About Morton's The Steakhouse - Indianapolis

41 E. Washington St
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Morton's The Steakhouse, the nation's premier steakhouse group, specializes in classic, hearty fare, serving generous portions of USDA prime aged beef, as well as fresh fish, lobster and chicken entrees. The menu features a variety of favorite cuts, including a 24 ounce porterhouse, which is the house specialty; a 16 ounce New York Strip and a 12 ounce double cut filet.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Bar: 5:00pm Daily


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday 5:30pm - 11:00pm
Sunday 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Pennsylvania

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 229-4700

Website:
http://www.mortons.com/

Parking Details:
Valet available for $7.00.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Morton's in Indianapolis hosts a variety of special events featuring fine wine & spirits, the best steak and a great time! For more information, visit http://www.mortons.com/indianapolis

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For those special occasions, Morton’s The Steakhouse offers luxuriously appointed private dining rooms and group dining accommodations. Our expert staff is dedicated to helping you plan the perfect event – whether it’s a business meeting or a birthday celebration.

Morton's The Steakhouse - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (52)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Special Occasion (49)
See All
Romantic (39)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Cozy (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Business Meals (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Private Room (12)
Authentic (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Fun (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Casual (6)
Historic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great Beer (3)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Live Music (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1530 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined a day ago

Steak looked great, was prepared right, and was very tasty and tender to cut. Salad on the other hand was not very good. The signature manhattan drink was very good and then read was hot and also tasted very good. Service was ok. Waiter was nice, but just felt awkward. The whole staff was very attentive though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Friendly staff, pleasant ambiance.

Tuna Tower: very good

Soup: slightly cool

Entree's: Steaks very good. Seafood (Salmon) very "fishy."

Deserts very good (soufflé , sundae)

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

Haven't been to a Mortons in years. We were driving through Indianapolis and couldn't get a reservation where we wanted so decided to go here. We are so glad we did. Expensive -yes. But they still make the best steak ever. How do they do it ??? The filet was perfect, and so was the creamed spinach and Caprese salad. Will go there again for sure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

My steak was perfectly cooked to medium well. It was tender and juicy with just a touch of pink.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

I felt the food was

Average and the portions were on the small side for the price you pay. A teaspoon of garlic butter on the steak was an extra $6. Ouch! Service was good and a very nice wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything about this place was amazing! The food was fantastic and our waitress was perfect! We had questions about which wine we should get and she was so helpful! They cooked our meats perfectly; we both walked away very happy and full! It is a little pricy, but perfect for a celebration if you want a nice romantic place you can really treat yourself

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent service and food was very good and we'll cooked overall awesome experience.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Best food in Ind. Would recommend to anyone for any event.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Megan, our stewardess was fantastic. The food and drinks were pricey but good.

Not a place you could afford to go to frequently.

Tags: Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Every thing was great however the steaks were over cooked (not as requested) but still very tasty and tender

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We have always enjoyed Morton's and consider them to be the best restaurant in Indy. However this time they seemed to be a step in the wrong direction. The service was good but not great. There was too much time between courses. Food was excellent but "plate presentation"could have been better. The overall ambiance of the restaurant is good but getting somewhat dated. An upgrade/remodel is due. We will continue to visit Morton's and still highly recommend them.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was my first time dining at Morton's. The food and atmosphere were great. Krista, our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable of the menu. I had the filet and it was tender a tasty, cooked perfectly. I would definitely recommend Morton's for anyone looking for a good steakhouse experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Krista our waitress was outstanding and the food was great

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Morton's was okay. The food was good but I wouldn't say it was any better than the other steakhouses in Indianapolis. I thought it was fairly loud and the service was okay. Had to ask for the bread and a little slow to clear the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent as always. Omar, our server, was outstanding

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Despite a table of 6 men "really" enjoying their dinner (because you can hear them across the restaurant,) dinner experience is best as always. Fantastic service and wonderful food! We go to Morton for special occasions like birthday, anniversary, and special achievements. They have never disappoint. Steak was done perfectly and Megan's service was excellent. Absolutely fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Out server Brittany did a fantastic job letting us enjoy a relaxing evening and not rushing us at all. Food was fabulous best filet ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Awesome as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Yes, Morton's is pricey; however, we felt the quality of the food and the service made it worth every penny.

Our sever, Christina, made the evening especially enjoyable. She was knowledgeable, helpful and gave us just the right amount of attention.

Morton's is not a place we can afford to go to all the time, but its definitely the first place we will think of when we're looking to treat ourselves again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Waiter was off his game that night as he didn't know your drink menu and forgot to key in our lobster order. Also took him a long time to get back around to our table after we were served .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Devour Downtown

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Private Room, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

steaks were very good, sides were also good after we got them, we had ate half of our steaks before our sides came.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Sarah is a fantastic server!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

For my first time to visit Morton's the experience was AOne!! We had a wonderful waiter, Kea and he was very helpful. We both had the steak and it was the best I have had, and the dessert was to good for words.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Both our steaks were prepared exactly the way we like them. The State Street Manhattan was delicious as where both our wine selections. Our server was polite and provided very good service. Morton's is the kind of place that defines a great steakhouse.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We were their for the devour Indy event the steak was excellent melted in your mouth good very tasty this second time we been to mortons thank you

