About Occidental Grill & Seafood

Occidental Grill & Seafood is a DC dining institution just steps from the White House, with a history dating back more than 110 years. This iconic gathering place combines legendary staying power with a constantly evolving, cutting-edge menu that takes a fresh and current approach to classic American cuisine.

1475 Pennsylvania Ave NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am – 10:00pm
Sunday: Closed

Happy Hour
Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 7:00pm (Exclusively at the Bar)

Brunch
Saturday : 11am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
14th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 783-1475

Website:
http://www.occidentaldc.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal.

Catering:
Private Dining Space Available.
Call 202-737-4147 for further information or visit http://occidentaldc.com/occidental/index.cfm/meetings-events/.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at The Willard Hotel for an $8.00 fee.

Public Transit:
Metro Center Station located on 13th & F Streets.

Bus stop located on 14th Street near the National Press Building.

Executive Chef:
Rodney Scruggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From business functions and graduations, to rehearsals, receptions & personal get togethers Occidental Grill and Seafood is an elegant DC dining icon. Our private dining rooms exemplify the city's classic ambiance while the chef's menus evoke your taste buds with a modern twist on American favorites

Occidental Grill & Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (29)
Special Occasion (22)
Business Meals (20)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Romantic (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Cozy (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Authentic (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
People Watching (8)
Healthy (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Scenic View (5)
Fun (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Casual (3)
Organic (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1624 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Bread was a tad stale but otherwise the food and the service were very good

Tags: Historic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

Wine list was extensive with affordable options. Our pan-seared scallop appetizer was delicious. I had seared sushi-grade tuna cooked rare, it was the best tuna I've had! My partner had the special (char) and was very pleased with it. The service was fantastic from the reservation reminder to coat checker. Our server was fantastic; the perfect amount of attention and great recommendation on wine paired with the food (the bottle we ordered was under $50!). I noted "birthday" when I made the reservation and we were surprised with a complimentary glass of champagne with the appetizers in addition to a complementary piece of chocolate cake. The atmosphere, service, and food were outstanding. I will recommend Occidental to all my contacts coming to DC!

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was excellent!!, food , and atmosphere was great. Lovely experience will definitely be back..

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The service was outstanding and food delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Not bad but a little overpriced considering the quality of the food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

First and foremost, the food was great and it was Valentine's day. My biggest gripe, we (my boyfriend (Asian) and I (African-American) were placed by the door, near the bar area in a very lit booth. We could hear the happy hour crowd. And for one hour I watched "other" couples (all of the same race) seated in the romantic area behind us with candle-lights and nice tables. Actually what I would expect for a special date. I repeat, we were in the first booth by the bar and front door (down the first steps). No one sat near us, just passed us by for one hour. Until another couple came in, he (Caucasian) and she (Asian) sat near us. I asked our waitress if I was supposed to request to be seated in that area, she said no. I asked, then whey are we seated here I made reservations at least two weeks ago, she said, not sure. I am not saying they did this on purpose, but they didn't make our evening feel special at all. I am an event planner for very high officials and I know when something is a little fishy. But, at least I had my very kind, sweet, loving boyfriend to make the night awesome!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Awesome food great service

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The Occidental has great ambiance and good service. However they have a very limited dinner menu. Our reservation was at 730. By the time we placed our order, two of the listed entrees were no longer available as they had run out. This is the second time it has happened at the Occidental. I doubt I will be returning

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Never had a bad meal here. Preparation is excellent and the food comes exactly as requested. The food is only exceeded by the history of the restaurant which has impressed every guest that I take take the the restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went for D.C. Restaurant week, and the whole experience was perfect. Food was amazing, service was friendly and impressive, and was an exceptional value for a three course meal. Way beyond our expectations.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service left a lot to be desired as it was inattentive. Food was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food but small portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We tried this restaurant during restaurant week. It was gourmet food portions. The plating was beautiful, but had I not had the appetizer and dessert I would have left hungry. He chicken was amazing, but the prime rib my boyfriend got although it was juicy and tender it didn't have any flavor. The pumpkin ravioli was the most amazing dish we had followed by the scallop risotto. We said we would be willing to come back because we loved the ambiance, but probably just for dessert and not dinner.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Came here for restaurant week, and the food was awesome!! All 3 courses were so well done, and the amount and quality of food we ordered was perfect. Can't wait to come back and sit outside this summer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

