Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi

About Occidental Grill & Seafood

Occidental Grill & Seafood is a DC dining institution just steps from the White House, with a history dating back more than 110 years. This iconic gathering place combines legendary staying power with a constantly evolving, cutting-edge menu that takes a fresh and current approach to classic American cuisine.

1475 Pennsylvania Ave NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am – 10:00pm
Sunday: Closed

Happy Hour
Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 7:00pm (Exclusively at the Bar)

Brunch
Saturday : 11am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
14th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 783-1475

Website:
http://www.occidentaldc.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal.

Catering:
Private Dining Space Available.
Call 202-737-4147 for further information or visit http://occidentaldc.com/occidental/index.cfm/meetings-events/.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at The Willard Hotel for an $8.00 fee.

Public Transit:
Metro Center Station located on 13th & F Streets.

Bus stop located on 14th Street near the National Press Building.

Executive Chef:
Rodney Scruggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From business functions and graduations, to rehearsals, receptions & personal get togethers Occidental Grill and Seafood is an elegant DC dining icon. Our private dining rooms exemplify the city's classic ambiance while the chef's menus evoke your taste buds with a modern twist on American favorites

Occidental Grill & Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Special Occasion (27)
Historic (27)
See All
Business Meals (26)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Romantic (14)
Authentic (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
People Watching (11)
Cozy (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Fun (5)
Healthy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Scenic View (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great Beer (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Casual (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Live Sports (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1668 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

I've had the pleasure of enjoying many fine restaurants, but this was by far my best dining experience. I was there to celebrate one of my friend's LLM (Masters of Law) graduation. The entire staff at the restaurant was awesome, but Sergio, our waiter, was a star. He was extremely pleasant and efficient. The food was delectable and the ambiance was astonishing. After we finished our meal, Sergio brought over four glasses of champagne in celebration of my friend's great accomplishment. I see many visits to Occidental Grill and Seafood in my future. I highly recommend it! Amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

10/10 best sea scallops I've ever tasted in my life

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We made a reservation here while visiting DC. At first we weren't sure we'd stay because it was too loud for us, but once we were seated in the dining room we were fine. The food was delicious and our waitress was very efficient. Overall we were glad we came. If you're looking for a lively bar area, this is the place, but if you want a quieter dinner, ask for the dining room.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, People Watching, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The Occidental grill is a true Washington masterpiece. The food is spectacular and the service is the superb. It is a real historical gem as well, not to be missed!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Terrific service, excellent food, relaxing.


Waiter was gracious

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Have eaten at O upon occasion. This time it was a real disappointment. Bruch menu was not your typical brunch menu: no eggs this or eggs that; unusual combinations of food. I ordered from the "sides" - two poached eggs, sausage, and toast. No spoon for the eggs, no salt and pepper for the table, no butter or jam for the bread, and the sausage were two long "things" of lamb which were so highly seasoned that I barely ate one. The service was slow and disorganized. The waiter brought us our check without even asking if we wanted coffee and/or dessert. We did. The coffee was so strong that even diluting with half of a cup of water did not help. No "thank you" from the waiter. He just disappeared. I expect more when brunch costs $100. Sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Huge Disappointment! We took out of town guests to show him one of our "go-to" favorites and we were embarrassed! Due to renovation we were upstairs in a room with no character. The food, usually very good, was--all around the table-- not worth paying for! Bland, undercooked, presentation nothing special. The wait staff seemed poorly trained, interrupting to remove plates, etc. with no attention to the table conversation, etc. There are a lot of fantastic restaurants in DC--maybe the Occidnetal should close for renovation if this is an example of the new norm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Until your repairs are completed, I will not return to your restaurant, although I have been there many, many times the past. Occidental Restaurant was my go-to, upscale restaurant downtown. It isn't any more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great place to dine with history surrounding you. This has always been a traditional favorite of mine as well as with other dignitaries, including Presidents.They restaurant was currently under some renovation, so seating was on the upper floor only. We went early, so our food and service were very good. Since they do indicate they are a Grill & Seafood, I would have liked to have seen more seafood on the menu...very limited seafood choices, as I ended up getting the appetizer (soft shell crabs) as a main course. I high recommend this restaurant when in Washington, DC

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was a birthday dinner and we picked it because it was in the area. Our server was top notch the food was phenomenal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Very enjoyable evening. Food terrific. Asparagus soup was delicious. Service excellent.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic, Business Meals, Organic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 28, 2017

One if my favorite locations fir business lunches in DC. Traditional, historical. Unfortunately, they were renovating main dining room and bar and didn't bother divulging when I made my reservation. Third floor venue eas not nearly as nice.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 26, 2017

My first time to the Occidental. It lived up plus more to all the praise I had heard for years. Fantastic food (get the crab cakes) and enjoyable atmosphere. I'll be back for sure!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great atmosphere! The ambiance of the restaurant was very exquisite. I highly recommend this location for business and private meals

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Gorgeous historic restaurant / excellent service and excellent food / unusually confortable

