Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.30mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.34mi

About MW Restaurant

Casual dining with a Hawaii Regional Cuisine flair accompanied by exquisite desserts.

1538 Kapiolani Boulevard
Honolulu, HI 96814
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Hawaii Regional Cuisine, Dessert

Hours of Operation:

--- Lunch ---

Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 4:00pm

--- Dinner ---

Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 955-6505 ext. 2

Website:
http://mwrestaurant.com/

Catering:
MW Restaurant is available for catering events.
Please visit our website at, www.mwrestaurant.com and click on the 'Private Dining and Catering' tab to fill out our event form. Our catering manager will be in touch with more information and our available menus.

Thank you for your interest.

Parking Details:
A limited number of self-park stalls are available on premise. Valet parking is also available for $5.00 exclusive of gratuity. There is metered parking located on Makaloa Street as well as a paid parking lot at the neighboring First Hawaiian Bank.

Executive Chef:
Wade Ueoka & Michelle Karr-Ueoka

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MW Restaurant offers a casual, simplistic dining atmosphere, conveniently located near Ala Moana Shopping Center between Waikiki and Downtown Honolulu. The restaurant features Hawaii Regional Cuisine, accompanied by exquisite desserts and a diverse wine, spirits and beverage list.

MW Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (58)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Special Occasion (55)
See All
Local Ingredients (40)
Good for a Date (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Great for Lunch (31)
Business Meals (30)
Casual (27)
Tasting Menu (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Fun (16)
Authentic (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Romantic (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Seasonal (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Tapas (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Healthy (6)
People Watching (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Organic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Cozy (4)
Spicy (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1052 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Always made to feel special whenever dining at MW. Food is fantastic, service is great. Always enjoyable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and good service. Nice to see a young, local couple do well.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Interesting, fun food well prepared and well presented. Wait staff was efficient and helpful and timing was good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

MW was a recommended. We had reservation and they gave us about the worse table by the bathrooms. There were plenty of open tables. It was my daughter's birthday and I didn't want to scene, for it happens to often. The waiter was very good, food was excellent. The waiter helped to take my mind off the beginning of the evening.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 13, 2017

This was the second time we took my father and we were all happy. They gave us a table with easy access for someone whose footing is not quite what it used to be. (At 97, he's entitled.) We expected him to use the walker but he chose his cane.
He was delighted with the Kalbi Short Ribs, as was my partner. We've had tasting menus before and they are fantastic. The small salad was quite large and full.
We love MW and look forward to trying Michelle's donuts in Waikiki one day.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

The food and service was great! The shaved ice at the end of the meal was especially yummy.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Great service by waitperson Jamie. He really knew his stuff and we enjoyed talking to him.
AND let's not forget the charming hostess, Sharon. She was so nice. This was a lunch for my
friend Sally. The staff at MW really made her birthday memorable.
Looking forward to returning there. Maybe for my birthday:)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Everything was amazing. The poke nachos were delicious as was the butterfish. I don't think I'll order butter fish again anywhere else because I will probably be disappointed.

Server with the long beard (forgot his name) was great. Very attentive and made us feel extra special. He even made us a list of other places to check out and brought out cake for honeymoon congratulations.

Would definitely recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Even though wecrequested Eric ( it was his night off!!) Austin and crew were attentive, knowledgeable and efficient. Thanks Austin! We were bragging about MW to our friend and he ( we) were not disappointed by our favorite haunt!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

MW restaurant made us as perfect a meal as we could have imagined. The food and service were impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 3, 2017

First time at MW. Very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful staff. Very interesting menu. The Caesar Salad with pipikaula was the best salad I've had in years!! The beef with foie gras was very expensive, but worth the extra bucks. I'd order it again. All-in-all, a delightful, ono restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Great lunch with pre fixe menu. Excellent spot for casual to business lunch. Excellent value on 3-course selection Monchong encrusted with Mochi was excellent and the serving size was very generous. I would easily go back again.

