About Morgan's in the Desert

Waldorf Astoria Laquinta Resort & Spa
49-499 Eisenhower Drive
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

Morgan’s in the desert welcomes guests for dinner with Contemporary American Cuisine, boutique new world wines, crafted vintage cocktails, and live entertainment. Join us at the piano bar, in the hacienda dining room or on the fire-lit courtyard. Join us for a relaxed yet refined dining and cocktail experience.

Dining Style:
Elegant Dining

Cuisines:
Farm-to-table, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Nightly 5:30PM- 10:00 PM

Cocktails: Nightly 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 564-7600

Website:
http://www.morgansinthedesert.com/

Catering:
For Catering information contact:
Ted Letsch
direct: 760.564.7600
email: ted.letsch@waldorfastoria.com
www.laquintaresort.com ● www.pgawest.com

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet and Self Parking.

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef Jae Ho Bang

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 7:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Dining at La Quinta Resort and PGA WEST feeds the senses. The aromatic essences of freshly prepared, locally sourced ingredients emanate from richly colorful dishes that are a feast for the eyes. Whatever your taste in dining, La Quinta Resort and PGA WEST serves an unforgettable experience.

Morgan's in the Desert Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Romantic (21)
Good for a Date (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Fireplace (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Cozy (10)
Historic (9)
Authentic (7)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Live Music (6)
Hot Spot (4)
Scenic View (4)
Casual (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1092 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 2 days ago

Very standard preparations of dishes, albeit very well executed. The steak and lamb were very high quality cuts, but you definitely pay the price.

Nothing particularly notable about the preparation. The salad starters are basic. Desserts were best dish. Service was poor, both slow and inattentive. We had to ask for bread and for cutlery for the dessert. Overall this place falls far short of what we expected for a well regarded restaurant that cost over $100 a person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

Server named Jason took great care of us! Great navigation thru the menu and made great recommendations on wine and cocktails. We dined her many times and hands down. Jason is Morgan's best server! Food was fair but not great. Morgan's still offers a very limited menu...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Always great service and ambiance. The desserts are out of this world!

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

As others have said, pricey but good. Service attentive, friendly but not rushed or hovering. Our server, Marilyn, was delightful. My partner said lamb was good, but prices compared to San Francisco were higher. I'm no foodie, but my ravioli was good, though to be honest I had a better meal at Lavender Bistro. I don't eat beef, pork, lamb and only rarely chicken...so much of menu lost on me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The service was excellent.

The hostess was super helpful.

The manager was very accommodating.

Server assist was very nice.

Unfortunately I would not return for the food.

The patio is very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Shrimp were tasteless and tough as shoe leather. Truffle fries were soggy with grease. Over priced and pretentious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service was less than desirable however the food was excellent. I had the lamb with wild rice and my friend had the duck breast.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We were celebrating a Birthday, and our waiter Michael Hersch was fantastic.

Tags: Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Food was excellent. Wait staff knew how the food was prepared. They were attentive, but not intrusive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Fantastic setting with great ambiance and a garden atmosphere. Unparalleled food and service. Truly a gem!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 7, 2017

While the food, ambiance, and service was exemplary, I was disappointed that our mention of my wife's birthday was ignored by the hostess and manager. We came to Morgan's specifically for a special birthday dinner, however, there was no celebratory ending.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Outstanding food and service in a picturesque outdoor setting. Best overall restaurant during my travels to Palm Desert area. Reminds me of the Four Seasons in Santa Barbara.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great place for a special dinner- only negative was the the timing between appetizers and main course. We were just finished our appetizers (plates still on the table), sipping our cocktails when the main course came. It felt rushed and clearly an oversight on the waiters part regarding timing of the courses. It is a lovely place to relax and really enjoy the ambiance. Too bad appetizers, cocktails and dinner were very rushed.

Will be back again but make sure the waiter knows not to bring dinner on top of the appetizers.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Parker is a wonderful server. The rest of the staff is also excellent. They have a new chef who has trained in Spain and France and was executive chef at Michelin Star restaurant in NYC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

$60 steak was overcooked. Service and ambience can't be beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Parker was our server and he is the best. They have new executive chef and food is even better!!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Food quality, temperature and presentation was spot on. The service was very attentive without being intrusive. Anthony really ensured we were taken care of...

