About Midtown Cafe

102 19th Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Midtown Cafe offers a casual, affordable, fine dining atmosphere with fresh seafood, prime steak, lamb, veal featuring 40 wines by the glass and 150 selections. Located just off West End at 102 -19th Ave S in the Vanderbilt / Music Row / Midtown / Medical Center neighborhood. 29+ years of quality products prepared and served by caring professionals.
Now open weekdays for Breakfast 7am - 2:30pm. Self-parking 7am-10:30am
Valet starting at 10:30am

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 7am -2:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2.30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 4:30pm-9pm & Friday / Saturday 4:30pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Between West End & Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 320-7176

Website:
http://www.midtowncafe.com/

Entertainment:
No live entertainment.

Catering:
No offsite catering.

Parking Details:
Self parking for breakfast weekdays 7am -110:30am. Valet only lunch & dinner. Paid parking in adjacent lots.

Public Transit:
At 19th & West End 50 yards from building.

Executive Chef:
Max Pastor

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
email owner / proprietor Randy Rayburn at Randy@sunsetgrill.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 4:30PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Midtown Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (46)
Business Meals (41)
Special Occasion (39)
See All
Good for a Date (35)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Pre/post Theatre (30)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Cozy (26)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Romantic (26)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Notable Wine List (16)
Outstanding Value (15)
Casual (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Authentic (11)
People Watching (10)
Healthy (10)
Good for Groups (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Fun (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Historic (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
1460 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and service excellent. Staff made me feel like they were delighted that my guest and I was there. Ambiance was perfect for a business freakfast.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was delicious and the ambiance was what we were looking for. We had a great time and this restaurant was recommended by a friend.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I’ve been twice recently. Both experiences were quite good!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Dark and subdued decor. Lobster bisque was light on the lobster. Hummus and pita bread was bland and uninteresting. Salmon was adequate but essentially Cheddars quality. Black bean soup was very good. Service was attentive but not oppressive. Overpriced but most of Nashville eateries are that way. A decent alternative choice but down the list unless you are a multi- year regular and have an "in" with the establishment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My wife and I love this place. Every meal has been fantastic with a wide range of tastes. We have yet to encounter a meal we didn't like. From Shrimp and Grits to Duck medallions to salmon on a bed of Risotto, it's always been a a great meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The pork tenderloin on risotto is never fail amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food was excellent. I do wish the lamb portion had been larger.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

THE FOOD WAS VERY GOOD--SERVICE WAS ALSO GOOD PRICES WERE ON THE HIGH SIDE

NOISE WAS PRETTY HIGH AND HARD FOR ME TO HEAR

OVER ALL, I'LL COME BACK, BUT ASK FOR A DIFFERENT LOCATION

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's Day pre-concert meal. Excellent service and food was prepared very well. Scallops were perfectly seared and salads were perfect. The shuttle to and from the concert made the evening even better.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Wonderful meal as usual. We also appreciate the shuttle to and from the Schermerhorn Symphony Hall.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Midtown Cafe has been one of our favorites since moving to Nashville in 2003. We have never been disappointed. They offer shuttle service to the theater and symphony. Special occasions are "special" because the food is soooo good. We recommend the scallops!

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went for lunch on Valentines Day. 3 adults and 3 children under the age of 3. Randy and his staff were very accommodating. Food great as always. One of our go to places

