Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Nico Osteria

The team behind One Off Hospitality Group, Executive Chef Paul Kahan and restaurateurs Donnie Madia, Terry Alexander and Kimberly Galban, presents Nico Osteria, an authentic Italian seafood restaurant at Thompson hotel in the heart of Chicago’s Gold Coast.

Chef Erling Wu-Bower’s house-made pastas and fresh seafood, alongside Pastry Chef Leigh Omilinsky’s creative and approachable style are perfectly suited for the setting’s rustic elegance.

Salone Nico is a welcoming space, celebrating the European tradition of afternoon aperitifs and craft cocktails. The wine list features producers from Italy and Greece, as well as grower champagne. Grab a cocktail, sneak in a light bite or settle in for a night cap at Salone Nico.

We invite guests to contact us by phone for last-minute reservations or those hoping to reserve seats at the Chef’s Counter overlooking our open kitchen in the main dining room.

1015 N Rush St
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday-Friday 7:30am to 10:30am
Lunch
Monday-Friday 11:00am to 4:30pm

Dinner
Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm to 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm to 12:00am

Brunch
Saturday & Sunday 9:00am to 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Rush and Bellevue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 994-7100

Website:
http://www.nicoosteria.com/

Parking Details:
Nico Osteria offers valet parking at our main entrance, 1015 N. Rush Street. There is also ample street metered parking available.

Public Transit:
The closest red line stops are at either Clark/Division or Chicago Avenue.

The closest bus route, number 151, stops at Division and inner lake shore drive.

Executive Chef:
Paul Kahan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 10:00AM - 11:30AM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 5:00PM - 6:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 10:00AM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Nico Osteria's private dining space, located on the second floor of the restaurant, is composed of three private dining rooms & a semi-private bar & lounge area. With floating walls, we can accommodate 100 guests for a seated breakfast, lunch, or dinner & 150 guests for a reception-style events

Nico Osteria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (64)
Fit for Foodies (62)
Creative Cuisine (58)
See All
Open Kitchen (43)
Modern Decor (42)
Special Occasion (41)
People Watching (40)
Bar Seating (39)
Hot Spot (37)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Business Meals (33)
Romantic (29)
Notable Wine List (28)
Authentic (27)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Great for Lunch (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Fun (20)
Casual (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Great for Brunch (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Seasonal (16)
Healthy (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Cozy (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Scenic View (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Outstanding Value (4)
Private Room (4)
Fireplace (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Historic (2)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (0)
Sort By:
S
1299 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The tables were so close together lined up in a row. Felt like we were on top of our neighbors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was fabulous. Unfortunately, we were seated (at tables that were too way too close to each other) and then ignored for 20+ minutes. When we brought the situation to the attention of the hostess, she said she would get someone. Someone (who never introduced herself) came over and took our order, but offered no specials, no help with the menu, etc. Very disappointing service, but everything we ate was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined 3 days ago

way too expensive for a trattoria! food was bannal ! the location shouldnt fix the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was mediocre and almost below average, but the prices were through the roof.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and Service were perfect, Host very welcoming, space is beautiful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent meal, as usual. Our server wasn't as informative as some in the past, which would have been disappointing had it been our first time dining. No complaints other than that. Amazing food, impressive wine list, buzzing ambiance. Can't wait to come back.

P.S. The crudo is incredible.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

We experienced wonderful service. We ordered seafood and chicken, both were amazing. We also enjoyed the chef's table area, watching preparation was interesting. A great place to celebrate an anniversary.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

I'm a frequent diner at Nico and love recommending it to friends and coworkers. A friend and I, who has also dined here, made a 1:30pm reservation for a filling lunch. I was determined to make a Nico believer out of her, since the last time she dined here she complained of 45 minute wait times between dishes. The fresh granola and farro pancakes were served timely and made for great starters. We then waited a little over an hour for our burger and salmon caesar salad. My burger was perfect but the soft boiled egg never made it to my lunch mate's plate. A few moments before our food was served, our server apologized for the wait and we received a percentage off of our meal; it made for a nice gesture and we were grateful, however, this put us behind schedule for the rest of our afternoon. We were a bit disappointed with service, but the food was delicious as always. I'm not sure if I made a recurring customer out of my friend, but I'll always recommend Nico Osteria. Just make sure you have 2-3 hours worth of conversation.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Our meal and experience was superb. We especially enjoyed our server who gave us great wine recommendations.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great variety of delicious foods with attentive service and ambience

