Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

About Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing

We invite you to discover our fresh seafood obsession at Mitchell's Fish Market where the fish is off the boat fresh, the drinks are made with fresh-squeezed juice & the atmosphere is as warm and inviting as a day on the water. At Mitchell's Fish Market we are obsessed with fresh seafood. Our mantra is a commitment & passion for freshness as a way of life - a pledge that our fish is 100% fresh or it isn't good enough. With more than 80 items, the chef inspired menu includes items such as Cedar Roasted Atlantic Salmon & Shang Hai Sea Bass. Come experience what an obsession with freshness tastes like at Mitchell's Fish Market...fish any fresher would still be in the ocean! View of menus online at www.mitchellsfishmarket.com!

2975 Preyde Blvd.
Lansing, MI 48912
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(517) 482-3474

Website:
http://www.mitchellsfishmarket.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Eastwood Towne Center parking is available during lunch and dinner service.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Wierenga

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The ultimate private dining in Lansing / Eastwood is at Mitchell’s Fish Market. With our warm hospitality and attention to detail, we’ll work with you to create the event of your dreams.

Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (10)
Casual (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
See All
Special Occasion (6)
Business Meals (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Romantic (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1093 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Overall, the food was good and the service very good. The portions (especially on the swordfish) were on the small side for a restaurant in this price range, but I would definitely return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Food was just ok. Seafood was pretty poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Awesome experience, waitstaff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Food was fantastic.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

I ordered the lobster bisque and pan seared whitefish which came with broccoli, shredded carrots and potatoes. Although the food was good, the lobster bisque was unexpectedly tomato based. The restaurant was so dark I was unable to see if my fish was cooked sufficiently. The restaurant was diconcertinly dark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Drinks should have been half priced because that's what I got half filled drink. Fish was dry for the fourth time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Ive never had a bad experience. I tried the sea bass and it was the best fish ive ever had

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Absolutely some of the best service ever. Our server went out of his way to get us whatever we needed and sincerely thanked us for dining at Mitchell's. Kudos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Went before U2 concert. Had 5:45 reservation. Seated at 6:20. Had to snag a waitress at 6:40 as no one had come to table. Put full order in at that time. Got our drinks at 7:10 and told it would be 45 more minutes for food to come out. They ran out of bread before we got any. We paid for drinks, drank them and left. It appeared several others did the same. Only saw two tables served food during that entire time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Enjoyed a much needed quiet dinner with my husband after a fun and lively time with family. Food was perfect. We sampled the ahi tuna appetizer and then two super seafood combination meals. If we were not so full would have tried dessert. Quiet and peaceful. Emily was attentive to our needs. Restaurant was quiet and relaxing which is our favorite ambience and not always easy to find.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Our server was super outstanding. I wish I remembered her name to give her public kudos. While most of the fish is flown in from elsewhere, they had "local" Lake Superior whitefish on the menu and they prepared it well.

Tags: Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Met friends for dinner. We were a group of seven and were seated immediately at the time of our reservation. Our waiter (I believe his name was Grant) was excellent. Very polite and attentive. The food was very good and everyone was happy with the meal.

Tags: Casual, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We stopped into Mitchell's after church. We came for lunch but noticed that they have a nice brunch menu. We will have to go back for brunch sometime. I got the cod sliders and my wife got a salad. The food was all fresh and we didn't have to wait long for anything. Thanks so much for a great meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Food was ok, not outstanding. Wait staff came off a bit grouchy for some reason, was definitely inattentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 4, 2017

My daughter ordered the Ahi Tuna Rice bowl and didn't care for it. Nothing particularly wrong with it, she was just trying something different it just didn't work for her. The manager came over and insisted on taking the dish off our bill even though it wasn't the restaurant's fault. Our server (who's name escapes me) was excellent. She was attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable. It was a delightful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Ordinary food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

They didn't look at the note that I had about my mother's birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Took my husband there for his birthday. As usual the food was excellent and we had a great waiter. We love Mitchell's

