About MXDC

600 14th St. NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

MXDC Cocina Mexicana by Todd English offers Mexican cuisine with a modern touch. We're located on 14th St, a block from the White House and a short walk from the Washington Monument.
Our bar area is the perfect space for a happy hour with extensive cocktail and tequila menus.
The decor and ambiance makes MXDC the perfect destination for a romantic evening, a family dinner or to host your next private or corporate event.

Created by Todd English, MXDC's menu includes small plates, entrees, and family-style dishes. The menu offers traditional foods from various regions throughout Mexico. Taco options include Pork Belly; beer-battered Mahi Mahi; and Carne Asada. Other favorites include the Seven-Chile Lamb Shank, Tortilla Soup and our open-faced quesadillas.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 12am
Saturday: 12:00pm -12:00am

Cross Street:
14th Street midway between F & G Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 393-1900

Website:
http://www.mxdcrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Private catering is available, please use our Events Contact form or email nichole@mxdcrestaurant.com to inquire about catered events!

Parking Details:
Due to Washington, DC parking regulations, Valet services are available after 7pm Thursday-Friday and after 5pm Saturdays for $10. Street parking & garage parking are available in close proximity to the restaurant. We validate parking for PMI Located on G Street between 13th and 14th street after 4pm for $7.

Public Transit:
Metro Center

Executive Chef:
Todd English

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Several private and semi private options including buyouts of the entire facility. Please fill out our Events Contact form or email nichole@mxdcrestaurant.com for more information.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MXDC is ideal for private events, offering a fresh perspective on traditional Mexican cuisine elevated by high-end ingredients. Treat your guests to an evening to remember with small plates, family-style dishes, and a strong tequila program.

MXDC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (24)
Great for Lunch (20)
Casual (17)
See All
Happy Hour (16)
Fun (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Business Meals (11)
People Watching (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Authentic (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Romantic (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Spicy (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Tapas (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Cozy (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vegan (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Seasonal (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
775 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Server was wonderful, and I enjoyed the trio of tacos. Would like to try this at dinner. This was a quick, lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Ear-splitting noise, very slow service, food that can be found in dozens of other Tex-Mex restaurants, diners crammed in like sardines. What's not to love? Better question - why is this place so highly rated??

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic ceviche!!!!!!

Did not hear any music, only very loud bar scene.

Mole chocolate was not up to par.

In and out in 45 minutes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Often have had great experiences at MXDC. This wasn't one.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Sadly there is nothing good I can say about this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Everyone and everything was awesome! Would definitely dine there again!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food, Good service. This was the second time I've been there and the second time it was defraning loud. I cannot go back (for dinner) no matter how good the food is.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food: I had MX Chipotle Paste; Mex meets Italian

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food and great service! Definitely coming back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food and drinks were great, routine service such as keeping chips and drinks filled was intermittent at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

MXDC experience was great! Food was delicious! The staff was very polite and attentive. I definetely recommend this fine restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wow! Outstanding food. Tapas menu is excellent. Staff friendly, very knowledgeable, made great suggestions. Food is really good and cocktails very fresh!

Tags: Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent Valentine's Dinner. Fresh and tasty. Thanks for holding our table - we were late.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Vegan, Fun, People Watching, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Ordered some food to go and it spoiled 3 hours later meaning food is not fresh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good experience. The ambiance was really nice. For an upscale restaurant you expect the tables to be balanced I kept pushing down on the table and it kept wobbling which was frustrating. The server was nice but he wasn't too into wanting to try and explain the dishes since it was our first time. The food and drink was really good it's just the portions weren't that large. I would go back but maybe for happy hour snacks and not for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Having been to Mexico City many many times, I'm particular about my Mexican food and tequila. The cuisine was more authentic than usually found in US restaurants. Tacos were the highlight of our meal. Good location, and it seemed like many groups were gathering to enjoy their pitchers.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It's only been one visit, but MXDC is our favorite upscale Mexican restaurant in DC so far. (As recent transplants from LA, we've had trouble finding anything even approaching what we were used to.) The room is great -- active and interesting. Service was friendly and on-point. And the food was very good. The tacos were tasty, but would be even better if they were simplified a tiny bit. The ceviche was incredible. We'll be back to try more of the menu.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Cocktails were good, especially the habanero margarita. Food is relatively authentic, which is a rarity in DC. Service was efficient, but not rushed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was not that good. I ordered the "pick 3 tacos". I selected the Mahi Mahi and Pulled Chicken. The Mahi Mahi had a real "fishy" tast to them. The pulled chicken had a "smokey" flavor to it. Both were pretty bad. I also ordered some cheese queso, to go along with my chips. The queso is "non traditional". It's more of a baked cheese and groundbeef dip (where I was just looking for traditional cheese queso dip). The drinks were pretty good, although it's pretty hard to screw up a margarita.

