Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Oak Steakhouse

Oak Steakhouse presents an exquisite selection of succulent signature cuts of PRIME Certified Angus Beef such as the 24-Ounce Prime Bone-In Ribeye or Prime NY Strip. Seafood specialties include Local Seasonal Market Catch, Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes, Oysters Rockefeller or Oysters on the Half Shell. House Specialties and Vegetarian options: Housemade Pappardelle (Classic Bolognese or Marinara), Grilled Dutch Valley Veal Porterhouse or CAB Prime Niman Ranch Braised Short Rib. Executive Chef Jeremiah Bacon, a native to Charleston S.C., executes the Farm to Table concept sourcing ingredients from local farmers and fisherman for their menu whenever possible. Specialty Crafted Cocktails, Martinis and an extensive wine selection artfully complement the restaurant's unique historical setting located in the quiet South of Broad neighborhood.

17 Broad Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday 5:00pm-7:00pm @ Bar Only

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-4220

Website:
http://www.oaksteakhouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Jeremiah Bacon

Private Party Facilities:
Private and semi private rooms available.

Private Party Contact:
Nicki Devenuto : (843) 722-4220

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Oak Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (100)
Good for a Date (91)
Romantic (76)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (74)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Notable Wine List (47)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Business Meals (36)
Worth the Drive (34)
Cozy (32)
Authentic (30)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Good for Groups (26)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Fun (22)
Local Ingredients (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Happy Hour (15)
Hot Spot (14)
People Watching (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Casual (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Late-night Find (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Scenic View (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
2571 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

We celebrated our 10 year anniversary dinner here. The restaurant completely exceeded every expectation we could have had ! Highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was outstanding. We just came back from Italy and for three weeks we were looking for that very special meal. Who knew it was in our own backyard? The house salad was wonderful and we split the Mixed Grill. It was enough for two of us and each bite was better than the last. The rolls in the beginning could use some work but who cares when the rest of the meal is the best you have had in a long time. Our server, Chris, was pleasant and gave us just the right amount of attention.
The only thing to mention is that the noise level is high and with these prices and quality of food, I was not expecting this. We sat on the balcony looking down at the bar area. Even though we were next to each other, it was hard to hear our conversation. Is this fine dining, a sports bar (football game at the bar), or a restaurant with the music turned up just a little too loud?
We will definitely go back for the great food but will ask for a quiet table if there is one (possibly on the third floor).

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely!! Favulous meal, incredible service. In the note section when I made my reservation, I wrote that it was our 27th anniversary . When we arrived, the hostess said she didn't see anything in our notes and asked if we were celebrating anything special. We told her it was our 27th anniversary. The waiter said Happy Anniversary when he approached our table, but that was the only time it was mentioned. Most fine dining restaurants make it more special!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Service from Oliver was great. We were seated on third floor. Tables were full but conversation still easy. Steaks were great. Oysters Rockefeller delicious, as was the cheese plate with cheese from Goat.Sheep.Cow

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Loved it! Food was phenomenal and so was the service and ambiance!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Our meal was wonderful. We were in the bird room upstairs and it was a very romantic atmosphere. Our waiter was fantastic. We were there for our 50th anniversary. We had steak and it was excellent. Plan on spending $150- $200 for two.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Love the food and service always is great

we love going there especially for special occasions

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Oak Steakhouse was highly recommended and did not disappoint! We are on the top floor, at a table near the window. Beautiful view, quiet and cozy atmosphere. The staff was engaging and professional. Food was spectacular, every course. Steak cooked exactly as I wanted. Flawless evening!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Romantic, Scenic View, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Sirloin and cab---yum! Restaurant week menu provided plenty of options, the mezzanine table was perfect and the service first class.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Outstanding service and incredible food. Probably the best steak I've ever had in Charleston. Side dishes were delicious and perfect portion for sharing. Will definitely reserve Oak Steakhouse for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food & service were excellent as expected. All staff extremely cordial. Only disappointment
was lack of aged beef due to market conditions. Would like to know when available again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was good to me. I'm vegetarian and my bf is not he was in the mood for a steak. Their jalapeño cornbread was fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

We had a great meal and the staff was very accommodating. They even moved us to a more quiet table after the bar noise picked up. Great steaks and super professional staff. I would definitely recommend the restaurant and food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The food at Oak is excellent, no surprise there, and its Restaurant Week deal is a better value than almost anywhere else I've been. Dinner at Oak is expensive no matter what, especially if you add an appetizer and wine as we did, but it was well worth it for an occasional splurge on a pricey meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Filets and wreckfish were both excellent. One of the very best steaks I've had. Service was appropriately attentive -- there whenever you might have needed it, but never overbearing. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Was very pleased with my dining experience at Charleston's Oak Steakhouse. The good was very good, as was the service and the ambiance. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Having just moved to the area from
CT, my husband and I took advantage of restaurant week to tryout several
higher end restaurants. Oak was at the top of our list. The building and ambiance were beautiful. The hostess was wonderful. Our waiter was more excited about his vacation starting the next day than he was serving us. We all had the filet. Presentation wise, there is no need to slice a filet. It just doesn't look nearly as good as the whole filet. One of our party ordered a MW (ugh) steak that came M to MR. Having the meal at the discounted price was worth it. Definitely wouldn't pay full price.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Rushed us through for restaurant week, potatoes cold, steak cooked rare not medium rare....basically rushed us through

