Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.79mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

About Olive and June

Olive & June is a Southern Italian restaurant by Chef Shawn Cirkiel of Parkside Projects.
In celebration of both the cuisine and culture of Southern Italy, all pastas are made in-house and every dish focuses on locally-sourced vegetables and meats. In addition to our regular dinner menu, inventive features meant to be shared by the whole table are also offered daily.
Olive & June's beverage program features Italian-inspired cocktails that rotate seasonally, and also includes the largest and most diverse selection of Italian wine, Amari and Grappa in Austin.

Reservations are recommended, but we always reserve space for walk-ins.
If your desired reservation time is unavailable online, please contact us directly and we may be able to accommodate!

Olive & June is a part of the Parkside Projects company, which also includes Parkside, The Backspace, Bullfight & 800 Congress.

Complimentary valet parking is offered daily.

3411 Glenview Ave
Austin, TX 78703
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Our Bar opens daily at 4:30pm.
Dinner Service begins at 5:00pm.

Happy Hour: half off beer, cocktails and share plates / Monday thru Friday until 6:30pm.

Sunday Dinner: Every Sunday evening we offer a 3-course family-style dinner for $38/person (in addition to our regular dinner menu).

Mezzo Mondays: Half off wines by-the-glass all night.

Cross Street:
35th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 467-9898

Website:
http://www.oliveandjune-austin.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Shawn Cirkiel & Brian Moses

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Olive & June has many private dining options, and can accommodate intimate gatherings to groups of over 100.

For availability & pricing, please contact Olive and June - Austin directly.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Olive and June Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Romantic (27)
Special Occasion (25)
See All
Creative Cuisine (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Cozy (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Authentic (8)
Fun (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Seasonal (6)
Business Meals (5)
Casual (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Scenic View (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Healthy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1282 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

The food is always good, but the wine list is bad. It’s a bunch of $10 bottles that you never heard of and will never see again. Use a wine app and you will see what I mean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Overall I would say average. Food and drinks were okay but the $160 tab for two was certainly not justified. Service was typical for Austin fine dining---unpolished and not professional. Unfortunate to spend this much money and have this level of service but typical for Austin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Very cool venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Love the downstairs patio but when that is full you are stuck upstairs at the bar or on the non-serviced patio. All of the upstairs is falling apart. The vents and fans drip condensation, doors don't open and shut well and it smells damp. Love the cheese board and the bartender was very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 4, 2017

First time diner. Booke Olive and June for a business dinner with a client. The food and service were excellent. The room was bustling and a little noisy for a business conversation.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 4, 2017

The food was outstanding. --unique without trying so hard to be "unique that flavors become unrecognizable. I had the sweet potato side, pork ball appetizer, and a lemon tart for dessert. I was pleased that the portions were not "tastes," but plentiful. My husband's pasta was excellent as well.
The limoncello cocktails were exceptional-fresh and very tart with a nice presentation in a classic coupe glass.

Our server was efficient, but a bit brusque and cold.I asked for the dessert menu before i ordered my other courses, and she looked as if this was an imposition. When I ordered an appetizer, a side and a dessert, she said the sweet potatoes were usually just a side, looked at me expectantly, and looked disappointed. As it was a special occasion, I wanted to choose my dinner around my dessert--she could have been cheerful and helpful with this, rather than look like we were barely worth her time.

I would go again, but avoid this server.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Perfect spot to eat outside when the weather cools down. Get there early for a cocktail in the bar. Good food outside of downtown.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Love this place. It was a great place to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We've been here several times since this establishment opened. We've both family and friends here. We've celebrated a birthday and an anniversary here.

We had not been here since March of this year. We believe there has been a change in the kitchen staff. The food was nothing like we had before.

I ordered the fusilli, which is made in house, our server suggested adding a protein such as chicken; so I did.

The pasta was over cooked and the chicken was overly salted. I am one to over salt most of my food; however I gave some to my husband and he agreed it was too salty.

I left most of the chicken in the plate. I suggested to our server that he let his chef know that they chicken was very salty, I didn't even mention the over cooked fusilli.

We believe the previous great meals we have had here were under the helm of a different chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 30, 2017

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed everything about our evening at Olive and June. The food was outstanding and the service was one of a kind. The waiter also did a great job recommending his favorites. That was super helpful to us. We will definitely return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Appetizers and the main dishes were fantastic!
Wine selection was great as well!
Desserts however - not so much.
I will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 29, 2017

I was with a party of 10, our reservations were at 6 and we were all on time. The early reservation was to accommodate an 8pm engagement. Our waiter finally came at 6:20, took our drink orders then left again for 15 minutes. No drinks. He took our order, the champagne finally came at 7, and 4 out of the 10 food orders were wrong. They gladly remade the meals, but no apology. There were 2 veggie side options, both fried. The entree's were definitely tasty, but we were all so stressed about the slow attention we could not enjoy our dinner. We were late to our 8pm appointment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent meal with our friends. Our server provided us with a "surprise" appetizer and the balance of the dishes were timed perfectly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 18, 2017

That Farmhouse Egg was maybe the best thing I have ever put in my mouth!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

I loved it, bothered that they were out of calamari, but I would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great neighborhood find. Food was outstanding. Unique flavors with options to share

