About Nico

Nico presents a menu format similar to the French and European style of dining "carte blanche" (without a menu or blank menu). This menu style invites guests to put themselves in the hands of the kitchen and enjoy a dining experience.

We offer a $70 5-course tasting menu that changes nightly. Pairings to complement the nightly changing menu are priced at $55 for the 5-course menu. "Bites" and à la carte selections are offered at our small 5-6 seat bar.

In addition to the pairings, Nico offers a full wine list, nightly wines by the glass (half or full), low proof cocktails, a handful of beers, and non-alcoholic sodas. Corkage is $40.

**Please let us know of any dietary restrictions when you reserve so that we may properly prepare for your party.

3228 Sacramento Street
San Francisco, CA 94115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday. Reservations are accepted 5:30pm-9:30pm.

Nico will be closed for a week in the Winter and two weeks the Summer each year. The 2016 Winter closure dates are January 1 - January 10.

Cross Street:
Lyon Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 359-1000

Website:
http://www.nicosf.com/

Public Transit:
Muni Lines: 1, 2, 3, 43.

Executive Chef:
Nicolas Delaroque

Private Party Facilities:
The Maple Room at Nico, is our private dining room, named for it"s table that is crafted from a solid plank of maple and sits directly beneath a large skylight. The room accommodates 7-12 people comfortably, and is nestled away from both the main dining room as well as the kitchen, creating a truly private experience.

Additional:
Banquet, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Nico Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
See All
Tasting Menu (21)
Romantic (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Special Occasion (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Seasonal (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Notable Wine List (8)
Authentic (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Organic (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (5)
Cozy (5)
Hot Spot (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Private Room (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service was excellent. Great at ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 12 hours ago

Food and service was excellent. Great atmosphere. Staff were genuinely friendly and very accommodating. A really great experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our best meal in San Francisco. The tast ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Our best meal in San Francisco. The tasting menu was light and fresh and delicious with interesting wine recommendations and staff attentive but not obsequious.

Excellent

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nico is definitely a great restaurant an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Nico is definitely a great restaurant and it stands out as one of the best in San Francisco. The food is spectacular and their wine/beer/cocktail list is phenomenal. Definitely going back to this restaurant!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small to medium s

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Small to medium s

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is undoubtedly one of the best rest ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is undoubtedly one of the best restaurants in the city. The tasting menu reflects a Nordic food experience but at an incredible bargain. Every dish is artistic and represents an innovative combination of flavors and ingredients. The wine list represents truly unique and high quality wines. An outstanding culinary experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such nice service and the food was excel ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Such nice service and the food was excellent. Thank you!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An extraordinary and imaginative restaur ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

An extraordinary and imaginative restaurant without appearing to try too hard. We were a varied group from disparate backgrounds and dining experience. We were all delighted beyond words. Attentive and kind staff was much appreciated.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite restaurant at the moment. Food ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Favorite restaurant at the moment. Food is a great mix between modern Californian on a French foundation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, , Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The flavors.... oh my .... and the wine ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The flavors.... oh my .... and the wine pairings .... divine!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic, creative food. Every course ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fantastic, creative food. Every course unique. Menu and dishes change all the time. Wonderful, knowledgeable staff. Love that you can split wine pairings.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fun, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an incredible dinner at Nico, and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had an incredible dinner at Nico, and I would have given it 5 stars, but there were a few disappointments throughout the meal that didn't reflect the high cost we paid. I don't want to take anything away from the outstanding courses (the halibut changed my world), and the wine pairings (amazing) introduced us to grapes and geographies we would never have explored on our own. But our first course came without the wine (a mistake that they rectified) and in another course, my wine showed up with residual crystals floating around (replaced when I pointed it out). We ordered a duck pâté appetizer, which was delicious, but it showed up (or something too similar) also in the 4th course in a pastry with fois gras added. We wouldn't have ordered that app had we known (maybe that course was supposed to have another meat, but they ran out?). Besides these little issues, nico really impressed us, and the some of the food just blew our minds with flavor and creativity.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were here on New Years Eve, perfect F ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were here on New Years Eve, perfect Food, perfect wine-pairing, outstanding Service, highly recommended! thx for a very nice evening!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding cuisine thoughtfully and cre ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Outstanding cuisine thoughtfully and creatively conceived, beautifully presented. You could not ask for more from a restaurant. Perfect for a very special celebration.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed Nico's creative tasting menu, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We enjoyed Nico's creative tasting menu, we would definitely come back again in the future.

