About Nico

Nico presents a menu format similar to the French and European style of dining "carte blanche" (without a menu or blank menu). This menu style invites guests to put themselves in the hands of the kitchen and enjoy a dining experience.

We offer a $70 5-course tasting menu that changes nightly. Pairings to complement the nightly changing menu are priced at $55 for the 5-course menu. "Bites" and à la carte selections are offered at our small 5-6 seat bar.

In addition to the pairings, Nico offers a full wine list, nightly wines by the glass (half or full), low proof cocktails, a handful of beers, and non-alcoholic sodas. Corkage is $40.

**Please let us know of any dietary restrictions when you reserve so that we may properly prepare for your party.

3228 Sacramento Street
San Francisco, CA 94115
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Modern European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday through Saturday. Reservations are accepted 5:30pm-9:30pm.

Nico will be closed for a week in the Winter and two weeks the Summer each year. The 2016 Winter closure dates are January 1 - January 10.

Cross Street:
Lyon Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 359-1000

Website:
http://www.nicosf.com/

Public Transit:
Muni Lines: 1, 2, 3, 43.

Executive Chef:
Nicolas Delaroque

Private Party Facilities:
The Maple Room at Nico, is our private dining room, named for it"s table that is crafted from a solid plank of maple and sits directly beneath a large skylight. The room accommodates 7-12 people comfortably, and is nestled away from both the main dining room as well as the kitchen, creating a truly private experience.

Additional:
Banquet, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Nico Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Tasting Menu (29)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Good for a Date (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Special Occasion (23)
Romantic (22)
Local Ingredients (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Open Kitchen (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Seasonal (11)
Cozy (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Authentic (7)
Organic (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Casual (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 17 hours ago

Wonderful service and atmosphere. Super adventurous food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Super tasty meal, with excellent service and wonderful old world wines.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This was my first tasting menu experience and I honestly enjoyed every moment of it. The staff are wonderful and provided excellent service for every plate and all around the restaurant. Nico is unique because the menu changes very frequently and you never know what is coming next. That's the coolest thing about their tasting menu. I definitely recommend and will come again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

All 5 courses were great. Wine paring made it even better. We didn't want dessert. They readily gave us a cheese plate. Service was great as we were in early.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Dinner was exquisite, second only to Fai's Le Manoir de Saint Quentin a Troo.

Each course was a wonderful delight, and the desserts provided combinations of taste I had not imagined. The wine pairings were perfect and fun. Emily's service was a perfect accompaniment, and the quiet ambience was perfect for a special dinner for four. We can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Excellent all the way! A true Gem! Definitely worth the drive for those who live out of the way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Surrounded by Paris themed store fronts, Nico really captures the heart of French dining. The menu with perfect wine pairings was totally unique and the service rivals the best in the City. The most tender and plentiful abalone and lamb dishes were standouts as were the 2 dessert offerings. Really proud to have such a fine place in San Francisco. Outstanding in every aspect.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Nico was a great experience for in my opinion a fair price. The 5 course meal was definitely an experience, and every dish had its special blend of tastes. The service was top notch and prompt. Would definitely be coming back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Nico is our favorite restaurant anywhere; if we don't visit Nico every time we come to San Francisco, we feel badly deprived. We have never been disappointed; we have always been happily surprised.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

One of the best meals I have had in SF in some time. I recommend it highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was really good. The service was exceptional. I think it was one of my favorite dinners of the year. The chef uses very fresh and seasonal ingredients. The dishes had just the right amount of artistry for me. Portion size were perfect. You won't leave hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent meal at Nico but somewhat deceived by the way they manage their "carte blanche menu". I informed them that I was intolerant to fishes and seafood at arrival and they told me that there was no problem and that they could certainly accomodate. They did so by simply removing the proteins from the sea from each course without replacing it by another protein or compensating by offering more vegetables and carbs. In the end, they did charge me the same price as my spouse that ate a full course. This was deceiving fro such a high-end restaurant.
Rest of service and food was otherwise exceptional.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Loved our food, wine pairing, the creative menu and attentive service. A definite SAN Francisco find!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Probably the best dinner I've had in SF in the last 10 years! It was that good. The food was simply extraordinary. The restaurant is beautiful. The service was great -- low key and very helpful. I eat at top restaurants in SF often. How I've missed this gem I don't know-- but it will now be a regular stop for us and a top recommendation for our friends and associates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

An amazing selection of courses. Chef outdid himself again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Went here on a date with my wife. Loved every aspect of the restaurant. Would come here again, and recommend to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Wonderful food. Innovative and very good value.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is a very creative restaurant. It is a fixed menu. You just explain what the food intolerances/requirements are and the kitchen does the rest. Very interesting tasting journey, unusual flavors and great presentation. Definitely a fun night out for foodies.