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We would most pleased with the entire experience at MItchell's Fish Market in Lansing, MI. The welcome by both the front desk and the server was not only pleasant, but each was very informative about the dining. The food choices are wide - though of course, the emphasis is on fish products. Still, the chicken and beef dish present at our table were very good. The fish was extraordinary.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Most of food was great, however, my wife's order was prepared incorrectly. The appetizer she ordered stated that pickled cucumbers were part of it and when the dish was brought out the first time, the cucumbers and onions were plain with no dressing or hint of pickling. They brought out another version that had some vinegar added to it, but clearly they had not prepped adequately for this dish. Rest of meal was good and server was fairly attentive throughtout meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great place we hit on a regular basis! Won't disappoint. Good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Excellent experience as always! Great food and wait staff!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent choice for late dining. Exceptional service, great selection on the menu and knowledgeable staff on the entrees.
Options on indoor or outdoor dining and our meal was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Very underwhelming. My fish was not cooked all the way so I sent it back. It was returned to me still under cooked. I had it boxed up and brought it home. My husband and our friend were served each other's meals. Mitchell's was one of our "go to" places. You would have thought with this many errors we would have had a visit from management....wrong!!!! It will be a LONG time before we go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Took my Mom and Dad here for Mom's Birthday and had a great dinner. My parents were smiling the entire meal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I would suggest forgetting the entree and settling for the seafood gumbo an appetizer and dessert. The entree are not that good and definitely not worth the price.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Some of the best tuna I have had. Cooked to perfection...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Disappointing in the lack of seasoning on the Blackened Halibut. Was also over cooked. Market vegetables were weak at best and served cold. Server was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Well staffed, courteous staff, nice view, fine selection of seafood. Tasty and well prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Food is always great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food is great. I tried everything at our table of four and it was all very good. It can be a tad loud when it's crowded, which unfortunately is very common everywhere, but bottom line, great seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I made a reservation for 4 to celebrate Mother's Day. We were immediately greeted by the friendly host and seated right away. Our server was gracious and very knowledgeable. The appetizer bread which he offered to us (complimentary), is doughy, warm, and absolutely delicious!
We ordered a half dozen oysters to start and the bacon BBQ shrimp. The oysters were fresh and served promptly. I wasn't impressed with the bacon shrimp, but they were not bad by any means. The menu is quite pricey by area standards, but not surprising as it is a seafood restaurant. So be prepared to spend some money here. The service and food are always on par. If you enjoy seafood, I would definitely recommend Mitchell's.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Our server was a bit strange and it was very dark despite it being sunny outside. The food was good but our asparagus was under cooked and I found a very hard piece of shell (?) in my crab cake which made me stop eating my meal. We were celebrating a birthday and our only birthday treat was a dessert that came with chocolate and nuts which the birthday boy couldn't eat... we did enjoy the meal but for the price paid I would've hoped for better service and my food to not have unexpected hard pieces in it. The halibut was amazing and the lobster and shrimp stuffed cod was to die for.

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I made reservations months ago for a graduation dinner. We were kept waiting for our 8:00 reservation time but hostess did keep us updated. Very impressed that hostess informed us that we would receive comped appetizers to make up for it. They were delicious when we finally had them! Very disappointed that two entrees arrived cold. Sent them back to be warmed up which we never do. One was still cold and had to be sent back again:( Did relay this to manager and waitress. Tables were tight and it was hard to hear conversations. Again know this was a busy night but for what we paid we were disappointed in overall experience.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The sea bass dinner was excellent however my wife's lobster dinner was extremely chewy. I tried some of her meal and would agree it was very chewy. We have had good meals in the past, however this was somewhat disappointing. We did not complain to the server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great seafood restaurant. Glad we can also buy retail, as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner to celebrate my sons MSU graduation. Go Green!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 3, 2017

great service, great food, good price. the waitress was very attentive and always watching for any sign of us needing something. the food was great, had fish and chips. price was very good for the amount and quality of the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Surprised and pleased how easy reserving a table was. Nice atmosphere; great service, however the food was fair to good, but the noise level made it very difficult to carry on conversations.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 29, 2017

GREAT OVERALL AS USUAL!!! Great food, Great service and GREAT COMPANY, my wife of 27 years!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We were leaving a Lansing conference and needed a good dinner location for 8 people, including one gluten-free. Our waitress was terrific, as was most of the food. Two of the women shared a meal (Pecan Crusted Whitefish), and it was still a generous size. The only disappointment was the Special of the Day - Shrimp with pasta (Caviatelli?) Mitchell's had sent an email showing the special for Saturday only In fact, its the reason we went to Mitchell's as one of the group really likes shrimp. Guess we should have looked for the wording to read: "shrimpS". The serving was so small, but not the price. It was a small bowl of mostly pasta with only a few small shrimp. While we all enjoyed our meal, this one was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.