About Midtown Cafe

Midtown Cafe offers a casual, affordable, fine dining atmosphere with fresh seafood, prime steak, lamb, veal featuring 40 wines by the glass and 150 selections. Located just off West End at 102 -19th Ave S in the Vanderbilt / Music Row / Midtown / Medical Center neighborhood. 29+ years of quality products prepared and served by caring professionals.
Now open weekdays for Breakfast 7am - 2:30pm. Self-parking 7am-10:30am
Valet starting at 10:30am

102 19th Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 7am -2:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2.30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 4:30pm-9pm & Friday / Saturday 4:30pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Between West End & Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 320-7176

Website:
http://www.midtowncafe.com/

Entertainment:
No live entertainment.

Catering:
No offsite catering.

Parking Details:
Self parking for breakfast weekdays 7am -110:30am. Valet only lunch & dinner. Paid parking in adjacent lots.

Public Transit:
At 19th & West End 50 yards from building.

Executive Chef:
Max Pastor

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
email owner / proprietor Randy Rayburn at Randy@sunsetgrill.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 4:30PM - 10:00PM

Thu 4:30PM - 5:45PM 6:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 4:30PM - 5:45PM 7:15PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Midtown Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for a Date (34)
Business Meals (32)
See All
Casual (30)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Cozy (26)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Romantic (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Authentic (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Fun (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1611 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great, service was great....just a wonderful dinner with friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food. Excellent service! We will diffently be back. Highly recommend

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

Always great food for lunch or dinner, and now offering breakfast!

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

The staff really stands out at this restaurant. Probably a little overpriced for the menu selections, but the preparation was well executed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

I met a group of colleagues for lunch. All of us live in Nashville but no one had recently visited Midtown. We all thought it was excellent. Great food, great environment, great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I went there as part of my bachelorette party and it was amazing. Our server was Dale and we loved him!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 16, 2017

The shuttle from the hotel was great. Our driver picked us up and took us to the restaurant and after our meal dropped us off later downtown all while playing great music!

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Got a glass of "sparkling rose" that was terrible! Tasted like a splash of champagne in a glass of cranberry juice. Our waiter went thru the menu and pointed out the best deal being a 2 course $30 special... when we ordered it he said "oh we're going to be cheap tonight" and service reduced from there. I'm a bit insulted and disappointed with this visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Outstanding evening. Table of 6 had 5 different orders - all were outstanding. Great spot before the theater.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 13, 2017

I love Midtown Café and had not tried their brunch. Had the huevos and absolutely love it.
What a great place!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 12, 2017

This is my favourite restaurant in Nashville. Perhaps I'm "Old School," but the ambiance, the food, and the service are just the best. My meal was delicious (the pork tenderloin,) my dinner companion loved hers, as well (the crab cakes,) and the Midtown Pasta I took home to my husband for his lunch the next day was outstanding, even warmed up. I can only imagine how yummy it was, when first cooked. I highly recommend this Nashville Jewel to anyone wanting a treat, without the pretentiousness of some of the newer places!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Good place for us to have reliable dinner. One of our favorite restaurants in Nashville. The duck breast was delicious and filling, however my wife's lobster macaroni and cheese was good but skimpy on the lobster. We'll be back!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I've been going to the Midtown Cafe since it opened 30 years ago; it's always special when we have dinner there, and as usual it didn't disappoint.

The wine list is excellent, the food is consistently delicious, the service is the best. Great place; if you're going to the Symphony, you can go for dinner then let their free shuttle take you to the Symphony and bring you back to your car afterward.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I thought the food OK overall, my daughter and I both got the blackend grouper and that was FANTASTIC. Our appetizer, the chicken croquettes, didnt come out until after we got our entree (they did comp us for those) and they were quite dense and dry and the biscuits they serve as a starter were tough like they have been sitting out awhile. Thank goodness for that fish, because it was amazing. Service was great but we still left with an overall "meh" feeling and probably wont be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great food. Attentive but not aggressive wait staff. The shuttle is great going to a downtown event, but get Lyft to take you back to the restaurant afterwards.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Midtown has some hard-to-find qualities in Nashville: it has excellent food, great service, valet parking, it's quiet enough to have a conversation, and it has a calm and serene ambience. It's a great spot for friends to meet and talk or to have a business conversation. Randy Rayburn is one of Nashville's long-time and best restaurateurs, and we locals thank him!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We will return to Midtown Cafe soon. We had not dined at Midtown for at least ten years. So happy to have rediscovered it.

Flavor-filled Southern style , chicken coucquette appetizer . Our guest had a type of raw or rare fish appetizer that they greatly enjoyed
We had three different entrees. Everyone enjoyed !
Coconut cake was absolutely the best cake we had in years ! What a treat .

Nice wine list. Very quiet for business & pleasure talk .

