About Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville

We invite you to discover our fresh seafood obsession at Mitchell's Fish Market where the fish is off the boat fresh, the drinks are made with fresh-squeezed juice & the atmosphere is as warm and inviting as a day on the water. At Mitchell's Fish Market we are obsessed with fresh seafood. Our mantra is a commitment & passion for freshness as a way of life - a pledge that our fish is 100% fresh or it isn't good enough. With more than 80 items, the chef inspired menu includes items such as Cedar Roasted Atlantic Salmon & Shang Hai Sea Bass. Come experience what an obsession with freshness tastes like at Mitchell's Fish Market...fish any fresher would still be in the ocean! View of menus online at www.mitchellsfishmarket.com!

5205 Big Island Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 645-3474

Website:
http://www.mitchellsfishmarket.com/

Catering:
We do accept large party reservations online, however anything over 12 will need to be reserved by calling the restaurant directly at
904-645-3474.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch & dinner service for $5. There is also public parking in the surrounding St. Johns Town Center parking lots.

Executive Chef:
Clifford Twiggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Mitchell's Fish Market private rooms are available for any occasion! Work one-on-one with your Private Event Manager to create a truly customized affair. To host your event in one of our private dining rooms, contact us today!

Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
See All
Bar Seating (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Casual (9)
Business Meals (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fun (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Healthy (5)
Cozy (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Authentic (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Romantic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1868 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was great. Service was poor. Waited 15 minutes before even being greeted by waiter. Had to go back to the host stand to make sure we even had one. Once ordered waited 45 minutes for food in a restaurant less than have full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 9, 2017

The experience was good and what you can usually expect from Mitchell's. Dante was our server and he is quick with a great comment and his stories were relevant and enjoyaqble.

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Always like Mitchell's. Great server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 18, 2017

A wonderfulExperience in every way

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Nice place. Food was a little over cooked but I doubt it's like that every time. If you like seafood they have a lot of choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The meal was wonderful. Our waiter suggested membership with the Landry Rewards. I anticipate using this a lot in all its offerings. So glad I selected this place. I can see why it is on Jacksonville's top restaurant list in Google and Trip Advisor.

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Organic, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Spicy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We had the lobster special and it was absolutely delicious. Cooked just right and oh so good! Service was very good and there was just enough time for us to eat our salad before our lobster was served, which was great.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great time, good food and good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

. My friend and I split an entree and wedge,the kitchen staff plated our food individually. That is good service. Food was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Food was bland. The crab cakes were great, but the rest of food just bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 11, 2017

In a word, fabulous! Service is great. Seafood and steaks equally wonderful.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Healthy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2017

My wife & I took my mom out to dinner and had a wonderful experience. We had firecracker shrimp as an appetizer, which was prepared nicely. My wife & I split the titanic wedge salad, which was also great! Along with the bread, it's best for us to share apps & salads because you get good portions here and ours were delicious. I had the sea bass special, stuffed with lobster, shrimp, & crab! We had mixed drinks, which were well made. My wife had a great cosmo. We will be back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Had the fresh grouper blackened. It was fabulous. John our server provided exceptional personal service. Really enjoy this place. It is our go-to for fresh seafood.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Dinner with my Boo for his birthday. Food was good except my shrimp was over cooked. Still had a good time and would recommend Mitchell's.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Casual, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Lobster was a non-event, no flavor and not cooked properly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Good food with excellent service🤗

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had a very nice server who was the best part of the evening . The location and facility is also great at Town Center. However, They don't validate the valet parking that is in front of their own restaurant. The food took quite a while and it was a Sunday night at 7 and the restaurant was basically empty. Two of the fish entrees were cold. The Alaskan King Crab was dry. The bill was not inexpensive. While it wasn't terrible it wasn't great either. Maybe it was an off night but I wasn't impressed and probably wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We (my sons (23 & 16), my sweetie & I) went there on Saturday, 7/29, for dinner. We requested one of the semi-circle booths & were graciously accommodated. Surprisingly, it wasn't very busy for a Saturday night.

I had the Chilean Sea Bass which was excellent. A good-sized portion. I opted out of the carb & asked for extra veggie (spinach), which was generously accommodated (I got a heaping bowlful). My 16 yr old ordered the salmon & shrimp (asked for extra shrimp instead of the additional combo on the menu that it was supposed to be served w/sea scallops). He got it w/the teriyaki sauce but said the sauce was salty. Came on a bed of rice w/some spinach (but gave me the spinach).

My 23 yr old had the tuna bowl. Another good-sized portion & he commented that it was very good. My sweetie got the grouper which was pretty tough (either it had gristle or was under-cooked). We told the server, Nicole, who said she would take it to the chef. Nicole did offer another grouper be prepared but the rest of us had already finished so we told her no. When she brought the check, I asked her if the chef said anything about the fish & she said someone was supposed to come out to the table. She headed for the kitchen & soon after the manager came out. He apologized for the inconvenience & comp'd us the grouper meal.

