Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About Moshulu

The Moshulu, the world's oldest and largest four-masted Tall Ship offers unsurpassed views for intimate to extraordinary dining aboard this Philadelphia landmark restaurant. Enjoy inventive and contemporary presentations of classic American Cuisine by Chef Anthony Bonett using the freshest, local ingredients available from the land and pristine seafood and shellfish paired with an extensive wine list.

401 South Columbus Blvd.
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Elegant Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch
10:00 AM to 2:30 PM

Dinner
Sunday - Thursday 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday 5:00 PM to 11:00 PM

Outdoor Decks and Bars open weather and private party permitting starting May 19th - October 1st. Monday - Thursday 3 PM, Friday & Sat 12 PM, Sunday 10 AM.

Cross Street:
Lombard Circle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 923-2500

Website:
http://www.moshulu.com/

Catering:
.

Parking Details:
Parking is available adjacent to the Moshulu for $17 per vehicle. Additional self-parking is also available across Columbus Blvd. Both lots are owned and operated by Penn's Landing. There is also 4 hour metered parking along Columbus Blvd. for $1 an hour.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Bonett

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Moshulu, the World’s oldest and largest four-masted Tall Ship offers unsurpassed views and a unique backdrop for intimate to extraordinary dining and celebrations. Our private dining rooms, outdoor open-aired and tented decks combined with delectable, award-wining American cuisine and impeccable service create the perfect setting for memorable events, please contact Jake Wade at jwade@moshulu.com

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

$60.00 per person, for a prefixed menu. Prices not including tax, gratuity, or beverages.

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 24, 2017

Details

$70.00 per person. Prices not including tax, gratuity. or beverages.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

3:30 - 6:45 $125.00 per person
7:00 - 11:00 $195.00 per person.
Prices do not include tax, gratuity, or beverages.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Moshulu, the World’s oldest and largest four-masted Tall Ship offers unsurpassed views and a unique backdrop for intimate to extraordinary dining and celebrations.

Moshulu Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (129)
Scenic View (119)
Special Occasion (111)
See All
Good for a Date (102)
Romantic (102)
Good for Anniversaries (87)
Great for Outdoor Dining (74)
Good for Birthdays (61)
Worth the Drive (49)
Quiet Conversation (48)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Cozy (34)
Fun (32)
Bar Seating (32)
Good for Groups (30)
Great for Brunch (29)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Business Meals (28)
Casual (27)
Happy Hour (27)
Hot Spot (24)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Authentic (20)
Seasonal (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Great for Lunch (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Late-night Find (16)
People Watching (15)
Tasting Menu (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Live Music (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tapas (3)
Vegan (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
4420 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined a day ago

The food was delicious !we ordered the kale salad , short rib dumplings , tuna tartar and sushi roll. The presentation of the food on the plates was beautiful. Service was outstanding . Definitely will be going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We were there on an overcast day. It wasn't busy and sat on the deck. The waitress was great! Food was great, a tad pricey, but their ship is GORGEOUS! A fantastic place to spend a Sunday drinking unlimited mimosas. I will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Great restaurant me and my date had a wonderful time

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Have been coming to this restaurant for years; it retains its quality in food, service & ambiance!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Went to celebrate my husbands birthday. The atmosphere and the food was phenomenal. Our waitress could've been a little quicker and attentive but overall excellent expierience

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The waiter & hostess were friendly, and the food was very good. I loved the the history of the ship, and the ambiance was wonderful!!

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding service in a special and unique environment! After a wonderful dinner we enjoyed a cocktail on the outdoor decktop bar, which was outstanding as well.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and our waiter was the best. Love the atmosphere and we will definitely go back one day.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The view was amazing at this restaurant and the service was amazing. However the food was not good at all.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

My friends and I were looking for a place in the city for Sunday noontime Brunch that's not overly formal. We wanted drinks but didn't want BYOB and not a corner bar or tavern. We wanted a view and potential outdoor garden but didn't want to sit on a busy sidewalk. We found all of that here and were pleasantly surprised to find other diners were nicely for the brunch, The service was good and friendly and lots of oversight by the hostess/manager. She was very attentive and helpful. We will return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, People Watching, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The server that I had took entirely too long to attend to us. We were there 3hrs for brunch in large part because there were large gaps in service. There was so much time in between our starter (smoked salmon) and getting served our entree, that she totally forgot my order. She did quickly remedied the situation but to be honest by this time we both had lost our appetite

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food and setting was amazing and they had a bar on the boat out door with music playing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Underwhelmed by the responsiveness of the service and wait staff. The food was good and high quality, but the service killed the appeal.
We were sat without a drink menu, like all of the tables around us and had to ask for it twice. The table next to us was greeted, and drinks served before we saw a waiter. From there it took a while to get our drink orders so drinks came out halfway through our meal.

For a place that’s highly touted, this was an underwhelming experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

It was very pleasant. The service was great. The food was wonderful. My fiance really enjoyed herself. She said it was a rememerable experience.

