About Monarch

6934 E. 1st Ave.
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
View Larger Map

Monarch, in Old Town Scottsdale, is a family-owned and operated restaurant offering an ultra-romantic setting for your birthday, anniversary, special occasion, or extravagant night out. The four-course menu is altered weekly by Chef Gus Lewkowicz, using only seasonal and local ingredients. All servers are trained and certified sommeliers with extensive wine knowledge.
*Reservation Only

*Vegetarian, Vegan, and Gluten free restrictions can be accommodated



*Due to the high demand for outdoor seating we cannot guarantee or reserve courtyard seating. We will do our very best to accommodate requests when possible. Thank you for your understanding!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Seating Times:

Monday: Closed
Tuesday - Thursday 5:30pm - 8:30pm
Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Sunday: 5:30pm - 7:30pm




Cross Street:
NW Corner of 1st Ave and Goldwater BLVD

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(480) 970-7682

Website:
http://cafemonarch.com/

Parking Details:
On site parking

Executive Chef:
Gus Lewkowicz

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Monarch Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.9

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (140)
Romantic (134)
Good for Anniversaries (131)
See All
Good for a Date (116)
Great for Outdoor Dining (112)
Fit for Foodies (96)
Creative Cuisine (86)
Notable Wine List (70)
Good for Birthdays (70)
Cozy (68)
Worth the Drive (63)
Quiet Conversation (63)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Local Ingredients (45)
Handcrafted Cocktails (41)
Tasting Menu (35)
Authentic (31)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Seasonal (14)
Fun (14)
Healthy (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Business Meals (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Scenic View (9)
Molecular Gastronomy (9)
Organic (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
People Watching (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Historic (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Fireplace (3)
Vegan (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Casual (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1183 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, warm friendly and knowledgeable staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I absolutely love the food and service.... I will say it is pricey however it is totally worth it for those special occasions. It was a meaningful and memorable night out for dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed dinner at Monarch Saturday night. What an awesome experience. Scott, our waiter, was wonderful attentive but not overly so. The food was incredible the portions were perfect. The wine was great. My only complaint, if you can call it one, is the water tasted like cucumber. With great food and wine let the water cleanse your mouth not introduce an unwanted flavor. Overall, though, it was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Birthday celebration for 3 of us. The waiter was so accommodating as we had one of our party delayed. Beautiful setting and wonderful experience overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Our dinner experience was perfection. The outdoor courtyard is a charming setting with lots of candles and greenery. The heat lamps made it very cozy on a chilly evening. Our waiter was pleasant, knowledgeable, and explained all the dishes well. The menu is a prix-fixe and changes nightly. All four of us in our group loved every item we had, and the presentation was beautiful. This is a fairly pricey restaurant, but absolutely worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

This is a small intimate restaurant with great food and service. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

What a wonderful restaurant, great setting outside, impeccable service, great food and ambience. I am not from the area so looked at a few reviews and picked it - very glad I did. My party was bowled over by how wonderful everything was. It is a pricy meal but absolutely worth it. It is leisurely. The wait staff work well together - hot food was hot and cold food was cold. They adjusted to a couple of dietary needs/preference with tweaks that worked perfectly. Definitely on our "to do" list for the next Scottsdale visit! Oh, and I'm a picky guy, admittedly, who eats out a lot, so I a pretty good judge of these things.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

This is one of the best restaurant experiences that my wife and I have ever had. The waiter was very knowledgeable about the food and the wine. We went with the wine pairing menu. The waiter's ability to talk knowledgeably about those pairing enhanced this experience. The outside seating was also very peasant this time of year February.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

I had very high expectations and the experience exceeded them! Monarch is worth every penny!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

This is a unique venue and a tough-to-get reservation during the winter season in Scottsdale. Carefully prepared dishes. Everything is tasty. Try the lamb samosa, duck breast, and rum cake.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 7 days ago

Both the restaurant and my dinner partner were elegant and gracious. I want more of both!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 7 days ago

