Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston

The Oceanaire provides the perfect setting to enjoy Ultra-Fresh seafood, flown in daily from around the world. Sip a cocktail in the lounge, take a seat at our grand oyster bar, or kick back in a horseshoe booth before diving into a sea of Ultra-Fresh fish, including steak-cut Alaskan halibut, seasonal favorites like fresh Copper River salmon or hard-to-find delicacies like true Dover sole or bluefin tuna. Our knowledgeable staff will delight you with exceptional service — guiding you through the wide variety of items on our menu and helping you select the perfect wine to complement your meal. The world's freshest seafood awaits you at the Oceanaire.

40 Court Street
Boston, MA 02108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Tremont St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 742-2277

Website:
http://www.theoceanaire.com/

Parking Details:
Valet available for dinner service only; nearby public lot available

Public Transit:
Government Center T Stop

Executive Chef:
Manny Rodriguez

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Oceanaire Seafood Room Boston offers private dining experiences with possibilities for an endless number of occasions. From intimate wedding receptions, a high-powered meeting for business associates, or a yearly celebration. Join us at the Oceanaire Seafood Room Boston for your special event!

Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (69)
Good for a Date (47)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
See All
Business Meals (47)
Romantic (37)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Notable Wine List (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Local Ingredients (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Healthy (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Authentic (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Comfort Food (7)
Cozy (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Family Style (6)
Fun (6)
Casual (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Historic (5)
Private Room (5)
Seasonal (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
2819 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 18 hours ago

Always a great experience. Food tasty. Service excellent. Special for Memorial Day weekend $60 for 2 - appetizer, main course, dessert and wine. Wonderful way to wrap of vacation!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Appetizers were great main courses were disappointing. Service was pore. 1 main course was not prepared as specified and beverage was brought out when the meal was just about finished

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Thus us a lovely restaurant for a special occasion. It was quite pricey but the food and service were excellent. In addition the setting - art deco in an old bank - is with the trip.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

It is consistently great. Become a Landry's member and get all kinds of notices for great dinners and values. We got two, three course dinners and a bottle of wine for $60.00. They do it periodically and it is the best offering in the city. We got many other times as well. It's always first rate.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice!

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

service was spot on, food excellent - but minimal. Very expensive, but nice for a special occassion

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Second time in the last two months. We lived the food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Food and ambiance were great. Waiter was awful, had to wait a long time to order, did not stop by table a single time during meal to check on us. Had to go to front to get someone to bring a check. Too bad - everything else was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Fantastic service and very accommodating. Excellent food with plenty of options. On the pricey side, but don't let that stop you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Francisco took great care of us. He went above and beyond as he helped my husband break open the claws and took out every ounce of lobster meat. My husband loved his dish (stuffed lobster), my father in law devoured his halibut and I enjoyed the Dover sole, which they de-boned for us at the table. Crab cakes were a great start, with chunks of crab meat. They even prepared tartar sauce for us from scratch in the kitchen. Shrimp cocktail was fresh and large in size (served 5), but I would probably try another item next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great dinning experience.
We visit many, many restaurants and this experience was truly memorable.
The service, food and ambiance all contributed to our 5 star review.
Bravo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Outstanding ambience. Thoughtful menu. Excellent escargots and shrimp scampi.
Congenial. Fine knowledgeable service. Could stand a few more oyster varieties .

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Endlich ein ruhiges Restaurant mit diskreter Musik im Hintergrund, so daß ein Tischgespräch möglich ist. Guter bis sehr guter Service. Auf Reklamationen wird prompt reagiert (Mahi Mahi war zu scharf gewürzt, Fisch ging unbemerkt unter……)

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 15, 2017

From the moment we entered we experienced outstanding customer service and expert accomodations. The bartender Guillermo was very knowledgeable on drinks and the waiter Luis was very very friendly , professional and knowledgeable in helping us choose our oyster selection, wines and ultimately the fried crab & angry mahi mahi plates. This was our first time going here and we will DEFINITELY be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a wonderful time with family & seafood was incredible. Great ambience and perfect for quiet evening to celebrate any special occasion. Recommend to anyone looking to have good time out in Boston and wanting seafood. Our server was great and very attentive but the night we were there it was very busy so he had a lot of outher customers to keep happy. Thanks to all of the Oceanaire staff

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Healthy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I love their food and service it's always great. The only issue that I have is that on Sunday they have all oyesters 1$ and on Mothers Day the didn't honor the special that is posted online as well as behind the bar.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and service, but $$$$!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Outstanding cuisine and service as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I have been to Oceanaire on many a special occasion. Always a wonderful experience however I must say the quality of the food was not as I usually experience. My salad was bland - no real flavor, very little dressing- my dover sole lacked flavor and it is my favorite dish so a tad of a disappointment for me although my husband and daughter raved about their dishes.
Our waiter was fantastic! attentive, informative, kind, funny - all you want for a 5 star experience

will be back, for sure, just will make a different selection in food

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The Spanish octopus was fantastic. Ambience was also nice. We had a lovely dinner and would recommend it to another colleague.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Place was dead. Server was argumentative. Risotto was mush.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Always terrific we've been more than 30 times and they never disappoint

