Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About MXDC

MXDC Cocina Mexicana by Todd English offers Mexican cuisine with a modern touch. We're located on 14th St, a block from the White House and a short walk from the Washington Monument.
Our bar area is the perfect space for a happy hour with extensive cocktail and tequila menus.
The decor and ambiance makes MXDC the perfect destination for a romantic evening, a family dinner or to host your next private or corporate event.

Created by Todd English, MXDC's menu includes small plates, entrees, and family-style dishes. The menu offers traditional foods from various regions throughout Mexico. Taco options include Pork Belly; beer-battered Mahi Mahi; and Carne Asada. Other favorites include the Seven-Chile Lamb Shank, Tortilla Soup and our open-faced quesadillas.

600 14th St. NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 12am
Saturday: 12:00pm -12:00am

Cross Street:
14th Street midway between F & G Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 393-1900

Website:
http://www.mxdcrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Private catering is available, please use our Events Contact form or email nichole@mxdcrestaurant.com to inquire about catered events!

Parking Details:
Due to Washington, DC parking regulations, Valet services are available after 7pm Thursday-Friday and after 5pm Saturdays for $10. Street parking & garage parking are available in close proximity to the restaurant. We validate parking for PMI Located on G Street between 13th and 14th street after 4pm for $7.

Public Transit:
Metro Center

Executive Chef:
Todd English

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Several private and semi private options including buyouts of the entire facility. Please fill out our Events Contact form or email nichole@mxdcrestaurant.com for more information.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Thu 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MXDC Cocina Mexicana by Todd English is ideal for private events, offering a fresh perspective on traditional Mexican cuisine elevated by high-end ingredients. Treat your guests to an evening to remember with small plates, family-style dishes, and a strong tequila program.

MXDC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fun (34)
Good for a Date (33)
Happy Hour (27)
See All
Good for Groups (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Casual (22)
Modern Decor (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Special Occasion (21)
Authentic (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Tapas (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Quick Bite (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Business Meals (10)
People Watching (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Romantic (8)
Spicy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Cozy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Family Style (3)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
851 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Met with a few friends. Great Cocktails, love the Sangria. Great experience over all.

Host very accommodating.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere and kid friendly. My family and I really enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food and service. Noise level is high, but not annoying.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

After a very good first visit, we ate at MXDC a second time, this time with a friend. Service was great, and the room is fun. But the food wasn't as good this time. Guac was a bit runny -- never a good sign. The regular menu tacos were fine (if a bit dry), but the night's special was pretty bad. It was a fried oyster taco -- which is a great idea and sounded fun -- but it turned out to be an overcooked oyster with way too much batter. We're still on the quest for a great Mexican restaurant in the DMV.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Went with two teenage boys. Had excellent service. The food was fine, but not amazing. Habanero Margarita had a nice, smokey kick to it. They made mocktails for the teens, which they appreciated. Tacos were tasty, though we needed to ask for hot sauce. We tried 5-6 different ones and all were well-prepared. The desserts were pretty bad, but I generally don't expect great desserts from this type of restaurant.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I've been here three times and the service is always really slow. I'm not sure if we keep getting bad waiters. The food is pretty good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent service, great food. Hostesses were right on top of reservations and people who had come ahead and waiting. Great night in every respect as that pertains to good food, atmosphere for fun interaction and timely service.

Tags: Fun, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Awesome as always. Recommend sitting upstairs if you want it to be a little quieter.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Mexican food with a fresh twist. Every dish we had was well received and tasty. We would come back and do this again. There are plenty of items on the menu that we want to try. Good value for D.C.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Fun, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Best Mexican restaurant in DC.

**

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Quick Bite, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 10, 2017

A twist in traditional Mexican, while maintaining authenticity. Great cocktails - creative menu

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

It is always very good but loud. Good place to go for celebratory work lunches. Service could always be a bit faster but I understand lunchtime is busy.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I've eaten here before and loved it - even the sangria which got poor reviews elsewhere. I actually made a reservation and then when I arrived and sat down at the table, I learned my friend who I had scheduled lunch with had gone to the hospital ill. The staff was so incredibly kind and accommodating as I was clearly shocked by this. The host even offered me a shot of tequila to calm me down. I'm looking forward to actually getting to eat here at some point and to thank such an excellent staff for their kindness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food and service, but the interior could use some updating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This was my second group outing to MXDC and it was very consistent. The restaurant is very loud so keep that in mind. The food is delicious! Drinks are good and since it was cinco de mayo, we got margaritas on special! Definitely recommend for a glamorous type of group event- make a reservation though!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Guacamole is great! The quesadilla was not was I expected. It was open faced so the cheese was not melty and it was a tad dry. Still worth checking out though

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 2, 2017

My sister and I enjoyed MXDC. It was great food and service, but it was way too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great food! Very fresh! Our server, Alejandro, was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

A friend had recommended this place for the Tacos and Salsa. The food was great BUT service was very disappointing. When we got seated about 15 minutes later a couple sat next to our table and they got served there Chips and Salsa even Entrees way before us. Even though we had the same waiter and he asked what we wanted first. Everything took forever to get and we had to keep waiting and asking about our food. When we got our dessert we didn't get our coffee till 20 minutes after the fact by the time the coffee came the Churros we had saved where cold. Felt as if we where indivisible to the staff.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was great food and a great time!