Was one of the best dining experiences in Scottsdale yet!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Absolutely wonderful place from the food to the service to the ambience.....great experience!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Vegan, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 20, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 40th anniversary at Cafe Monarch. Everything was outstanding. We are well traveled around the world and have been fortunate to enjoy some of the best restaurants worldwide. The dining experience at Cafe Monarch rates in our top 5. Great for a special occasion!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed Cage Monarch. The food was great. The services impeccable as well as the ambience. We ate in the courtyard and were delighted!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Our waiter John (Qtr SOMM) was outstanding! Very knowledgeable about the wines that were paired with the meal. The dessert wine he recommended was also outstanding. We went for my 50th bday & ranked the dining experience in the top 3 our our lives! Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Monarch has a very special ambience not seen frequently in the Valley. It is very romantic with a feeling of warmth and quality. The service was friendly, efficient and accommodating. The food selection was overall quite tasty and well prepared with the exception of the beef tenderloin which we found chewy. Amazingly our waiter promptly brought us a delicious order of scallops as an appeasement as well as subtracted the item from our bill. Monarch was a very special experience and we will return in the future.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great service, very personalized experience. Wonderful wine selection too

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

A wonderful dinner and ambiance !Service, drinks, food were amazing, as always!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food at Monarch is to die for. The detail that is put into each course is great. My husband and I rarely get out for date night but when we do Monarch is the perfect romantic place to go.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 19, 2017

After having a few problems finding the restaurant, we had a wonderful time. Great decor, service, drinks and food. The steak I had was hands down the best I have ever had. It is expensive, but worth it for that special occasion. I can't comment on the outside seating, as it was raining heavily all night when we were there.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent authentic French food and decor with fantastic ingredients. Just enough of a new age American twist.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food is absolutely outstanding and the service is great too. I think it's a bit too pricey though for what you get.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Awesome food and service

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Server really screwed up our order, despite having a very simple menu to deal with. And the food was disappointing, which was a surprise - chef is overly fixated on too-sweet sauces and it drowns out the quality of the ingredients. Nice ambience but the food and service were unfortunately underwhelming for a restaurant that aspires to be top tier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Absolutely incredible food and service. Reserve way in advance. We were a group of 13 and did the wine pairings - excellent! Each person was extremely happy with the meal and pairings. No one came away unhappy. Highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Wonderful food, service, and ambiance. It's one of my all time favorite dining experiences. I would travel to Arizona just to go to this restaurant again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service. In our visit to the Phoenix area, it is the only place we would want to visit again. Get there early so you can get a table in the courtyard. My wife and I often split meal but the four-course meals here were sized right, which means you could eat most everything. Everything was delicious. Would order everything we got again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Such an outstanding experience. The service was excellent. Sam, our server, knew wines and was very helpful at describing the experience at Monarch. The food was amazing. The portions were appropriate and the variety of flavors simply delicious all through the various courses.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The food and our waiter for dinner were fantastic as usual. Had a problem at the beginning with our table not being ready. We were celebrating our son's Birthday and had been raving about your restaurant. The wine that two of us ordered while waiting was the (only) one offered by the glass and was not to our liking. (Still not convinced it was a Pinot Noir because it was so heavy) The sommelier was very busy but he treated us like we didn't know what we were talking about and insisted that it was the Pinot Noir that you serve by the glass. My husband finally just ordered a bottle of something else and it was great. When we asked (after waiting 25 minutes past our reservation time) if our table was almost ready, the hostess told us that they couldn't rush people though their dinner. 😳 Once we were seated, things were just as they've been every time we have come to your restaurant- Wonderful waiter and great food. The beginning was just weird. It was as if they were doing us a favor by letting us dine there. I've worked as a wait person in numerous restaurants in the past. I know how things get busy and backed up. Maybe it was just an off night up front. We will come back but hope to have good service from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing night! Great service, food amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our first time to Monarch Restaurant, delightful experience on Valentine's Day. Best restaurant in Scottsdale! Looking forward to returning for another fabulous evening. Richard, was outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great dining experience, we didn't care for the wine pairing this time although we have loved it in past visits.

