About Mr Chow - Beverly Hills

344 N. Camden Dr.
Beverly Hills, CA 90210
View Larger Map

Opened in 1974 by world famous restaurateur Michael Chow. MR CHOW started in London in 1968 and continues to enjoy generations of devoted clients from art, fashion, music, and entertainment. Art, celebrity and superb cuisine all blend together in this stylish restaurant in the heart of Beverly Hills, it has always been an institution for Hollywood’s biggest stars and its loyal clients.
The American Academy of Hospitality Sciences recently awarded MR CHOW the 5 Star Diamond Award for excellence, service, and cuisine. Our Executive Chefs are one of most respected chefs in Chinese cuisine. MR CHOW is a combination of old authentic Beijing and Original Recipes. Chicken Satay, MR CHOW Noodles and Ma Mignon all were created by our passionate and skillful chefs. Also on the Menu is one of the best prepared Beijing Duck in the world.
“Mr. Chow defies all odds and remains an impossibly chic spot that still draws the rich, famous and well-heeled decades after." - Los Angeles Times

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Wilshire & Brighton Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 278-9911

Website:
http://www.mrchow.com/

Entertainment:
Pasta Chef demonstrates traditional Chinese hand-made noodle making nightly.

Private Party Facilities:
2 Private Rooms available 20-30 guests or full restaurant buy-out.
Call the restaurant for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call the restaurant for details.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Mr Chow - Beverly Hills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

People Watching (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Business Meals (14)
Romantic (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Authentic (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Fun (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Cozy (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Family Style (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Historic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Spicy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vegan (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1204 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great Food and even better service. Besi ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Great Food and even better service. Besides the table wait, Everything was exceptional

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There was duck hair on the skin of Beiji ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 13, 2017

There was duck hair on the skin of Beijing duck we ordered. Was told it's normal by the waiter. Ridiculously funny for me to hear as a beijinger

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Perfect as always ! Can't complain . We ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Perfect as always ! Can't complain . We like love everything. Five star all the way !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The occasion was Valentine's Day. We bot ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The occasion was Valentine's Day. We both had a fabulous {and delicious} experience!

Thank you!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just not that good and incredibly expens ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Just not that good and incredibly expensive . Very fun vibe but disappointed in the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

I don't feel like taking my time to writ ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 2, 2017

I don't feel like taking my time to write for this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

I believe that Mr. Chow is overpriced, o ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I believe that Mr. Chow is overpriced, overhyped, and undersized. The food was mediocre at best and the service was uninspired. It is as though they knew they were going to get a tip and had no interest in earning it. The meal cost $300 and I felt it was probably worth $30 at the most. If you want to "Instagram" that you are there, I suggest you take picture and then leave as quickly as possible unless you just have money to waste. My daughter was given a piece flourless chocolate cake that was dry and tasteless for her birthday. I was extremely confused as to why all of the chicken, no matter the dish, was orange. The Sea bass was dry and "oversteamed" if that is even possible. The best part of the meal was the fresh lettuce used for the lettuce cups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Have been here a few times. They sat us ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Have been here a few times. They sat us 1 hour after my reservation time. It was Chinese new year and the maiterd sat his friend before us for sure. The food was really bad. no flavor soggy, overcooked. the service was not as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Mr. Chow is a fabulous restaurant. The ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Mr. Chow is a fabulous restaurant. The food is consistent and excellent if we are in Miami, New York or Beverly Hills!! I would highly recommend if you like Oriental food.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

it was great and I will return with othe ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 26, 2017

it was great and I will return with other friends and family members to enjoy the wonderful experience that I'd truly enjoyed.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time at Mr. Chow and i ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This was my first time at Mr. Chow and it was a great experience. We tried the DineLA menu and got to try chicken satay, crab salad, beef in oyster sauce, chicken, and ice cream and sorbet. Everything was fresh, delicious and well prepared. The wait staff was friendly and helpful and it was a lovely restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were so rushed to make a decision and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We were so rushed to make a decision and not allowed to throughly read the menu. The waiter kept saying "let me choose for you". We also found out during our dinner that there was another menu that was never offered to us. When the waiter felt we were done our plates were removed without asking if we would like to take what was left, which was quite a bit , home

