Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

About Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City

Located in the heart of Garden City,
Novita Wine Bar Trattoria is the first of its kind on Long Island with 100 Global Wines by the glass served from a state of the art wine preservation system. The system is digitally temperature controlled and is the largest on the East Coast. So come in and enjoy the most unique wine and dine experience. Novita's kitchen serves lunch, dinner and late night dining.

860 Franklin Avenue
Garden City, NY 11530
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:30pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm;
Sunday Brunch:12 noon to 3:00pmDinner: Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Stewart Avenue & Ninth Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 739-7660

Website:
http://www.novitany.com/

Entertainment:
DJ on Thursday Ladies Night, Friday & Saturday nights.

Catering:
We can provide catering for your special event.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The Garden City Train Station is within walking distance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ed Davis

Private Party Facilities:
Our private party room is available with a dance floor and bar for up to 65 guests. Larger parties can be accommodated in the dining room.

Private Party Contact:
Joe Rodriguez: (516) 739-7660

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour: Monday through Friday from 4-7 pm,
Discounted cocktails/ wines, and complimentary buffet (Thu/Fri only)
$5 wines...$5 cocktails...$5 tap beers...1/2 priced appetizers
Every Thursday Ladies Night DJ Spinning All Night
$3 Glasses Of Champagne
$3 Glasses Of Pinot Grigio
$3 Cosmopolitans
$3 Glasses Of Cabernet
$3 Blue Moon Tap
$3 Specialty Cocktail
(Lounge & Bar Only)

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Join us for Father's Day Brunch!

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (37)
Good for a Date (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
See All
Casual (23)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Special Occasion (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Bar Seating (13)
Fun (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Romantic (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Business Meals (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Cozy (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Authentic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
734 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Love the specials. The booths and the bar area. The staff is awesome and you have the best best best white sangria

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was great! As was our server, my husband and I had a wonderful date. We also had a private conversation and I did not feel anyone could here us and the wait staff was amazing! I didn't feel rushed at all which is HUGE to me. Overall we are going back again gladly - I am also scheduling my "moms Night Out" for a Sunday or Monday evening to take advantage of 1/2 prices wine! Do yourself a favor and try this place, and order the Italian Nachos!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

My girlfriends and I have gotten together for rosé and some bites. The ambience was relaxed and our server was amazing! She was sweet, attentive and funny. The rosé was pretty good and the food was great! The lobster sliders were really good. There were a few points in the night where it got really loud but it was still fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome restaurant for both date night or any special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife loved the Bibless lobster! I looked away for a second and it was gone. I went basic with chicken Parmesan and was disappointed. My kids are a little picky but the were very accommodating with their special orders. I also recommend the sangria

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Big brunch buffet spread for Mother's Day. One complimentary drink included. Wouldn't go again. I like dinner menu better.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went here for mothers day brunch, was not told before hand it was going to be a buffet style meal. I would not have gone had I been informed of such. We were never told the price either. The mail came with one of complimentary drink. Got my one drink, got up with my tiny plate and filled what I could on it . Had the usual basic food, scrambled eggs, bacon, some bagels and muffins, one or two seafood dishes and one chicken and one meat plate also some bland pasta. The bill comes, luckily temples included, wasn't expecting to spend $45 a person for a mediocre at best meal. I heard it's good otherwise. So I guess it may be worth it for any event other than Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were given the 'add on' charge for Mother's Day Brunch. Reserved table for 21st birthday celebration and had nothing to do with Mother's Day. Was told on the phone we could order off of regular brunch menu, but not given that option when we were already seated. WAY TOO EXPENSIVE for Brunch and gratuity was charged for a waitress who basically took drink orders since it was get up and help yourself. REALLY? I'll never spend my money there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

A neighborhood gem! The food, service and atmosphere are always excellent! Friendly staff and interesting food choices with extensive wine offerings. They have organic wines too!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Took my daughters for Sunday brunch. Unlimited brunch drinks, and lots of menu choices.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Waiter was great. Hostess, bus boys and everyone very nice. Food was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Food was delish, the CARBONARA pizza recommended by the waiter was amazing.. May be it's a good thing I don't live near by bcz I would be ordering the pizza daily.
Meatball sliders very good, the bread was not necessary I would have been happy with a plate of meatballs. Did not finish them had them for dinner later thst night. Fries were super garlicky and super good.
Looking forward to going back and trying more things. Plan on asking to sit in Tonys area he was GREAT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The food was excellent

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent wine selection and amazing food! Very hip setting too!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food and service. Great wine selection and gluten free options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The drinks and appetizers were great. Main dishes were just okay.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Always enjoy the food here. Long Island Restaurant week special had excellent choices and the regular menu has never disappointed also.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Gf pasta got me sick as a dog. Not sure they are informed to cook gluten free pasta etc in separate pans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We went with some friends for my wife's birthday. Vibrant bar scene. Great service and good food. Always a good time

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

My husband and I really enjoyed the food and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

the bar is crowded but accessible. the food was great, but if you want to have a conversation, ask for a quiet table. We were seated near the front. its very noisy. the service was good both at the bar and at the table. great time

