Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

About Olive and June

A southern Italian restaurant by Chef Shawn Cirkiel of parkside & the backspace, and bullfight. Serving shareable plates, daily homemade pastas, entrées grilled over Texas oak, contorni, Italian dolci and the largest list of Italian wine, amari, and grappa in the city. Olive and June reserves a portion of seating for walk-in guests each night. Seating is done on a first-come, first serve basis. All parties must be complete before being seated.

3411 Glenview Ave
Austin, TX 78703
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Bar open at 4:30p. Dinner service starts at 5:00p. Happy Hour Monday-Friday until 6:30 pm- featuring 1/2 Shared Plates, beer, and liquor... available in the whole restaurant. Sunday night, in addition to our regular menu, we offer a $36 three course prix fixe sunday dinner menu.

Cross Street:
35th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 467-9898

Website:
http://www.oliveandjune-austin.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Shawn Cirkiel & Brian Moses

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining space options available indoor and outdoor for 8-150 people.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Guelli: (512) 467-9898

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
olive & june has many private dining options, from smaller groups of 12 up to 100. please email events@oliveandjune-austin.com for availability & pricing!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Olive and June Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (51)
Romantic (49)
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
See All
Special Occasion (36)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Cozy (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Happy Hour (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Authentic (11)
Modern Decor (10)
Business Meals (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fun (8)
Scenic View (7)
Casual (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Family Style (4)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Tapas (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Private Room (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Historic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1192 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Dined on a Saturday night. The hosts sent us to the bar for a drink before seating us at the table which is oddly located on the second level (stairs on the outside). Atmosphere was very romantic and relaxing. Bar was underwhelming. We ordered the Lamb ravioli and the taste was amazing but the portion size was much smaller than let on. There were two of us and we were splitting plates. The special pork ribs were literally falling off the bone and probably the highlight of our experience. Also ordered the Calimari fritti and nothing to write home about. Over all good experience. Just don't go there hungry

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

Not impressed. Overpriced. We had to eat after this meal.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

Quality ingredients in well prepared dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was delicious, and the drink list features a lot of interesting herbal and bitter liqueurs, which are used in their specialty cocktails as well. The waitress made some excellent recommendations, and my food was perfect from starter to gelato. Highly recommend!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Pork belly horrible. Everything else was great. ........................................................................

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Not our Favorite experience at Olive and June. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our server was great but the three different entrees we tried were all pretty mediocre at best. The crostini starter was the tastiest thing we had.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was tasty, but overpriced. I've had better quail for considerably less, but the flavor of most courses was pretty good. Desert wasn't appealing, and we had a little of everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Painfully slow service and cold food. Too many other good choices in Austin to waste time/money at Olive & June

