Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.07mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Orchestria Palm Court

Our player pianos make us unique! But our food makes us special. We feature rich European-influenced American dishes using things like:
- Eggs from vegetarian-fed free-range chickens, high in healthy Omega 3 fatty acids
- White whole wheat flour, a variety naturally high in fiber yet light enough for pastry
- Vegetables from local farms that are certified organic growers
- Butter, milk, and ice cream from grass-fed cattle, another Omega 3 source.

Our food is not low-fat or low-calorie, but its ingredients are healthful. The meal will leave you feeling reinvigorated, not weighed down!

27 E. William St
San Jose, CA 95112
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Austrian, Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:
Friday - Saturday 5:45pm - 9:00pm (last reservation 8:00)
Sunday 4:30pm - 8:00pm (last reservation 7:00)

Cross Street:
1st Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(408) 288-5606

Website:
http://orchestriapalmcourt.com/

Entertainment:
The Orchestria Palm Court restaurant features music from a century ago, as originally heard in a bar/restaurant - on nickelodeon player pianos. You'll find it to be a unique and charming dining environment.

Don't forget to check out the self-playing violin, masterful engineering from 1912 that still plays beautifully!

Parking Details:
Street parking is available on William St. and alongside the park on Market St.

Public Transit:
The restaurant location is three blocks south of the Paseo light rail stop. Bus stops are location on 1st and 2nd streets.

Executive Chef:
Chef Moris

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Orchestria Palm Court Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.0

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (11)
Historic (10)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Authentic (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Cozy (4)
Healthy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Organic (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Casual (3)
Romantic (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (1)
Live Music (1)
Business Meals (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Delightful. Friendly staff. I love that the order is taken by the bar so we got to hang out at the table and talk/look around at the neat instruments.

I had the rib eye, it was soooo tender and juice/melted in my mouth. Irish creme brulee was heavenly! Must try!

This is a place to take yourself out, as well as groups :). I came for a Bachelorette dinner with 5 of my girlfriends and everyone finished our food down to the last bite. I will be back for dinner, even alone for some me-time for sure 😊 There are lots of old pianos, violin, payphone, antique posters/frames to marvel at. Truly a gem!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The setting is really fun, and the music from the player piano's, and violin, is set to play separately, so it is enjoyable to listen to the different instruments. The food was very heavy.
The salad was overdressed to the point that it was wilted. There was a lot of flour in the chowder. There was too much paprika in the goulash. My husband's mashed potatoes were very, very heavy. We were dining there on a gift certificate. I doubt it if I would go back. I might recommend it for the atmosphere, but not the food.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This might have been the strangest restaurant we've been to. Interior is fantastic with brick and wood. You order at the bar, which was totally fine with us. Tons of player piano's everywhere and the music transports you back in time. The food was good; not great. What really through us off was that it was fairly full but it was super quiet. I've never been in a restaurant that was this quiet. My wife and I are in our 40's and we seemed to be the youngest people in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My girlfriend and I agreed this is one of the most interesting places we've ever dined and the food was second to none. 10/10 would recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We researched this unique place before going, and it didn't disappoint. The collection of vintage player pianos and other turn-of-the-century collectibles is fascinating. And the food was surprisingly good. A few in our party thought the paprika was a little much on the meat dish, but otherwise we we all pleased. Parking is a challenge. VERY fun place to dine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Austrian Goulash was good but tasted reheated. Accompanying spietzle was over-cooked and chewy. Mashed potatoes with steak were very good but steak was so--so. Tangerine salad was very good but spicy---some wilted arugula.

Cherry Sour Phosphate was fantastic as were the Profiteroles!

Might try again but order differently. Good location for Opera and theater.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The ambiance is great, but my family of 5 had 6:30pm reservations and after we ordered were told that a large party before finished off all of the pasta, off a menu where 75% of the entrees are pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Love this restaurant. Our second time there and we will return. Very relaxing and you can easily talk over the music.

Tags: Organic, Authentic, Casual, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food is very good but the service is weird! Orders are placed with the owner at the counter. He keeps track of additional items which are also ordered at the counter - - if he isn't doing something else. The bill includes the service charge and is also paid at the counter.

The array of player pianos is interesting to see and hear. It's exciting to have the piano next to your table suddenly begin to play!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This one of a kind restaurant imediately transports you back to the 19-teens to 1920's. Between the most amazing collection of player pianos, player violins, early juke boxes, theres also the functional early 1900's popcorn maker and the fountain that serves phospates and sasparilla.

The well-crafted locovore organic food is very reasonably priced and delicious. You order at the bar and don't have to worry about tipping, because when you pay at the bar after your meal, they automatically add 15% tip; what could be easier than that?

