About Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails

Chef Tom Gray brings "locally-owned" to the Town Center neighborhood with his new American restaurant, Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails at the Markets at Town Center. The two-time James Beard Award nominated chef and his skilled team favor a fresh, contemporary approach providing creative inspirations for lunch and dinner and weekend brunches.

An “American flavors from coast to coast” menu offers fresh takes on classic favorites while the craft cocktails, local brews and Cal-centric wine menu command their own attention.

Inside the two-story restaurant, an urban rustic decor sets a modern tone to the dining rooms, and the buzz of the open kitchen and bars make for a lively atmosphere. Open air patios and covered dining terraces provide outdoor dining options year round with views on the nearby lake.

4972 Big Island Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH + DINNER Monday - Saturday from 11am.
BRUNCH + DINNER Sundays from 10am.
HANDCRAFTED HAPPY HOUR 7 Days a Week from 3pm - 7pm.
LATE NIGHT HAPPY HOUR Friday + Saturday 10pm - close.

Cross Street:
Town Center Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 998-9744

Website:
http://www.moxiefl.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Tom Gray

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (46)
Local Ingredients (44)
Creative Cuisine (44)
See All
Good for a Date (41)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Special Occasion (40)
Modern Decor (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (31)
Good for Groups (30)
Happy Hour (28)
Great for Lunch (22)
Casual (22)
Comfort Food (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Great for Brunch (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Open Kitchen (20)
Authentic (19)
Seasonal (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Fun (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Healthy (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Romantic (14)
Business Meals (13)
Late-night Find (12)
People Watching (11)
Organic (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Great Beer (8)
Cozy (8)
Private Room (7)
Tapas (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Family Style (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Vegan (5)
Scenic View (4)
Waterfront (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
840 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined a day ago

Perfect ..service, food and atmosphere

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Healthy, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 5 days ago

The waitress (Stephanie) was amazing. Super helpful and accommodating! Great service!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Positive: nice industrial design and cool music, a bit too loud though. The waitress was very nice and knew what she was doing.
Negative: When I was checking the menu on the Open Table website it included lots of delicious dishes, for instance duck. When we got to the restaurant we were told the menu was "updated" and didn't include many dishes listed on the Open Table site.
They don't have Martini brand drink, but guess it's us - Europeans who like this type of stuff.
The Mojito cocktail was probably the least tasty I ever tried in my life. Was made using plain water instead of soda and seemed like there was no lime and brown sugar in it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Friendly knowledgeable wait staff made for good experience

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The experience was a decent one. The food was mediocre but the rest of the time was a good one. The service was great. I have noticed in the last year that the food has slipped from amazing status to good to just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We went here for our anniversary dinner. It was our 2nd time and we got to sit at the chefs counter. We could watch all of the chefs working and putting together the great dishes. Dinner and a show haha! Seriously though, we had the beef short ribs with pimiento cheese potato salad and it was fantastic! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I can confidently say that Moxie is my favourite place restaurant in all of north Florida. The food, drinks, and service is always perfect.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I made a reservation for Mother's Day and had picked out my entree and was careful to pick a place that everyone in my family would like. When I got there we soon realized for Mother's Day it was buffet brunch at $35 a head and they were not offering their usual menu. We were not expecting that. Still the food was delicious and we had a very sweet server.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was for Mother's Day, and I should have checked ahead to verify what format they would be using. It was a buffet, which is ok, but it felt poorly planned and disorganized. The restaurant was very, very busy and the staff seemed a little overwhelmed. Not the ideal experience, but it wasn't the worst. The food was delicious and the service friendly and slightly apologetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Made a Mother's Day brunch reservation and didn't know that there would ONLY be a set buffet brunch- no regular menu. Seeing as this was our first time there, I was immediately turned off that the menu wasn't available. My mom and I looked at the food buffet and it looked cheap, cold, and unappetizing. It looked like a holiday inn hotel breakfast, definitely not worth $35/pp. So we paid for our mimosas and decided to leave. We told the server we weren't staying and he rolled his eyes and quickly walked off. Came back and said they'd offer us half off the brunch, which was nice, but it didn't even seem worth that price either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We love Moxie, but were not anticipating that the buffet would be the only option. For the most part it was good, just not as great as their normal food. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The bottomless mimosas at brunch are strong (I only ever get through 2 and need to have someone else drive- keep it up), the food wether ordered off menu or via the buffet is delicious. The wait staff is always friendly and every time I book reservations I can't wait for my return. If you haven't had brunch at Moxie you're missing out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great brunch buffet selection. Buffet set up was a little awkward and led to a longer line than needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food. Slow kitchen. Servers were good, but not enough staff to deal with the high volume of customers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We went to this restaurant on Valentine's Day, with an Opentable reservation. We got in alright but the service was not good and the food was even slower. After 2 hours we asked to see the Manager who apologized to us. He compted the wine and appetizer we had and gave us gift cards to return when we told him it was too late to eat. The restaurant did the right thing.