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 30, 2017

It was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Romantic, yet casual, and very Austin. The food is easily the highlight, with its emphasis on Italian dishes remade with local ingredients, although the restaurant also has an impressive wine list. Cozy and intimate, friendly and helpful waiters, and some of the best food in Austin make for a great fancy date night.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I would like to see a broader selection of entrees. I'm a meat eater, and meatballs and New York Sirloin are pretty limited options.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This doesn't happen to me very often so I am unsure if it was normal. When the waiter asked us "how's the food" we were honest which is hard for me because awkward situations make me want to run and hid. We said that one of our dishes was Bad and then the waitress said absolutely nothing finished filling our water glass and walked away. It is safe to say that she did not care at all how our meal was and the only thing that confuses me is why she asked in the first place. I'll eat there again someday but the restaurant will probably have a different name. Oh yeah the best service we got was from the valet, they should offer him a job waiting tables.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Selected this dining experience for rare family get together to eat outside on patio.
On arrival told that another larger group had preference and we had to eat inside.
Sorry, but we were quite disappointed by the over-fussy rather pretentious version of Italian cooking. The risotto in particular was so stuffed with cheese as to be unpalatable.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The service was great and the bartender was very attentive, but most at the table were underwhelmed with their food orders and dessert was a train wreck. How can you mess up dessert? The two appetizers, pork meatballs and calamari were very good. Went nicely with the homemade bread served as we sat down. We all agreed it may have been better to order all the small plates and share. Overall disappointing because of the many good reviews. If not for our very likable waiter the evening would have been ...not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great service. Kimberly made very astute recommendations. Very prompt.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We come here every time we visit Austin and it never disappoints. Joseph, the sommelier, was very helpful and we appreciated his thoughts on our wine selection. Service was great as was the meal.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We went twice in one week we loved it so much!
MUCH different than the usual Italian fare. VERY creative menu, fresh food, excellent drinks, superb atmosphere...highly recommend!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Food was awesome. We had the risotto with a poached egg and mushrooms. Highly recommend it. Also we the meatballs were excellent. We had the pasta with pomodoro and it was outstanding. Very nice atmosphere and somewhat expensive but definitely worth it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We do not take advantage of this place enough. We had great friends with us before going to Phantom. We were well accommodated. We enjoyed the waiter who was able to speak with experience about Austrian wines with our guests. His food recommendations were spot on. I am also happy to see this place "jumping" on a Thursday night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I had done lots of research on Easter brunch options while visiting Austin. I selected this location because it had an Easter brunch plus menu service noted. When seated at the restaurant I had asked where the other menu was in addition to brunch the server quickly said we're only doing the brunch menu. I had asked that because we were vegetarians if they could do some accommodation with making a vegetarian option from the items and the server went to check in the kitchen. She came back and said they could not do any accommodation and that also the menu that was referenced it was only going to be served for dinner. We said that that point we were going to leave and when we said that the server went to take our water glasses immediately. No apology no anything was said so we left. It left us in a bind on trying to find a place for brunch on a Easter Sunday but to the rescue was Chez Zee. We called and the told us they would put us on the list then to help accommodate us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Server Adam, was attentive as it was our first dining experience in this beautiful restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We've been to this restaurant several times and it's one of our favorites in town. I'm hoping we had a one time unlucky experience with service. Our server forgot about us for 30 minutes after we ordered an appetizer and one drink. We had to ask the hostess for his attention to order dinner. We had good service after the hostess helped out, but our overall experience was not good.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Absolutely delicious! The atmosphere is unique and pleasant. The staff are wonderful and the food is the right size portion, perfectly cooked and plated with appropriate levels of spice.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I had read fairly good reviews for your restaurant and chose it for a date night with my husband. The location and wait staff were terrific. I loved the comfortable of the booth where my husband and I were seated and looking out at the patio. Our server knew the menu well and explained everything to our satisfaction. Feeling pleased with our selections, we couldn't wait to enjoy a great meal. The server brought out a tray with sourdough bread which was cold and quite hard. I enjoy a warm slice of sourdough so that was the first disappointment. The second strike was the cold salad that just seemed unremarkable and a bit limp. My main course was your beet ravioli dish. It was somewhat enjoyable, but needed more walnuts for the serving size. Without the difference in texture and taste, it became a bit unappealing. My husband's pasta dish was a bit more bland, so we shared mine. I hope this assists you as you continue to improve upon the selections given the setting is quiet and relaxing if seated before the weekend dinner rush.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My very opinionated husband was pleased with all our dishes, so it must be good. lol

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Overpriced and overrated. The shared plates were good, but the salad was so salty it was inedible and the risotto was disappointing. We were seated inside in the downstairs dining room, which took me back to our friends' basements circa 1978. The linoleum was definitely circa 1970's. Perhaps outdoor dining is more enjoyable. We won't be returning to find out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food and vibes

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I ask my girlfriend to marry my and she said yes. It was a great evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We (my husband and I) went to Olive & June to check it out if this is the good place for a rehearsal dinner. We will have a small family gathering, and yes, this is very a nice place for this occasion. Staff were friendly and food was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 24, 2017

My husband and I rarely get a night out to ourselves but we're on a date and really enjoyed our time at Olive and June. The drinks were good and strong. Our server, Kim, was outstanding. She delivered excellent service while smiling the whole time. She was also very knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I love this place on a nice evening. It has a great atmosphere and generally good service. I'm told the specialty drinks are good - but as a wine drinker I tend to stick with that. The wine selection is adequate. I have not been disappointed with the small plates and recently branched out to try the entrees. While the food is not foodie fantastic, it is good and reliable. The noise level outside is pleasant, and I am hyper-sensitive to loud noise. This is one of our go to places to meet friends for a drink and small bite.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 21, 2017

My husband's birthday dinner was excellent. The meal was excellent. The best part were Adam's handcrafted drinks. He made a mocktail and an apertif off the menu that were fabulous and I couldn't drink the Greek 57 fast enough. Wonderful evening!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food is good and perfect for a romantic dinner! Order the pork meatballs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had family in-town and ordered from the family table menu. It was absolutely delicious and more than enough food. The servers were fantastic as usual.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 17, 2017

It's a little to pricey for us, but the food presentation is definitely excellent. My husband had the lamb, which was unique and tasted great and was tender. I had the special pasta. It's ok. I think the sharables/appetizers would be better. So go during happy hour.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Another great meal. Excellent wine rec from the sommelier as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food was quite good! All courses! The cocktails we had before dinner were unique and fun. The only thing I noticed, (although it wasn't a big deal) was how long our meal took from start to finish was close to 3 hours. The bartender hand picked a selection of digestifs that were the perfect finish to our meal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Outstanding service and menu tour. Perfect timing and preparation. First class establishment that will be frequented often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Nice looking restaurant, and friendly staff. The food was pretty overpriced for what it was. They made the plates look pretty enough, but ultimately it's quite simple food with mediocre cooking. Our $9 potatoes were very undercooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.