As expected thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We went for Restaurant Week and it was AMAZING! The food was amazing and the service was on point. The short rib and bread pudding! And sweet potato bisque

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Good meal, quiet!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 24, 2017

This is a restored DC classic, but living more on old tradition than on current realities. I come here essentially because it's my best friend's favorite restaurant, but would not dine here alone or bring a date here on my own initiative. I find the food and drink overpriced, and do not believe The Occidental provides good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I come here when I can if I am in DC. It might seem pricey for some, but I am never disappointed with the food and to me I would rather pay a little extra and know that I will get great service and a great meal. I was here for the Women's March and it was very crowded, but they did a wonderful job serving as fast as they could.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Very disappointed. Went to Occidental because other nearby quality restaurants were already booked and I can see why they had room. Our table had not been cleared before we were brought to it; the service was slow, the portions were small, and not all of our order was brought to the table. Our total bill for 2 (before tip) came to $140. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service was hit and miss. During appetizers, waiter started reaching over us while eating to prepare for main course. Totally unacceptable. Fish and filet were C-, not very good. Overall very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Decor gets 5 stars, like a presidential palace. Food is scrumptious with local ingredients.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Historic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Organic, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Everything was superb. Truly one of the best restaurants in DC!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun, Cozy, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Went there for lunch on Inauguration Day January 20 2017. Cocktails - I recommend the Commiserator. Lobster & corn bisque and baby spinach salad. Both very tasty. Love the history of this 110 year old hotel/restaurant. We sat at the table that has historical signifigance in 1962. John Scali, an ABCTV correspondent, met with an unknown Russian at the time (now we know it was KGB Colonel Aleksandr Fomin (Alexander Feklisov). Fromin passed a message to Scali offering to withdraw missiles from Cuba and Scali passed it along to U.S. government officials. Eventually this meeting at that table at the Occidental ended the Cuban Missile Crisis. I wonder how many other meetings took place here?

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Fun, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Fabulous staff, exquisite and mouthwatering cuisine! One of our highlights while video siting D.C.!

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Decor is "old boy elite". I guess the lawyers and lobbyists love this place - especially on expense accounts. Service was impeccable. Crab cakes were the best ever. Grilled tuna not so good. Scallops appetizer was juts OK. Overpriced for what you get, although I guess one needs to pay for the "old-boy elite"charm and the dozens of attentive waiters.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Excellent food and even better service. Like being home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The service was fabulous as was our food. If you are in the area and want to enjoy a great meal in a very classy environment, this is a great place for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent staple of fine dining in Washington. Never disappoints. First class wines and dining pairs with the best service in Washington with Jeremiah.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This is a classic DC restaurant, originally opened in 1906, which serves classic contemporary American fare. It is equally appropriate for lobbying public officials, or sharing a meal with a friend, spouse, or lover. It doesn't strive to be trendy, and is the better off for it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

This has always been one of my favorite restaurants in DC. Always great food and beautiful historic atmosphere. This time most of the food was excellent, but one of the steaks was overcooked. One friendly bartender and the other one should get a different job. The waiter was friendly and tried hard. Great place to take people who want to experience the hey days of DC.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was excellent. Waiter did a very nice job. Friendly and attentive. Topped off our wine glasses when thing took longer than expected. Hope to be back when we return to town.

Desserts were very tasty.

