Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.21mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte

Morton's The Steakhouse, the nation's premier steakhouse group, specializes in classic, hearty fare, serving generous portions of USDA prime aged beef, as well as fresh fish, lobster and chicken entrees. The menu features a variety of favorite cuts, including a 24 ounce porterhouse, which is the house specialty; a 16 ounce New York Strip and a 12 ounce double cut filet.

227 W. Trade Street
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Served Nightly:

Monday - Thursday 5:30-10:00pm

Friday & Saturday 5:30pm-11:00pm

Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 333-2602

Website:
http://www.mortons.com/

Catering:
Private and group dining available. Contact our dedicated Sales and Marketing Manager to plan your next business or social event. Hosting a party at your home or office? Ask about Morton's Prime To Go and Prime Platters!

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Happy Hour, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Morton's in Charlotte (Uptown) hosts a variety of special events featuring fine wine & spirits, the best steak and a great time! For more information, visit http://www.mortons.com/charlotte

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

Start a New Thanksgiving Tradition!

Make your Morton's reservation for Thursday, November 23rd and treat your family to a perfect steak dinner. Open at 1pm. Hours subject to change.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

For those special occasions, Morton’s The Steakhouse offers luxuriously appointed private dining rooms and group dining accommodations. Our expert staff is dedicated to helping you plan the perfect event – whether it’s a business meeting or a birthday celebration.

Morton's The Steakhouse - Charlotte Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Romantic (22)
See All
Good for Birthdays (21)
Good for a Date (19)
Business Meals (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Cozy (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Great for Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
1542 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Great anniversary dinner! Tara was a wonderful server and took great care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 10, 2017

I have been wanting to try this place out for the past 8 years and finally had the opportunity to do so. The food was very, very, good with generous sized sides that could easily be split in half. My filet was full of flavor. Service was on point, however, we are very low key diners that don't ask for anything out of the ordinary if anything at all. Get the cheesecake - supposedly it is flown in daily from NY and it is out of this world.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

I really enjoyed my visit to Morton's. I was celebrating my anniversary and I wanted to go somewhere nice. It was my first time ever at the restaurant and from the moment I walked through the door I was treated with such high respect. The service was phenomenal along with the food. I left with a full stomach, a smile on my face, and a lovely picture that was taken by the waitress for my anniversary. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 30, 2017

We had a great meal and fantastic service. Our waiter was David and he made the dinner extremely enjoyable. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Long story short...........we had a lovely evening.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Awesome food awesome service!! Love this place! Highly recommended!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 16, 2017

It had been several years since my wife and I had visited Morton's, as another high-end steak place has become our favorite. I really liked the way they hear of redecorated the space, and found it to be one of my favorite rooms. My wife and enjoyed her filet, but my ribeye was just so so for the price tag. I like ribeye because I know the fat gives it additional flavor, but there was way too much fat, and a bit of gristle for my taste.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Still at the top of its game! Outstanding service and amazing food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Everything was excellent ! First time i ever had filet Diane and i would recommend it to anyone that likes a gravy with their meet. I would definitely order this again !

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Alisha in Bar area is great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent food and service. Cody and Kristi took excellent care of us. Morton's continues to be top notch in every regard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We hadn't been to Morton's in a while. We were shocked to walk in to see this beautiful new place. The renovations that were done two years ago took this to a new level. It is gorgeous. The food was better than I remembered. I got the NY Strip which melted in my mouth. I took half of it home and it was wonderful 2 days later. The service was fantastic.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We had a special occasion and the staff was awesome! Also loved not being rushed by my waiter. Had a great time!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Food was great and the service awesome, always enjoy a Morton's

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Everything was outstanding. Will return!! The chocolate soufflé was the best ever !

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great dinner with great friends. Really nice ambiance and staff were really friendly. Steak was good but the sides were fantastic. Had the tuna tower and crab cakes as an appetizer and were second to none.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was outstanding as well as the service. Highly recommend dining at Mortons!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Probably one of the worst meals I've ever had. There are better steakhouses in Charlotte, go elsewhere...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Morton's always puts out a great offering, food, service, and wine. All superb!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Always a special place for us to go for our anniversary. Excellent food and amazing service!

Tags: Tapas, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

This was my first time eating at Morton's and the food was good , but my waiter was awful. I asked him for butter and never received it. I had to remind him several times that I needed a refill which he finally brought it out right before I was about leave. He kept making comments about the price of things as if he thought I couldn't afford it. We had to ask another waiter for water. Not once did he ask if we needed anything. He wasn't helpful at all!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

I was disappointed. The lobster bisque was very thin, very little lobster and bland. I ordered my filet "Pittsburgh style" and the crust was far too salty and was way overcooked - almost to medium rare. I should have sent it back and honestly do not know why I didn't. I did mention that it was so salty I was unable to use the au poivre and they did take off the charge for that.

I expected more from Morton's and was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Everything was great. From the friendliness of staff to the tasty food. I loved my meal. Although, some tables got a little more attention than others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

My wife and I went to Morton's to celebrate our anniversary and came away disappointed. We understand that Queen's Feast reservations do not command the same level of customer respect as a standard reservation, but I honestly don't feel the meal was even worth the discounted rate. Another knock against us as customers is the fact that we don't drink so I'm sure it's easy to feel as a server that we're not a table that merits a lot of special attention; but we ate at a competitor's (to Morton's) during last summer's QF and were treated much better from a service and food standpoint.

