Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston

The Oceanaire provides the perfect setting to enjoy Ultra-Fresh seafood, flown in daily from around the world. Sip a cocktail in the lounge, take a seat at our grand oyster bar, or kick back in a horseshoe booth before diving into a sea of Ultra-Fresh fish, including steak-cut Alaskan halibut, seasonal favorites like fresh Copper River salmon or hard-to-find delicacies like true Dover sole or bluefin tuna. Our knowledgeable staff will delight you with exceptional service — guiding you through the wide variety of items on our menu and helping you select the perfect wine to complement your meal. The world's freshest seafood awaits you at the Oceanaire.

40 Court Street
Boston, MA 02108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Tremont St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 742-2277

Website:
http://www.theoceanaire.com/

Parking Details:
Valet available for dinner service only; nearby public lot available

Public Transit:
Government Center T Stop

Executive Chef:
Manny Rodriguez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Oceanaire Seafood Room Boston offers private dining experiences with possibilities for an endless number of occasions. From intimate wedding receptions, a high-powered meeting for business associates, or a yearly celebration. Join us at the Oceanaire Seafood Room Boston for your special event!

Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Good for a Date (48)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
See All
Romantic (31)
Business Meals (30)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Good for Groups (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Casual (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Fun (9)
Cozy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Authentic (7)
Tasting Menu (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Seasonal (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2917 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service is always automatic! Timely for a business lunch as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Fresh seafood was cooked to perfection! Waiter recommendation on the oysters hit it out of the park! Never had a better seafood dinner anywhere!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Terrific experience! Would go back today if I could.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Every facet of this restaurant is top notch. Welcoming, spacious, splendid décor, FRESH seafood, several choices for preparation, extensive but not too extensive winelist, well-made cocktails. It is expensive; which makes it difficult to 5-star the value; but you do not leave feeling that you got ripped off -- you definitely got what you paid for and you hope someday that you can dine like this every day instead of twice a year. Oceanaire is on my short list of fine Boston restaurants to bring clients to, especially if they enjoy seafood.
From last night's foray -- crab cakes, clam chowder, grilled Ora King Salmon, and wild Alaska halibut were all 10-out-of-10 preparations. The side of grilled asparagus was very good, but sprinkled with parmesan, which I could have done without, and the portion was enough asparagus for four. They also knew what a Vesper martini was without an explanation and served a perfect one. A Frank Family Vinyards chardonnay from Carneros was perfect for this meal -- not toasty/butter in the Napa Valley style but rather solid, with a long finish and floral hints, like a European white, e.g., like Gruner Veltliner.
My apologies to the young manager, who introduced himself as we were being seated, but I was too distracted to learn his name. I will be more relaxed and hopefully polite next time.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 8, 2017

attractive rather stunning actually oddly they don't have cherrystones or for that m atter any clams eaten twice what they call stuffed rock oysters they are excellent and I might add we know oysters their price for fresh oysters uncooked seems high to us but well try them

weve eaten broiled haddock and it was ok but not great and was served on room temp plate that's a no no for us so the haddock was luke warm shows lack of attention to detail

overall we like the place and will go back again

one odd experience the 2nd time we had baked rock oysters one was cremated burned horribly we asked to have it replaced and it was like they had to g to the eco of landrys (the owners) to get approval

it was absurd then well after we had finished they brought out a properly basked one and were sorry and didn't charge for it

oceanaire has unrealized potential maybe being part of a huge chain creates problems

r

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We enjoyed a prix fixe dinner over Labor Day weekend. The price was excellent for the three courses, and included wine. We had a tuna poke appetizer, oysters, black and blue swordfish, and fish and chips, all of which were very good to excellent. Service was just right. I can't say I'd recommend the regular menu though, because of the exorbitant prices. I think it is the highest priced restaurant I have ever been to in Boston, and I eat out fairly often for business. Everything is a la carte, and top dollar. So if you can get a special deal, go for it. Otherwise, I'd go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Excellent choice for seafood and also many other menu choices. Service is just right no matter what you prefer. Valet parking at dinner. All good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Special Labor Day menu, great value. Exceptional food, good portions. Wish everyday prices were this great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Never have had a bad time. Always enjoy having dinner at Oceanaire.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Awesome food and service Louis was very attentive A trip worth goin back for

