About Nico Osteria

1015 N Rush St
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

The team behind One Off Hospitality Group, Executive Chef Paul Kahan and restaurateurs Donnie Madia, Terry Alexander and Kimberly Galban, presents Nico Osteria, an authentic Italian seafood restaurant at Thompson hotel in the heart of Chicago’s Gold Coast.

Chef Erling Wu-Bower’s house-made pastas and fresh seafood, alongside Pastry Chef Leigh Omilinsky’s creative and approachable style are perfectly suited for the setting’s rustic elegance.

Salone Nico is a welcoming space, celebrating the European tradition of afternoon aperitifs and craft cocktails. The wine list features producers from Italy and Greece, as well as grower champagne. Grab a cocktail, sneak in a light bite or settle in for a night cap at Salone Nico.

We invite guests to contact us by phone for last-minute reservations or those hoping to reserve seats at the Chef’s Counter overlooking our open kitchen in the main dining room.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday-Friday 7:30am to 10:30am
Lunch
Monday-Friday 11:00am to 4:30pm

Dinner
Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm to 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm to 12:00am

Brunch
Saturday & Sunday 9:00am to 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Rush and Bellevue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 994-7100

Website:
http://www.nicoosteria.com/

Parking Details:
Nico Osteria offers valet parking at our main entrance, 1015 N. Rush Street. There is also ample street metered parking available.

Public Transit:
The closest red line stops are at either Clark/Division or Chicago Avenue.

The closest bus route, number 151, stops at Division and inner lake shore drive.

Executive Chef:
Paul Kahan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Nico Osteria's private dining space, located on the second floor of the restaurant, is composed of three private dining rooms & a semi-private bar & lounge area. With floating walls, we can accommodate 100 guests for a seated breakfast, lunch, or dinner & 150 guests for a reception-style events

Nico Osteria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (56)
Special Occasion (40)
Good for a Date (37)
See All
Creative Cuisine (36)
Open Kitchen (32)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Romantic (32)
Modern Decor (32)
Hot Spot (29)
Notable Wine List (29)
Bar Seating (27)
Good for Birthdays (23)
People Watching (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Business Meals (18)
Authentic (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Casual (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fun (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Cozy (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Seasonal (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Healthy (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Scenic View (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Organic (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Family Style (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Private Room (2)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1178 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Rigatoni and crudo superior. Very good ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Rigatoni and crudo superior. Very good service. Great $10 glass of wine. Perfect lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal as always! Excellent wine sel ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great meal as always! Excellent wine selection. The pasta is pure perfection.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very interesting menu including brunch. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very interesting menu including brunch. Great spot for Sunday brunch. Outdoor dining in nice weather is great. Service is very good, including a very nice hostess stand.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sat at the bar surrounding kitchen so wa ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Sat at the bar surrounding kitchen so was great to watch all of the action. Service was amazing and food was great.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was just okay for the price given a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was just okay for the price given all of the other spectacular restaurants in Chicago. The decor and atmosphere is nice, and the vibe would be SO MUCH BETTER if they played cool lounge music like Chet Faker or even just Pandora Casa Del Mar or something better than the heavy metal rock they were playing. Kinda killed the "romantic dinner" vibe we were hoping for.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Love this place: dinner and brunch we bo ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love this place: dinner and brunch we both excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I found it extraordinary!! Wines like I ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I found it extraordinary!! Wines like I have never seen in my life!

Spectacular dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Happy Hour, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Private Room, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorites in the city -- consi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

One of my favorites in the city -- consistently outstanding food and usually good service, although it can be slow outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow-- what a great experience! Great foo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Wow-- what a great experience! Great food and wonderful wine list with knowledgeable people. Appreciated my chat with their GM about the wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was there for restaurant week. It was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I was there for restaurant week. It was a 4 course meal for $44, and it was a great value. The portions were a good size and the food was wonderful! Every course was delicious. Our server was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. The only complaint was that there was a bit too much time between each of the courses. I would have liked the wait time to be a bit less. Other than that, the experience was great and I would definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My fiancée and I dined here for dinner d ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

My fiancée and I dined here for dinner during restaurant week. The four course meal was absolutely delicious and portion sizes were so much we had to take some home. We started with the apple/chicory salad with pork belly-my fave thing all night! Followed by the rigatoni pasta and flank steak as our entree. I had the chocolate torta for dessert and my fiancée had gelato. Everything was well presented and cooked to perfection. The waitstaff was friendly and not overbearing. A great night. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Please take this review with a grain of ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Please take this review with a grain of salt. There were a couple reasons why Nico just couldn't be a home run for me: 1) The seating situation is way too cramped, and 2) Italian is just so-so for me. The dishes that I got were okay but the ones that my spouse got were better. I loved the bar tender. He has the perfect friendly personality and skill for his job. LOVED him. I probably wouldn't go back to Nico. I think that there are better Italian restaurants in the city that are less expensive (e.g. Nando Milano Trattoria). Again - just my opinion.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

My least favorite Paul Kahan restaurant. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 6, 2017

My least favorite Paul Kahan restaurant. This place tries too hard to be trendy. Food was good, some dishes were great, but the overall flavor to cost ratio was skewed for me. I'll stick with Blackbird, Publican, Dove's and Big Star (haven't tried Avec).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The word 'Excellent' describes the eveni ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The word 'Excellent' describes the evening.

Food, service, ambience, everything was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every dish was delicious. Server was at ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Every dish was delicious. Server was attentive. Restaurant is located in a vibrant part of the city.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great burger and sides were good. Table ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great burger and sides were good. Table layout and restaurant configuration interesting. Fantastic staff.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Came here for a date during Restaurant W ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Came here for a date during Restaurant Week. I originally made a reservation for 8 PM, or so I thought. The reservation was set up for 8 AM by mistake, but I called them restaurant and they were able to fit me in for a 9 PM spot with no problems. Once my date and I arrived, the service was fast and our server was very kind and attentive. The restaurant decor is gorgeous, and the food portions were very generous. I couldn't even eat all of my food! I would definitely recommend for a date spot or even a night out with friends.

