Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.21mi

About Oak Steakhouse

Oak Steakhouse presents an exquisite selection of succulent signature cuts of PRIME Certified Angus Beef such as the 24-Ounce Prime Bone-In Ribeye or Prime NY Strip. Seafood specialties include Local Seasonal Market Catch, Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes, Oysters Rockefeller or Oysters on the Half Shell. House Specialties and Vegetarian options: Housemade Pappardelle (Classic Bolognese or Marinara), Grilled Dutch Valley Veal Porterhouse or CAB Prime Niman Ranch Braised Short Rib. Executive Chef Jeremiah Bacon, a native to Charleston S.C., executes the Farm to Table concept sourcing ingredients from local farmers and fisherman for their menu whenever possible. Specialty Crafted Cocktails, Martinis and an extensive wine selection artfully complement the restaurant's unique historical setting located in the quiet South of Broad neighborhood.

17 Broad Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday 5:00pm-7:00pm @ Bar Only

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-4220

Website:
http://www.oaksteakhouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Jeremiah Bacon

Private Party Facilities:
Private and semi private rooms available.

Private Party Contact:
Nicki Devenuto : (843) 722-4220

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Oak Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (91)
Good for a Date (82)
Romantic (67)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (67)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Notable Wine List (42)
Business Meals (41)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Worth the Drive (32)
Cozy (29)
Authentic (28)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Fun (22)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Good for Groups (20)
Bar Seating (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
People Watching (15)
Casual (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Scenic View (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2597 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

We meet with other family members in a quiet place on the 3rd floor! Wonderful food, service and atmosphere!
It our favorite place for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Need better craft beer selection. Food was on time and great. As good or better Tha Halls Chop House

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Meal was great, service was spot on. Would recommend the strip over the filet based on seasoning and flavor. It was our anniversary and they took care of us well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Always great. I appreciate bringing people there and having them rave about it. Makes me look good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

This is now one of our favorite restaurants! The food is absolutely amazing!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 10, 2017

We were seated in the second floor dining area directly above the bar. Between the din from the bar area, and the noisy business diners next to us, the noise was unbearable. Our goal of a pleasant dinner with old friends was spoiled by the need to shout just to be heard.
While the food was very good, the presentation was only average. Service was adequate.
As one of the most expensive restaurants in Charleston, we consider it to be very overpriced, and not worthy of a top flight rating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Spectacular service, however an expensive yet mediocre steak for an alleged premier steakhouse in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Hadn't been to this restaurant in a few years. So glad I went back as everything was amazing. Wish I lived in Charleston so I could eat there at least once a week. Next time I'm in town I'll definitely return for dinner.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Outstanding experience. The steaks that we ordered were done to perfection along with the rest of the Entrée. The wait staff were skilled and efficient and the Assistant Manager was pro-active , but not overbearing, with us to assure our Satisfaction. Looking forward to our next experience there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Great steakhouse!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Brandon was the PERFECT waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had a very good meal, is on the same level as Hall's. Staff was very attentive. Also on Sunday $40 off a very good bottle of wine. Was one of our best meals while in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We were treated differently because of our age and could tell the second we sat down. Our server told us that we couldn't afford the steaks so he didn't even give us a description when going through the menu. We waited two hours before we received or food and got the dessert to go. We had received a gift card, thank god, because overall experience was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 7, 2017

It was quite possibly the best dining experience I have ever had. It started with outstanding hostesses, servers, food, wine, etc. and ended with a delicious dessert. Simply an amazing experience for all in my party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Great restaurant! We were there for our son Ring Ceremony at The Citadel....I had a table of 7 and my reservation was not until 9:30 PM and they took us way earlier before that!!! The service and the food was epic !!!!! Been there several times....great spot!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The noise level was terribly loud! The service was very slow. The website, the hostess that confirmed the reservation and the waiter "claimed" you have vegan options. What was presented was embarrassing, handful of what appeared to be a bagged salad and some cold corn succotash! The only saving grace, they took the $22 of the bill that they tried to charge for that slop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Fantastic experience. Staff was welcoming and very courteous. The food was prepared perfectly, would give 6 stars if I could. We will be back again, again, and again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Amazing time and one of the best overall meals I have had. The truffle fries were the best along with the perfectly cooked steak!!! Job well done!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

