Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi
  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.13mi

About MXDC

MXDC Cocina Mexicana by Todd English offers Mexican cuisine with a modern touch. We're located on 14th St, a block from the White House and a short walk from the Washington Monument.
Our bar area is the perfect space for a happy hour with extensive cocktail and tequila menus.
The decor and ambiance makes MXDC the perfect destination for a romantic evening, a family dinner or to host your next private or corporate event.

Created by Todd English, MXDC's menu includes small plates, entrees, and family-style dishes. The menu offers traditional foods from various regions throughout Mexico. Taco options include Pork Belly; beer-battered Mahi Mahi; and Carne Asada. Other favorites include the Seven-Chile Lamb Shank, Tortilla Soup and our open-faced quesadillas.

600 14th St. NW
Washington, DC 20005
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 12am
Saturday: 12:00pm -12:00am

Cross Street:
14th Street midway between F & G Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 393-1900

Website:
http://www.mxdcrestaurant.com/

Catering:
Private catering is available, please use our Events Contact form or email nichole@mxdcrestaurant.com to inquire about catered events!

Parking Details:
Due to Washington, DC parking regulations, Valet services are available after 7pm Thursday-Friday and after 5pm Saturdays for $10. Street parking & garage parking are available in close proximity to the restaurant. We validate parking for PMI Located on G Street between 13th and 14th street after 4pm for $7.

Public Transit:
Metro Center

Executive Chef:
Todd English

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Several private and semi private options including buyouts of the entire facility. Please fill out our Events Contact form or email nichole@mxdcrestaurant.com for more information.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MXDC Cocina Mexicana by Todd English is ideal for private events, offering a fresh perspective on traditional Mexican cuisine elevated by high-end ingredients. Treat your guests to an evening to remember with small plates, family-style dishes, and a strong tequila program.

MXDC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Casual (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Authentic (14)
Business Meals (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Tapas (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Fun (9)
Special Occasion (9)
People Watching (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Spicy (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Cozy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Romantic (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
934 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

I was in the mood for Mexican food and this looked like a great place near my hotel. The guacamole was tasty, not the best I've had but above average. I ordered the quesadilla for a main course and it was a bit disappointing. Somewhat dry and flavors didn't blend as well as expected. Tables are very close together so it's difficult to have a private conversation. I would go back and order something different next time.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

LOVE LOVE!!! Amazing Staff and the food was DELICIOUS!!!! That lobster guacamole was so amazing!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Accomplishments are something to build on, not rest on. Regrettably when it comes to food MXDC is definitely resting. This was my fourth and most disappointing visit by far. We ordered tacos--six different varieties and only the fish taco was worth eating. The rest were dull and largely flavorless. Black beans tasted bland, like they had come directly from a can--no seasoning, no flavor, no kidding. Salsa is doled out in large thimbles, too small to dip a chip. The bright spots? Guacamole. Handcrafted cocktails. Friendly staff. Sadly, until the food improves, we'll be eating Mexican elsewhere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Very tasty but small portions for the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Overall the experience was very good. I ordered the salmon: the honey chipotle glaze was good—although I think I'd prefer more of an emphasis on the savory aspects of the dish, rather than the sweet. The sides of rice and greens were also good: all were cooked to the correct doneness. The service was very good: our server was attentive and friendly. The restaurant was quite a bit darker during dinner time than my last visit (during lunch time). The restaurant was also much more busy during dinner, so it was quite a bit louder, and I sometimes felt like the tables were too close together. Given the food and overall experience, I would say this restaurant provides a good value for your money, although, like lunch, I wish the dinner portions were a little larger—but hey, it's DC.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Amazing food, excellent service! MXDC never disappoints. Not only is the regular menu chock full of goodies, the special menu offers some tasty choices as well. The lobster and corn guacamole is THEE best. Tacos are yummy and a great deal. You can even mix and match. Seafood fishes are awesome. You just can't go wrong. And please have some cocktails! All around super dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Great recommendation from friends after a long day at our D.C. office 2 blocks away. Classic margarita was great, classic Paloma was good. Guacamole, salsa and chips were also good. We shared tacos...pork belly and short rib were delicious...mahi mahi was just ok. Sebastian was a great and attentive server. 2 diners, 2 drinks each, shared guacamole and shared entree...$64.

Tags: Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Very attentive service! Food and drinks were solid - flavors and textures well balanced!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was good, not great but good. Guacamole was very good. Nice atmosphere and service was good.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We travel from VA because we really like the food here. Very good Mexican with some healthy options for my health conscious partner. Service is good and when we dined this last time on Saturday for lunch the restaurant was very quiet. We will keep coming back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Good food and drinks at a convenient location and a reasonable cost for a relaxing evening with friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We were on vacation looking for something tasty after a long day of sightseeing. Delicious food and a yummy margarita hit the spot. The place was lively for a week night.. a good sign. Very enjoyable all around. We made a reservation but were able to get in sooner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 20, 2017

We took our co-worker to MXDC as a birthday surprise. What a great experience for all of us but a great surprise for her. Service was good for a busy day and the food was excellent. Worth doing!