Our server was nice but did not make us feel particularly welcome. I asked for a Coke to drink and never got it, for example, and she only came by a couple of times to clear plates and ask how we were doing. Not a bad experience, but also not at the level we've enjoyed at other places and not the level I would expect from an icon-status restaurant in Charlotte.

As for the food, I paid extra for a larger portion steak, and it looked to be about the same size as my wife's portion, though admittedly a 2 oz increase may be hard to detect with the eye. My steak was cooked a little over the temperature order but my wife's was cooked under. My potatoes were not particularly hot and the quality was something I'd expect at a restaurant like a Cracker Barrel or something. Overall, we were just disappointed in the quality of the food. It was nothing special or unique and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

I did appreciate the server having our vehicle brought up while checking out, and we were in/out in under an hour.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We were a group of 8 people. The food was delicious, and we enjoyed it very much!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great ambiance, service, and good good for a girls night out!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Maybe because it was restaurant week, but the food was disappointing for the cost. The steak was delicious but not worth the price.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This restaurant lives up to its reputation. It is definitely worth the price.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Morton's offered great food, nice ambiance, and wonderful service for our anniversary. When I made my reservation, I told them it was for an anniversary, so when I arrived, they had a menu with "Happy Anniversary" printed on it - very cool. Then, partway through dinner, the hostess came and took our picture. Just before the check arrived, she brought the printed picture to us with a little cover including a handwritten message and the date - a wonderful touch that made all the difference. The food was amazing too. We had filet mignon that simply melted in our mouths. It was some of the best steak I've ever had. This restaurant is definitely worth a try for a special occasion!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Our experience was not at all what we were expecting. Drinks were watered down and not served in the appropriate glassesware. Felt very rushed by the server. Steaks were not cooked as we had ordered. Difficult time getting the server's attention. Dessert was very disappointing. Seemed as if the chocolate mousse had been prepared days before it was served to us. Topping it all off, server confused our bill with another couple and was a little annoyed when it was brought to her attention.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Too dark to read menu and price could be lower. Good food good atmosphere

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food was great, tender filet. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

My mother and I decided to take advantage of Queen's Feast (Restaurant Week July 2017)weekend and chose Morton's Steakhouse. This was our first time and it was absolutely a great dining experience. I chose to order off the regular menu, in addition to celebrating restaurant week. We will, definitely, return during the year and make it a tradition.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We decided to try your restaurant during Queen's Feast. I guess since we did not look like prospective business diners they sort of blew us off and, although there were plenty of empty tables for 4 when we arrived, we were seated right outside the bathroom. The traffic right beside our table was distracting and certainly took the edge off the evening.

Managers should realize older people have plenty of money for birthdays, anniversaries, entertaining friends or just a nice night out for themselves.

However, the food was delicious and Bill, our waiter, was very good.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Visited with friends for Queens Feast, so had a limited menu, but every dish we had was excellent. Service was friendly, but very polished. And the hot chocolate cake was the best dessert I've had in a long time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Good food, good service w a smile. Was a bit disappointed in the answer to on hand scotch and bourbons post dinner. It is obvious you have a large selection of liquor than printed; if your servers don't know and you don't have a list, your guest probably won't order what they might have. I was also disappointed in the number of wines by the glass. Otherwise an excellent meal!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Had a great time dining here for Charlotte Restaurant week and really enjoyed the atmosphere. I chose Morton's because my fiancé and I had never been, but I had heard a lot of good things about it. Most people compare it to The Capital Grill, but it has a completely different atmosphere. Where Capital Grill is very classically upscale, it can come off as stuffy sometimes. Morton's seems a bit more modern and I also liked that it's not so bright in the restaurant as well. The service was very good here. Our server checked in with us several times throughout the night and was very attentive but never came off as annoying in doing so. We both ordered the lobster bisque for the started, which was amazing, and got the filet mignon for the meal. My fiancé had hers butterflied but I didn't and I wish I had because mine actually ended up coming out well done rather than medium. The side potatoes were really good though, and the desserts, chocolate mousse for me and chocolate lava cake for her were both amazing. Drinks were good here too if a bit overpriced, but to be expected from a place like this. All in all, it was a very good experience, the complimentary valet parking was a plus as well. My fiancé said it was the best restaurant week experience she's had so far, so we will likely come back here at some point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We have eaten at this Mortons several times and met friends there for Restaurant Week. The food and service were very good but the occasion was marred by the crowd Restaurant Week must have attracted. It was a surprise to see how many guests at the restaurant had on t-shirts and shorts. It was a special occasion for us but apparently young people don't see the importance of dressing up. I can remember when Morton's had a dress code.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I've learned to be patient and forgiving during restaurant week. The wait staff tried to take care of us but they just had too many tables to support. There were 6 of us and 3 steaks were overcooked. They were still delicious. The bills came and none were correct so that took time to resolve and even after the second attempt to fix them, we just gave up, paid and left. I was not thrilled to find out that butter cost an additional $6..really? I am not one to complain but that is ridiculous. They offered it as if it were complimentary. Lesson learned on upsell tactics.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Restaurant Week dinner, Morton's brings in the crowds yet still treats everyone like royalty. Food, service, ambiance all excellent!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.