Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Morgan's in the Desert

Morgan’s in the desert welcomes guests for dinner with Contemporary American Cuisine, boutique new world wines, crafted vintage cocktails, and live entertainment. Join us at the piano bar, in the hacienda dining room or on the fire-lit courtyard. Join us for a relaxed yet refined dining and cocktail experience.

Waldorf Astoria Laquinta Resort & Spa
49-499 Eisenhower Drive
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Elegant Dining

Cuisines:
Farm-to-table, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Nightly 6:00 PM- 10:00 PM

Cocktails: Nightly 5:30PM - 11:00PM

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 564-7600

Website:
http://www.morgansinthedesert.com/

Catering:
For Catering information contact:
Ted Letsch
direct: 760.564.7600
email: ted.letsch@waldorfastoria.com
www.laquintaresort.com ● www.pgawest.com

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet and Self Parking.

Executive Chef:
Executive Chef Jae Ho Bang

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 7:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Dining at La Quinta Resort and PGA WEST feeds the senses. The aromatic essences of freshly prepared, locally sourced ingredients emanate from richly colorful dishes that are a feast for the eyes. Whatever your taste in dining, La Quinta Resort and PGA WEST serves an unforgettable experience.

Morgan's in the Desert Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (53)
Good for a Date (48)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
See All
Romantic (38)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Notable Wine List (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Fireplace (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Business Meals (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Historic (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Live Music (19)
Authentic (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Cozy (15)
Local Ingredients (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Bar Seating (11)
People Watching (10)
Fun (9)
Healthy (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Scenic View (7)
Seasonal (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Casual (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Private Room (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Organic (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Tapas (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Dancing (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 2 days ago

One of our favorite restaurants in all of Coachella Valley. Always perfect for special occasions and a great place to bring guests, there's something for everyone on the menu and there is never anything to complain about. Food, service, environment are all always outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous food. A special dining experience in a location (La Quinta) with lots of great dining options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

The menu here is Concise but full of creative options. The chef clearly understands how to make amazing new flavors and deliver an amazing culinary experience. Typically when I think of an expensive dinner I think steakhouse, but this experience has opened my mind to other options for sure.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Amazing meal with my daughter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Edgy, flavorful, creative, expertly prepared dishes. Decor is warm and inviting, old world Spanish rustic. Fireplace is cozy and provides comforting ambience.

The food met or even exceeded my expectations, which made it worth a visit. That being said, I did not personally like the vibe of this place--pretentious, snobby, judgmental--enough to say I would have to think hard about returning or recommending to others. I have visited many fine dining establishments, Michelin rated and others, and did not feel this way at all. The food is good, but not the best I've ever had to overcome the bad taste of the vibe.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Our bartender Brian was the best! He recommended excellent cocktails and food that we absolutely enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great atmosphere, cool steak house vibe to it. Really friendly staff and very on the ball manager (Ted?). Food was good, highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Service and food is basic chop house menu. Bar has great piano player on Tuesday through Saturday.

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Really enjoy this restuarant every time we go to the desert! Always fantastic in every way!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The service was great and the food delicious. Loved being able to sit on the patio- only negative are those pesky flies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Michael was a fantastic server and the food was unbelievable!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed the food, service and ambiance. We had a 7:45 reservation and were seated immediately. The filet mignon was cooked perfectly as requested and was very tender. Would highly recommend Morgan's when in the desert.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Dishes were consistent and tasty. Service was attentive. Still a great choice in the desert that will not disappoint.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 4, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants I've ever eaten at. We were more than pleased. We travel for a living and this is in our top 5 restaurants ever! The best food. The best service. The best atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Had a great time, food was excellent Service was very attentive

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 1, 2017

It was nice eating out on the patio food was marginal

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Absolutely awesome from beginning to end. Our waiter Parker was a gem, extremely knowledgeable and the entire dining experience was above all expectations. The cuisine delicious!
Kudos

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Food is amazing, one of our favorite places to go when staying at the La Quinta Resort!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Great salmon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 20, 2017

My Birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Enjoyed a lovely dinner on the patio this week. As always, our service was above-and-beyond perfect. There were three of us dining, and all three ordered the filets (at $55 each). Should have been an easy thing to get 2 of them cooked medium and one medium-rare, right? The restaurant was very good about replacing the medium-rare one with a new one that was actually cooked that way, but it really put a damper on all of us dining at the same time. So disappointing and especially at that price point! We've all dined at Morgans for years and were sad to have had this experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Marilyn was an excellent server. I had the lobster, and it melted in your mouth. Delicious! My husband had the pork chop, it was also very good. The carrot soup was sooo good, made with no cream or oil, tasty and healthy! We celebrated our 8 year anniversary, will be back again for date night!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 18, 2017