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Perfect amount of food for me but too small portions for my husband and son. The tab was almost $300 with tip. Service was very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Food and service were great. Great value. The decor is ehhh. Again, love the food and the service. Will definitely eat there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The food is consistently good but the service is consistently sub par (again). Small glass of water provided and no one to refill for at least 15 mins! We asked for water and it was several minutes before a bus boy comes by with pitcher. If you don't have enough staff during busy period - put a water bottle on table so we can pour ourselves, so we can at least have water to drink. Or use bigger glass...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Tables are a bit too close for my personal preference. When I'm dining, especially with a business associate, I don't like feeling that we're sharing a table and conversation with other people. Other than that, creative menu and good service.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Prefixe lunch $25 was really good value. Full size entree, 3 course appetizer sampler and banana cream pie were excellent. Braised short ribs and manchong fish so ono. Will go back for lunch soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2017

This place has ZERO atmosphere, food was very poor, my wife's salmon was cold and tasteless has to be sent back to be reheated.... which l think they did in a microwave. They got the desert order wrong, send back again only for the right order to be delivered which was a sickly ugly mess....... never again. Trip advisor says this is one of the best restaurants in Waikiki..... no way, DONT GO!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Enjoyed the lunch prefix menu of the Opah and Monchong dishes. Luscious would be the word to describe these dishes. Fresh fish prepared scrumptiously. The appetizers were good - would like to see the use of, not only local, but more local organic too, although the Valrhona chocolate (not local) in the banana cream pie always tops my list of my favorite chocolates.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Great food and great service at a price you expect for a high level restaurant. What more can you ask for? Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 20, 2017

何食べても美味しい!アペタイザを全種類制覇してみたいです。
特にデザートとクレームブリュレが最高!
バースデーと伝えたらデザートサービスも用意してくれました。

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Outstanding dining experience! Now definitely one of our top choices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Boutique décor; delicious Pineapple Pleasure drinks; the Onaga and Rib Steak chef’s trio which included a small appetizer trio of an ahi nacho, curry soup, and truffled veggies; and a banana cream pie. All of this is surpassed by the attentive and kind service that would rival any of the best restaurants anywhere.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Hands down the best meal we had on our 10-day vacation in Hawaii. Honolulu certainly has better food than the other islands, but MW had better food than most major cities I've visited. In fact, I'd say it was one of the better all-around meals I've had.
We saved MW for our last night in town and I'm glad we did as it would've ruined us for all other meals. From the cocktails (Feel the beet) to the dessert (candy bar) we were blown away. The ahi nachos, seafood dumplings, and miso honey glazed butterfish entree were all outstanding. We were beyond full, but we went for the coffee and dessert after the waiter promised us the portion was small. It were perfect. The service staff were all very approachable and fun unlike other hipster-ish establishments. Overall a very delightful evening.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Consistent service, consistent delivery of good food, entrees didn't disappoint. But personally few of the appetizers and side dishes I wasn't too crazy about.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Groups, Spicy, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 11, 2017

the staff was attentive as well as knowledgable. a very good wine list by the bottle as well as the glass. kitchen staff very creative with the specials. can't wait to go back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Goat cheese salad was delicious and imaginative. Kalbi beef with foies gras and truffle mash potatoes was delicious and tender. Excellent for Hawaiian regional cuisine.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We liked how our food was explained when presented. The complementary bread and dip was very tasty. Made birthday celebration very special.
Can't wait to come back!
Mahalo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Perfect place. Very nice people delicious food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Food is okay, server was a bit pretentious, like the parking lot attendant. Other wait help were fine. Prefer service and food quality at Fete or Grondin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Amazing service and even better food! From the moment we walked in to the moment we left the hospitatlity and service was friendly and attentive. Came here on our honeymoon and couldn't be happier. The food was beyond delicious and our waiter proved to be an expert on the menu and the place. Portion sizes were just right leaving us satisfied but not over full. Desserts were super yummy and I definitely recommend having the candy bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 2, 2017

