About MW Restaurant

1538 Kapiolani Boulevard
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

Casual dining with a Hawaii Regional Cuisine flair accompanied by exquisite desserts.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Dessert

Hours of Operation:

--- Lunch ---

Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 4:00pm

--- Dinner ---

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 955-6505 ext. 2

Website:
http://mwrestaurant.com/

Catering:
MW Restaurant is available for catering events.
Please visit our website at, www.mwrestaurant.com and click on the 'Private Dining and Catering' tab to fill out our event form. Our catering manager will be in touch with more information and our available menus.

Thank you for your interest.

Parking Details:
A limited number of self-park stalls are available on premise. Valet parking is also available for $5.00 exclusive of gratuity. There is metered parking located on Makaloa Street as well as a paid parking lot at the neighboring First Hawaiian Bank.

Executive Chef:
Wade Ueoka & Michelle Karr-Ueoka

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MW Restaurant offers a casual, simplistic dining atmosphere, conveniently located near Ala Moana Shopping Center between Waikiki and Downtown Honolulu. The restaurant features Hawaii Regional Cuisine, accompanied by exquisite desserts and a diverse wine, spirits and beverage list.

MW Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Good for a Date (51)
Fit for Foodies (49)
See All
Creative Cuisine (43)
Local Ingredients (39)
Tasting Menu (36)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Open Kitchen (28)
Casual (25)
Great for Lunch (25)
Business Meals (24)
Good for Groups (22)
Modern Decor (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Outstanding Value (15)
Healthy (15)
Comfort Food (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Fun (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Family Style (10)
Seasonal (10)
People Watching (9)
Romantic (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Organic (8)
Authentic (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Tapas (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Cozy (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Private Room (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
837 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was creative and yummy. I'm being ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was creative and yummy. I'm being very "picky"here, but having to ask for more grilled bread felt awkward... they give you this delicious spread, but don't offer more bread so that you can finish the spread??? Dessert was awesome, thought of ordering dessert before dinner after reading the menu. LOL. Already recommended to local friends and will tell anyone visiting Hawaii to make it a stop! Kenji, our server was great. Lots of great bourbons to chose from, out server was a bourbon fan, so that made it fun, as we are too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food, cocktails, and service! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic food, cocktails, and service! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good service. Loved the ambience an ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Very good service. Loved the ambience and the employees were friendly and helpful. Would go there more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated 3 birthdays and everyone l ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

We celebrated 3 birthdays and everyone loved their meals! Service was wonderful and we loved the special touches with the personalized menus and complimentary desserts. Austin was a great waiter. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Valentines:)

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentines:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

didn't care for the preset valentines me ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

didn't care for the preset valentines menu appetizer, but the main course and dessert were good!

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ahi appetizer was amazing. Fish main was ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Ahi appetizer was amazing. Fish main was well cooked. Pork Katsu was very good but heavy, maybe share next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I eat fish fish, that cooking oil was ol ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I eat fish fish, that cooking oil was old taste.

It made me feel upset stomached .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

make your reservations in advance becaus ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

make your reservations in advance because it's a pretty popular hawaii regional restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant wasn't as crowded as I though ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Restaurant wasn't as crowded as I thought it would be. We were greeted right away and seated within a few minutes afterwards. Had the Valentine's prix fixe dinner that offered a good variety of appetizers and selections of entrees, desserts. Only surprise was the server asked for our dessert choice when we ordered dinner which I thought was too early because sometimes i want a particular flavor to complement dinner but haven't decided until after I've eaten. The appetizers were a little mysterious with just a bite of flavor each, not really enough to savor. The beef tenderloin was very flavorful with a good selection of accompanying vegetables. The dessert was a very refreshing layered fruit and light custard brulee. I thought it was silly how we were served the complimentary bread one little slice at a time and had to ask for more a couple times. Nice touch at the end with the complimentary individually wrapped cookies. Would have liked a more overall warmer atmosphere but in general the service was good. I'll go back again but not a "wow" experience restaurant that would compel me to share with others.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Celebrated third anniversary at MW. I or ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Celebrated third anniversary at MW. I ordered the foie gras beef, and he ordered the kampachi. I was really looking forward to dinner and had heard good things about MW. Restaurant is way too bright and loud. Not romantic at all.

