About Nundini Chef's Table

500 N Shepherd Dr
Houston, TX 77007
View Larger Map

The Nundini Chef's Table is Houston's destination for authentic Italian food and products. Nestled in an unassuming warehouse in the Heights, the Chef's Table transports you to the streets of Italy. Get true Italian food in our full-service restaurant, featuring dishes from many regions in Italy. Or take a stroll through our shop, and purchase the very products used to make your delicious meal. Offering a vast selection of wine from every region in Italy, the choice is yours as to what part of Italy you wish to visit today. Indulge in the rich flavors of our Homemade Gelato and Sorbetto. Come to the Chef's Table, where every day is like a trip to Italy with all your friends and family.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Dinner:
Friday-Saturday:5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
W. 6th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 861-6331

Website:
http://www.nundini.com/

Catering:
We do provide

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet is provided, but self parking is an available option as well.

Public Transit:
Bus stop on the corner of North Shepherd and 6th.

Executive Chef:
Giampaolo Nundini

Additional:
Beer, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Nundini Chef's Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Romantic (4)
See All
Casual (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Family Style (2)
Business Meals (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Authentic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Cozy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
203 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of my favorite spots outside of down ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

One of my favorite spots outside of downtown. Great service and outstanding food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Valentine's day which is bec ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went for Valentine's day which is becoming a yearly outing at Nundini's. The service and food were both excellent.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A secret neighborhood jewel. Will defini ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

A secret neighborhood jewel. Will definitely be back, just to work through the rest of the menu.

Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Received menus 15 min after being seated ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Received menus 15 min after being seated. No water either. There were maybe 6 tables occupied and 3 servers. The server told us that they were short-staffed. P.S. To all servers - I don't care about the problems of the restaurant. Just appologize and make it better. The bread was tasteless as well as the olive oil that was served for dipping. Another tip - use great olive oil or add some spices. We ordered a couple of dishes that had mussels and 6 of the mussels were closed - the server said.... I can bring you a tool to open them. Note: if a mussel is closed you should not eat it as it means it was probably dead before harvesting and therefore bad. We also ordered risotto and many many of the rice kernels were hard. All in all the food was just OK and for just OK food it was over priced.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Date night.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

This is the third time I have been the C ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This is the third time I have been the Chef's table. When we arrived some kind of event was going on. I had already made reservations online and nothing was noted about a special event. The server asked if we wanted to have the 4 course pairing but really we already had our hearts set on the normal menu. The chef was kind enough to accommodate us and served the regular menu. The food was excellent as usual! Highly recommend the calamari! The wine list is very good but by the glass options were not that impressive.

The seating in the original dining room is so much better than the extended seating area so request that if you go.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our 3rd visit and we brought ne ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This was our 3rd visit and we brought new clients with us. We were very disappointed as the service was extremely poor. We waited over 50 minutes for our food with no communication from the waiter as to why that was happening. When we finally asked for the owner of the restaurant, he came out and his excuse was that he had other things to take care of and the problem was his people. He basically through his staff "under the bus" and told us his problems instead of solving our problem of no food! He didn't try to make it up by comping any portion of our meal. Needless to say, we will never be going back and neither will the new potential clients. Very unfortunate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was amazing and well presented!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was amazing and well presented!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and great food!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the ambiance. Waitstaff was atten ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Loved the ambiance. Waitstaff was attentive. Food was delicious! Will be returning soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good - authentic Italian. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was good - authentic Italian. the service was extremely slow.

it took a long time to be seated even though we had a reservation.

it took a long time to take our order and get some wine on the table.

4 TV screens were showing a boxing match in the bar, while at the other end of the restaurant classical Italian opera music was being sung by opera singers!!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Very good food and service.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Very good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had a very nice meal and time. Food was ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 28, 2016

had a very nice meal and time. Food was excellent and service friendly.We walked from our home so it made for a enjoyable evening. Sorry we missed the live music on Fridays. We will return. Thanks

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One the best true Italian restaurants in ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

One the best true Italian restaurants in town. We had great food, had a lovely service and the people were "molto simpatici".