The service was average. The waiter was kind of pushy. My wife had questions about the menu and I could tell the waiter was getting annoyed.

The restaraunt is very loud, which was hard to have any type of conversation. The bar area is really close to the dinner tables, so it's unavoidable. Our dinner reservations were for 8pm, so we though HH would've been over by then. If you make dinner reservations, request a table up stairs.

All in all, I will not be back. I will probly stick to Lauriol Plaza or SOL if I'm looking for good Mexican food.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Always a good e be here tried a new fish that will be my new Go-To order!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

As always, this is one of the best places in town for any occasion.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Romantic, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Came here for a morale lunch with office mates for DC restaurant week and thought all three courses were great, good value for $22! Would definitely come back for other occasions.

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Spicy, Cozy, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The food and service here generally are awesome and I will say the guacamole & ceviches are always on point every time I've been. This time however some little things were off. I came with a friend for restaurant week and I first noticed that the restaurant had more open tables that I expected for 7pm, even if it was a Monday. The food came out quickly, which was great, but the server seemed a bit rushed too, which was odd given the number of empty tables. The soup was really good. The guac, again, fantastic. Some of the tortilla chips were chewy and inconsistent. My friend had the wrong entree brought out first, however it was corrected promptly by the kitchen. We ate my salmon entree in the interim, which was fantastic. It had a really nice glaze or sauce on it and the rice underneath was extremely well cooked. Once his entree came out, we at that. It was a mole short rib that was quite tasty. Nice dark notes really that complimented the tender beef well. This experience was the first time I've ever had any issue, other than noise, so I will definitely continue to recommend MXDC to friends looking for a great latin inspired meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Excellent contemporary Mexican food and drink, including margaritas, especially if you get the waiter to omit the untraditional agave syrup. I would, however, appreciate it if, after I have asked for the check, the waiter didn't proceed to ask whether I wanted coffee or not.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Service was slow, food was mediocre. No reason to go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 24, 2017

It was our last night in DC- we were tired from walking for 3 solid days, it was cold & wet... happy to find this place. We asked the hostess for the booth to be more comfortable, but she was quite rude & told us it 'was reserved' clearly not the case as it was left unseated the entire hour+ we were there. I don't appreciate being lied to. The food & value were good, but not the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We make it a point to go here with each visit to DC. Great ambiance, great location, and delicious flavorful food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Really enjoyed the restaurant after the Women's March. Execellent service and drinks. Good variety and tasty menu

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2017

On a day when the world converged on DC for the Women's March, I thought for sure our reservation (for 11!) would be lost in the shuffle, but we were greeted immediately and seated soon after. The place was packed, but we still got excellent service and delicious food. Staff was efficient and friendly, even on what must have been one of their busiest weekends ever. Thank you MXDC!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Armando was Awesome!!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The food was delicious. The shrimp ceviche was so good we ended up getting a second order. Orders a bunch of tacos- all delicious especially with the hot sauce- ask for it. My husband HD the carne a la parilla and it was very good. The churros were the perfect finish. Tried some margaritas- they were just okay. But the food was excellent! Will definitely go back! And their service was fantastic. My cup was always full and they were sure to check in and make sure we were happy. Reminded me of the hoapitaliaty in Mexico City.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Spicy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