And did I mention the very drinkable wine for $19.60 a bottle? This place is an absolute gem, and is our go-to spot before plays at both City Lights and SJ Stage, as it is situated on William almost equidistant from both theaters (but a tad closer to SJ Stage).

Try it; you'll love it and be intrigued.

Tags: People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Authentic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Casual, Organic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Unique, unlike any other restaurant you're likely to find. Quite the redolent atmosphere! A buffet for the history buff, music lover, and epicure alike.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great antique decor, unique, old school romantic atmosphere, and the food was great! Enjoyed the experience. We'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2017

a labor of love for wonderfully restored player pianos and other memorabilia of times gone by. Food was well prepared ,tasty and served with attention. So enjoyable to hear the various pianos playing the old tunes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Perfect spot if you're headed for the stage theatre or anywhere around that area. Not a lot of staff so you need to be patient, but the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great location and food but service was terrible! Need to improve to keep a good idea going!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food, fun quirky atmosphere. Ordering at the bar is kind of odd but it works. The decor is a nice touch, food was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Good food. Ambience is definitely the selling point. We enjoyed both our dishes. Service is understaffed and on the slow side, and we got there early. Ordering at the bar can cause delays, especially with desert. Tables are very close and we can easily hear the conversations next to us, so we loss a little intimacy. But a very unique place and a fun vibe. Perhaps we will return with the kids. It didn't scream *great value*, but a very unique night on the town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I hadn't done my research, so I was surprised by a number of things. The atmosphere is so wonderfully turn of the century and quirky. We loved the player pianos, including one with a player violin! We didn't realize that the wait staff don't actually take your order for food or drinks - you have to order at the bar - but that worked out just fine. They take care of everything else and are so cheerful! Our one disappointment was that they didn't have a full bar (again, lack of research), and the wine list was a bit disappointing. The menu was a little limited, but the food was really good. Two of us had the shrimp puttanesca, which was fantastic! We wanted more bread to catch every last bit of the super flavorful sauce. It's walking distance from the Civic Center and I would highly recommend it as a place to go before a concert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The ambiance at Orchestria is great and unique with it's old-fashioned theme. Lots of healthy options available on the menu at reasonable prices. The interesting thing is that you order and pay at the bar counter and also the tip is included in the meal. The only thing I would say is off is the food takes a bit longer to come out, but that may be due to the limited staff.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We were a party of 10 friends and we all loved the experience of this wonderful restaurant. It was relaxing, fun, entertaining, and very good food

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Orchestria is a novel dining experience with nostalgic character and charm. My friends, relatives, Husband and I enjoyed the food, wine and music. Everyone enjoyed their food, the pork chop and steak dishes. My Shrimp dish was a bit too salty for my taste. I have had the salmon before which was very good. Thanks Orchestria! Will return.

Tags: Healthy, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was delicious. Although there were a couple of things not available as the menu described, we were told it was because one of the main waiters had recently relocated. Hopefully by the next visit this issue will have resolved itself. Love the vibe of this place and our waiter was friendly and accommodating. Will definitely visit again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This has to be the quirkiest yet most charming restaurant in San José, with the 1920's ambiance replete with myriad vintage player pianos, player violins, player ensembles that periodically perform during one's meal.

We love not only the atmosphere, however, because the food has only become more nuanced and deftly prepared. All four of us felt that our meals were outstanding, and all were more than reasonably priced. The roasted pork loin was to die for, the Ghoulash was rich and tender, the Saltimboca was as good as we've had in North Beach, and the Scampi was delightful.

This is THE place to dine before a performance at either the SJ Stage or City Lights Theater, as it is a stone's through from both and serves up very well prepared cuisine at a price that belies the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Wonderful service, very attentive and accommodating. The food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had our office holiday party at Orchestria Palm Court. The owner/host was very cordial. He accommodated all our requirements. The restaurant does not have much wait staff, so we had to pour wine by ourselves, but it was not an issue. This was a family style dinner so we didn't mind doing it. The food was great. The restaurant has several self playing pianos which makes it a fun setting. Overall it was a great experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I'm sorry to say that I did not have the experience that others have had here. The atmosphere is, indeed, wonderful. Player pianos, player violins (?!) and an old telephone booth create a wonderful atmosphere. Strange to say that, in spite of that, it just seemed like one big cavernous room where someone decided to stick a bar and a bunch of tables. There was no warmth to the place.

You go up to the bar and give your order. I found the following problems with this. The bartender (1) is also a waiter so he is continually skipping out from the bar to help deliver food or do some chore that the waiters do. I found myself waiting about 10 minutes to order 1 soda water, as he was having problems with an order. With all the tables going up there to order food, drinks, and to pay, you could imagine the logjam that occurs periodically. I never did get my soda water from the bartender but he did pass on my request to another waiter, who promptly gave me regular water. I gave up at that point.

