About MR CHOW - TriBeca

121 Hudson Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Opened in 2006 by world famous restaurateur Michael Chow, most recently awarded the 5 Star Diamond Award by the American Academy of Hospitality Sciences for its excellence, service, and cuisine this is the second post to the original in NYC on 57th Street. Mr Chow's latest & hippest location is surrounded by a Patio & the attractive bar opens at 5:00PM daily.
NY Magazine wrote in 2006 "To eat at a Mr Chow restaurant is to participate in a roving party, one that has migrated through four decades, three continents, & an awful lot of soup dumplings."
TriBeCa's Executive Chef Kwok Hor, is a highly respected professional in the Chinese Cuisine Industry & has given many lectures at The Hong Kong Culinary Association.
MR CHOW's menu is a combination of old authentic Beijing, Original Recipes, Chicken Satay, MR CHOW Noodles & Ma Mignon all were created by our passionate & skillful chefs. Also, on the Menu is one of the best prepared Beijing Duck in the world.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
North Moore Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 965-9500

Website:
http://www.mrchow.com/

Entertainment:
The famous nightly Chinese handmade noodle show is presented in every location since the opening of London in 1968.

Public Transit:
1 train to Franklin Street.

Executive Chef:
Kwok Hor

Private Party Facilities:
Private Room is available in the restaurant for up to 40 guests, depending on date and time. Buyout of the restaurant is also available.
Call the restaurant for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call the restaurant for details.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

MR CHOW - TriBeca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

64% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (17)
Hot Spot (16)
See All
Family Style (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Authentic (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fun (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Romantic (5)
People Watching (5)
Casual (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Spicy (3)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Private Room (2)
Tapas (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Cozy (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fireplace (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1274 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The smell was so aweful. Second time the ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

The smell was so aweful. Second time there and the smell was bad both times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Absolute nightmare of an experience! Fro ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolute nightmare of an experience! From the horrible rude hostess to the incompetent and ignoring waiter to the unapologetic manager this place doesn't understand they operate in the hospitality industry. Avoid at all costs. Total ripoff!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Absolutely loved this restaurant. My boy ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely loved this restaurant. My boyfriend and I went there for valentines day. The service is as it should be, the champagne recommendation was fit and dinner was delicious. Definilty will be going back in the near future.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have enjoyed other meals at Mr. Chows. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

I have enjoyed other meals at Mr. Chows. This was Valentines Day and limited price fixed menu of $95.00pp without drinks. Some of the food was pre-cooked and heated. Terrible! It was my mistake for booking it on a holiday. I will try it once more on a regular evening.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Terrible place to dine with below par se ...

 
 (London)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Terrible place to dine with below par service. Mao possible tofu wasnt made well and the serving plates were not organized. They forgot about the packed food and rushed us in a way.

Stay away! This isn't like other Mr. CHOW!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Very elegant and white glove service

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very elegant and white glove service

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant service was good yet ther ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The restaurant service was good yet there wasn't any wow factor on food (i.e. taste or presentation). I was waiting all night to have that one food that will totally blow my expectations, but nothing came in close. It was bit embarrassed since I suggested the place for my team dinner celebration. Your staff were friendly.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Always a good time, great food and great ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Always a good time, great food and great service. Always enjoy eating at Mr. Chow's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A totally overrated restaurant where THE ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

A totally overrated restaurant where THE only good dish was the Beijing duck. Very expensive restaurant especially for dinner and big groups( we were 10 people). The food was average at best for Chinese food. They only gave us one small sauce dish ( for the chicken dish)for our large table which we had to keep passing around. For the price we paid, each dish should have been properly explained. We had to ask each time. However at least the service was quick, attentive and prompt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was terrific as usual. They served ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was terrific as usual. They served us a little too quickly so we were in and out faster than we would have liked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing dinner!! We had 2 adults and 2 ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Amazing dinner!! We had 2 adults and 2 children - everyone LOVED the dinner selections recommended by our waiter. I would definitely go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Mr Chows is always the bomb! Glazed shri ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Mr Chows is always the bomb! Glazed shrimp, chicken satay and mia mignon are my favs!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Oversold & underperformed. All food was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Oversold & underperformed. All food was acceptable but not worth the high prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

I felt i was in a fast food Chinese rest ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I felt i was in a fast food Chinese restaurant. It wasn't a great dining experience at all. Everything was rushed and substandard.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

I have been here several times and it is ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I have been here several times and it is always great. This year I went for restaurant week and expected it to be not as good as their regular menu. However, they far exceeded my expectations, with both food and service. We especially loved the maitre d. Another great experience, both a la carte and for restaurant week.

