Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.22mi
  4. Distance: 2.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.22mi
  4. Distance: 2.26mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.22mi
  4. Distance: 2.26mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 1.43mi
  3. Distance: 2.22mi
  4. Distance: 2.26mi

About Napa River Grill

Inspired by the beauty and romance of California’s wine country, Napa River Grill provides a taste of Northern California in Louisville’s own backyard. The menu features expertly prepared dishes using only the finest seasonal ingredients, and the award-winning wine list offers the best from the New World. Set in the vibrant Westport Village, the cozy lounge opens into a bright dining room bathed in natural light. The outdoor bar, grapevine-surrounded patio, and fire pit make an ideal setting for alfresco meals. Whether you are having a romantic night out, a casual dinner with friends, or a business meeting, the relaxed yet elegant ambiance is perfect for any occasion.

1211 Herr Lane
Louisville, KY 40222
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Brunch: Sunday 10:00am- 2:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Westport Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 423-5822

Website:
http://www.napariverlouisville.com/

Executive Chef:
Seth Butkus

Private Party Facilities:
Featuring two private dining rooms, Napa river Grill can accommodate small and large groups for private dining.

Our Vineyard Room features a custom wine bottle chandelier, and a custom wood table for boardroom style seating for up to 22 guests.
Our Large Private Dining Room features local art, and custom table configurations for up to 60 guests.

Weather permitting, our Patio Bar/Lounge is also available for rent, featuring two TVs and a full bar. Perfect for private cocktail events, or even for groups wanting to watch their favorite sports teams in a private setting.

Private Party Contact:
James Rion: (502) 423-5822

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Holiday Brunch
$34.95 excludes taxes and gratuities

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Napa River Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Romantic (15)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Business Meals (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Cozy (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Private Room (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Casual (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Seasonal (4)
Fun (4)
Bar Seating (4)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Family Style (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fireplace (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sort By:
S
455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We took my mother here for Mother's Day. Got there right when they opened for dinner at 5pm, so it was pretty quiet. It is a very clean, nice-looking establishment. The staff is polite and attentive. They gave my mother a flower when we entered. We had crab cakes as an appetizer & they were very good. Our group had salmon, catfish, and chicken. The entrees were large portions. Two of us had to take food home. We also tried mac & cheese, grits, and biscuits. Everything was hot and seasoned well. Wine was tasty, sweet tea was fresh. Reasonably priced and highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We enjoyed it thoroughly and will go back again. Nice atmosphere, delicious food. Server was excellent, even though it was just a little slow ... but it was Prom Night and there were several very large groups there all ordering and eating at the same time we were. So slight delays were not surprising.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Unfortunately our party of 10 was seated at 2 tables meant for 8. After several requests 2 more tables were added but made for an awkward setting. The seating issue overshadowed an otherwise nice evening. Disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We made a reservation for 7:30 on a Friday evening, and were seated immediately! Service was attentive! We all ordered the Groganica (think Grow Organic) salad and it was wonderful! My husband and friends ordered the burger rubbed with coffee and cocoa on a pretzel bun, and all seemed to enjoy it. But not as much as I enjoyed my Menage a Trois! I wanted to lick the plate. The sea bass, scallop and shrimp were cooked perfectly and served over roasted cauliflower and red quinoa with some kind of amazing sauce and a balsamic reduction drizzled over it. SO GOOD! Too full for dessert! Maybe next time!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Sunday Buffett one of the best in town, Great quality and variety of most of their best foods.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always good! Great selection of foods and fun atmosphere

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Delicious brunch! Napa River Grill easily accommodated our large group which included children and babies! Reasonable pricing for the Sunday brunch. I love booking my reseverations using open table. I had to modify the number in my group several times but it was very easy to do!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

