About Olive and June

3411 Glenview Ave
Austin, TX 78703
View Larger Map

A southern Italian restaurant by Chef Shawn Cirkiel of parkside & the backspace, and bullfight. Serving shareable plates, daily homemade pastas, entrées grilled over Texas oak, contorni, Italian dolci and the largest list of Italian wine, amari, and grappa in the city. Olive and June reserves a portion of seating for walk-in guests each night. Seating is done on a first-come, first serve basis. All parties must be complete before being seated.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Bar open at 4:30p. Dinner service starts at 5:00p. Happy Hour Monday-Friday until 6:30 pm- featuring 1/2 Shared Plates, beer, and liquor... available in the whole restaurant. Sunday night, in addition to our regular menu, we offer a $36 three course prix fixe sunday dinner menu.

Cross Street:
38 1/2th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 467-9898

Website:
http://www.oliveandjune-austin.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Shawn Cirkiel & Brian Moses

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining space options available indoor and outdoor for 8-150 people.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Guelli: (512) 467-9898

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
olive & june has many private dining options, from smaller groups of 12 up to 100. please email events@oliveandjune-austin.com for availability & pricing!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Olive and June Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (38)
Romantic (34)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
See All
Special Occasion (28)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Notable Wine List (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Cozy (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Authentic (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Business Meals (9)
Fun (9)
Modern Decor (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Tapas (6)
Family Style (6)
Casual (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Scenic View (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
People Watching (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Organic (3)
Private Room (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Historic (3)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1140 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome food and great service. Our serv ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome food and great service. Our server was knowledgeable about the menu, and our drinks were fantastic m!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Modern Decor, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place never disappoints. Beautiful ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 2 days ago

This place never disappoints. Beautiful and delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, excellent service. Romanti ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food, excellent service. Romantic ambience. Went their for first time on Valentine/ Anniversary day and they made it more special day for me.super like

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed the food and ambiance but ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Really enjoyed the food and ambiance but the service was outstanding. He really listened and made great suggestions. Didn't over-sell.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent pasta dishes. Highly recommen ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent pasta dishes. Highly recommend the pasta tasting menu. First three courses were AMAZING. The last two I was too full to appreciate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My Boyfriend and I dined at Olive&June S ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My Boyfriend and I dined at Olive&June Saturday night for our Valentine dinner. We had the Anniversary pasta tasting menu. Everything was delightful. Our server, Nicole, was attentive and so nice. We have also been several evenings for Happy Hour - Which is amazing! Olive&June is quickly becoming one of our Austin Favorites. Happy 5th Anniversary, Olive&June!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and ambience as usual. This h ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food and ambience as usual. This has become our go-to anniversary spot and it never disappoints.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely, quaint spot. The food is expertl ...

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Lovely, quaint spot. The food is expertly prepared and everything was delicious. The only negative was that most dishes have similar notes. I ordered the three course tasting menu which I thought would be varied in flavors and textures. While all were yummy, they were also all creamy and all pastas. An acid or tomato based dis or a vegetable or meat would have helped balance the experience. We will recommend and will likely return. Very attentive servers.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our second great meal here. We ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

This was our second great meal here. We only eat on the patio here- I have heard the interior experience is not nearly as special and can be noisy. Our starter of frito misto was light and flavorful. My bucatini was spicy and delicious. Another's lamb ragout was the table winner. Great food in a lovely spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Only issue was that main black drum port ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Only issue was that main black drum portion was too small but food overall was amazing. Loved the Brussels and the Risotto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation for 7 and indicated ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I made a reservation for 7 and indicated that it was my husband's birthday and that it was our first time dining there. When we arrived at 6:30 there were many large tables set up. They sat us at a long table perpendicular to the hostess stand and the front door leaving more intimate, comfortable tables open. It was breezy and every single person that walked in after us came with a gust of cold wind and a conversation with the hostess. I just felt like we were right in the way. I did not ask to move, but I should have. I wish they had been more considerate of the special occasion. If it was a table of 4 friends out to dinner, I wouldn't have minded being sat in that high traffic area as much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Decent craft cocktails, great wine list ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Decent craft cocktails, great wine list by the bottle (limited by the glass), artisanal Italian food with Paleo-friendly dishes, great atmosphere, good service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First, the food is great italian, for Au ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

First, the food is great italian, for Austin. It's fairly pricy for what it is, but not extreme. The portion sizes of the pasta dishes could have been better, though the pasta was cooked quite well. It's worth a shot.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

This is a great restaurant! The wait st ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This is a great restaurant! The wait staff know the food and wine they are serving. The home made pasta is excellent and served perfect Al Dente to fully appreciate it's flavor and quality. Have not been disappointed by the service or the food. A fun place to return to, and bring good friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent properly prepared food. Delici ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent properly prepared food. Delicious desserts.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As vegetarians, we weren't left with man ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

As vegetarians, we weren't left with many options in the Per La Tavola (appetizer section), in fact, we only had one. Besides that, the Farmhouse Egg with Polenta was amazing, as was the Ravioli. Fun fact: we didn't see a single tomato mentioned on the menu. The dessert we got (a chocolate tart with poached peach) was to die for. That dessert made up for the lack of appetizers!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic and the service e ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was fantastic and the service even better. All of the staff was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Plates are small but excellent, there wa ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Plates are small but excellent, there was room for desert :-)