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Another fabulous meal at Midtown. When I saw they opened for breakfast I was excited to try it. The service was outstanding and she was very knowledgeable. I ordered the Nashville pig in the blanket which is two pork tenderloin biscuits, two fried eggs and my side was the Smoked Gouda grits, which I have been craving since I left. The entree also had two sauces, a sausage gravy (traditional) and an Alabama sauce, (vinegar based) I put one on one pork tenderloin biscuit and one on the other.... great variety. My friend had the eggs Benedict. It was equally as good. We will be returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food is excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had the shrimp and grits and filet. Way overpriced for the food and quality. Even the dessert unimpressive. Service was excellent, however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Dining room and menu are dated. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We have been going to Midtown for years and have always had an excellent meal . Some of the entrees have gotten a little pricy, but it is still worth the visit. My wife loves the scallops which is served with lobster Mac and cheese and asparagus. I love the veal 3 ways. I have tried many of the entrees and cannot think of any that weren't delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was okay, but too spicy for normal dining. (Pork tenderloin, not sure if it was sauce or risotto.). Service was great but table behind was so close, we could hear every word of their conversation and they never stopped. Also the tables are so close together it is hard to get in or out. Too much money to spend on food when it was just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had the lamb and the crab stuffed sole. Both were excilent but portions could have been larger. Service was fine as always. One of our favorite places but not inexpensive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I had lunch with my two roommates from college, one I had not seen since 1973. Everything sounded good on the menu but the server helped me decide on the Southwestern Salad. It was perfect!. The lettuce was crisp and cold, the fried chicken on top was abundant and had a slight lemon flavor; there were black beans and bacon and cheese and a yummy spicy ranch. Midtown is a hidden jewel.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Randy & his great team have had me as a regular patron for years. My FAVORITE PLACE!

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great! I would highly recommend! Service was great and owner was present and wonderful!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Randy Rayburn lives to please...and I am always welcomed personally and truly satisfied with the consistent service and cuisine. Traditional American fare with a flare. No surprises! Very convenient to West End and I 40, downtown. Quiet atmosphere where you can converse and not compete with the music or noise. A gem so appreciated!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food was excellent and pricing was very reasonable. I'd never been before, but will certainly go back! The service was great too!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 6, 2017

The food was delicious as usual. Randy Rayburn does it right! Love the Midtown Café. It's a perennial favorite of ours and all our friends.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always reliable with a wonderfully varied menu and good wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 3, 2017

My second time to Midtown Cafe. This time, my husband and I came to the restaurant for a Friday lunch date. We ordered the meatloaf and chef's special - an angel hair pasta dish with Alfredo sauce, fresh and salmon. The pasta dish was simply the best I've ever tasted - light and flavorful. My husband loved the meatloaf, which was served with mashed potatoes and roasted green beans - all cooked to perfection. And, the coffee and biscuits were delicious also. We were stunned the bill was below $40 for two sizable meals. The service was exceptional. Our waiter was attentive and friendly. Highly recommend Midtown Cafe for business meetings and for special occasions like our date.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great...as always!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Friend getting married

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great food good atmosphere! All the locals now how great Mid Town is!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 31, 2017

I was entertaining a job candidate for breakfast and decided to give the Midtown a try. I have been here many times for lunch and dinner, but hadn't tried the new breakfast offering. I was just as impressed with breakfast as I have been with my lunch/dinner experiences. The food was amazing, with traditional, and not so traditional offerings. I had their version of pigs in a blanket: grilled pork tenderloin on the best biscuits I've ever had! They came with 2 eggs and a side. I chose the steel cut oats. Everything was fabulous. My candidate had the smoked salmon, capers, and cream cheese on a bagel, again with 2 eggs and a side. He chose the potatoes. I was amazed at the pile of salmon that was served on that bagel. We were both very pleased with our choices. The service was perfect, always around when needed, but no hovering to interrupt our conversation. There were several other occupied tables, but the noise level was low enough that we could carry on our conversation at a comfortable level. In fact we enjoyed our time so much that the time just flew by. We lost track of time and I was late getting him to his next appointment. Parking was a breeze as there were plenty of spaces in the lot behind the restaurant. I couldn't have asked for a better experience. Thank you Randy Rayburn for raising the bar on breakfast in Nashville!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The crowd here is a little old. Even for us in our early 60's. The food was good but, nothing outstanding. There are just so many interesting places to dine in Nashville. I doubt we will go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 27, 2017

After 27 years, still one of my favorites in the entire city of Nashville!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Wonderful food, A Nashville MUST!

