Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About MR CHOW - TriBeca

Opened in 2006 by world famous restaurateur Michael Chow, most recently awarded the 5 Star Diamond Award by the American Academy of Hospitality Sciences for its excellence, service, and cuisine this is the second post to the original in NYC on 57th Street. Mr Chow's latest & hippest location is surrounded by a Patio & the attractive bar opens at 5:00PM daily.
NY Magazine wrote in 2006 "To eat at a Mr Chow restaurant is to participate in a roving party, one that has migrated through four decades, three continents, & an awful lot of soup dumplings."
TriBeCa's Executive Chef Kwok Hor, is a highly respected professional in the Chinese Cuisine Industry & has given many lectures at The Hong Kong Culinary Association.
MR CHOW's menu is a combination of old authentic Beijing, Original Recipes, Chicken Satay, MR CHOW Noodles & Ma Mignon all were created by our passionate & skillful chefs. Also, on the Menu is one of the best prepared Beijing Duck in the world.

121 Hudson Street
New York, NY 10013
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Daily: 5:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
North Moore Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 965-9500

Website:
http://www.mrchow.com/

Entertainment:
The famous nightly Chinese handmade noodle show is presented in every location since the opening of London in 1968.

Public Transit:
1 train to Franklin Street.

Executive Chef:
Kwok Hor

Private Party Facilities:
Private Room is available in the restaurant for up to 40 guests, depending on date and time. Buyout of the restaurant is also available.
Call the restaurant for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call the restaurant for details.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

MR CHOW - TriBeca Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

Noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Hot Spot (12)
See All
Good for Groups (11)
People Watching (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Romantic (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Business Meals (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Fun (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Casual (4)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1376 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Best service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Mr Chow in Tribeca never disappoints!
Food, service, atmosphere, all great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

My first time at this restaurant it was a great experience. Such a good place for a birthday!

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, People Watching, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Terrific as usual Always amazing 😉 favorite place for birthdays

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

I knew it would be pricey, but I expected better food for that price. Also, the service was good but I felt rushed through the meal. Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Not worth the price. They claim family style dishes. Not sure what family they are feeding but their entrees are more like appetizer size

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

I was disappointed. I knew going in that it was wildly expensive, and it did not surprise there. But the food was simply unremarkable, flawed in some fashion or poorly prepared, most of which left me feeling rather glum after the experience. Of four dishes ordered (2 apps, 2 entrees) only one was really up to snuff - a crispy duck dish served with the thin pancakes you use to make, essentially, Chinese tacos. That was tasty, and a decent sized portion. The other entree, sea bass, was nicely flavored but a tiny portion. The salt-and-pepper prawns were overcooked and the peel stuck completely to the prawn inside, leaving us no recourse but to scrape out the meat with your fingers and teeth, like eating wings. Not exactly what we expected in a high priced restaurant. Mr. Chow noodles were fine, but unremarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Not worth at all!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2017

I was Blown away by the great prompt service at Mr. Chow, even though this a place for fine dining I felt like I was at home. The wait staff navigated us through the menu and picked out awesome dishes. We even received a treat from the chef with our appetizers. I will be back, Mr. Chow is my new go to spot for special occasions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 22, 2017

I had guests we were 8 . Very poor service understaffed usually they’re excellent
Dishes served cold so there goes the taste
Wine serving took forever
Bottled water was our preferred but the waiter try to dilute with tab water not very careful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great but really falling off with the level of care and efficiency. Slow service at times and just forgetful staff. Love going here but the service always stings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