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My wife Nancy and I went this evening to the Oceanaire to have dinner with friends on a special couples menu.
The deal was a very good one offering two dinners of three courses with a bottle of wine per couple.
For the first two of us ordered the Tuna Poke, one the Laughing Bird Shrimp Diablo and one, the Oyster Trio. All three were very good and I especially liked the Tuna Poke, excellent flavors, superb tuna and well presented.
As the main, two of ordered the Black and Blue Steak Tips, one opted for the Scampi and one the Fish and Chips.
The Tips were outstanding, tender, blackened about the edges and served on a bed of sautéed onions and burgundy with a dollop of blue cheese on top. The Shrimp scampi was very good, albeit a bit Skimpy with only four medium Prawns but had excellent flavors and was on a bed of some very good pasta. The fish and chips were delightful, with a nice crunchy crust and tender fish inside with a big bunch of spiral fries.
As for the finish, three of us chose the Cheese cake and I the Sorbet. The Finis has been an area for me at this establishment that has been lacking. I had tried bread pudding in the past that was quite heavy and not tasty, and my thought was that the cheese cake would be the same, hence my choice for sorbet. Turns out, the cheese cake was delightful, light, creamy and all who had it enjoyed it once more compote was brought to the table.
As always, I can recommend the Oceanaire as a really nice spot in town, the alway aim to please and go the extra bit to make the patrons happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

It was pricey. Beautiful décor. I was hoping for just a lobster roll and this was much more elegant than that. The service and atmosphere was awesome. We prefer not so classy when it comes to dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We have dined at Oceanaire resturants in other cities and have enjoyed the experience, but this location was well above the others. The design was beautiful from the lighting to the artwork! Even with the high ceiling it had a cozy romantic feel. Just stunning! Service was some of the best we have had, and we dine out often! The food was done perfectly and the wine list was terrific!! We were thrilled with the entire experience! Just wow!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had a delicious meal at the bar. Felix took care of us and was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was good, but not great. The quality is similar to Legal Seafood or maybe Bonefish Grill, but more expensive. My wife had the John Dory fish, which was surprisingly tasty. I had the seared Ahi tuna, which was cooked perfectly. Unfortunately, the service was only fair. Our server tried to answer our questions, but he didn't fully know the menu. He also left us staring at empty plates for at least 15 minutes. I don't think that we will be back any time soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Our meals were delicious and the service was great! Had the charred octopus with mango , tuna wontons and the sesame seared tuna -we highly recommend it. Staff was very friendly. Would definitely go again .👍🏼

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Tapas, Authentic, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Second time here. Good is so delicious. I'll definitely be back a third...fourth...fifth time

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The oysters and clam chowder was good. Everything else was mediocre. Service was horrible from the moment I walked in. Host looked miserable and no greetings at all. Considering the restaurant wasn't just the service was slow. We ordered dessert to only find out after 20 mins they were out. I would never come back here or recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Food was AMAZING! We started with King crab claws. They were $30 but well worth it! Lobster corn chowder was delicious and unique! I had the scallops with a side of fresh lightly sautéed spinach and my husband had the sesame encrusted ahi tuna. Service from Pauli was impeccable. If you are a foodie, this place is for you!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 28, 2017

We had reservations for 4 on Sunday at 9pm. We were taking our friends out for a special dinner to celebrate a new milestone. We arrived at 9:02pm and the door was locked. I couldn't imagine why the door was locked! We knocked on the door and after several minutes someone looked out and then came to the door. He said they were closed. I advised that we had a 9pm reservation, and he said he was aware of it but that they were closed. I was then showed the sign that advised that this place closes at 9pm on Sundays. He said the kitchen was shut down and that the cooks leave at 9pm. He said he would go and ask them. After waiting for him to return for several minutes, we decided to go somewhere different. This place was empty. The next morning I get an email from OpenTable indicating that we were reported as a "no-show" by the restaurant. Not going back to this place - - - ever!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Dublin)·Dined on August 22, 2017

The service was a little too prompt - felt like we were being rushed out the door to turn over the table. The food was fine but not outstanding. The wine and cocktails were good but overpriced. The scotch pour was particularly poor. I wouldn't mind going back but I probably won't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

A comfortable and beautiful setting. Service was great, old school, loved it. Food was delicious, fresh, cooked perfectly, expensive, should include some sides. Good assortment of foods to choose. A sorted bread basket would have gone well with our dishes. Beverages were delicious, great wine menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We went back the Oceanaire for their taste of Boston menu.
My wife and I both opted for the Calamari as the first bite, it was excellent, crunchy batter on the outside and tender squid on the inside, awesome.
For the second and main course I chose the house smoked Salmon in a creamy alfredo sauce that was quite good although I think I would have broken the fish into smaller bits in the sauce but the flavors were very good!
My wife had the Crab Cakes and loved them, they were crunchy on the outside, light with lots of crab inside.
As the menu was ala carte we shared an order of grilled asparagus which was a bit over cooked but had good flavor.
For the last of Desert course we had the bread pudding, this was quite disappointing, it was very heavy, had very little flavor and we didn't finish it.
All in all the Oceanaire is a wonderful dining experience and the food is very cleverly prepared and quite flavorful.
I recommend it highly if you are looking for good food, especially fish down town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Quick service and good food. Perfect place to eat lunch or dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Lovely business dinner, food is exceptional and service is outstanding.
Thank you