Our waiter was attentive, and made great menu suggestions

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This was my first trip to Midtown Cafe and I would definitely go back. We had dinner before seeing A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder at the Tennessee Performing Arts Center. They offer a complementary shuttle if you eat there, which was a nice service. I arrived and our waiter was prompt and courteous. Unfortunately, there were issues in the kitchen and our meal was delayed. I honestly didn't notice though and credit our server for this. Never once did he seem overly stressed. He ensured that we ate prior to leaving for the performance and actually comped our meals. Not every restaurant would be gracious enough to give us our meal for free. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We made a reservation, and we were seated even before our reservation time arrived. The Restaurant Week deals were fabulous, and the Beef Short Rib was the best I have ever eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We loved our dinner here! Went for a date-night during restaurant week and it was excellent. Our server was great and everyone including the valet guy were super nice. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Went to Midtown Cafe for Restaurant Week. The Midtown Cafe produces great sampling of what they do at a fabulous price and we have been repeat visitors for this event. Their shrimp and grits was terrific. The short ribs were tender and nicely flavored. Topped off with the Jack Daniels pecan pie, the whole meal was outstanding Service is always great here. Nice wine list and they have house wines that are not only inexpensive, but good. Noise level borders on being a problem, but we managed to keep up a conversation at a table for 4 without having to speak louder than normal. Can highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This is a great restaurant. We wanted to support the Nashville Originals for Restaurant Week. The food is excellent, great value and the service is always excellent. Dale is a wonderful server.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Chose the Midtown Cafe for a Nashville Restaurant Week meal, and it was delicious! We went early because our friend can't tolerate a lot of noise, and the restaurant is essentially one large room. The price fixe menu was delicious - shrimp and grits, Osso Bucco, tiramisu - and bottles of house wine were priced at $20.17 as well. Our server was very attentive. It was a wonderful way to start the weekend!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Good as always and lemon artichoke soup cannot be beat nor their creme brûlée

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Amazing service! Staff will give you their honest preferences if you aren't sure what to get. Amazing for date night, family occasions or girls night out! Don't pass up this hidden gem!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We visited during Nashville Restaurant Week and were very pleased. The shrimp and grits we had as the appetizer had amazing flavor! The meal itself was excellent and the service was perfect (very attentive but not at all intrusive). The small negative for us was the ambiance. The space is not very large and tables are quite close together - in some cases literally inches apart. When the restaurant is busy as it was the night we visited, it can become a bit noisy and with an adjoining table of guests practically on top of you it can be difficult to have a private conversation. For us however, the quality of the meal and the service outweighed the noise and tight space and we will definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Restaurant week menu, wine pairings and service were outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Always great food when I go to midtown cafe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 17, 2017

I grew up in the same small town as Randy, and his admiration and respect for local, traditional ingredients shines brightly. The Midtown Café is a very special place. The food has always been outstanding. I was there for Restaurant Week dinner (~$55 for one drink and three-course prix-fixe, including tax and gratuity) and really enjoyed the shrimp and grits as well as the mahi-mahi. The Kahlua tiramisu was good, but nothing special. Overall, Midtown is an incredible spot to enjoy a nice lunch or a cozy dinner. Highly recommended in all respects.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Just simply the best late business lunch in all of Nashville. No one seats a room, serves a customer, and delivers a fabulous meal like Randy Rayburn.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Midtown has been the gold standard for great food and great service for years. The staff is attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. It is the go-to spot for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A special feature is free transportation to events downtown following dinner. It has been my special place for as long as I can remember.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Good food and service. Would recommend expansion of creative vegetarian choices. It is disappointing in today's world not good vegetarian fare - does not have to be vegan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I went to midtown cafe for an anniversary. I had the scallops w/ lobster mac n' cheese and asparagus. My boyfriend had the trout w/ spinach and potatoes. They were both great and the scallops were definitely worth the money. It was small and quaint and quiet enough to have conversation. Our waiter also provided us great service. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone and I will be going back. My only con is parking. They do have valet, but for people who do not want to use it, then it can be difficult to find parking without paying (not unusual for midtown though).

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.