After a bad beginning with our reservation, Robert(Rob) our server took over and managed to make everything great again. He took very good care of us and his recommendations for the food were top of the notch. Both, he and the food were amazing. We can recommend this place with any doubt. Thx to Rob we had an amazing evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

The reception is always friendly; the service is superb and the food delicious. The noise level can be irksome for me as I have a deaf ear but so far have always been given a booth which makes a huge difference and for which I am very grateful. Hilary

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Good and service was great however there was a table of about 16 or so 25 or so year old males that were drunk, loud and acting like drunken frat boys. The staff moved us to another room but with open doors and such still very loud. They pretty much ruined a great night out. I hate that for the restaurant, food was great, local beer as well but environment was more of a fraternity house.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Don't know where you could go to find a better steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

No exaggeration, one of the best steaks I have ever eaten, if not the best. You always expect an A+ steak when you go to a steakhouse, but this was stellar.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We celebrated our 10 year anniversary dinner here. The restaurant completely exceeded every expectation we could have had ! Highly recommend this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was outstanding. We just came back from Italy and for three weeks we were looking for that very special meal. Who knew it was in our own backyard? The house salad was wonderful and we split the Mixed Grill. It was enough for two of us and each bite was better than the last. The rolls in the beginning could use some work but who cares when the rest of the meal is the best you have had in a long time. Our server, Chris, was pleasant and gave us just the right amount of attention.
The only thing to mention is that the noise level is high and with these prices and quality of food, I was not expecting this. We sat on the balcony looking down at the bar area. Even though we were next to each other, it was hard to hear our conversation. Is this fine dining, a sports bar (football game at the bar), or a restaurant with the music turned up just a little too loud?
We will definitely go back for the great food but will ask for a quiet table if there is one (possibly on the third floor).

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Lovely!! Favulous meal, incredible service. In the note section when I made my reservation, I wrote that it was our 27th anniversary . When we arrived, the hostess said she didn't see anything in our notes and asked if we were celebrating anything special. We told her it was our 27th anniversary. The waiter said Happy Anniversary when he approached our table, but that was the only time it was mentioned. Most fine dining restaurants make it more special!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Service from Oliver was great. We were seated on third floor. Tables were full but conversation still easy. Steaks were great. Oysters Rockefeller delicious, as was the cheese plate with cheese from Goat.Sheep.Cow

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

This is a special place, low light and unbelievable food. Don't worry about the price it's all worth it in the end!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 22, 2017

The food was delicious and server friendly and helpful. However, we sat in the mezzanine and it was very hot and stuffy and lacked atmosphere. For the high prices, I'd go elsewhere. There's a reason that Halls is hopping all night while Oak is on the empty side. It's time to refurbish and update.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Loved it! Food was phenomenal and so was the service and ambiance!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Our meal was wonderful. We were in the bird room upstairs and it was a very romantic atmosphere. Our waiter was fantastic. We were there for our 50th anniversary. We had steak and it was excellent. Plan on spending $150- $200 for two.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Love the food and service always is great

we love going there especially for special occasions

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Oak Steakhouse was highly recommended and did not disappoint! We are on the top floor, at a table near the window. Beautiful view, quiet and cozy atmosphere. The staff was engaging and professional. Food was spectacular, every course. Steak cooked exactly as I wanted. Flawless evening!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Romantic, Scenic View, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Sirloin and cab---yum! Restaurant week menu provided plenty of options, the mezzanine table was perfect and the service first class.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Outstanding service and incredible food. Probably the best steak I've ever had in Charleston. Side dishes were delicious and perfect portion for sharing. Will definitely reserve Oak Steakhouse for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food & service were excellent as expected. All staff extremely cordial. Only disappointment
was lack of aged beef due to market conditions. Would like to know when available again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was good to me. I'm vegetarian and my bf is not he was in the mood for a steak. Their jalapeño cornbread was fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

We had a great meal and the staff was very accommodating. They even moved us to a more quiet table after the bar noise picked up. Great steaks and super professional staff. I would definitely recommend the restaurant and food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The food at Oak is excellent, no surprise there, and its Restaurant Week deal is a better value than almost anywhere else I've been. Dinner at Oak is expensive no matter what, especially if you add an appetizer and wine as we did, but it was well worth it for an occasional splurge on a pricey meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.