Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Nico Osteria

The team behind One Off Hospitality Group, Executive Chef Paul Kahan and restaurateurs Donnie Madia, Terry Alexander and Kimberly Galban, presents Nico Osteria, an authentic Italian seafood restaurant at Thompson hotel in the heart of Chicago’s Gold Coast.

Chef Erling Wu-Bower’s house-made pastas and fresh seafood, alongside Pastry Chef Leigh Omilinsky’s creative and approachable style are perfectly suited for the setting’s rustic elegance.

Salone Nico is a welcoming space, celebrating the European tradition of afternoon aperitifs and craft cocktails. The wine list features producers from Italy and Greece, as well as grower champagne. Grab a cocktail, sneak in a light bite or settle in for a night cap at Salone Nico.

We invite guests to contact us by phone for last-minute reservations or those hoping to reserve seats at the Chef’s Counter overlooking our open kitchen in the main dining room.

1015 N Rush St
Chicago, IL 60611
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast
Monday-Friday 7:30am to 10:30am
Lunch
Monday-Friday 11:00am to 4:30pm

Dinner
Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm to 11:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:00pm to 12:00am

Brunch
Saturday & Sunday 9:00am to 4:30pm

Cross Street:
Rush and Bellevue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 994-7100

Website:
http://www.nicoosteria.com/

Parking Details:
Nico Osteria offers valet parking at our main entrance, 1015 N. Rush Street. There is also ample street metered parking available.

Public Transit:
The closest red line stops are at either Clark/Division or Chicago Avenue.

The closest bus route, number 151, stops at Division and inner lake shore drive.

Executive Chef:
Paul Kahan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 10:00AM - 11:30AM 5:00PM - 6:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 5:00PM - 6:30PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Fri 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 10:00AM - 1:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Nico Osteria's private dining space, located on the second floor of the restaurant, is composed of three private dining rooms & a semi-private bar & lounge area. With floating walls, we can accommodate 100 guests for a seated breakfast, lunch, or dinner & 150 guests for a reception-style events

Nico Osteria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (56)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Good for a Date (50)
See All
Special Occasion (40)
People Watching (39)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Hot Spot (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Romantic (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Bar Seating (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Fun (23)
Notable Wine List (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Business Meals (20)
Authentic (15)
Casual (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Seasonal (11)
Healthy (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Scenic View (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Cozy (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tapas (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1462 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

The place is just average, nothing really unique. Good to go if you just want to hang out.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Decent food, but limited menu and terrible service. Our waiter couldn't be bothered to explain anything on the menu or get us excited about anything. He acted like our friend was dumb for asking for Malbec at an Italian restaurant. The hostess actually checked on us more than he did. No dinner specials and, again, limited menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Stayed at the athompson Chicago so we had breakfast and dinner at Nico Osteria. Breakfast was expensive. We ordered pancakes that were listed on menu covered in bananas and blueberries, but the restaurant was out of fruit and did not bother to tell us before we ordered so we basically paid for plain pancakes. Bacon was burned and we had to send it back. Walk across the street to the Original Pancake House for better pancakes and cheaper.

Had dinner also. The food was good, but they squeeze the tables so close together you can't have a private conversation and the service was terribly so. We finally complained and we were given a free dessert. But that was not enough to get me to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Another excellent meal: pappardelle and pumpkin dessert absolutely stellar. Bread could be better. Excellent service, friendly staff, nice space full of windows, comfortable booths.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Ordered multiple dishes including Chef Bill’s octopus featured in the Chicago Tribune.
Everything was great from start to finish the server, the food, except for the hostess who said my reservation from 2 people to 3 would take 45 minutes to change. There was a table clearly wide open that would be broken into two a four top and two top. That I pointed out to her. She hesitated to change the table and finally sat us there and the two top remained empty the entire three hours we were there next to us. Should have been zero wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Not overly impressed for the cost of dining. Service was fine but not personable. Food was mediocre at best for $70+/person with drinks. All in all, underwhelming

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Alex Diversiev is THE BEST server in the world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Service was fantastic - from the time we arrived to when we left, everyone was attentive and informative on the food options.
My husband and I shared plates. The chef's choice raw bar was very good - loved the razor clams. We also had the octopus carpaccio - although the octopus was cooked - but very tasty.

Had the gluten free lobster pasta - outstanding dish, lots of lobster and the corn\rice pasta was cooked perfectly. Ended the meal with roasted branzino, which they modified to fit the gluten allergy - fish was moist and seasoned just right.