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OMG, the brussel sprout bruschetta was a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

OMG, the brussel sprout bruschetta was amazing. The bread, incredible. My friend has the squash soup and at it short of licking the bowl! This was delicious with great service and ambiance. I will for sure return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week; great deal-4 courses, e ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Restaurant week; great deal-4 courses, everything very good. Noisy, crowded place; fun atmosphere but a little cramped. Closer to 4 1/2 stars.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fun, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always a great experience. Yummy food gr ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Always a great experience. Yummy food great atmosphere and great service.

A neighborhood gem!

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Family Style, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delicious meal during Restaurant Week! S ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Delicious meal during Restaurant Week! So glad we tried it out finally!

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved our more quiet booth on bar sid ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We loved our more quiet booth on bar side. The food is fabulous! They had me at the complementary house baked olive bread. And only got better with each course. Especially ecommend the Rigatoni Bolognese and gem salad. Wine list is extensive and fairly priced.

Our server was friendly and professional. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing absolutely happy my ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The food was amazing absolutely happy my husband and I got to try out this place during Chicago restaurant week, we will definitely be back again. Rigatoni Bolognese and the lobster Spaghettone were incredible! We loved the Cabernet franc that we had in our waiter was so knowledgeable personable and the utmost professional. It's quite pricey so I would reserve it for a special occasion but phenomenal is the word I would use to describe the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was amazong!!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Everything was amazong!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the restaurant week menu. Everyth ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had the restaurant week menu. Everything is superb. Haven't had a dinner so delicious for a long time. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was good, the salad and the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The service was good, the salad and the pasta were really good, but the steak was a little bit coldand with a poor side.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was only ok. Over priced. My pasta ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was only ok. Over priced. My pasta dish tasted like hamburger helper. Portions are tiny.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We came for restaurant week. We had a re ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We came for restaurant week. We had a reservation for 8:30, but didn't get seated until 9 which already was not a great start.

The food was good, nothing spectacular, but the gelato was terrible. At an Italian restaurant, I would expect good gelato and I was looking forward to it the entire meal only to be sadly disappointed.

The one standout was the incredible bottle of wine we had.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We came to celebrate my husbands 60th bd ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We came to celebrate my husbands 60th bday. The hostess was great in helping out with a surprise guest joining us. She went to great lengths to make it happen. So appreciated. We were seated in the path of the servers and constantly had workers bumping into our table, this was very annoying and I did tell the waiter, as the manager did apologize. My recommendation is don't be seated on the end of the table run.

Food and service was exceptional and we definitely would go back and ask not to be seated at the end of run. Booth will be out request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good quality of food to cost for lunch

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Good quality of food to cost for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always fantastic service and one of the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always fantastic service and one of the better if not best wine programs in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my favorite restaurant in the ci ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 23, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in the city. I took my family to it while they were in town... Now it's their favorite restaurant in the city too! The chef cannot be best. It's a modern take on Italian food. Everything I've tried off the menu has been amazing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent but noisy. However they tried ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent but noisy. However they tried to accommodate us & did find another table/booth that was less noisy, appreciated.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Let's start with the fact that this is a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Let's start with the fact that this is a restaurant in a hotel. The prices are high and the portion sizes are small. The menu is very limited in that within each group there is a little too much "envelope pushing". The food was too oily for my taste. Wine list 100% Italian with unreasonable pricing. Do not order any of the desserts. They are embarrassingly small. The fish entree was breaded and fried in oil--not healthful.

This is my second visit here (every dog deserves 2 bites) and will not return.

Save your money. Chicago has lots of better Italian restaurants.

Tags: Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I've been here several times for lunch a ...

vip
 (Edinburgh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I've been here several times for lunch and brunch and I love it! The food, the service, the atmosphere, the location are all stellar. I really like and appreciate that at least at lunch and brunch (can't speak for dinner time because I've never gone but would like to) it is quiet so you can have a conversation without having to lean forward to hear or shout to be heard. The staff is EXCELLENT and so good at making recommendations. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Bar Seating, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. We had a late re ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food and service. We had a late reservation but Nico accommodated us earlier and to sit and a Chefs Table which was interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried the Chef's Selection Crudo. Servin ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Tried the Chef's Selection Crudo. Servings were tiny, but very delicious. Olive bread dipped in olive oil was also amazing. Waiter was great, he made an excellent wine recommendation. We had the Ribeye Steak and Duck Sausage Mafalda with a side of crispy potatoes, all delicious. The Tiramisu dessert was a bit dry, but tasted very good. I would describe the restaurant itself as rustic with a modern feel. Will come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a reservation for 6:30 on a Wedne ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We had a reservation for 6:30 on a Wednesday and they sat us at the smallest table next to a large party when there were many other open tables available. At first I thought it was because it was two of us, but shortly after another table of two got a larger table next to us. Our waitress was nice but could have been more attentive, never asking us if we wanted additional drinks. Overall, it was fine but I left feeling hungry and was perturbed by being sat at such a small table at the wall when there were so many open slots.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Very good brunch. Different from typica ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very good brunch. Different from typical run of the mill brunch items. Hostess is very nice and accommodating as we like a booth by the window. Interesting wine list.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I loved our meal and the seating staff. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I loved our meal and the seating staff. Our waiter was sweet but maybe left us alone too long between us asking for more time - and I don't think he was a good listener - we asked for a few things we never got - no matter - but I'm being picky. Thanks!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.