Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.47mi
  2. Distance: 0.49mi
  3. Distance: 0.50mi
  4. Distance: 0.90mi

About Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing

We invite you to discover our fresh seafood obsession at Mitchell's Fish Market where the fish is off the boat fresh, the drinks are made with fresh-squeezed juice & the atmosphere is as warm and inviting as a day on the water. At Mitchell's Fish Market we are obsessed with fresh seafood. Our mantra is a commitment & passion for freshness as a way of life - a pledge that our fish is 100% fresh or it isn't good enough. With more than 80 items, the chef inspired menu includes items such as Cedar Roasted Atlantic Salmon & Shang Hai Sea Bass. Come experience what an obsession with freshness tastes like at Mitchell's Fish Market...fish any fresher would still be in the ocean! View of menus online at www.mitchellsfishmarket.com!

2975 Preyde Blvd.
Lansing, MI 48912
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(517) 482-3474

Website:
http://www.mitchellsfishmarket.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Eastwood Towne Center parking is available during lunch and dinner service.

Executive Chef:
Ryan Wierenga

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The ultimate private dining in Lansing / Eastwood is at Mitchell’s Fish Market. With our warm hospitality and attention to detail, we’ll work with you to create the event of your dreams.

Mitchell's Fish Market - Lansing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for Birthdays (19)
See All
Business Meals (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Groups (12)
Romantic (11)
Healthy (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Casual (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Fun (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Cozy (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Authentic (5)
Private Room (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Family Style (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1065 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 3 days ago

Well staffed, courteous staff, nice view, fine selection of seafood. Tasty and well prepared.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food is great. I tried everything at our table of four and it was all very good. It can be a tad loud when it's crowded, which unfortunately is very common everywhere, but bottom line, great seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I made a reservation for 4 to celebrate Mother's Day. We were immediately greeted by the friendly host and seated right away. Our server was gracious and very knowledgeable. The appetizer bread which he offered to us (complimentary), is doughy, warm, and absolutely delicious!
We ordered a half dozen oysters to start and the bacon BBQ shrimp. The oysters were fresh and served promptly. I wasn't impressed with the bacon shrimp, but they were not bad by any means. The menu is quite pricey by area standards, but not surprising as it is a seafood restaurant. So be prepared to spend some money here. The service and food are always on par. If you enjoy seafood, I would definitely recommend Mitchell's.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Our server was a bit strange and it was very dark despite it being sunny outside. The food was good but our asparagus was under cooked and I found a very hard piece of shell (?) in my crab cake which made me stop eating my meal. We were celebrating a birthday and our only birthday treat was a dessert that came with chocolate and nuts which the birthday boy couldn't eat... we did enjoy the meal but for the price paid I would've hoped for better service and my food to not have unexpected hard pieces in it. The halibut was amazing and the lobster and shrimp stuffed cod was to die for.

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I made reservations months ago for a graduation dinner. We were kept waiting for our 8:00 reservation time but hostess did keep us updated. Very impressed that hostess informed us that we would receive comped appetizers to make up for it. They were delicious when we finally had them! Very disappointed that two entrees arrived cold. Sent them back to be warmed up which we never do. One was still cold and had to be sent back again:( Did relay this to manager and waitress. Tables were tight and it was hard to hear conversations. Again know this was a busy night but for what we paid we were disappointed in overall experience.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The sea bass dinner was excellent however my wife's lobster dinner was extremely chewy. I tried some of her meal and would agree it was very chewy. We have had good meals in the past, however this was somewhat disappointing. We did not complain to the server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great seafood restaurant. Glad we can also buy retail, as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner to celebrate my sons MSU graduation. Go Green!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 3, 2017

great service, great food, good price. the waitress was very attentive and always watching for any sign of us needing something. the food was great, had fish and chips. price was very good for the amount and quality of the food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Surprised and pleased how easy reserving a table was. Nice atmosphere; great service, however the food was fair to good, but the noise level made it very difficult to carry on conversations.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 29, 2017

GREAT OVERALL AS USUAL!!! Great food, Great service and GREAT COMPANY, my wife of 27 years!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We were leaving a Lansing conference and needed a good dinner location for 8 people, including one gluten-free. Our waitress was terrific, as was most of the food. Two of the women shared a meal (Pecan Crusted Whitefish), and it was still a generous size. The only disappointment was the Special of the Day - Shrimp with pasta (Caviatelli?) Mitchell's had sent an email showing the special for Saturday only In fact, its the reason we went to Mitchell's as one of the group really likes shrimp. Guess we should have looked for the wording to read: "shrimpS". The serving was so small, but not the price. It was a small bowl of mostly pasta with only a few small shrimp. While we all enjoyed our meal, this one was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We ordered lobster Mac and cheese to share. It lacked flavor, the pasta shells were undercooked and the lobster only topped the dish making it dry. Won't order it again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Service was very good. Our server was attentive throughout the entire meal. We ordered the special which was priced a little high for the quantity of food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Spring Halibut Chef's selection was amazing! Need to bring back after-dinner mints and mouthwash in restrooms though!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Healthy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service, food, atmosphere and experience were above and beyond our expectations! Thank you Mitchells Fish Market, Lansing MI, staff for making our dining experience one to remember! We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 16, 2017

