Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Mistral - Boston

The design of Mistral is both elegant and casual, resonating with the ambiance of Provence as arched floor to ceiling windows drench the room with light.
Mistral’s dramatic dining room serves dinner nightly and Sunday Brunch. In our bar and comfortable lounge area we also offer craft cocktails and fine wines to compliment Chef Mammano’s menu.
Mistral’s private dining room, Le Salon du Mistral, accommodates 60 seated and up to 80 guests for a reception.

223 Columbus Ave.
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dining Room:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm & 5:30pm-9:30pm
Monday-Thursday: 5:30pm-10:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:30pm-11:00pm (Late Night Menu 11:00pm-11:30pm)
Bar/Lounge:
Sunday: 10:30am-2:00pm & 5:00pm-10:30pm
Monday-Thursday: 5:00pm-11:00pm
Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm-12:00am

Cross Street:
between Berkeley & Clarendon

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 867-9300

Website:
http://www.mistralbistro.com/

Executive Chef:
Jamie Mammano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Le Salon du Mistral, Mistral's private dining room, provides a sophisticated setting for intimate gatherings of sixty seated and up to eighty for a reception. With award-winning French Mediterranean cuisine from Chef Jamie Mammano and unparalleled, professional service, Mistral provides the ultimate private dining experience.

Mistral - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (71)
Romantic (68)
Good for a Date (68)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Notable Wine List (40)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Business Meals (32)
Hot Spot (30)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Bar Seating (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Modern Decor (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Great for Brunch (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
People Watching (16)
Local Ingredients (12)
Cozy (12)
Authentic (11)
Fun (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Seasonal (4)
Private Room (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Casual (3)
Family Style (3)
Healthy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
3458 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

While we enjoyed the overall experience of Mistral, the cuisine came up a bit short. My girlfriend's Halibut came out dry and the roasted duck was just average, but certainly not worthy of the asking price. Drinks were very good and reasonably priced but I would stick to small plates and the basics here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Exceptional in every way.
Entry point to any restaurant can set the tone for the evening. Mistral has perfected the Guest experience- greeted with a welcome one would expect from a good friend. Escorted to table promptly. Server touched table almost immediately, looked happy to be there and assist with our choices. The Menu offers choices for almost any desire. Our main course was the Dover Sole. Cooked to perfection, the only place in Boston to enjoy this meal. Finish with dessert, Chocolate Torte. A decadent finish to a great meal.
There is a reason Mistral is celebrating 20 years of truly "fine dining".

Thank you Mistral!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent experience! Food was delicious, service impeccable and great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Very good food! Service was ok, not spectacular. Second time into this restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The best brunch in Boston. Exquisite service . Great for all ages.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

2nd time there and both were memorable occasions, sea bass special the 1st time and duck the 2nd time. Food was awesome and plentiful! Not giving it away but if you like fine dining where you leave full, this place rocks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A truly great restaurant experience in Boston. I took my wife for our second anniversary and they really treated us well. We recommend Mistral for a special evening.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Appetizers were phenomenal, but the main dish was lacking for the price. Only so-so. My main issue with this restaurant which prevents a higher star rating is that the actual feel and layout of the the restaurant in person belies the warm and comfortable ambiance conveyed by the web-site.

Cold hard flooring and columns, one main mostly open room, super high ceilings, not very plush seating, packed in to tight quarters. If you LIVE in Boston, this is fine restaurant. If you are traveling to Boston for fine dining, look elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

One of my favorite spots in Boston! I've been twice; once on a date and this last time, I took my Mom for Mother's Day. We ordered the Missing Link Cocktail and Sangria, Tuna Tartare as an appetizer, and the Cornish Game Hen and Beef Tenderloin Flatbread for entrees. Everything was absolutely delicious and I would recommend them all.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Entrees overcooked, including both rack of lamb and halibut. Service slow, impatient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Mistral is a well managed restaurant serving high quality food in a beautiful setting. I has garnered a strong following over the years and continues to operate at a high level. It is a bit pricey, so for many patrons it will be special occasions rather than an everyday spot. The bar does a consistent business, especially towards the end of the week, albeit it can be noisy. If you haven't been, certainly give it a shot, especially if it is a special occasion and you want fine dining and service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Le service était très approximatif. Beaucoup trop de bruit. L'agneau était excellent. Le carpaccio manquait d'assaisonnement. Le canard était correct

Mais pour le prix, on s'attend à mieux !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 9, 2017

My family liked it but I found it a bit nosy. Overall it was OK.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

What a great find! This was the first time we were in Boston and I'd planned our dinner at Mistral. Once we were shown to a table we preferred, the service was superb, the food truly outstanding (creative, fresh, interesting), just sorry we didn't have enough time to try the deserts, as they looked spectacular (we had a concert to rush to). Next time we will allot much more time for this fine place to dine in. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My fiancé and I decided to go to Mistral while on a weekend date in Boston. First, the service was very good and Meghan, our server was very attentive as were her team members. The decor was nice but we weren't big fans of the uniforms. I know they matched the decor but were kind of drab.

I started with the asparagus soup with crab. It was ok but not a lot of flavor. As asparagus soups go, it was acceptable but I should have gone with the foie gras. My fiancé had the salad which was also ok.

For a main course, I had the duck and my fiancé had the halibut. Both proteins were perfectly cooked but the duck with mushroom risotto was the star of the two. Great flavor and nice crisp skin.

