Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

About Nighttown

Named after the Dublin Red-Light District in James Joyce's Ulysses, Nighttown possesses the ambiance of Irish pubs and turn of the century New York bars. Leaded, etched, and stained glass, combined with a clutter of memorabilia from earlier eras decorate the four distinctly different dining rooms and three active bars. Be sure to see Stephen's Green, our outdoor dining area (fully-heated for year-round use) with a wall-size waterfall.

Since opening day, February 5, 1965, the menu has been a model of consistency. Top quality Certified Angus Beef, milk -fed veal, and the freshest of fish and chicken are prepared with creative simplicity. Try our house specialty, The Dublin Lawyer. And Nighttown has the best jazz available - in fact, we're the only club in Ohio on Down Beat's list of The Best Jazz Clubs in the World.

12387 Cedar Ave
Cleveland Heights, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Delaware

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 795-0550

Website:
http://www.nighttowncleveland.com/

Entertainment:
All music reservations must be made by phone. No open table reservations can be made for music events online

Parking Details:
Plenty of public parking as wel as Valet is available.

Executive Chef:
Nathan Sansone

Private Party Facilities:
Savor your dining experience in one of our beautiful and unique private dining rooms. We will help you with every detail to ensure your event is sensational from start to finish.

Private Party Contact:
Melissa or Brendan: (216) 795-0550

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nighttown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.5

ambience

3.6

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (9)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (5)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Historic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Romantic (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Cozy (3)
Business Meals (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Fun (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great Beer (2)
Authentic (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
344 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

This was a great brunch and good value. They had a diverse menu, not just egg dishes.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Of six orders, they got three wrong. One came 10 minutes after others got their food. Was told they gave it to someone else. Came out with the wrong order but ate it anyways. Was told they would comp the meal (they did not until I told them not only was it late but it was wrong too). First time here. Won't come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We were pleased with most things. The server could have been a little more attentive overall.

One thing that irked me was a 20% gratuity was added. This was Ok but never mentioned before we arrived, when arrived, or even after our checks were brought to the table. It wasn't until we started taking out cards and looking at the bills that the seever said, oh by the way the has been added. Really?

The service didn’t warrant the amount of the automatic tip. For that reason, I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Terrible! Service was atrocious- very slow (2.5 hrs for meal with no apps and no dessert), the waiter spent as little time as possible with us. He acted like he was so rushed and subsequently he only came by every 15-20 mins. Never asked how our food was. I literally had to get up with my salad and chase him down because my house salad was missing half the toppings. A good 45 mins after ordering, the waiter came over to tell us they were out of two of the entrees that were ordered! I couldn't believe that #1 they were out and secondly that it took THAT long for him to tell us. Never offered to comp the replacement meals. Overall, very bad and I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Normally an excellent restaurant. Poorly planned Mothers Day. Ran out of many items by 5:30. Only two waitstaff in patio room. People went to get their own bread and water. Drinks took over 20 minutes to arrive and not everyone was served at the same time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A "regular", I was VERY disappointed in our seating arrangement, and the service was extraordinarily LOUSY. To add insult to injury, we were required to pay a 20% "service fee". I had several family members attend for the first time, and was disappointed. Probably the LAST time I will have family get-togethers there. They will not want to make the drive based on the experience we had. While it was Mother's day, we were the only table in the large room for most of our time there. The other, nicer, "outside" room was also only about half full. It is obvious that in order to save a buck, they were UNDERSTAFFED. Would have been better for them to deny the reservation. Lost a fan.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food is always spectacular. The service was wonderful as well. Very little wait time for our large group to be fed. Will go back again and again.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's Day brunch and had the lobster eggs Benedict and veal meat loaf. It was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

It was the first time at this restaurant. We were not seated in the main dining rooms. They looked cozy, we were seated in a stone auxiliary room with patio furniture. You have to walk outside to enter! The waitress was nice, but had too many tables. I got a drink refill after my meal. The food was good. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The menu at Nighttown is a treat with options ranging from gourmet to comfort food and everything in between. We enjoyed the Brussel sprout salad, the crabcakes, the pork chop, salmon, trout almondine, and burgers. While our waitress was harried, she was attentive and had a great attitude. We enjoyed our meal, weren't rushed, and enjoyed being in the relatively new addition as the noise level wasn't an issue.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We love Nighttown. Food is great. Selection is good, but on our last two visits, service is abysmal. We waited 75 minutes for salads preceding our entrees. Very difficult to get a server back to your table for water and beverage refills.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was really good but it was pretty noisy so was hard to have a conversation with the other couple. Also, the service was not good purely because our server who was very good was working on too many tables! It was surprising to see that they were so short-staffed on a busy Saturday evening!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nighttown continues it stellar reputation in music, food and service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food and ambiance were terrific. Our server was very pleasant, but perhaps due to the crowd was not as attentive as in prior visits. It took a long time for the food to come to the table and when it did 3 of us were served and then the 4th received his meal about 5 minutes later.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

There is a beautiful ambiance, really great food, and the waitstaff were awesome!!

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Never GREAT, but always reliable. Especially fun with entertainment or when able to dine outdoors. Restaurant a little old and seedy, but retains an ambiance of times gone by. It hasn't changed in 40 years!

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I've been to Nightown many years ago. Ambiance is the same. Live performance going on sounded great even though we did not have ticket.
The food was hit and miss. Appatizer was disappointing. Charqudery tray was quite lame, two pieces of cheese, water crackers inadequate amount of food.