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Pleasant, historic atmosphere.
Found it to be overpriced but very convenient to theatre.
Also appreciated parking validation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I really try to like this place, but the chef makes it hard. The setting is attractive and the service excellent. At lunch, you can have a conversation without shouting. But, the food. First, the menu has limited items on it. The prices are fine for DC but you don't get much on the plate with entrees. The sandwiches are large, but has the chef actually tried eating, for example, the swordfish sandwich? It sounded good, but it was so loaded so high with greens and overrun with sauce that even this wide mouth could not accommodate it. Which maybe didn't matter, because the bread fell apart immediately from the excess sauce and it became a fork and knife adventure. The fried green tomatoes on the sandwich, however, were so tough a steak knife was needed to cut them. And the sweet potato fries, while generous in portion, were a soggy mess. The menu sounds really good when you read it, but the result rarely matches the promise. This is not a one time impression but rather a description of most of my experiences there, which average about once a month.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter Brunch. Though we arrived early, we were seated outside right away, and our service and everything we tried was delicious. Signature crab cake is worth it!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was delicious, but the service was a bit slow. It was Easter Brunch so this probably had something to do with it. The crab cakes, French fries, and lemon chess pie are all worth the wait though! Also the ambiance is classic DC and it's not far to the White House (next door is the historic Willard Hotel) if you're looking to be near sites.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Rockfish entree was super, good sized portion.
Fried tomato "BLT" salad was disappointing, couldn't find bacon and I was expecting the tomato to be hot. Rare tuna app was ok.
We requested bread with our cocktails and got wonderful cornbread right from the oven. Service was good.

Tags: Late-night Find, People Watching, Cozy, Authentic, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Delicious food, great cocktails and a fabulous wine! We enjoyed immensely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Horrible experience! Will not go back. They called to confirm reservation which I did. We arrived 15 minutes early. Were seated after a few minutes and then we sat at our table with absolutely no service for over 20 minutes. Assume it was a manager in tie standing right by us entire time. Would not even acknowledge us but he made sure to rush to the table next to us to bring out a dish of water for the dog they had with them. We did not even get water. Left without being served. Told hostess when we were leaving and she said "Oh ok" no apology or attempt to correct!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We happened upon this restaurant and bar after a day of touring. Absolutely fell in love the location, the ambience with all the historical photos, and a very special bartender, Heather. We were so excited after having cocktails that we made immediate lunch reservations for the following Friday. And fortunately Heather wasn't there, three servers to quit that day, leaving a very scattered and hectic crew. Food was not as good as we had hoped for. I have forward to future if management can get their schedule enough staff on the books.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Very fancy - limited menu. Make sure you review the choices. Suitable for those looking for expensive unique eats and fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Food was amazing. Service was great. It was my wife's birthday and they even gave her a birthday card.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The portion of the crab cakes were appetizer size and came with nothing yet expensive. The steak was tough. It was not great food and very expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was good but not worth the high prices. The ribeye steak special was very chewy. The wait staff was pleasant but the service was extremely slow. We were charged for two bottles of wine after declining the first one because it was not the vintage specified on the wine list. We probably will not return.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A true Washington DC gem Enjoyed food and ambiance!
Extremely attentive and professional staff
Love all the photos

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This is good for ambiance the patio is nice and on chilly days there are heaters outside. Service is good but the food is nothing to rage about and over priced. $20 for a 10oz burger that shows up about 7oz with 2 strips pf bacon and one lettuce leaf. There is no substitute for fries like a small salad or veggies. I ordered asparagus on the side. All and all overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a really disappointing experience at Occidental. We didn't feel our server knew the (limited) menu very well, our steaks were tough and unable to be cut, the drinks were subpar, and we were a small group sat in between 3 very large groups. We hadn't been in about 3 years and were eager to come back, but left disappointed and not satiated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great food and service. Great for special occasions or just gathering with friends. Coming back when the weather warms up to dine outside.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 30, 2017

One of the best meals I've had in a long time! I ordered the jumbo lump crab cakes as an entree. Absolutely delicious. My side of Brussel sprouts was by far the best cooked sprouts I've ever had. And what's an award winning meal without dessert? I ordered the lemon chess pie. A must!

Service was a bit slow but the outdoor seating provided great people watching opportunity.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 29, 2017

A solid three star experience for me. The service
was not exceptional, but good. Crab Cakes, Brussels Sprouts, and Lobster Mashed Potatoes were a little too bland. Winners of the night were Baby Spinach Salad and Chocolate Praline Torte. Wonderful atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

In years past, The Occidental has been my favorite restaurant for dinner when visiting D.C. Unfortunately, this time I was disappointed. I still love the décor and the feel of the place and the service is impeccable, but the food this time did not live up to meals I have had in the past. The scallops we had as an appetizer were the best part of the meal. The entrée (black bass) was uninspired. I would return again, but not any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Was a wonderful experience for special friend's birthday!! Food & service were excellent! Elegant atmosphere, excellent food & service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Absolutely one of THE BEST restaurants I've been to, and one of the finest in DC. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience, the WHOLE experience. Only one suggestions...document and publish the histories behind all the pictures on the walls...fascinating.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Great service, all the staff was very attentive. Food was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very nice meal. Service was excellent. Waiter was very attentive. Food had nice presentation. The sorbet was wonderful. So was the whiskey selection! The restrooms were clean as well. Very friendly any accommodating staff.

Tags: Healthy, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Amazing classic food with a modern twist. The seafood is amazing. Do not resist the dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Way overpriced and the colonial costumes were a joke

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.