About Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails

Chef Tom Gray brings "locally-owned" to the Town Center neighborhood with his new American restaurant, Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails at the Markets at Town Center. The two-time James Beard Award nominated chef and his skilled team favor a fresh, contemporary approach providing creative inspirations for lunch and dinner and weekend brunches.

An “American flavors from coast to coast” menu offers fresh takes on classic favorites while the craft cocktails, local brews and Cal-centric wine menu command their own attention.

Inside the two-story restaurant, an urban rustic decor sets a modern tone to the dining rooms, and the buzz of the open kitchen and bars make for a lively atmosphere. Open air patios and covered dining terraces provide outdoor dining options year round with views on the nearby lake.

4972 Big Island Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH + DINNER Monday - Saturday from 11am.
BRUNCH + DINNER Sundays from 10am.
HANDCRAFTED HAPPY HOUR 7 Days a Week from 3pm - 7pm.
LATE NIGHT HAPPY HOUR Friday + Saturday 10pm - close.

Cross Street:
Town Center Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 998-9744

Website:
http://www.moxiefl.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Tom Gray

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (36)
Good for a Date (30)
Fun (27)
See All
Creative Cuisine (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Local Ingredients (21)
Special Occasion (21)
Comfort Food (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Casual (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Authentic (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Romantic (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Cozy (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Seasonal (8)
Great Beer (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Healthy (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Scenic View (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Organic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Tapas (4)
Vegan (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
People Watching (3)
Waterfront (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
933 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Food was excellent, service good, upper level terrace is nice. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Good southern inspirations in their dishes from aps to deserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

We’ve always been a fan of Tom Grey’s food, and we love Moxie. I only wish it were closer to home, but then again, my waistline would surely increase.☺️ It’s a great experience for all who enjoy beautiful ambiance, great service and some of the best food in Jacksonville.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Went with a friend for late night happy hour in the bar area. Great service and the food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

meh. very very meh. many better lower priced options at the town center.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Very good deal during restaurant week for lunch. My husband ordered shrimp and grits which were very pedestrian, we wouldn't order that again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Perfect place for lunch and cocktails

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Guam)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Moxie is an outstanding local bistro with innovative food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Server gave extra suggestions for food choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Everything was wonderful except I was a little disappointed with my meal. I have ordered the shrimp and grits several times in the past and it has always been excellent, but the last 2-3 times I've ordered it, it's been pretty unappealing. I order it blackened and there's hardly any seasoning on it. The shrimp almost seem as though they are not cooked all the way through. This time, it hardly had any topping on the grits, almost no tomatoes, no sausage, and generally no seasoning. I really love Moxie and want the quality of the food to remain the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Normally one of my favorite restaurants in Jax, but this time we waited nearly an hour for our food to arrive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Celebrating our engagement. We didn't make it known but our experience was special just the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Every time we come here the service is outstanding. Everyone is warm and welcoming and willing to accommodate our needs. The staff goes above and beyond to be sure you have a wonderful experience. The food is always fresh and delicious and never disappoints. By far one of my favorite restaurants in Jacksonville and I don't mind spending the money to be here.

Thanks for all that you do!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had a party of 8 and OpenTable reservation worked great! We were seated right when we got there and they were ready for us to order. Drinks and food all came in good time, and everyone enjoyed their orders.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We were so impressed with the service at Moxie. The food was hand crafted but not overly expensive. Presentation was lovely! We will enjoy eating there again!

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 1, 2017

It was okay. Feel like the quality of food has gone down over the past year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Service was fantastic and good was just as good. I had scallops prepared just like rainbow trout dish as recommended by server it was amazing.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Celebratory work dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Really fun, delicious food and GREAT service! Our server made our drinks himself to our specifications and his dinner recommendations were perfection! Upbeat atmosphere made our "Girls Night Out" the BEST yet! Thanks to Alfredo!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great food with local ingredients and excellent service. Definitely recommend Moxie's to everyone. Especially to those that appreciate an independently owned restaurant which are relatively hard to find in Jacksonville.

