About Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails

4972 Big Island Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Chef Tom Gray brings "locally-owned" to the Town Center neighborhood with his new American restaurant, Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails at the Markets at Town Center. The two-time James Beard Award nominated chef and his skilled team favor a fresh, contemporary approach providing creative inspirations for lunch and dinner and weekend brunches.

An “American flavors from coast to coast” menu offers fresh takes on classic favorites while the craft cocktails, local brews and Cal-centric wine menu command their own attention.

Inside the two-story restaurant, an urban rustic decor sets a modern tone to the dining rooms, and the buzz of the open kitchen and bars make for a lively atmosphere. Open air patios and covered dining terraces provide outdoor dining options year round with views on the nearby lake.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH + DINNER Monday - Saturday from 11am.
BRUNCH + DINNER Sundays from 10am.
HANDCRAFTED HAPPY HOUR 7 Days a Week from 3pm - 7pm.
LATE NIGHT HAPPY HOUR Friday + Saturday 10pm - close.

Cross Street:
Town Center Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 998-9744

Website:
http://www.moxiefl.com/

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the parking lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Tom Gray

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Moxie Kitchen + Cocktails Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (33)
Special Occasion (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Local Ingredients (29)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Open Kitchen (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Casual (23)
Happy Hour (22)
Fun (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Seasonal (17)
Business Meals (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Romantic (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Authentic (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Cozy (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
People Watching (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Healthy (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Great Beer (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Organic (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Tapas (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Scenic View (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Vegan (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Music (2)
Waterfront (2)
Private Room (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
765 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love Moxie! -Rachid

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

Love Moxie!

-Rachid

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a bad meal!!! Josh is an excellent ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

Never a bad meal!!! Josh is an excellent server!

Tags: Casual, Vegan, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was slow and food took a lon ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

The service was slow and food took a long time to come out. Our server never checked in or apologized for the long wait. After waiting for our entrees, my salad came out with no dressing, and upon asking the server she said it would take a while because they had to 'ring everything into the kitchen'. I waited 15 minutes just for salad dressing. Disappointed because I'd heard such good things about this place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Great food and cocktails. Only gripe is ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and cocktails. Only gripe is that we were sat in what was essentially a doorway, but only because all the good tables were taken by large parties, but at least we had a view in to two different areas of the restaurant.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was very good. We had the trout dip ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was very good. We had the trout dip to start with. My fiancé had the snapper and I had the short ribs. The main entrees were delicious and cooked perfectly. The sides that they were served with were delicious as well. Serving size was good. We went for valentines day and of course they were very busy. They did have a mix up with the dishes ordered, but took off the dish that they were unable to deliver and were very nice about it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a reservation for 8:45 PM and arr ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a reservation for 8:45 PM and arrive five minutes early. At 9:30 PM we still have not been seated. Will not return .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Great food and drinks. A perfect place ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food and drinks. A perfect place to meet friends for a great evening. The wait staff is first class. Thoroughly enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, , Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I hate the fact that our Valentine's din ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I hate the fact that our Valentine's dinner was not up to the standards of Moxie. We have been there several times. They were too busy and fortunately we had an Opentable reservation. After wine and an appetizer, our dinner did not come. After waiting for an hour we asked for our bill and cancelled the dinner. Our waiter Joshua and the Manager apologized profusely and then management did the right thing. No charge for the wine and appetizers. They even offered to box up our food, which we declined. They also gave us a gift card for a future dinner.

We know this was an unusual thing but we did appreciate how it was all handled.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, atmosphere, and service. My ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food, atmosphere, and service. My only complaint is that I had to wait about 20 min even though I had a reservation and arrived on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Moxie is always my husband & I's first c ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Moxie is always my husband & I's first choice for special occasions and date night. We also love bringing visiting friends. The food is great, and the menu changes seasonally so there's always something new to try (with some favorites always sticking around, like their creative take on chicken and waffles). Love the modern decor and their unique spin on comfort food. Their cocktails are fab, and they offer unique hand made sodas, which was a delight while I was pregnant. It's also a good spot for a casual lunch with the kids or a unique brunch with mimosas.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went on my birthday as a special treat ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I went on my birthday as a special treat from my family but was disappointed--did not feel they were really engaged. Server didn't ask any questions, nor tell us about the restaurant. I felt not very special at all. Thought the food was good but the delivery, service just not very good. For example, just came over and said "ready to order"? Then, took forever to get bottle of wine, forgot to put cheese on daughters cheeseburger, etc. Like I said, did not feel special, rather rushed to get us in and out despite spending a lot of money. Good food just don't have the total experience of good dining down yet. Maybe they will improve but don't go if you want to be taken care of specially.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

One of the best food experiences I've ha ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of the best food experiences I've had. The BEST restaurant in Jacksonville hands down. Prices very reasonable, Crispy Chicken Livers were out of this world as well as the Shrimp & Grits. Highly recommend, atmosphere is amazing. Would recommend for any situation or some type of celebration. Top notch, home-made, farm to table food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our go to for farm to table done ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