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

One of our more favorite restaurants in ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 22, 2017

One of our more favorite restaurants in Austin, but had been a few years since our last trip. Feel like the menu used to have more choices for small bites to try multiple options to split.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Lots to like here - excellent service an ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Lots to like here - excellent service and good food. Nice atmosphere, both inside and outside dining. We tried the polenta with egg and mushrooms which was delicious, the butternut squash, pear, and arugula salad was another nice combination of flavors. The black drum fish entree was very tasty as well as the ravioli. My dining partner added the pork meatballs to his ravioli and they were really good. The sorbet for dessert was yummy too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I dine quite often around to ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My wife and I dine quite often around town. It has been awhile since a restaurant has gone above expectations. The dishes we had were so thought out. Nothing frivolous or nonessential. Each component was delicious and everything worked. The linguine Nero was by far the best squid ink pasta we ever eaten in Austin. Great Job!!!!!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time. The person who ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We had a wonderful time. The person who served us was humorous and smart. The food is very refined. I went two days ago and already recommended to three friends.

Tags: Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been going to O&J for some time no ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We've been going to O&J for some time now and love it. I took my brother and his wife for a special birthday celebration and it was one of the best dining experiences that we've ever had. The food and service are consistently top shelf.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! Great waiter. Great food. ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent! Great waiter. Great food. We will be back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for a birthday with a large group. ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Went for a birthday with a large group. They were very accommodating with seating arrangements and reservations even through last minute. All in all nice outdoor/indoor seating, good food. A little difficult to parse menu wise according to some. On the pricey side. Good drinks / bar.

When you have 9 or more you have the option to order courses from a pre fixe menu for 39 bucks a person. Can be hard with that many people to do so we opted out. But seems like a good option if you have people who have the same tastes.

We had cocktails before hand which were all very good and got compliments all around. The bar staff was very nice. Average price for an upper scale dining place l, 9-12 bucks.

Service in the dining room was ok. Our server was nice, but didn't know much detail about the menu. That normally isn't a big deal but more than one person we're confused about how certain dishes came out and vegetarians who had questions and she wasn't aware. She didn't explain the family style stuff, only to one person so that also made for some confusion. On the plus side she was very attentive to drinks and to making sure everyone was comfortable. They asked to take bags and some birthday flowers to the office for us which was very helpful!

The portions are modest, which I think was good here. I recommend grabbing a few sides to share. They're delicious (kale and Brussels sprouts were great) and good compliments to the dinner portions.

We sat inside but the tented outdoor patio and second floor bar looked like very good places to sit, all in all, great ambience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

It's always an awesome experience when I ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 12, 2017

It's always an awesome experience when I go here. The chef changes the menu often but the staff is very knowledgeable of the menu and is able to make great suggestions. Food is amazing and drinks are great. Definitely this is a place to try in Austin.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the server was very good and informative ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

the server was very good and informative. The food was very good. Portions were just the right size. italian food, but different from your normal italian restaurant. different drink cocktails than you'd normally see.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE THIS PLACE! ALL DELISH! Can't wait ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

LOVE THIS PLACE! ALL DELISH! Can't wait to visit Austin again and enjoy another great meal here.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time for our anniversary her ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Had a great time for our anniversary here! The food was wonderful and our waiter was awesome. Will definitely be returning!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for NYE dinner. Was not blown away ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for NYE dinner. Was not blown away by any of the food options and for the price we paid ($90/person) for the NYE special, I expected to have a great dinner. Out of the 6 of us, none of us really enjoyed this 5 course meal. Even the desserts were disappointing which is usually hard to do

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

This was the 4th year our family has cel ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was the 4th year our family has celebrated New Year's Eve at Olive & June. Exceptional food and service. We will be back again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

$90 per person was total rip off. waitre ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

$90 per person was total rip off. waitress herself thought menu was very hard to understand.

very frustrated in food quality and lack of value

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Very good service. Waiter made the eveni ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very good service. Waiter made the evening. Food creative and well executed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Horrible service with drinks not deliver ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Horrible service with drinks not delivered on time, waiter was told there was a birthday and promised a freer desert with candle---never happened. We reserved days in advance and were seated by the front door on a cold night. When we made a remark all they said was "yes it is cold isn't it?". The waiter was awkward and when I chose the least expensive wine on the menu he made a comment about the low cost. Awkward x 10. The food was pretty good but overall the restaurant left me with a bad taste in my mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

Great service and good place to spend qu ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great service and good place to spend quality time with special someone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Organic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service and on the spot recommenda ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great service and on the spot recommendations. Not rushed and relaxed atmosphere. Sommelier extremely knowledgeable but not ostentatious. Have been here on several occasions and it has always been perfect

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Place was great!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Place was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Cozy atmosphere, good food, great servic ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Cozy atmosphere, good food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server, Bryn, was outstanding. Epit ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Our server, Bryn, was outstanding. Epitome of a perfect server. Knowledgeable on the menu, not overly attentive like most servers but checked up on us often enough. Made us feel very welcome.

Food was also great, my wife and I had a great date night. I know this isn't much of a place to go for beer, we're more beer people than wine or cocktail, but still would like a slightly larger beer menu. But that didn't take away from our great night. We will have to return on a warmer day (temp was about 40 degrees) when we can sit outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything we ordered was delicious! Win ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious! Wine, apps, pastas, desserts. Service was excellent! We will definately go back!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.