Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.11mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Mr Chow - Beverly Hills

Opened in 1974 by world famous restaurateur Michael Chow. MR CHOW started in London in 1968 and continues to enjoy generations of devoted clients from art, fashion, music, and entertainment. Art, celebrity and superb cuisine all blend together in this stylish restaurant in the heart of Beverly Hills, it has always been an institution for Hollywood’s biggest stars and its loyal clients.
The American Academy of Hospitality Sciences recently awarded MR CHOW the 5 Star Diamond Award for excellence, service, and cuisine. Our Executive Chefs are one of most respected chefs in Chinese cuisine. MR CHOW is a combination of old authentic Beijing and Original Recipes. Chicken Satay, MR CHOW Noodles and Ma Mignon all were created by our passionate and skillful chefs. Also on the Menu is one of the best prepared Beijing Duck in the world.
“Mr. Chow defies all odds and remains an impossibly chic spot that still draws the rich, famous and well-heeled decades after." - Los Angeles Times

344 N. Camden Dr.
Beverly Hills, CA 90210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 6:00pm - 11:30pm

Cross Street:
Wilshire & Brighton Way

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 278-9911

Website:
http://www.mrchow.com/

Entertainment:
Pasta Chef demonstrates traditional Chinese hand-made noodle making nightly.

Private Party Facilities:
2 Private Rooms available 20-30 guests or full restaurant buy-out.
Call the restaurant for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Call the restaurant for details.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Mr Chow - Beverly Hills Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

70% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for a Date (31)
See All
People Watching (29)
Hot Spot (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Fun (19)
Romantic (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Authentic (18)
Business Meals (16)
Family Style (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Historic (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Modern Decor (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Spicy (8)
Cozy (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Tapas (5)
Private Room (4)
Casual (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Vegan (2)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great Beer (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Unfortunately, Mr Chow isn't what it used to be. Food was significantly inferior to other Chinese restaurants that cost significantly less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Perfecttttt than u

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

I feel torn appart by the menu. Half the dishes we loved and half were just ok. Service is great. Great if you are willing to pay 60-80 dlls per person no drinks included

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (México)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent service and ambiance. The food is outstanding and the duck a must. Really happy to come back to this place and always is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Menu needs updating, my Dover sole was like
rubber.
Appetizers boring compared to new Asian food today.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Pressure you to order a pre fix even though we said we wanted to order al a carte. Too much food went to waste. They don't offer to pack it. We split the $500 bill on 2 cards and the waiter messed it up. He then processed it again wrong. Over 30 min to try and fix the bill. I usually sit in the main dining room and was in the one to the left this time. The waiter was not attentive. It was unlike any experience I had there before.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nice experience! Service was great you don't survive 40 plus years unless your good at what you do

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 10, 2017

One of the most memorable meals I've ever had was at the Mr. Chou's in New York City. This Los Angeles relative just misses the mark. The description of the dishes were interesting but just didn't have any real magic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Just an absolute delight! From the food to the service!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This was truly the worst food I have ever had in a restaurant during my forty-five years of life. I am surprised that this place has survived in a high-rent district like Beverly Hills. Good service, but terrible food. Much worse than average, but very expensive. I couldn't eat more than a few bites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I cannot say enough good things about my visit to mr. Chow BH. The food was Devine and the service was bar none. I felt so fancy dining there. Can't wait to go back
On my next trip to LA. Great intimate 30th birthday dinner with my man. 😍

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent as usual! Service...impeccable. Food...superb. Staff...spectacular. Ambiance...well we all know ya can't beat it! If you're looking for the perfect place to dine in the area...there are many but there's only one Mr. Chow. Peace and Blessings

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Romantic, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food wasnt that great but the atmoshphere was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Way past it's prime. PF Changes is better for Chinese fare.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Beautiful night out with my youngest. Such fun. Great food. Great people. Great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Carol and I were very disappointed in the number of ideas on the menu that we had to order and pay a very high price for food that we would not have ordered. The menu should be simplified. We eat at Mr. Chan for the Perking Duck but that required us to pay for three people at $78.00 each.