Tags: Tapas, Healthy, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The chicken & waffles is a MUST every time I visit. One taste and you'll understand!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 24, 2017

WOW.. Place was happening! Plus, really smart/inventive drink and menu options. We had the Chicken and Waffles (WOW!) and the MOXIE Burger (Yeah WOW). Both were great, plentiful and delicious mains with really good side options (Blooming Brussells are really good). TMI: the pimento cheese is fabulous (on the burger) and the burger is Beef, Sausage AND BACON.. you do not need to add bacon!! The waffle seemed to be waffles that were re-instituted as bread pudding - way way good. They also had Grillside dinning and a upstairs that we didn't see. Highly Recommend for food and spirits lovers. Note to Noise sensitive: It is pretty loud with the happy hour crowd but the crowd seemed very happy - We Were!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

It was one of the best eating experiences of my life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Very good food, as usual. One of our favorite places to eat in Jax.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Monday night so relatively quiet. Food was on-point. Pimento cheese bread a must. Had meatloaf, filet mignon and scallops at table - all delicious! Will be back!

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was mediocre at best ordered the short ribs and they are all dried out service was good and they comped the meal but it's not worth the price for what you get there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Friendly, helpful and informed staff. Very accommodating to my requests and questions. We were a party of four and all of us were thrilled with the quality of the food. We each had different items and shared tastes, each meeting our high standards, not a "usual" dining experience. I have recommended Moxie to several people and have already heard back how much they liked it.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Beautiful scenery, Food was pretty good. I ordered the chicken & waffles. I wasn't too crazy about the waffle part, it tasted like cream cheese instead of a waffle. If you eat outside do not do it during the summer . I went for my birthday in the beginning of August and it was scorching hot. I was draineddd. I hope they find some way to keep it cool on the outside patio.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Beautiful place, but extremely loud and the service is way to slow. Plan to spend at least 2 hours here for a meal. The food is good, but small portions and feels like you're paying for the chef's name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Every meal I always have at Moxie is good. This meal was no different. Theres always items that you prefer over another, but thats anywhere you go. The issue on this occasion (the reason for my overall three-star) is the poor service we were offered. There was a second large group sat 10 minutes after our party, and our waitress was just slow. It took her 25 minutes to get water out to our table, another 20 minutes to ask about appetizers, and another 30 to get our order in. The other large group beside us (different waitress), received drinks both alcoholic and non alcoholic before we even got a drink order in and were eating and gone well before we even put our order in. Additionally, the waitress had to be asked continually for the same item before it was brought, both drinks and even general sauces or dressings for food items. The manager was very nice and did his best to accommodate our groups issues, but when the wait staff is just slow on the uptake it makes it hard to enjoy your time when you're waiting for ketchup for 20 minutes and your fries have gone cold.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The server seemed to have an issue getting the orders to the correct people. Several had to ask for items multiple times. Also, we ate brunch and some of the food came out extremely overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food and service. Had the waffles and fried chicken

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The noise was awful. You had to practically yell to be heard and the service was extremely, extremely slow. Not pleasant at all. Food was the only good thing. Good food, good service and good ambiance make a good restaurant. They've got one of the three.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Wonderful service, delicious food, though preparation... I only wish it weren't so noisy but I will definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Took my wife for our anniversary dinner. The food was ok, but nothing that would bring me back. My wife's salmon was very undercooked and she had to send it back. After waiting 20+ minutes for a recook the manager brought her food out cold. Our waitress was bit aloof and generally unattentive. We have been looking for a for new go to restaurant in town, and unfortunately this was not it for us.
The prices and portions and were reasonable however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Unfortunatelly our food took 45+ minutes to get serve, not sure if the order got misplaced or what,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Went for a date night and decided to sit at the bar upstairs. Was pleasantly surprised by the separate vegan menu which helped a ton since I'm dairy free. The craft cocktails were very tasty and the wines offered by the glass were great as well. Had a swanky feel and felt very authentic.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 27, 2017

First time at Moxie's and loved it. We'd been wanting to try it for awhile and left wishing we had gone there sooner.

There was a bit of a snafu and 15-minute wait for our table reservation but these things happen and the greet staff handled it gracefully. Service was outstanding (wish we could recall his name, but thank you!!), atmosphere was great and we loved the various styles of seating areas that give a sense of privacy while still being right in the middle of it all. I hate to say it, but acquaintances in the past have said the food was "a little different;" not in a bad way but not in a great way, either. We thought it was amazing, and it reminded us of the traditional/light & healthy fare at upscale California restaurants. We stuck with seafood (shrimp, scallops and salmon with pickled eggs & veggies) and it was absolutely perfect. Added to the Favorites list and can't wait to visit again soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Great food! The waitress was great but the food was really slow to come out. We had a reservations at 6:15pm and didn't leave till 9:00pm

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.