Tags: Fun, Tapas, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Wonderful food! Margaritas were great too! Service was a little slow due to a large party seated near us, but definitely would go again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

The food was a little spicy but very good. The wait staff was friendly and on top of our food and drink needs. The ambience was right for an after work get together.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Birthday dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food was okay, I was disappointed that I requested for a birthday desserr for my wife prior to showing up and then confirming with the host once I arrived, however, the waitor never brought it out. It was embarrassing to ask again in front of my wife when I was hoping to surprise her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was delicious. My wife is gluten free and they had several options for her. We enjoyed the restaurant and look forward to going back soon!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Overall the experience was very good. I ordered the pollo burrito: it had a good balance of savory and fresh flavors, and the ratio of chicken to other ingredients was good. The side of mixed greens was also good: the greens were dressed perfectly. The service was excellent: our server was attentive and friendly. The restaurant was well lit with natural light—it was lunch time—and not very busy, so it was quiet. Given the food and overall experience, I would say this restaurant provides a good value for your money, although I wish the lunch portions were a little larger—but hey, it's DC.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent food, all ingredients were fresh and tasty. Service was very good: prompt and efficient.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Vegan, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Lackadaisical service, cold food, small portions- there have been times in the past when I've liked the place. This is the 2nd time in a row I've told my friend who makes me come here "Let's skip it next time". I always hold out hope, but my chicken enchiladas arrived to the table 2 minutes after I ordered - plate was warm food was barely warm, hard tortilla, dry & small portions of rice & beans add to the let-down. I can take a lot but not food that is not freshly prepared & that is not hot.

One bright spot was the generous pour of wine (+ my friend got a free sangria), highs unusual. DC is dead in August, for once we could hear each other across the table & the place was empty.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was delicious and the server went above and beyond for a birthday celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was excellent as always. I've been here a few times now and I highly recommend it. Started with tapas (3 tacos). Had chicken, pork belly and short rib tacos. All 3 were excellent. Lobster and corn guacamole and chips for the table was another hit. Finished the meal the seafood papaya which was phenomenal. Couldn't ask for better. Will definitely dine here again...

Tags: Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great Mexican food in a very trendy atmosphere. We had great chips w/guac and salsa to start, and I loved the Habenero Margarita. Main course I did three different tacos (they are high quality like you'd expect for a fancy restaurant) for only $14.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

did a great job for my husband who is celiac... it was a nice meal and reasonably priced for downtown dc
a bit loud but not too bad
was staying at the jw marriot which made it a very easy choice

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Very disappointing meal. Started with guacamole, which based on the $11 price, I assumed would be prepared table-side (not the case). Not only did the texture indicate lack of freshness and ample refrigeration- no trace of the cilantro or jalapeno referenced on the menu.

Seasonal Ceviche was next-Lobster, Shrimp, Corn, Watermelon and Strawberry. While the meat was delicious, it was overpowered by the watermelon strawberry juice-as if a Popsicle had melted on the middle of the plate.

The tacos were next, and these (along with the salsa verde) were the highlight of the meal, especially the pork shoulder.

Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Amazing food, great customer services. Nothing not to love.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I'd given up on Latin cuisine in the DC area . There places in DC, however for date night or nice sit down location MXDC is the location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Outstanding, from the greeting at the door to the service and then the food, oh the food. If you like Tacos, best Mahi Mahi ever. If you're really hungry, start with the Lobster and Corn Quacamole, you know no matter what, get it, that was some to curling good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Nice place with NO wait at 7 PM on a weeknight. Food was quite good and the service was good as well. Also, the food was reasonably priced, especially considering the other dining choices in the area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 16, 2017

This is a classic Mexican dining spot, near the Willard, the White House, and Pennsylvania Avenue, offering reliably consistent Mexican food and drink. This visit, however, was marred by the restaurant's attempting to charge me more than the price listed on its menu for the two (excellent) margaritas I had as part of my dinner, because I had ordered them straight up. The waiter was of no help in resolving this problem, and it took conversations with two different managers to finally get this issue resolved. Although I am a regular at MXDC, should I run into this problem there ever again, I will not return.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Delicious restaurant week menu. Great guacamole and the mango chile sorbet was to die for. They make the chips in house.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Very delicious lunch. Quick but solid service. I will definitely return to try their happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

One of these days, I'll order something BESIDES the delicious pork belly tacos which are succulent, decadent, and really tasty. (They are also not so big as to provoke feelings of guilt.) The guacamole is yummy too. I've never been disappointed!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had a great diner, the atmosphere was very nice.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The food was an extreme disappointment. Service was not very attentive even though we were there during a slow period. Seem like a place where people come to drink after work and have food as a secondary item to sell drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The food and service was above reproach. Thank you for a great time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Wonderful selection, with wonderful ingredients. The service was excellent. Highly recommend, and I look forward to a return visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Modern version of Mexican, with vegan and gluten free dishes. It was really good to have these options available. Everything was tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

The food presentation was excellent. Everyone in my party said their food was delicious. The wait staff was attentive. I wish they served larger portions.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Tapas, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.