About Nighttown

12387 Cedar Ave
Cleveland Heights, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Named after the Dublin Red-Light District in James Joyce's Ulysses, Nighttown possesses the ambiance of Irish pubs and turn of the century New York bars. Leaded, etched, and stained glass, combined with a clutter of memorabilia from earlier eras decorate the four distinctly different dining rooms and three active bars. Be sure to see Stephen's Green, our outdoor dining area (fully-heated for year-round use) with a wall-size waterfall.

Since opening day, February 5, 1965, the menu has been a model of consistency. Top quality Certified Angus Beef, milk -fed veal, and the freshest of fish and chicken are prepared with creative simplicity. Try our house specialty, The Dublin Lawyer. And Nighttown has the best jazz available - in fact, we're the only club in Ohio on Down Beat's list of The Best Jazz Clubs in the World.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Delaware

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 795-0550

Website:
http://www.nighttowncleveland.com/

Entertainment:
All music reservations must be made by phone. No open table reservations can be made for music events online

Parking Details:
Plenty of public parking as wel as Valet is available.

Executive Chef:
Nathan Sansone

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Delivery, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Savor your dining experience in one of our beautiful and unique private dining rooms. We will help you with every detail to ensure your event is sensational from start to finish.

Nighttown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Historic (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Casual (11)
Authentic (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Cozy (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Fun (7)
Romantic (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Private Room (5)
Great Beer (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Business Meals (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Fireplace (3)
People Watching (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (0)
Sort By:
S
335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was the first time at this restaurant ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

It was the first time at this restaurant. We were not seated in the main dining rooms. They looked cozy, we were seated in a stone auxiliary room with patio furniture. You have to walk outside to enter! The waitress was nice, but had too many tables. I got a drink refill after my meal. The food was good. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

The menu at Nighttown is a treat with op ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

The menu at Nighttown is a treat with options ranging from gourmet to comfort food and everything in between. We enjoyed the Brussel sprout salad, the crabcakes, the pork chop, salmon, trout almondine, and burgers. While our waitress was harried, she was attentive and had a great attitude. We enjoyed our meal, weren't rushed, and enjoyed being in the relatively new addition as the noise level wasn't an issue.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We love Nighttown. Food is great. Select ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We love Nighttown. Food is great. Selection is good, but on our last two visits, service is abysmal. We waited 75 minutes for salads preceding our entrees. Very difficult to get a server back to your table for water and beverage refills.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was really good but it was pret ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was really good but it was pretty noisy so was hard to have a conversation with the other couple. Also, the service was not good purely because our server who was very good was working on too many tables! It was surprising to see that they were so short-staffed on a busy Saturday evening!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Nighttown continues it stellar reputatio ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nighttown continues it stellar reputation in music, food and service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and ambiance were terrific. Ou ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food and ambiance were terrific. Our server was very pleasant, but perhaps due to the crowd was not as attentive as in prior visits. It took a long time for the food to come to the table and when it did 3 of us were served and then the 4th received his meal about 5 minutes later.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

There is a beautiful ambiance, really gr ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

There is a beautiful ambiance, really great food, and the waitstaff were awesome!!

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never GREAT, but always reliable. Especi ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Never GREAT, but always reliable. Especially fun with entertainment or when able to dine outdoors. Restaurant a little old and seedy, but retains an ambiance of times gone by. It hasn't changed in 40 years!

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I've been to Nightown many years ago. Am ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I've been to Nightown many years ago. Ambiance is the same. Live performance going on sounded great even though we did not have ticket.

The food was hit and miss. Appatizer was disappointing. Charqudery tray was quite lame, two pieces of cheese, water crackers inadequate amount of food.

Salmon was good, chicken breast dish was flavorless, trout was good, lobster pot pie was good and wedge salads were good. The clam chowder was great.

I'm trying to be honest not negative. I feel you can't improve if you don't know what the truth is.

We will come back. We had a great time. We want to come back on a night there's a show.

