Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.04mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.04mi

About Occidental Grill & Seafood

Occidental Grill & Seafood is a DC dining institution just steps from the White House, with a history dating back more than 110 years. This iconic gathering place combines legendary staying power with a constantly evolving, cutting-edge menu that takes a fresh and current approach to classic American cuisine.

1475 Pennsylvania Ave NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am – 10:00pm
Sunday: Closed

Happy Hour
Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 7:00pm (Exclusively at the Bar)

Brunch
Saturday : 11am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
14th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 783-1475

Website:
http://www.occidentaldc.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal.

Catering:
Private Dining Space Available.
Call 202-737-4147 for further information or visit http://occidentaldc.com/occidental/index.cfm/meetings-events/.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at The Willard Hotel for an $8.00 fee.

Public Transit:
Metro Center Station located on 13th & F Streets.

Bus stop located on 14th Street near the National Press Building.

Executive Chef:
Rodney Scruggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Occidental Grill & Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Quiet

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (30)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
See All
Business Meals (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
People Watching (14)
Romantic (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Cozy (11)
Casual (10)
Authentic (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Scenic View (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fun (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1731 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Luckily we weren't in a hurry because the meal moved at a leisurely pace. We had to ask more than once for ice, lemons and sweetener. My partner's fish wasn't cooked through so they re-made it, which turned out to be a good thing because he said the second piece was much better. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals. Lovely outdoor setting - couldn't have asked for a better end to our tour of D.C.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The menu offered a variety of entrees. Our server was professional and very attentive. We had a thoroughly enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

anniversary. The service went what we expected given our wedding anniversary celebration. I doubt if we would ever done there again. Unfortunately....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 5, 2017

After all these years, my friend and I agree, The Occidental is riding on its memory...NOT its current experience. I do have to add, however, that Soktae, our server was excellent! Great service, fun sense of humor, and we'd come back to ask for him...but the food is just "good", not great and the selections are fewer, and it is WAY overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My husband and I were in Washington DC celebrating our 1 year anniversary and this place looked like it would be great to celebrate it, however it wasn't as nice as I thought it would be.

We thought we would sit outside since the weather was so nice, but we were seated on the far side close to their neighboring restaurant/bar which was blasting dance music. We are also by a speaker for Occidental which was playing jazz music so the two sounds clashed. In hindsight, we should have sat inside.

The food was good, as were the drinks. They did give us a free dessert and a nice card to celebrate our anniversary, which was thoughtful.

Recommend: Sit INSIDE if you want a quiet dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our server was nice but forgetful. Red fish tasted like cheap ocean perch. It smelled the minute my plate was set before me, and the presentation was unappealing. My husband's prime rib was cooked rare the way he wanted it, but the presentation was average. The lobster mac and cheese was bland. Our waiter forgot to bring our glass of wine with our entree. Maybe this old establishment should reinvent itself starting with the kitchen, food buyer and chefs. We eat with our eyes and nose -- this restaurant should remember this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Day old dinner rolls and poor attention to service. Should have been so much better. Not crowded, should have know better when other restaurants nearby were packed. This place most have been good at one time, but it appears past its prime. Would not return or recommend.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

We were there for a celebration. Our waitress Hannah was great and our manager great too. He took us on a tour of all of the great pictures of celebrities and politicians throughout the restaurant.
My husband had filet and I had veal. Very tasty! Enjoy and close to the White House.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Service was awful. Food was ok not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Food was great, nice new layout--decor is the same but enhanced. Service is impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We go here for every restaurant week, and it is AMAZING.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Went for Sunday Brunch for a birthday celebration. They have a nice variety of selections on the menu, from omlettes to burgers to salads. Service was attentive and courteous, but not fawning. We thought the food was excellent. Great choices and very fresh fruit/produce. And the room and historical photos and paintings is a great atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Delicious food served to the highest standard. Amazing service on a historic setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I have eaten here 3 times in the past but the food we had was very unimpressive. It was very bland. The bacon in the Brussels sprouts was spoiled.

We ate from the DC Restaurant week menu. It felt like a through way.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Before dinner, we sat at the bar because we were early for our reservation. Edward gave us excellent service. Our server, Timothy, also gave us great service & menu recommendations. This was our second visit during restaurant week. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We were expecting a better experience. We went during restaurant week and the menu was pretty good. Unfortunately the food was super salty and not up to the standards we expected. The server was not very attentive and seem wooden and disinterested. We would not go back to this restaurant as there are other good options nearby.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Really amazing restaurant week deal! The happy hour at the bar was also great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Biggest disappointment was that OpenTable directed me to this place from Restaurant Week DC. The restaurant participated in other years, but not this year. We were all disappointed. When people search for Restaurant Week options, please do not offer non-participating restaurants without a warning!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Would normally be too expensive for us (young professionals) but we went for the $35 menu during Restaurant Week and it was incredible! Very elegant and iconic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Took my wife there for her birthday. The wine selection was good and the cocktails were excellent. Waiter was knowledgeable. I especially recommend the lobster bisque as an appetizer.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 16, 2017