Tags: Tapas, Spicy, Organic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Wonderful anniversary dinner! Our waiter was so great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Great atmosphere. Especially the top deck bar. Very good appetizers

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2017

I had a great time with my girlfriend, the was food excellent, service was great, waitress was awesome, 3 Stars to her 😆

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Had a great time on the boat, food was delicious, service was impeccable. Will be frequenting this establishment again in near future.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Casual, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Vegan, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Dylan was our server and he was exceptional. Our smoked salmon BLT was delicious besides the over use of horseradish that was almost unbearably spicy. Mac and cheese was delicious. Lobster bisque was a pretty presentation, yet overall flavorless with a few pieces of over cooked lobster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

The food and service were great. The manager was very involved and made sure everything was correct, but we had no issues, from seating to paying our bill. Will be back for Brunch and would love to try Dinner too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

We decided to make a Sunday Funday and head to the Moshulu for Sunday Brunch. The day was magnificent, the food was delicious and the server, Nicole, was spot on! The endless mimosas were, indeed, endless, and there was no rush to get us on our way!

I recommend this spot for a guiltless indulgence, as the prices were a little high... but with the whole of the day, worth it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 28, 2017

The food is good, however it is very pricey. Everything is a la carts except bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Great experience waiter was a bit snooty and off putting but otherwise excellent experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 26, 2017

My mom and I vacationed in Philly. Unique experience! Glad I found it online! Server was great and I loved the music. A gorgeous restaurant which I posted on Facebook. I wish we had something like this in Cleveland ... Great place to watch a ball game, for a date ... for a history buff!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Beautiful location and dining room. Table service was very good. Reception Staff is worthless. If you want to sit outside, they don’t take reservations, you have to talk to at least 3 people to find out if you can, and none of them seem to have any idea of what their job is - to seat people.

It’s not a good value, but that’s obvious given the spot. The wine list is amazingly well curated, if expensive (even by Philadelphia standards). Again, not surprising about the price, but we were very surprised at how good the list actually was. Food is fine. Location, ambiance, and table service are the reason to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The wife and I have never been to Moshulu, though we always drove by there whenever we take cruises or tool around in that part of the city. So for this date night I said what the heck, let's give this overpriced joint a try and see if it's worth it. The wait staff was nice, albeit not as responsive as I'd have liked for an upscale joint, the food was decent, portions weren't too giant, and our tummies were satisfied. The fries were especially yummy.

In all, our 4 appetizers and 2 drinks cost about $93 (before tip). Oh yes, I am not kidding. They charged us $5.50 for a glass of Sprite, for instance. That's FIVE DOLLARS above wholesale. I call it the "Upscale Dining Ambiance Tax"!

Being the practical person I am, no single meal-for-two is worth almost $100 unless it includes unicorn tears, fresh West African giant snail flown in same day, or a free massage session (with or without Happy Ending) from the big-busted waitress. However my wife LOVED the ambiance and the less-than-chaotic Sunday evening atmosphere. We were in and out within 2 hours. Took a walk by the pier, and drove back home. It was a lovely low-key night. Give Moshulu a shot... just make sure you can afford it, LOL!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Seasonal, Vegan, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Haven't had a bad meal here yet, and the ambiance is second to none in creative coziness! I often bring out-of-town guests here and they are always impressed by the ships elegance and rustic charm! I hope it sticks around for many years! A real gem in a city of great restaurants!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We go here frequently although this time the service was a little under par. Overall though their food is excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Loved it people were friendly! Food was pretty good

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

The service was awful. We waited forever, for drinks. We were rushed the entire time by staff. We weren't even done eating and someone would come by and try to take our plates. Not to mention the only good thing we had to eat was the crab mac n cheese. The steak I had was chewy and I was told it would cut like butter. My boyfriends fish didn't flake or cut without a knife and it was dry. I was highly disapointed in my experience and I will never go back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Parking lot was full due to a private party on the boat and still took 15+ mins to get seated with a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Loved the view and the great service. Our waitress was Great. Will definitely return

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2017

I am glad that I ate at the Moshulu. How ever the steak I ordered was no worth the price I payed. I odered the steak medium rare, it came out medium well. When I pointed it out to the waiter he insisted that it was cooked correctly and that he could send it back but the steak would cold and raw in the middle. For a sixty dollar steak you don't argue with the costumer! The truffle oil fries and blueberry pie where awesome. It would not be high on my list to return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Great service, very personable staff. The outdoor deck dining was casual but sophicated. Delicious food and presentation

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Dylan was great and the crab Benedict was heaven .... loved spending Sunday funday on the moshulu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We were celebrating my fiance's birthday and decided to come in for a nice brunch. I've dined at the Moshulu for brunch once before, but again, was beyond delighted with the food, view, and the above-and-beyond service from our server, Gary.

Thanks again for a wonderful Sunday Brunch!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent experience at Moshulu. Food was top notch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Excellent service. Promptly seated even though we arrived 30 minutes late. Enjoyed celebrating my friend's birthday with great food, strong cocktails and a waterfront view.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

It was great and our waiter was absolutely perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

fantastic food, sensational service, beautiful view. I enjoyed every second dining at this fine establishment.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.