Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.89mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

About Nighttown

Named after the Dublin Red-Light District in James Joyce's Ulysses, Nighttown possesses the ambiance of Irish pubs and turn of the century New York bars. Leaded, etched, and stained glass, combined with a clutter of memorabilia from earlier eras decorate the four distinctly different dining rooms and three active bars. Be sure to see Stephen's Green, our outdoor dining area (fully-heated for year-round use) with a wall-size waterfall.

Since opening day, February 5, 1965, the menu has been a model of consistency. Top quality Certified Angus Beef, milk -fed veal, and the freshest of fish and chicken are prepared with creative simplicity. Try our house specialty, The Dublin Lawyer. And Nighttown has the best jazz available - in fact, we're the only club in Ohio on Down Beat's list of The Best Jazz Clubs in the World.

12387 Cedar Ave
Cleveland Heights, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 12:00am, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Delaware

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 795-0550

Website:
http://www.nighttowncleveland.com/

Entertainment:
All music reservations must be made by phone. No open table reservations can be made for music events online

Parking Details:
Plenty of public parking as wel as Valet is available.

Executive Chef:
Nathan Sansone

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Savor your dining experience in one of our beautiful and unique private dining rooms. We will help you with every detail to ensure your event is sensational from start to finish.

Nighttown Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (33)
Live Music (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
See All
Casual (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Cozy (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Fun (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Romantic (10)
Authentic (9)
Business Meals (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Hot Spot (9)
People Watching (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great Beer (4)
Healthy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
391 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Having dined there many times before, we returned for a pre-symphony dinner because we like the cozy ambiance of this historic bar/restaurant. Unfortunately, their restaurant had been "four-walled" by a private party and all other patrons were relegated to their auxiliary space out back. It had all the charm and ambiance of a pontoon boat. Conversation was difficult because a speaker was aimed at our table playing music at about 90db. We used OpenTable for our reservation. It would have been very easy for a notice to have been given that either the restaurant was closed or that their usual inside seating was unavailable. The food was excellent (as usual) and the service was great. We'll be back, but will definitely call first.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Nighttown is a neighborhood gem. Love the historic pictures and true pub like feel. Music is wonderful.
It is a bit pricey, though. And I would love to see more healthy items on the menu.
Fun place, good food, great service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Late-night Find, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Four of us shared Sunday Brunch: Lobster Benedict, Bangers & Mash, French Toast, and the Omelet special of the day. Service was friendly and prompt, without being overbearing. Food was hot, fresh, and tasty, although the lobster in the Benedict was reported to be "strangely crispy - not what I expected."
The bar and the dining room offered a comfortable recreation of an authentic Irish pub, right down to the owner mingling with, and drinking with, the guests, and providing background music in the form of his brogue.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Me and a colleague hosted a potential client here for lunch. Overall a great experience for reasons as follows:
1) Patio was perfect. Great ambience and beautiful setting.
2) our server was excellent. She only interrupted when necessary and always seemed to be around when we needed something.
3) there was a vegan option!
4) The menu was simple and easy to navigate.
5) although I was there for business, I saw that they did live music (likely jazz) and had so much history to observe on its walls. I would love to go back fro pleasure.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Live Music, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Felt like a typical Irish style pub restaurant. Friendly service but mid level food and slighty worn infrastructure. Not a high end experience. However, if you're looking for a pint of beer with bangers and mash, then this is the place for you. IMO Not for foodies or date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 1, 2017

WE HAD salmon and tacos. both were very good. the wine weas very good and reasonably priced.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 28, 2017

I've never had a bad experience at Nighttown. It always fulfills my expectations, whether it be for dinners with friends, pre-theater, or lunch. We had one hour because we were going to the theater, and our server couldn't have been more helpful. I had a delicious artichoke for an appetizer and the corn risotto for a main course. Both were served quickly and were perfectly cooked. We ate in the covered outdoor area which was very pleasant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Romantic, Fun, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Nighttown has been one of my favorite restaurants since 1968. With only one large dining room and the seating at the back of the bar at that time, it became one of the area's best restaurants. It still holds it own among the expansive selection of fine restaurants in Cleveland and has become the premiere jazz club in Northeast Ohio.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Nighttown has a great variety of food. The atmosphere is great inside and out. They do great with events too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food & service. Had a really terrific waitress.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The waitress seemed to be too busy in the room alone. She never asked if we wanted refills on wine, cocktails, or water. At one point she forgot to put in an order which delayed my guests in receiving their cocktails.

Tags: Live Music, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 9, 2017

A great meal as always. The service was a little slow, but otherwise a nice time. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Server wasn't very attentive, but food is always good.

