About Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville

We invite you to discover our fresh seafood obsession at Mitchell's Fish Market where the fish is off the boat fresh, the drinks are made with fresh-squeezed juice & the atmosphere is as warm and inviting as a day on the water. At Mitchell's Fish Market we are obsessed with fresh seafood. Our mantra is a commitment & passion for freshness as a way of life - a pledge that our fish is 100% fresh or it isn't good enough. With more than 80 items, the chef inspired menu includes items such as Cedar Roasted Atlantic Salmon & Shang Hai Sea Bass. Come experience what an obsession with freshness tastes like at Mitchell's Fish Market...fish any fresher would still be in the ocean! View of menus online at www.mitchellsfishmarket.com!

5205 Big Island Drive
Jacksonville, FL 32246
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 645-3474

Website:
http://www.mitchellsfishmarket.com/

Catering:
We do accept large party reservations online, however anything over 12 will need to be reserved by calling the restaurant directly at
904-645-3474.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available during lunch & dinner service for $5. There is also public parking in the surrounding St. Johns Town Center parking lots.

Executive Chef:
Clifford Twiggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 4:00PM - 6:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Mitchell's Fish Market private rooms are available for any occasion! Work one-on-one with your Private Event Manager to create a truly customized affair. To host your event in one of our private dining rooms, contact us today!

Mitchell's Fish Market - Jacksonville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
See All
Casual (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Business Meals (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Cozy (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Fun (5)
Romantic (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (0)
Sort By:
S
1827 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I went to Mitchell's Fish Market tonight for the first time bevause we had some friends cancel so we decided to go. Well we were pleasantly surprised at the food and the service. Our waiter Mandell was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine selection which made the experience enjoyable. I don't recommend first time restaurant experience but this was special and I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I was really disappointed. It's no wonder the restaurant was not crowded.
The menu listed shrimp, mahi mahi and grouper, among other seafood, that could be prepared in several ways. I asked which types were local. The waitress didn't know, but checked, and it turned out that none were. That's surprising, given that I could get fresh local fish this time of year at almost any seafood restaurant (or seafood shack) in this area.
The meal went downhill from there- The mussels were clearly not fresh, my companion's stuffed flounder had to be returned (which is very unusual for me) and was replaced by a bowl of lobster bisque that was clearly not fresh and was much too salty.
My swordfish was mediocre, and even the asparagus portion was meager.
I was really surprised at the poor overall experience, and I won't be back.
Next time, I'll try one of the local places. This place lacks quality control.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I was a bit disappointed. Knowing this is a chain restaurant I had still expected better. This place was suggested to us, but it was just plain average. The menu was very minimal, and the food was very underwhelming. Since moving here 3 years ago, we typically have celebrated occasions at local family owned restaurants. Ate this experience, we will probably go back to doing the same.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were seated almost immediately after showing up on time for our reservation. The waitress took our drink order and then our food order. A second guy brought bread, but we didn't have utensils available to butter it. A different lady brought out the food, who we needed to ask for utensils and refills, as our drinks had been dry for quite a while. The waitress was nice and a bit more attentive from here on. My wife's salmon plank portion of fish and vegetables was so small I ended up giving her my soup. Not quite worth $26 when it isn't a full meal. Lastly, I returned home to an open table email saying we didn't show to our reservations. I've been to this restaurant before with a lot more success than this trip.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good food nice setting good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was excellent. We were seated on time. Everyone smiled while the were serving you. The food was excellent. I loved it.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great Mother's Day celebration on the patio. Everything was really fresh, veggies perfectly al dente cooked and fish was really delicious. My ONLY reason for not having 5 out of 5 on food was that we had guest with Celiac Disease in our party and the gluten free menu is pretty sparse. It would have been nice to have a few sauces available for the GF crowd. Other than that, we had a great time. The waitress handled our large crowd like a total pro!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a great experience for celebrating Mothers Day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Terrific fish dishes and veggies! We like to sit outside.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

After checking (lack of) availability at 10 other restaurants (TPC weekend, Sat night) and finding none at a reasonable time, I was surprised that Mitchell's had tables at pretty much any time of the evening. Sat outside by choice and enjoyed the bustle of the St John's Town Center. The menu is huge and everything tasted very good (Ahi Tuna, Cedar Plank Salmon, Lobster-stuffed Cod) washed down with a decent selection of reasonably-priced wines. The restaurant was nowhere near full so there was no obvious reason for slowish service but a pleasant experience and I'll come back again. Complimentary valet.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was very good. I had blackened salmon with mash potatoes, delicious. Our server, John, was great! Friendly and had wonderful suggestions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Awesome service and food as usual at Mitchell's Fish Market. We dined here for dinner with some friends and the appetizers we had were perfect and the Chiliean Seabass I had was excellent. Our server was very pleasant and promt with our refills. Favorite place at the Town Center for casual/business dining.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Our family celebrated a graduation from college. The meal was excellent. Service was fast and friendly. A great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Truly a nice experience. From the moment I walked in I was felt like the most important customer in the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food wasn't horrible I've just had better. Loved my drinks and the carrot cake is enough for two....that was a plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Mitchell's is likely best remembered for what it once was but is no longer - a purveyor of high quality fresh fish with an eye toward value. The house features the same well trained staff and sparkling personalities, a competent bar and comfortable seating. The food just isn't very good. Portions are smaller than they once were, the quality and breadth of offer not what it could be and favorite menu items are absent or "reformulated". The move down market may not be what the house intended but it is underway and very disappointing.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great food. Great service. Rachel was very personable and got us everything we needed to have a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Okay. Not great. Server seemed completely distracted and couldn't hear me in a mostly unoccupied restaurant.
Food was tasty and prepared perfectly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The pro's of this visit are that the food tasted great, the drinks were awesome, and our waitress was phenomenal.

