Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About Moshulu

The Moshulu, the world's oldest and largest four-masted Tall Ship offers unsurpassed views for intimate to extraordinary dining aboard this Philadelphia landmark restaurant. Enjoy inventive and contemporary presentations of classic American Cuisine by Chef Anthony Bonett using the freshest, local ingredients available from the land and pristine seafood and shellfish paired with an extensive wine list.

401 South Columbus Blvd.
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Elegant Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch
10:00 AM to 2:30 PM

Dinner
Monday - Thursday 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday 5:00 PM to 11:00 PM
Sunday 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM

Outdoor Decks and Bars open weather and private party permitting starting May 19th - October 1st.

Cross Street:
Lombard Circle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 923-2500

Website:
http://www.moshulu.com/

Catering:
.

Parking Details:
Parking is available adjacent to the Moshulu for $17 per vehicle. Additional self-parking is also available across Columbus Blvd. Both lots are owned and operated by Penn's Landing. There is also 4 hour metered parking along Columbus Blvd. for $1 an hour.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Bonett

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Moshulu, the World’s oldest and largest four-masted Tall Ship offers unsurpassed views and a unique backdrop for intimate to extraordinary dining and celebrations. Our private dining rooms, outdoor open-aired and tented decks combined with delectable, award-wining American cuisine and impeccable service create the perfect setting for memorable events, please contact Jake Wade at jwade@moshulu.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 7:30PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 7:30PM - 9:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Moshulu, the World’s oldest and largest four-masted Tall Ship offers unsurpassed views and a unique backdrop for intimate to extraordinary dining and celebrations.

Moshulu Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (123)
Waterfront (121)
Special Occasion (105)
See All
Scenic View (105)
Good for a Date (89)
Good for Anniversaries (84)
Historic (79)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Quiet Conversation (49)
Cozy (42)
Notable Wine List (40)
Worth the Drive (38)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Authentic (30)
Great for Brunch (29)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Good for Groups (23)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Fun (21)
Casual (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Business Meals (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Outstanding Value (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Family Style (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Seasonal (9)
Healthy (8)
Late-night Find (8)
People Watching (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Private Room (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great Beer (4)
Tapas (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fireplace (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Organic (2)
Dancing (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Live Music (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
4155 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

A fantastic dinning experience! The ambiance in unbeatable, as the restaurant is a floating ship with great views of the Ben Franklin Bridge and a beautiful interior. We each had a cocktail, a twist on the standard Moscow Mule and a banana rum drink; both were very tasty. The appetizer was a perfectly-cooked order of fried calamari. Although a rather small portion, it was enough to share and we were both impressed with the taste and texture. I had a Thai Steak Salad which was so good I would go back just for that! The steak was actually cooked a perfect medium-rare, and the salad was creative and fresh. She had the halibut which was also a wonderful dish. We shared large slice of chocolate mousse cake a la mode. Our waitress went the extra mile by bringing the dessert on a plate inscripted with a chocolate "Happy Birthday".

Overall the food presentation was top-notch. The ambiance makes the restaurant well worth the drive to Philly, and the quality and presentation of the food is excellent. The restaurant is also a short walk from Penn's Landing, which makes for a great post-meal walk and entertainment. This is quite an expensive restaurant, so I would save this only for special occasions. Our meal ran us about $200 including tip, plus about $20 to park.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Moshulu offers a unique experience. I have been there several times and have never been disappointed. My most recent dining experience was exceptional. the bartenders, hostess and wait staff were very pleasant and helpful. we also met the Manager, John. he was very nice, and offered my friend and I a tour of the boat. it was very fun. Dinner was very good- prices are about the same as other higher end restaurants in Philly, and the offering is varied and interesting. All in all I would recommend experiencing Moshulu to anyone going to the Penn's Landing area for fun and frolic :)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding! I picked this from reviews on TripAdvisor since we were visiting Philly. What a true winner! I loved everything. The food was superb and beautifully presented. The location - on a sailing ship anchored in the harbor - was so beautiful. I had the beet salad, the salmon and the butterscotch pudding desert (seriously!) and each one was so well prepared. Thanks as well to John Carr, our server, who ensured that we had a wonderful dining experience. Well done!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

The best sushi and best lobster bisque. Waitress very efficient.

