Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.44mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.95mi

About Nundini Chef's Table

The Nundini Chef's Table is Houston's destination for authentic Italian food and products. Nestled in an unassuming warehouse in the Heights, the Chef's Table transports you to the streets of Italy. Get true Italian food in our full-service restaurant, featuring dishes from many regions in Italy. Or take a stroll through our shop, and purchase the very products used to make your delicious meal. Offering a vast selection of wine from every region in Italy, the choice is yours as to what part of Italy you wish to visit today. Indulge in the rich flavors of our Homemade Gelato and Sorbetto. Come to the Chef's Table, where every day is like a trip to Italy with all your friends and family.

500 N Shepherd Dr
Houston, TX 77007
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Dinner:
Friday-Saturday:5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
W. 6th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 861-6331

Website:
http://www.nundini.com/

Catering:
We do provide

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet is provided, but self parking is an available option as well.

Public Transit:
Bus stop on the corner of North Shepherd and 6th.

Executive Chef:
Giampaolo Nundini

Additional:
Beer, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Nundini Chef's Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (5)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (3)
See All
Fit for Foodies (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Casual (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for a Date (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
222 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Squid ink pasta is a winner.
Breaded veal chop was excellent and shareable.
Outstanding all Italian wine list at affordable in restaurant and retail prices.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2017

On our weeknight visit we found the food good to very good. The tiramisu was excellent as was the ravioli. The buccatini was less successful. There,was a large group there that night so the server was a bit harried--the food arrived on time but there was a wait for the check. Wine selection is exceptionally broad, and costs are reasonable. We will be back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

We enjoyed the food, but were fairly disappointed in the service. We were seated quickly, but then waited what seemed like a very long time before we were ever approached again, even for water. After dinner, we waited a very long time again to get the check. Unfortunately, it kind of out a damper on our experience at the restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Enjoyed the August lunch special. Great price, great selection, great taste and perfect portion size.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 29, 2017

A pleaseant surprise as to how good it was. The food was excellent, the service was outstanding. The market for authentic Italian food items was an unexpected treat. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Food was mostly amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Three of us met for dinner. We decided to order a margarita pizza for a shared appetizer. The crust and cheese were both good...the tomatoes were one of the small varieties that are usually used in salads but were flavorful in this usage. There was not a lot of basil, but it was fresh. Our preference would have been for the crust to be crispier.

For my entre I ordered the shrimp that normally came with risotto...I asked if they could substitute a pasta with marinara and they were happy to do that. The dish was excellent. My wife ordered scallops in prosciutto and the scallops were very good with a rich taste similar to bacon wrapped scallops without so much fat. Our friend ordered the pork tenderloin and seemed to also enjoy his meal.

We ordered a couple of glasses of one of the Italian blend wines that they are famous for...a very good value at less than $10 per glass.

Service is leisurely but having their fresh bread with olive oil kept us occupied until the meal arrived. If you have never tried this place and you like Italian food, you should definitely give it a try. It has evolved from an Italian grocery to an Italian grocery with some food to an excellent Italian restaurant with an Italian grocery. Note that Friday and Saturday nights can be busy so consider making reservations on OpenTable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 12, 2017

To start off, I had requested a quiet spot for a business meeting. I didn't expect the person taking us to our table to mention that out loud in front of my guest. The food was okay but the service was a drag. It took forever before we were seated ( it wasn't crowded, there was no one at the front), it took a while to order and to ask/receive the check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

My husband had found this restaurant and was excited to take me. We did arrive a little late for our reservation (I had called to let them know we would be). Once we were seated, our waitress was less than friendly (or even happy to have a job), the food was an hour out (that's being kind) and then my risotto was crunchy and not edible. Talk about a disappointing evening....we won't be back.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We love Nundini's whether every day grab a bite place or special day or night. The staff is very personable and knowledgeable. They chefs also make great soups.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Very good quality food but outside of the pizza, prices were higher than what I expected. Service was okay to start but when finished, we weren't offered coffee or dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Wonderful food selection
Our party each ordered something different
All were delighted. Service was good. Wine selection excellent Italian wines

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Met husband's family here for dinner; father in-law, mother in-law, sister in-law and her boyfriend. Father in-law collects wine and thoroughly impressed with the wine menu; he will be back for their tasting dinners. The food was authentic, skillfully prepared (and tasty) and the service was excellent. We tried several different appetizers, entrees and desserts and were impressed by them all. The price was quite reasonable as well. We will absolutely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Even though I have been to Nundini several times to pick up their delicious gelato, this was my first dinner excursion. I was initially concerned about being able to have a conversation without diners at the next table overhearing, but amazingly my concern was unfounded. The service was flawless and the food delicious and beautifully presented. Will definitely return and highly recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This place is a gem. Service is great and everyone is friendly. Food tastes fantastic. I want to go back and try the pizza which is cooked in a brick oven right in front of the dining room. It's like a night in Italy! Free valet parking makes it a breeze for Date Night. Love the wine list! Lots of interesting and affordable wines by the glass and by the bottle. CHEERS!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Took our friends to celebrate both their birthdays and they just loved it. One of our friends is from Sicily and I was worried the food would not be as authentic as he is accustomed to but he was impressed with the menu items and wines. White wines were years old but the waiter let us try it and if it wasn't to our liking we changed it out with a red wine. They were very patient with us and the food was outstanding! Definitely returning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Nundini's was a real neighborhood find. Located in a commercial center the entrance is very plain. Inside it is spacious and quiet if a bit dark. The food is excellent and features many authentic Italian specialties. We enjoyed the pasta with pistachio pesto and the wild boar ragu. Both dishes reminded us of our travels in Italy. The wine list is long, all Italian and very reasonably priced. It includes wines from every major wine producing area in Italy often with economical to more high priced examples. Timothy our server was very helpful with both food and wine selections and with explaining the many specials available.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 3, 2017

