About Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville

5205 Big Island Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

We invite you to discover our fresh seafood obsession at Mitchell's Fish Market where the fish is off the boat fresh, the drinks are made with fresh-squeezed juice & the atmosphere is as warm and inviting as a day on the water. At Mitchell's Fish Market we are obsessed with fresh seafood. Our mantra is a commitment & passion for freshness as a way of life - a pledge that our fish is 100% fresh or it isn't good enough. With more than 80 items, the chef inspired menu includes items such as Cedar Roasted Atlantic Salmon & Shang Hai Sea Bass. Come experience what an obsession with freshness tastes like at Mitchell's Fish Market...fish any fresher would still be in the ocean! View of menus online at www.mitchellsfishmarket.com!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 645-3474

Website:
http://www.mitchellsfishmarket.com/

Catering:
We do accept large party reservations online, however anything over 12 will need to be reserved by calling the restaurant directly at
904-645-3474.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch & dinner service for $5. There is also public parking in the surrounding St. Johns Town Center parking lots.

Executive Chef:
Clifford Twiggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Mitchell's Fish Market private rooms are available for any occasion! Work one-on-one with your Private Event Manager to create a truly customized affair. To host your event in one of our private dining rooms, contact us today!

Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Groups (11)
Casual (11)
Business Meals (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Romantic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Seasonal (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Healthy (5)
Family Style (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Fun (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Private Room (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1789 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and service. Definitely looki ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and service. Definitely looking forward to the next experience.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Healthy, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were greeted with a smile. We were se ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were greeted with a smile. We were seated right away with the reservation. The service was excellent. She was always checking on us and bringing refills on time. We had a smile on our face the whole time. Our dinner was great! The food was excellent!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit for which we we ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was our first visit for which we were excited as Mitchell's was highly recommended. Our experience was less than stellar, it was understandably busy as it was Valentine's Day. We were seated at the same time as another couple, yet they received their appetizer well before we did. This is something we were able to overlook, not a big deal. We were then offered the wrong appetizer twice, once our order was verified we then watched as staff attempted to give it to every table except ours. As our waitress walked past as if she was oblivious to what was happening.

After waiting for well over an hour we finally receive our entrees. The food not only looked good, it tasted amazing. The first bite of crab cake was delicious, ever bite after that I crunched on pieces of crab shell. It's a delight to have a crab cake that is filled with crab meat, but crunching on shell is not my idea of a great dinner.

One too many pieces of shell, was all it took to call it a night. As we are preparing to leave, we notice an insect of some type crawl out of the appetizer we waited so long for. This was definitely not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

This was my second time at Mitchells and ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was my second time at Mitchells and just like the first time I wasn't disappointed. The food was good the service is right I enjoyed myself again. Only thing this time is my food was a little warm,but they reheated it with no problem. Will return again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic but the service w ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was fantastic but the service was even better. Pricey but well worth it. Will be a go to restaurant from now on.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bloody Marys were awesome. Mussels appet ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Bloody Marys were awesome. Mussels appetizer was wonderful. Blackened mahi was very tasty. My wife had cod stuffed with lobster and shrimp was great.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was our 14th marriage anniversary and ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was our 14th marriage anniversary and we chose Mitchell's Fish Market because of the menu , we started with the drinks which were a bit slow to come as the bar tender was busy, but the appetizers " spicy shrimp" was awesome for our entrees my spouse had the lobster stuffed cod and I had the Lobster and shrimp stuffed sea bass which was awesome and worth the money. Kyle our server was very pleasant and attentive, would surely go back there again

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Cedar plank salmon was great! The wine c ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Cedar plank salmon was great!

The wine cork on a bottle of cabernet was so dry that it broke, they need to store their wines properly.

Service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I ordered grilled Salon on wooden plank, ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I ordered grilled Salon on wooden plank, my wife had the Grouper. I had a spinach salad, she had lobster bisque. The service was attentive and helpful. We had 7:15 reservations and by 7:45 the restaurant looked to be full. All our food was very good. Good experience from start to finish.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and service was great. Sat in t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food and service was great. Sat in the bar area at a booth and still was able to have one on one conversation without feeling like we were at a bar. Went for my birthday and can honestly say I haven't had a meal that delicious in a while. Everything came out in a timely manner. Will definitely be returning.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, , Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great experience. The server wa ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was a great experience. The server was courteous a knowledgeable of the menu. We were in and out in an hour. I will go again.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always delicious and fresh seafood!! I a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Always delicious and fresh seafood!! I am never disappointed in the seafood at Mitchell's. One of my go to spots for business lunchs and dinners.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Private Room, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Couldn't keep the glasses filled or the ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Couldn't keep the glasses filled or the bread on the table. Steak inedible. This place is either fantastic or abhorrent. It's never in the middle; you have to go there and hope for the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Had two waiters assigned and only saw on ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had two waiters assigned and only saw one with the exception of at the beginning when they introduced themselves plated us wrong and brought out the wrong meal for one person! Food was ok last time I was there it was delicious but that's when it wasn't busy when it's busy it's below averagefor the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

The fish is always fresh and prepared ve ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The fish is always fresh and prepared very well. The service could not have been better. We were very pleased.