.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Live Music, Historic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Been to Nighttown numerous times -- usua ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Been to Nighttown numerous times -- usually because it's late and they're the best option open -- and have always found it met my expectations for a good neighborhood place. Went there last night after theater in Playhouse Sq. and had a truly awful experience. The menu item one of us wanted was "out." The fish tacos I ordered came without the refritos that were a big reason I ordered it in the first place. No communication between kitchen and wait staff about that being "out" too. But the topper was the draft beer I ordered arrived room temp and flat. Waitress basically said, "Oh, the taps have not been working right for a while." Whoever you are who owns the place ... this is an Irish pub for God's sake, how can you not have working beer taps? So ... neither of us got to eat what we'd wanted plus no beer for me. Not heading back anytime soon and I suggest you inquire about the beer taps before going if that's what you want to drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

It was my first time dining at Nighttown ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 16, 2017

It was my first time dining at Nighttown and everything was amazing. Our server, the food, etc! I will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service and food is always del ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Fantastic service and food is always delicious and prepared just right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a premiere music club featuring ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is a premiere music club featuring jazz at its best. Easy to see and hear from anywhere in this decent sized but cozy venue. Food and service are great Parking Lot in the back as well as valet available. Some street parking too some of the time. We went for New Years Brunch and had a wonderful few hours. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not as good as I had expected. Two in m ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Not as good as I had expected. Two in my party got the strip steak and didn't like it at all - both thought they may have gotten the wrong cut of meat. I got the special, dublin lawyer - it was okay, but kind of bland. Got the crab cake app, which was pretty good but the lobster bisque was like a brother rather than a regular lobster bisque... Had high expectations and wasn't very pleased w/ food. Our waitress was pretty good, and drinks were great.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Very disappointing. We have been going ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very disappointing. We have been going to Nighttown for years. We could count on good service very good food at a reasonable cost. The service was prompt and courteous with close to being curt. Granted it was New Years Eve and there was a good crowd but not packed and the waitress was hustling, but a smile and "how" are you would have been nice.

The food was mediocre at bet. I ordered the Dublin Lobster. This was my favorite dish. Lots of large chunks of lobster in a thick creamy mushroom sauce with a side of rice. Not this time. There was one piece of claw meat and two other small pieces of lobster swimming in a runny sauce with half a plate of rice. My Wife's chicken was dry and tasteless. All of this for $100, including the mandatory tip. So sorry Nightgown. We will be finding another place to count on.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

The "Dublin Lawyer" specialty lobster di ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The "Dublin Lawyer" specialty lobster dish

is excellent. My spouse and our friend had the mozzarella chicken dish. Our other dining companion had steak and was very pleased with it. The think I do NOT like about Night Town is having to walk through the middle of the kitchen, past prepared food, to get to the restrooms. That seems unsanitary. It is an older building and this simply cannot be avoided. It seems it would be a difficult restaurant for those with a physical handicap to visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

This has been a seasonal and special occ ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This has been a seasonal and special occasion pick for us for years; but this time (New Years Eve 2016) was big disappointment to us... the converted patio into indoor seating with overhead heaters is oppressive, even after changing tables... to hot/to cold. One out of the four servers actually was attentive to our table and service. The ambiance of the interior spaces is one of the draws for us, but seems to be reserved only for 'show seating'. I can't recommend seating in the expanded space. Food is still well prepared and tasty. I'll seek other venues in 2017; maybe try NightTown for afternoon lunch?... we shall see.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Last minute reservation, seated promptly ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Last minute reservation, seated promptly, server attentive despite being very busy. Food came out in expected order and was hot. Drinks good, overall a good evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Fireplace, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Late-night Find, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Crowded Wednesday night as they had a mu ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Crowded Wednesday night as they had a musical act in the next room. Portions were plentiful and our server was nice.