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Jarred our server was absolutely fabulous, great service, great food, loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This has been my fifth time eating here and the service and food is always amazing!! Our waiter was very friendly, engaging and very knowledgeable on explaining the menu to my dinner guest who was dining there for the first time. My only complaint would be the valet attendant. After we finished our meal, paid and got outside we paid the valet and he proceeded to ask us "why we weren't leaving him a tip". We didn't have extra cash on us and would have probably went to an atm to leave a tip if we didn't feel the pressure to! A tip is not mandatory for doing your job and should never be asked! Next time we won't Valet.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Cozy, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Amazing $59 menu. New limited time special. So much food we couldn't finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Way over wrought and way too expensive. Fish was lost in the sauce and soups were poor. Our waiter was wonderful

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Excellent food and service. One of the best meals I have had in this area. Have to get the Baked Alaska for desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Loved the restaurant. The shrimp Cajun style was delicious!!! The whole meal was excellent and the service was very attentive. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Wife ran the Boston Marathon and this was our 3rd time at Oceanaire to celebrate with a post-race dinner. Food was fabulous - she had the Sole and I had the Haddock - both perfectly done. The Sole has a cool tableside presentation of the waiter removing the bones all at once. Side was the lobster mac n cheese which was huge - didn't even come close to finishing all of it. Washed it all down with a great bottle of Duckhorn Merlot. Finished the night off by the waiter congratulating her on the marathon and bringing a Basked Alaska dessert without us even asking. Truly top notch staff on top of excellent food. Wouldn't change a thing!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Oceanaire was pricey, but worth it! The food was great--and we took bites of each others' meals. There wasn't anything that the rest of us did not find really amazing--even the chicken-fried lobster, which I thought sounded awful, but was actually very good. If you're looking for a place to celebrate something very special, this is the place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed celebrating Easter for the past 3 years at Oceanaire, unfortunately this last visit was not one of my best. We ordered cocktails when we arrived, my husband’s Martini was good but my expensive cocktail contained so much ice that I could hardly stir it. Ordered appetizers and decided to order entrees from the brunch menu…big mistake! Octopus and shrimp & grits appetizer were fresh and hot but the brunch entrees were barely edible. My lobster breakfast was cold, English muffins soggy, eggs reheated and overcooked and the microscopic pieces of lobster claws were mushy, salty and very chewy, tasted old and canned. Entrees were extremely overpriced for such poor quality and getting mostly fruit as filler. We ordered a side dish of asparagus but never received it…waiter never submitted the order! Overall, the food quality was poor and service was mediocre. We are very disappointed because Oceanaire was always one of our favorite seafood restaurants for dinner and for Easter.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was a great Easter Brunch. Staff were great, service was wonderful, food was ok nothing amazing. I would go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I've been here a few times. Business dinner, social occasion and date night. Except for the obnoxiously loud and conceited guy at the next table; dinner was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Wonderful. Our waitress Sophia was great. Will visit again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The waiting team was amazing. Knowledgeable and very helpful. By far the best clam chowder we had while in Boston, and we tried almost a dozen. The menu had an excellent variety and everything was fresh and amazing. It was our favourite meal while we were in Boston.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Authentic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We have indulged at Boston's Oceanaire at least a dozen times and will keep returning. Professional and informative wait staff, great ambience, and great dining from cocktails to wine selection, salads and chef selections that can't be surpassed. This visit was for my wife's bday and complete with "hbd" on her momento menue and a surprise (and no charge) baked Alaska birthday cake. Ocean Aire is on our top 3 of Boston restaurants and #1 for the best seafood taste and selection.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 11, 2017

This experience was not up to Oceanaire standards. This was a business meal with one co worker and 5 guests. I had the swordfish, which tasted fine, but was lukewarm at best. The mashed potatoes were only lukewarm as well. Even the coffee at the end of the evening wasn't hot. I later checked with my coworker and she told me her entree wan't hot either. Not sure if this is a product of the kitchen being located where it is, but I am hesitant to dine here again on business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My wife and I exchange Birthday dinners at Oceanaire every year. We like this restaurant because it has very fresh, well prepared seafood; including appetizers like 'Oysters Rockefeller', which are had to find on menus these days. The ingredients are always quality, without unhappy surprises. Service is pleasant, also a positive experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food was perfection, great daily changes in the menu too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great decor. Fantastic service. Nice menu. Food was memorable. Just a great place to enjoy a meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.