About Napa River Grill

1211 Herr Lane
Louisville, KY 40222
View Larger Map

Inspired by the beauty and romance of California’s wine country, Napa River Grill provides a taste of Northern California in Louisville’s own backyard. The menu features expertly prepared dishes using only the finest seasonal ingredients, and the award-winning wine list offers the best from the New World. Set in the vibrant Westport Village, the cozy lounge opens into a bright dining room bathed in natural light. The outdoor bar, grapevine-surrounded patio, and fire pit make an ideal setting for alfresco meals. Whether you are having a romantic night out, a casual dinner with friends, or a business meeting, the relaxed yet elegant ambiance is perfect for any occasion.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Brunch: Sunday 10:00am- 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Westport Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 423-5822

Website:
http://www.napariverlouisville.com/

Executive Chef:
Brian Curry

Private Party Facilities:
Featuring two private dining rooms, Napa river Grill can accommodate small and large groups for private dining.

Our Vineyard Room features a custom wine bottle chandelier, and a custom wood table for boardroom style seating for up to 22 guests.
Our Large Private Dining Room features local art, and custom table configurations for up to 60 guests.

Weather permitting, our Patio Bar/Lounge is also available for rent, featuring two TVs and a full bar. Perfect for private cocktail events, or even for groups wanting to watch their favorite sports teams in a private setting.

Private Party Contact:
Mytch Law: (502) 423-5822

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Holiday Brunch
$34.95 excludes taxes and gratuities

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Napa River Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (15)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
See All
Quiet Conversation (10)
Romantic (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Casual (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Cozy (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Fun (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Business Meals (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fireplace (2)
Modern Decor (2)
People Watching (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Disappointed with Valentine menu. Kale chips tasted like burned leaves from a campfire. Calimari was good, entrees so so. Felt the dinner was overpriced. Probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great place to go for outstanding service, creative menu options and wonderful tasting menu items.

Perfect for special events or just to escape and be pampered.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great atmosphere, food was delicious and the service was on point!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our first time eating at Napa for brunch after enjoying several dinners. We were displeased to find out it was a buffet after we sat down. The buffet, while offering a wide variety of breakfast foods, was not well stocked and the quality wasn't what you would think from Napa River Grill based off of dinner experiences.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I were both very pleased with our meals and the wine was wonderful. Service was also excellent. Very nice night out.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We went on a Saturday and as it happens it was the Saturday before Valentines Day which was not our intent, we were just going out to eat. As is turns out, they had a limited dinner menu which I did not think was a great selection of favorites. I wish we had been warned of the limited menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great experience. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Napa is always great! Their food quality and staff are tops.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was a great night out for our Bunco group. Everyone enjoyed themselves thoroughly!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Napa River is a great little spot, kind of tucked away. Hostess wasn't the friendliest, but our waiter made up for it. I ordered salmon and my dining partner ordered tilefish (special), and we both enjoyed. We ordered the white cranberry tart and smores creme brûlée - both were delicious. The atmosphere is pretty quiet and calm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

What a nice meal. We had a group getting together for a special evening. Napa was very helpful with the reservations. Our server was attentive but not disruptive. The menu is excellent and offered choices for all. From a nice burger for the young ones to a wonderful salmon dish. Their wine selection is nice also.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great lunch. We sat at a table in the bar and it was nice and quiet. The cornbread was a treat. I had the shrimp and grits which had a Creole flair. My guest ordered the hot brown and said it was delicious. It was served in its own little cast iron skillet. I wanted to take it home with me (but I didn't!)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We chose Napa River at the spur of the moment and we're lucky to get a table. We both had great salads, mine was the spinach salad and my wife had the house. We both decided on the salmon and it was excellent as well. Service was polite and efficient and our server guided us to gluten free options with confidence.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good service- new owners possibly? Food was not as good as in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

the food was excellent and the service from Sydney was excellent as well.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This restaurant is consistently great. Always a pleasure to dine there. And their happy hour is a great deal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve date. Server and service were excellent . Will return as often as possible.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very nice evening. But....Table for five was in busy area- first by front door where lots of traffic and bright lights took away from ambience. Dimming lights and some kind of screen to block waiters from kitchen and guests going to bathroom and from private dining room would have helped if you choose to sit people in this space. Also the tables pushed together do not accommodate well with gaps in back cushions. Service was great and good food. Would come back only for a different table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

One of the Better Restaurant in a great Foodie Town!THis is a fine local 4 star restaurant in a town that is know for great restaurants. We like it for special occasions. Their fish specials are great. THey do wonders with Salmon Grouper and Mai Tai dishes.