The waiters also didn't seem that experienced. One was delivering a dish and tilted it so far when putting it on the table that some of it slid off the plate! My chair was relatively close to an adjoining table and I don't care if a waiter accidentally hits my chair trying to squeeze by but when he doesn't get the hint and hits my chair 3 times during the evening my patience begins to run out.

My Austrian goulash was the size of an entree which the airlines serve as a meal. The menu said it was served with whole wheat spaetzle and when I didn't see any I asked my waiter if he forgot it. He said "there are a couple of noodles underneath". Oh....ok.

The taste was worse. It's made with bell peppers, onions, paprika, and organic sour cream but the paprika was so heavy that that was the only taste I could discern. It was really bad.

I won't be back. One time was enough.

Tags: Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Between the excellent service, exceptional menu, authentic early-20th-century decor, and plethora of mechanical pianos playing Roaring-20's-era ragtime hits, my date and I will definitely be back.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our group of 25 dined at Orchestria Palm Court on December 2, 2016. We had all pre-ordered our entrees. We had very little wait and our food was cooked beautifully. Mark generously allowed us to have separate checks. The evening was wonderful! Great ambience with all the player pianos! Thank you, Mark!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Loved this place, will definitely be returning. The food was delicious, and the ambiance couldn't have been better.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Healthy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The Orchestria Palm Court provides very good food in a unique and charming atmosphere. We found the player piano music to provide a pleasant accompaniment to the meal without overwhelming our conversation. The service model (used by other new restaurants in San Francisco) works well. And its proximity to the California Theater makes it a great choice before a concert or opera.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The atmosphere is unusual and fun with music from 13 player piano. They have an unusual service format - you go to the bar to order your food and they deliver. Nice for a casual dining place but for our $80 dinner for two (including a 15% added tip) it did not meet our expectations. The Hungarian goulash and roasted pork entrees were OK but not great. The thick cut of pork was dry. I was looking forward to the roasted Brussels sprouts (really) on the side but got some over cooked assorted veggies and two halves of sprouts.

They had some old-fashioned soda fountain drinks on the menu that would be fun if you were having lunch. The location is a short drive from the Trianon Hall and close to the opera.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Unique place with great food. Ordering at the counter ensures your waiter never forgets you, and the mandatory 15% tip added to the check actually saved me money!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

it was chilly on sunday evening, the night before Halloween. the player piano was striking the first notes of Danse Macabre as we entered the Orchestria Palm Court.

the mood was perfect, the ambiance rich and textured. the food was humble, fresh and delicious.

our server was attentive, helpful and kind. there is a lot of love and attention to detail in this place.

i look forward to returning again.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We love to dine here when we attend concerts at the California Theater. Just enough of a walk to work off part of a delicious meal. Unusual atmosphere, surrounded by working player pianos. Creative menu. We shared the Mesclun Lettuces Salad: red grapes, walnuts, and Humboldt Fog goat cheese, sherry vinaigrette. Good thing we shared it,a s it was a generous portion. I had the Whole Wheat Pasta with Butternut squash and mushrooms, in a sage Marsala cream sauce. Absolutely delectable. The marsala wine gave it a terrific flavor. Husband had Austrian Goulash: braised beef, whole wheat spaetzle, bell peppers, onions, paprika, organic sour cream, which he claims is as good as his mother's. Basic wine menu. Reasonable prices. Casual atmosphere,l in that you step u to the bar and place your order, which is later brought to your table. Children will be fascinated by the player pianos, but choose your table carefully, if you want to have a serious conversation during dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I love listening to the player pianos. The food and wine is above average. This is a really fun place.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Perfect place for a celebration. Great fun. Everyone in our party of 7 was delighted with the ambiance and the food. Just the right combo of music from the player pianos and periods without them that made conversation easy. The wait staff went out of it's way to be friendly and efficient. And the parking was easy--always an added bonus.

Tags: Vegan, Fun, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very good food. Fresh and nicely prepared. Good wine. The ambiance and decor is special. It's a really neat spot!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Multiple player pianos provide your dining entertainment. Food and beverage are ordered at the bar. Tipping is "forbidden" but tax and service are added when you again go to the bar to pay. The price you pay for an entree shows up on the bill as the menu price PLUS tax and service fee. The food is really good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2016

We had an outstanding meal at Orchestria Palm Court. The food was amazing (top 10 meal in SF Bay Area) and made from locally sourced vegetables and meat. The staff was attentive, friendly, and prompt. The ambiance will bring us back, too - vintage early 1900s decor and player pianos. Great for a birthday or a date night. Love it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Healthy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Historic, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.