Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.83mi
  3. Distance: 1.03mi
  4. Distance: 1.03mi

About Onotria Wine Country Cuisine

The name "Land of Vines" was given to the South of Italy upon its discovery by the Greeks, for it's great expanse of vines across its rich & fertile country sides to seaside cliffs along the coast.

Master Chef Massimo Navarretta was raised farming & making wine at its heart, the region of Campania. At "Onotria," savor the gastronomy & oenology of wine producing regions of the world.

True to a farmer's spirit, all our food products are 100% natural, hormone-free, antibiotic-free, & of the highest quality of organic & biodynamic seasonal offerings.

2831 Bristol Street
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:30pm.
Dinner: Monday - Thursday:5 pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:pm - 10:30pm, Sunday: Closed for Private Events in Our Banquet Rooms.

Cross Street:
Bear

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(714) 641-5952

Website:
http://www.onotria.com/

Catering:
Entertain in the luxury and comfort of your home or professional setting with Onotria's catering services, customized food and wine pairing events or private wine cellar showcase parties.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Massimo Navarretta

Private Party Facilities:
Whether a celebratory occasion with family and friends or a formal business lunch with clients, Onotria Wine Country Cuisine is the perfect spot for you next special event. We have two private dining rooms and can accommodate a maximum of 85 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: (877) 328-0392

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly food and wine pairing dinners featuring special guests such as winery proprietors and/or wine makers are a signature service and memorable experience. The four to seven course seasonal menues are designed by Master Chef Massimo to accentuate the featured wine selections. Presentations are made by Chef and Wine representatives throughout the course of the evening.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Onotria Wine Country Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Authentic (9)
See All
Business Meals (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Healthy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Romantic (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Private Room (3)
Organic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Cozy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
377 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Good food. A bit pricey. Tall, open volume lacks intimacy; feels a bit too IHOP. Decor helps to compensate a bit.

Very friendly server and great food. Good variety for lunch menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is a special place. Truly a chef-run experience, where each dish has plenty of character. As the name says, think of it as special Italian/classic wine country experience. It will not disappoint. I am not sure if they keep the menu the same, but the lamb chops were amazing, as was the tiramisu. That being said, I don't think thought anything was not good.

We went on a mother's day, so the service was bit slow, but understandable since there were lots of big groups. We enjoyed our waiter, whose recommendations were spot-on. Huuuge wine menu.

The location is a bit out of the 'fancy' area, but I actually think it made for a great value. I loved that sense of a 'find.'

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Food and ambiance was great. Excellent service. Owner is very passionate about the wines and very informative. Really enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

What an amazing evening. The chef and owner Massimo is truly a master of food, wine and service. Can't say enough fabulous things about his restaurant. A must experience dining event!!!
He also makes his own wine and you can order bottles to talk home. I have an 875 bottle Celler and his wine is a wonderful add it my extensive collection.
Hours flew by as we pared wine and food together in a tour of Italy through food and wine.
We will definitely be back soon!!! You should too!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Charming rustic setting. Amazing wine list with wines of all prices.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Charged $50 corkage and needed 3 requests before our waiter opened our wine. Food average at best. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Singapore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

True wine country experience in Orange County. One of my favorite restaurants in California.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Rigatoni - horrid . Had kale or some bulks=÷× in it. Claims to be Italian restaurant. Don't fall for it. . Bright in there since only 5:30. Invest in drapes. Waiter came to table and stuck his hand out to shake and greet - so weird, plus yuck! Once and out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Wonderful dinner, great experience!!! Chef very friendly and informative. We will be back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The calamari entree was excellent, and the steak also. However the ahi tuna with fresh kale was ruined having a lot of chopped raw garlic. This completely masked the flavor of the ahi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Mossimo knocks out great food consistently. Great service as well and xlnt Italian wines you won't find anywhere else.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Love Roberto! Always takes great care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was just ok. Not a great value for the quality of food. Gnocci was good and homemade. Pasta is not homemade. Drinks were expensive and sub-par. Pork chop was undercooked and one note. The seafood & fish stew was very salty. Dessert was dark chocolate truffle which was yummy, the limoncello cheesecake tasted like it had been sitting in the fridge/freezer too long and the lemon flavor was hard to find. The restaurant was practically empty at 7:30pm on a Saturday night so that should tell you something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The waiters need to have some training on customer service. I questioned them about whether the wild salmon was really fresh or wild. The waiter did not consult with the chef but just insisted it was fresh wild salmon. That is a little difficult because there aren't any wild salmon on the market for at least another month.

When one of the pasta dishes arrived it was very hard for us. It was way underdone in our view. It is possible that it was intentionally that way and was perfect. However when a customer says it is too hard just take it back and cook it softer. Instead the waiter insisted that it was perfect and was a special pasta that always stays hard. He also added that if they redid it that it would take a long time. We insisted and they came back in a very short time with a softer pasta.