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Service & food were impeccable!! I asked for a gluten free option to a dish and my my request was granted with no hesitation!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

great ambience, wonderful service and very good food

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 16, 2017

We are elderly and was very appreciative of being ushered to a table upstairs on a small balcony, the noise from the main dinning room was horrendous, if we had been in the main dining room we would have had to leave.
Our dinner was lovely,proportions we great, enough to take home for another meal. We would definitely go again BUT only if we could go to the small balcony.
Waitress charming and very knowledgable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Excellent attentive server (sorry - don't remember name) - birthday dinner so I don't know $$ but it was off dine out menu ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We went there for Restaurant Week and you could sense it was not the menu that the wait staff or chef were excited about. While it was good, it was not like the quantity and service as the restaurant we were at the night before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The mushy crab cakes featured at Restaurant Week were a disappointment and come down from those I had experienced previously and the primary reason for dining there. The markups on the wine (a bottle of Veuve Cliquot for $145!) were outrageous as was the unique 3% surcharge added to the bill. My wife and I will not be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Oceanaire is always a great choice! We celebrated a friend's birthday there over the weekend (8/12). She and her husband had never been but my husband and I've spent a couple of anniversaries and at least one birthday there and we love it more and more each time we visit; we love the food and the ambiance. My friend was thrilled! And the the location, the food and the individualized attention can't be beat! We were made to feel like we were the only customers that our waitress, Bridgette, had. She was so AMAZING and always around when we needed her! The group once joked that there was a hidden mic under the table because every time someone had a question, Bridgette 'magically' appeared. The drinks were spot on and the food was delectable! This is definitely a "go to" spot for us!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Pleasant restaurant although felt a bit strange being tucked away in the back room. Nice touch to say happy birthday when we arrived. The service was good. The food was hit and miss though. Fantastic oysters and the spicy fried prawn appetiser bitbtye calamari were very average as was the spinach side. For the money I would expect better.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 10, 2017

This was our second time eating at this restaurant and yet again we were not let down. Everything from service to the food was top notch! We had an amazing dinner. I absolutely love this restaurant. We were pleasantly pleased. We would definitely return!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Went for Dine Out Boston and was completely impressed by the menu choices and quality of food. Unlike other participants, Ocenaire did not skimp on food options. Calamari appetizer was a huge portion and very tasty. Trout over linguine was delicious. And white chocolate bread pudding was divine. The service was attentive but not obtrusive. We have always been fans and will go back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 8, 2017

A wonderful setting and brings your hope up for a great dining experience. However, the culinary execution is just OK, if not for this price level disappointing. Let's take the "special" salmon dish, then here are the results. The fish was overcooked instead of a nice medium. Raw slices of unripe peach accompanied the other wise OK flavored salmon. It was missing any upgraded culinary skills. The "angry" swordfish had a better arrangement while the fish itself was also overcooked, but not as bad as the salmon.

The appetizers were OK the orange spicy shrimp were not much different from what I could get at a Chinese restaurant, while the crab cake was better.

But the drinks are good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2017

They provide the best crab cakes anywhere. My wife was delighted to find out they have a King Crab alfredo-like pasta dish that was fabulous! The atmosphere is excellent and our server was very charming. One of our absolute favorite places in Boston when we visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2017

My wife and I went to the Oceanaire for National Oyster day.
We arrived and were seated at a small intimate booth for two in the bar area which was quite nice.
We first ordered a dozen very fine fresh oysters and were very pleased with the flavor.
We then went on to an order of blackened fish tacos which were out of this world, fresh multitude of flavors, a smoky kick in each bite, superbly dressed, a must try!
We then ordered the Fried Oyster Sliders and they were quite good, maybe only needing a bit more oyster on them but very nice none the less. Oddly, prior to our getting the sliders the waiter brought us an order of Oysters Rockefeller which we hadn't ordered and we explained that he must have misunderstood the request for the sliders.
The manager came by and said we should go ahead and enjoy them free of charge which was a very nice touch.
Last I must comment on the Oceanaire's signature cocktails, they are very thoughtfully prepared and are always superb.
All in all, the Oeanaire is an excellent value either for a full blown dinner or just going in for bar fare and a Red Sox game. You cant miss with an organization that thrives on perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

It was my fiancé birthday. They staff and everyone made it very special. This was a great experience we will be back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Loved eating here again. The oyster selection was great. My husband ordered the branzino and I ordered the chicken fried lobster. The latter was surprisingly good, and very filling. The lobster was served over grits and there was a bit of honey and hot sauce drizzled on the grits and lobster. I hadn't seen this item on the menu before and I was glad I tried it.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.