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 15, 2017

This multi-level hot spot with Italian flair was imaginative and fun. It was not your Mama's Italian (spaghetti, fettuccine, etc.). The outdoor patio was lovely except for the "vigorous" misters. Each course was gourmet and beautifully plated and served. The wait staff was friendly and helpful. By-the-glass wine list was sparse but by-the-bottle was expansive. Free valet parking was a bonus.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We do not visit Olive&June as often a we would like and always have a wonderful time. This recent visit was no exception. In fact, everything was exceptional! Drinks with Alex and Adam at the bar was fun. Dinner with Alexandra was delightful. All of our food and drinks were sublime. Thanks, Joseph for making our evening extra special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great menu and always a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Incredible handmade pasta and service to match! I can't convey how perfect the dishes were and the chef put together an exquisite menu that we will remember for a long time! The bar created a cocktail just for us and made our experience so fun!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Used to be one of our favorites . Last time we ordered a bottle of wine and it came almost 30 minutes later!
Waiter acted odd. Too bad love the pasta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The ambiance is nice especially sitting outside. Service was good, attentive without being overbearing , wine steward knowledgeable and picked up queues relating to price point. The food was okay, nothing that I would return for, win list very expensive and limited options under 60.

Overall felt it was overpriced for what you got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Still my favorite restaurant in Austin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 2, 2017

I used to love Olive & June when there was no way to go wrong on the menu and the service was excellent.

This time, our server was somewhat absent-minded and impatient. I understand that it's not a glamorous job, but this restaurant should be a cut above, and expect more from its staff, as it has in the past.

The food was also a mixed bag, with a special (Spinach Rigatoni) being nearly inedible. The pieces of dried matter on top tasted like paint and construction debris. It was also supposed to come with sausage, and there was none. They took it off the bill and replaced it with another dish, but suffice to say that the old days of a magical dining experience were a bit shattered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Incredible food, great service and wonderful cocktails. Food is fresh and flavorful! Such a good experience and we'll come back again soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 31, 2017

The server was too frequently absent and seemed indifferent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We have been several times and it is always excellent!Great cocktails and creative menu. Great service, too! One of our favorites!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Out waitress, Maggie, was a dream! She was absolutely attentive and very helpful when it came to picking out our group's meal. The overall atmosphere was perfect for our occasion, and the birthday girl raved about the food for days after the event.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Olive and June is my favorite restaurant in Austin. Fantastic food and knowledgeable staff. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 19, 2017

It was a great date night. The atmosphere is warm and relaxed. The waiter was great, very attentive without hovering.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

We went here for my daughter's 18th birthday. Perfect place to celebrate with friends. We shared several appetizers that were absolutely amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Staff was brusque and annoyed. Service was amazingly slow. Meal was mediocre at best. This place used to be great. Sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 15, 2017

One of the best Italian meals I've had, period. Certainly the best Italian I've had in Austin. The breadth of Italian wines far surpassed my expectations and the service staff perfectly articulated and matched wines similar to what I wanted.

Best way to makes your way through the menu is to not miss out on the more seasonal/limited items and double-up on the pastas (this is in light of sharing with others).

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

With a severe nut allergy our server gave me confidence in all dishes ordered. Food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I've been here several times and have had mostly good experiences. The waitress on this occasion was terrible. She had very little knowledge of the menu and seemed to be put out with having to wait on our table. She never returned to refill glasses. Unfortunately, the lamb steak was mostly fat, seemed like a low-end cut of meat. I really like this place and have a good history, so I'll give them another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was amazing but the service was exceptionally bad. I expect a level of cleanliness from the waitstaff and was totally grossed out by the dirty shirt of our server. The huge flower arrangement on our table was full of wilted flowers. Nothing says happy birthday quite like dead flowers. It took close to 20 minutes for our second bottle of wine to arrive and there was no explanation for the delay. We were asked if we wanted dessert but were never offered dessert menus. So after another 15 minutes we asked for the manager and the check. Even that took way longer than it should've, especially considering the restaurant was not at capacity. I hope this was just a single bad night as the food is always so delicious but I won't celebrate a special event at Olive and June again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The waitstaff was amazing. Samantha provided amazing service. Everything was overpriced. The brussel sprouts were amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 11, 2017

This feels like the Southpark episode with all the Yelp reviews, but honestly feel like I need to dish on this place. I used to love Olive and June. By far my favorite restaurant. I've traveled to Austin to eat here....with that said, this last experience was HORRIBLE. I haven't been in a year, but swear I'll NEVER be back. #1 I live in Dallas- I'm pretentious as they come & somehow got stuck upstairs. God bless, didn't even know they had an upstairs. This is where they put the people that are under dressed. My dad has on sandals- come on. It's Austin. Give me a break, you literally celebrate Eeyore's birthday. #2 the food was poor. I'm a terrible cook and could probably figure out a way to cook ravioli better than this. Are they priced reasonable? For the food? For sure. I'd say, I have spent 90% of my money at Olive & June on wine and this time I didn't even feel it necessary to purchase wine. Gonna have an underdressed section? Clean your AC vents. Literally moldy & don't try to pass off your reject food as the quality sh** you serve downstairs. I had better food on Lake Austin- the dead carp I saw floating would have been more palatable. Thanks Olive & June for ruining what would have been a wonderful dinner and wine and a nice time to catch up with my pops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed dining at O&J Our dishes were well prepared and the perfect size - not too huge as often the case here in ATX. Nice flavors. Service was perfect from start to finish: our server had perfect timing, we never waited a second for a thing. This is now one of our go to restaurants in ATX.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Was on our "bucket" list of Austin restaurants to try and received a gift certificate from our daughter. Early dinner so can't comment on when it's full. Very quiet and quick service. Waiter and rest of staff polite, professional and knowledgeable about food and wine selection. Food was very good and some interesting plates.
Definitely on the list for repeat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.