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

When I eat out, I want something that I can't easily make at home and this place delivers. The food was delicious! Well worth the visit.

Tags: Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 28, 2017

They are trying to hit her in the market but I missing on all counts. They certainly don't make Mexican food. I I think they should reconsider their menu and I don't know what they can do about the noise level in there it's all hard surfaces . Definitely not A relaxing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Innovative delicious small plates; fabulous guacamole; really interesting drinks made fresh in house and the best service imaginable. Thank you, Sabastian for all if your recommendations!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Tapas, Fun, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

My long time friend and I enjoyed a relaxing dinner. The bar was crowded and energetic but were able to chat and enjoy our extended conversation at our table..

Thx

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 26, 2017

This is a very common complaint from me. My wife and I are approaching our 70's . As soon as I say that we have a reservation the host looks for an alternative table that will send us to the darkest remote table in the restaurant. I always reject that and get relocated. But that should not be, as it is, the norm.

The food was innovative as was the drink menu. Everyone should have a Paloma if you have not before. We stuck to seafood. Both the salmon and Branzino were very well prepared and spiced. Just had a few too many bones in the Branzino. May return.. but will recommend to 30ish niece.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 26, 2017

I enjoyed my meal. I tried the beef ribs, the romaine salad and the mango chilie sorbet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Excellent food and service but the tables are extremely close together. Not a good option if you value space and privacy. Servers kept running into my friend's seat and we were almost on top of the patrons dining at the tables next to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I really enjoyed MXDC! Have been there before and it never disappoints.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

MXDC was a perfect way to start a romantic weekend getaway for my girlfriend and I. We decided to eat at MXDC before seeing a musical about a block away from the restaurant, and I've been raving about it to everyone since we got home. The food is amazing quality for an amazing price - we spent maybe $50 for the two of us? Their guacamole is top notch, and my girlfriend's salmon was perfectly done. If we make this a yearly trip, I think we'll be including MXDC in our anniversary plans. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

A lively place with an attentive wait staff. Guacamole (classic version) was outstanding—if I went back I'd make a meal of it.

The paella was mostly rice, with a handful of shrimp and a little chicken. The flavor was good, but I want more goodies in my paella. Desserts (mango ice cream and churros were OK, but not outstanding).

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our group of 8 decided to dine here after the March for Science and were all very favorably impressed. Apps, entrees and cocktails were all rated as superb and the service was equally good. I think it's rare in a party of that size to have no complaints at all but MXDC delivered. There was even a vegetarian version of chile relleno that got rave reviews. Other entrees sampled included the grilled branzino, a pan seared salmon with a honey chile glaze, a half roasted chicken with a different honey chile glaze, chicken with mole verde sauce and a trio of fish tacos. We also shared an excellent guacamole and a fabulous ceviche as appetizers. The only dessert we tried was a plate of churros which were a tad on the greasy side but still delicious. All in all a great dining experience for a diverse group that included a couple of die-hard foodies. Be warned that the noise levels become quite high when the place is full. They really should consider adding some noise dampening materials to make it an even more enjoyable experience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We were a group of seven for dinner on a Saturday night and it was loud. Shout-at-each-other loud. We are all mid-30's to 40's, so it wasn't an age problem. The food was good, and the lobster quacamole was excellent, but the noise level combined with the darkened room made it feel like "club mxdc." The service was fine, but I will go with a smaller group next time and hopefully have a better experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The best Mexican food one can find and eat in Washington DC. Being a Boston transplant, I know what Todd English can do with food and his DC team never disappoints. Come, eat and enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Energetic noise level = too loud to be enjoyable. Hard to hear your dinner companion and the waiter.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great! Wonderful food quick service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Waitstaff was very slow and non-existent at times. Had to go to bar to get more ice for drink. Lack of service weighed negatively on very good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We were visiting D.C. Found the restaurant on Open table. Glad we did. Everything was excellent.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Wonderful chips! Excellent service. My husband said the carne asada was good and I enjoyed the vege chile rellano.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We can always count on MXDC for great food, good service, and a lovely evening. The pick three taco assortment is my favorite. Something different every time. Taco Tuesday done right!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.