The con's are related to company policy. First she stated that happy hour was only for the outdoor area and not the dine in area. So next time I'll just go get my drinks first and bring them with me when i'm seated. Doesn't make sense to have that differentiation. Second, we substituted a vegetable medley instead of asparagus and she said it was a $1.00 up charge. Now asparagus is usually more expensive than zucchini and peppers so I expect that, but not the other way around. Especially when the sides by them self are a dollar difference. So that just makes me think you're charging me because you have to do something different.

But either way, great restaurant, and the food and drink were fine. just a couple of policies that seem weird.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Incredible selection of fresh seafood, awesome ambiance and superb service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Went to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday after an event. Arrived around 8:45 and had to sit in bar area close to 2 other tables. Then they say another couple in the other area. Food order took forever. You could tell that the table next to us were "regulars", and they seemed to get things much faster. My boyfriend loved his meal. My chicken was bland and over cooked. They said it took so long because of my shellfish allergy, but at least they could have made it taste like they took special attention. Would not recommend for special occasions but ok for every once in a while for overpriced fish.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Family dinner before Easter mass.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It was wonderful and delicious! I really enjoyed how our waiter so so intuned to us and our need.
My girlfriend and I went alone but I did let them know that the occasion was her birthday....They brought a free dessert which we both were able to share...And it was yummy!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Spicy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Disappointing all around. We've dined there several times and definitely felt a drop in food, service and friendliness. We had made reservations 2 weeks in advance on open table and they tried to seat us in a booth by the entry door in the bar. The dining area wasn't even a third full at 7:00. What would be the point of making reservations to get one of the worst spots ? The men ordered beer and my husbands choice was Blue Moon. Our waiter brought him a cocktail named the same and when it was pointed it out he just shrugged it off and said it had the same beer in it. Portions served were much smaller than they formally were. I ordered the same thing I had the last time and the shrimp in the dish were small like you would get in a lower end restaurant. My husbands special of the night which was grouper was the only meal that seemed like the "the old Mitchell's ". I wish them luck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Waitress disappeared at times for long periods. Dessert took over 30 minutes to be delivered to us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 26, 2017

On a Sunday nite with no one in the restaurant but us and 2 other couples the service with Kyle was way too slow.... 2 hours for 7 of us !!! the turtle cake was frozen solid needed a knife to cut it. Lobster was good but undercooked and the salads were drowning in dressing not sure about another visit😟

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We went there for our anniversary and brought a special bottle of wine. When we got there as asked about our wine they said that they were looking for it. After 15 minutes they said the found it but someone forgot to chill it. They tried unsuccessfully to chill it quickly and that put a real damper on the entire evening. The food was not up to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Heather was great with us and everything she recommended to use where delicious. I will come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Excellent service from a very attentive waiter. Food was proportional and very well seasoned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 24, 2017

I'm torn. The blacken salmon was amazing. The snapper was terrible. The service was very slow. We sat on patio and the waitress seemed like she wanted to hang out inside and not outside. The salmon is what made the place a 3 but over all service was not good. Don't get the snapper. Not fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great HAPPY HOUR!!!

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Sister's birthday - she said it was the best dinner ever. Lobster was fantastic!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Good seafood but nothing unique. Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was terrible. It took forever to prepare and when it finally came out, it was cold (although served on a hot plate). The only thing that was good was the roasted veggie side item.

It even took forever to get the check . . . . I will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This is by far the worse restaurant in Jacksonville . Save yourself the hassle and try the fish sandwich at Arby's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We have been to Mitchell's before and found it to be overpriced then and it was again at this visit. The service was OK to the point where the food came out hot and correct but the waiter over emphasize the drink menu. Literally talked about the drinks for at least five minutes. No one ordered drinks. He then proceeded to spill half of someone else's beer on my husband's pants with just a light apology. No compensation. Food was average. I had the surf and turf in the file was extremely salty and undercooked. The stuffed shrimp was average. Didn't taste fresh. I would not return with so many other options in the Jacksonville area for delicious seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food wasn't great. Very plain. Slow service and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food and service. Definitely looking forward to the next experience.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Healthy, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were greeted with a smile. We were seated right away with the reservation. The service was excellent. She was always checking on us and bringing refills on time. We had a smile on our face the whole time. Our dinner was great! The food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was our first visit for which we were excited as Mitchell's was highly recommended. Our experience was less than stellar, it was understandably busy as it was Valentine's Day. We were seated at the same time as another couple, yet they received their appetizer well before we did. This is something we were able to overlook, not a big deal. We were then offered the wrong appetizer twice, once our order was verified we then watched as staff attempted to give it to every table except ours. As our waitress walked past as if she was oblivious to what was happening.

After waiting for well over an hour we finally receive our entrees. The food not only looked good, it tasted amazing. The first bite of crab cake was delicious, ever bite after that I crunched on pieces of crab shell. It's a delight to have a crab cake that is filled with crab meat, but crunching on shell is not my idea of a great dinner.

One too many pieces of shell, was all it took to call it a night. As we are preparing to leave, we notice an insect of some type crawl out of the appetizer we waited so long for. This was definitely not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.