Tags: , Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our table was ready when we arrived and ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Our table was ready when we arrived and we were seated promptly. Our server was pleasant, enthusiastic and accommodating. Meal pacing was excellent. Each course was presented simultaneously to all in my party and the orders were accurately prepared. One in our party was not happy with her chicken Caesar salad (she felt the chicken was over cooked and was not too keen on the flavor) but everyone else enjoyed their meal. At her request, the staff removed the charge for that dish from the check without hesitation or any hint of push back. The manager visited the table and offered to prepare the meal again or provide an alternative. I believe the staff did everything they should have to try to resolve the complaint. Wine and beer list provided ample quality selections and my Sauvignon Blanc was quite tasty, full of citrus that blended well with my stuffed flounder. Overall, the meals were well prepared and tasty but lacked a bit of imagination and the portion size was a bit smaller than I'd have expected for the price paid. It represented a solid effort worthy of 3 of 5 stars.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Everything from start to finish was grea ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Everything from start to finish was great, and the waiter kyle, was extremely helpful and knowledgeable of menu items.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. We had the crab ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The food was delicious. We had the crab artichoke appe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Was having a

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Was having a

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for early New Year's Eve dinner .. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went for early New Year's Eve dinner .. We're promptly seated.. Waitress was extremely friends and made good recommendations. Dinner was fantastic!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Even thought it was New Year's Eve, the ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Even thought it was New Year's Eve, the music was way to loud - had difficulty hearing the server let alone the people sitting at the table.

Overall the experience was very good but the music added a challenge to say the least.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We made a reservation for 830pm on Chris ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We made a reservation for 830pm on Christmas Day, we had to wait an extra 25 minutes to be seated which was not a big deal. As we were being seated they gave our table away to a group that was already seated but wanted our table location. They sat the 3 of us at a 8 person round table near the kitchen which was a terrible location. The service was sufficient for the time frame. Poor seating and they shouldn't have given our table to some cranky customer after we had to wait after our reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

My husband and I booked this restaurant ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 26, 2016

My husband and I booked this restaurant every year for Christmas. I suggest you avoid this place during the holidays. They are unable to handle the over load of people. I heard a waitress telling her table that the restaurant was backed up since noon. We made reservations for 7:30 and didn't get seated till 8:15. Very disappointed, we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value4

To the point. Made reservations, and wai ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 26, 2016

To the point. Made reservations, and waited 45 minutes to be seated. Waited an hour and 15 minutes for our food. Cod stuffed with lobster and crab was luke warm. My wife's salmon on a plank was also luke warm, but was over cooked. I didn't complain, because I was hungry and didn't want to wait any longer. Expensive, and no offer of comping anything. Plenty of apologies from the waiter. Didn't complain because I just was not in that mode. The waiter knew just the same. Don't waist your time and money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

It took more than 1 hour to get our food ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It took more than 1 hour to get our food and when we did everyone's mashed potatoes were cold. No effort was made to accommodate the ridiculously long wait - no additional bread, no complimentary appetizer, just repeated excuses of "the kitchen is busy and running behind". Granted, it was Christmas, but that's no excuse for being inadequately staffed to properly accommodate the reservations they accepted in advance. All in all, poor service, small portions, and overpriced (and cold) food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The food.,as always was very good. Great ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food.,as always was very good. Great service from our waitress. She apologized repeatedly for our wait for the food. This was Christmas day and it was very busy. There were 4 open tables in the lounge area and we were not asked if we wanted to sit there. I had to ask. Another couple asked as well and they were initially told they couldn't sit there. Another couple at the bar were not seated until an hour after their reservation! Bottom line is they over booked and seated walk ins at the expense of those of us who made reservations.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Christmas dinner, family in town so we " ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas dinner, family in town so we "splurged" on Mitchell's. spent $300 for a meal that was basically something i could have made at home. not impressed at all, and i'm not a very picky person. small portions, not creatively cooked or plated, and i'm pretty sure the "mini muffin" bread pudding was microwaved. even cheesecake factory blows this place away all day long. if it wasn't so freakishly overpriced, i never would even consider leaving such a review, but i dine out often, at least 3-4 times per week, and this is the biggest rip-off i've ever experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Our experience at Mitchell's was dreadfu ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our experience at Mitchell's was dreadful.

