Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About MW Restaurant

Casual dining with a Hawaii Regional Cuisine flair accompanied by exquisite desserts.

1538 Kapiolani Boulevard
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Dessert

Hours of Operation:

--- Lunch ---

Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 4:00pm

--- Dinner ---

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 955-6505 ext. 2

Website:
http://mwrestaurant.com/

Catering:
MW Restaurant is available for catering events.
Please visit our website at, www.mwrestaurant.com and click on the 'Private Dining and Catering' tab to fill out our event form. Our catering manager will be in touch with more information and our available menus.

Thank you for your interest.

Parking Details:
A limited number of self-park stalls are available on premise. Valet parking is also available for $5.00 exclusive of gratuity. There is metered parking located on Makaloa Street as well as a paid parking lot at the neighboring First Hawaiian Bank.

Executive Chef:
Wade Ueoka & Michelle Karr-Ueoka

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MW Restaurant offers a casual, simplistic dining atmosphere, conveniently located near Ala Moana Shopping Center between Waikiki and Downtown Honolulu. The restaurant features Hawaii Regional Cuisine, accompanied by exquisite desserts and a diverse wine, spirits and beverage list.

MW Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (54)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Special Occasion (47)
See All
Creative Cuisine (46)
Good for a Date (34)
Great for Lunch (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Casual (26)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Tasting Menu (24)
Business Meals (21)
Modern Decor (20)
Open Kitchen (18)
Fun (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Seasonal (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Authentic (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Healthy (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Romantic (8)
Cozy (7)
Family Style (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Private Room (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Organic (4)
People Watching (4)
Tapas (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Spicy (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
924 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

The fried chicken is unlike anything you can imagine, and the desserts are the most creative on O'ahu.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Simply perfect. We never miss MW when we're in Honolulu but this time was even better than the others! We had a special birthday and everyone at the restaurant, from greeting at front desk to the fabulous dessert and gift at the end, made our night so very memorable. Special thanks to our server Tyler who was just impeccable, friendly, professional, he was so proud to be be serving us such amazing dishes! Exceptional and delicious food... Pork belly buns appetizer was great! And the best miso butterfish I've ever eaten anywhere. Thanks for a lovely evening, we'll see you again soon! ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

best of the 4, 2017 top restaurants for Honolulu that I had occasion to visit it a single week.. Food notches above in refinement, creative combinations, taste! I was skeptic re fried chicken now converted! crisp savory Chicken Napoleon served with Korean sauce, Unagi Arancini a non greasy crisp ball of flavor in disguise. Must have!- Mochi Crustsed Opakapaka a nice size piece of perfectly cooked fish with a fried mochi crust (like traditional fried mochi) served warm over a knot of cool somen with vinaigarette - a winner combination of texture, temperature and taste! Unfortunately great great food left no room for dessert :(. Must return, fresh, delicious, creative, refined. Chef and wait staff friendly and inviting, room open, airy well lit - could actually use some softening. Overall a dollar well well spent. A foodie find

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Another fine meal at MW. We had a low key dinner with family friends celebrating our younger son's finishing his first year of college. MW is the perfect place to have a fine, relaxing dinner with friends and family. The short ribs and butterfish were excellent, as were the appetizers and desserts. The prize fixe 3 course had a nice selection of entrées. Service was friendly although a bit scattered; not the most attentive on a busy night but quick to respond when flagged down. We took our time, talked story with our friends, and enjoyed the evening immensely.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

What a delightful dining experience! Tried the pre fixe menu. From the appetizers to dessert, this meal was amazing and SO reasonable at $25.00. I've only heard good things about the food, but everything was great, from our bubbly hostess to our very knowledgeable server, Gio. MW is a gem!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I've gone to lunch there frequently and have always had a pleasant experience. The food is always very delicious and beautifully presented. However the service this time was very very slow. The manager had to actually come over to take our drink orders after we were seated for 20 minutes. Our waiter was nowhere to be found! We got our drinks and chatted away (thank goodness I was with a girlfriend and not a business lunch). It would be another 15-20 minutes before he came over to take our food order. He seemed flustered and apologized briefly...
Maybe it's a one off day. Usually food & service is quite wonderful.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food is excellent and the service is exceptional.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Service was on point! Food was tasty. Selection was interesting. Devote was very simple.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Kalbi was mostly bones. Not much meat. Flavor was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Mochiko crusted monchong and misoyaki butterfish can't be beat!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Love this restaurant for their unique, delicious cuisine.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We had a business dinner and the restaurant was ideal from the seating to the noise level.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Loved the Hokkaido scallops and Opahi fish entrees! Even the Caesarcsalad was extra special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I love celebrating all types of occasions at MW. We celebrated Mother's Day dinner with a fantastic pre-fixe dinner. Always a winner. Ambiance is always nice and chilled. Food was fantastic, especially the Hudson Valley Foie Gras supplemental dish with strawberries were superb. I've never ever been disappointed and if you need to make this your one night to impress your friends, family, and / or dating, MW will guarantee make that special person extra special because you feel so entitled after leaving the dining experience.

