About Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing

2975 Preyde Blvd.
Lansing, MI 48912
View Larger Map

We invite you to discover our fresh seafood obsession at Mitchell's Fish Market where the fish is off the boat fresh, the drinks are made with fresh-squeezed juice & the atmosphere is as warm and inviting as a day on the water. At Mitchell's Fish Market we are obsessed with fresh seafood. Our mantra is a commitment & passion for freshness as a way of life - a pledge that our fish is 100% fresh or it isn't good enough. With more than 80 items, the chef inspired menu includes items such as Cedar Roasted Atlantic Salmon & Shang Hai Sea Bass. Come experience what an obsession with freshness tastes like at Mitchell's Fish Market...fish any fresher would still be in the ocean! View of menus online at www.mitchellsfishmarket.com!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(517) 482-3474

Website:
http://www.mitchellsfishmarket.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Eastwood Towne Center parking is available during lunch and dinner service.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Wierenga

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The ultimate private dining in Lansing / Eastwood is at Mitchell’s Fish Market. With our warm hospitality and attention to detail, we’ll work with you to create the event of your dreams.

Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Casual (9)
Romantic (9)
Cozy (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Business Meals (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Healthy (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Authentic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fun (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
1038 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had a reservation at 6:30 but didn't get seated until 6:45... why make the reservation?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was an unbelievable disappointment. My wife and I were there for Valentines Day. My stuffed shrimp tasted like they were just defrosted, the shrimp weren't cleaned and deveined, and my lobster tail was raw. I couldn't even finish me meal, so we just paid and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was very good and our waitress, Emily, was attentive and professional while still being genuinely fun

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Fish dinners were tasteless not impressed with shrimp cocktail either won't be returning 🤑😤

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner. My husband was able to order a salmon dish they had offered last week. We were pleased with our food and I even was given a free birthday dessert. Madelyn our server was a sweetie. She made sure everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service and food weren't good. There are a lot of healthy options.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 9, 2017

My friends and I have had many delicious meals at Mitchell's Fish Market in Lansing, but we were disappointed this time. We celebrated my birthday there 2 years ago, and our waiter was so fantastic - giving me a rose and bringing the table a huge piece of fabulous cake. I made reservations for 8 through Open Table. Someone from Mitchell's called me the morning of our reservation - Februaray 9, 2017. They asked if we were celebrating any special occasions, and I told them yes - a birthday and a retirement. When we got to the restaurant, the pereson who seated us commented on the 2 special occasions we were celebrating. Our waitress - Laura - also asked about the special occasions and we pointed out which people were celebrating. Overall, Laura was not very personable. When she brought the meals out, she told me that my crabcakes were very overdone - in her opinion - so she was having the kitchen remake them. I told her thank you. By the time my dinnere was brought out to me - approximately 10-12 minutes later, a couple of the ladies were pretty much done with their meals and the others were more than 1/2 done. When Laura brought my bill, I expected at least a discount - especially since I had most of my meal boxed up because my other friends were done. That was not the case. I asked to speak to a manager. It was a female manager but I did not get her name. When I told her that I thought my meal would at least be discounted, her response was that she was told that my dinner was brought out only 3 minutes after the others - which was not true. My friend and I both told her that was not the case. She then said -well, I can take it off your bill if you want me to. She wasn't very pleasant when she said this. I replied, yes I think you should - which she did. When Laura brought my adjusted bill back, she pretty much dropped it on the table in front of me without saying a word.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Relaxed atmosphere. Server was five star! No issues with getting the meal perfect from the kitchen!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Rice was hard and crunchy. Tables are too close together. It's pretty loud.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

4 of us go out to a movie together followed by dinner and conversation. This is our favorite dinner spot - delicious, and cozy booths encourage conversation.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The meal was outstanding, perfectly prepared, served by a gracious and highly efficient waiter.

The house was packed on a Saturday night and the noise level was reflective but not distracting.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 21, 2017

once again this restaurant provided premium service along with wonderful cuisine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Birthday Always enjoy our meals when dining at Mitchell's in Lansing, MI.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Excellent food but table for 12 was crowded (people had problems getting around our chairs) and a little noisy. Service was very good! The guest of honor was thrilled with the dessert which was large enough for all 12 to sample. Very generous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always good food and service here. The server was pleasant and helpful and all six of us enjoyed our food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Service was very slow. The restaurant was not crowded at all and we had very slow service. Our server was not very attentive. She was no where to be found. Food was in much smaller portions than in the past. Artichoke dip came with what looked like store bought tortilla chips. They had the lights in the restaurant down so low . Many of the tables had a small wall mounted lamp, however, our booth was by a window and it was not possible. We felt like we were eating in the dark so we had to ask for a candle. The ambience felt like they were trying really hard to save money and turn the lights out. We arrived at 4:30 and it was dark then. WE have been to Mitchells many times. After Landry's bought it we went and found it to be a completely different dining experience. Our last time eating at Mitchells was 8 months ago. That experience was so disappointing that we vowed not to return. Today we decided to give it one last try. We will not return unfortunately. We do not want to be negative however, the food was just barely average, service was terrible and ambience was below average. Prices are too high for this type of experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Sea bass was great. My son had the adult cheeseburger and it was huge. Very good flavor. The banana bread pudding was perfectly portioned and very good. We've been to Mitchell's several times and wheats enjoy. Like that reservations are accepted and for any size party. Helpful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Best seafood in the Lansing area. Consistently well prepared and served.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Another great meal here! The fish is always excellent and there is something for everyone. The fish and chips satisfy my parents and my young daughter, and the grilled fresh fish was expertly prepared.

