Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About MR CHOW - TriBeca

Opened in 2006 by world famous restaurateur Michael Chow, most recently awarded the 5 Star Diamond Award by the American Academy of Hospitality Sciences for its excellence, service, and cuisine this is the second post to the original in NYC on 57th Street. Mr Chow's latest & hippest location is surrounded by a Patio & the attractive bar opens at 5:00PM daily.
NY Magazine wrote in 2006 "To eat at a Mr Chow restaurant is to participate in a roving party, one that has migrated through four decades, three continents, & an awful lot of soup dumplings."
TriBeCa's Executive Chef Kwok Hor, is a highly respected professional in the Chinese Cuisine Industry & has given many lectures at The Hong Kong Culinary Association.
MR CHOW's menu is a combination of old authentic Beijing, Original Recipes, Chicken Satay, MR CHOW Noodles & Ma Mignon all were created by our passionate & skillful chefs. Also, on the Menu is one of the best prepared Beijing Duck in the world.

121 Hudson Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
North Moore Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 965-9500

Website:
http://www.mrchow.com/

Entertainment:
The famous nightly Chinese handmade noodle show is presented in every location since the opening of London in 1968.

Public Transit:
1 train to Franklin Street.

Executive Chef:
Kwok Hor

Private Party Facilities:
Private Room is available in the restaurant for up to 40 guests, depending on date and time. Buyout of the restaurant is also available.
Call the restaurant for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call the restaurant for details.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

MR CHOW - TriBeca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Hot Spot (22)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Good for Groups (15)
People Watching (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Family Style (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Romantic (9)
Casual (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Authentic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Business Meals (6)
Fun (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Cozy (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tapas (2)
Scenic View (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1314 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

I have been to Mr Chow several times and every time is as amazing as the next.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was good but big shocker was for two flutes if champagne waiter had a cart with open bottles never showed us a menu just described each was charged $39 per flute??? I'm sorry that is insane!! Ruined my night. I travel all over the world

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I have been to Mr Chow many times before but this time was very disappointing. We were celebrating my birthday and my daughters birthday, which we have done their before for years and years. We were a table of 7 seated at a table for 6. The table next to us was a larger group also with too many people seated at the table so we were really in close quarters. Half of the table settings were missing and we kept asking for silverware and the waiter brought them one fork at a time. It was an extremely warm night outside and when we arrived it was comfortable, it quickly got very warm and I repeatedly asked if the air was on. We were all extremely uncomfortable and couldn't wait to finish our food and leave. It took forever to get refills of water, it was like the waiter kept disappearing. The food was good but not up to their usual level. When the bill came, it was just ridiculous. It was not the Mr Chow I am used to, very, very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Always awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Absolutely Love this place An the food was delicious

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great night to celebrate a birthday and an anniversary

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The restaurant was entirely too loud for a special occasion and wish I had known this prior. The service was less than stellar for the price. Waiter rarely checked on us, was not attentive, nor did they seem happy or customer service oriented. I never leave negative reviews, or reviews at all, but I am pretty disappointed.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Always a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Incredible once again! Will return next time in NY!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

45 minute wait to be seated, got the wrong drinks multiple times, inattentive waitstaff, incorrect bill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great scene in my favorite neighborhood. Food was pretty good, service is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (London)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Good Chinese food. Busy place. Lots of plastic faces and people wanted to be noticed. Service a little rushed. But efficient and fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Always a great meal! Great service! OMM NOM NOM!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

First time at the restaurant and I was very excited. Had a table of 6 for my birthday. It was very loud and busy and we were sat in a BAD location. Table constantly kept getting knocked around, bumped and hit by waiters and other customers. One waiter dropped food on the table twice (which broke the plate) and rice fell in 2 of my guests laps and all they were offered was a drink each. With the amount of money we spent that was POOR customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

All the dishes we ordered were delicious except the Crispy Beef. Crispy Beef was disappointing. Overly fried and greasy and I couldn't see any sign of any Beef. Looked like French fries. There was no taste of any beef.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

This is an outstanding Chinese restaurant, the food is some of the best we had, Along with service to match, we will eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great food and service. Very pricy, but you are getting high quality and not quantity. If you want the reverse go to Chinatown, but you will be eating at a B or C grade restaurant and who knows what you are really eating, how fresh, and facilities will be scary. Here waiters in white jackets, tables are restaurant is meticulously maintained.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Family Style, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was underwhelming as compared to the upper east side location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I love Mr Chow cuisine concept one of my favorite restaurants in NYC Bravi

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great place
Great time
Service was great
From beginning to end

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

As always, never fails. Great location, great food, and great service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Business Meals, People Watching, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 3, 2017

So good... as good as the Beverly Hills location with all the favorite dishes. Very accommodating service and wonderful ambience. So nice to experience this LA institution that has transplanted to New York with all qualities intact.

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Very creative dishes! Delicious! Service is very attentive but not smothering. Service is very elegant. Service captain is very helpful with understanding the menu. I am allergic to mold so there are a lot of foods I can't eat. The service captain and the chef were very helpful and flexible.
The menu is very difficult to read. The print is way too small and too light to read clearly. The light they provide in the center of the table doesn't work at all for a 5 foot tall woman.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Very good food.
But small portions, overpriced and over-attentive staff which was very ennoying and disturbing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Hustled by the waiter to do what the waiter wanted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was my first time at a MR CHOW. The food was excellent and everything else was really good. The only con of MR CHOW Tribeca is the decor and the overall environment. With countless years of service, you can clearly see the wear and tear on the decor and other aspects of the restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Most over rated place I have ever been to. Would never recommend .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I assumed that for the exorbitant price I would get something better than average food. To say this restaurant is over-priced is too kind. The word "fraud" comes to mind. Take the price of average food. Then double it because you're in New York, then double it again because you're in Tribeca. Then double that because you're at Mr. Chow's. To be clear, it's not the price. It's the utter lack of value that left us feeling like we were mugged by smiling criminals in white jackets in a rush to fleece us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food, great service ~ whether we are in TriBeCa, MIAMI, Beverly Hills or Knightsbridge....We love the food and love the service.

Tags: Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

SOme of the best service I have ever received. The food was good, but the service was knockout phenomenal. I only wish the portions were larger.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It was perfect, from service to food everything was excellent. The crispy beef was impeccable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 11, 2017

AWESOME!!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Great food and fun place! Pretty decor and nice bar!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our waiter was the best perfect advice for the amount of food quality is exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Overall a disappointing experience not least because we redeemed our $20 Opentable voucher at this restaurant and the staff refused to honor it on the day.

Very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

thoroughly enjoyed the evening - great food and wonderful service - a bit pricey for our family but well worth it to celebrate a special occasion

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The food, wait staff and atmosphere were all excellent.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Awesome! Expensive-- but, awesome! Food was so tasty, presentation was wonderful and the service excellent. The restaurant is upscale, great for business dinner or a special occasion celebration.

We did not order individually (though you can obviously), instead we opted for the restaurant to serve us a variety of their popular dishes (family style servings) for our group of 7 (all yummy!). After a wonderful variety of dishes, it eventually led to the impressive peaking duck that was carved by our table (a work of food art). We had one person that is pescetarian (no meat, fish OK) and was treated wonderfully with plenty of various food options. Everyone in my party agreed it was a top-3 memorable dining experience and we travel/eat all over the country on business.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The smell was so aweful. Second time there and the smell was bad both times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Awesome restaurant - first rate service. Expensive but worth it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Spicy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.