A definite 'go to' when we want to treat our MSU students to an excellent meal. Everything is delicious!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great dinner. Fantastic waitress. Always a favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our son had the seafood grilled combo and it was dry and chemical tasting. It was scary. Our waitress was agreeable to taking it away and he had the lobster, shrimp salad like I had, and enjoyed it. But he was looking forward to grilled crab, so it was still disappointing.. Our waitress was very good, considering there were 10 of us. We were happy with all but one of our meals.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 22, 2017

We have been to Mitchell's three times now and each time, the food has been excellent and the service was exceptional. The timing of the salad v entree was perfect. I hate it when a restaurant brings your main entree while you are still eating your salad.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Slow service
Prior food quality refunded two fish entries as they were not fresh
Noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We were very impressed with the quality of fish at Mitchell's. We were celebrating a birthday and were surprised to find out that the restaurant provided a free 'Shark Fin' desert. Everything was tasty!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food as always. Top notch service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This restaurant is usually very reliable in terms of the food quality. However, we were very disappointed with the Alaskan King Crab legs. The legs come sliced in half from the supplier, apparently, and ours were very dry. At this price, there is no excuse for the low quality. Mitchell's- you need to do better!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

My parents loved the shrimp and chips sooo much! The restaurant was crowded but yet our server was excellent and never missed a beat. Really nice visit!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I feel the service should have been better. They never even came back to fill my water glass. Don't get a steak here. Not their specialty.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had a reservation at 6:30 but didn't get seated until 6:45... why make the reservation?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was an unbelievable disappointment. My wife and I were there for Valentines Day. My stuffed shrimp tasted like they were just defrosted, the shrimp weren't cleaned and deveined, and my lobster tail was raw. I couldn't even finish me meal, so we just paid and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food was very good and our waitress, Emily, was attentive and professional while still being genuinely fun

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Fish dinners were tasteless not impressed with shrimp cocktail either won't be returning 🤑😤

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner. My husband was able to order a salmon dish they had offered last week. We were pleased with our food and I even was given a free birthday dessert. Madelyn our server was a sweetie. She made sure everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service and food weren't good. There are a lot of healthy options.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of our favorite places to eat! Everything is always exceptional! Our steaks we're cooked perfectly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on February 9, 2017

My friends and I have had many delicious meals at Mitchell's Fish Market in Lansing, but we were disappointed this time. We celebrated my birthday there 2 years ago, and our waiter was so fantastic - giving me a rose and bringing the table a huge piece of fabulous cake. I made reservations for 8 through Open Table. Someone from Mitchell's called me the morning of our reservation - Februaray 9, 2017. They asked if we were celebrating any special occasions, and I told them yes - a birthday and a retirement. When we got to the restaurant, the pereson who seated us commented on the 2 special occasions we were celebrating. Our waitress - Laura - also asked about the special occasions and we pointed out which people were celebrating. Overall, Laura was not very personable. When she brought the meals out, she told me that my crabcakes were very overdone - in her opinion - so she was having the kitchen remake them. I told her thank you. By the time my dinnere was brought out to me - approximately 10-12 minutes later, a couple of the ladies were pretty much done with their meals and the others were more than 1/2 done. When Laura brought my bill, I expected at least a discount - especially since I had most of my meal boxed up because my other friends were done. That was not the case. I asked to speak to a manager. It was a female manager but I did not get her name. When I told her that I thought my meal would at least be discounted, her response was that she was told that my dinner was brought out only 3 minutes after the others - which was not true. My friend and I both told her that was not the case. She then said -well, I can take it off your bill if you want me to. She wasn't very pleasant when she said this. I replied, yes I think you should - which she did. When Laura brought my adjusted bill back, she pretty much dropped it on the table in front of me without saying a word.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Relaxed atmosphere. Server was five star! No issues with getting the meal perfect from the kitchen!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Rice was hard and crunchy. Tables are too close together. It's pretty loud.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

4 of us go out to a movie together followed by dinner and conversation. This is our favorite dinner spot - delicious, and cozy booths encourage conversation.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The meal was outstanding, perfectly prepared, served by a gracious and highly efficient waiter.
The house was packed on a Saturday night and the noise level was reflective but not distracting.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 21, 2017

once again this restaurant provided premium service along with wonderful cuisine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Birthday Always enjoy our meals when dining at Mitchell's in Lansing, MI.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.