Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Oak Steakhouse

Oak Steakhouse presents an exquisite selection of succulent signature cuts of PRIME Certified Angus Beef such as the 24-Ounce Prime Bone-In Ribeye or Prime NY Strip. Seafood specialties include Local Seasonal Market Catch, Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes, Oysters Rockefeller or Oysters on the Half Shell. House Specialties and Vegetarian options: Housemade Pappardelle (Classic Bolognese or Marinara), Grilled Dutch Valley Veal Porterhouse or CAB Prime Niman Ranch Braised Short Rib. Executive Chef Jeremiah Bacon, a native to Charleston S.C., executes the Farm to Table concept sourcing ingredients from local farmers and fisherman for their menu whenever possible. Specialty Crafted Cocktails, Martinis and an extensive wine selection artfully complement the restaurant's unique historical setting located in the quiet South of Broad neighborhood.

17 Broad Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday 5:00pm-7:00pm @ Bar Only

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-4220

Website:
http://www.oaksteakhouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Jeremiah Bacon

Private Party Facilities:
Private and semi private rooms available.

Private Party Contact:
Rachel Wilkins: (843) 722-4220

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 10:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Oak Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (101)
Good for a Date (94)
Romantic (90)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (77)
Historic (56)
Notable Wine List (55)
Business Meals (46)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Cozy (41)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Worth the Drive (32)
Local Ingredients (27)
Bar Seating (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Authentic (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Fun (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Casual (11)
Scenic View (10)
Family Style (9)
People Watching (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Private Room (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Great Beer (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Fireplace (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2417 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined a day ago

Food fantastic as always. Our server Bryan should be in the waiter Hall of Fame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing dinner! Fantastic service! The foie Gras was amazing as well as the steaks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was incredible! From the appetizers to main course, everything was exceptional. Can't recommend enough!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

While this was not the best overall meal I have had at Oak it still remains one of my favorites. I tend to prefer Oak over Hall's mainly because it is easier parking and less crowded. My biggest let down for me was the change in their brussels sprouts, I did not find it as enjoyable as I have in the past. Their risotto was lack luster as well. Staff was great and of course steak was was great as well.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Wanted to try this restaurant once and won't be back. Extremely overpriced menu. As an example, the shrimp cocktail at $14 had maybe 50 cents worth of shrimp (6 small shrimp). Steaks were flavorful and service was excellent but $230 for 2 people with one appetizer, no drinks, no cocktails, no dessert, 2 shared sides, 2 small salads is not worth it. I know you are paying for the "dining experience" in Charleston but there is no view, you are packed in, it's noisy, and just overall not worth going to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The thing that stood out the most at Oak was the quality service we received. The waitress was extremely knowledagable, friendly, and the meal was timed appropriately.

The food itself was wonderful and the steaks all prepared as we ordered them. I would definitely return to this restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Brandon was fantastic. Easy-going, but professional and knowledgeable about his restaurant. He was authentic and attentive. My filet may have been the best filet I have ever had. My husband had the Kansas City strip, and he said it was fabulous. We loved it all! Blueberry cobbler for dessert and French pressed coffee with cream. Fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I went to Oak to celebrate my graduation dinner and they made me feel very special. The food was amazing and steak was cooked to perfection. Will 100% be going back and recommending !

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

An excellent Mothers Day brunch. It was not too loud, easy to talk, the food was wonderful, service was outstanding. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The menu is over-priced. The food was good and the service was good, but the price is way too high. Overall we had a good experience, but the cost alone will prevent us from returning to Oak Steakhouse. :-(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Awesome dinner, a bit expensive. Would have expected grass-fed beef at this price level.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Oak is outstanding for its fabulous steaks and desserts, and especially for its first class service. The entire service team is helpful in describing menu items, suggesting wines, and providing discreet yet friendly service. Its fun to eat higher over Broad Street, a different perspective on downtown. I have been to Oak three times, and it is my favorite place to being my foodie friends who crave a great steak dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The restaurant was awesome except for the noise level. It was hard to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We went here for 10th anniversary dinner...it was AMAZING!! Possibly best meal we've ever had! Beautiful old building, excellent service and menu. Not cheap, but worth the money!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 10, 2017