We'll definitely try Mistral again and will look forward to trying something new.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Pretty outstanding food and service as always, still wondering about my waiter name, but he was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on May 5, 2017

Had the best waiter, perhaps ever! Made a special occasion even more special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (東京)·Dined on May 3, 2017

When we chatted with the host he remarked that it's an Italian chef cooking French cuisine so you get extremely generous portions. We ended up taking home almost a third of what we ordered because it was too delicious to abandon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 3, 2017

A significant disappointment considering the reputation!
The drinks (martinis) and the bread were by far the best offerings!
The brioche on the foie gras was antediluvian! Probably cooked moons ago and not even re-warmed; couldn't cut it even with a knife.
Same comment can be made about the Chou of the profiteroles; the ice cream was Friendly's!
The "16 ounces" veal chop underwent major slimming diet for months before ( 2 diners decided to split and had a hard time dividing the "left-overs")
The Dover sole (outrageously priced) was overcooked, etc.
Major deterioration since last visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Duck was excellent and so was the tuna tartare. Menu had a lot of great choices if you aren't a meat eater. Highly recommend the escargot and the muscles. If you are in Boston don't miss it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great service and awesome food! Would not hesitate to go back. Favorite restaurant in Boston.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 1, 2017

I highly recommend Mistral for special occasions. The food and service is elegant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Disappointing. Mistral has a great reputation but it doesn't live up to the hype.
We went for Sunday brunch.
The room is very nice. High ceilings, big windows, lots of light. Seating is comfortable, cushioned benches and cushioned chairs. We both sat on bench.
The hostess wanted to seat us next to another party although there were plenty of empty tables.
We requested a different table and she was pleasant about the move.
The food is what was disappointing.
They serve a complimentary coffee cake. This was ok, but nothing exceptional. Drake's coffee cakes are just as good if not better.
I ordered a Bloody Mary which came in a nice tall glass with garnishes. Again, acceptable, not special.
We ordered the cinnamon bun, which has a lot of great reviews on-line. Again, this was acceptable, not special.
We ordered SMOKED SALMON BENEDICT, ROAST ASPARAGUS, CITRUS HOLLANDAISE and
ROSEMARY HAM & GRUYERE OMELETTE, SHALLOT CONFIT.
Both were good. Again, nothing exceptional.
For the price and given the reputation, we were expected a little more WOW factor, some exceptional food, some unique flavors and taste sensations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Amazing! Great food and fantastic service. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always a great dining experience and excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Everything we tried (escargot, asparagus soup, lobster risotto, duck ...) was very delicious; however, the lamb chops were out of this world. Get it done the way chief recommends, and you would not regret it.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 27, 2017

A true gem both in food as in service. The wine list is spectacular, and the pairing possibilities plentiful. Truly worth returning to Boston for!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

As always, the food was delicious. We have been there many times and have always had very professional wait staff. This time, our waitress was awful! She spilled red wine all over the table and sprayed my girlfriend. Her attitude sucked! She was annoying and was not friendly or professional. I ordered Dover Sole and was shocked at the price of $68.00!!!! The waitress never mentioned the price and it was NOT worth the price !!! I feel we should be compensated in some way, since we dine there often. Thank you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 24, 2017

We were celebrating 2 birthdays and we had a fantastic time. The food was outstanding but expensive - my friend and I split the Dover Sole (perfect portions and delicious) but don't understand why Dover Sole is as expensive as it is. Guillaume, our waiter, was fabulous. The ambience was perfectly suited to a celebration. Mistral was the perfect place for a birthday celebration.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Good meal- service was somewhat overly-persistent and checked in very frequently which occasionally interrupted business discussions. Better that than no service, inadequate knowledge or anything else. I'd recommend for business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I had the best brunch I have ever had in the Boston area. This restaurant is always amazing on all levels. Everything is spot on and the food is to die for.

Tags: People Watching, Healthy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Loved the good but service was very slow it seemed they were understaffed

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2017

As usual we had a wonderful meal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 19, 2017

My appetizer was exceptional. I had the tuna tartar and would order it again. My entree was a major disappointment. I had a beef tenderloin which was cooked perfectly to medium rare. It was soft but had very little flavor. It was accompanied by asparagus and horseradish mashed potatoes. I was looking forward to some kick in the potatoes. Unfortunately, both the steak and the mash had zero flavor to them. I was underwhelmed and expect more when paying that high of a price for a steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The restaurant was very good as we expected,but Jasmin was special.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 19, 2017

Good food, slow service and somehow our waiter was a little bit rude. At the end we did not order dessert cause he never showed up to take that order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 18, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in Boston. Great food great service, always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Post race meal, and family visit. Loved everything from the pre meal cocktails to the delicious dinner and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

One of the worst service experiences.. The waitress took my food while I was eating, and when I asked her to leave the plates since I wasn't finished, she left my empty plate near me and took away the almost full shareable plates from the table, leaving me with an empty place, and a piece of bread (which I was going to use with the tartar she just took away) in my hand. Needless to say I felt so stupid..
She also took my partner's wine before he finished it and almost made him take another glass. At the end of the evening we were both so upset!!
Worst thing is that I emailed the restaurant and never heard back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We were disappointed in this restaurant. The food was good, but not outstanding. My fish was dry and not very tasty. We ordered two bottles of wine for the table. The red wine was left on the table and was consumed by those drinking it. For those of us who were drinking white, she poured wine, then put the wine to chill in a place that was out of our sight. She did not check in again until we called her over as our meal was ending and asked if we had any more wine. With the prices that are charged, we expected excellent food and service.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.