Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston

The Oceanaire provides the perfect setting to enjoy Ultra-Fresh seafood, flown in daily from around the world. Sip a cocktail in the lounge, take a seat at our grand oyster bar, or kick back in a horseshoe booth before diving into a sea of Ultra-Fresh fish, including steak-cut Alaskan halibut, seasonal favorites like fresh Copper River salmon or hard-to-find delicacies like true Dover sole or bluefin tuna. Our knowledgeable staff will delight you with exceptional service — guiding you through the wide variety of items on our menu and helping you select the perfect wine to complement your meal. The world's freshest seafood awaits you at the Oceanaire.

40 Court Street
Boston, MA 02108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Tremont St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 742-2277

Website:
http://www.theoceanaire.com/

Parking Details:
Valet available for dinner service only; nearby public lot available

Public Transit:
Government Center T Stop

Executive Chef:
Manny Rodriguez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Oceanaire Seafood Room Boston offers private dining experiences with possibilities for an endless number of occasions. From intimate wedding receptions, a high-powered meeting for business associates, or a yearly celebration. Join us at the Oceanaire Seafood Room Boston for your special event!

Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

Noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Good for a Date (50)
Good for Anniversaries (45)
See All
Business Meals (33)
Romantic (33)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Healthy (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Casual (12)
Fun (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (8)
Seasonal (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2940 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

It was our first time here and the food was amazing. The customer service was outstanding. Thank you guys

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

One of the few restaurants in the area with excellent food but without all the noise that prevents you from speaking with your companions and enjoying your meal. Expensive, but worth it.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The atmosphere was great the service was great overall the food was okay not quite what I expected but it was very tasteful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything we had tonight was phenomenal.

For apps, we got crab cakes and grilled oysters. The crab cakes are juicy and succulent and worth every bite. The oysters were overpowered by the green sauce on them but still delicious and fresh.

3 of my colleagues got the mixed seafood grille which they said was really good and fresh. One other got the steelhead trout and I got the flounder with the rocket shrimp and capers sauce. The founder literally melts in your mouth! Mm.

For dessert, we got the baked Alaska to share between 5 peoples to share which was more than enough.

Overall, I highly recommend this place and thanks to Jared for being an awesome server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Last night of a New England vacation, booked restaurant based on reviews and proximity to our hotel. For this price point( $150+) service was very disappointing. Took 5+ minutes to be acknowledged at our table, when I asked the server about the different lobster options he was very dismissive and condescending. He only came to our table to get our order for drinks, main course and dessert. Never checked on us after our entree was served other than to see if we wanted dessert. Bread and lobster bisque were excellent. Beet salad tasted more like olive oil than beets. We both had lobster which was average. Split a Boston Creme pie which was generous for 2 and excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was very good and the menu had a nice selection of appetizers, specials, entrees and wine. The waiter was very attentive and apologized when our appetizers were slightly delayed in being served. I would certainly recommend this restaurant for an enjoyable dining experience

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

I was taken on a date at Oceanaire and thought it was quite good. I realize now that the only reason I must have thought it was good was because I love the person I was with.

My parents were in town from Austin and Legal's was booked, so we took them to Oceanaire. We weren't waited on for 8 minutes, the server (Sophie), while, 'pleasant', did not take my father's drink order and assumed the bottle of wine we ordered was only for dinner, so two of us sat there for 20 minutes without a drink - while the others at the table were served there. We had to flag down a waiter to take my father's drink order, and he was very pleasant.

I used to run a seafood food truck for a local business who provides fresh seafood to nearly 400 businesses in the greater New England area - so yes, I am spoiled, but I am also reasonable. The chowder is just okay. My mother's haddock looked invisible on her place - the plate was white, haddock was white, and ONLY garnished with parsley and a lemon - otherwise, NOTHING. I got a salad with seafood - pre-frozen seafood, bland, nothing special. My daughter got oysters which were excellent - but well...how do you screw up oysters? And her house salad was terrible, she took one bite and set it aside.

All in all we were so disappointed and I was thoroughly embarrassed...I should have taken them to Bistro du Midi, Craigie on Main, or even out to Lumiere's where the quality is consistent and the ambiance is spectacular.

Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 10, 2017

The room is spectacular and the service was excellent. I had oysters, which were fresh and tasty. There was a good selection to choose from. I ordered the crab Louie salad, which was OK. There was not enough crab meat to warrant the price. My guests enjoyed their lunches, particularly the lobster bisque.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Best place for seafood in Boston. The service there is amazing and the food is delicious. I got engaged there, and continue to go back for special celebrations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2017

After dining at Oceanair on a business engagement I wanted to experience it on a weekend to see if it was less corporate. The staff was amazing and even more friendly. They remembered it was a birthday and provided us with a complementary baked Alaska. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Food was fabulous and the atmosphere is great. Service took a little while, but nothing too bad and I've come to expect that in finer establishments.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Felix our bartender was great. Top notch service and very attentive. He made great drinks and offered very insightful recommendations.

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The food here is superb. We each order our own entree then order the sides for the table to share, since the sides are so generous. Their lobster mac and cheese is the best!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Crab cakes are some of the best ever! Drinks are a little over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2017

I went back to Oceanaire as it was always a favorite for client lunches. This time was a disappointment. The $54 halibut was barely edible, insanely salty. I got it enhanced which means with sauce. Mine was shrimp Louie with lemon butter which translated to canned Tiny shrimp with veins and a salt sauce. So disappointing.

The format of the food needs updating. Both our entrees were like a wedding meal at an older country club.

Gorgeous setting but needs a refresh on food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Wonderful restaurant! They have their own exclusive brand of oysters, which I would recommend to anyone (even first time oyster people)! The service was impeccable, and the atmosphere was beautiful. Their dinner bread comes with a selections of vegetables as well. Both were great! I ordered the seared tuna which, in my opinion, was AMAZING. Overall, exception food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

I made a point to call and let the restaurant know that I was coming in for my best friend's 40th. while the menu header was a great touch, they forgot to sing happy bdday... the waiter actually brought the dessert menu out for us...I reminded him I wanted the dessert with the fire so that wasn't much of a surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

we had the best service and waiter , the food was outstanding

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Our waiter is incredibly smart, witty and attentive. The entire staff is very thoughtful and friendly. Altogether, they made our dining experience very memorable. I definitely recommend the Shrimp Scampi for it delicate and flavorful taste. Also order the sauteed spinach side dish, which was not overcooked and mushy. The Baked Alaska was available for dessert and it was the best I've ever had.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The Oceanaire remains a family favorite for celebrating anniversaries, birthdays and an occasional romantic dinner for two. Our lead server, Louis, did a masterful job of leading his team through a happy crowd of 15 birthday celebration!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Went for a friend's birthday dinner. The service was absolutely impeccable. Both myself and my friend could not find a single thing to complain about. From the drinks, to the bread (fresh sourdough!), to the freshest, perfectly cooked seafood, this was a meal to remember. Worth every penny, in my opinion. We will certainly be back! Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Great food and service is always automatic! Timely for a business lunch as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Fresh seafood was cooked to perfection! Waiter recommendation on the oysters hit it out of the park! Never had a better seafood dinner anywhere!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Shreveport)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Terrific experience! Would go back today if I could.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Overpriced fir what it is

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Every facet of this restaurant is top notch. Welcoming, spacious, splendid décor, FRESH seafood, several choices for preparation, extensive but not too extensive winelist, well-made cocktails. It is expensive; which makes it difficult to 5-star the value; but you do not leave feeling that you got ripped off -- you definitely got what you paid for and you hope someday that you can dine like this every day instead of twice a year. Oceanaire is on my short list of fine Boston restaurants to bring clients to, especially if they enjoy seafood.
From last night's foray -- crab cakes, clam chowder, grilled Ora King Salmon, and wild Alaska halibut were all 10-out-of-10 preparations. The side of grilled asparagus was very good, but sprinkled with parmesan, which I could have done without, and the portion was enough asparagus for four. They also knew what a Vesper martini was without an explanation and served a perfect one. A Frank Family Vinyards chardonnay from Carneros was perfect for this meal -- not toasty/butter in the Napa Valley style but rather solid, with a long finish and floral hints, like a European white, e.g., like Gruner Veltliner.
My apologies to the young manager, who introduced himself as we were being seated, but I was too distracted to learn his name. I will be more relaxed and hopefully polite next time.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 8, 2017

attractive rather stunning actually oddly they don't have cherrystones or for that m atter any clams eaten twice what they call stuffed rock oysters they are excellent and I might add we know oysters their price for fresh oysters uncooked seems high to us but well try them