We loved the service and the Ambiance but very disappointed in the menu.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Amazingness as always ! ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 20, 2017

horrible. horrible food. horrible, aggressive service horrible seating arrangement of tables in main room. insulting portion size paired with sky high pricing. mr chows you should be ashamed.

hostess lilly was the best part of the evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 20, 2017

HAS BEEN A FAVORITE FOR YEARS. THE FOOD IS ALWAYS GOOD. FABULOUS BAR AND A HOT SCENE OF THE MOVERS AND SHAKERS OF LA. CHRIS WAS A GODSEND AND A FABULOUS HOST. YOU CANT GO WRONG BY HAVING A MEAL AT THIS LA ICONIC RESTAURANT.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Very good all around! Food, service and buzz in the room!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This place was phenomenal! Our waiter helped us select everything and even the broccoli was delicious. We plan on coming here every time we are in LA.

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Overrated food . Sorry will never go back . Service was great , bumped into some celebrities

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food! Knowledgeable staff. Pricy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Los meseros son inexpertos, no van acoorde al lugar. El establecimiento requiere de una remodelacion.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 13, 2017

I don't like writing negative reviews but if I can save you a disappointing dinner, I feel it's my duty as a fellow open table user to say something...

At Mr Chow service was impeccable, but the food was unimpressive and many tables are so tightly placed that waitstaff have to pull the whole table out whenever you want to get up. The expression Sardines in a tin comes to mind. A gentleman next to me got back up and left the restaurant without ordering, after seeing how squeezed in he'd be.

I love dining out in LA and am frequently impressed by both food and unique atmosphere the restaurants create. After eating at Mr Chow however, I felt stressed out and queasy (a LOT of sugar and salt in all the food). I'd expected a lot more from a Beverly Hills classic like this

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was very sub par. I thought it would be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was great but it was very expensive. I didn't order a drink or dessert and still it cost over $190 for 2 including a very pricey valet service of $10.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This experience was horrible. We have had better times at less expensive places. The seating is extremely tight. They lock one person into the booth seating and place tables on each side. Good luck using the bathroom. The noise level was beyond and the service was okay. Save the money and go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our service was fantastic! I hope we get the same server next time. The duck was our favorite dish and left us wanting to come back soon for more. Very comfortable, cozy place. Thanks.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Mediocre food. Their "legendary" noodles tasted like lukewarm, overcooked Chef Boyardee. Their shrimp tasted Panda Express. Our broccoli never showed up, so we were forced to eat plain white rice without a sauce or flavor to mix it with.

My wife and I love food and weren't expecting culinary greatness, but this place is not worth eating at despite its once-legendary status. Our waiter was polite and the Keith Haring on the wall is pretty sweet, but other than that I unfortunately don't have much else positive to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Boise)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Anywhere in the world you can find a Mr. Chow, go there; London, New York, Tribeca, Beverly Hills and probably Dubai. A plethora of creative and complicated Asian entrees you could never make a home, and light years ahead of Chinese takeout. Let the server advise your table, offering your preferences to guide the choosing. The bartenders are world class and lightning fast, the wines perfect, but bear in mind this is spicy cuisine that inspired PF Chang Chila Bistro that never achieved anything like this level as a shopping center franchise. Lunch or dinner here is friendly, helpful, efficient, fun and active. The great things just keep coming. Once you try it, you will come back wherever you find it and you will always spot some celebrities, even though the booths and tables are discretely private and in nooks. Plan on spending about $100 per person on food and beverages and just relax into the whole experience. Unbelievable!

Tags: People Watching, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

From the moment we walked in the door the service was amazing. The food was spectacular. An experience to treasure and worth the money. Wow!

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Food is very creative and tasty. Drinks are hefty but the mixers were warm & flat. This is a people-watching hub & you'll pay for the privilege. Very expensive evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Great service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great service and food was fantastic

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

It was great but I was surprised being charged $18 for steamed white rice. Usually steamed white rice cones with order or it is a couple dollars more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Always a delight eating at Mr Chows. They treat you like family the moment you walk into the door. The ambiance as well as the staff have always been delightful. If you like duck they have one of the most unique fried duck dishes. Comes with little "pancakes"/mini tortias that you can make little bites with. Must try the plum sauce as well.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The cuisine is outstanding as well as the service provided.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Mr. Chow ha been our favorite restaurant for the past 39 years. It is home to us. Last night we celebrated our son's 30th birthday and everything was perfect! Roberto is the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excelente!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.