I also did not find any dish that I would call outstanding of the 3 we tried. For me I have had much better fine Italian cuisine at other local restaurants and definitely better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We wanted a special restaurant to celebrate a test well taken. What we experienced were tastes much enjoyed! The lengthy and comprehensive wine was most extensive. Our appetizers could have been dinner alone. And our marvelous main courses were so much more than Italian food; it was farm to table, (look at the incredible herb and vegetable garden) and Tuscan influenced, authentic tastes that reminded us of a marvelous trip to Italy. The desserts were equally delightful. We enjoyed everything about our meal,m the service, the ambiance, and the evening.

Tags: Private Room, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 9, 2017

With a wonderful and eclectic menu and extensive wine list the experience was great.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Singapore)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This is easily the best restaurant in Orange County (for my tastes). Service is excellent and the experience is blissful - meant to bring about your memories of that time in Napa or Tuscany. You drink top quality wines, nibble on homemade dishes that you won't find elsewhere, and simply enjoy the company and ambiance. I love it here and I'll be back many more times in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Food was great as usual.
Excellent shrimp!

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Onotria Wine Country Cuisine is a little gem, a stone's throw from South Coast Plaza. We picked the restaurant based on location to Segerstrom Arts Center. It turned out to be a pleasant surprise. The food and wine were great, and the setting was spectacular.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We were a group of 6 catching dinner before a concert at Segerstrom. Everyone was pleased with the service & enjoyed their meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentines Day! First off I've been here before and had a pleasant experience, but for this dinner we just had very poor server named Russo. He seemed overwhelmed with a busy night and we were not given much attention to. I told my wife to just not let this ruin our date night. It took over half hour to get bread that other waiters had on their tables immediately. He didn't know good wine recommendations and after dinner was served he never came by to check on us till the meal was over, and I had to waive down another server who rolled his eyes because he knows this guy was lousy! On the plus side, she had pheasant for the first time and really enjoyed it, I had the risotto with jumbo prawn and it was quite savory. We will go again and hope for better service next time. Valet guys did a good job too.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Finding a place that's quiet, great service & great wine is difficult. I found this place on Yelp and have no regrets. It was a little pricey, but definitely worth it. Anything less expensive would be like going to Olive Garden. I'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food, excellent wine selection, terrific tiramisu

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

There was a special menu and it was not there normal menu for the evening. I was surprised that the food was extremely bland, the portions were very small and everything is extra.

Unfortunately, I was not impressed and would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Exceptional Experience!
Always wanted to try this restaurant and did so for my birthday.
LOVE IT!!!
Our waiter was super friendly and the restaurant has a wonderful "Country Italian" ambience.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had not been to Onotria in a while and were so glad we went! The food was fantastic and service attentive. We will definitely go back soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I visited Onotria for the first time in January, 2017 with 3 colleagues. The food was quite outstanding and the service attentive, but not obtrusive. I had the razor scallop ceviche special appetizer and the pork chop. I was surprised at how spicy the pork chop was, considering that this is an Italian restaurant, but it was excellent. Onotria has quite a large wine list, from good value to silly expensive and everything between. Highly recommended.

Tags: Spicy, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Organic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 19, 2017

This restaurant was recommended to my by an associate. I was pleasantly surprised at the ambiance and level of service. The menu was authentic and everything from the Appetizer, Soup, Salad and entrée beat our expectation. The Filet was one of the best that I had ever eaten. I would recommend this restaurant for the overall quality, service level, and value.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The waitstaff is very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The menu has a good variety to choose from, and the portion sizes are generous. The wine and cocktail selection is very good. Dessert selection is great. During my visit, I had the rigatoni, and my dinner-mates had the salmon and pork chop. All entrees were delicious. We shared a warm apple tart with vanilla ice cream for dessert and it was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We love coming here and always enjoy a delicious meal. Love the gnocchi in the marsapone truffle sauce. Amazing!! Branzino is the best-light and healthy. Calamari salad is also very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Best restaurant in Orange County. Massimo provides the freshest seasonal food prepared expertly without equal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We had a very nice dinner . Enjoy ourself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

End of Christmas Holidays and back to school

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Older customers, like us, might want to be prepared with a flashlight to use with the menu. The lighting is very low. The restaurant did not have flashlights. Good thing I had one int he car. Otherwise, it was a very nice meal.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was very tasty although overpriced. $24 for baked Fusilli is too much. But, given it is Orange County the prices were not out of line. What really sticks in your craw however is $4 for a less than one ounce of olive oil. We have eaten in Italian restaurants from Rio to Shanghai to Sydney to Capetown, and all over the United States, Canada and Italy. Not once was I ever charged for olive oil to dip my bread.

When asked about it, our server said that is because they use quality olive oil. What are the supposed to use? The dregs of the barrel? We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had reservations for 5:30 before a show at Segerstrom. Got there early and were seated immediately. Food and cocktails were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Waiter never filled our water, he seemed annoyed with us. Foodies not as good s I remember it to be. Not my most favorite experience like it's been in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our waiter Ray was phenomenal! Great service and very personable! The food was divine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Fabulous food. The service staff know how to pair the wine with the many wonderful food dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Love this place! Food, wine, and exceptional wait staff make for a wonderful evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Family Style, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.