About Morton's The Steakhouse - Palm Desert

Morton's The Steakhouse, the nation's premier steakhouse group, specializes in classic, hearty fare, serving generous portions of USDA prime aged beef, as well as fresh fish, lobster and chicken entrees. The menu features a variety of favorite cuts, including a 24 ounce porterhouse, which is the house specialty; a 16 ounce New York Strip and a 12 ounce double cut filet.

74-880 Country Club Drive
Palm Desert, CA 92260
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Bar: Daily at 5:00pm

Dining Room:
Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Cook Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 340-6865

Website:
http://www.mortons.com/

Catering:
Private and group dining available. Contact our dedicated Sales and Marketing Manager to plan your next business or social event. Hosting a party at your home or office? Ask about Morton's Prime To Go and Prime Platters!

Parking Details:
Private lot shared by all tenants of Ralph's Market Shopping Center also available.

Public Transit:
Country Club Drive

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Morton's in Palm Desert hosts a variety of special events featuring fine wine & spirits, the best steak and a great time! For more information, visit http://www.mortons.com/palmdesert

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Start a New Thanksgiving Tradition!

Make your Morton's reservation for Thursday, November 23rd and treat your family to a perfect steak dinner. Open at 1pm. Hours subject to change.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For those special occasions, Morton’s The Steakhouse offers luxuriously appointed private dining rooms and group dining accommodations. Our expert staff is dedicated to helping you plan the perfect event – whether it’s a business meeting or a birthday celebration.

Morton's The Steakhouse - Palm Desert Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Good for Birthdays (13)
Romantic (11)
Business Meals (10)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Cozy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Spicy (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
1353 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

Food and service were very good. It is a little dark inside and the main dinning area can get rather loud. I think the price tends to limit this to a special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

We always enjoy dining at Morton’s not so much for the food but the staff is like family everyone from the time you get there you are treated special.
We are very saddened to hear that Josh Soto is leaving Morton’s he is a very big part why we go to Morton’s. He knows so much about wines and has such a great personality he will be greatly missed but we wish him well.
Thank you Josh for making our birthdays and anniversary’s so special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Food was nice but the place was LOUD.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 3, 2017

The service as well as the food is match by no other steakhouse in the desert. Simply the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Consistent with great food and great service. Wonderful wine selection and the best steaks ever.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

we visit you on our birthdays, but this year no special menu or photos.!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Very disappointed with the first half of this visit. After being seated, it took a good 10 minutes before anyone at all came to the table, not even to fill water glasses. Ordered the Escargot, and it was so over cooked, we did not eat it. They did take it off the bill. The salad was fair. Fortunately, my Porterhouse was fabulous and the cook perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The evening was perfect as far as the food being unbelievably amazing. We were celebrating our anniversary and a very large party came in and every one took notice. There was a few large groups so the dining was very noisy and loud conversations. I'm glad we got in there earlier so that we could talk among ourselves without shouting at each to speak over the noise level. They should have bigger booths with some kind of noise insulation. Our server was very pleasant and nice to talk to, and our food was done to perfection.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We have eaten here several times before and have celebrated birthdays twice before, however this time we felt rushed and my steak was on the tough side. We were not happy with the twice baked potatoes. They came out as an au gratin potato. Not to our liking. The last time we celebrated a birthday was last year, the staff took it upon themselves to make up a menu with our name printed at the top with the date and Happy Birthday followed by the birthday person's name. They also took our photo and presented it at the end of the dinner as a comparative. We did not get any of that attention this year, although they did give us a free desert. I think we will be looking for a new place for next year's birthday. We have always raved about this restaurant before this.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2017

I rarely write reviews, but this place was excellent in every way. The food and selection was good, the food prepared perfectly and the service was beyond reproach.

The only negative I can mention was that the group next to us was very loud--but that was not Morton's fault.

This was for a birthday and was handled beautifully!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Had a very good dinner with just a few goofs from the kitchen. Our waiter made up for them.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Awesome service, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 24, 2017

This evening's dining was, as expected, outstanding. Four of us and we each ordered a different main course. All were terrific!
The service was also great. Turned out our waiter was from our home area back in PA, and he was a professional. Turned me on to a new Pinot noir that wasn't real pricey, but was very good.
If I have to indicate a complaint, and I really don't have one, I found the background music a bit too loud (probably because the restaurant wasn't crowded). Not a big deal.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 20, 2017

For the price it is not that great, probably my least favorite of the steakhouses. However the service was great. None of our food impressed us but we still had a nice time. Overall average experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Steak was ok, but baked potato $13.00 was terrible. A steak house that expensive that serves a dried out baked potato luke warm at best. $13.00 Asparagus side terrible too. About 50 cents worth.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 20, 2017