weve eaten broiled haddock and it was ok but not great and was served on room temp plate that's a no no for us so the haddock was luke warm shows lack of attention to detail

overall we like the place and will go back again

one odd experience the 2nd time we had baked rock oysters one was cremated burned horribly we asked to have it replaced and it was like they had to g to the eco of landrys (the owners) to get approval

it was absurd then well after we had finished they brought out a properly basked one and were sorry and didn't charge for it

oceanaire has unrealized potential maybe being part of a huge chain creates problems

r

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We enjoyed a prix fixe dinner over Labor Day weekend. The price was excellent for the three courses, and included wine. We had a tuna poke appetizer, oysters, black and blue swordfish, and fish and chips, all of which were very good to excellent. Service was just right. I can't say I'd recommend the regular menu though, because of the exorbitant prices. I think it is the highest priced restaurant I have ever been to in Boston, and I eat out fairly often for business. Everything is a la carte, and top dollar. So if you can get a special deal, go for it. Otherwise, I'd go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Excellent choice for seafood and also many other menu choices. Service is just right no matter what you prefer. Valet parking at dinner. All good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Special Labor Day menu, great value. Exceptional food, good portions. Wish everyday prices were this great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Never have had a bad time. Always enjoy having dinner at Oceanaire.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Awesome food and service Louis was very attentive A trip worth goin back for

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My wife Nancy and I went this evening to the Oceanaire to have dinner with friends on a special couples menu.
The deal was a very good one offering two dinners of three courses with a bottle of wine per couple.
For the first two of us ordered the Tuna Poke, one the Laughing Bird Shrimp Diablo and one, the Oyster Trio. All three were very good and I especially liked the Tuna Poke, excellent flavors, superb tuna and well presented.
As the main, two of ordered the Black and Blue Steak Tips, one opted for the Scampi and one the Fish and Chips.
The Tips were outstanding, tender, blackened about the edges and served on a bed of sautéed onions and burgundy with a dollop of blue cheese on top. The Shrimp scampi was very good, albeit a bit Skimpy with only four medium Prawns but had excellent flavors and was on a bed of some very good pasta. The fish and chips were delightful, with a nice crunchy crust and tender fish inside with a big bunch of spiral fries.
As for the finish, three of us chose the Cheese cake and I the Sorbet. The Finis has been an area for me at this establishment that has been lacking. I had tried bread pudding in the past that was quite heavy and not tasty, and my thought was that the cheese cake would be the same, hence my choice for sorbet. Turns out, the cheese cake was delightful, light, creamy and all who had it enjoyed it once more compote was brought to the table.
As always, I can recommend the Oceanaire as a really nice spot in town, the alway aim to please and go the extra bit to make the patrons happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

It was pricey. Beautiful décor. I was hoping for just a lobster roll and this was much more elegant than that. The service and atmosphere was awesome. We prefer not so classy when it comes to dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We have dined at Oceanaire resturants in other cities and have enjoyed the experience, but this location was well above the others. The design was beautiful from the lighting to the artwork! Even with the high ceiling it had a cozy romantic feel. Just stunning! Service was some of the best we have had, and we dine out often! The food was done perfectly and the wine list was terrific!! We were thrilled with the entire experience! Just wow!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had a delicious meal at the bar. Felix took care of us and was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food was good, but not great. The quality is similar to Legal Seafood or maybe Bonefish Grill, but more expensive. My wife had the John Dory fish, which was surprisingly tasty. I had the seared Ahi tuna, which was cooked perfectly. Unfortunately, the service was only fair. Our server tried to answer our questions, but he didn't fully know the menu. He also left us staring at empty plates for at least 15 minutes. I don't think that we will be back any time soon.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Our meals were delicious and the service was great! Had the charred octopus with mango , tuna wontons and the sesame seared tuna -we highly recommend it. Staff was very friendly. Would definitely go again .👍🏼

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Tapas, Authentic, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Second time here. Good is so delicious. I'll definitely be back a third...fourth...fifth time

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The oysters and clam chowder was good. Everything else was mediocre. Service was horrible from the moment I walked in. Host looked miserable and no greetings at all. Considering the restaurant wasn't just the service was slow. We ordered dessert to only find out after 20 mins they were out. I would never come back here or recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.