Our server , Doug was exactly the the knowledgeable, Attentive yet never intrusive
server one always hopes for when dining.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Love this restaurant And and you can get breakfast from 7 AM till 230
A friendly very easy excellent food

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Went for restaurant week because the fixed menu was a great deal. The food was phenomenal and we got the wine pairing with it. The pairing was outstanding. They forgot to bring out our first course, but once they realized it they quickly fixed that and got things moving. We love this spot and will always go for restaurant week.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 26, 2017

My other experiences at Midtown have been excellent. However, the noise level & quality of food were disappointing tho time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Absolutely loved the whole experience. First the service was impeccable. Dale our waiter was beyond excellent. We were here during restaurant week. We shared a bottle of wine. For the first course we both had the shrimp and grits. It was excellent. Told them don't like alot of spice and they were perfect. For our dinners I had the Beef Short Rib, it was made with a mushroom risotto and grilled asparagus. The beef was so tender and risotto was excellent. The asparagus should have been trimmed shorter but all was good in flavor. My friend had the grilled Hanger steak with mashed potatoes. The steak was prepared perfect and was flavorful without taking away from the actual meat. We will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Lovely luncheon. Service was very good. Self parking can be a problem but nearby lot was very reasonable. Nashville Originals Restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Friendly and capable serving staff; absolute consistency in quality and taste of food; nice eclectic menu; small and intimate setting; great value. Quite fine all the way around.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Every year our office takes employees out for their anniversary with the firm and the employee gets to decide where they want to go. This was my 29th anniversary and although Nashville's restaurant scene is exploding, I knew where I wanted to spend my day. Midtown Cafe is, and has been, a culinary treasure. It's small and intimate and the food is consistently wonderful. The waitstaff is exceptional and the atmosphere is quiet but not stodgy. I've wanted to try the bar and will return to do that as it appears to be small and intimate. For now, I had the salmon and mushroom risotto with both prepared perfectly. I am a cook and I always feel as if I'm taking a chance when I order either at a restaurant. The salmon was grilled perfectly with a tomato ragout to compliment sitting on the bed of rich risotto, cooked to the right softness without being mushy, topped with asparagus. The service was spot on and pleasant without being ostentatious or invasive. I don't return often enough but then, I'm not sure that's even possible. I will, however, be back soon. No matter the weekly additions of wonderful restaurants in Nashville, Midtown always has a seat at the head of the table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Food was great! Grouper with risotto was one of the best fish dishes I've ever tried! Cooked perfectly and so nicely seasoned! Biscuits were a nice treat at the beginning of the evening. Shrimp and grits appetizer was awesome as well!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

We went for the restaurant week dinner, and we were very happy with both of our meals, as always. The service was very good. The only observation I would make is that food came out a little too quickly, especially for those of us who had the wine flight accompanying the three course dinner. A little more time to let the liver catch up would have been appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Midtown is now my favorite restaurant in Nashville. I'm a regular and I go for breakfast in the mornings and I love it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Went to Midtown Cafe for restaurant Week. Have done this for last several years. In the past, Midtown Cafe more than held its own. Unfortunately, this latest dinner experience was not as good as on the past. The food was merely ok. No flowers or decoration on the table. Whole experience was not at the level we expect from this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great ambiance and a wonderful setting for date night. Unfortunately the fish was super salty and the short rib was nowhere near as amazing as we were told. This place could be five star if the food weren't over cooked and loaded with salt.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Dined here the night of the eclipse, and sat at the bar. Place has a very "neighborhood" feel. Bartender had been working there for 15 years, great martini. Food was good, noise level was low, so it was easy to talk. Very cozy. I'd definitely recommend this place.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Love this place as it one of Nashville's originals!

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Great food! Service was nice, and good menu for breakfast.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great service. We had guests in town from South America who speak very little English. They accommodated with a Spanish speaking chef making it a great experience for all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 16, 2017

If you unfamiliar with Midtown Cafe you should remedy this situation ASAP. Amid the sea of new places, Thank God we have a trusted institution. Kudos to Randy Rayburn and staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 16, 2017

I eat here 2 or 3 times a year when I travel to Nashville from Seattle. The food and service are both outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Good 4 course meal--great specials and veal is always special

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 9, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 3rd anniversary here. Mike was our server, and he was absolutely outstanding. The meal and overall experience was hands down the absolute best we've ever had. Exceeded our expectations in every way possible. Will definitely recommend Midtown Cafe to anyone who asks. Incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Found this through Open Table and after our meal we were extremely happy with our choice. They are in the midst of their 30th anniversary and had a special 3 course meal option for $30.00
My opening choice was the lemon artichoke soup which hailed back to day 1. It was outstanding.
I did not really understand how they are listed as Southern type food. To me it was more Italian with maybe a Southern flair.
Whatever it was it was wonderful and it makes my list of restaurants that when I am in the area are a must go to.
The restaurant does not have a lot of space inside so it is very cozy and intimate.
They offer a shuttle to take you to locations in Downtown if you want to dine and park and avoid the hassle of finding parking downtown
In regards to any of the negative comments others have posted, I can not find anything with this establishment to substantiate them
Outstanding food, great service and friendly staff makes this place a homerun in my books!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 5, 2017

This is an old established Nashville restaurant and glad the concierge at The Hutton recommended it. There was a 3 course dinner for $30 and it was excellent. The lemon artichoke soup was great and they have a good wine and cocktail selection.

Would definitely recommend it!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Midtown Cafe is always a special treat for date night with my husband. Consistently fabulous food and excellent service. Did not use this time, but love the shuttle to downtown venues for concerts! Vicky & Mac Davis

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.