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant looked good on the web po ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The restaurant looked good on the web portal. The service was great. The wine suggested by the server was good. However, the veal was thin and overdone. Unfortunately, my wife and I ordered veal, so I didn't get to try something else for comparison. We went to Nundini's during Resturants Weeks, to try something new.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious authentic dishes for anyone mi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Delicious authentic dishes for anyone missing the old country. Chef Nundini is a wonderful presence and the ingredients sold in their store up front lends to the charming atmosphere.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the Houston restaurant weeks menu ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had the Houston restaurant weeks menu. Our appetizers, the artichoke bottomed, were both warm and cold as if they had not been microwaved long enough. My wife's salmon was over cooked and my veal scallopini was more cubed veal than a scallopini. And it was over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

The lamb chops and the accompanying saut ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 17, 2016

The lamb chops and the accompanying sautéed mixed vegetables were fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A regular customer who loves the food an ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 16, 2016

A regular customer who loves the food and the ambiance. Wine is well priced as well. This time the service was terrible. One person ordered vegan and was clear about no cheese - guess what she received? Lamb chops were delicious but waiter never asked how they were to be cooked so that person had to bring him back out to clarify. Owner was informed and he said "sorry it is the waiters fault"

Note to Vegans - they including the owner has no idea what you eat even though their menu clearly stated that they do.

With all this said - I would go again with out a doubt.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Had an excellent experience at Nundini's ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Had an excellent experience at Nundini's. We have driven by for months and always wanted to go in, so glad we finally did. The service was great! The wait staff was attentive, knowledgeable, and did not rush us at all. The food was fantastic!!!! Loved the Risotto al nero di sepia most of all. Everything we had was wonderful-artichoke bottoms, cream of mushroom soup, salmon, and the veal chop. We will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is always phenomenal, and th ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service is always phenomenal, and the restaurant itself is cute and cozy (inside an Italian market and gelateria). My only issue is that the food is very hit or miss. This time around, we had a pizza (wonderful), soup of the day (also wonderful), bucatini amatriciana (terrible - bland sauce, mushy bland meatballs), saltimbocca (delicious but nothing special), various risottos (good flavor, but undercooked), and limoncello cake and gelato (all delicious). Last time I was there, I had pizza (good but not great), bruschetta (amazing), the Girelle pasta (totally mediocre).

If their entrees were more consistent - particularly their pastas - this would be a great place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

I went here for HRW and brought a few co ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 11, 2016

I went here for HRW and brought a few coworkers with me. I read very mixed reviews on Yelp and on OpenTable about Nundini's but I decided to give it a try anyway. I try to be open minded and think that the people who review it poorly might have just come on an off day/or busy time. But going forward, if you have "off days" then that's why restaurants fail. I came here for lunch and there was no other table getting served. There were other guests that were present but they weren't ordering or eating food. The service was slow and the food took quite a while to be served..

The pasta was undercooked in most of our dishes, which is disappointing for it being an Italian restaurant and the flavors weren't amazing. The dessert was good and so was the soup, but that was just little pieces of the puzzle to highlight the entree. I wouldn't recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Poor service and average food. This was ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Poor service and average food. This was my second time dinning with them but the same story; never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The minute my daughter and I walked in t ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The minute my daughter and I walked in the aroma was wonderful. We had the Houston Restaurant Week lunch and it was a delicious meal and good value. I live in Clear Lake so I brought a cooler to take home some meat from the counter. We will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though we arrived early we were sea ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Even though we arrived early we were seated quickly. Our waiter promptly made sure we had drinks & menus even though we were waiting on a 4th person to arrive. We were never rushed & made to feel quite welcome even though we were the last guests to leave. I can't wait to return! Our waiter was superb, I just wish I remembered his name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always Nundini's is never disappointi ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 16, 2016

As always Nundini's is never disappointing. Food, value and pricing are A-1.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenominal dining experience ! Every tim ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Phenominal dining experience !

Every time that I dine at Nundinis I am amazed at the exquisite food not to mention the over the top selection of dishes and wines. Everyone from the chefs to the waiters to the free valet are extraordinary and know just how to make the dining experience a joy.

The owner Giampalo is an absolute genius at suggesting just the right wine to go with whatever you are eating if you ask him which is priceless for me.

This wonderful restaurant and deli in an unusual location is a gem and well worth the effort to find and visit

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were incredible!!

