Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Olón - Tropicana Atlantic City

OLÓN
The menu at Olón features Chef Garces’ family recipes, with a modern twist, as well as unique takes on time-honored favorites. Traditional features include steamed clams, crab cakes, jumbo fried shrimp, and surf & turf. More contemporary options include wood-fired Wagyu skirt steak, roasted chicken, jumbo gulf prawns, black bass, two-pound lobster and king crab.

BAR OLÓN
Bar Olón serves as the foundation of Olón’s extensive beverage programming, including: a custom, double-sided tap with 16 draft beer selections; 35 beers by-the-bottle; 20 wines by-the-glass; 75+ wines by the bottle and 8 hand-crafted specialty cocktails. A light food menu will also be available featuring ceviche, sandwiches and shareable small plates.

Tropicana Hotel
Brighton and The Boardwalk
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Grill

Hours of Operation:
Mon-Sunday Lunch: 11:30AM - 2:30PM
Sunday - Thursday Dinner: 5-10pm
Friday and Saturday Dinner: 5PM - 11PM
Bar Olon: 11:30am-11pm daily
Happy Hour: 4-7pm @ Bar Olon

Cross Street:
Brighton Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 340-4050

Website:
http://www.olonrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet or self-parking available.

Public Transit:
Jitney service

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Olón - Tropicana Atlantic City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Tapas (67)
Waterfront (67)
Good for a Date (62)
See All
Scenic View (58)
Fit for Foodies (55)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Special Occasion (47)
Modern Decor (40)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Romantic (35)
Bar Seating (34)
Authentic (34)
Tasting Menu (30)
Good for Groups (29)
Worth the Drive (25)
Fun (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Business Meals (19)
Hot Spot (17)
Casual (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Healthy (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Cozy (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Spicy (10)
People Watching (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Private Room (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Family Style (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great Beer (5)
Live Music (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Seasonal (2)
Live Sports (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Historic (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
131 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Birthday had a really great time. Our server was so tuned in to our needs. Great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Mixed bag. The food was delicious (we ordered several tapas) and the wait staff excellent. Unfortunately the hostess was not welcoming and the atmosphere left me cold.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and room were great. Server very friendly.
Very expensive.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Katy was our server and she was wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 7 days ago

Another great restaurant by Chef Garces!! We enjoyed Amada and were disappointed when Revel closed, but Olon brings back the wonderful flavors that we have missed!

Tags: Spicy, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Celebrated a birthday and was not disappointed. New layout and decor give a light and "beachy" ambiance. Menu was very interesting with new and different items to explore. Service was great. It's a little expensive for a regular go-to dinner but perfect for special occasions or when you want to impress your date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2017

My mother and I were visiting Atlantic City for our annual birthday/mother's day celebration. We were familiar with chef Jose Garces' other restaurants, so we decided to try Olon. I made reservations for my actual birthday in anticipation of a great experience and we were not disappointed! We each enjoyed a creative and delicious cocktail at the bar before we were sat in the oceanfront dining room. Everyone that worked there was very friendly and pleasant. Our table had a wonderful view and we were guided with our wine and food choices. Everything that we consumed was fresh, creatively done, and fun to eat. They even surprised me with a birthday song and complimentary dessert designed by a talented kitchen!! Thank you Olon for making our trip wonderful!

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mothers Day. Amazing food and Service. New brunch menu was by far so amazing and off the charts good!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Had a wonderful evening, delicious food, great conversation and excellent view of the ocean.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Really small portions. Overpriced. Food is just okey. One good thing was the guacamole. The Atlantic ocean view is nice also.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Everything about Olin was excetional,the food, the service,the ambiance. We were there for our 44th anniversary. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 8, 2017

The food was wonderful. Melinda our server was very attentive and friendly. The next visit we will try the chef's tasting menu.

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Service was great. Food was phenomenal! Recommend the Hamachi and Skirt Steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food and service were both excellent. Definite deterrent to have to walk thru the casino to get to the restaurant, the cigarette smoke was overpowering. Unfortunately, able to smell the cigarette smoke while dining, since the restaurant is open to the casino floor.
Smoke smell increased as the evening went on.
As said, excellent food, but would hesitate to return due to the cigarette smell.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Quality terrific, quantity small. Service was impeccable, Alaskan King Crab succulent, but portion was extremely small.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Once again, Chef Jose Garces does not disappoint. The food was delicious. We did the tasting menu and it was fabulous. Our waiter Cheech was the best. I would definitely request him the next time I go. This is definitely worth a trip.

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Tapas, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Service and food was great. No disappointment at all. I will recommend to all teaveling to AC

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Historic, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Waterfront, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a lovely experience at Olon for my 40th Birthday dinner, our waitress Doris was wonderful. The manager was attentive and most important the food was delicious. The menu was fun and creative. I had so many wonderful flavors in my mouth. From my Victoria Morena cocktail to the most delicious and tender Waygu Steak. The grilled skewers were so flavorful and delicious. Definitely get the guacamole and add the crab, its worth it. The restaurant is so beautifully and tastefully decorated. Really nice restaurant and away from the hustle bustle of the Havanna Towers at the Tropicana Hotel.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Fun, Modern Decor, Romantic, Hot Spot, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My wife, son, and I went to Olon for the first time and it will not be our last. The location, design and decor are superb. The food is outstanding. We enjoyed tapas , dinner and made room for dessert. Everything served was delicious. We ate in the main dining room with ocean views for every table. Outside seating is available. The bar/ lounge area is spacious with live music. We found a new favorite place. Try it? You'll love it!!