This is the second time we've gone there and it hasn't been even a third full and I believe I know why it took 45 minutes to get the bread basket on our table the menu wasn't to our liking at all there was no chicken (I don't do duck breast) there is no wild Alaskan seafood, The cappuccino machine wasn't working ; It took forever to get the dessert menus and our coffees , corking fee is too high as is everything on the menu the side dishes so tiny and too much money also I'm done going there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Excellent ambience. No offense, but waiters should refrain from interrupting conversation at the table. Service staff ought to be invisible until needed/wanted; they are not the entertainment. The man who is paying the $1,000 restaurant bill is the one to whom the wait staff might want to pay attention. Just making a quiet suggestion.
Wait staff really might consider training in Europe or Asia. No, "Hi, my name is Tad" is wanted or necessary. One can assume, we are attending a restaurant to eat, so bring something small before asking what we want to eat.
Do not ask what wine I want until the guests have chosen their meal. I may want a red wine with a steak or a white with fish, or a rose. Wine might be best chosen after food decisions are made. Just say'n.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We where recommended by friends to try Morgan's We loved it. We are from Seattle and this was our first visit to the desert with our teen children. They loved it as well. Highly recommend for teen children and adults. Great patio setting. Thank you. We enjoyed our experience.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Used to be our favorite in the Desert. There was a chef change in November and we did not appreciate the new menu and preparations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 11, 2017

As a frequent guest of the La Quinta Resort, I have eaten at Morgan's many times. Its never for the food and always for the ambience. The food is decent, but the menu is limited and uninspiring and now it seems more of a mess than ever. Its pricey and while it's one of the most romantic venues around (we love the outdoor patio), they need to step up their game. We dined here twice this week and both experiences were sub par. A few nights ago we were served stale bread, which took too long to remedy. We also had to ask for water and pepper too many times. The soup was delicious but it was cold and I don't know how it could be hot when it was served in a large shallow plate (not a bowl! We could not eat the soup without lifting the plate as it was too shallow to even scoop the soup with a spoon. Crazy. The chef's attempt to be fancy & unique didn't work. Bowls have a purpose; the depth keeps the heat in and allows a spoon to work! Our steaks arrived after a long wait but they were cooked well and were delicious. Our second dining experience tonight was more of a disaster. My son ordered butternut squash ravioli. It came with ONE small ravioli (seriously, just ONE!) and a plate of exotic mushrooms. He hates mushrooms. The menu did NOT say it came with mushrooms. When we addressed this, we were not offered a new dish but were told the bill would be adjusted. I ordered seafood pasta with shrimp, scallops & squid. I was surprised when it arrived with black squid ink pasta. The menu did not say that either. I don't care for squid ink. Again, no offer to exchange it. My son ate my dinner and I ate an expensive plate of mushrooms. The menu should reflect the correct ingredients. The manager said the waitress should have described each dish. I disagree. The menu should be accurate. The bill arrived with no adjustment. I was dining with a friend who owns a high end seafood restaurant on the ocean. She was floored by our dining experience.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We celebrated husband's birthday at Morgans, having never dined here before. The grounds are very impressive as you drive in, flowers everywhere. Martini's were perfect, the steak was outstanding, but I would not recommend the ceasar salad. It's very pretty, but I don't expect to have to chop my own salad. Everything is served ala carte, so the salad was extra and we also ordered one side dish to share, macaroni w/ cheese, which was just so so. So, go for the steak and martini but maybe skip the sides. Overall, it was an enjoyable meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Steve is a great waiter. New ownership had some bumps in the road but now is on the right track. It is expensive but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We had a very nice meal. Love the outdoor setting. But don't leave a phone message. They don't return calls. I tried. So did some friends who wanted to buy us a bottle of champagne for the occasion we were celebrating. They left several messages that went unanswered.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great food but the hostess didn't know what time of day it is. She let kids run around and after I complained she said thank you and did nothing. Go back when she's in a longer employed. And incase management reads this it was April 5 for a 7:45 PM reservation on the patio for two people.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Absolutely delightful in every aspect, almost. The food was excellent. We had the wild mushroom flatbread that was short on mushrooms and long on Neuskes bacon and delicious. The filet mignon was slightly over done but tender and very tasty. The Indio corn side dish and macaroni gratin were really good. Caesar salad was ok, romaine was a little dry but good. We shared the chocolate tart with spiced walnut crust that was fair...someone else in out party ordered ice cream with beignets and it looked delicious. Next time! And there will definitely be a next time, can't wait!

The service was incredibly slow and we waited a long time between courses and for our initial drink order to be taken. We also waited at the door for several minutes to be greeted as there seemed to be only one hostess and she was very busy. Seems like a management issue as no one was watching the door nor making sure the food and service were expedient.

The service issue was minor as it allowed a chance for old friends to spend a leisurely evening together. As I said before, can not wait to return!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Historic, Seasonal, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

This was our first visit to Morgans and we we were very pleased with the service and food quality. A return visit is a must

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food and service is outstanding. Not a quiet place when the piano bar is in full swing, but the quality of the food and drinks are fantastic. Tastefully decorated with 2 outdoor patios. Sitting inside was nice too. Can't wait to go back next year.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We stayed at the resort for my husband's birthday weekend. We had an incredible dinner experience. My husband had the pork chop that he is still talking about... We will definitely be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Marvelous service and food. Menu was a feast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Lively bar for a swanky place. Get an outside seat if you can. Much more romantic outside. Good food. Nice manager.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Morgans through their new chef is back to its old self, with quality food selections, and unique preparations.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Nothing special. Over-rated. Just average food and service. Does not justify the high prices. Certainly not a true fine dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 30, 2017

The ambience, service and food keep us returning time after time

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.