About Oak Steakhouse

Oak Steakhouse presents an exquisite selection of succulent signature cuts of PRIME Certified Angus Beef such as the 24-Ounce Prime Bone-In Ribeye or Prime NY Strip. Seafood specialties include Local Seasonal Market Catch, Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes, Oysters Rockefeller or Oysters on the Half Shell. House Specialties and Vegetarian options: Housemade Pappardelle (Classic Bolognese or Marinara), Grilled Dutch Valley Veal Porterhouse or CAB Prime Niman Ranch Braised Short Rib. Executive Chef Jeremiah Bacon, a native to Charleston S.C., executes the Farm to Table concept sourcing ingredients from local farmers and fisherman for their menu whenever possible. Specialty Crafted Cocktails, Martinis and an extensive wine selection artfully complement the restaurant's unique historical setting located in the quiet South of Broad neighborhood.

17 Broad Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday 5:00pm-7:00pm @ Bar Only

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-4220

Website:
http://www.oaksteakhouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Jeremiah Bacon

Private Party Facilities:
Private and semi private rooms available.

Private Party Contact:
Rachel Wilkins: (843) 722-4220

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 10:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Oak Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (73)
Special Occasion (73)
Good for a Date (71)
See All
Romantic (69)
Notable Wine List (50)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Historic (43)
Business Meals (35)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Cozy (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Worth the Drive (29)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Authentic (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Local Ingredients (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Fun (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Private Room (8)
Scenic View (6)
Casual (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Seasonal (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Family Style (4)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2271 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice and quiet restaurant. Great at ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 21 hours ago

Very nice and quiet restaurant. Great atmosphere and great service! They offer complimentary valet to customers which is a great convenience and half price bottles of wine on Sundays!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I went here for his bday. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I went here for his bday....the food was delicious...the staff was wonderful!! I highly recommend it!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, , Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great overall experience with the steak ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Great overall experience with the steak being high quality meat. Good wine list and great service with that old Charleston feel. A better value than some of the other upscale Charleston steak houses.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff was rude. And the seating is h ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

The staff was rude. And the seating is horrible. We were seated in someone else's lap basically and had no room or privacy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

Although the oyster Rockefeller was incr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Although the oyster Rockefeller was incredible. We came for valentine day. The steak was not up to par. Even though I ordered it medium I would have expected it to have been hot when served. Clearly it was prepared ahead of time. The wine list was extensive and appreciated. We fine dine 2 to 3 times a month and really was looking forward to this night out. Disappointed!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

The steaks were outstanding. We have bee ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

The steaks were outstanding. We have been very interested in coming to the restaurant that is licensed to sell the best beef ever, Certified Angus Beef. Fabulous brand! Family style sides were great comfort foods. The charcuterie before our meal was delicious. Hope to return soon to the #1 steak restaurant in Charleston. It was a memorable Valentines Day❤️

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't give 10's often ..... 10..... ok ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

I don't give 10's often ..... 10..... ok ... now go eat STEAK

😎👍👍👍🙌🙌🙌🍷🍷🍾🍾

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WHILE THE RESTUARANT WAS A NICE EXPERIAN ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

WHILE THE RESTUARANT WAS A NICE EXPERIANCE AND WE THROUGHLY ENJOYED OURSELVES, I CANNOT SAY THAT THE EXBORANT BILL WAS WORTH THE FOOD WE ATE. WE'VE HAD BETTER, OR JUST AS GOOD, AT OTHER PLACES THAT DIDN'T COST A FRACTION OF WHAT THIS DID. WE ORDERED ONE LARGE STEAK (120.00) TO SHARE , TWO SIDES AND A COUPLE OF GLASSES OF WINE FOR ME AND A BEER FOR MY HUSBAND. THE BILL WAS OVER 233.00 AND THAT WAS BEFORE A TIP. IT JUST WASNT ALL THAT AND I HAVE TO ADMIT THAT WE HAD BUYERS REMORSE AFTER.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

This was our first time to Oak and it wa ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our first time to Oak and it was beyond our expectations. The service from the moment we walked in the door until we finished our meal was exceptional. The food was prepared to perfection and we enjoyed the entire experience. If you have a chance to experience this restaurant don't miss it.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I hadn't been to Oak in m ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

