Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi
  1. Distance: 0.28mi
  2. Distance: 0.60mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.69mi

About Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City

Located in the heart of Garden City,
Novita Wine Bar Trattoria is the first of its kind on Long Island with 100 Global Wines by the glass served from a state of the art wine preservation system. The system is digitally temperature controlled and is the largest on the East Coast. So come in and enjoy the most unique wine and dine experience. Novita's kitchen serves lunch, dinner and late night dining.

860 Franklin Avenue
Garden City, NY 11530
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pmm - 3:30pm, Saturday: 12:00pm - 3:00pm;
Sunday Brunch:12 noon to 3:00pmDinner: Monday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Stewart Avenue & Ninth Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(516) 739-7660

Website:
http://www.novitany.com/

Entertainment:
DJ on Thursday Ladies Night, Friday & Saturday nights.

Catering:
We can provide catering for your special event.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant.

Public Transit:
The Garden City Train Station is within walking distance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Ed Davis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour: Monday through Friday from 4-7 pm,
Discounted cocktails/ wines, and complimentary buffet (Thu/Fri only)
$5 wines...$5 cocktails...$5 tap beers...1/2 priced appetizers
Every Thursday Ladies Night DJ Spinning All Night
$3 Glasses Of Champagne
$3 Glasses Of Pinot Grigio
$3 Cosmopolitans
$3 Glasses Of Cabernet
$3 Blue Moon Tap
$3 Specialty Cocktail
(Lounge & Bar Only)

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Novita Wine Bar Trattoria - Garden City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for a Date (9)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Casual (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Authentic (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Business Meals (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Romantic (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Cozy (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fun (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
770 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

I've been going to Novita for at least 2 years and every single time, my friends and I leave always wanting to come back again! The people from the hostesses to the wait staff, everyone is super friendly. Very accommodating if you need to change your reservation. The Weekend Brunch is amazing for the price! Huge mimosas and a first and second course is what keeps us coming back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Excellent food, as well as service. Good portions.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I eat here often for lunch as I work in the neighborhood, but I haven't been here for dinner. What a welcome surprise as the dinner is even better than the lunch! I came with my wife and son who consider themselves "foodies" and they enjoyed the food as much a I did. Our waiter was wonderful, genuine and was always smiling and ensured we had a wonderful time.
Will definitely return for dinner again, with friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Asked for a quiet booth and the girls put a smack in the middle of 1000 other couples. It was a first date they made it very uncomfortable was not happy at all

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Just meeting friends but one of our favorites and it's Belgian counterpart as well! Never disappointed in the fresh pastas all four of us enjoyed our dishes and dessert! Wines for everyone and a happy table we were! You just can never miss with the food service and atmosphere in Novita!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

First time, but will definitely be back again. Surf & Turf, Salmon, and pasta dishes were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

One of my favorite places to dine on Long Island! Perfect!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great food and place !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Good food and 1/2 dollar bottles of wine on Sunday. Yeah!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

From the friendly service to the fresh bread on table, the succulent red sangria to the mouthwatering meals, we loved celebrating the new house purchase with friends. Started out with the Italian nachos and finished with the warm chocolate cake. Everything was delicious

Tags: Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Novita has been around for awhile now. The food remains excellent , however the menus hasn't changed in some time now. The wine selection is outstanding even if you wish to order by the glass there are always great wines to choose from and in many price points, basically something for everyone. Food choices are what you might expect at a trattoria and everything is well prepared and presented. The service has always been excellent and the servers are helpful and courteous. This is a pleasant restaurant to have in your repertoire

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was excellent and the service was very good. This was our first time but not our last.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Our waitress Ashley was awesome - food incredible as always ❤️❤️❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

A group of my friends and I went out for dinner and had an amazing time. The food is just out of this world!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 25, 2017

It was early enough to be offered the high booths which I wanted Waitress was friendly. Food could have been a bit hotter.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Good food and great wine deal on Sundays - 1/2 off bottle of wine. Excellent selection.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 20, 2017