Salmon was good, chicken breast dish was flavorless, trout was good, lobster pot pie was good and wedge salads were good. The clam chowder was great.

I'm trying to be honest not negative. I feel you can't improve if you don't know what the truth is.
We will come back. We had a great time. We want to come back on a night there's a show.





.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Live Music, Historic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Been to Nighttown numerous times -- usually because it's late and they're the best option open -- and have always found it met my expectations for a good neighborhood place. Went there last night after theater in Playhouse Sq. and had a truly awful experience. The menu item one of us wanted was "out." The fish tacos I ordered came without the refritos that were a big reason I ordered it in the first place. No communication between kitchen and wait staff about that being "out" too. But the topper was the draft beer I ordered arrived room temp and flat. Waitress basically said, "Oh, the taps have not been working right for a while." Whoever you are who owns the place ... this is an Irish pub for God's sake, how can you not have working beer taps? So ... neither of us got to eat what we'd wanted plus no beer for me. Not heading back anytime soon and I suggest you inquire about the beer taps before going if that's what you want to drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 16, 2017

It was my first time dining at Nighttown and everything was amazing. Our server, the food, etc! I will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Fantastic service and food is always delicious and prepared just right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is a premiere music club featuring jazz at its best. Easy to see and hear from anywhere in this decent sized but cozy venue. Food and service are great Parking Lot in the back as well as valet available. Some street parking too some of the time. We went for New Years Brunch and had a wonderful few hours. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Not as good as I had expected. Two in my party got the strip steak and didn't like it at all - both thought they may have gotten the wrong cut of meat. I got the special, dublin lawyer - it was okay, but kind of bland. Got the crab cake app, which was pretty good but the lobster bisque was like a brother rather than a regular lobster bisque... Had high expectations and wasn't very pleased w/ food. Our waitress was pretty good, and drinks were great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very disappointing. We have been going to Nighttown for years. We could count on good service very good food at a reasonable cost. The service was prompt and courteous with close to being curt. Granted it was New Years Eve and there was a good crowd but not packed and the waitress was hustling, but a smile and "how" are you would have been nice.
The food was mediocre at bet. I ordered the Dublin Lobster. This was my favorite dish. Lots of large chunks of lobster in a thick creamy mushroom sauce with a side of rice. Not this time. There was one piece of claw meat and two other small pieces of lobster swimming in a runny sauce with half a plate of rice. My Wife's chicken was dry and tasteless. All of this for $100, including the mandatory tip. So sorry Nightgown. We will be finding another place to count on.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The "Dublin Lawyer" specialty lobster dish
is excellent. My spouse and our friend had the mozzarella chicken dish. Our other dining companion had steak and was very pleased with it. The think I do NOT like about Night Town is having to walk through the middle of the kitchen, past prepared food, to get to the restrooms. That seems unsanitary. It is an older building and this simply cannot be avoided. It seems it would be a difficult restaurant for those with a physical handicap to visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This has been a seasonal and special occasion pick for us for years; but this time (New Years Eve 2016) was big disappointment to us... the converted patio into indoor seating with overhead heaters is oppressive, even after changing tables... to hot/to cold. One out of the four servers actually was attentive to our table and service. The ambiance of the interior spaces is one of the draws for us, but seems to be reserved only for 'show seating'. I can't recommend seating in the expanded space. Food is still well prepared and tasty. I'll seek other venues in 2017; maybe try NightTown for afternoon lunch?... we shall see.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Last minute reservation, seated promptly, server attentive despite being very busy. Food came out in expected order and was hot. Drinks good, overall a good evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Late-night Find, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Crowded Wednesday night as they had a musical act in the next room. Portions were plentiful and our server was nice.

Tags: Historic, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food was fantastic and our waitress was absolutely great. It was a party of five celebrating the holidays. Their soup and salad is the best, everyone had a different soup and a different salad. One person had a hamburger and he said he was going back with his wife. Thank you Nighttown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Upstairs was cold and no ambiance whatsoever. Should not even open it up there. 1 waitress who had to make drinks n take orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Sadly we had a really bad experience at Nighttown. We came early,630 for dinner before a show which was to start at 830. There seemed to be one waiter for a huge room full of people. Long short it was hot and the service has extremely slow. He tried really hard but alas he was but one. Considering how long they have been in operation you would think they would have this down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Lovely menu. Easy access to university. Everyone happy and satisfied.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was wonderful. We sat in the window seat so it was a little cold. I would recommend a small heater in that room for cold days. Service was okay. I have had better.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We were there for an anniversary of a blind date at NightTown......special occasion and special location. We went for lunch this year....Dublin Lawyer was great and our server was delightful.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Fish very greasy. As it was a special occasion and we did not have time to have entrée replaced,
I did not complain. However, this dish should have never left the kitchen. Also, the waitress was very curt. Have frequented this restaurant frequently through the years, I have absolutely no plans to return soon. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We introduced 4 friends to Nighttown, who enjoyed great ambiance and food for a great evening prior to a Christmas concert at Severance Hall.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great selection of whiskeys and beers. Food was terrific. A good place to go before or after a show or movie. We did not stay for the jazz band but plan on coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Tables too close together. Feels uncomfortable because you can hear the conversations from tables to the right and left. Food just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We had an early dinner before a talk at CWRU. Food was excellent and service was outstanding. No problems with parking or with being seated right away.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Consistently good and a great place to have a nice dinner with friends on any night and a premier jazz venue some nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.