Tags: , Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing . . . from start to finish. Agai ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing . . . from start to finish. Again. Get the wine pairing. We shared and it added another dimension to the meal.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful French-influenced five course ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful French-influenced five course meal with wine pairings in a lovely neighborhood bistro. Menu changes daily, but this evening was inspired -- from a sunchoke appetizer with a hay-based sauce to Monkfish with squash, apple and lemon verbena to South Texas antelope venison with blood orange and bok choy, everything was perfectly cooked, the presentation was spectacular and the staff was friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. In short, a uniquely enjoyable and memorable evening.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food ! Excellent wine ! Excell ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food ! Excellent wine ! Excellent service !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, , Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Organic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection. Hidden gem of a place. Every ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Perfection. Hidden gem of a place. Every course was a surprising delight.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, creative menu and attent ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent food, creative menu and attentive service. Our second visit and we look forward to the next time!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I went to Nico for a quie ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My husband and I went to Nico for a quiet and romatice pre-Christmas dinner. The dinner was wonderful dinner and wine pairings were carefully chosen . The meal was very creative and very delicious. The dining room is here is casual and inviting and the service was very warm and attentive. We particularly loved the duck dish that was served the evening we were there. Best duck dish I have ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious and inventive. Will definitely ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Delicious and inventive. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

A delightful innovative restaurant with ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

A delightful innovative restaurant with excellent service.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

outstanding meal and service; creative b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

outstanding meal and service; creative but not weird. enhanced by Amuse Bouche; tables spaced far enough of apart for private conversations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hate writing this review because I don ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I hate writing this review because I don't want anyone to know about this place! It's absolutely amazing, one of the best restaurants in SF and one of the best I have ever been to. Food was just delicious, the wine pairing is a must. The manager comes out and explains every wine. Overall 5 star experience from the time you walk in and leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite preparation...excellent servic ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Exquisite preparation...excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific! 2nd Visit. Delicious creativ ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Terrific! 2nd Visit. Delicious creative food.. great service!

Could not be better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was just ok & did not justify the v ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Food was just ok & did not justify the very high price. Service was a bit slow as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Fun and elegant meal. Textures, colors a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Fun and elegant meal. Textures, colors and flavors were all utilized to perfection. We will be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good restaurant for birthday party

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Very good restaurant for birthday party

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Seating was uncomfortable the service sl ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Seating was uncomfortable the service slow the food half cooked. One of the most disagreeable dining experiences I have had in a long time. Fixed menu was poorly conceived and would not suit everyone. In our case no one.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Complex cuisine which is usually delicio ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Complex cuisine which is usually delicious. Dessert was a bit over complicated. Superior service & ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tremendous food and very creative. Not ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Tremendous food and very creative. Not an experience like any other. Very unique. I highly recommend this for anyone who wants a unique tasting experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always! The food here is just ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Amazing as always! The food here is just so i imaginative that we keep coming back! Just exquisite!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nico has a lovely atmosphere that isn't ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Nico has a lovely atmosphere that isn't too loud. All food and wine pairings were creative, beautiful and delicious. I was hoping for a mind-blowing meal or at least one mind-blowing dish for that much money and was slightly disappointed that I was merely pleased and not on another planet at any point. Maybe my palette isn't sophisticated enough for the intricate flavors. Maybe the concept of a different menu everyday trumps a singular mind-blowing experience. For me, I'd rather a dish transport me. Instead I remained firmly seated (and I do mean firmly on those wooden chairs) in a beautiful restaurant in a lovely part of SF.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I had heard that this was a great restau ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I had heard that this was a great restaurant but our experience was rather negative. The music was electro/rock, too loud and definitely did not enhance the dining experience, though it may have entertained the staff. The 5-course prix fixe was an odd choice of extremely bitter, undercooked root vegetables. Only the pork was tender with interesting accompaniments but it was also undercooked. Palate cleansing sherbert was followed by dessert with sherbert. Wierd. The maitre d' brought my coat but didn't help me on with it. In light of all this, Nico is also overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Wonderful staff and fantastic food and p ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Wonderful staff and fantastic food and pairings. Impeccable.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants in sf. De ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in sf.

Definitely the concept of having one menu per day gives a fantastic approach to shine in the experience they offer.

I always leave super happy from Nico SF.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very good. There were two reall ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Food was very good. There were two really standout courses in our pre-fixe. The pacing was a bit off as we waited quite a while before receiving our 1st course and in between our 2nd and 3rd course. Once there were people waiting, the 4th and 5th courses felt more rushed. Overall a good dining experience though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

michelin star is well deserved. excellen ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

michelin star is well deserved.

excellent and interesting tasting menu.

wine pairings amazing.

service was outstanding.

will definitely be back again to celebrate other important moments in our lives.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful dining experience at ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We had a wonderful dining experience at Nico's. We were asked about allergies, and food preferences ahead of time, and when we came in, they linked those to us. My daughter was pregnant, so they cooked her meat well, and prepared an alternative to the raw shrimp dish that was served to everyone else. The fish dish and the pork were divine. The dessert with the mushroom base was strange. The drinks were innovative and delicious. The explanations of each of the courses was appreciated: it was an education for foodies! Thank you for an adventurous (you don't know what will be served) and delicious evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.