Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Morgan's in the Desert

Morgan’s in the desert welcomes guests for dinner with Contemporary American Cuisine, boutique new world wines, crafted vintage cocktails, and live entertainment. Join us at the piano bar, in the hacienda dining room or on the fire-lit courtyard. Join us for a relaxed yet refined dining and cocktail experience.

Waldorf Astoria Laquinta Resort & Spa
49-499 Eisenhower Drive
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Elegant Dining

Cuisines:
Farm-to-table, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Nightly 6:00 PM- 10:00 PM

Cocktails: Nightly 5:30PM - 11:00PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 564-7600

Website:
http://www.morgansinthedesert.com/

Catering:
For Catering information contact:
Ted Letsch
direct: 760.564.7600
email: ted.letsch@waldorfastoria.com
www.laquintaresort.com ● www.pgawest.com

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet and Self Parking.

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef Jae Ho Bang

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 7:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Dining at La Quinta Resort and PGA WEST feeds the senses. The aromatic essences of freshly prepared, locally sourced ingredients emanate from richly colorful dishes that are a feast for the eyes. Whatever your taste in dining, La Quinta Resort and PGA WEST serves an unforgettable experience.

Morgan's in the Desert Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (24)
Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (22)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Cozy (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (8)
Live Music (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Business Meals (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Fun (4)
Scenic View (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Casual (3)
Disabled Access (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
1204 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

The Cinnamon Old Fashioned specialty craft cocktail is amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was fantastic. The presentation wonderful. Although the servers had very pleasant demeanor, their "team" effort was off. Our drinks were brought to the wrong table 3 times, our drinks, salads and entrees were not placed in front of the individual who ordered. The team service skipped a beat, and their seemed to be confusion amongst the staff. I had to ask for my bill. With that being said, this would not prevent me from going back and we still very much enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Despite the fact that the kitchen was kind of slow on this particular evening, the service was great and the food was delicious and very creative.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Fantastic food. Fresh, local, delicious. I am still thinking about the market salad days later!

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

This restaurant is amazing! Staff are extremely professional and friendly. The atmosphere is so peaceful and relaxing. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Tapas, Scenic View, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Really disappointing. Filets we're not tender and poorly cooked. Side dishes were bland. Salad was under dressed and had too much anchovy. Cocktails were good. Servers were very friendly. Expected much better food quality for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Excellent food and service. Pricey. A good special occasion destination. Warm atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Always a favorite in La Quinta. This was not our first visit and it will not be our last.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We've been going to Morgan's for decades and it's 1926 ambiance is second to none. The restaurant's themed contemporary cuisine seasonal dinners have been exceptional. Not so much this past Sunday night and we are inclined not to go back. Our reservation at eight was honored but only if we were willing to sit outside. A slight rainstorm had driven everyone inside. The outside patio is charming but not so much if you are seated proximate to the "family arcade" which brings a bit and more of Coney Island to the restaurant but why this location.? Throughout our two hours of dining we watched a parade of millennials, strollers, very charming babies and children and at least two dozen very well behaved dogs. Who needs that when dining outside a luxury restaurant and spending $250 for dinner. The meal itself what can I say. A fairly unsuccessful rift on Spain's molecular cuisine of decades ago. First course watermelon salad creative and excellent. Second course very overdone shrimp and not much flavor. Desert would have pleased the Cleavers. With its 1959 custard snaking through the watermelon sorbet. How about just a slight sense of a simple delicious slice of real watermelon as opposed to
overly processed, uncompressed and unliquified watermelon? I looked into the remodeled lobby in progress and wept. The original owner, Mr. Morgan , would be beside himself. Gorgeous contemporary refurbishment without a clue as to the historic nature of this property. Go off property and don't waste your time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great little treasure in the desert. Delicious birthday dinner, prompt service with a smile and kind staff throughout the entire resort. Thx you Morgan's.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

What a great evening we had at Morgan's with our out of town company! Morgan's has a new Chef and the food was inventful, excellently prepared, and extremely tasty! Of special note were the Chilean Sea Bass and the Rib Eye. Salads and sides were tasty too! This is a HUGE improvement over last season. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Amazing as always. Does not disappoint. We pick this place as my wife's birthday celebration. She's always pleased.

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We really enjoyed our time here. Normally, we are very easy going and easy to please, but on this occasion I got a little "picky". I requested a more "intimate" table as we were celebrating our anniversary. The manager offered to move us not only once but TWICE!! The customer service was exceptional as was the meal. The chargrilled wild salmon filet was fantastic as was the chilled corn soup. The wine list is lengthy with lots of option for your palate. All in all a great evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My "Go to" dining for over 20 years just because it is the BEST in Coachella Valley for ALL the right reasons !! All the time !!!!

