Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About Moshulu

The Moshulu, the world's oldest and largest four-masted Tall Ship offers unsurpassed views for intimate to extraordinary dining aboard this Philadelphia landmark restaurant. Enjoy inventive and contemporary presentations of classic American Cuisine by Chef Anthony Bonett using the freshest, local ingredients available from the land and pristine seafood and shellfish paired with an extensive wine list.

401 South Columbus Blvd.
Philadelphia, PA 19106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Elegant Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch
10:00 AM to 2:30 PM

Dinner
Sunday - Thursday 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday 5:00 PM to 11:00 PM

Outdoor Decks and Bars open weather and private party permitting starting May 19th - October 1st. Monday - Thursday 3 PM, Friday & Sat 12 PM, Sunday 10 AM.

Cross Street:
Lombard Circle

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 923-2500

Website:
http://www.moshulu.com/

Catering:
.

Parking Details:
Parking is available adjacent to the Moshulu for $17 per vehicle. Additional self-parking is also available across Columbus Blvd. Both lots are owned and operated by Penn's Landing. There is also 4 hour metered parking along Columbus Blvd. for $1 an hour.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Bonett

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Moshulu, the World’s oldest and largest four-masted Tall Ship offers unsurpassed views and a unique backdrop for intimate to extraordinary dining and celebrations. Our private dining rooms, outdoor open-aired and tented decks combined with delectable, award-wining American cuisine and impeccable service create the perfect setting for memorable events, please contact Jake Wade at jwade@moshulu.com

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

$60.00 per person, for a prefixed menu. Prices not including tax, gratuity, or beverages.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Moshulu, the World’s oldest and largest four-masted Tall Ship offers unsurpassed views and a unique backdrop for intimate to extraordinary dining and celebrations.

Moshulu Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (139)
Scenic View (124)
Special Occasion (116)
See All
Romantic (114)
Good for a Date (104)
Good for Anniversaries (96)
Great for Outdoor Dining (70)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Worth the Drive (48)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Fun (38)
Cozy (32)
Bar Seating (31)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Great for Brunch (27)
Casual (26)
Happy Hour (26)
Business Meals (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Authentic (22)
Hot Spot (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Seasonal (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
People Watching (15)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Disabled Access (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Live Music (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
4384 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service, very personable staff. The outdoor deck dining was casual but sophicated. Delicious food and presentation

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We were celebrating my fiance's birthday and decided to come in for a nice brunch. I've dined at the Moshulu for brunch once before, but again, was beyond delighted with the food, view, and the above-and-beyond service from our server, Gary.

Thanks again for a wonderful Sunday Brunch!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent experience at Moshulu. Food was top notch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service. Promptly seated even though we arrived 30 minutes late. Enjoyed celebrating my friend's birthday with great food, strong cocktails and a waterfront view.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

It was great and our waiter was absolutely perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

fantastic food, sensational service, beautiful view. I enjoyed every second dining at this fine establishment.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Because of the location and how long the Moshulu has been in business it does not make an effort to take care of customers. The server did nothing to make you feel as if you were her guest for the evening as all good businesses should do. Management and other employees walked by without greeting or acknowledging customers with the exception of the bus boy. The menu is short and rather simple. Seating by the water on the deck was enjoyable but overall my wife and I we're disappointed with our experience, we will not be returning.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

It was a fun place. Enjoyed doing something different on a sunny day!

Tags: Waterfront, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our waiter was engaging and hilarious. He jumped in on our GIF making fun in the lobby afterward!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I took out of town friends for lunch on the waterfront. It was a lovely setting and a great day to sit outside. I would not go again because the food was very expensive - 24 or more for a hamburger 21 for chicken sandwhich? Of course, you are paying for view which I am happy to pay extra for but the prices were ridiculous and the menu very sparse a lunch. The waitress was amazing.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Our server was very attentive and kind. The food was outstanding and the view was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Very expensive food and drinks to be served in plastic cups.