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Some Of the staff seemed to be uptight, maybe it was because of the impending storm. Had reservations at 5, got there at 457, and was told my reservation wasn't until 5 so we could sit at the bar until table was ready. Hardly no one was there, 10 minutes later, table was ready. What was the point of a reservation? Table was right next to bar already available. Lol
It was my first visit to oak and it was enjoyable after the first 15 minutes. Food was awesome and the waiter was attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 8, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed our anniversary dinner at Oak Steakhouse. The atmosphere was delightful and both of our meals were delicious. We can't wait to go back again

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Food and Service were fantastic. Normally the noise level wouldn't have been an issue, but it was our anniversary dinner. We mentioned to the manager that next time we would ask to be seated on the upper level. The mid-level got a lot of the bar "Happiness". Management was very kind. We even had a congratulations card on the table. We will definitely plan a return visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Thank you so very much to the staff at Oak Steakhouse for making Joshua's 29th birthday a memorable one. Andrea even went the extra mile offering us complimentary champagne and dessert! Excellent service from Steven made the night smooth and enjoyable. A million thanks!

❤️Joshua & Amanda, Nashville

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Visiting Charleston with family. 5 adults altogether. Staff went out of their way to make sure we had an enjoyable evening! Ordered two carved tenderloins (spectacular) and several apps and sides. Best cornbread EVER! Oysters Rockefeller, brussel sprouts, smokey Mac n'cheese, succotash, house salad, Bibb lettuce salad... it was all so delicious! We had dinner at several different restaurants that trip, Oak is tied for our favorite (Fig is other). Could not have asked for a better evening, great food, fun service and loving family!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great experience. Celebrated 15 year wedding anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants in the country. The steaks are always perfectly cooked and the service is impeccable! It is one of the few restaurants left that is always consistent. I pray it never changes :)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Amazing staff, food, service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Wonderfully delicious meal in a beautiful ambiance!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great restaurant. Food is excellent, wine list is extensive. Bar is fun. Fabulous martinis. Chris is the man.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Our server Chris (from Minnesota) was incredible! My family was in town visiting and he made dinner special and memorable. Wonderful dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Excellent food, great service, great atmosphere. The ribeye was top notch as was the burger. I would highly recommend

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great place. Great food and service. Herman the GM has it down to a science. Bar none one of the best steakhouses in the US and that is no exaggeration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Andrea is wonderful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Steak, food, and the historical building were awesome. Service was great. Only dowside was that our table was on the middle floor and all the noise from the bar traveled up the wall making it difficult to talk and hear at times.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Wanted to go to a great steakhouse while in Charleston and had already been to another well known steakhouse on a previous trip. I personally liked Oak better. A little less overwhelming with service people. Food was absolutely perfect snd wait staff helpful. I will recommend and return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Always one of my favorite places to grab a steak with a friend. Great service, wonderful bartenders, and the steak is top notch

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Amazing food with great service and atmosphere. We came here for our 1 year wedding anniversary and were very satisfied. Steaks were incredible. Also had a authentic, historic feel to the restaurant which sets is apart from some of the other newer restaurants.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Exquisite food, extremely knowledgeable waiter from choice of food to wine pairing, exceptionally sweet staff in an elegant setting. The perfect date night. No rush, just enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Best Filet you will find anywhere! Our family loves this place! It never disappoints.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Dave our waiter was outstanding. The food was excellent as were the wines selected.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 21, 2017

First time here. Didn't know what to expect. Our conclusion... our meal at Oak Steakhouse was outstanding in every way. The steaks and veggies were exceptional.

Then there was the service... the best I've seen in years. Two examples of my overall rating stems from the following. My daughter requires a gluten free diet. When I got a call from Oak Steakhouse to confirm my reservation I mentioned that information. When we arrived that evening her dietary requirement wasn't mentioned. I was very pleased that as we ordered and my daughter selected an appetizer, the waiter politely mentioned that it contained gluten. He then went through several items on the menu that she should consider as an alternative. Clearly the hostess and the waiter were on their game. Second example of how they went "above and beyond".... Oak Steakhouse made a dish of hand cut fries with goat cheese as a gluten free substitute for bread for the table.

We'll be back next time we're in town.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.