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fabulous food and service. Creative preparations and innovative bruschetta. Excellent pasta preparations. One of the consistently best restaurants in Chicago. The olive bread is exceptional.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We've eaten at Nico many times in the past and loved it. Mother's Day 2017 was poorly staffed, and our waiter was rude and inattentive. Rush, rush, rush and incomplete entrees were served; we had to ask for the completion of our order several times. No follow-up service, and our waiter said to us, "You're not my only table." Yet, he was standing by and chatting with other staff. Hmmm... We've had excellent experiences at Nico, but this was a sincere disappointment. :-(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My first experience for dinner was great all around with top notch fair sized portions and original quality dishes. The service was excellent only to be matched by my second brunch experience on Mother's Day. The menu selection for mothers day hit the spot with the standout chocolate cherry kouign-amann and English pea ravioli. Both times the ambiance has been just right and the noise level never in your face. I'm a one and done sort of guy but Nico has me coming back for more. Bon Appetit.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food is terrific the drinks are the best. The service was UNIMPRESSIVE. I made reservations 8:45pm got seated at 9:15pm I felt like a was the restaurants third wheel. The 3 of us got seated on a 6 top and it's went into from there.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Hostess was fine. Server in the lounge was terrible. Slow and inattentive. It was more than 10 minutes before she got our drink order. We had to wait for everything, even the bill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was outstanding. Service was not good
Wine was put with other wines to store far from our table. They just were too busy to serve it. Finally, I got up to find the chilled wine. When they did serve it, I asked for the manager and our server said she was the manager. Well. If she was, they are in serious trouble.
Food was the best! Thank you

Tags: Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Table for 2 was not one that we preferred....Told due to number of guests it was best available. Happily the waiter promised to make up for it, and he did.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was thoughtful, fun and delicious. We loved everything. The location is also wonderful. The doors were open so even inside, you felt like you were dining al fresco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The meal itself was fantastic and we had a wonderful server. However, when they called to confirm, the requests I had wasn't noted and we waited one hour to get seated even though we had a reservation. The estimated wait time when we arrived was 20 min. This is consistent with the other reviews here. But as I said, when we got seated, the dining experience was great.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great vibes. Server very knowledgeable about the wine list and accommodating our interest in tasting samples to get just the right pairing to compliment our meal. Cuisine is innovative and delicious. This is how a restaurant should be in a perfect world.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This is an outstanding restaurant where good food is served by able staff. The loud (at times very loud) noise level is a major irritant.
Too many female diners have the tendency to "camp" and delay other dinners.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Second time here and both visits were phenomenal. Great food, great service and great atmosphere. Lots of variety and quality in the wine selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Service was not good. Food was average

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Food and service were top notch! I'd definitely recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Was great when they first opened. Then two bad dinners and one bad brunch. Didn't plan on returning. Birthday guest the other night picked Nico and I consented. The food was back to really good; stuffed lobster with squid ink pasta was perfect. Octopus one of the best I've ever had. Sushi tasting was delicious. All food we ordered was very good. And fresh ramps made me happy, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Melbourne / VIC)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Superb food , elegant : stylish decor , and great service .Lovely neighborhood to walk around before or after meal as a bonus .

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Terrific meal. Sat at the bar and had fun watching the sous chefs prepare several courses-the heat from the oven was quite welcome on a chilly evening.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

You should not expect your reservation to be on time you should not expect the service to be good and you should expect the food to be worth about half the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food was a bit off not on point, coffee is always great not today😔

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The lunch menu was a disappointment. Limited options.
I have been to the restaurant many times for dinner and enjoy it immensely.
An expansion of offerings including fish would be a big help!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great food! Wonderful service. Chef's seating at the bar where you can watch the preparation and review - great stuff!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Food was ok. Not worth the overprice. Our server was very good however. This is a gorgeous restaurant. Love location. But won't go back because of the price. Food tasted just so so.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Nico never disappoints. Went for the special Gabrielle Hamilton pop up, so the only downside is that we didn't get to enjoy the regular menu. Just more incentive to get back sooner rather than later for another meal!

Tags: Modern Decor, Private Room, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

went for Gabrielle Hamilton popup and it was awesome. Chef Wu-Bower runs a kitchen on all cylinders even with a guest chef and her staff in the building. side note great wine list put together for the event by Brett. cant wait to return.

Tags: People Watching, Healthy, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Authentic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Server was super nice but barely gave us any attention which was strange since the restaurant was emptied. Our reservation was for 8:30 (drinks)...and sat down at 9:00....and took 3 hrs on a Monday night :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Does not live up to all the hype it has received Tables for two very close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

No me gusta que no usen cofia los cocineros

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

From top to bottom, the Nico team works better together than any place else. Excellent experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Memorable! If I lived in Chicago, I would be a regular. If Erling Wu does not win the Beard award I will be astonished. Start to finish, warm and thoughtful and sincere service. One plate after the other more creative and nuanced than the next. Umami supreme....

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, People Watching, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.