About Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City

860 Franklin Avenue
Garden City, NY 11530
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of Garden City,
Novita Wine Bar Trattoria is the first of its kind on Long Island with 100 Global Wines by the glass served from a state of the art wine preservation system. The system is digitally temperature controlled and is the largest on the East Coast. So come in and enjoy the most unique wine and dine experience. Novita's kitchen serves lunch, dinner and late night dining.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:30pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm;
Sunday Brunch:12 noon to 3:00pmDinner: Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Stewart Avenue & Ninth Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 739-7660

Website:
http://www.novitany.com/

Entertainment:
DJ on Thursday Ladies Night, Friday & Saturday nights.

Catering:
We can provide catering for your special event.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The Garden City Train Station is within walking distance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ed Davis

Private Party Facilities:
Our private party room is available with a dance floor and bar for up to 65 guests. Larger parties can be accommodated in the dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Joe Rodriguez: (516) 739-7660

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour: Monday through Friday from 4-7 pm,
Discounted cocktails/ wines, and complimentary buffet (Thu/Fri only)
$5 wines...$5 cocktails...$5 tap beers...1/2 priced appetizers
Every Thursday Ladies Night DJ Spinning All Night
$3 Glasses Of Champagne
$3 Glasses Of Pinot Grigio
$3 Cosmopolitans
$3 Glasses Of Cabernet
$3 Blue Moon Tap
$3 Specialty Cocktail
(Lounge & Bar Only)

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (30)
Good for a Date (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
See All
Good for Groups (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Casual (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Modern Decor (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Romantic (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Fun (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Cozy (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Worth the Drive (4)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (3)
Business Meals (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great Beer (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (1)
Live Music (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
686 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and atmosphere!! Consistant e ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and atmosphere!! Consistant every time !!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Went there for Valentine's Day. The food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Went there for Valentine's Day. The food was good. Although my wife's skirt steak was $40. Which I thought was excessively priced. I could go to any high end stake house and get a filet for that price. Total bill was $170 for the two of us. 4 drinks, 1 app and 2 entrees with tip. I don't mind paying that amount of money for a great meal with premium ingredients. I had pasta which was excellent. Our server was very attentive and informative. He wasn't annoying and checked on us often. The only other issue we had was that we're seated down stairs in the basement. The vibe upstairs is much better. My wife wasn't too thrilled about this. But I really didn't mind. Overall good meal not great. I would go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

My girlfriend and I ate here one Valenti ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

My girlfriend and I ate here one Valentine's Day. The food, service and decor were all amazing. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Novita is the perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great scene with great food, dr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a great scene with great food, drinks, and people!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was nice with privacy bet ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The atmosphere was nice with privacy between tables. The service was fair with lack of attention. The food was also fair. Portions were small. The free range chicken was a chicken breast smaller than the size of my hand. The wine list was nice. I would stick to the bar and happy hour.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We totally enjoyed our meal .. the servi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We totally enjoyed our meal .. the service was excellent. Great place to go

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Healthy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food with variety of entrees. Had c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good food with variety of entrees. Had chicken parmigiana and branzino, both of which were delicious.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always amazing! I met my fri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food is always amazing! I met my friend on Monday night just to catch up. We ordered from the prie fix menu and got a bottle of wine (Fi Fi Fi? Lol) The waiter picked it according to our taste. I got the skirt steak and potatoes. It was phenomenal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Good experience

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good experience

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was very good and our waiter was ex ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was very good and our waiter was excellent. He recommended a bottle of wine he had just sampled that matched what I was wanted. The food was very good and both the apps and entrees come without a rush or a wait. Worth the money for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place go as often as possible ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Love this place go as often as possible great food and awesome unlimited drinks for brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food always good. Fun for couplebor big ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food always good. Fun for couplebor big table of friends, especially the big booths.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love this place! Never disappoints. Fo ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Love this place! Never disappoints. Food and service was amazing. We went during restaurant week on a Sunday. What amazing deals. Restaurant week menu had so many choices. Been to this restaurant many times. Love every aspect of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to this restaurant as my wife ha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We went to this restaurant as my wife had been to this restaurant a few months ago for a Christmas party group function. On this visit it was just my wife and I and we decided to try the special restaurant week promotion they were offering. The free-range chicken was good, though the portion was very small. I had the chicken parmigiana - the portion was huge - the first piece of chicken was ok, but the second piece of chicken was tough and rubbery, and the bed of spaghetti it was served on was drenched in a commercial pasta sauce - just not a good experience. Would I have said something to the server...yes, but she only came around once very soon after the food was served (and at that time things were just OK, but nothing really to make an issue of as I had only just begun eating). Other courses were OK, though the dessert portions were very small. Very large selection of wine by the glass - but at $12.00 for a small glass of uninspiring Chianti Classico, I felt it was overpriced. Not the evening we were expecting. Thankfully, there are plenty of good alternatives in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Went in for Restaurant Week and the food ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Went in for Restaurant Week and the food was AMAZING!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Amazing dinner. This place is great for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Amazing dinner. This place is great for a date night or to have a private party. I enjoy the various pasta dishes that they offer. My husband loved the Osso Bucco. We love this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Novita is a local hot spot with excellen ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Novita is a local hot spot with excellent food, ample parking and wonderful ambiance. This week is Long Island Restaurant Week with a special price fixed menu and great value. We both enjoyed the shrimp scampi served over risotto with asparagus. I'm smiling as I write this! It was so delicious we wished we had room in our bellies to order more!!!! DELICIOUS!!! The server, Melissa, was friendly, returned to ask if we were happy with our meals or needed anything without hovering or being intrusive. A lovely, relaxing, delicious meal.