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

this is a decent spot as I've been here before. While the food is decent, I find that the staff isn't always as attentive as they should be. we went for easter brunch and there was a ton of staff bustling about but yet we had to advise them there were no plates at the buffet station. The plates we got were smaller more desert plates versus breakfast or lunch plates. the eggs were cold and the presentation of the food wasn't being refreshed. I don't care that we made a 2:30pm reservation - the brunch time that you list on your website to choose from means brunch from the beginning to the end of that time frame. the food looked like they were just waiting for people to finish it so they can clear it away rather than "its 2:30pm but let's keep the food going as if it were 11am." While I was disappointed for this particular brunch, I do know that the restaurant can be good on a regular day or night.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I'd def recommend Novita for drinks. Great ambiance, large wine selection, and the appetizers and bread are great. As far as Italian food, I've had better on Long Island so we were dissappointed. We ordered the calamari appetizer which we all loved. The meatballs were just ok as well as our main dishes, we had osso bucco, the short rib bolognese, and the skirt steak. I don't think I would come back for dinner.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great wine list. Cheese and meat mega platter was awesome. Arugula salad with chicken and shrimp was perfect. Our waitress was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Brunch was amazing! Our waitress kept filling up our empty mimosa glasses. $30 for a two-course brunch and unlimited drinks... cannot beat that. A little noisy, as there were two bridal showers going on, on both ends of the restaurant. But overall, great food, great service and a great value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food and service were outstanding! Thank you!!

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Always great food and atmosphere. Server was too busy, couldn't handle it. Drinks came after 20min , food came out quick which was a + but kept saying he'll bring the bottle of wine we ordered and never did. Then once we finished dinner etc, he offered to bring the bottle ans i said forget about it...already had coffee

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The wine we asked for was not available and unfortunately The waiter decided to tell us that when my friend realized that the bottle he was opening was not the one we asked for
Also we had asked about the Gorgonzola mashed potatoes and were given a different description from what it actually was the Service is not very attentive and they try rushing you

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food was great. Table was too small for 6 people. It really was a table for 4 and gave us two very uncomfortable chairs for the 2 extra people. The waiter wouldn't accommodate any variation to the menu. So plan on getting it exactly how it is on the menu.
The food we did choose was excellent.
Our bar tender was awesome. She had great suggestions and her drinks were right on.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I had the grilled butternut squash salad with grilled chicken and it was excellent! We were very happy with the service as well. Our waiter was polite and when I accidentally dropped my napkin on the floor the manager came right over and said let me replace that for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Lame waiter. Asked him not to put in main order too quickly. Food was there before done with appys. Asked for grated cheese - never brought it. Never checked on us during meal. Dirty cutlery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This was the 3rd 4th time I went to Novita for dinner and I have enjoyed my meal every time. The staff is excellent and the food was cooked exactly as ordered. We were not rushed through our meal even though it was crowded. I will certainly go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We tried this place for Sunday brunch and were greatly disappointed. Our server completely forgot about us. We had to ask for drink refills, had to ask after our main dishes (after all the tables around us, including those sat after us) were served BOTH of their courses. When we did finally receive the food, the pasta was not cooked. Although, the brunch menu is great, the service really ruined the experience for us. I left there hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We shared the burrata special and the calamari app. Both were very good. Burrata came with too many tomatoes, but had good flavor. I had the tortellini with creamy pesto/mushroom entree. The crispy spelt got stuck in my teeth, but the dish was very woodsy which I liked. His was the veal special. Tasty, but nothing great. We shared the s'mores pie which was incredible. He got an IPA and the antipasto martini. You gotta order a drink that comes with prosciutto...he wasn't impressed. I got a pear martini which I liked a lot. Ambiance was bustling, but fun. Server was friendly and helped us make good food choices. I would come back again to try the lobster sliders and one of the many wines offered.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always good food and friendly service - great wine list.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Three of us dined here before a show at Tilles Center. I recommend you allow 2 hours between your reservation time and curtain time, so you can enjoy the courses offered. I chose the least expensive pinot noir, which was tasty, plus the lemon hummus, whose pita chips tasted a tad stale but cucumbers were a nice dipper, then the branzino special with truffle mashed potatoes and Brusells sprouts, the latter which lacked bold flavor. The potatoes were delicious, and the fish wonderful.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Enjoyed our brunch. I liked that there were many choices to satisfy everyone in our group.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a reservation for 2:45pm. When we arrived it turns out that the brunch crowd was all there but we couldn't order from brunch menu since dinner menu starts at 3pm. We didn't have a problem with this, what we did not think was fair was the fact that we were given dinner menus without the "specials menu" so we placed our order and 15 minutes later staff puts out specials menu along with the prefix menu. Our 2 entrees were part of the prefix menu. If we would have been given that menu along with the regular dinner menu, we would have chosen the prefix which obviously would have helped save money on dinner. Not sure if it was waitress trick to get a bigger tip or the way the restaurant works. So, before you order make sure you ask if prefix menu is available. Just so you have all your options available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

met some friends for brunch and loved the food, drinks, the pre fix menu is so cheap!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.