Ron Powers

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Organic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Poetry for your pallet. Absolute perfection. Top notch service by professionals.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We had been planning on trying Morgan's in the Desert for some time and were not disappointed! The ambience is lovely at this historical resort and the menu offerings are creative, locally sourced (mostly) and of high quality. Service is attentive. The overall experience was enjoyable as we celebrated our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Very overpriced; was quite taken back when the charge for a normal Manhattan (no call liquor) was $21.50. Brought this to the attention of the waiter who chose not to inquire with management or take any action. Although I will continue to frequent the La Quinta Resort and Spa in the future, I'm afraid this will be my last visit to Morgan's in the Desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent service and food. Problem with my entre, immediately resolved above expectation

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Had an absolutely lovely dinner while vacationing at the resort. The service, ambiance, food taste and plating were all on point. Phenomenal dessert options as well which we ended up coming back for while enjoying some sparkling Schramsberg. We'll definitely be returning next time we are in town.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Onr of the best meals we have ever had!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This was our first time at Morgan’s and our last time. The most interesting part was that we ordered their specialty drinks, and they were out of them. The food was reasonably good; however, the service was not as good as one would expect at such a restaurant; though, nice décor and ambiance. I would say there are other restaurants in Palm Desert which server better food and have excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Steaks were sold cold, we send them back (3 steaks) and they came back on hot plates, but steaks still cold. Manger argued with us that unless we wanted them well done, this was the temperature of the steaks. This is not an inexpensive restaurant and therefore we expected more attention to detail. Would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Everything we ordered was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Our favorite place in the desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Before we got to the restaurant they called for a confirmation and left a voice mail. We called back and were put on hold for 10 minutes . They leave the number of the main switchboard for La Quinta and not the restaurant. We got there a few minutes early. There fourths of the restaurant was empty. They proceeded to take us to the worse table in the restaurant. My wife said no way,and they kindly placed us at a better table. Dinner was enjoyable. My wife loved the cheese plate . The Duck was a 5 of 10. Got to valet and they lost our car. After 20 minutes the guy asked what make and model of car. We told him and he disappeared for another 10 minutes. He returned to say someone place the keys on 93 instead of 03. Do open table people get short changed?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Fantastic dinner and wine! The best dinner we've had in California since moving here a year ago from the East Coast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Have dined at Morgan's a number of times with each being a fantastic experience. They've accommodated dietary requests and service is always top-notch. Our server Rebecka was pleasant and attentive.
Great wine list. Great food. Wonderful decor.
We definitely will return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great venue with good food and service. Knowledgeable waiters with inside and outside dining. Tranquil setting. We had fish and pork with lovely plate presentation that didn't disappoint. Would definitely recommend to others.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Lamb was a bit tough. Ahi needed a better tasting sauce or accoutrements

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Another excellent meal at Morgan's. Service by Marilyn was top notch. So incredibly professional and attentive, she has very kind and unobtrusive in her approach to service. We all had prime steaks...excellent quality and perfectly prepared. Side dishes of truffle fries and ginger scented corn were beautiful accompaniments. A very comfortable and beautiful restaurant located in the amazing La Quinta Resort property. Management: you are doing something right. We enjoyed thoroughly.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Spectacular food, service, and dining experience overall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The only thing that I did not care for is that they seated us at a small table and the next customers with two people they sat at the big booth next to us ??? I guess we did not qualify for the adult tables.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Although the food was prepared with utmost care and technical expertise, there was very little that I would call truly memorable. My truffled asparagus salad was the star of the meal, if that tells you anything. Our server was excellent - knowledgeable, entertaining - but that didn't make up for a very pricy, but less-than-excellent meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Had an excellent time, food and atmosphere is great. Love it

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Innovative menu choices; attentive and gracious service; unique cocktails and wine choices

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 22, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in all of Coachella Valley. Always perfect for special occasions and a great place to bring guests, there's something for everyone on the menu and there is never anything to complain about. Food, service, environment are all always outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Fabulous food. A special dining experience in a location (La Quinta) with lots of great dining options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The menu here is Concise but full of creative options. The chef clearly understands how to make amazing new flavors and deliver an amazing culinary experience. Typically when I think of an expensive dinner I think steakhouse, but this experience has opened my mind to other options for sure.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Amazing meal with my daughter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.