Tags: Family Style, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good but small portions for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The food was good but small portions for the price. WAY too loud - not able to have a conversation easily. Good to try but better places to dine.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

This is a place you come to for the vibe ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 1, 2017

This is a place you come to for the vibe, not the food. The food was good - but I've had equivalent or better food for an eighth of the price in Chinatown (and I'm willing to spend on food, not particularly price-resistant). What's great about this place is the service and the overall ambiance. If you feel comfortable spending hundreds of dollars on Chinese food that is the same quality and variety that you can get anywhere else, by all means come here! It's a fun, trendy place with really outstanding service. But, if you're looking for the best Chinese food ever, this is not the place. Worth a visit - I'm glad I came during Restaurant Week so I paid a flat price and didn't have to spend a lot - if you know what you're getting yourself into.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Very noisy place but a good spot if you ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very noisy place but a good spot if you want to go out after that.

Great location and service is excellent- a little over priced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A little too busy, we were seated almost ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A little too busy, we were seated almost on top of the table next to us. Lovely food and good service, but not a relaxing dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4

Modern, Sheek restaurant with delicious ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Modern, Sheek restaurant with delicious food and drinks. Very good for special occasions because it is pricey but worth the price.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had bugs in our food

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had bugs in our food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We've been eating here for several years ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We've been eating here for several years, unfortunately it seems the quality has declined a bit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Celebrated my birthday. Wonderful choice ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Celebrated my birthday. Wonderful choice. Staff was extremely attentive and very nice

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great experience!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose food from the restaurant week m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We chose food from the restaurant week menu and while the selections were limited, the food was excellent and portions were generous. The waitstaff was super attentive and excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best experience!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Best experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I never write reviews - but in this case ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I never write reviews - but in this case, the food was very good, but the service was so fast that it was very clear that they were trying to push us out as fast as they could, my guess is because our bill was going to be "small." The waiters came by a dozen times to take items or ask if we were finished. We had a $140 check and were only seated for 35 minutes - the value just wasn't there. Didn't even have time to order a second glass of wine (and it wasn't offered).

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Very disappointed. We went there during ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Very disappointed. We went there during restaurant week but ordered from the regular menu. They were in a rush to serve us and brought the duck when we were still eating appetizers. They served the breast and prime parts and then threw away the rest, with legs and wings included, without asking us. The food was very good, but this thing of rushing and $800 meal for 4, to make space is low class. Will never be back here. I did leave the tip because i undestand the stuff is not at fault, since this policies must come from managers and owners. Terrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

I went with my bf on a weeknight for res ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I went with my bf on a weeknight for restaurant week so my experience might be different than others. The portions were served family style but very small. I was fine with that bc we were guaranteed thee meals, but everything on the menu was sweet- appetizers and main course. Also, the menus were different online than at the restaurant. And to top it off, the booth seating was a little hard.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service,delicious food and cocktai ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great service,delicious food and cocktails,good wine selection,elegant design and good energy from the staff

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was up to the standard set by t ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was up to the standard set by the Mr. Chow in Miami but there was no greeting by the staff and we were in/out in about an hour. Not acceptable. I doubt we will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

We tried two appetizers and two entrees ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We tried two appetizers and two entrees and everything was incredibly bland. I expected so much more from such a well established and highly priced place. The service was okay, but the ambiance was slightly odd and the greasy, tasteless food killed the mood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Very BEAUTIFUL, Food GREAT. The staff ac ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very BEAUTIFUL, Food GREAT. The staff accommodating & pleasant. Great experience. We will recommend it to friends.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were 7 of us and really the great foo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were 7 of us and really the great food & service. I do not know weather it is expensive or in-expensive but the bill for 7 of us was $ 750

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Not worth it!

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Not worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Great but food came too quickly. Little ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great but food came too quickly. Little rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Used to be a fun place with good food. F ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Used to be a fun place with good food. Food is mediocre now with very pushy waiters and a non stop barrage of busboys trying to clear your plates while you are still eating. Won't return and wouldn't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

So lovely and food was delicious. Everyt ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

So lovely and food was delicious. Everything very fresh and clean. Totally enjoyable night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food is just about average but wayyyy ov ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food is just about average but wayyyy overpriced. You'll leave this place hungry and disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Extremely overpriced

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Extremely overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.