We will not go back.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We (hubby and daughter) came here during ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We (hubby and daughter) came here during Dine LA week. While the service was excellent, the food was a bit hum-drum. The Dine LA menu came with: Appetizers (chicken satay, minced squab with lettuce, fried stuffed crab claws), Main Course (drunken fish, seven seasons prawns, beef with shepherd's purse), served with fried rice and sauteed pea shoots, Dessert (mixed sorbet). The seven seasons prawns were tasty, as was the sauteed pea shoots. But, they weren't out of the ordinary. The portions were small. And, the food was lukewarm, a no-no for Chinese food, for any cuisine, for that matter. The rest of the dishes were quite underwhelming. Then, for dessert, they put down a plate of 6 quenelles of sorbet. Then, they have us large plates and spoons to eat it. Huh? Purely, from a food taste experience, one could get better dishes at a hole in a wall in Chinatown. So, that leaves us with the dining experience including the service and the restaurant. Well, the service was great, with friendly waiters who checked on you with a smile. But, no one really noticed if we needed anything else at the table - say refilling the drinks. And, we were in the bar area, next to the bar where they were filling drinks for waiters to serve to other patrons. So, I guess that was less than a great dining experience. The price was $49 per person for Dine LA dinner menu, not including drinks, etc... Even for that seeming lower price, it really wasn't worth the hype or the food value. Pretty disappointed. I can't imagine paying full price for this mediocre meal and experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I was there 15v years ago with my brothe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I was there 15v years ago with my brother, I was in the area for a leisure trip and wanted to find a restaurant near Rodeo Drive for lunch and thought of Mr. Chows and made a same day reservation and everything is just as is was 15 years ago, I will be back to visit in the future should my travels take me to the area again

Tags: Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant.... food is fabulous. S ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great restaurant.... food is fabulous.

Service impeccable.

One of a kind.

Tags: Private Room, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

no question the best food and service in ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 18, 2017

no question the best food and service in LA. been that way for 25 years

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mr. Chow is now on my short list for "Mo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Mr. Chow is now on my short list for "Most Over-Rated Restaurants in Beverly Hills." A friend and I went to sample the three- course Dine L.A. lunch menu.

Upon sitting down, I ordered a glass of wine. By the time our first course arrived, I had to ask for the wine again. Our server apologized, but had forgotten that I ordered it (strike one).

We were halfway through eating our first course when our second course arrived (strike two). We asked for the second course to be returned to the kitchen, as we would have liked to finish our appetizers. The second course was taken away and we were able to finish the appetizers. And then we waited... and waited... and waited for the second course. We waited 20 minutes, during which time our server never stopped in to check on us (strike three).

We finally got the attention of a busboy and asked him to bring our entrees. When the entrees arrived, it was obvious that they were, in fact, the same plates of food they had tried to bring us 30 minutes prior. The plates of food were ice-cold (strike four).

Upon finishing our entrees, we again had to ask a busboy to bring our desserts (strike five).

Although the server comped my wine, it was far from enough to make up for our lunch experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

My 3 daughters celebrated their birthday ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My 3 daughters celebrated their birthday there with me they totally enjoyed it . it was their first time there. I love it there and champagne

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Vegan, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not suggesting to Chinese people. I gues ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Not suggesting to Chinese people. I guess I would not recommend to my friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Very nice place.

 
 (México)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Very nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Good service, cheap food and wine howeve ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Good service, cheap food and wine however people show up all dressed up. We just went for a casual dinner and everyone was so dressed up.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As always, Mr. Chow in BH earns the best ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As always, Mr. Chow in BH earns the best restaurant in LA moniker. Food is superb; service immaculate and energy just right. This is how a restaurant stays popular for over 25 years. The Gamblers duck is to die for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We showed up 30 minutes before our reser ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We showed up 30 minutes before our reservation and got sat instantly. The customer service was outstanding and the food was flavorful. I would go back in a heart beat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still great after 40 years

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Still great after 40 years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food not as expected, if u off to some C ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Food not as expected, if u off to some Chinese food, don't come. Service and environment are just standard fine dining level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

The food is okay, but I don't think it's ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food is okay, but I don't think it's worth the price. Also, food doesn't taste Chinese. Service is really good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

La comida no vale la pena y máxime siend ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

La comida no vale la pena y máxime siendo de precio alto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was average and the prices out ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was average and the prices out of this works. Not worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Great place to eat .. the waiters were v ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great place to eat .. the waiters were very helpful and the meals were delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and service!

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

The food was below average, the chicken ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food was below average, the chicken was not cooked. The cost does not compliment the dish. Definitely over rated. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

I hadn't been there in many years. The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I hadn't been there in many years. The service was very good. While the four of us ordered a diverse number of dishes, none of them were home runs. Considering the reputation of this restaurant I was surprised that the dishes were uninspiring. Perhaps the most inconvenient thing was that tables along the banquets were abutted right next to each other. It more diners into the place but it made for uncomfortable seating, difficulty getting in and out if one was sitting at the banquet, and it was difficult not to hear and almost be involved with people dining to the left and right of you again. it wasn't worth the 1 1/4 hour drive and I doubt that I will do it again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Great food, great service, wonderful vib ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food, great service, wonderful vibe. A very good spot for date night.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food although small portions but s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food although small portions but seats way too crowded.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent. A don't miss dining experienc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent. A don't miss dining experience while in Beverly Hills CA

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive and has lost its quality and l ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Expensive and has lost its quality and low price to value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Chicken skewers,

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Chicken skewers,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Amazing food great vibe and Chris and th ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Amazing food great vibe and Chris and the staff are stars !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. We ha ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. We had excellent service and great food. My only

complaint is the noise level - way too loud.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and superior service. The cos ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great food and superior service. The cost was a little heftier than I expected but it was a wonderful experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.