I went here for Restaurant Week, I don't know if that is the reason, but service seemed rushed. Before you could really finish a course, someone was there reaching for your plate. This continued throughout the entire experience. I did love the food, but the service really tainted my experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great ambiance. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Had a very nice dinner experience. Food was delicious, waiter very attentive and answered all the questions we had.
My only remark was, I had put that it's my father's birthday in my notes. We ordered one dessert to share yet the restaurant didn't put any candle or anything on it. I did not specifically ask for it, but I think it would have been a nice surprise gesture given I had added it in my notes.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great experience! We had a good time and a good meal it was worth the trip.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fun, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The host was rude. He cancelled my OpenTable reservation and I had to argue several times w/ him 2 check me in, because I meet up w/ coworkers. Other than that, the oysters were decent; however, the lobster bisque was excessively salty.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Rude staff, good food, good outdoor seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We chose this restaurant to celebrate our anniversary; it was a "meh" experience at best. Considering the menu prices, I would've thought this place was more upscale. The food itself was okay, the portions were tiny (after three courses we were still hungry), and I was surprised that a place dubbing itself a seafood restaurant had such a limited oyster selection (only 2 offerings). The patio is nice in theory, but considering there is a BigBus tourist bus stop right out front, we spent the majority of our dinner saddled next to a never-ending line of tired tourists waiting to hop on the bus. Add the noise of about 5 of those double-deckers and it doesn't make for great ambiance, which is too bad because the actual patio is lovely. Speaking of noise though, I didn't realize this was an ideal location for children! (Again, considering the menu prices.) There were a couple children seated next to us, and by the end of our meal I was ready to smack the parents as they allowed their children to run around screaming literally the entire time they sat there eating dinner. At one point my boyfriend told one of the kids to stop fiddling with the umbrella cord because he might hurt himself...the parents just sat there like a couple of idiots. I realize it's uncomfortable as restaurant staff to tell parents when to control their children, and if these kids had just stayed seated I certainly wouldn't mind a bit of extra noise. But when I, my boyfriend, and the serving staff have to dodge rambunctious children then I think the host/hostess/management has a responsibility to ask the parents to control their children so as not to disturb other patrons. Our server, Valerie, was lovely though...and she is quite nimble on her feet considering she was dodging those little brats too.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Delicious food and drinks. The bar staff was incredible and very friendly. We both enjoyed the photos/portraits on the walls. However, our server was rude and uptight. We overheard him talking about us to another server for a reason unbeknownst to us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

A great way to dine in DC and experience the power and history in a meal. Perfect service.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Good food, great service, traditional DC venue... decent price point for the overall quality of the place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 17, 2017

love this restaurant.....server was a bit intrusive during our meal....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Food was great, but the lack of photo of our current president was obvious. When I inquired why his photo was missing, they staff replied that they were afraid it might upset some of their current clients.
From what I've read, the arrangement of the photos on the wall reflect the views and current political climate or the owners. Regardless of their political affiliation, it's disrespectful to purposefully exclude our sitting president from the portraiture.

---update 7/21/17
I am delighted to report that the manger actually gave me a call to let me know that the portrait of Donal Trump is currently being finished and once complete will hang in prominently amongst the other presidential portraits. He also has ensured that staff are aware so that future customers do no receive the same response.

I am so grateful that he called me to let me know this. It shows that they place tremendous value on customer service and respect the office of the presidency.

We will definitely stop in on our next visit to DC!

P.S. The white asparagus soup, that the chef provided the table, was devine.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our meal was very good. I had their version of a Caesar salad, which incorporated green and purple kale. It was very good and perfectly dressed. My husband had the filet mignon with a side of lobster mash potatoes. I had the rockfish filet over yellow lentil dahl -- so amazing!
Unfortunately, our server was having an off-night -- it took an unusually long time for him to 1) greet our table and 2) take our dinner order (there was a 20 minute gap between placing our drink order and taking our dinner order -- he forgot to give us the dinner menus after we ordered our drinks). Overall, he was very absent-minded and generally absent from serving our table. Also, he was very shaky (almost spilled my martini he was shaking so bad). So, maybe he was new and nervous(??). Anyway, because of the long delay in taking our order, he apologized and offered to comp our drinks - so that was nice of them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The service,food, and ambience are top notch here. The tableside cast iron skillet cornbread was an unexpected plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Wonderful staff!! Devon at the front desk took care of everything and the evening was perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This restaurant came highly recommended by a friend as a DC classic and landmark and the experience far exceeded our high expectations. From the moment we arrived, the experience and service was exceptional. It was warm, inviting, attentive yet never stuffy or too formal. The photographs on the wall create a wonderful ambience many of the photos were quite moving. The food was amazing. We had the tuna ceviche to start. CRAZY GOOD! For our entrees we had the crab cakes and the redfish. I am crab cake snob and these were some of the best I have ever had. The wine list is fantastic and has something for everyone. Truly a memorable experience and I can't wait to go back! HIGHLY recommended!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Choices of bread were unacceptable. They served cornbread and very stale store brand dinner rolls.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on July 10, 2017

A terrific restaurant! Authentic, up market with many local dishes. Very interesting decor and well worth a visit if you in the area.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Exceptional dinner made a special occasion very special!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The Occidental is our favorite D.C. restaurant. The food is fabulous, service is superb, and you can actually have a conversation with your table mate(s) and hear each other talk! We love the history and have been loyal diners since the 80s. Love it!

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.