Tags: Happy Hour, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Over all good experience. Fireworks display at penns landing was an excellent add on. Good open air bar and great seating for couples by the window.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I would recommend Moshula for a good meal but I would warn anyone about how much noise they would have to deal with.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was just ok. Overcooked steaks, underdressed management, and overpriced, for the quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

My most recent experience was great as usual when it comes to food and atmosphere . My server was also great. Waiting more then 30 min after my reservation time for a two top was extreamly frustrating , that's why I call ahead and make reservations in the first place . I would not have paid for a ten dollar Uber if I had an extra 30 min to walk. Then they gave me a no show on open table which makes me look bad. I was there and have the debit transaction over 100$ to show for itt. Still. A great brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Loved the ambiance - felt like I was on the Titanic. Had a great time reading a book while enjoying brunch overlooking the harbour. Went up to have a snoop around the deck as they were setting up for a wedding, just a beautiful venue! Food was delicious. Dylan was an excellent waiter, very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely recommend as a fun brunch to have in Philly :)

Go early though - it was getting very busy by 11.30am when I was leaving.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Went for our anniversary and had a great evening. Food & service was excellent

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This was my third visit. As before, the restaurant was beautiful. Organized stations, clean and inviting. The food was excellent. Our table started with the roasted red beet salad and short rib dumplings. Entrees were the crab cake, French dip and the burger. Again all excellent. For desert we all had the Meyer Lemon Creme Brulee. Amazing. Wanted more.
We did arrive early before the dinner seating, so we had to wait a little. Hostess was very pleasent. Our server was very good. Attentive, but not annoying. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Really neat place to eat... we were sat on the inside so not really a view to die for.

Drinks were great.:. I would stay away from the spicy peach, it was not great, but the Maybellene smash was off the charts great. The wedge salad was big enough for 2 people to share, the blue cheese was amazing, and I don't really like blue cheese, so kudos! Tuna crab roll was good. The 10 oz burger OMG, might just be worth the price of it! Thai Steak and noodle salad was good, French dip was good, I wish I liked seafood bc the summer roll looked amazing. The desserts were good.. took a while to get those. The sundae for 2 in my world could be a Sundae for 1.

Service itself was okay. I think our servers name was George. He was very basic, did the proper things a server is suppose to do, I didn't like I had to drink everyone else's water at the table though bc my glass was empty. Getting the check was a bit difficult as well. I wouldn't come back for his service
However, I would absolutely come back.. I was impressed with the food and the drinks. I want to experience the deck outside and the views more next time, And walk around and check out the ship

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Went there to enjoy the last meal if the summer before our kids head off to college. This place had everything - from an intriguing historical background to perfectly comfortable seating to suit any mood to outstanding food. The wait staff was exceptional and paid attention to detail - I waitered in college in a five star restaurant and knew a lot of subtleties of serving and was quite pleased to see them mastered here. Overall we couldn't have picked a more perfect or memorable spot to cap off our summer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

It was my boyfriends and I one year anniversary so we decided to go out some place nice for lunch.We we're overall disappointed with the food and service. We both ordered burgers which took over about an hour to get.My boyfriends bottom bun on the burger broke in half as he picked it up so everything like fell apart.Also our waiter only came to take our order and give us our check he didn't check up on us we actually saw him on his phone. Very overrated and overpriced.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great service and amazing food! Good atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Musty odor is overwhelming + noisy acoustics.

Called ahead to arrange for husband's birthday. Was assured a card and chocolate dessert would be available as a surprise. Checked with hostess upon arrival and was told it was arranged. Asked server twice and she said, "I will see what I can do"! This was after hostess told me the server was notified.

Server brought tiny scoop of mango sorbet and no card.

Hostess did nothing when I told her about the situation.

A tiny scoop of sorbet is pitiful and demonstrates their service.