Start with their tomato soup in a pie shell, get their unique Ceasar salad and go for the fish. Good wine list!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We had a great meal and enjoyed it very much. One strange thing happened. The waiter called and asked if something was wrong with our dining experience because one person only left a dollar tip. (The person did get sidetracked in conversation and meant to leave 10 tip.) The person went back and corrected it. I was just surprised at the phone call- it was uncomfortable and then I had to ask the person -it was awkward. It was also unprofessional to ask about someone in my party of 6-and why they only tipped one dollar..😳😬

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food came out quick but was overpriced for what we got. The steak was burnt and not of the high quality I expected. Very let down.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was phenomenal! Staff on the other hand were not! For the amount of money we paid we were very disappointed in the attitude and services from the hostess stand and our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 20, 2016

What a pleasant brunch spot! Food was fresh and replenished frequently. We will return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We have dined at Napa River Grill many times but were very disappointed with this experience. Our cocktails were very good, but the meal itself was not to our liking. I had the duck special, and the meat was difficult to cut. The sweet potato gnocchi was tough and chewy, as though it was undercooked. My daughter ordered a filet, and we both questioned the cut of meat. It certainly did not appear to be a filet. We would have asked our server about it but after our food was brought to the table he never reappeared to check on us. I had wanted to order a glass of wine after the food arrived but the next time we saw him we were ready for the check. Probably won't be back, even though we love the location and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We frequent Napa River Grill about once every 2 weeks.

Consistently a great value with great food.

Naturally, the always have a fantastic wine selection and they do not gouge you with over-the-top pricing on the wine.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Out of 7 women five of us ordered the Caesar with chicken because the menu didnt seem to have anything that appealed to us. The calamari is phenomenal. The ham and pimento is really good but not fond of the presentation or the crackers. We were all huge fans of Napa but the menu change over the past several years has alienated us.

We tried this past week hoping again and even the Caesar isn't as good as it used to be.

I love the restaurant and location just not the menu!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

All the proteins were overcooked and under seasoned. Server was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We enjoyed our lunch and especially the large round table. Good food and an excellent waiter.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The service was very good. the wait staff was attentive and polite. Since brunch is a buffet, the food temperature was not ideal.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Superb service from a trained and experienced staff. Every detail was attended to. The food is tastefully served and will satisfy every appetite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Love their patio. Service and wine were great! Food was quite delicious. There was a large business group that took up two tables - wish they were in a private room. Overall, great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food was wonderful and the service was excellent. We will certainly be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 27, 2016

My sister recently visited from Austin, TX. We chose Napa River because we wanted a classy and convenient spot to have a drink and a great meal. We were absolutely impressed with the amazing service, delicious wine, and mouth watering steak. While the atmosphere was relaxing and casual, we left feeling like we had splurged and indulged ourselves. The entire experience was wonderful and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fun, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Our party of 7 loved it from service to ambiance to drinks to food. We especially loved the round fire table. Perfect for the slightly chilly weather and for conversation. Will definitely return

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Casual, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had one of those rare meals where EVERYTHING was excellent. The service, the food, the wines. Every dish we ate was fresh and perfectly prepared. A great celebration night (birthday and retirement) to always remember.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Excellent and attentive service. Enjoyed the flavor combinations and a very good wine and cocktail list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Brunch buffet on Sundays is the best around!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Wonderful Sunday brunch! $2 mimosas and bloody Mary's keep us coming back. We celebrated our daughters birthday and anniversary over a nice Sunday brunch. With 9 people, including a toddler and preschooler they had something for everyone.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We were celebrating our 38th wedding anniversary and really enjoyed the Sunday brunch. I really enjoyed the hot brown and broccoli casserole. I would prefer the gravy without sage and thyme and have it taste more like "southern style" gravy. Other than that, everything was delightful! We will definitely eat there again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Mitch and his team did everything we asked in hosting our group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Food was uninspired and overpriced. We had a 7 pm reservation on a Saturday night. We were one of only three tables in the whole restaurant- the place is a ghost town. Of the three tables, one had a baby in a high chair and the other consisted of four octogenarians. If you are looking for good food or a hip vibe, this place is not it. Very disappointed as I have heard such great things. We will not go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food is always wonderful here. I'm always impressed by the wait staff. They know their menu as well as their wine list. I find that very very helpful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

My wife and I went to Napa River for our anniversary and really enjoyed our dining experience. The service was excellent and the food was very enjoyable.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Great as expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food at Napa River is excellent and the environment is quiet enough to have meaningful conversations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was outstanding! Service was friendly and very efficient. I really recommend the beef brisket! Just order some extra sauce on the side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Sunday brunch is wonderful. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Good food, good service. Always enjoy the restaurant. Their cornbread is phenomenal both to start the meal and as dessert at the end.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 31, 2016

THE FOOD WAS GOOD BUT HAD TO REALLY SEARCH THE MENU ,, THE PRICES ARE EXCEPTIONALLY HIGH FOR THE CHOICES. THEY USED TO SERVE A VEAL DISH THAT WAS FABULOUS AND NOT OVER PRICED ...( MAYBE THAT IS WHY IT IS NO LONGER ON THE MENU).PROBABLY WILL CROSS NAPA OFF MY LIST,

OUR WAITRESS WAS FABULOUS AND HAD A SUPER PERSONALITY

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.