Tags: Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My second time at Nico
Most dishes were plain outstanding the rest very good

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Nico is always a treat. The food is amazing, but it's not stuffy, as you would expect of a restaurant of this caliber. They happily accommodated my partner's vegetarianism and created a veg-friendly version of the meal that was as thoughtful and creative as the regular prix fixe dinner. They'll split the wine pairing upon request, too. The service is also impeccable. I *highly* recommend!

Tags: Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Everything about our evening there was quite special. Would highly recommend it excepting to someone on a tight budget.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Everything was AMAZING!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Amazing 5 course prix fix menu for $70 is a steal in SF. They do a "magnum of the day," where they open up a different magnum of Champagne each day and offer it by the glass. Casual elegant atmosphere, perfect for a date or catching up with old friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

selected initially because it was one of the cheapest fixed price dinners at a michelin one star. we were concerned with the lack of a menu until the day of, ie chefs choice. however they called us ahead and asked for any allergies/likes and dislikes. this relieved our concerns on that respect. we were a bit late due to the wet weather but they graciously took us in. the atmosphere is casual but clean and neat . no frills. the waitstaff were all knowledgeable, very engaged, eager to share their knowledge and obviously enjoyed working there. the chef-owner was visible doing the final food check and the co-owner wife was about the room helping . the wine steward discussed each wine presented, why selected and answered any questions we had. a shared wine pairing was $10 extra for the second person and each then got 2 oz instead of 3 oz. more than adequate for the dinner with 5 courses(at least 10 oz). all of the food was invitingly presented , and was delicious. each of us were able to eat everything served as the allergies were accommodated with modifications that did not deter from the dining experience.
one the great gems of the city by the bay. if you are willing to try something new and let the chef truly decide the menu, this is a great place to experience one of those -"gotta tell everybody about this find"

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Really great restaurant. They plan everything, really good service and the formule gastronomique offre des plats innovateurs, délicieux.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Really outstanding food in terms of taste, presentation and inventiveness. Outstanding response to the food allergies of one of our party in terms of modifications that were accurate, thoughtful and still delicious. Attentive service. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Relaxing atmosphere and delicious unusual courses. Loved the set meal of 5 courses and the surprise of just having delicious dishes appear!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Outstanding tasting menu and wine pairings. This was our second visit but equally as good if not better than our first experience. Menu was heavier on fish this time but creative dishes. Loved the snapper in particular. Learned about some great new wines as well. Don't miss.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We had a wonderful dining experience! Wine was pair delightfully with the food. I only wish there were more than two asparagus on the plate! I'll definitely come back! Great, friendly and knowledgeable staff!
Thank you Nico

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food was not Michelin star quality, service was fair, value was fair. But compare with other Michelin 1 star restaurant was poor. Thank you

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

To be honest, every time I go here I think that one item on the menu (a different one each time) is the best think I've ever eaten . Great service in a modern setting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Best tasting menu in town for a reasonable price. The daily menu is a set menu for the entire restaurant. I have always had a fabulous meal at Nico. Every year I come to Nico to celebrate my birthday. The staff is helpful and accommodating. I have recommended Nico to all my family and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

So great! We love it here. So fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Excellent food, imaginatively prepared and presented. Flexible, attentive staff. A few of us tried the wine pairing which included some interesting choices. Didn't love all of them but each one was fun to try and made for some interesting discussion around the table. Bottom line - a great restaurant with high-quality food.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Great atmosphere. Staff were genuinely friendly and very accommodating. A really great experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Monterrey)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Brilliant experience. The creations from the kitchen kept me guessing what the next course would be. The wine pairing option helped to accentuate the flavors of the food. Service was efficient and attentive and the staff were very well informed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Our best meal in San Francisco. The tasting menu was light and fresh and delicious with interesting wine recommendations and staff attentive but not obsequious.
Excellent

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Nico is definitely a great restaurant and it stands out as one of the best in San Francisco. The food is spectacular and their wine/beer/cocktail list is phenomenal. Definitely going back to this restaurant!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Small to medium s

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.