About Mistral - Boston

223 Columbus Ave.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

The design of Mistral is both elegant and casual, resonating with the ambiance of Provence as arched floor to ceiling windows drench the room with light.
Mistral’s dramatic dining room serves dinner nightly and Sunday Brunch. In our bar and comfortable lounge area we also offer craft cocktails and fine wines to compliment Chef Mammano’s menu.
Mistral’s private dining room, Le Salon du Mistral, accommodates 60 seated and up to 80 guests for a reception.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm & 5:30pm-9:30pm
Monday-Thursday: 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm-11:00pm (Late Night Menu 11:00pm-11:30pm)
Bar/Lounge:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm & 5:00pm-10:30pm
Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-11:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-12:00am

Cross Street:
between Berkeley & Clarendon

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 867-9300

Website:
http://www.mistralbistro.com/

Executive Chef:
Jamie Mammano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Le Salon du Mistral, Mistral's private dining room, provides a sophisticated setting for intimate gatherings of sixty seated and up to eighty for a reception. With award-winning French Mediterranean cuisine from Chef Jamie Mammano and unparalleled, professional service, Mistral provides the ultimate private dining experience.

Mistral - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Romantic (55)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Notable Wine List (34)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Business Meals (30)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Worth the Drive (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Authentic (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
People Watching (13)
Fun (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Cozy (11)
Local Ingredients (7)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Tasting Menu (4)
Casual (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Seasonal (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
3364 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

It took more than 25 mins for our server to come to the table and an exceedingly long time for our food to arrive. We watched as the diners next to us had several courses of food come out prior to ours. Usually we love this place and have gotten great service. The food is sensational.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food and cocktails. Wine recommendation was delicious. Loved the selection of desserts.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

We went to Mistral for dinner on a Friday night to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. The service, ambiance and food were terrific. My wife ordered the roasted Branzino and I ordered the tenderloin. Both excellent. Only bummer for my wife was that there is no gluten free option for bread.But I enjoyed the heavenly french crusty bread!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 21, 2017

I wanted something special for my daughter's 21st Birthday, and Mistral delivered. A strong wind blew us into the dining room, where we were wrapped in warm glows of candlelight and comfortable decor. We started by sharing the truffle macaroni and porcini mushroom "carpaccio" -- generous servings of indulgence and creativity on a plate. For mains, I had sea bass and my daughter enjoyed the game hen. Both were flavorful, surrounded by seasonal vegetables, and satisfying. For desert, chocolate, of course, with a plate decorated with a birthday greeting. Our server gave us lots of time to enjoy our meal, and made the appropriate "show" of asking for her ID. Thank you Mistral; it was delicious and memorable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We went for brunch. Great food and great service. Would recommend if you are celebrating a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We always love Mistral. Food terrific, ambience wonderful and service top notch. Thanks to Edmund for taking good care of us. They are also great about accommodating dietary restrictions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine dinner we had a great time the food was excellent and the service was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Really good food

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything was perfect per usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We celebrated my husbands birthday with a wonderful brunch at Mistral! All of our dishes were excellent but the french toast was simply amazing! The restaurant has an upscale but comfortable atmosphere with nice light coming in the big windows. The staff was very friendly and the service was excellent. Look forward to going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

medium rare is a little bit overcooked... I wish there can be more choice of truffle dish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food was exceptional. We had the mussels appetizer which had the added benefit of be shelled already thus adding to the basting in the flavorful broth. The tenderloin was cooked perfectly as was the sea bass n risotto. Finished it off with a delicious warm chocolate torte. The prices are on the high end but the food n service were impeccable

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This a dependable and delicious option, like the sister restaurant Sorellina, but a little less elegant. The menu is always varied with lots of good choices and all the servers are friendly. It gets full and noisy, but going early helps for quiet conversation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 30, 2017

One of the best meals I've had in Boston. Our server Natalie was ubiquitous but not overly present and was very accommodating as we came right at the end of the night. The salmon and the foie gras are spectacular and the short rib is also a must try. The creme brûlée is the best I've had in a long time. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Chloe our waitress was fantastic...the food, excellent. I'm a foodie and eat at the best places across the country---would absolutely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Perfect evening! Celebrated our daughters birthday on this evening. The staff were all welcoming, the food and service were excellent! Will definetely be coming back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our service was exceptional . Food flavor and combination choice is unique and mouthwatering. This place is greate,the only downside is that tables are too close and it's a bit loud . Love their cocktails ,very strong.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Loved Mistral! Everything - from the food to the service to the atmosphere, was perfect. Our cocktails were amazing, as well. The tuna tartar was some of the best we've ever had. No complaints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 26, 2017

My husband and I were in Boston for a conference. We had never been to Mistral and it was a good time to try it.

We really enjoyed our evening. We called to let them know we might be a bit late and they were very accommodating. We were only ten minutes late, but considering it was very crowded, we appreciated their understnading. Our table was near the windows at the end of the restaurant. It was not so noisy that I noticed, although it was so busy, it must have been.