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Truly blown away with the quality of the food performance of the staff and overall perfection of the restaurant. lol

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our experience at the Moshulu was impeccable. We celebrated our Anniversary. The food and the service made the occasion even more memorable.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 18, 2017

I took my girlfriend here for a birthday dinner. It was a nice night so we sat up at the bar for a drink before dinner which was great. We then asked to be seated outside instead of inside for dinner. There was no problem- hostess was friendly and accommodating as possible. We waited a little long for our server to come to our table. No big deal. But, after we received our first drink we didn't see our waiter for about 20 minutes. I think they were busier than they thought theyd be because there were only two people on staff in this dining area. We tried to be understanding about this but the service became worse and worse to the point that we thought the price of everything was just not worth it. Could never spot our server anywhere and when he came to the table everything was very rushed. I would say it was more of a management issue. The food was really good, however.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We were glad that we chose Mosulu for our anniversary dinner. It was a perfect ambience for the occasion and I will highly recommend it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great service and great food. Just be aware that the menu changes every couple of weeks. So, if you get one thing on the menu, it might not be there the next time you return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The food was delicious as always. I have to say that I was disappointed with our server. Every other aspect was fine. He disappeared for extremely long periods. We had to hail him like a NY cab to get anything. My water glass went completely dry at one point. My daughter's second drink took 15-20 min. He was nice, but the service was unacceptable for this caliber restaurant.

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 16, 2017

It was okay. Our server was very nice. BUT food wasn't worth money paid. Plus if it's a special occasion, I think dessert should be half off..Just my take. Other than that, place is very romantic and clean.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

From the overall ambience to the service of each and every employee. My grandmother has trouble getting up on her own due to her arthritis and the gentlemen who works there helped her up and escorted her to the elevator so that she could get to the bathroom. Forgive me for forgetting his name but just understand that every bit of hospitality did not go unnoticed. Thank you Moshulu ❤️📍

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I was very frustrated upon learning the buffet and desserts closed at 3pm, with a Mother's Day reservation at 2:15. They did bring out more hot food, but the dessert bar was pretty much empty. To eat a buffet, relax & enjoy conversation, and have dessert all in 45 minutes, was not the most enjoyable experience. We were excited to treat my MIL who came 4 hours away for the afternoon, but left quite upset.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brunch was great. Great servers, great food, great drinks, great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The mothers day brunch was good. I enjoyed the food and the ambiance. The only issue was our waiter was fine however he was not good enough that he deserved the 20% gratuity that was tacked on to the bill for the brunch special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Over all the visit was most enjoyable. The food and service were good. The prime rib was delicious. However, the parking fee of 17.00 was a bit absurd. Did not appreciate that. The cost of buffet was too high as well so the overall value was not great. But we still enjoyed ourselves and Mother's day was a success.

Tags: Waterfront, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our waiter was out of touch with us. Was absent too long between visits. We waited for second round of drinks until I asked again. I asked why we didn't get bread as the other tables did around us and he blamed it on some other staff instead of himself.

That's too much to spend for lousy service.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was amazing. We shared the lobster bisque, which was delicious. My partner had the crab cake which I'm not too familiar with but he said it was great and had lots of real crab not like other places. I had the swordfish topped with shirt rib. It was soooo delicious, cooked perfectly and both so tender, they literally just came off with my fork only.
We finished with some butterscotch dessert which I can't even describe but it was very decadent.
Our waiter was super attentive and charming, and when I mentioned it was my partner's birthday (I was kindof joking because I wanted him to choose dessert, it had passed weeks ago), he ran in the back and brought us two glasses of champagne :)
We also were sat right on the river side which was a pretty vantage at night.
All in all 5/5 stars, such romance, deliciousness, and fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Really enjoyed our dinner here and would come back for sure

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Perfect venue to celebrate my fiancé's milestone birthday. From the moment we stepped foot inside...the welcome, the ambiance, the smiles, the service (Milan was so attentive and all smiles)...to the moment we left, it was a beautiful, romantic evening. Thank you

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Celebrated my wifes birthday at a restaurant that made the night even more special, thank you.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Outstanding food and great setting. Service at times was slow but the party all enjoyed the evening!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Moshulu was an outstanding restaurant experience. Food terrific, history on menu was a fantastic dinner conversation piece. Ambiance due to history was excellent. It was a special experience to dine amongst so much history. Only think I could recommend better would be a quick boat tour for arriving guests that want it.