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

So glad to have Jose Garces back in AC! Restaurant is open and airy and a view of the ocean from all tables . Celebrated my 80th birthday and everyone made it special. Liz. our waitress was wonderful, explaining and recommending menu items. She was very attentive and we enjoyed talking with her. Cheese empanadas were so good as was the lobster. Lots of choices and everything is good. Perfect evening. Will be back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Wood Oven, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

A little disappointed with the restaurant. When checking in, the hostess and another employee were just standing there talking to each other...did not even acknowledge that we were standing there...and it was not even busy...we were he only ones in line. When they were finally done talking...probably a good few minutes, the hostess didn't even say hi or ask if we had reservations. She started to show us to our table and then she finally asked if we had reservations. The food was flavorful but way too salty. Our server was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food was delicious! It was so flavorful and Olon is now one of my favorite restaurants. Our server, Katy, was the absolute best. I don't think our dining experience would have been half as wonderful without her! I wish we lived closer so we could visit Olon (and Katy) every week!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The elevated gourmet complimentary "chips and salsa" were unique and unlike anything we've tasted. It was perfect for lunch- we had the fried fish plate, shrimp ceviche and wago steak sandwich with fries. Everything was delicious and had layers of flavor. Complexity of flavor, highest quality products. Wish we lived closer than 4 hours away.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great food. Great view. Great service. We initially visited for my wife's birthday. We were compelled to return the following night to try additional plates. We were not disappointed. I highly recommend this dining experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Very disappointing. We love Jose G restaurants but this food was not fresh. It tasted like it had been frozen. We told the manager

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2017

food was supurb and staff very attentive

waitress was extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful

looking forward to next visit

Tags: Waterfront, , , , ,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Brought husband for his birthday. We loved the food and the service was great. The Chef's tasting menu provided a delicious assortment from the menu. Favorites included the edamame salad, the octopus, the pork skewers and the wagyu beef.

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

As we entered the dining room, the length of it has an incredible view of the ocean. The seating is very comfortable, and you cannot hear the conversation of the neighboring tables. The service is excellent, knowledgeable, and helpful, and the food is fabulous. It is tapas, so we had many items and enjoyed every bite. You cannot go wrong with any choices on the menu. A superb evening!!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Very unique and great restaurant.Loved it ,will be returning soon !

Tags: Quick Bite, Organic, Romantic, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Cozy, Authentic, Spicy, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The crudo was excellent the entries so so. Avoid the crab legs.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The atmosphere was nice, service great and food was excellent. Meals are primarily small plate which is perfect for couples who want to try multiple dishes. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

A new favorite at the shore. Clearly a cut above most alternatives. Mostly seafood though enough meat and poultry to satisfy everyone.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We dined at Olon and I can say the food was excellent. If you enjoy sharing plates and the Tapas Olon is just the place. We had the Wagu beef carpaccio and the Guacamole Olan as appetizers, both were excellent. We shared the Prawn Anticucho, fantastic flavors, Yucca fries with rocoto aioli, as well as the braised chicken empanadas and the spinach empanadas. We like the spinach empanadas more, but the chicken was still very tasty. Nice wine selection and price range. Just a wonderful meal and pleasant dining experience

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our meal at Oloń was the best meal we have ever had in Atlantic City. At first glance ordering from the unfamiliar menu selection seemed challenging, especially with our different likes/dislikes of food. But with the help of our wonderful server,Cindy, we were able to find a selection to please us both. Each of her suggestions including wine and dessert were perfect. We wouldn't have enjoyed the food as much without her guidance. We left satisfied and happy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Waterfront, Casual, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was great. Request Cheech as your server, he is amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Good for a Date, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Took mom for her 88th birthday as we were staying at the Tropicana. Loved Olon!! The food was outstanding. I had made a request thru Open Table that it was moms 88th and I would appreciate a table with a nice waterview. Not only did they do that, mom was wished a Happy Birthday by the hostess who seated us and our server Barbara put a candle on moms dessert. I never mentioned moms birthday when we arrived for our reservation, so this shows that they do read our comments when making a reservation !!! Olon may be viewed as pricey by some, but was well beyond worth it. You can also just have drinks and a wide selection of tapas. Mom had the Lamb Chops and I had the Wagu Skirt Steak. They were phenomenal !! If your in Atlantic City, its a must !!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

It really seems that every seat has an ocean view. That being said, our waiter, Cheech, was very knowledgeable about the tapas menu. We tried all sorts of things and everything was delish!

Tags: Tapas, Waterfront, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 26, 2017

A must visit when you are in AC! Fablious food and service with a view of the ocean.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My boyfriend took me to Olon for my birthday the food was phenomenal! Make sure you try the fish!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Amazing view & great food !!
Great wine choices !!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.