Tags: , Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the staff was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was delicious and the staff was very friendly. My girlfriends and I went for a distressing and catching up dinner during restaurant week. Noise level was moderate and we were able to speak and hear each other.

Nice wine list, especially for 50% on Sundays.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was there for my friend's birthday bru ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I was there for my friend's birthday brunch. The staff was very accommodating and service was excellent. Food was delicious!

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love coming here for brunch. Everythin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I love coming here for brunch. Everything on the menu is amazing. Our waiter, I forgot his name, was great. He was so patient with us because we were not ready to order every time he attempted. He answered all our questions and was attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extensive wine list. Good specials. Go ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Extensive wine list. Good specials. Good service and great vibe.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The brunch menu offered the traditional ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The brunch menu offered the traditional brunch options plus pasta and salad dishes. I had a delicious Arrugula salad as an appetizer and a very tasty pasta dish. There are unlimited Bloody Mary's and Mimosa's. The service was attentive and helpful.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, service and atmosphere. Alwa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great food, service and atmosphere. Always a great time at Novita.

Tags: Great Beer, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My party of 4 enjoyed our Friday night a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

My party of 4 enjoyed our Friday night at Novita. We arrived earlier so we waited at the bar area. The female bartender was very helpful and patient while we sampled and decided on a wine. Our table was ready on time and waitress was perfect; no too much attention and not lacking either. Very loud atmosphere so at times you feel like you're yelling but overall a good restaurant choice.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent food. Service and waitstaff co ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent food. Service and waitstaff courteous and accessible. Fun atmosphere. Perfect for any occasion.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, , Live Music, Fun, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was flavorless. Bloody Mary was wat ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was flavorless. Bloody Mary was watered down and mimosa was overly sweet.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

I went to Novita for an early New Year's ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I went to Novita for an early New Year's Eve dinner with my husband and son.

We had a nice table in the front of the restaurant. I do like that their is a kids menu.

My son loves the pizza. Service was good and we weren't rushed.

The food is pricy and but very good. Nicely presented. Being that it was a holiday, I was glad it was the regular menu with daily specials. They have an extensive wine list.

I would of like the restaurant to look more festive for New Year's Eve.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We weren't offered the lounge area wher ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We weren't offered the lounge area where drinks are a different price. When I tried to order the Happy Hour wine , they said no because I was seated in lounge area. They should have told me that or gave it as an option. Place was quiet that day. It was early. Didn't appreciate this at all. They also claim to be a wine bar but do not serve their wine in the right glasses. For wine connoisseurs, the glasses make a difference. They have some pricey wines there so I would think they would know wine glasses do matter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

It was just OK. Nothing special , I actu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It was just OK. Nothing special , I actually hated it but my boyfriend enjoyed it so it could be just me. The pancetta on my pizza and Italian nachos where way over cooked and dry, my sangria was too sweet, and my food took 50 minutes to come out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Such good food!!!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Such good food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was very good the wine was exce ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food was very good the wine was excellent and David the maître d' does a very good job

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

super loud and food was decent but not g ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

super loud and food was decent but not great. would recommend for a large gathering of friends celebrating a birthday but you can hardly have a conversation in there otherwise.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent food as usual

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent food as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Top notch service... very good food... e ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Top notch service... very good food... excellent wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really disappointed with the food.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Really disappointed with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

First time to this restaurant and my wif ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

First time to this restaurant and my wife and I had a super meal. The service was outstanding and the food plentiful and tasteful. I would definitely recommend the pastas, as they were freshly made. Overall, we will definitely come back. Also excellent wine list at reasonable prices

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was notably excellent. That alone m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Food was notably excellent. That alone makes me want to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Food was good waitress was very nice Hal ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Food was good waitress was very nice Half price off the bottle of wine which we had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Novita never disappoints! They have a gr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Novita never disappoints! They have a great price fixe menu option which has been revised since the last time we dined. The price has increased slightly for the three course price fixe but the selections have also expanded to give more appetizer and dessert options and the entree choices now include meat and fish dishes. I loved the roasted asparagus appetizer -two stalks wrapped in pancetta with ricotta and Spanish almonds. It was delicious! Great value for a delicious meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the price the food was not good at a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

For the price the food was not good at all. The calamari wasn't good at all and main entree although tender just had a blah taste. Atmosphere was nice place was packed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.