Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.48mi
  3. Distance: 0.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.16mi

About North Beach Bistro

North Beach Bistro is Atlantic Beach's best kept secret. Recently voted one of the top 25 restaurants in Jacksonville Magazine, North Beach Bistro offers something for everyone. We feature a casual yet elegant dining experience. Enjoy a cocktail while sampling our tapas menu in the bar before sitting down to dinner. There are many favorites on our dinner menu including our signature dishes Seafood Bouillabaisse or American Kobe Beef Burger

725 Atlantic Blvd. Suite 6
Atlantic Beach, FL 32233
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Lunch: Tuesday-Saturday: 11:00am-4pm
Monday: Closed
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Penman Rd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 372-4105

Website:
http://www.nbbistro.com/

Entertainment:
North Beach Bistro features live music every Thursday, Friday and Saturday from 7:30pm - 10:30pm

Catering:
North Beach Bistro offers a private dining room / art gallery for onsite catering. The room comfortably holds 80 people for sit down dinners and 100 for reception style events.
We also are available for offsite catering functions.

Parking Details:
There is an ample amount of parking in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
There is a bus stop and a Beach Trolley Stop in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
David Seavey

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:00PM

Sat 11:00AM - 2:00PM 2:15PM - 4:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Our private dining room accommodates up to 100 people. Located next to our dining room, our private room doubles as an art gallery. Enjoy your event while being surrounded by fabulous art work from local artists.

North Beach Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for a Date (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
See All
Casual (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Business Meals (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Authentic (7)
Cozy (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Live Music (4)
Family Style (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
People Watching (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (2)
Fun (2)
Great Beer (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Romantic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
645 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 14 hours ago

My boyfriend and I have heard a lot about this Tuesday night burger and beer special, so we decided to check it out. We sat on the patio which was nice, but pretty loud. The best part about the dinner was the beer. We both ordered burgers medium rare, but they came out very well done. We also paid extra to add fried eggs and clarified with the waitress to make sure the centers would be runny. Both our eggs were cooked all of the way through. Our waitress half apologized, then promptly left our table. When we received our check, we were charged extra for the eggs neither of us ate. Overall, we expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

One of our neighborhood favorites-always excellent service, delicious food & a relaxing, comfortable atmosphere. Our server LaVonda never disappoints😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome as always... love their new lobster sliders!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed our dining experience. The food is good and the waitress was outstanding.
Definitely recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

I eat there regularly, and have entertained large groups of people. They always accommodate my needs, and the food, drinks, and service are excellent. Lavonda, my regular server, knows my likes and dislikes, and always makes me feel at home. North Beach Bistro is by far my favorite restaurant at the beaches!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Pleasant surprise, great service, great food for the price! Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Authentic, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Birthday dinnrr

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Superb as usual!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Filet wasn't very tender, and the risotto was premade :(

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Disappointed - usually the best at the beaches. However, tonight our table was almost in the kitchen with all the staff noise, dishes rattling, etc. making conversation difficult. In making the reservations 24 hours in advance for a client dinner, we arrived a few minutes before and had to wait while the hostess gave some walkins the last good table and gave the folks with the reservations -us - the last booth.

The food is always great; but tonight the overall experience was less than perfect. We'll be back, but tonight, unfortunately, was like most other restaurants at the beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 21, 2017

One of our favorites and we brought new friends who enjoyed it as much as we do

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter Brunch and I had made our reservation for 6, weeks in advance. When we were seated, our table was immediately in front of the kitchen, which was only closed off from the Dining Room with louvered shutters. It was extremely loud and we asked if we could be seated else where, but was told nothing else was available. A bus boy kept going back & forth behind my sister to get silverware, and after he had bumped into her for the sixth time, without apology, I asked him to stop and go around the other side of the table. He was rude and answered back that it wasn't convenient. I reported this to our waitress (who was very good). The food was adequate, but not outstanding, and brunch for two with tip was $100.00, and our only beverages were one orange juice, one coffee, and one iced tea.
No manager ever stopped by to see how things were going while we were seated, and I feel that when reservations are made weeks in advance, the management could have done better with table placement.
Based on this experience, I doubt that we'll return.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Enjoyed another Easter Brunch with friends and family. Always an excellent spread, unlike some brunches this one is top shelf. Lavonda took great care of us. Always a pleasure to visit here!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had the Easter brunch and it was exactly what we expected. Omelet station was very good and they had REAL home fries. I know that doesn't matter to most folks but from someone who grew up with diner food - the home fries can make the meal. Eggs benedict were overcooked, but when you are making a few dozen at a time they aren't all going to be perfect. Others in the party had the lobster mac n cheese and really enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Enjoyed my meal and our waitress was great!