Server was attentive & professional & the manager was apologetic & graceful.

Valet parking is an added bonus being right in front of the establishment (there is a fee).

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food was very good. The service was great; we had a party of six (6) and our waiter, Curtis, was up for the challenge :) He made sure our drinks were filled and even brought us extra bread without us asking. We were there to celebrate a birthday & were never rushed so we were able to enjoy our dinner celebration. Curtis was an AWESOME server and he smelled good :)

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I thought the service was above the norm these days but the food was just okay and I thought overpriced because of the lack of taste. I had the teriyaki salmon with shrimp and scallops and both the shrimp and scallops were very bland. It has a good vibe and would be a decent spot to grab a drink, they had some decent local brews on tap which I always appreciate, but the food was just average at best.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Everything was good with the exception of the ahi tuna bowl. At first it tasted like tomatoes! Cosmos were excellent. Service was excellent until they got busy.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Wonderful place! The food was fantastic. Comfortable, stylish place. Would definitely go back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Quick Bite, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Really need to attend to the restrooms. Same problem each visit!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Kyle was an extremely attentive and knowledgeable server and the food was awesome as usual.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Waiter, very nice, but was inexperienced, should have been teamed with some one who knew what they were doing. Everything took much longer than it should have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Uneven experience overall. Chargrilled oyster appetizer was fantastic- reminiscent of Dragos in New Orleans. Caesar salad overdressed and soggy. Pan fried grouper with 'Shanghai' presentation was disappointing- fish overcooked and dry, sauce was overly sweet and uninteresting.

Waitress was annoying- her response to any menu related question was always the same- "I don't eat that." That is the mark of unprofessional, untrained waitstaff.

Wine list unimpressive.

I'll go back for chargrilled oysters and beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The ambiance was lovely for catching up with a friend during lunch. Our entrees were wonderful and it was evident by the "clean" plates at the end of our meal. The service was outstanding from arrival to departure. And the music was just the right mix of genres. Overall a much enjoyed outing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 6, 2017

It was a great dining experience. Kyle was the server and he was Superb. The entire staff made themselves available to us to make sure we had everything that we needed. Great place and we will be back again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Casual, Business Meals, Fun, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Have been going to this resturant since they opened . Tonight was exceptional. From service (thanks John) to the food, everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine at Mitchell's! The food and service were top-notch, as always.

I didn't think that I would be selecting "Great for Outdoor Dining" this time as it was 90+ degrees outside, but we were watching a couple sitting out on the patio, and they looked as happy as clams! They were soon joined by another party at a nearby table. Good for them, I had to check the box then!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Good food, comfortable surrounding, good service, an overall pleasant dining experience. We will visit again soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food - mussels are awesome. Service is great as well. Atmosphere is appropriate for couples and families, but it is a little more on the quiet side.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Food was good, but not as good as some of the normal fish restaurants in town. Over priced for what they offer. I was talked into the sea bass over the ribeye, and regretted the choice. Went for our anniversary, and not as nice as was expected. Clean, nice staff, food ok, just not great. We went somewhere else for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Invited our friend to dinner at Mitchell's, we have eaten there often. They have a broad range of dishes from traditional fish an chips to shellfish, Raw oyster bar, and a good selection of fresh fish. I had the brook trout pan fried. excellent. We ordered the 1/2 dozen oysters on the half shell as a starter and my friend was put out because they served an oyster that was no more then a sliver. The shucker should never have put it out. put the others tasted delicious. Wait staff was very friendly but new to the job which always tests your patients. But she did well. Best sour dough bread in the land. It alone is worth the visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great service ...fabulous menu with a variety of delicious appetizers as well as dinner not to mention wine list !

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Delishous meal. Our server was excellent and answered all our questions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Maine lobster bisque was tasty and tasted nothing like Maine. I have the stuffed crab cod and it came out room temperature. The lobster in the Mac and cheese was good but the Mac and cheese was sour. My favorite part of the meal was the broccoli. Our server really did not know the menu when we asked questions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My wife and I went to Mitchell's Fish Market tonight for the first time bevause we had some friends cancel so we decided to go. Well we were pleasantly surprised at the food and the service. Our waiter Mandell was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine selection which made the experience enjoyable. I don't recommend first time restaurant experience but this was special and I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I was really disappointed. It's no wonder the restaurant was not crowded.
The menu listed shrimp, mahi mahi and grouper, among other seafood, that could be prepared in several ways. I asked which types were local. The waitress didn't know, but checked, and it turned out that none were. That's surprising, given that I could get fresh local fish this time of year at almost any seafood restaurant (or seafood shack) in this area.
The meal went downhill from there- The mussels were clearly not fresh, my companion's stuffed flounder had to be returned (which is very unusual for me) and was replaced by a bowl of lobster bisque that was clearly not fresh and was much too salty.
My swordfish was mediocre, and even the asparagus portion was meager.
I was really surprised at the poor overall experience, and I won't be back.
Next time, I'll try one of the local places. This place lacks quality control.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.