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 25, 2016

For the price, you would expect a nice QUIET dinning experience.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very fine dining and service. Our filets were outstanding, cooked to perfection. The service staff is extremely personable and articulate. While the oysters were a bit pricy (we're used to Key West fare), they were fresh and nicely presented.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We took my in-laws out for a holiday dinner here (the night before Christmas Eve) - it was a bit crowded and the waitstaff seemed to have a bit of a hard time getting around to some of the tables. Our food came out at a nice pace and everything was tasty - we had appetizers, a salad and soup, 4 main courses, and 2 desserts. The waitress was kind, pleasant, and fairly attentive.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Perfect setting for our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food was excellent and service was outstanding, James our waiter did a fantastic job!

See you soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Casual, Cozy, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 24, 2016

After two bad experiences the past 2 New Year's Eves, we opted to try Mitchell's again for Thanksgiving. Because it wasn't as crowded, it was far better. The food was good, the menu inclusive and we were seated immediately. Our server was absolutely excellent. She checked on us throughout our meal and was so pleasant and competent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We came to celebrate my birthday. We had a great meal. Great fresh seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our server was fantastic. We told her we were going to see a play and she really helped to ensure that we were well taken care of in the time we had !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our waiter was terrific and our food was outstanding. We personally are not seafood lovers and simply go for the filet mignon. They do not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The service was very good. The food was good and there was a good selection of options for dinner.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Seating was not as desired, especially for having an advance RSVP.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We always visit on our Anniversary. Prices always go up each year but the food quality is very high.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Had a chance to get out and celebrate my wife's birthday early. Arrived a bit ahead of the reservation and did have to wait past the reservation time, but the staff was very busy and very apologetic. Server was at the table moments after we were seated. She was very attentive without hovering, much appreciated. Food was terrific, only complaint was veggies weren't totally cooked.

Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My boyfriend and I were pretty underwhelmed by our experience here. Our waitress was slow, my drink wasn't mixed properly, they wouldn't let him substitute sides, and I only received 3 pieces of asparagus as one of my sides. I was expecting a little bit more from Mitchell's for my birthday! The prices are expensive for the food that is received and some of my king crab was lukewarm. At least I did get a free mini shark fin pie that was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Food was good, waitress was fantastic, ambiance was great. Our occasion was an adult mother/son meal prior to a "meet and greet" with our favorite author. It was a terrific evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was warm not hot. Which was very upsetting. Service was slow. Too few wait staff.

I have been here many times and this was my worst experience. Very disappointing because I was celebrating my son's 21 ST birthday and this is his favorite restaurant.

I hope my comments are taken seriously because we like the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This is two weeks in a row eating at Mitchell's. This week we had to wait for a table even though we had a reservation....and then waited and waited some more before a server came to our table. She did apologize for the wait....but everything was very slow this week. I was disappointed. Our worse experience dining at Mitchell's and we dine there nearly every time we are in the Lansing area.

The food was not as good as the previous week. I think they were just too busy.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Went here for our anniversary and had a great time. Used Open Table to make our reservations and waited at the bar for a table to open. One minute before our reservation time I got a text from the host saying our table was ready. Went with a tapas style meal - five side dishes and dessert. Food, service and ambiance were fantastic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Even with a reservation, it took 15 minutes to get a table and then it took almost 20 minutes for a waiter to even come over to our table. The food wasn't very good, quite salty, and not worth the price.

Tags: People Watching, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Simply the best. I brought friends from out of town, and they were very impressed with the food, atmosphere, and service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I was disappointed in our recent visit to Mitchell's. The food was production quality, lacking the extra flair and freshness we have experienced in the past.

Our server was prompt, but made us feel rushed even when asking for additional time.

We brought guest who had never been to s Mitchell's. I doubt they will return. Had this been our first experience, I doubt we would return. I'm hoping this was s one time experience, since we have previously enjoyed this location for special events. Overall, this visit was a disappointment.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Loud. Very cold and tables too close together. Food was good. Hard to have conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 11, 2016

It's a great place to go if you're a seafood lover.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Mitchell's is getting back to where they use to be before Landry's bought them. Still feels a bit like a 500 restaurant chain rather than the 30 or less previously but food quality is getting better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2016

I've been to this restaurant before and don't have high expectations but the fish was all terribly overdone and the service very slow. At least I always feel special here but just didn't on Monday - seems like used second string staff on Labor day...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food and service both very good Quieter than a lot of places

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our server was Laura and she was fantastic!

We also like that the manager stopped by our table to ask if everything was OK (It was!)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Went for a special occasion with 4 people. Made a reservation fir 6:15 and everything went well until appetizer course was finished. Dinner service was very slow (50 minute gap between appetizers and entree) and when food came out 2 of 3 Mitchell's specialty seafood dishes were stone cold. The seafood in the dishes ranged from terribly overcooked to mussels in one of the dishes had not opened during the cooking process. Ribeye steak ordered medium rare, was overcooked and served medium well. The side of asparagus 2 and a half spears, one of which was slightly mangled in appearance. Manager first offered to "reheat" cold dinners, but then ended up taking 2 of the 4 dinners of the bill due to the poor quality of the food. While the manager's willingness to make comp the dinners was appreciated and the right thing to do, I doubt we will return and will not recommend Mitchell's to others as a restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 3, 2016

First time visitor. Enjoyed our date night dinner after a day of shopping and a late afternoon movie (all located immediately near the restaurant). Our waiter was fantastic. Excellent meals!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 2, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed the food, the wine ... and especially the service. Once the waiter realized that we were having an anniversary dinner, he paid extra attention to us. The food was scrumptious and the wine was perfectly chilled. Thanks so much, Mitchell's!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Business Meals, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.