Always exceptional service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a reservation on Valentine's Day. The place was crowded as usual. The ambiance was very romantic in the garden with candle lights. The service and the food were excellent, especially the lollipop lamb, the tender duck breast and the chilean bass. My rich friends were very impressed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food, great service, the most romantic place in town

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We go to Cafe Monarch for every special occasion we can think of.

The food is incredible, it's romantic, they make you feel you're the only ones in the restaurant.

We have never been disappointed. Definitely a Diamond in the rough.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Everything was on point. Ambiance, food presentation, taste, cocktails, and service met or exceeded our expectations

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great service, food was very good, portions are small, shrimp and grits was okay-if you're gonna do Southern then do it right, salad was fantastic, and soup was delicious. Best patio dining experience I ever had, great for Valentine's or romantic occasion. Service was second to none-I will be back, thanks Monarch!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I travel a great deal and eat at some incredible restaurants across the US. This is by far the best restaurant I've been to. The meal was absolutely a delight. We did a wine pairing, well worth the cost. Food was inventive and just perfect. Chris, our server, was a total pro, enjoyable and incredibly knowledgeable. Best experience in ages!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Monarch never disappoints. The food is creatively prepared and presented, the service impeccable and the atmosphere is always beautiful, serene and romantic .

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

the service, food and ambiance were truly wonderful! pricey but worth it for a special night! go in the evening and sit outside on the patio. candles and twinkle lights everywhere - very romantic!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I ordered the $150 Tomahawk steak special as my main course. The meal took over 45 minutes to prepare. At one point, the waiter brought out a small piece of "meat" which he said was a gift from the chef because my meal was taking so long. When I ate a piece of it, I discovered to my disgust that it was one large clump of fat covered in sauce to make it look like meat. When my steak finally came out, it was completely overcooked and inedible, after I had ordered medium rare. When I notified the waiter of this, his response was "don't worry – because the meal took so long to prepare, the chef is picking up the entire bill." The waiter than offered to bring out a separate plate such as a fillet. As I had already been there for over an hour, I declined as I had places to go afterwards. I was very dismayed that not only did the meal take so long, but the staff had the audacity to bring out a completely in edible piece of dried out steak (not to mention the conciliatory ball of fat I had been gifted earlier !) My sense was that the waiter justified this mishap by telling me the chef was picking up the tab, obviously missing the point that my meal was inedible after I had been waiting for so long. I had selected this restaurant because it was highly rated on many websites; I was extremely disappointed not only by the quality of the food, but also by the way I was treated by the staff. I would never expect to have had such a horrific experience at a supposedly high-end restaurant. I cannot recommend this establishment to anyone!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is likely the best restaurant in the greater Phoenix area. It's expensive but, for a special occasion, it's worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had a great experience celebrating wife's birthday and Valentine's Day. The food, ambience and service was outstanding. Will be back again. Our server was great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Our meal at Monarch was amazing! Just when we thought it couldn't get any better, each course that came impressed us more that the previous one. The portions were perfect - we wanted more of each course because they were so delicious, but when the meal was over we were full, but not overly stuffed. It was a busy Valentine weekend, but we didn't feel rushed. Our server Chris was wonderful and fun. Because of the price, this is definitely a place for a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

A destination restaurant that feels as if close friends invited you to their fabulous home, if your friends were also 5 star chefs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food and fantastic atmosphere! Highly recommend for romantic date night dinner or special occasions.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Absolutely amazing, One of the best meals we've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Grossly overpriced for adequate food. Outdoor seating was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love, love, love this place. Love the pre-fixe menu. Love that the menu changes constantly & according to availability of locally sourced ingredients. Love the setting & atmosphere. Love that is independently owned & that the owner is amazingly gracious. Loved our server, Richard & his love for life. Thank you for an amazing experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.