My husband and I hadn't been to Oak in many years because we didn't think much of it at the time. We decided to try it again for his birthday. Everyone was very nice and even brought a complimentary piece of cake. Our steaks were ok. Sides are smaller than other local steakhouse. Service was slow. I felt like our waiter had too many tables and couldn't dedicate more personal service. I feel that it is not comparable to the other known local steakhouse and the prices are the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

My husband took me to Oak Steakhouse for ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My husband took me to Oak Steakhouse for my birthday and it was perfect. Everyone made me feel special from the hostesses to our waiter from the moment we walked in. They knew ahead of time that it was my birthday and greeted me with birthday wishes. My husband ordered a whole fried lobster in advance and it was perfect. Couldn't have asked for a better evening.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites for special events ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of our favorites for special events (Birthday, Valentine's Day, Anniversaries).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most amazing meal me and my girlfrie ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The most amazing meal me and my girlfriend have ever had. the cocktails were great. We had pan seared scallops for an app which were absolutely delicious. We ordered brussel sprouts and lobster mac and cheese for sides and they were amazing. The filet mignon topped with king crab with the Hollandaise sauce was the best steak I've ever had. Better than Ruth's Chris, Longhorn, anywhere hands down. Everything was amazing , the service, the atmosphere, and most importantly the food. Most amazing experience for us Savannahians. We will definitely be returning from savnnah just to go here. Highly recommend guys taking your ladies.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great... the seating could have ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was great... the seating could have been better as we were next to the kitchen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Absolutely fantastic. Our anniversary n ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Absolutely fantastic. Our anniversary night was memorable.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing burger and amazing white chocola ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing burger and amazing white chocolate cheesecake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Might have been the best steak I've ever ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Might have been the best steak I've ever eaten. 16 oz ribeye Cooked perfectly rare, it cut easier than any steak I can remember. The service was excellent as well. Roughly same price as any high end steak place but you will get your money's worth this was definitely a memorable experience. If you're in Charleston and want a great steak, look no further.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was amazing, great food, great service, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Was amazing, great food, great service, date night!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was amazing! We went for a pr ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Everything was amazing! We went for a pre-Valentine's Day romantic date since we were going to be apart for Valentine's Day. The waiter sent us each a glass of champagne. The managers Victoria and Herman were very welcoming, as well as the hostesses. Great waiter - Steven. So the food: Oysters Rockefeller and Carpaccio of Beef - scrumptious! Loved the salad with the pickled beets and compressed apples - very refreshing. I had the 8oz filet mignon (recommend having cooked medium at most), hubby had the roasted chicken with brussel sprouts and broken rice - so good. We shared the smoked bacon mac and cheese - need I say more! After dinner we sat at the bar to have a drink. Love the ambience at the bar. Melanie is awesome.

Oh yeah - and the cookies they give you for the ride home.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Oak three times now. Thi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I have been to Oak three times now. This is my second negative review - there will not be a fourth visit. My boneless steak was outstanding, but the sides were only barely warm. Oak has compromised the dining experience to fit as many people in the restaurant as is possible. We were jammed into a nook where we must have had no less than 100 people pass by (close by) our table during the one and a half hours we were there. Not very comfortable. Not sure what you have to do to get a "good" table, but I'm not sure that would even help at this point. Sorry guys - I should have know better than to give you a third chance. I expect more when I spend more than $200 for a dinner for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Oak Steakhouse has always been our favor ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Oak Steakhouse has always been our favorite restaurant in Charleston. Even after living here for nearly 11 years and trying every steak house around, we always come back and now, will never 'stray' again! What's also unique among the steak & chop places here, Oak always has wonderful selections of fish, pasta and vegetarian offerings....truly something for everyone!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Their 5 oz filet and truffled fries is o ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Their 5 oz filet and truffled fries is one of the best bargains in town. We add a couple oysters Rockefeller, and share a salad. We visit Oak every time we are in town.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oysters Rockefeller were great. Oliver m ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Oysters Rockefeller were great. Oliver made an awesome wine suggestion. Steaks and Lobster mac n cheese were on point! Highly recommended

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gorgeous interior with three dining floo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Gorgeous interior with three dining floors. Be prepared to stay a while because the meals take about 40-45 minutes to prepare. Do not be discouraged though, the wait is clearly worth it. The steak I ordered was the best I have ever eaten! The sides were unique and extraordinary delicious especially the creamed spinach. The service was spectacular and the ambiance incredible.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food wasn't what I expected for the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The food wasn't what I expected for the price. Our server was great but be ready to spend a few hours just for a meal.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

This is hands down one of my top 3 restu ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This is hands down one of my top 3 resturants in Charleston, from service to the best steaks you can find makes this a winner every time!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding as always!