Tags: Organic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We had an amazing experience. Th entire staff went out of their way to treat us to a first class evening.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Brunch with my niece. Food was delicious however my poached eggs were over cooked, I requested just additional poached eggs in order to not send my whole eggs Benedict back and they still came out with solid yolk. I didn't want to complain and resend them back so I told our server they were fine. Our segvwr however provided great service and made the experience worthwhile even without my eggs being made correct twice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Went for Sunday Brunch. Really expected an experience from a top flight restaurant. I had been previously a few times for dinner and found food and service to very good.
Brunch was the opposite, service was very slow, and food was not worth the wait. There were 4 in our party and no one enjoyed their meal. Crab Eggs Benedict, poached eggs not done. Belgian waffle entrees, very ordinary and both came with burnt blackened bacon. Soft Shell Crab sandwich, that contained 2 very small soft shells that were overwhelmed by the doughy Brioche bun, bacon, and tomato and lettuce.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

It was quite an enjoyable experience. Was a bit deterred at first by the price of parking. Fortunately, the meter on the street offered a reprieve. The ship setting is different and opened the imagination to many possibilities. The food was good; and the bottomless champagne during the brunch was priceless.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food and Service were excellent. Always ask for Emmy to be our server

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We went there for our anniversary, the pressed tuna sushi appetizer was phenomenal. I had the crab cake which was one of the best I have had! My husband had the lobster roll which was also delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food and the service were impeccable and would highly recommend to friends. I would definitely return .

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The Moshulu staff and management gets a round of applause from me and my fiancé! They helped us celebrate her grandparents 57th wedding anniversary in such a special way along with going above and beyond to help me propose to my now fiancé! I would recommend this place any day to everyone interested. Such a great place and experience.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Our Waiter was exceptional! The only problem that we thought was odd, my son ordered the chocolate waffles and was told they were sold out. When we were finished with our meal we noticed a person sitting next to us had them. We didn't understand why we were told that if they were not available. We didn't complain because our meal was delicious either way!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Seriously the best overall dining experience i have had. A real cool spot in general with some well thought out food choices. The meal itself was so satisfying. The service (John), was over the top genuine, caring, knowledgeable, funny and entertaining!!!! Kudos to Management and Ownership!!!!
I understand the parking is not under your control, but it should be mentioned that it is steep($17).

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We decided to get there earlier than our reservation so we could sit upstairs outside on the deck. Upon arrival, we were declined entry to the deck because of a wedding. In fairness, they sat my party earlier than our reservation. The waitress took our drink order and then we waited 25 minutes for 4 drinks to appear. I must admit, I've NEVER had red sangria WITHOUT any fruit- this was a first for me. The evening didn't get much better.. One person in my party wanted a chocolate martini but was told they were out of Godiva chocolate so she couldn't have it. I wanted a Sambucca with my dessert, but guess what????? THEY WERE OUT OF THAT TOO! In fairness, they did bring my Frangelica, at no charge. We hadn't been back in 15+ years and we will never be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This was a great surprise date for me and my girlfriend. The food was delicious as well. My girlfriend was a little bit cold due to where we were seated at but overall a great experience and would definitely come again.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food, top notch service, wonderful view. I've been to the Moshulu a couple times and I have not one bad word about the restaurant. It is definitely my go to for special occasions. I hope they don't change a thing.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great service, great food and the best atmosphere Philly has offer !

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great Food , drink, service, Emmy was a very knowledgeable waitress.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 27, 2017

It was absolutely a fantastic experience. We thoroughly enjoyed the ambience, food and the service.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Our meal and drinks were very good. Our server, Miljan, was kind and generous with us. He gave great recommendations and took our dietary restriction to heart. This was for my fiancees birthday and it was a very nice time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.