At the beginning of the evening, the waiter sat in our booth next to us. With brochure in hand, he spent 3-5 minutes explaining the benefits of paying $25 to join Morton's loyalty program. After he left, I told my wife, "I came here for a nice dinner, not for a time share presentation." We thought dinner was taking too long to be served, then the waiter explained it would take another ten minutes, but apparently that was okay because "You seem like people who like to take your time." When the food arrived, I immediately noticed the plate and all the food was at room temperature. My steak was not medium-well as ordered and the scallops were uncooked (translucent) inside. The food was taken back and another employee returned a few minutes later with my steak saying I could start eating it while the scallops were being cooked. I then found that steak to be exactly as it was the first time (not cooked medium well, pink/red inside). When the scallops returned, I told the server the steak was exactly the same. The returned scallops were also uncooked (translucent) inside. The server looked at them and said, "Yes, they are uncooked."I returned the entire meal. The manager came over and moved into our booth, sitting right next to me (does any employee ask permission?). The manager kept saying, "I'll make this right" while annoyingly accentuating his words by tapping my arm and shoulder with his hand. The waiter returned and, again, allowed himself to move into our booth and sit next to me. He said , "It does happen, not all the time, but it does happen." That does not make me feel any better, because it happened it ME. It was MY evening that Morten's failed to make a positive dining experience. My meal, appropriately, was deleted from the bill with a notation, "UNDERCOOKED." To add insult to injury, as the water picked up our bill, he asked, "Have you decided if you want to join our loyalty program?" Yes. He really asked me. Back to LG's Steakhouse...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was excellent. Music was way too loud. Beautiful space. Pricey but ok for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We have dined here on several occasions and usually have had a wonderful experience. This occasion was a bit disappointing. We requested a booth but were not given one. The restaurant was full and extremely noisy, not conducive for an upscale, white tablecloth environment. We could hardly hear each other speak. Our server, while friendly was not very attentive. On the food side, everything was prepared perfectly and came out in a timely fashion. We will think twice about returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Always a great time visiting here! From arrival to departure, we LOVE it! Thank you :)

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Very disappointed. I told our waiter that my wife has a seafood allergy. Started with the short rib tacos, and a couple flights of wine. I ordered the lobster bisque and a mixed combo. My wife ordered a salad and a fillet, along with some side items. When I was served my lobster bisque, he brought two spoons in case my wife wanted to taste. I had to remind him again. I don't think he relayed the message to the chef. Spent the night in the emergency room.
A $305 check, and a much more expensive hospital visit. First time Morton's has let me down.
I've had waiters at other restaurants reassure me and sometimes the chef will even come out. Please, if anyone in your party does have an allergy be careful of cross-contamination. Do I give Morton's another chance? I most likely won't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We really enjoy going to the Palm Desert Morton's. Josh always makes us feel special and the service is top-notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 5, 2017

BEST STEAK IN TOWN DONE TO PERFECTION , SERVICE IMPECABLE A BIT PRICEY BUT WORTH IT. D

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Delicious Food!! Wonderful ambience!!! Beautiful bathrooms. I loved this place. It's upper scale so don't expect a $25 meal here. At least $50-$60 will get you fed with the best food. The food catergory is STEAKHOUSE, if you know what that implies. Thank you very much.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Ribeye steak, Morton salad, asparagus were great. Filet, lobster bisque and chocolate souffle were OK. Au gratin potatoes were just fair. Service was slow due to lack of help. Big issue was the restaurant's decision to add a 3% "surcharge" to all bills for "increased costs." This involuntary fee was understandably and apparently universally opposed and can't help Morton's business or service personnel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Morton's is always amazeballs. Our server, Rocky, was the best. Oysters, Filet, Crab legs, salads, asparagus, creamed spinach, soufflé.... so full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 25, 2017

So sad that a high end steak house takes so little care and attention
Very pour service! Zero attention to detail
Food delivered before we had cutlery!!
No wine knowledge
We arrived with an older person who needed assistance with a walker..... 2 guys out side (not busy) ... they could not have care less
All fine if the price point is $10 a person but unacceptable is if the price point is $100 per person
Shocking

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Great food with various specials that are reasonable and plenty of food for the price.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 23, 2017

My favorite dinner hang out. The best steak and seafood in the valley. Many try but can't match the food quality. Outstanding service.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 23, 2017

After going to a another well-known steak house located at Hwy 111 and Washington in La Quinta for the past 10 years, we decided to celebrate a special dinner for six Morton's. This was our first dining experience at this restaurant. Quite simply, the place is spectacular. The moment you walk in, the décor tells you you're in a special place. The service is top-rate and the food is far superior to that other steak house in La Quinta. No need to place a napkin on your shirt as your steak is placed on a sizzling plate--Morton's does not need that little show. The food is hot, fresh and delicious and they offer an extensive wine list. Wished we would have tried Morton's years ago. It is now our first choice for a quality steak and seafood dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Food was good we sat at the bar, Jose was our bartender and he did a wonderful job. No complaints here. Highly recommended delicious seafood and soup and salad and anyhing and everything else you order here!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 17, 2017

This was the next meal and service I ever had! Exceeded all expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Always great food and great service. Feels like home.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This is the second time they over cooked my steak. :( Not cool. But the customer service was again appropriate at least. The server and manager offered to fire a new fillet but I declined as I was hungry. They bought a desert for us instead. My husband's meal on the other hand was again great. Last time his ribeye was perfect but not my meal and this time his lamb was perfect but not my meal. Oh well, at least one of us enjoyed a good entree! Also sides were not worth the cost but the crab cakes were great as were our happy hour drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The ambience was amazing. We were greeted by Josh, he did an awesome job, probably checked in four or five times with us. Our waiter Oscar was amazing. America, our hostess was terrific also. The food was outstanding, no complaints at all. It was our 21st wedding anniversary and they made it extra special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Tasteless steak ordered medium plus. Came out raw. Came back rare after sending it back. Brussel sprouts barely cooked and tasteless. Salmon disgusting....drenched in balsamic. The 2-inch crab cake is a joke. This Mortons location is the absolute worst.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Awesome steak. Best brussel sprouts ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I've been to Morton's in Costa Mesa. The service and the food were just mediocre. I was happily surprised that this Morton's in Palm Desert was quite the opposite. Service and food excellent! We will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Best service EVER! From the time we walked up to the restaurant to the time we walked out, we were treated like royalty. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 23, 2017

You have to love a lobster special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.