Food was ok. Nothing to write home about. Fish was too fishy. Possibly old. Caesar salad was the best thing we ate. Also had pork belly on toast. Not good.

For what we paid, highly disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

I think 24 bucks for poke app in Honolul ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I think 24 bucks for poke app in Honolulu should be illegal. The wine list started too high, the 65 dollar pinot was mediocre, and one of the least expensive wines. The cocktails, however, were so great I didn't mind forking over 12. So go figure. Apps all excellent and fresh, mains cooked perfectly...Good technique all around. So I guess my only complaint is value. Desserts...The black sesame ice cream top notch. Could we maybe have more creative use of distinctively local ingredients in addition to fish? I forget, but was the beef local?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Hostess - awesome! Food - delicious! Se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Hostess - awesome!

Food - delicious!

Service - what happened?

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

Birthday Consider having less deep frie ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Birthday

Consider having less deep fried options on your smaller plates. Although great tasting, some steamed dishes would be good offerings instead of all deep fried choices.

The ambiance is comfortable, noise level is low & much appreciated. Excellent service and explanation of various dishes is well done.

Consider having the $25 tasting option available at happy hour

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Service, though, was a l ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was great. Service, though, was a little slow.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

MW made my husband's birthday feel speci ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 1, 2017

MW made my husband's birthday feel special with the wonderful reception from the valets to our friendly hosts to the wait staff. Seamless service from start to finish.

Our food was delicious and we especially enjoyed the 3 course prix fixe. Good selection to choose from.

And to top it all, the special evening was sealed with the special cookie bag and individual thank you cookie.

I think my family has found a new special occasion restaurant!)

Tags: Disabled Access, , Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The food was good but when we arrived th ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The food was good but when we arrived the there was some leftover on the table.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Menu is limited and it is expensive for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Menu is limited and it is expensive for dinner. Nice wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Another amazing meal at MW Restaurant! T ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Another amazing meal at MW Restaurant! The service was exemplary. And we enjoyed the lunch tasting menu. Truly our favorite restaurant on Oahu.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Fun, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Casual, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal and creative Asian Fusion ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Excellent meal and creative Asian Fusion cuisine! Georgio our person who waited on our table is excellent friendly knowledgeable

Sherry our beautiful hostess makes any customer guest feel welcomed!

Stafff well trained!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Special Occasion, , Open Kitchen, People Watching, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Original, fresh and seasonal local dishe ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Original, fresh and seasonal local dishes. Very thoughtful and courteous service. Special dessert for our anniversary couple was an added favor. Great meal and relaxing setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All I can say is - - ox tail risotto!!! ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 24, 2017

All I can say is - - ox tail risotto!!! So good. Service was excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It looked real busy when we got there, b ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 23, 2017

It looked real busy when we got there, but there was no lack in the quality of their service. The staff showed great team work and I thought that was great to see. The food was top notch and will return to try other deserts and dishes. Overall, my guest and I had a great experience here. Mahalo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

MW never disappoints us, we've been here ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

MW never disappoints us, we've been here 2 years in a row for a birthday dinner! they treat the birthday person special!! we didn't see the 5 course pre-fix menu so inquired about it ... they brought a menu with 5 courses, everything was excellent! we loved the dessert! thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Love dining at MW!! It's always bee ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Love Love dining at MW!! It's always been a great favorite, especially celebrating momentous events. Staff is surperb. Chef Wade and Chef Michelle just always make my experience worth while!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I feel the menu prices are high. Everyth ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I feel the menu prices are high. Everything was great except for the price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Had been to MW once before, for lunch wi ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Had been to MW once before, for lunch with my office workgroup. Service at dinner was attentive, but not intrusive. Every course was announced. Our server was assisted by others, one of whom was obviously in training, but did well for the most part. Food tasted great, portions were appropriate. Vibrant, unpretentious, and dynamic ambience, not terribly private or intimate. Great for happy occasion dining. Love their desserts.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We both enjoyed the pre fixe lunch. It's ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We both enjoyed the pre fixe lunch. It's an outstanding value for the quality of the meal. I had the scallop risotto, so delicious. Recommend MW highly

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious meal but inattentive and slow ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Delicious meal but inattentive and slow servicr