Our return trip for a Mother's Day dinner was outstanding. I saw the manager leaving the restaurant and thanked him for in essence inviting us back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great cocktails and they update the menu just often enough to stay fresh while keeping some of the favorites you grown accustomed to. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in JAX. We look forward to dining here each visit and hope they keep up the good job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Service was wonderful other than checking in. Waiter was knowledgeable and food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Appetizers and salads were amazing !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Absolutely loved this restaurant and our server. It was our first time eating here, but certainly won't be our last. The food selection is unique, but soooo delicious.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was a horrible experience. The food was terrible. Very disappointed with the restaurant. The guy took more than 30 minutes to serve us the wine.
I was there sometime ago and both the service and the food was good. I was shocked by how bad its become.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The server did not introduce himself. The drink order took a long time to arrive - the meal, even longer. I've been to this place many times but I'm less impressed each time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was delicious; even the kiddos loved it. Great variety on the menu.

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Outstanding. Had trout. Had chicken liver app. Party of 6 were happy with all choices. Service friendly.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Made reservations and arrived early and sat 15 minutes after reservations. Serves was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Another fantastic meal at moxie!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Amazing food and creative drinks. Moxie does one of the best cheese platter appetizers in the South.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 23, 2017

our server forgot about us for about thirty minutes. we sat with no water or appetizers. the sever attempted to make up for it but giving us doughnuts.
my meal was over salted and the winter greens had little to no dressing. the chicken and waffle was apparently ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Such a nice change of pace...fantastic menu and attentive staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Favorite Jacksonville restaurant. Chicken and Waffles have no equal.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent food and service. Never a let-down. Our 17 y/o's first visit and she loved it!
Can never go wrong with the pimento cheese appetizer, salads, steak, scallops, meatloaf, burger, pasta - all excellent!

Tags: Organic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Eating at Moxie's was a wonderful experience. Server was attentive. Food was presented nicely, and tasted great. Will definitely come again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

While we really enjoy Moxie, and Tom is a great Chef, we were there for Easter brunch, and with 1:15 reservations, when we went through the buffet line, many of the items were either gone of very low. There was a women in charge of that, but she was off her game. Even with going back several times, there were things (bread pudding?) that I never got to try. Next time they need to be more on their game with refilling and/or replacing items as they run out. What I had was tasty, but it was too difficult (impossible?) to try the things I would have liked to try. A little disappointing for a place that we like so much.

CD

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Arriving for Easter there was a group of people waiting for tables. We had a reservation but I was concerned because it was a holiday. Should not have because we were set right on time. The food was great and service also a 10. Thanks and we will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had reservations for 4 on Mother's Day. Loved the atmosphere but didn't like the food. The buffet was not food we would normally eat and did not enjoy the meal. Only had 1 time at the buffet. Was not worth going a second time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I was very disappointed with the brunch. I thought the $34.99 was very overpriced for a busy, poor service restaurant. the buffet line was long, the coffee was serve yourself in paper cup.
There was no variety as far as food was concerned. A few old pastries, and pre- toasted and buttered bread. I was very surprised that a restaurant of this caliber would serve such a sub par brunch. worst of all, we were seated upstairs with my elderly parents who then needed to go up and down the busy stairs to get to the buffet. Worst experience ever!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We drove from Orlando to try out Moxie. It gives as good as it's name; MOXIE. Great food and drinks. The best service ever. Our Waitress Gabby was amazing!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Authentic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Happy Hour, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Drinks are always slow in arriving. Our server Kelsey, was excellent, cheerful and helpful. My kale salad was delicious and the chicken livers out of this world.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Overall, our experience was very nice. We had to wait a long time for our drink order because of a large group of 50 and another group of 12. My trout was delicious, but A LOT of broccoli. Leslie was our server and she was very pleasant and helpful with suggestions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our meal was delicious; however we did complain about the waiter. He did not come over and took a long time to bring us anything we asked for. There was another women on staff who was awesome and took out order for us. Overall the experience was great,

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.