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went for my birthday, which was incidentally Devour Downtown time. Brittany was our waitress and she was amazing. My husband and I were both very happy with the whole experience. I received a free dessert for my birthday, which was the carrot cake. It was so big and delicious. Both my husband and I agree that we will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This was our first trip to Morton's. First we took advantage of the valet parking. We were seated within a few minutes of arriving. Food and service were top notch. The filet was very good and so was the extensive list of adult beverages. It wasn't a quiet place which was fine with us as we were meeting with friends but overall everything was great.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Downtown Devour Indy. Love to take advantage of great food, ambiance and great value.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Went there for our 10 year anniversary. Server was Luke. He was not only friendly, but good at taking care of everything. Answered all our questions. Best part was his way of answering. When my wife asked if something was possible, his very quick response was "anything is possible". I noticed he also helped other servers without skipping us. The entire staff was quick and attentive. I feel it was worth the money.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We did not expect to be served store bought bread at this price point. We weren't the only table that didn't finish. It was not made today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Absolutely love this place. The food is always amazing and the service is always spot on. The best steak you will ever eat!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 18, 2017

This is the second time that I have dined at Morton's in Indianapolis. The waiter was awesome and very attentive. My steak was cooked perfectly. The host came by several times and checked in on my meal. I would highly recommend the Indianapolis Morton's. You will not be disappointed. By the way, my first visit (6 months earlier) was just as good.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Over exceeded my expectations. It was my husbands 30th Birthday and we were blown away by the hospitality shown. There were personalized menus, confetti, a personalized picture taken, and a complimentary desert. The staff was beyond helpful, friendly, and welcoming. I would recommend Mortons for any special event or occasion. Also the food was all perfection, flavorful and melt in your mouth good. I don't think you could go wrong at Mortons!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Probably the best steak place in Indy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Exceptional, knowledgeable service and definitely one of the best filets I've ever had.

Don't miss the delicious sides and salads!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 10, 2017

This was our 3 rd time at Morton's. We invited some close friends out to dinner with us . They had never been. We all agree the food was great. The steak was so tender it melted in our months. My month is watering just thinking about it. The service was great also along with the valet parking. Keep up the good work. Everyone was so friendly. Thanks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Delicious food. Everything was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Still the very best steak and sides in town! Eat your heart out Ruth Chris, St. Elmo's, Flemmings and Eddie Merlot!

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Good food and people were gracious. It was a little awkward at times as we were in a conversation and were interrupted by our servers.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We opted for the multi-course $35 specials. I went with the traditional filet, but added the Black truffle butter garnish to it. My husband went with the dirty (bone in) pork chop. It's great Cajun seasoning, although not really spicy. It was perfect!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

One of the better steakhouses around, I think they offer a much better steak then most.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We have eaten at other Morton locations and once again this location in Indy did not disappoint. Everything was excellent wonderful steaks and fish. Also great sides highly recommend the truffle fries. For dessert get the chocolate lava cake it is the best. Plan on spending some money if you don't want to skimp.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We loved the service and food was traditional. The ambiance was lacking. The restaurant was "stuck" in 70's mode.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Mortons is known for steak and I highly recommend ordering it! The filet literally melted in my mouth. Best steak in Indianapolis!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Hands down the best place to get a steak cooked at an elite level. I have cut back eating red meat, but I will never turn down a steak from Morton's.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We celebrated our 30th anniversary. They personalized our menu with the date at the top. The food and service was top notch, a bit more pricey than Ruth Chris, but we loved the coziness. It was in a basement; that was a surprise; therefore, no windows. There was an elavator and a coat check for you. It was a little too dark, so we used our phones to see the menu. The chocolate cake was divine! They gifted us with the dessert of our choice. (That was unexpected and appreciated. ) We would go back for similar celebrations only, due to the price.

Tags: Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The bone in veal chop was amazing as was the Brussels sprouts. The service was perfect and the evening could not have been any better. This is an awesome restaurant perfect food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 17, 2016

For the last 4 years, we have taken our children and their spouses to downtown Indianapolis during the holidays to take in a show at the IRT or Yuletide followed by a fabulous dinner at Morton's. We look forward to this tradition every Christmas. The food is impeccable, my son was so impressed that he was able to cut his steak with his fork! That is a tender filet!! All of the sides were just as wonderful, as well as our drinks.

Our server was Caroline and she was amazing! She knew everything about the menu and was able to make wonderful recommendations. She was super friendly and accommodated every whim. We loved her!

Our only tiny (and I don't want to call it a complaint), was our seating arrangement. Last year when we visited Morton's, we were seated at a nice, big round table that sat the 8 of us very comfortably. When I made the reservations back in October, I requested a round table for 8. When we arrived this past Saturday, they seated us at a very small round table that would comfortably sit 6, but were going to put us there - very tight. They decided to move a square table up against the round to give us more room....it was ok, but not what we had originally hoped for compared to last year. I asked if they still had the larger round tables for 8, and the manager said they didn't. Granted, the manager was very, very nice. We were jus surprised that there wasn't a round table large enough for our family.

Other than that, we were very pleased with our visit and will be back again next year.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.