Tags: Organic, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The tasting menu for Mother's Day was out of this world, just wonderful. This was our second time at MW and we will go back. Expect to use the valet parking.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day lunch was fantastic! My mom had a great time and service was top notch!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 11, 2017

The ambiance was okay and didn't feel like a fine-dining restaurant. The food was exceptional and the portions were just right. The restaurant is good for special occasions. The staff were also professional and very well trained.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 10, 2017

I will try their happy hour soon. Best desserts, not too sweet or overly rich.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We have been trying to get to MW since they opened. We were able to make a last minute reservation for a late lunch (12:45pm) without any trouble.

We were seated on time and our service was great. We notified the staff that we were celebrating an anniversary before hand and they made our dining experience very nice....they were also able to accommodate our small window of time.

We did a prefixe menu that was really good and offered enough choices and tastes for us to want to return and explore the menu further.

Great place for lunch. Valet parking (some spaces are available for self-park)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Dropped by for late night dessert and coffee, excellent as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We were "visiting " Hawaii ,being a former born & raised kamaaina, & decided to try out the MW Restaurant for lunch. Everything about this restaurant was EXCELLENT!!!
The food was fantastic, as well as the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 4, 2017

MW has great service and will accommodate reasonable requests to meet your diet needs and tastes.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I went to MW for a business lunch. The food selection was good and the food was terrific, as usual.

Of special note was our server who was very attentive and professional and made sure that as host, I got the bill. He even supported my argument as to why I should have the bill.

Another great time at MW.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Meals were extremely flavorful and innovative. Loved the Miso glazed butterfish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The Experience was wonderful!! We were pleasantly surprised! Great presentation and the food was Yummie . The service was Stiller.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Service was great. Food was good. Prices were a little high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

創作的で国籍は混在している。丁寧に作られ味は繊細。食感を大事にしていると感じる。気軽に利用できるが大切なおもてなしにも利用できそう。ハワイに行くたびに訪れたい。

Tags: Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Modern Decor, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Consistently good. A "go to" place for me on almost any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Chefs Wade & Michelle have developed their staff very well. While we believe they were both not at the restaurant tonight, the food, sake, beer, and service were all spot on. Geo & his team took great care of us. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 24, 2017

MW Restaurant is near the convention center, so it's a great option for a lunch break or after-conference dinner. Walking down Kapioloani Blvd, it's easy to miss because it's behind this other Vietnamese restaurant, so make sure you check a map. I had oxtail risotto and the creamsicle creme brulee dessert, and both were fantastic. I actually think the dessert made my trip. Also highly recommend the mint limeade.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Went to a Saturday dinner on 4/22 to celebrate a birthday.

Waiter asked if we were ready to order but we needed a couple of more minutes. It seemed like it took over 5 minutes to come back to take our order.

The symphony of the dinners being served was off key, my daughter's blackcod took at least a couple of minutes more after everyone was served.

Desserts took way too long. Comp donuts for birthday girls were excellent! All other desserts were as usual were very good.

Overall it was a very mediocre dining experience, it seemed like the kitchen was very off.

Appeared that there was ample staff for the floor and the kitchen, coupled with what appeared to be a very slow Saturday, the wait times were unacceptable, as such for the price we will look for other alternatives to what was once our go to place for dinner.

Highly probable that we will not be back soon, unless we hear that there were extenuating circumstances.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Staff is amazing - servers pay close attention to your every need. Food is exceptional.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great service

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food is overwrought and overpriced for what it is. They'd be better off sicking to simpler preparations. And $14 for a mediocre pour of Oberon cab? The room is terribly loud: industrial chic, open high ceiling with an open kitchen, bar, and entryway, which only adds to the din. The service is well intentioned but chaotic. I think the chefs and kitchen crew are very hardworking and talented, but they need a total redesign of the menu, room, and bar. People love it though and it seems packed.

On the plus side--the deserts are good, but no cheese. The foie gras on pot roast is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Please note. I gave this restaurant a 5 overall. We had an amazing meal. Some of the dishes were so unique, never had anything quite like them before..even just the bread and aioli is fantastic. The service was excellent, from waiter to all of his support staff. An interesting and varied clientele. When they found out we were celebrating a dual birthday...they brought us a second birthday treat. Very sweet and thoughtful.

My only dings and believe me they are minor. The room is rather bright for an elegant but casual.restaurant. Great tables and chairs..no art...which I can appreciate, but the room could have had a little less cod to it..as everything else is so cozy. It just needs something else, simple, well chosen to bring the space up to the quality of the food. That said, an air of graciousness permeates the room.

Yes, it's pricey, but then that seems to be the way restaurants like this go...and there is an enormous kitchen staff preparing their delicious food.

I'll go again for sure.

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fun, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service was terrific, food was declicious. I ordered the Hokkaido scallops because the guy sitting next to me said they were terrific, and they were. My husband ordered the ribeye, with truffled mashed potatoes. I LOVE truffles, so I was grinding most of his potatoes. Yummm
My cesaer salad was very generous, but a little too much dressing on it.

didn't like the mandatory valet parking. charging $5 to move my car 15 ft when I don't like anyone else driving my car.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Best lunch venue in town. Great value. Wade & Michelle are awesome. Come here as often as I can. Mahalo

Tags: Family Style, Hot Spot, Healthy, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The menu has changed and is now O.K. Food is generally good but changes should improve a n entree. The Kalbi was served on a bed of spicy relish and the sides were also spicy, hot and plate was all the same color palate. Everything was hot and spicy, and the seaweed was very salty. This is generally a very delicious entree.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 13, 2017

5 Star - been there 4 times - a must when you visit Honolulu

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.