One of the best sources of classic and contemporary Mexican (not Tex-Mex) cuisine, along with an excellent selection of cocktails and wines. The margaritas are superb, especially if you ask your server to dispense with the non-traditional agave syrup, which is all too common in margaritas today. The ceviches are truly outstanding, and the MXDC definitely warrants repeated visits, both with business associates and with current and prospective lovers.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fun, Special Occasion, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 9, 2017

This was my first time eating at MXDC - I will definitely be going back. The food was outstanding and our waiter was terrific.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Would definitely eat here again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on January 6, 2017

MXDC felt like a modern Mexican place. The dishes were yummy (I really enjoyed the lobster guacamole and the taco of the day - beef abogado - so many flavours!) To me, Mexican means comfort food and I feel that it can sometimes be a bit too heavy. I was pleasantly surprised that this wasn't a typical Mexican restaurant. The dishes were beautifully presented and the overall atmosphere was upbeat, chic, and fun. That same atmosphere was reflected in the dishes. I'd highly recommend MXDC if you're craving a new kind of Mexican restaurant.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Original reservation was for 8p. Received a call changing reservation due to "Open Table" error. They were hosting a private party for NYE. Message was either change or cancel. Could have offered us a discount or free appetizer for the inconvenience. Not a real warm and fuzzy experience. Food was just okay. Wait staff attentive. Drink was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My experience here was okay. Food was a little over priced for portions. $12 queso was good but barely enough for two people to share.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Restaurant is in great location near White House area of Washington DC. It is less than a block from the Willard Hotel. We were seated quickly upon entering. Our waitress was attentive and answered all our questions about the menu. Prices were good. Drink specials were only good in the bar. Most entrees were between $15-20.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Kids meals dreadful - appear to be frozen food which was microwaved

Restaurant too hot -probably high 70s

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Went for happy hour. Service was great and all staff were friendly. Would go back to try the dining regular menu for food and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Very good service. Food was good, more of a high-end menu, as opposed to the usual Mexican food I've eaten. Rockfish ceviche was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Meh, so-so. The food was good and the menu is pretty typical Mexican, but on the pricey side. Fine for a work lunch, but too crowded and noisy to have a decent conversation. Tables are really close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I'm a frequent lunch diner at MXDC, and thought it might be a nice place to take my wife for a holiday dinner before shopping and seeing the National Christmas Tree. Honestly, it was the worst meal I've ever had there. The short rib with mole had zero flavor and was a minuscule portion (unlike the lunch portions which are generous). My wife's branzino was also small and uninteresting. Worst, we were overcharged for one of the items on the menu. Service was friendly but rushed, even though we had made an Open Table reservation. We'll think twice about going there again for any kind of meal. Another example of DC's mediocre culinary scene.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

MXDC lunch never disappoints. Service is fast and friendly and the food is delicious. I highly recommend the tacos - ANY of the tacos! The romaine salad is equally delicious.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The pallella is superb. We also ordered the short ribs with mole that was just ok. Tacos are good

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

It was very loud in the restaurant, which made it difficult to hear. Noise dampening panels or something might be helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 20, 2016

My office does our annual holiday lunch here and the food this year was MUCH better than last year. Looks like they got a new menu- and it is fantastic! Tuesday's they offer 50% off bottles of wine which is awesome!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Servers MUST tell customers if the 'rice and beans' are extra - customers assume, like at other restaurants, that these are part of the meal. He didn't say anything to us... just "rice and beans for your side or other" when we ordered tacos. We were less than pleased that we paid extra for something that could have been optional. Menu was unclear. Server less than transparent. Poor experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food at MXDC was very good. Unfortunately the service ruined our experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a group of 8 (that included a range of dietary restrictions) and MXDC accommodated us extraordinarily well! Everyone was happy with food and drink and ability to converse in the upstairs seating section. We were in and out with a large group with plenty of time to make our show afterwards. The staff was timely and helpful and the food was delicious! We especially enjoyed Sangria Saturday and all of the taco options! Thanks for showing us a great evening, I will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.