food and service were excellent. The server had an very sound of the specials and the menu.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Excellent overall experience. Elegant modern dining room far less noisy than their old location. Diverse and fairly priced wine list. The menu isn't huge but there are plenty of options, many of which blend Californian and southern influences. We hope to go back soon.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Yes, all is well at Napa River Grill. I had the wedge salad and it was delicious. I couldn't eat it all and took leftovers home. Cornbread excellent. The white chocolate tarte for dessert was too yummy to even describe. Heaven. Our waiter seemed a little distracted (although the restaurant wasn't busy) but still we were taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very good food and service. Outdoor seating is great in season. Nice wine collection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We were a team from work having lunch over discussion.Ambience is nice and restaurant is quiet, but service is miserably slow.Two of us ordered the pad thai, supposedly vegetarian but was nothing more than noodles in a very spicy,sour sauce and some half dried broccoli stems. Our collegues seem to like their choices of food. Service was very slow, we were in at 11 30 and out by nearly 2 pm.Will definitely not go again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We enjoyed the Mushroom Lasagna. The service was great, and we love the cornbread!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent service and food was
Incredibly delicious! Stephanie was our server - friendly with a personality plus!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Authentic, Good for Groups, Private Room, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Excellent food flavors. Limited menu though.
Very satisfied with my meal and dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Never a bad meal or experience at Napa River. My husband and I have been eating there for years and as usual, our server was fabulous (Sidney) -- professional and spot on. The appetizer, meals and desserts were delectable and paired wonderfully with the wine specials, and the coffe was a bold and delicious end to a lovely date.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

service was excellent, prompt. Waiter was very good and attentive

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was pretty good. Service was very good. I thought it was expensive for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

over very good experience; only complaint would be that the chicken was overcooked, made it a little dry. My hamburger was excellent!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We go to Napa most often for Sunday Brunch because it is a wonderful brunch and they can easily accommodate our family of 10.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The outside bar is always a good place to go. The inside experience was subpar. Service was poor. Food was ok and did not reflect the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We were celebrating a 50th anniversary. Service was fair at best. We were only a party of 3. I wish we had a better experience.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants, the food was delicious and the service was outstanding. I love to go here with my husband for a quiet dinner for 2.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The food was delicious and the service great. The cocktails were a bit pricey for the amount you got.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

It was 502 week so the restaurant offered a select menu for $50.20 per couple. We had to ask for the special menu-it was not volunteered. It was well worth $50.20. Service was a little slow but food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Disappointed with Valentine menu. Kale chips tasted like burned leaves from a campfire. Calimari was good, entrees so so. Felt the dinner was overpriced. Probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great place to go for outstanding service, creative menu options and wonderful tasting menu items.

Perfect for special events or just to escape and be pampered.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great atmosphere, food was delicious and the service was on point!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our first time eating at Napa for brunch after enjoying several dinners. We were displeased to find out it was a buffet after we sat down. The buffet, while offering a wide variety of breakfast foods, was not well stocked and the quality wasn't what you would think from Napa River Grill based off of dinner experiences.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I were both very pleased with our meals and the wine was wonderful. Service was also excellent. Very nice night out.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We went on a Saturday and as it happens it was the Saturday before Valentines Day which was not our intent, we were just going out to eat. As is turns out, they had a limited dinner menu which I did not think was a great selection of favorites. I wish we had been warned of the limited menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great experience. Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Napa is always great! Their food quality and staff are tops.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was a great night out for our Bunco group. Everyone enjoyed themselves thoroughly!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Napa River is a great little spot, kind of tucked away. Hostess wasn't the friendliest, but our waiter made up for it. I ordered salmon and my dining partner ordered tilefish (special), and we both enjoyed. We ordered the white cranberry tart and smores creme brûlée - both were delicious. The atmosphere is pretty quiet and calm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

What a nice meal. We had a group getting together for a special evening. Napa was very helpful with the reservations. Our server was attentive but not disruptive. The menu is excellent and offered choices for all. From a nice burger for the young ones to a wonderful salmon dish. Their wine selection is nice also.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great lunch. We sat at a table in the bar and it was nice and quiet. The cornbread was a treat. I had the shrimp and grits which had a Creole flair. My guest ordered the hot brown and said it was delicious. It was served in its own little cast iron skillet. I wanted to take it home with me (but I didn't!)

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Service was very slow for the night. Arrived at 6:30 but didn't leave until 9:30 pm. Group of 12. Required additional support staff / service

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We chose Napa River at the spur of the moment and we're lucky to get a table. We both had great salads, mine was the spinach salad and my wife had the house. We both decided on the salmon and it was excellent as well. Service was polite and efficient and our server guided us to gluten free options with confidence.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.