This is our go to for farm to table done well. Craft cocktails and great service.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had Bruce as our server. Excellent s ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had Bruce as our server. Excellent service!!! Food was great. I had steak wedge salad, steak cooked perfect. Could go A little lighter on the dressing. Friend had shrimp and grits and it was awesome. Excellent cocktails! Must try the "Sure Thing" cocktail love it!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the service e ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was delicious and the service excellent. The place is gorgeous; I wish it wasn't so loud!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good. The surf and turf special w ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Always good. The surf and turf special with oxtail was out of this world. Will go back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Moxie, love the food. The servers a ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Love Moxie, love the food. The servers are always warm, informative and helpful. I just wish that dining there wasn't such a huge time commitment. It takes soooo long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food is creative and excellent in flavor ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Food is creative and excellent in flavors but service is a tad slow. Outside venue is nice but highway traffic is distracting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I love Moxie for several occasions, it's ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I love Moxie for several occasions, it's a great option for a fun date, either first or even to celebrate a relationship milestone; it's great for a fun night out with friends - especially if you sit up in the lounge and have tapas; and it's great for more quiet, intimate meal if you sit downstairs. Either way, you really can't go wrong, although not an overly kid friendly menu or location.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Private Room, Bar Seating, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Had heard many great things about Moxie, ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Had heard many great things about Moxie, so the fiancé and I decided to try it out.

We were sat promptly, and our waiter was extremely attentive throughout the entire time (thanks Ryan).

It seemed that the back of house needed some work, as well as the bar service. It took nearly 15 minutes to get 2 drinks from the bar once placed with the waiter. When the entrees arrived, my dish was room temperature which I was fine with, however my fiancées dish was not remotely warm.

Ryan was extremely apologetic, and took care of the situation promptly ( within 5 minutes of sending food back she had a fresh plate). It did ruin the cadence of the meal, however the dishes themselves made up for it.

Coming from 15 years of hospitality service/management, I was rather surprised that no manager was sent over or some gesture to attempt to reclaim the dining experience.

While not the best experience, we will

Still come back due to the food quality.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

This isn't one of my favorite spots. It' ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This isn't one of my favorite spots. It's very noisy so conversation isn't easy. Before our drinks even made it to the table we were asked if we were ready to order. The menu items are very very rich..I'm not a big fan of fried or heavily sauced meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Great lunch and service! Our server was ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great lunch and service! Our server was outstanding -very pleasant and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was extraordinary and presentation ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Food was extraordinary and presentation was terrific. Highly recommend this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My new favorite place to eat. Great food ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My new favorite place to eat. Great food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was looking for a casual but sophistic ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I was looking for a casual but sophisticated spot for a date night with my wife; based my choice on the app reviews and a subtle recommendation of a coworker. To say I was satisfied is an understatement... it's our favorite restaurant now. the food was eclectic and delicious. I recommend the Short Ribs & the Buzzin' Bee Honey Rye Wheat beer. Great experience and dining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, , Authentic, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Casual, People Watching, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great atmosphere, and great ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere, and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was super loud but the go ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The restaurant was super loud but the good food made up for that. The cocktails are remarkable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I love Moxie and it's usually a great pl ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I love Moxie and it's usually a great place for food, service and atmosphere. During the last visit there was a huge birthday party upstairs, which caused the staff to be overly busy. On the positive side, we got to enjoy, partake in some of the ancillary activities related to the party (magician at our table, for example), but the issue was that service was slower than usual and orders got mixed up a couple of times. But I felt it was all taken care of and made for a good experience overall. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was a nice place. But if you want lig ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

It was a nice place. But if you want lighter portions for entrees be sure the server hears your request, because they will over charge you. Also, I had a reservation for 8:30 and still had to wait 25 minutes to be seated.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

As always we lived our experience and th ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

As always we lived our experience and the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had dinner on a Tuesday night before a s ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Had dinner on a Tuesday night before a show. Service and food were both good and the price was reasonable. The bar was pretty busy (it was happy hour) and it was just a bit noisy, but we sat in a round booth with was helpful for conversation. Parking was easy, and it was actually pretty convenient to head into downtown from there for an 8:00PM show at the Florida Theatre. All in all, a pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Moxie is my favorite Jacksonville restua ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Moxie is my favorite Jacksonville restuarant. Unique atmosphere and outstanding Southern inspired modern cuisine with unique twists.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely amazing food. Some very minor ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Absolutely amazing food. Some very minor server/bartender errors but they were fixed immediately. Ambience is wonderful. I would love to sit at the bar area in front of the kitchen!!

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Girlfriend's Brunch. David was our waite ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Girlfriend's Brunch. David was our waiter and he was EXCELLENT! It was our first time at Moxie, but definitely not our last. The deviled eggs were good, the chicken livers were great! The omelet, 3 cheese grits, hangar steak and eggs...oh my! All delish! The 76 cocktail was a favorite.

And affordable is an understatement. Thank you. It truly made for a Sunday, Fun day!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. I would definite ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food and service. I would definitely recommend Moxie's.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unbelievable food, great service and coo ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Unbelievable food, great service and cool atmosphere. Must stop for anyone in the area.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant never ceases to amaze me ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This restaurant never ceases to amaze me. If you have not made this your staple restaurant you are missing out. try EVERYTHING>>>>>>

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a bottle of wine and some appe ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great for a bottle of wine and some appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Mike was truly amazing! Acco ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Our server Mike was truly amazing! Accommodated all of our silly requests, was spot on with his recommendations and added to our experience. A great night with close friends was made even better.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding! I was pleased ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was outstanding! I was pleased to see such a variety for gluten-free!! We can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.