There are 2 different dining rooms - 1 more casual where you can sit at the kitchen bar and watch the action and 1 that is more intimate. Hostess gave us the option of seating, which was nice since we were celebrating our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The most amazing dinner ever! We tried lots of different courses and all were innovative, creative and incredibly good. Lindsay is the best server ever!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 3, 2017

We have eaten at Nico Osteria many times. The Rigatoni Bolognese is the best entree that we've had. The olive bread is incredible. Our service, however, was lacking this visit. We barely saw our server, and when we did, she seemed annoyed with us. We still had a great time and a great meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Portions are small even for a nice place, but the food was delicious! Dessert was the best part. Highly recommend Pumpkin Spice Rotolo, Cauliflower ravioli, and king crab bruschetta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 30, 2017

It was a friends birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We have had a quick dinner before the play and the stuff served us as soon as possible. The food was very good. They've just had a sword fish on the menu for a couple of days. I am not a big fan of a sword, but the sauce was delicious. And the bread was so tasty, we couldn't stop eating it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great food and excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Food was good but the portion was very small. I don't eat that much but for the price it was not worth it at all. It needed to be at least 20% more for it to be on the same level as other higher end places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Highly recommended. Was my first time there. Had a number of different fish dishes for a business dinner and each thing was excellent. Really strong food to go along with the prime location.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2017

As always, Nico didn’t fail to amaze!! We had brunch, and the assortment of breakfast pastries were the best I’ve had. The main courses were perfect, and our desserts were second to none.

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 23, 2017

This is the second time I go to Nico Osteria. The first time the food was very good, loved it. Thus time it was nothing impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Every dish was better then the next. Brussel sprouts crostini and heirloom tomato water melon tower were both great.
Rigitoni bolognese was authentic and delicious.
Poached Halibut was amazing.
Cant wait to go back

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

Wonderful place to take friends and family, left with great impressions. All pasts are hand made, outstanding texture.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was mediocre and overpriced you feel like you’re paying for the location. I wish we spent money elsewhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Nico Osteria was recommended by a colleague who had been and said it was amazing. She was right! A lot of energy right from the start and the wait staff was always attentive, but never hovered. Can't stand when you go to a restaurant and you feel like they are trying to turn the table over quickly. The octopus carpaccio is a must try appetizer. So tender and flavorful. All three of us had the lobster spaghetti because it looked so good and we talked about it the whole way home. Very gracious with the lobster and the noodles were al dente to perfection. We had the chocolate torte for dessert was heavenly. This is a restaurant not to be missed!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our food was excellent and the service was great! We were a little disappointed that due to the tables being very close together we didn't have any privacy. It was like we were dining with the couples to either side of us.

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Delicious innovative Italian food. Had the Brussels sprout crostini and the incredible meatballs for appetizers. Both were amazing, unlike anything we've ever had before, and we are "foodies". Pork stuffed pappardelle was out of this world! Definitely recommend although it was noisy when we visited on a busy Friday night.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

We had a great time celebrating a weekend of wedding dress shopping

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 15, 2017

My girlfriend and I came here from a recommendation. It did not disappoint. We were lucky to get a table outside. We both had pasta which melted in our mouths and the taste was delicious. No complaints. Excellent restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

My 17yo daughter is gluten free. Waiter was very knowledgeable but kept commenting on how the gf pasta isn't nearly as good as the regular...really? Waiter should be more sensitive
Bar lounge area is awesome

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had mostly excellent dishes and fantastic service for dinner amongst 4 friends that haven't seen each other in ages Will definitely go back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Nico Osteria is one of the best restaurants in Chicago. The crudo selection is incredible and they have fabulous wines at reasonable prices. There pasta dishes are wonderful too! I try to go here every time I'm in town.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Brussels sprout bruschetta was fantastic , pasta dishes were outstanding

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The food was wonderfully delicious, and it was exceptionally cool sitting at the counter to see all the happenings in the kitchen. I gave one less overall star because of service. It started fine with good wine and food recommendations but got less attentive throughout our meal. We waited an abnormal amount of time to receive and pay our bill, and even though we weren't in a hurry, paying should never be the most difficult part of a meal out. We thought our server might have left we didn't see him for so long!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was wonderful. But the service was disappointing to say the least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Ate outside! Great meal. Great service! Comfortable seating. Excellent food. Well presented. Attention to detail noted.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We missed that Saturday was not a full menu - we all found something we liked on the brunch menu. Slow getting started with service, but were taken care of in the end.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent food and service. Brussel sprout focaccia & linguini w clams were exceptional!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great meal as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had such a great experience. We hadn't been to Nico in about a year and the menu had changed, but we were not disappointed! Everything we ate was phenomenal, especially the bass and bone-in ribeye, which was cooked perfectly. Will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2017

We like Nico a great deal and go there when we want interesting delicious Italian food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Very expensive for what is offered. Organic tea: $7.00, seriously?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Wonderful place for Sunday Brunch. Interesting and very good food. Has nice outdoor dining. Good, different wine list.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.