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Service and food were incredible!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is classic Italian and is beyond in ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Food is classic Italian and is beyond incredible and the wine list of Italian wines is extensive. Has a traditional Italian market look and feel which adds to the ambiance and experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Not as good as it once was. Perhaps the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Not as good as it once was. Perhaps the cheif has changed. For many years this kitchen was pitch perfect with itallian cuisine. Tonight the risotto was quite undercooked, the dried mushrooms had twigs that should have been removed and the cheese uses was not parmigiano as was described. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Delicious meal in a nice environment. M ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Delicious meal in a nice environment. Much better than the chain italian restaurants in decor, service and food quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Ugly outside, lovely inside

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 4, 2016

We must have driven by Nundini's a zillion times before our weekly dinner group decided to go there. Once inside, the food, service and atmosphere surprised. The place probably has the largest Italian wine list in town...and at very reasonable (almost cheap) prices. The waiter we'd had before was very helpful in sorting through wine options.

Don't be put off by the exterior; Nundini's is a great place to have dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dessert was awesome!! Our waiter George ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 28, 2016

Dessert was awesome!! Our waiter George was phenomenal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious Pizza and Gelato

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2016

This was our second time dining here. This time was for an early dinner. We split a pizza as an appetizer, it was delicious! The sauce and cheese were amazing. My boyfriend had lamb chops with potatoes, it was excellent as well. I had the special of the night, snapper with shrimp saffron sauce and risotto. The fish was just okay, but the saffron sauce and the risotto were delicious. We ended it off with gelato, which is always a treat here. My boyfriend says its the best mango gelato/ice cream/sorbet he's ever had!

Service is blah. The guy wasn't rude or anything, but seemed new (wasn't well versed with the menu) and didn't come around much. Took our order as "so what do you want" No introduction of his name etc...again, not rude, just not friendly. Our first experience with a different waiter was similar as well. May just be the tone here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We eat at Nundini's frequently. This tim ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2016

We eat at Nundini's frequently. This time our server was not good. We ordered an appetizer (bruschetta) and it took about 20 mins to come out, and beef carpaccio is what showed up. We were hungry so we ate it but it was frustrating. We then ordered our meals. Again two of the tree entrees were wrong. Our pizza we ordered without olives and it came covered in them and the second dish was just the wrong dish. We ordered the prosciutto wrapped shrimp and a seafood fettuccine was served. A very frustrating dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Something different

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 10, 2016

In the mood to try something different. The restaurant itself was charming, but overall the service was too slow and the menu selection was limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Birthday Party Issues

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 30, 2016

Invited 15 of my wife's and my friends for her surprise dinner party. Our food was brought out at odd times. Our appetizers came fast but entrees were very slow. Several of which were either prepared incorrectly (overdone steaks) or completely the wrong item (salmon pizza instead of carne). They presented my wife with a birthday dessert but didn't inquire what she would like and gave her something to which she was allergic (we could smell the lemon; we didn't discover this the hard way).

I'm sure this place is great for 2-4 people. As they are just down the street, we can give them another try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Love the food..service is harried

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 27, 2016

I continue to go back for the food. The service is friendly, but the wait staff is often distracted and lacking focus. A bit more polish is needed. Example...if a large party comes in (as happened on my last visit) it seems to fluster everyone, including the management (who barks orders at all of the staff). Would love to see challenges taken in stride and handled with professional confidence. It's sometimes hard to enjoy the delicious food when the service is stressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2016

This is an excellent dining experience from start to finish. Great wine selection and reasonably priced. Nice ambiance and wonderful service. We go there frequently.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A hidden gem in an industrial park area.

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Our recent visit to Nandini's was both a pleasant surprise and minor disappointment. The restaurant portion has increased in size to accommodate more customers as business increases. Unfortunately at the expense of the Grocery portion. Not having been there for some time I was pleasantly surprised by the ambiance, the extensive wine selection ( stored by region and type, helping to make an easier choice.)

The restaurant was clean and comfortable. Our waiter was very friendly and informative, explaining the menu and specials of the day. A very good choice of wine was offered and enjoyed. our meals were delivered in a timely manner and were very good, being enjoyed by all. My meal, Spaghetti Allo Scoglio Reef Spaghetti-(Clams / Mussells / Calamari and Shrimps) in a light, fresh Marinara Sauce was delicious. Also enjoyed was the Maialino alle Mele

Pork Tenderloin sauteed in EVOO with fresh Apple and Onion Sauce, served with Garlic Rosemary Potatoes.

Portions were good and served in adequate portions and straight from the kitchen. All in all and enjoyable visit we would want to repeat in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.