Went to Mid-Town cafe and enjoyed a delicious slice of chocolate cakes served with a smile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 30, 2017

i took my family here our 20th anniversary. its the end of august so we decided to sit outside at the deck. appertizers was great but very small portion for $18 , my rib-eye steak was so dry. not worth it to pay $58 for it. im not sure why they donot serve bread with butter for dinner. maybe because we sit in the deck. not dining area. also i wasnot impress when they serve our alcohol in plastic cup.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Drinks & dinner on an historic tall ship right next to Old City Philadelphia. Can't ask for much more than that! Food and service were great. Ambiance can't be beat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

The meals were good. The calamari was very very salty. Entrees were ok . The quality did not match the price . Service was superb.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Been awhile since we've dined here. Pretty much what we remembered. We were first seated at this table by the river view. Would have been great except the slope of the boat made the seating funky. We were promptly moved to a huge booth which made us feel a bit guilty but since it was early, we dug in, stretched out and ordered our drinks. My wife judges her cocktail on how long it takes her to finish. More alcohol, lasts longer. Well she gulped down the 1st. I ordered a specialty drink which I didn't particularly care for. My wife's 2nd drink was better and I settled for a glass of white which I enjoyed. We ordered a beet salad which was good, a lamb slider was great and the seafood plateau, which consisted of fresh seafood and assorted sushi rolls. We saved room for dessert, ordered 2 and took one home. Not a bad meal but probably won't return for awhile. We'll leave it for the tourists.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 28, 2017

We did the restaurant week menu and were very happy with our choices. Great food. Wonderful service. I would highly recommend this restaurant. I'm from out of town and been here four times in the past two years!!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Took friends out to try restaurant week for the first time and we all left still hungry. The portions were pretty small besides the cake. Our waiter was super nice but other than that the lighting sucked and felt like it was way too bright . I'm not in a hurry to go back here at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The service was absolutely horrendous. I'm super laid back but from the moment we got there to the moment we left we were confronted by the worst service I've ever experienced in all of my life. It is nothing more than a tourist trap used to scan people out of their money. This is not a good representation of Philadelphia food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Heard the hype about Moshulu for years thought I would give it a try during restaurant week. Awlful service. The food was good and waterfront view was nice but can't get over how terrible the service was. Had one drink before dinner and as never asked if we wanted another. Had to get the hostess to find my server to get the check. Restaurant week is supposed to give you an experience that would make you return. Not so much.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

My wife & I were there for our first year anniversary. The staff was aware and treated us with the utmost courtesy. The manager stopped at our table to greet us. Overall it was a great foodie experience. When we received our check they took off the price of our drinks. Thank you all for an unforgettable evening.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Seasonal, Fun, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2017

This was my first time dining at Moshulu. I'm fairly new to the area. I thought the food was quite good. In fact, I didn't finish my meal, so I took it home to enjoy later in the evening.
I plan to make a return visit in the near future.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Sunday brunch was exceptional. A birthday was the occasion. Our waiter was more than accommodating. We will definitely return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2017

My date and I sat on the deck for brunch, it was such a beautiful day… And the server Tiffany was incredibly helpful and patient. We would absolutely come back again and again and again. There was a manager who was wearing a cream and light blue dress with short hair that stoped by a few times to check on us. She seemed so interested in how happy the guests were. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

The ambiance was great, our waiter was also fantastic. The food overall was just okay, and certainly not worth the prices. I ordered my steak medium, however it came out rare. I sent it back but was not overall satisfied, but since my date was half-way through her meal I pushed through and ate it. The waiter did give me a lobster bisque soup for my inconvenience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Everything was great the food, service and atmosphere.
the only Exception was the wine we order was not chilled properly .
The wine was at room temperature should been chilled .
Only downfall for the evening was bottle of wine everything else was great

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Had a great time, food was excellent! Service was great. Our waiter was very personable and friendly. Atomosphere was nice.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fun, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Casual, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.