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food and great service. Hugh menu with a lot to pick from.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Blue Cheese Chips And Spicy Shrimp great, swordfish was awesome. Wings very good. Steaks... not so good. Risotto ehhh...very dry. Drinks were good.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Nice neighborhood restaurant, pricey for neighborhood, good food and selection, nice selection of wines and drinks.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I've been going to there for a while. About 4 years and the food is good. Our sever this time was a guy who I don't even remember his name but his service was poor. He never even ask if we wanted desert. Very rude. He never came to fill up our drinks during our visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 2, 2017

My wife said it was the BEST shrimp and grits she'd ever had. We went there for Sunday brunch, and the $10 bottomless mimosas were pretty good, too.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The food is always delicious and nicely presented. We ate in the bar area and had Jeremy as our waiter. He is always so nice , attentive and very informative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 19, 2017

2 people in our party had Benedict for breakfast. Both plates had overcooked eggs. Other than that, it was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We wanted to go out and get good food without the high noise level found in many other restaurants. Mission accomplished!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It was a beautiful place and the service was great. The food was delicious. I really enjoyed myself.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food here is always outstanding, as is the service. The owner is a very experienced and recognized chef and that shows. It's casual - servers wear jeans - but not too casual, classy casual maybe. Ive been on the bar side many times in shorts and tee shirt, and it's the same food with the addition of a lite-fare bar grub menu. Same high level of service too. The one weakness is the wine list, very few standouts, and the mark-up is just too high. Some of the wines more reasonably priced are very simply, not very good. Wish they'd address that, but regardless, it's a great place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I have always had a very good dining experience, except for last night. What a total disappointment in the way our reservation was managed. Let me start out that the food was excellent - the rest of the experience was far from mediocre. We made reservations on Open Table for a 7:00 PM table. We entered and were greeted by a very young hostess who, instead of taking us to the dining room, which was far from crowded, took us to the adjunct open-bay adjoining room used to view art normally. Before entering I asked the young lady to seat us in regular dining. Without asking the management, she said there were no tables available, although many were empty. Several makeshift tables were set in the adjoining room - ours was rocky, no ambiance and a terrible view of a partially open curtain and storage area... this was our Valentine's date! We asked the waiter if we could be seated in the other room. He left, and after a long period of time said that he talked to the management and all tables were taken and that our reservation was not considered until much later in the week because they don't look at Open table reservations until the last minute or words to that effect. Just did not make sense. Service was not very good. The waiter was not attentive. It took an inordinate time for pre-dinner wine and bread to be served. He never came back to refill water glasses until dessert came and then we had to ask. He never asked if we wanted coffee and when he gave me the CC receipt to sign, he did not have the correct one... just the original bill. He had to print out a new one and returned it to us with the correct payment document but also in the fold was another customer's bill which I had to take back to the front desk. I did not intend to write a negative review because I know the establishment had previously been excellent every time we were there including a number of times we had confidence that our out-of-town friends would enjoy the experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2017

First time patrons. Joyce our waitress was very nice and attentive. Our dinner was tasty however we believe it was a tad overpriced. Said differently, we have had nicer restaurant
experiences for less than our bill plus tip ($120.00).

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Burger was gibongular and delicious!! I don't usually eat the onion rings on a burger but these were too good not to! Grits were the cheesiest ever. Our server was super sweet and accommodating Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Chef prepares each dish perfectly. This may be the only restaurant we go to regularly that has never served us a disappointing meal! The bar area is fun for watching sports. This is a favorite local hangout for a reason !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Been here several times and have always enjoyed the food, service, and the fact you can talk and hear your guests

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We went for Sunday lunch. The kobe burger was excellent as was my wife's grilled chicken sandwich. Michael, the bartender, always takes great care of us. Highly recommend this place. They also have a really nice brunch on Sundays.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Although we don't come frequestly due to distance, this restaurant is our top choice when in JAX area. We always feel welcome and the waiter/greeter is super great. His service was attentive and the food was outstanding. Wish we were in the area for dinner if quality of lunch is any indication of what one has to lok forward to at dinner. See you in August!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

What's great is there is a bar area with live music that gets pretty loud and they also have a dining room that's completely separate with quiet to normal noise level. Great to either have drinks then dinner or after dinner have drinks and listen to music. Great ambience. The price was standard for the entrees and they were good (scallops and filet).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food was amazing and the server was super attentive. I ordered a salad and the fish tacos from the specials menu and they were both awesome...and the cannellini bean dip served with the bread was outstanding!! I was by myself so they sat me in a quieter room where others were also dining versus the very loud, bustling main dining area. From where I sat I could watch the cooking in action in the bistro kitchen. Great place. Highly recommended and I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

By far one of our "Go to" restaurants. Service and food are always excellent. Kent was our server this time and like everyone we have had the pleasure of serving us, he did a great job. You can't go wrong here.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent service with attentive but not intrusive wait staff. The food was exceptional.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 21, 2017

A wondeful experience. This was Friday date night and we were looking for something a bit more upscale but not too uppity. The Bistro fit the bill. Excellent service and great food was our take away!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Food was excellent, but only seating available at lunch was in the bar area. Service was superb.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We truly enjoyed North Beach Bistro. I had the Chicken Milanese and my wife had the prime rib. Both were outstanding. Our server was knowledgeable and courteous. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This restaurant is a beach favorite and a wonderful place to go with friends or someone special. The food is excellent, and our server was exceptional.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.