This restaurant came highly recommended and was so disappointing . The positives service good and decor good however the. Noise level was unbearable . The food was the biggest disappointment we were a table of 6 and the size of each sharing potion would suit 4 guests. The food was also bland and certainly tasted mass produced . The price for each dish is expensive and certainly not worth it. Maybe the chefs need to go to Singapore or Bali and taste some of the amazing food served in these countries. Very overrated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was fun although it did not change my life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food was great, as well as the drinks. I didn't like the fact the the table has to be pulled out to let person out to go the the rest room. I felt it we were kind of Crammed in a tight space.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

to be honest i love mr chow but this visit was horrible - i normally don't write reviews ever but it was so awful i feel the need. i actually don't think i'll eat there again and i've been going to mr. chow in tribeca since it's opened and uptown and in la and london forever. if anyone really cares why i'm happy to explain but unless i hear back i won't bother writing it all out. so upset, it was my favorite restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The food was great as always. My only complaint every time we eat there is they bring the food out too fast

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food wasn't impressive. Lacked dynamic flavors you'd associate with chinese/cantonese food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

My husband was assaulted in the rest room and after 10 years of dining there - they were incredibly disrespectful and because of the restaurant's allowance for these individuals - my husband broke his toe. After 10 years of dining there - WE WILL NEVER GO BACK - patrons were shoved my husband and they did not care

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Great service as usual and chicken satays were great overall exceptional experience

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2017

The food at Mr. Chow is very good, and the decor and location is cool. But everything is way overpriced, and it feels as if they're focus is on getting the biggest check out of you that they can -- and not as much giving you what you want.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 29, 2017

This is a nice restaurant and the food and service are exceptional. It's pricey but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The service was great and the food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at Mr. Chow with our friend. The food and service were wonderful

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Outstanding as always. This is one of the top restaurants in NYC

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fun, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

My friend and I went for restaurant week. Most restaurants let you pick 3 items per person. They only allowed 4 items for the table...Waiter claimed it was family-style,where you could share everything. Well unless he was referring to a family of gerbils, there was no way that was supposed to be shared! I left hungry!!! Also, the MR CHOW noodles are not that great, and the shrimp fried rice had no seasoning whatsoever. Would definitely not go back based on food I had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Underwhelmed by the food and general ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2017

I rarely leave reviews. However feel compelled to in this situation. We are new in town and Mr Chow seemed a good bet re great position and seemingly good reviews. I will say the service was good and pleasant and we sat outside on the verandah which was also nice. But the food.. is very underwhelming. Completely over-rated. I was actually very surprised. We are from Sydney and this restaurant would not survive a year there. Surely so many better places to eat for the (not unsubstantial) price. Sorry Mr Chow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

My wife was so happy the food was amazing staff was excellent. Will be coming about at the end of the year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Kardashian-era 2000s restaurant with oily, cheap Chinese fusion food and aggressive service. Overcooked noodles, beef swimming in a broken oil sauce, chewy chicken satay. Do not bother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Horrible service
TGIF's has better food.
Walk on by

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Always great time and food at Mr Chow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 10, 2017

I always love my dinners at Chow. Kevin and the team are the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Went for restaurant week and food was really good. All food is family style to share I would say for about two people and it's still filling.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Excellent food and service
Never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

That's not how I remember the restaurant. Service and food couldn't get worse than tonight

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 3, 2017

I have been here and to other Mr Chows many many times. They must be hurting because the pushing that is done by the wait staff to upsell you has gotten out of control. A waiter getting upset with you because he felt you under ordered and continuing to tell you he won't put the order in because its not enough food is absolutely absurd. The food itself has gotten to be literally mediocre at best. Filet Mignon was pre-cooked and definitely sitting under a warmer, chows noodles were sticky with not nearly enough sauce. Overall just terrible , and then you factor in the price. Go elsewhere especially when in such an amazing food town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The service was outstanding and the food was extremely delicious. We sat outside and it was a perfect night, especially since it was Restaurant Week

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

I have to say how much I enjoyed my Restaurant Week Mr. Chow experience! The soup dumplings alone were totally worth the trip (not part of the pre-fixe). The actual chicken (in the chicken satay & velvet chicken) was not especially tender, but the sauces and seasonings for both dishes were very good. The shrimp roll was tasty & the spicy pork was delicious. The service was excellent. Would be happy to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (México)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Always a favorite place to dine when visiting the city. Have dined here many times and the food and service is always wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great value for restaurant week, but too expensive without it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.