We are spending 5 nights at La Quinta and will dine at Morgans on our last eve simply because it was a great meal and overall experience

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The food was wonderful, the setting beautiful and all and all we LOVED it. I was a houseguest and asked them to pick a place they wanted to go to and they chose Morgans -- we all loved it. Thank you for1

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 31, 2017

So the food was good not fabulous and the prices were through the roof. Not really worth it. Another place maybe would be better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Soup was just okay as was the ceasar salad. Main course pork was delicious short ribs was great

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great service. It turn around an overall lack of attention to detail that expect from a five star hotel, to a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had an excellent meal and experience at Morgan's. The food and ambiance lived up to the high ratings on OpenTable. The cauliflower appetizer (with a hint of curry and other spices) is a must have. We both enjoyed our seafood entrees - salmon and halibut- which were cooked perfectly and were inventive. The accompaniment of the side of corn was good as well. The service was highly attentive and professional, yet personal. Our server was Jason Rader, whose passion for the food and the restaurant, and even Palm Desert, was manifest. He is a pro and brought an otherwise thoroughly enjoyable evening to an even higher level. If our experience was any indication, Morgan's seems to be doing everything right.

Tags: Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Business Meals, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My client and I had the best meal ever. And out server, Steve, was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 26, 2017

We went to celebrate my husband birthday and we had the best time here. The service was amazing, the food delicious and our server was the best! We will definitely comeback! Thank you for making my husband's birthday special

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The service with Jason in the private dining room was absolutely fantastic! The manager of the restaurant was very accommodating and allowed us to use the private space at the last minute. Our executive attendees were delighted. The atmosphere, wine and cuisine were all very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 25, 2017

A special occasion place with the old authentic desert classic feel. Fantastic service and the menu reads as something special. Brining your own wine can keep the bill very reasonable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 24, 2017

When you want an excellent dinner and atmosphere. The duck was delightful and the cauliflower salad was innovative. The food was first class. Only dinner problem was a slightly noisy environment.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Overall the atmosphere, food and service are what you expect when dining at a Waldorf Astoria. Our server was knowledgeable and kind. She easily guided us through the menu and explained the dishes.

We started with the cheese plate and roasted cauliflower. Both were excellent. My husband had the lamb, which was perfect and beautifully plated. I went with the halibut, which I felt it was a bit dry/over cooked but not to the point that I disliked it or needed to send it back. (I also rarely order halibut so I may not be the best judge)

We can't wait to come back. I'd love to try the scallops. The bar was a great place to wait for our table and cocktails were perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner tonight at Morgan's. It's such a beautiful restaurant and The La Quinta Resort and Spa where it is located, couldn't be any prettier! We have. Even to Morgan's many times and always have a lovely experience. They have a new chef now-and the food is even better than it has been. We had the salmon and he halibut with an amazing side of French fries. All to die for. Our waiter was the best part of the meal. His name is Michael-and he couldn't have been more charming, professional or accommodating. I arrived suffering from the tail end of a migraine-and he was kind enough to suggest that I drink mint tea, a remedy which I was unaware of for a migraine. He not only brought me mint tea, but also camomile tea to combine it with-and after one pot, my migraine was gone. Thanks to Michael, our dinner was not only delicious but enjoyable for all! A real professional and lovely person. Don't miss out on visiting Morgan's. It's always a pleasure from the food to the management to the attentive and delightful servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Morgans is one of the best restaurants in the desert. Our server Michael was attentive and knowledgeable and we appreciated and enjoyed all of his recommendations. Thank you for a fabulous evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

As usual, everything was very good. Try the scallop dish with the poached egg. A little different, but excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was my second visit. The ambiance was great but the food was average and the service was ok. For the pricing, this restaurant should be much better.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Best fish and meat in the desert!

Simple but perfect presentation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Everything you would expect from a fine dining experience. Great creative dishes, excellent service and beautiful decor. If the wine seems expensive you do get a nice pour if ordering by the glass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Morgans is always great. Our last visit did not disappoint! Once again it was great. We had great service and food and wine. I recommend.