Tags: Historic, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was fantastic and our waitress ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The food was fantastic and our waitress was absolutely great. It was a party of five celebrating the holidays. Their soup and salad is the best, everyone had a different soup and a different salad. One person had a hamburger and he said he was going back with his wife. Thank you Nighttown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Upstairs was cold and no ambiance whats ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Upstairs was cold and no ambiance whatsoever. Should not even open it up there. 1 waitress who had to make drinks n take orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Sadly we had a really bad experience at ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Sadly we had a really bad experience at Nighttown. We came early,630 for dinner before a show which was to start at 830. There seemed to be one waiter for a huge room full of people. Long short it was hot and the service has extremely slow. He tried really hard but alas he was but one. Considering how long they have been in operation you would think they would have this down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Lovely menu. Easy access to university. ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Lovely menu. Easy access to university. Everyone happy and satisfied.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was wonderful. We sat in the window ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was wonderful. We sat in the window seat so it was a little cold. I would recommend a small heater in that room for cold days. Service was okay. I have had better.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We were there for an anniversary of a bl ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We were there for an anniversary of a blind date at NightTown......special occasion and special location. We went for lunch this year....Dublin Lawyer was great and our server was delightful.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish very greasy. As it was a special o ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Fish very greasy. As it was a special occasion and we did not have time to have entrée replaced,

I did not complain. However, this dish should have never left the kitchen. Also, the waitress was very curt. Have frequented this restaurant frequently through the years, I have absolutely no plans to return soon. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

We introduced 4 friends to Nighttown, wh ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We introduced 4 friends to Nighttown, who enjoyed great ambiance and food for a great evening prior to a Christmas concert at Severance Hall.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great selection of whiskeys and beers. F ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great selection of whiskeys and beers. Food was terrific. A good place to go before or after a show or movie. We did not stay for the jazz band but plan on coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Tables too close together. Feels uncomfo ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Tables too close together. Feels uncomfortable because you can hear the conversations from tables to the right and left. Food just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We had an early dinner before a talk at ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 29, 2016

We had an early dinner before a talk at CWRU. Food was excellent and service was outstanding. No problems with parking or with being seated right away.

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Consistently good and a great place to h ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Consistently good and a great place to have a nice dinner with friends on any night and a premier jazz venue some nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I had Nighttown's vegan entree option in ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I had Nighttown's vegan entree option in September of 2015 that was one of the most delicious vegan dishes I had ever had. I decided to have Thanksgiving dinner with my family assuming that the current vegan dish on the menu was the one I had last year. It was not. I believe last year's dish had eggplant and quinoa. This year's was eggplant and spaghetti squash. It was very disappointing. What can I say. My mother was VERY happy with her prime rib. We will most likely return next Thanksgiving but I am hoping that they will have a better vegan option.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great menu and really good food and drin ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great menu and really good food and drink. The place was packed with Cleveland natives and the servers were first rate. Great restaurant for the family or a date or a bar session.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very friendly and knowledg ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. We were in the restaurant on Thanksgiving because many other restaurants were closed. It was very busy, but we never felt rushed. The food was excellent. All in all, it was a very pleasant experience, and if we lived in Cleveland, we would definitely be regulars, and would come for the music as well.

Tags: Late-night Find, Casual, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanksgiving dinner for the two of us wa ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner for the two of us was quite good in both cases. However, despite the fine first impression our server made, service was less than stellar: long waits for an offer of bread, soda replacement (flat) then incorrect new one; looong wait for dessert and the check. Frequent checks of the large dining room did not indicate massive crowds of holiday guests, that would otherwise explain the erratic service. Adding to our disappointment was an automatic 20% tip to our bill --despite the menu stating that a 20% is automatically applied for parties of 6 or more.

I've been a patron of NT for over 40 years (my late father's favorite restaurant). He would not have been happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

XFood and service were great. Tables are ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

XFood and service were great. Tables are too close together. Very difficult to navigate through. We were celebrating an 80th birthday and would have ordered dessert, but our 6:30 reservation did not allow time for that without paying the charge for entertainment. I should have been told of that when making the reservation so we could have come earlier

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Consistently good food. Always a good v ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Consistently good food. Always a good vegan option. Pleasant accommodating staff. Noise level depends on which room you sit in.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dining experience, neighborhood ge ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Great dining experience, neighborhood gem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great brunch menu. Enjoyed it as always ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great brunch menu. Enjoyed it as always. Food and service were very good.

Love the Corned beef hash. My wife's Eggs Benedict were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food and not crowded. Good place to ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Good food and not crowded. Good place to grab Sunday brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.