ハワイに行くたびに訪れます!
お料理、デザート、とにかく、全部美味しい(笑)
日本人に受け入れやすいお味、ちょっぴり甘めかな。

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Restaurant was a special find for us. It was one of the best meals we had this week in Waikiki. They accommodated my wife's gluten free needs. We both ordered their special 3 course menu. We had the appetizer trio which included chilled tomato soup, spicy ahi with uni, and pork and fore wanton( they gave my wife a double serving of goat cheese and tomato salad because of the gluten. Dinner was their speciality according to Kai, our server, mochi crusted Kona kampachi. The dish was really tasty and the crust was amazing. We both finished with tropical fruit creamsicle brulee which was a wonderful way to finish the meal

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2017

We had a truly wonderful experience at MW. There were a couple minor missteps in the service but those were quickly remedied. The menu is wildly creative and expertly executed. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food was delicious from appetizer to salad to entree to dessert. Ate every morsel. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Upscale fine dinning without any stuffiness! Quiet,attentive service! Elegant dishes well prepared!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Wow! What an unexpectedly great restaurant!
The tomatoes and goat cheese salad was refreshing and very tasty. The pork chop was cooked to perfection as was our other entrees. A side of asparagus was spot on for both flavor and texture.
Please! Please! Please! Save room for the MW Donuts...they were unbelievably light and scrumptious. To die for!!!!!
The wine selection was appropriate for taste and price.
Our server Giorgio was pleasant and attentive without being overbearing.
Valet parking was a very, very big plus.
The ambient noise was significant but understandable given the large open space of the restaurant. Fortunately there was no music added to the patrons' conversational noise, this would have undoubtedly made dinner table conversation impossible.
The decor is a tad sparse but not a big deal.
If you haven't tried MW you need to go there ASAP; if you've been then I am sure that you can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Awful dining experience. Would not recommend this restaurant. I knew something was amiss the moment we entered - the room smelled of fish. Never a good sign. Fresh fish shouldn't smell. With the exception of the hostess, who was friendly, the service was perfunctory and totally disengaged. The servers rotated, never having the same one twice. As our dishes were served, they were set down (darn near thrown down) and explained robotically and hastily. We felt rushed even though the restaurant was half empty on a Friday night. The menu options didn't stand out to us (having been to 5 other restaurants that week with essentially the dishes). We choose the tasting menu. One of the stated items on the first course, vichyssoise, became a tomato gazpacho - with no explanation from the server that it had been switched. Second course came too quickly. My onaga was bland but at least not down right disgusting as was the fish stew. It smelled. Yet was flavorless at the same time. The fish was of questionable freshness and quality - my companion bit into a shrimp that had not been cleaned and contained the egg sac! The desserts were the only highlight. Tropical Fruit Brulee was a total treat as was the Crown Banana Cream. For the same price point there are better options. Senia, The Pig and the Lady, Roy's (though a touristy spot) were far better experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We enjoy MW once a month or so. Food and service is always great, however the bartender is rairly friendly (different person each time we go) and my only real complaint is the lighting; it's Always do bright.... do they have a dimmer)? Our sever on this ocassion was great, he did not rush us, which is sometimes unusual at MW.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We found MW on Honolulu Eater as a top selection and it did not disappoint. We had the three course menu and especially enjoyed the little Ahi fish nacho on the plate for the appetizer. We had the fish stew which is an all time favorite. It had a deep rich red seafood broth and lots of seafood to include shrimp, scallop and octopus. It had a marvelous depth of flavor that was really memorable. For dessert I had the Brule and my husband had the banana creme. They were both very yummy with interesting flavors and presentation. They also had choclate chip macadamia nut cookies that were excellent. If I am ever in Honolulu again I would definitely go to MW again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.