Tags: Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The former chef is gone although this chef is very good I didn't enjoy the menu as much as in previous years and the prices were really high

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We dine at Morgan's each year 2 or 3 times, generally for special occasions. Past Friday was a birthday celebration. Service as usual was excellent, provided by Rebekah! Pre-dinner cocktails were excellent... a Grey Goose Cosmo & a Ketel One on the ice. Following soup as a starter we enjoyed a bottle of Rombauer chardonnay with our dinner consisting of the Halibut special and the Filet & Short Rib special. Both tasty & delicious choices. Morgan's is a pricey restaurant however it is worth it for special occasions.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Morgan's is always a dinner stop during our annual treks to the La Quinta Resort. This evening confirmed their committment to great service and creative cuisine. Our server mention a new chef is on board, and has made a few twists to the creative steak, fish and veg menu. We had soup, rib combo, veg ravioli, and topped off with the 'mess' dessert item. All creatively prepared, tasty, and mostly memorable. Staff is very friendly, some being there for serveral years we've observed, and seemed on top of our every need and paced courses. Make it a stop for a comfortable, yet fine dining experience when in town.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We are very excited about the new chef and enjoyed a sampling of his new dishes. Caviar is a terrific addition to the oysters.

Our server was efficient and good spirited without pushing her ideas as some wait staff at Morgans have done previously.

All and all a délions and beautiful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 3, 2017

My wife and I wanted to go some place very nice for our 48th wedding anniversary. I told her to pick ANY place she wanted. For the second year in a row, it was Morgan's. The food and the atmosphere make it a splendid experience. The fish was cooked perfectly; the staff friendly, efficient and the complimentary desert is appreciated. We come at least twice a year, but I think it will be more frequent in the future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Outside seating and Melissa as your server, you're in for a special night!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Unfortunately Morgans has hired a new chef who appears to be following an Asian fusion direction. Asian fusion. Really!

Since Morgans reopened after a fire a few years ago, Jimmy Smits was the chef and Morgans became the best restaurant in the area. Now Morgans has gone cheap and terminated Jimmy and his award winning crew. The new chef has ruined many dishes and a clearly learning on the job. Frankly, Morgans is not an Asian place and I can't imagine what the management was thinking.

At this point since Morgans doesn't want to pay a top chef, I'll have to save some money also and avoid this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Less than impressed. It was extremely loud there. My husband and I lamented that we didn't have our cell phones so we could text each other across the table. We had a great waiter, Steve. But that's where the great experience ended. We got our starters, no problem. But an hour and a half after we sat down, we got our entrées. The kitchen messed up our order! It's a one and done with Morgan's. The final nail in the coffin was there was a guy with a hat on! Granted it wasn't a baseball cap.....but still, show some class, no hats under roof! Food once it came was delicious. But one and done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Ate at this restaurant two times during our stay, we where celebrating our daughter's fifth birthday and then we were celebrating our 10th year wedding Anniversary, each time it got worse service was good. One time they were out of a bunch of the main plates but what we got was good the second time, nothing worked out. The food was bad, timing was bad everything was bad, service wasn't even that great although they did comp our meal and we did appreciate that but again it was a waste of our time we could have actually went and had a really good meal somewhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This is our "go to" special occasion restaurant here in the Coachella Valley. We've dined here during the holidays with large family group on two occasions, and could not have asked for a more memorable experience. Service is nothing short of spectacular. Servers are well versed on the menu, knowledgeable about the prodigious wine list, and attentive without being "overly friendly." Very talented bar staff, cozy surroundings and overall just a wonderful place to spend a few hours (and more than a few bucks).

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Historic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We have had dinner at Morgans a few times. This night we were trying to impress some friends and I;m sure mission was accomplished.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 24, 2016

All of the food was exquisitely prepared and the service staff were very attentive and friendly. I had requested a table near the player so we could enjoy the entertainment and our table even allowed us a view of the piano from a distance.

I was already a fan of Ron Pass as a musical entertainer and I was so glad to get to see him at Morgan's. He even stopped by my table to say hello - what a treat for me and my guest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Nothing like it used to be with the old chef. Won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We went for an early Christmas dinner. There were 6 of us covering 3 generations. It's become a tradition to dine at Morgans for special occasions. Our servers Marylin and Jesse had the right balance between professional and friendly. Marylin was extremely knowledgable about the menu and wine list making excellent suggestions. The red wine we wanted wasn't available but the sommelier made a very good recommendation at a lower price! The cauliflower soup is a perennial favourite. While all the protein selections were excellently prepared the accompanying detached and veggies were outstanding and not just "plate fillers". The 2 managers stopped at our table twice each to enquire if everything was okay and the second times engaged in cheerful banter with our grandchildren. A nice touch was to comp the deserts of the grandchildren.

We will definitely keep up the tradition of celebrating family events at Morgan's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in the desert. From the moment we are seated at our special table that we always request, they create wonderful drinks, the food is perfect every time. The manager always comes over to ask how things were. The staff is wonderful, the food is fabulous and the wine selection has to be the best in the desert.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.