An amazing space with great food and service. Enough has been written about Oak for you to know, but to experience it is something else. The Oysters Rockefeller are not to be missed and you really can't go wrong no matter what you go with it for your entree. From the front door to the chef and his staff the personnel go above and beyond to make you feel comfortable and welcome.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Expensive but great aged steaks and fabulous sides

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great Steaks Period!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great all around, service was excellent- they even had a congratulations card for our anniversary on the table when we sat down

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Dinner on a special weekend with a wonderful wife! I made reservations through an app and at the last minute so I really shouldn't gripe about the seating, but, to offer a romantic dinner for 2 in a major thoroughfare in a cold central room in a busy restaurant was really unnecessary. They could have just conceded that there were no tables left. The hostess and wait staff were terrific. Obviously well trained. The wine was good but well overpriced. Salads were limp and a ant was crawling on the bowl. (Quickly remedied I must admit). The steak was indeed perfectly cooked but for the price, did not carry the flavor. The sides were acceptable at best and the desert (creme brulee.) was just average at best.

Overall: Highly Over Rated! Enjoyed it but there are many other, better options in Charleston.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our group of eight enjoyed the wonderful food and ambience. Everyone's meal was awesome. It is definitely the place to go in Charleston if you want a great steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We had the dry-aged 24-oz steak and it was wonderful! Service was exceptional. Caesar salad was the best. Special oysters on the half shell were perfect. I was annoyed and disappointed that the crème brûlée was over-sweetened vanilla pudding, one of my pet peeves that restaurants do. Creme brûlée is specific. Do it right! Shame on you for that.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent service. Fabulous food! Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Absolutely fantastic!! Ask to sit downstairs. Our waiter Chris was terrific and really made our night! Worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We are from out of town and The Oaks was recommended. We are really excited that we listened and went there. We have passed the word what an outstanding dinner we had.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Oliver was a first rate waiter. Total service orientation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Outstanding food, service and quality. If travel again to Charleston will definitely eat here again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was good if you are looking for a steak. Service was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Bone-in filet was one of the best steaks I have ever had. If you want a great steak this is the place to go. Chris was an exceptional server. Oyster Rockefeller app was great-my wife doesn't like oysters but she liked them cooked like that. Carrot cake dessert was the best carrot cake I have ever had. This restaurant is not cheap but the quality of food is worth the price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was the very best steak we have ever eaten!we eat a lot of steaks...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fun, Modern Decor, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

As always, a great meal at one of our favorite steak houses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

One of the best meals we've ever had. Appetizer and salad were delicious. Steak melted like butter in your mouth. Nice wine selection. Service was outstanding. Highly highly recommend. We made our reservation a month in advance. About two weeks after making our reservation, we read that Oak Steakhouse is one of the best steak houses in the USA and we agree 100%.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Excellent bone-in New York Strip cooked to perfection! Great staff and friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Most excellent meal and restaurant in Charleston. Chef, service, food and attention to detail are second to none. Been fortunate to eat at a lot of nice restaurants across the country and Oak is one of the very best.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 27, 2017

First meal with son and his new wife after his wedding two weeks ago. They are traveling the east coast for their honeymoon and stopped to visit us in Charleston for a few days. We wanted them to experience some of charlestons finest dining :)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We had been to Oak one other time so knew we wanted to return for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great food and service in a lovely setting.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

The Indigo Road's Group steakhouse upholds the Group's dedication to hospitality, service and excellence. Begining with a perfect Malfy gin martini to oysters Rockefeller, Caesar salad, mixed grill( which they allowed me substitute a crab cake for the filet) and finishing with a whimsical Banana Cream Pie cocktail, execution was flawless as was service(thanks to our server, David, who was always on point).With the exception of O Ku, we ate (and drank) at all the Group's restaurants. Chef Jeremiah Bacon's commitment to excellence appears pervasive in the group. Staff take pride in the execution of their duties. I rarely write reviews but was moved to do this as the Indigo Road Group really has "it", big time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Dinner with friends. Nice quiet setting. Service was very good and the meal was outstanding. Steaks prepared perfectly and the sides were both plentiful and delicious.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We were seated on the third floor which was a beautiful room. Our waiter was courteous and friendly. We shared the Bibb salad which was fresh and crisp..delicious. We also shared the ribeye steak it was cooked to perfection. We would certainly go bacb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 25, 2017

The service was excellent. The cheese plate was outstanding. My steak was perfect!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.