1. 2 out of the 4 in my party received the wrong order
2. The pappardelle that I ordered was stuck together
3. Panna cotta was like a frozen cake form

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This was a very good lunch. The waiter was new and still getting familiar with the menu. I have had dinner here number of times before. This was my first lunch. My associate had never been to The restaurant before. He was very impressed. The location is the perfect place to meet between downtown and uptown.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

One of my favorite spots outside of downtown. Great service and outstanding food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We went for Valentine's day which is becoming a yearly outing at Nundini's. The service and food were both excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

A secret neighborhood jewel. Will definitely be back, just to work through the rest of the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Received menus 15 min after being seated. No water either. There were maybe 6 tables occupied and 3 servers. The server told us that they were short-staffed. P.S. To all servers - I don't care about the problems of the restaurant. Just appologize and make it better. The bread was tasteless as well as the olive oil that was served for dipping. Another tip - use great olive oil or add some spices. We ordered a couple of dishes that had mussels and 6 of the mussels were closed - the server said.... I can bring you a tool to open them. Note: if a mussel is closed you should not eat it as it means it was probably dead before harvesting and therefore bad. We also ordered risotto and many many of the rice kernels were hard. All in all the food was just OK and for just OK food it was over priced.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

This is the third time I have been the Chef's table. When we arrived some kind of event was going on. I had already made reservations online and nothing was noted about a special event. The server asked if we wanted to have the 4 course pairing but really we already had our hearts set on the normal menu. The chef was kind enough to accommodate us and served the regular menu. The food was excellent as usual! Highly recommend the calamari! The wine list is very good but by the glass options were not that impressive.

The seating in the original dining room is so much better than the extended seating area so request that if you go.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This was our 3rd visit and we brought new clients with us. We were very disappointed as the service was extremely poor. We waited over 50 minutes for our food with no communication from the waiter as to why that was happening. When we finally asked for the owner of the restaurant, he came out and his excuse was that he had other things to take care of and the problem was his people. He basically through his staff "under the bus" and told us his problems instead of solving our problem of no food! He didn't try to make it up by comping any portion of our meal. Needless to say, we will never be going back and neither will the new potential clients. Very unfortunate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The food was amazing and well presented!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Loved the ambiance. Waitstaff was attentive. Food was delicious! Will be returning soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was good - authentic Italian. the service was extremely slow.
it took a long time to be seated even though we had a reservation.
it took a long time to take our order and get some wine on the table.
4 TV screens were showing a boxing match in the bar, while at the other end of the restaurant classical Italian opera music was being sung by opera singers!!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Very good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

had a very nice meal and time. Food was excellent and service friendly.We walked from our home so it made for a enjoyable evening. Sorry we missed the live music on Fridays. We will return. Thanks

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

One the best true Italian restaurants in town. We had great food, had a lovely service and the people were "molto simpatici".

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The restaurant looked good on the web portal. The service was great. The wine suggested by the server was good. However, the veal was thin and overdone. Unfortunately, my wife and I ordered veal, so I didn't get to try something else for comparison. We went to Nundini's during Resturants Weeks, to try something new.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Delicious authentic dishes for anyone missing the old country. Chef Nundini is a wonderful presence and the ingredients sold in their store up front lends to the charming atmosphere.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had the Houston restaurant weeks menu. Our appetizers, the artichoke bottomed, were both warm and cold as if they had not been microwaved long enough. My wife's salmon was over cooked and my veal scallopini was more cubed veal than a scallopini. And it was over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2016

The lamb chops and the accompanying sautéed mixed vegetables were fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 16, 2016

A regular customer who loves the food and the ambiance. Wine is well priced as well. This time the service was terrible. One person ordered vegan and was clear about no cheese - guess what she received? Lamb chops were delicious but waiter never asked how they were to be cooked so that person had to bring him back out to clarify. Owner was informed and he said "sorry it is the waiters fault"
Note to Vegans - they including the owner has no idea what you eat even though their menu clearly stated that they do.


With all this said - I would go again with out a doubt.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Had an excellent experience at Nundini's. We have driven by for months and always wanted to go in, so glad we finally did. The service was great! The wait staff was attentive, knowledgeable, and did not rush us at all. The food was fantastic!!!! Loved the Risotto al nero di sepia most of all. Everything we had was wonderful-artichoke bottoms, cream of mushroom soup, salmon, and the veal chop. We will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 12, 2016

The service is always phenomenal, and the restaurant itself is cute and cozy (inside an Italian market and gelateria). My only issue is that the food is very hit or miss. This time around, we had a pizza (wonderful), soup of the day (also wonderful), bucatini amatriciana (terrible - bland sauce, mushy bland meatballs), saltimbocca (delicious but nothing special), various risottos (good flavor, but undercooked), and limoncello cake and gelato (all delicious). Last time I was there, I had pizza (good but not great), bruschetta (amazing), the Girelle pasta (totally mediocre).

If their entrees were more consistent - particularly their pastas - this would be a great place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.