We started off with the truffle and fontina arancini, which was good but the accompanying hummus and dollop of red chili tomato sauce was odd.
We followed with two pasta dishes, the rigatoni ragu and the radiatore bolognese. The ragu had a disappointingly small amount of pasta and the sauce was so-so. The bolognese was also nothing special.
A bus boy kept coming by and picking up our bread plate and asking if we were done, then we would say yes and he would put the plate down. This happened at least 3 times.
The mediocre food, high price and very loud bar area matched our previous experiences, so we won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Great food and great service The staff was very attentive

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Loved this place. Went there for my mothers birthday for brunch. Was really good. Will definitely come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Over priced pasta. The chicken caprese pasta was not good. Sauce was very watered down. The lobster sliders were good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Went for the Prix fixe dinner with another couple. Everything was excellent and everyone enjoyed their dinner. The wine list is staggering. This resulted in extreme indecision on the part of the person who was choosing the wine for the table. We did wind up with a nice bottle and everyone enjoyed the wine. A good time, and an excellent dinner, was had by all.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great place for Sunday brunch. Can't beat the price for unlimited drinks plus 2 course meal. Was a nice way to celebrate my birthday with the family. Definitely going back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Always good food with pleasant and attentive staff. Can't go wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Excellent meal as always. Extensive wine list great happy hour and bar crowd.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Nice simple decor, no t much of an ambiance, there were few tables occupied on Father's Day,. The food was okay nothing special but plenty for three people, I didn't feel it justified the price though - 3 appetizers, One pizza and a shrimp dish with two alcoholic drinks about $150

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This is the only wine bar I have been to where you can order any wine on the menu by the bottle or the glass. Good food great service. Will definitely be back

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great food and 1/2 price bottles of wine on Sundays - nice way to end the weekend.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 4, 2017

I went to Novita for Brunch with friends. The brunch special was a good value and the food was delicious and inventive. The service was attentive as well and we got our food quickly.

However, it was very noisy due to a large baby shower happening in the back of the restaurant. Which made it difficult to have a conversation. I'd return to Novita, but maybe not for brunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Steve pur waiter
Was fabulous and made our meal super enjoyable

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

I've been to Novita on many occasions- it is our go-to place in the Garden City area. It has proven to be great with friends, on dates, with family, for drinks, dinner or brunch. Every item on their menu is delicious and well thought out. Their service is great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The bartender Jaime is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Love the specials. The booths and the bar area. The staff is awesome and you have the best best best white sangria

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The food was great! As was our server, my husband and I had a wonderful date. We also had a private conversation and I did not feel anyone could here us and the wait staff was amazing! I didn't feel rushed at all which is HUGE to me. Overall we are going back again gladly - I am also scheduling my "moms Night Out" for a Sunday or Monday evening to take advantage of 1/2 prices wine! Do yourself a favor and try this place, and order the Italian Nachos!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

My girlfriends and I have gotten together for rosé and some bites. The ambience was relaxed and our server was amazing! She was sweet, attentive and funny. The rosé was pretty good and the food was great! The lobster sliders were really good. There were a few points in the night where it got really loud but it was still fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome restaurant for both date night or any special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife loved the Bibless lobster! I looked away for a second and it was gone. I went basic with chicken Parmesan and was disappointed. My kids are a little picky but the were very accommodating with their special orders. I also recommend the sangria

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Big brunch buffet spread for Mother's Day. One complimentary drink included. Wouldn't go again. I like dinner menu better.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went here for mothers day brunch, was not told before hand it was going to be a buffet style meal. I would not have gone had I been informed of such. We were never told the price either. The mail came with one of complimentary drink. Got my one drink, got up with my tiny plate and filled what I could on it . Had the usual basic food, scrambled eggs, bacon, some bagels and muffins, one or two seafood dishes and one chicken and one meat plate also some bland pasta. The bill comes, luckily temples included, wasn't expecting to spend $45 a person for a mediocre at best meal. I heard it's good otherwise. So I guess it may be worth it for any event other than Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were given the 'add on' charge for Mother's Day Brunch. Reserved table for 21st birthday celebration and had nothing to do with Mother's Day. Was told on the phone we could order off of regular brunch menu, but not given that option when we were already seated. WAY TOO EXPENSIVE for Brunch and gratuity was charged for a waitress who basically took drink orders since it was get up and help yourself. REALLY? I'll never spend my money there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.