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Outstanding as always!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Regular diners with friends. Excellent f ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Regular diners with friends. Excellent food and service. Staff very friendly, courteous and professional.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular food with an atmosphere to m ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Spectacular food with an atmosphere to match. Upstairs dining is quiet and romantic, perfect for that special occasion!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly and experienced staff and great ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Friendly and experienced staff and great steaks with sides. The climb to the third flood was a hike, but we made it. One of our guests had to have her broken chair replaced; the music was too loud and a little too "pop" for dinner. Very expensive, but a nice meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Most amazing corn bread in world. I'm n ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Most amazing corn bread in world. I'm not kidding.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous food! The dry-aged steak is to ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fabulous food! The dry-aged steak is to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our food was absolutely delicious. We s ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Our food was absolutely delicious. We sat at a big round table for 8 upstairs for my birthday and it was quite enough that we could all talk and hear one another! The only hiccup was that my sister called to see if she could bring in a birthday cake for me. She was told absolutely...so she did. Unfortunately the young lady she spoke with did not mention a $60 charge to cut the cake. Nor did anyone mention it when she dropped the cake off. So needless to say she was shocked when she got the bill and too embarrassed to say anything about it. One of the gentleman spoke with a manager and it was removed from the bill. I just think it would be a good policy that anyone answering the phone or questions about bringing in a cake or bottle of wine should be well versed on the cost to the customer and made sure they give the information to the customer prior to them arriving. Personally $60 to cut 7 pieces of cake seems a little steep to me. We even ordered a few other deserts.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is definitely an upscale steak hous ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 23, 2017

This is definitely an upscale steak house. We were placed at a nice table on the third level. The surroundings were excellent. There was a table of 8 a short distance from us, but that table conversation and laughter were barely discernible.

Our wait staff was excellent. He had commendable knowledge of the wine lists and the menu selections. While our waiter attended more than one table, there was always someone attending to us without being intrusive.

My steak (rib-eye) was the best steak that I have had in many months -- yes, I do like to eat quality steaks and eat them regularly. My wife had the filet, she strongly prefers it butterflied and nearly well done. It came well-well-well done to the point of being a piece of charcoal. We pointed this situation out to the staff and they immediately recognized it, prepared another filet as quickly as possible--this one was perfect!

I do recommend this top tier steak house. You must be willing to pay for the quality of food and the service. But for this occasion for us, it was worth every dollar!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and amazing food!!!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great service and amazing food!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent service from the staff and the ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent service from the staff and the food was excellent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was amazing! This w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food and service was amazing! This was not our first time at Oak, however the first time we had been there we sat in the upstairs dining room. We were a bit disappointed that we sat in the bar area right next to the door, even though we made reservations well in advance. Would still highly recommend it for a small group get together or intimate date night etc!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

It is very expensive. WE went on restau ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2017

It is very expensive. WE went on restaurant week and left hungry. The mashed potatoes were swiped over the plate but barely there. The steak was good. My husband ordered med rare and I medium and they looked exactly the same. Not a fan for the $. This was my 2nd try. Our total was $175 for dinner with 2 beers and 2 "special price glasses of wine"

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

We couldn't have asked for a better nigh ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We couldn't have asked for a better night out. The food the staff, valet parking.

All in all good value for the money.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely an amazing dinner! We will de ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Absolutely an amazing dinner! We will definitely be back! It was my girlfriend's birthday and I mentioned that when we made the reservations. Our waiter came over and wished her a happy birthday very first thing and brought us a cake for dessert. Extremely pleased and fabulous food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.