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

We had some out of town guests who hadn' ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We had some out of town guests who hadn't been here before. They really enjoyed it! A little pricey, but the food was really good. We were even given a bowlful of delicious cookies with our check!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Menu printed our Anniversary celebration ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Menu printed our Anniversary celebration.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Although the atmosphere wasn't what I ex ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Although the atmosphere wasn't what I expected, our server Darren was great! He made the best recommendations, the food is really the best I ever had. Can't wait to go there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Got the prix-fixe lunch menu, the appeti ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Got the prix-fixe lunch menu, the appetizers were literally bite size... But the entree and dessert were very generously portioned. Delectable dishes delighted my taste buds. Our hostess was so warm and friendly... she was Ooozed with positive juju... Which helped set the mood for our first experience at mw.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was using the gift card purchased thro ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I was using the gift card purchased through open table. I believe the main complain I had is that Open Table had not developed a simple and comprehensive procedure for customer to redeem the gift card (printed version) at the restaurant, and MW does not know exactly what to do without causing confusions. I tried it using the gift card twice, and each time is a battle, too hard to explain it here in writing. If you provide me a phone number of person contact, I wl be happy to call and to tell how it is being handled currently and what I think it can be improved.

Under current situation, I would not recommend anyone to buy MW gift cards on Open Table.

Patrick

p.s. Cost for a bottle of beer is $12, and corkage charge is $25. These charges are all considered being too high.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We've eaten here several times prior but ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We've eaten here several times prior but disappointed this visit. Scallop dish not worth $39 for 3 scallops over a little potion of fried rice. "Fried Chicken" dish on the too crispy side. Several menu items including dessert choices were not available and we had an early seating time. Beer overpriced $11 for one beer you can buy a 6 pack lower price! Overall not a good choice for meeting up with friends this time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Three of us enjoyed the Prix fixe lunch ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Three of us enjoyed the Prix fixe lunch which was delicious and beautifully presented. We ordered the day special appetizer, foie gras wontons in addition, which were very tasty. The service was impeccable , reception warm and helpful. Invariably an excellent meal in a very pleasant, modern minamalist setting.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We ordered prefixed menu, $25 and it was ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 9, 2017

We ordered prefixed menu, $25 and it was more than we expected!

I chose crispy fish over somen noodle and it was so yummy!!!

But I wish dessert were little more different.... It was just too sweet for us. But we liked kinako ice cream very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Accommodating with gluten free options!

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Accommodating with gluten free options!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

this was the most bizarre fine dining ex ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

this was the most bizarre fine dining experience I ever had-almost the Emperor's new clothes.

The hostess was arrogant and off putting. The dining room was cafeteria like and more suited for lunch. Having said that the service was great and the food quite delicious but for the price and value the setting left much to be desired. No candles, and the wattage coming from the light fixtures was better suited to finding a lost contact lens than eating a high end meal. Lastly, we were escorted to the back room for the meal which seemed like a private dining/meeting room for special purposes with a flapping brown shade to hide the back kitchen. Icky. During the meal staff restocked the lower shelves in this back room with silverware/plates that were all wrapped in saran wrap. Ridiculous for the cost of the menu and the reputation of the chefs. I was really bummed to fly to Waikiki from Chicago and pick this for one of our nights with the surroundings and ambience the way it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

The server who brought the bread dropped ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The server who brought the bread dropped the slice of bread on the table. He said "sorry about that," then picked up the slice of bread and put in on my son's plate. I would have expected that at a restaurant like this the bread should have been discarded and a new slice of bread given to my son. We ordered 2 blueberry pineapple sodas and only one was served. We had to ask the waiter again for the second soda. My younger son ordered the chicken with gnocchi. Chicken was very dry and the gnocchi was like small grilled potatoes, not what you would expect for gnocchi. I ordered the lobster ravioli. The pasta was heavy, stuck together, and chewy - very disappointing. We have been to Italy twice and had gnocchi and pasta there. We know this is not Italy, but for the price this restaurant is asking we would expect a better quality meal. After the plates were cleared from our table we had to wait about 10 minutes before the waiter even brought the dessert menu to us. We ordered dessert and waited another 30 minutes for the dessert to be served. As the waiter served the dessert he did apologize for the wait. I know that I will not be returning to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.