try!

This is a place to take yourself out, as well as groups :). I came for a Bachelorette dinner with 5 of my girlfriends and everyone finished our food down to the last bite. I will be back for dinner, even alone for some me-time for sure 😊 There are lots of old pianos, violin, payphone, antique posters/frames to marvel at. Truly a gem!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The setting is really fun, and the music from the player piano's, and violin, is set to play separately, so it is enjoyable to listen to the different instruments. The food was very heavy.
The salad was overdressed to the point that it was wilted. There was a lot of flour in the chowder. There was too much paprika in the goulash. My husband's mashed potatoes were very, very heavy. We were dining there on a gift certificate. I doubt it if I would go back. I might recommend it for the atmosphere, but not the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This might have been the strangest restaurant we've been to. Interior is fantastic with brick and wood. You order at the bar, which was totally fine with us. Tons of player piano's everywhere and the music transports you back in time. The food was good; not great. What really through us off was that it was fairly full but it was super quiet. I've never been in a restaurant that was this quiet. My wife and I are in our 40's and we seemed to be the youngest people in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My girlfriend and I agreed this is one of the most interesting places we've ever dined and the food was second to none. 10/10 would recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We researched this unique place before going, and it didn't disappoint. The collection of vintage player pianos and other turn-of-the-century collectibles is fascinating. And the food was surprisingly good. A few in our party thought the paprika was a little much on the meat dish, but otherwise we we all pleased. Parking is a challenge. VERY fun place to dine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Austrian Goulash was good but tasted reheated. Accompanying spietzle was over-cooked and chewy. Mashed potatoes with steak were very good but steak was so--so. Tangerine salad was very good but spicy---some wilted arugula.

Cherry Sour Phosphate was fantastic as were the Profiteroles!

Might try again but order differently. Good location for Opera and theater.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The ambiance is great, but my family of 5 had 6:30pm reservations and after we ordered were told that a large party before finished off all of the pasta, off a menu where 75% of the entrees are pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Love this restaurant. Our second time there and we will return. Very relaxing and you can easily talk over the music.

Tags: Organic, Authentic, Casual, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food is very good but the service is weird! Orders are placed with the owner at the counter. He keeps track of additional items which are also ordered at the counter - - if he isn't doing something else. The bill includes the service charge and is also paid at the counter.

The array of player pianos is interesting to see and hear. It's exciting to have the piano next to your table suddenly begin to play!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This one of a kind restaurant imediately transports you back to the 19-teens to 1920's. Between the most amazing collection of player pianos, player violins, early juke boxes, theres also the functional early 1900's popcorn maker and the fountain that serves phospates and sasparilla.

The well-crafted locovore organic food is very reasonably priced and delicious. You order at the bar and don't have to worry about tipping, because when you pay at the bar after your meal, they automatically add 15% tip; what could be easier than that?

And did I mention the very drinkable wine for $19.60 a bottle? This place is an absolute gem, and is our go-to spot before plays at both City Lights and SJ Stage, as it is situated on William almost equidistant from both theaters (but a tad closer to SJ Stage).

Try it; you'll love it and be intrigued.

Tags: People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Authentic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Casual, Organic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Unique, unlike any other restaurant you're likely to find. Quite the redolent atmosphere! A buffet for the history buff, music lover, and epicure alike.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great antique decor, unique, old school romantic atmosphere, and the food was great! Enjoyed the experience. We'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

a labor of love for wonderfully restored player pianos and other memorabilia of times gone by. Food was well prepared ,tasty and served with attention. So enjoyable to hear the various pianos playing the old tunes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Perfect spot if you're headed for the stage theatre or anywhere around that area. Not a lot of staff so you need to be patient, but the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.