Even though we had a reserve, we waited for more than a half hour for our table. Of course it was Christmas, but if we make the effort to make a reserve, they should try there best to honor it. Plus it was an early time period.

We had a drink at the bar, which might have been fine -- but they put a charge receipt in front of for payment, before we even got our drinks. That is just a sorry situation.

After almost a 1/2 hour - we were seated, placed our order with a wait staff - Samantha, and then never saw her again. The bread we were promised was never delivered. No one came to check on drinks. My soup arrived, hot and tasty.....and then Samantha miraculously appeared asking why we didnt have our dinner yet - as if we should know.

She returned moments later with our dishes, which had been languishing under lamps in the kitchen. They were cold, tasteless and needless to say we called the manager.

He came, whisked away our plates and promised we would have replacements in a few minutes.

We did, however you could tell that no care was taken to make sure they were well plated, and hot.

We ate quickly, paid the bill and departed. Oh by the way....never to return.

There were tons of people waiting for tables when we left, and we felt like advising them to go elsewhere - albeit Christmas Day so where could they go.

Maybe restaurants like Mitchells should just close for the holiday as many others to. With there price point, customers expect better food and better service -- even if it is a holiday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Great idea for Christmas dinner! Super b ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great idea for Christmas dinner! Super busy so that may have affected our 40min wait even though we had a reservation. Service was a 4 out of 5 - great at times but not the whole time. Again, this could have been in part to the business of the restaurant, but, something they can work on improving. The food was quite good and portions were not huge. Would recommend this restaurant!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Came here because nothing else was open ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Came here because nothing else was open on Christmas day. Food was nothing special and pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Excellent Food, Outstanding Service! I ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent Food, Outstanding Service! I took 12 friends there for Christmas dinner. This has become a tradition over the past 3 years, and we have never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time my family and I ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This is the second time my family and I enjoyed Christmas dinner at Mitchell's Fish Market and we are never disappointed. The service is great and the food is awesome. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to family and friends!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arrived at 5:45 on Christmas Eve to have ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Arrived at 5:45 on Christmas Eve to have a few drinks in the bar before dinner reservations at 6:30. We were acknowledged and told our waiter would be right over. Sat at a high top and after 10 minutes, went to the bar for our first round of drinks. The place was empty so we should have been served immediately. The six of us enjoyed our dinner with few exceptions. The calamari appetizer wasn't that good and the crime brûlée sugar topping was cold so I did not completely enjoy the dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We took my 90 year old Mother out for di ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We took my 90 year old Mother out for dinner. From the moment we arrived, the personnel were very friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. The restaurant itself was very clean with a very comfortable atmosphere. I intend to return and will recommend Mitchells to my family and friends. Thank you for a pleasant Christmas Eve dinner.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for lunch - waitress was attenti ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went for lunch - waitress was attentive and prompt and just the right degree of friendly.

I had the best blackened cod I have had in years. My vegetables came exactly as I had ordered, and they were very fresh. My husband had the fish and chips and there again, it was all fresh and prepared perfectly.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great seafood and ambiance, but the food ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great seafood and ambiance, but the food was way too salty. The chef should be counseled. We eat out a lot so we know most places use lots of salt but this was over the top. Service was great and so were the drinks. We had the lobster bisque soup and shrimp cocktail apps and my wife had twin lobster tails. I had the sea bass special. Again, too much salt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The service was a bit off on this visit. ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The service was a bit off on this visit. We had a large party (14) and one server. She seemed to on top of that have a lot of tables already. The appetizers were pretty expensive for the platter we got. The music was also so loud that we could barely all order and the server agreed she just couldnt hear anything. It took a long time to get desserts and the check. Not a great experience. They have recently redone the menu and mehhhh, it didnt excite us like it used to so I am not sure we will rush back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Good consistent dining experience!!!!!!! ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Good consistent dining experience!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The shrimp and cole slaw were not good. ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 7, 2016

The shrimp and cole slaw were not good. The tiliapia had no flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I can sum it up in two words; absolutely ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I can sum it up in two words; absolutely excellent! Our waiter was great, food was absolutely delicious and we will return!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.