Hope to be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went here for New Year's Eve dinner and my wife's Birthday. We had a great meal with a great view of the Washington Monument.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I really loved this place. It was around the corner from the JW Marriott. The service, food and ambiance were perfect for my sister and I. I had the filet with a side of poached lobster. Lobster was delicious. I would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I've always wanted to get to the Occidental, and overall, I'm really glad that I finally did. The food was superb, good flavors complimenting the main meat star of the dish-- but ordering one of the family style sides (in this case, the brussels sprouts) was a good call. Ambiance was cool too, definitely that old school dc vibe. With that said, I don't know about the value of the meal, and if it were not for a special occasion with family visiting from out of town, that I would otherwise go there. The Occidental is from another time in DC, before the city's food scene exploded in the last five years.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We have had a family lunch at the Occidental during the Christmas holidays for the past several years. It has always been a pleasant experience at an historic restaurant highlighted by the thousands of pictures of famous diners since the beginning of the 20th Century. The food is always good; the addition of some short rib entrees were a hit this year. Nice servers. Great location to not only eat by walk to nearby by museums and the National Archives on pleasant winter days.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 23, 2016

From the warm greeting when you first walk in, to the ambiance, to the excellent service and menu selections, The Occidental is probably one of the finest dining experiences DC has to offer.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Loved the restaurant but unfortunately my filet was overdone. Such a great piece of meat and no flavor, no juice.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great old watering hole with etchings of famous people who have eaten there. Food was delicious and service very good.

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

First time there and was treated as royalty. Food and service fantastic. Will make them a regular stop

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Not what it used to be. Limited menu. ridiculous prices for the limited menu. Service was adequate. Don't mind spending money, but will go THE PRIME RIB next time. Sorry.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Services was inattentive and slow. Food arrived cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We went for our 31st anniversary but honest-to-GOD the noise level was INSANE. (I know, I know, does anybody really count anniversaries between 25 and 50? Yes, we do!) We even had a 5:30 p.m. reservation (had to get to a 7:30 p.m. show) but by 6:00 p.m. we were shouting at each other to be heard. Happy Anniversary! But the food was delicious, the service was great.

It's perfect on that awkward first date where you don't know what to say because then you can just make a hand signal that means, "I can't hear you." That way you can observe your date. Do they know which fork to use? Argue with the waiter? Talk with their mouth full? Then you can decide if you want to speak with them after you leave.

Also perfect if you're going out with a long-time partner and just had a fight and are not speaking to one another. In that case you can just shrug and everyone will think you mean that you can't hear.

You might be super lucky like we were and have someone at the bar with a braying laugh like a donkey on speed. Every time we heard him we clinked glasses and took a sip of wine. Of COURSE we were drunk before the entree arrived! Hmm, maybe that's why we gave this place such a high rating.

I still say, "Go and find out for yourselves!"

One more thing: Open Table gives "review hints" such as: Avoid story-telling or irrelevant details.

Please. What is better than a good story?

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Simply, Great Service, Ambiance, and Great Food every time we have dinner in Washington DC

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The Occidental is always reliable for good food and exceptional service. On this occasion, our server ensured we were out the door in time for a lecture at the Smithsonian. The amuse bouche of mushroom soup was excellent, as was the rockfish filet over seafood stew.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We went there for brunch and the Duck Hash with the bottemless mimosas was perfect!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great service, lovely wine, amazing food. Our fabulous server went above & beyond on our shared dessert. Such a wonderful night. Thank you Occidental!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I took a close friend to Occidental Grill & Seafood on December 3rd for a special dinner before our show at The National Theater. We were greeted with warm smiles as soon as we entered the establishment. The wait staff was very attentive and their sommelier assisted me with my champagne selection and he did not disappoint. I ordered the Jumbo Scallops/Pork Chop and my friend had their crab cakes. The scallops were cooked to perfection to the point that my friend wants to return simply to have those! The prices are indicative of their location and service but be prepared that your bottled wine selection could be pricey; albeit, it was well worth it. We spent about 2 hours there but had plenty of time to catch our show and not feel rushed. Looking forward to a return visit soon!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was my first time dining at the Occidental Grill and it did not disappoint. We had a show to go to and they met our timing need without sacrificing a bit on the quality of the food, which was excellent! I was so impressed that I plan on having a group event there in the spring.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

THE OCCIDENTAL IS ONE OF OUR FAVORITE RESTAURANTS TO TAKE GUESTS TO FROM OUT OF TOWN. THE HISTORY OF THE RESTAURANT AND THE FOOD MAKE IT A GREAT PLACE TO TAKE PEOPLE/

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.