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We had a good meal and wine. The service was very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Live Music, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Nighttown is our favorite local restaurant. The food is always good. We can count on excellent service, as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Casual, Healthy, Authentic, Romantic, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Everything was fine, nothing was great. Would say everything was well-worn, including the food preparation and staff energy.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Overall experience was wonderful. Although my prime rib was a little tough but edible- I didn't feel the need to send it back. Our server was very good despite being very busy. I was surprised though to see a 20% service charge added to the bill. I do hope that this was for our waitress and not for the entertainment as we told the hostess we were there for dinner only, but she seated us outside anyway.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Portions were ample. Early bird deal on trout almadine was outstanding. Prime rib was good but served room temperature -- that was disappointing.

Very friendly service, but the waiter/bartender didn't check back with us when food was served.

Good list of bears, wines, cocktails. Nice to find Harp Lager on draft.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Dinner was fine, although prime rib was just average. Will prob not order it again. We've been going for years to Nighttown and will continue to do so.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We sat on the screened patio & the noise was so loud we couldn't hear each other talk. Beer selection was great. The meals we ordered were uneven, varying a lot in quality and size. 10 of the appetizer mussels out of 20 total were unopened and should not have been served. But the server quickly brought us 10 to replace them when we showed her the problem, and the replacements were very good. The vegetarian dishes (ratatouille stuffed spaghetti squash) were tasty but portions were too small and guests who ordered them were still hungry after finishing , although these guests were not big eaters. The burger and fries plate was delicious and attractively served. The trout almondine also was delicious and beautifully prepared.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We took my 95 Year old mother for brunch and she honestly wanted to stay the entire afternoon it was so comfortable and inviting.

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Live Music, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

When the weather is right, there is no better covered patio seating than Nightown for lunch or brunch. The menu has something for everyone, the service is solid and friendly, the food is consistently good. We have enjoyed special family occasions like Father's Day there for a number of years.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Beautiful evening. On the patio, closer to the bar area. Barb was a great server and the Halibut was cooked perfectly. Everyone enjoyed their meals.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our first time here. Parking is interesting. Research parking before coming. The food was especially good and interesting. Unfortunately we had a group of 11 so gratuity was added to the check and I believe this effected the service. Our server did not seem particularly attentive. We did see several other groups here, so I would recommend it for groups, aside from the service issue which could have just been our server.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I love this place-staff is so friendly and welcoming!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Always a fun spot to meet people & friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

My supervisor and I finally had administrative assistant lunch. She treated me to lunch. I really love that you uve jazz groups there now. Although it is great to be near home get when a nice group comes to Cleveland. Good is always great.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Always terrific service, even though there were an unusual number of large tables - one of 24, 2 of 8, one 10, we were 8. Great Sunday brunch, including scrumptious lobster eggs Benedict. Will be back for sure.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

National jazz acts, excellent good, fantastic service. Strongly recommend this place.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We celebrated our wedding anniversary with Sunday brunch on the patio. The patio is beautifully landscaped with a water fall that masks the street noise.

Casey, our server was delightful. The eggs Benedict and Zane omelette were great.

Orhood gem

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We are so pleased Nighttown has a dog friendly patio. I met a friend there, with my two Golden Retrievers. The staff was extremely accommodating to us and to the dogs. Thank you!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 9, 2017

My boyfriends parents were very happy with dinner. Nighttown waa a great choice for us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great tasting food. Wonderful assortment of food options. Went 2 nights in a row because we were so pleased. A must stop for live music jazz enthusiasts! Great history of this spot to read up on.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The "new" menu (we hadn't been to Nighttown in a while, so I don't know when they initiated the new menu) is a vast improvement over the old one. I especially appreciated several creative vegetarian options. The ratatouille was very flavorful. And I'm looking forward to going back to try the sweet corn risotto and the cappellini. My wife enjoyed the flat iron steak except that the sauce was far too sweet. In the past, we've had excellent service, but on this occasion the waiter was distracted and inattentive, despite there being very few other diners while we were there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Not good---not bad. The prime rib was tasty though fatty. The salmon looked like the kitchen was running out and needed to stretch what they had---very small portion and definitely overcooked. The house salad is always good. Sitting outside is a treat---one of the nicest outdoor dining areas in Cleveland. Service was just ok--it looked like our server had a huge area. Nightown used to be one of my favorite restaurants---now, not so much.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had a great time and beautiful weather to sit outside on their deck.
Nice classic place!
Thanks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food & service for a great meal or enjoying the live jazz options.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, People Watching, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The outdoor seating is very cozy even though it's a big space. We could dine at our own pace feeling no pressure to leave. Food was very good although the green beans had too much butter for my taste. The fish was excellent. We shall return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were at Nighttown for Sunday Brunch and it is always on our list of" goto " local restaurants. We especially enjoy going for live entertainment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We've gone to Nighttown for years and always have a solid, enjoyable dining experience. The Dublin Lawyer is a favorite, but there ample good choices . The atmosphere is warm and welcoming.

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.