Our meals were really delicious. My husband had steak au poivre and it was deliciuos because he let me taste it. The steak was perfectly cooked and really tender. He had small baked potatoes which he liked. I had sole meuniere and it was very good, although as much as I love capers, thought it might have overpowered this dish. I really love sole meunière and have it often. It was really very good, just not the best I've had. I asked for mashed potatoes and they were so creamy and good. Our warm chocolate cake was also delicious which we split. We would definitely return again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Lately mistral feels a little tired. The tuna app lacks seasoning on the actual fish. The duck has been under seasoned as well. It's like they just need to put out some new fresh dishes. Wine list hasn't changed much either

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The best sincere service along with great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Enjoyed a lovely birthday dinner here. Excellent, attentive (but not hovering) service. Our server was very friendly and approachable. All our dishes were delicious and beautifully presented. My only criticism is that when they lowered the lighting after we were seated, the place grew quite dark. I prefer to see my food in all its glory, and not have to ask for additional candles. With their beautifully prepared dishes, such dim lighting is not necessary here, nor does it do it any service. Turn up the lights, Mistral, and I'll be there again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Mistral never disappoints; always an exceptional dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Very pleasant and accommodating staff! Romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017
  • Server was super helpful and friendly! Answered all of our questions about each dish and was not forceful with any dishes or drinks.
  • Dishes were was on time and super delicious.

  • Busboy was super attentive with the level of water in our glasses, crumbs on our table, and the replenishment of our table bread.

  • Ambiance environment.

  • Classy interior decor.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Kendall and her support staff work beautifully together. Her descriptions of the drinks, entrees and her recommendations were right on. Highly recommended for that special occasion, date night or just any night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Not like it used to be. Food average price points higher than New York City. No interior renovations over 20 years. Plenty of better choices to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a wonderful time. I had made the reservation for the wrong day but they still accommodated us. The food was excellent and service superior.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Sauce on Foie Gras was cloyingly sweet.

Short ribs had no flavor.

Steak au poivre was a tad chewy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

VERY disappointed in the service. I had been wanting to go here for a very long time and I chose a special occasion to do so. Food was great but it took 36 minutes for us to even get a drink and an over an hour to get our appetizers. Table surrounding us were sat after us and ate before us. Not pleased at all especially after paying what I did - I expected WAY better service. Most likely will not return......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent evening---the menu offered many good choices and the food was terrific. Our party raved about the roast duck, lamb chops and the Branzino -- all different and all prepared superbly. The dining room was festive and a somewhat loud and the service, while attentive, was a bit stretched. None of that was a surprising on a busy Friday night before a three day weekend. Mistral was the place to be !

Tags: Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 11, 2017

One word: perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Had the escargot and the duck. Both very good. Also had the Mistral fries, that where not that great. If you are going to call some fries after your restaurant, they better be awesome, they where not. The best part was the desert, apple tart with ice cream that was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Love your restaurant. Great waitstaff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Brunch food was delicious as always but I was frustrated that we had to ask for our coffee cake starter after waiting for 30 minutes and seeing other tables get theirs. Usually they bring it out when you sit down.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Restaurant was really quiet due to the messy snow storm. Chloe and the other servers were AMAZING -- professional, helpful, couldn't do enough to make us feel special. This is the type of service we LOVE, non intrusive and magically appear at the moment. Chloe went WAY out of her way to do lots of extras, including getting a special drink concocted for my darling. Thank you so much for the corner booth, so we could sit close to each other on our anniversary--special. Thank you to the chef(s) who went out of their way to put a congratulatory message on our dessert -- made our evening fun. My beau spent 30 years as an executive and sous chef and said that filet was the best beef he's ever had. My duck was wonderful and we finished it for breakfast with eggs this morning. We were also surprised at how reasonable the check was even though I had the half bottle of Chateauneuf de Pape (thank you for having my favorite wine on the menu, which is rare)! It was our first time here, and we will certainly come more often. Top notch restaurant without the stuffiness. Didn't realize when I booked it's part of the same group as L'Andana in Burlington. Had a fabulous meal there previously. The food, service, people all A++++.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

You cannot beat this restaurant in any category. The best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Going into Mistral you are greeted and brought to your table. The wait staff suggests a wine that perfectly matches what you will order. Mistral fries are a must as is the mussels appetizer. The special are always exciting and well prepared. We come here 4 times a year for the last 10 years and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This is a first class restaurant. The service, the food, the atmosphere were all excellent. I would highly recommend this to anyone interested in a great night out.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Mistral is one of my favorites. The tenderloin pizza and tuna tartare are a must

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Casual, Healthy, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Fantastic food and great service. They paced the service really well...did not feel rushed or any invasion to my privacy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Classic, elegant white linen dining experience, with superb food and impecable service. No fuss menu, just good quality ingredients. Dessert menu was up to par. Wine list provided with a great array of options.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I am a chef owner of my own restaurant next time in Boston I definitely will be back the food was great

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The service was excellent. Our waitress was friendly and knowledgeable. The cocktails were great! The dishes were simple, well-portioned, and delicious, but not necessarily memorable. My date really enjoy her Maine Crab Ravioli. Definitely a date spot and I recommend it for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The quality of the food we had for brunch was poor. Two of us had eggs benedict. The eggs were not cooked according to request. There was not enough hollandaise sauce. The muffins were not toasted enough and were spongy.

There was no fruit at all on offer- On New Year's Day an exceptional fruit salad would have made sense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

As always, Mistral was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The experience was perfect as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The food was very mediocre. Service was rushed and for the price lots of other choices in the Boston area. Would not recommend it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Mistral is first rate in every way. The atmosphere is warm and romantic, the service is top notch , and the food is exquisite. Do not miss the warm chocolate cake with vanilla ice cream. The lightening show in the middle of a nor'easter added to the dramatic ambiance. The ride back to my hotel was an unexpected surprise. I would like to give special mention to Guillome for a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.