About Midtown Cafe

Midtown Cafe offers a casual, affordable, fine dining atmosphere with fresh seafood, prime steak, lamb, veal featuring 40 wines by the glass and 150 selections. Located just off West End at 102 -19th Ave S in the Vanderbilt / Music Row / Midtown / Medical Center neighborhood. 29+ years of quality products prepared and served by caring professionals.
Now open weekdays for Breakfast 7am - 2:30pm. Self-parking 7am-10:30am
Valet starting at 10:30am

102 19th Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Southern, Contemporary American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday 7am -2:30pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2.30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday 4:30pm-9pm & Friday / Saturday 4:30pm - 10pm

Cross Street:
Between West End & Broadway

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 320-7176

Website:
http://www.midtowncafe.com/

Entertainment:
No live entertainment.

Catering:
No offsite catering.

Parking Details:
Self parking for breakfast weekdays 7am -110:30am. Valet only lunch & dinner. Paid parking in adjacent lots.

Public Transit:
At 19th & West End 50 yards from building.

Executive Chef:
Max Pastor

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
email owner / proprietor Randy Rayburn at Randy@sunsetgrill.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Wed 4:30PM - 10:00PM

Thu 4:30PM - 5:45PM 6:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 4:30PM - 5:45PM 7:15PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Midtown Cafe Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (56)
Special Occasion (56)
Good for a Date (45)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Pre/post Theatre (39)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Romantic (32)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Cozy (28)
Great for Lunch (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Notable Wine List (21)
Comfort Food (21)
Authentic (21)
Casual (17)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Healthy (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Historic (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
People Watching (5)
Fun (5)
Private Room (4)
Family Style (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1526 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

We had the seared duck with vegetable risotto and the sea scallops with a lobster mac and cheese. They both were cooked perfect and the favors were amazing. My wife had an apple martini and loved it. For dessert we shared a raspberry cheese cake. I'm not usually a fan of cheese cake but I couldn't stop eating it. We were treated so well by all the staff and especially our server. He knew the menu and explained everything well. My wife and I really enjoyed our 7 year Anniversary. I would recommend Midtown Cafe to anyone.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

The food is always delicious!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 16, 2017

My wife and I went here on the recommendation of her boss. It is a very nice and somewhat upscale experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Menu was extensive enough for any palate. I am not a veal fan, but if you are, there are multiple choices. Their evening specials were excellent and there was a nice wine selection. Have the artichoke soup!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

While it had been several years since I had dined at Midtown Café, I had fond memories of it as a restaurant offering quality food at a reasonable price with attentive service and warm ambience. This visit confirmed the service and ambience remained; however, the food was somewhat of a disappointment. The meal began well enough with satisfying appetizers and salads. The problem was with the entrees. I had the salmon on a bed of risotto and my wife order the duck. My salmon was well cooked; however, the risotto was overcooked to the point of being gooey and gummy with very little taste. My wife's duck was almost inedible as the fat had not been rendered which overpowered any taste of duck that might have existed. To the restaurant's credit, they immediately corrected the problem by allowing my wife to substitute a sirloin which was promptly cooked to perfection and delivered promptly. Hopefully, these two mistakes were aberrations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Midtown cafe is the perfect escape from the more high energy restaurants in Nashville. The food and service is excellent, and it offers a refined atmosphere for a special occasion or celebration with family and friends.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our first visit but definitely not our last. Service was excellent and the atmosphere was great. We tried the lemon artichoke soup which was best described as awesome. Our entrees ( crab cakes and a filet) were perfectly prepared. Great all around experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Midtown Cafe remains one of my favorite lunch places. The service is brisk and accommodating. The food is always good, reliably good. Midtown is in that tradition of taking care of the customer and serving them good food in the process.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Midtown Cafe never fails! A favorite of mine for years.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Wonderful as always! So glad Midtown added breakfast to the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Dined at this place while visiting Nashville. Excellent service and food. The pork tenderloin dish was outstanding. The wine list was decent. the polenta fries were a great appetizer as well.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I usually try to stay at the Marriott Courtyard VU when I am in Nashville, because it is just next door to two of the best restaurants in Nashville. The Midtown Cafe, on the East side, and Valentino's, on the West side. If you are a 'foodie', and you can't find something you really like between the two on them, then you need to go someplace like McDonald's - 'cause you ain't a foodie !!

Tags: Authentic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 2, 2017

I loved the casual dining experience. It's a great place for dinner after work or a quick meet up. The food was fantastic. They have some great fish options for those looking for good seafood. The grits were delicious! I've been to the area many times and never realized the restaurant there, but definitely glad I went! For dinner, it's best to valet because parking is limited.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

This was once my favorite spot in Nashville... Food was wonderful, as usual, but the decor was horrible. When I dine, I choose the restaurant based on the entire experience. Drab gray walls, black trim, black table cloths - blah. the art is usually good but the overall effect is depressing. Worst martini I have ever had. Who ever heard of crushed ice in a martini? May I also say that altho space is limited because the restaurant is small, the entire place needs a dramatic overhaul. Sadly, I would not go back :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent food and drink.. and service was great

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Had a large group in town from all over the US and they were very very accommodating. The service was really friendly and helpful and food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This was our first opportunity to eat breakfast at Midtown since they started serving it some months ago. Owner Randy Rayburn was most welcoming and hospitable, as was our server. I had the pancake, egg and bacon dish; and my wife had french toast with peach compote. Both dishes were excellent, and reasonably priced. Coffee is $3.00 per cup, which is getting close to being over a line, but it was fresh, hot and bottomless. I will return for another round in future, and would have the same dishes, but for the fact that the omelets and biscuit dishes demand to be tried. The restaurant wasn't overly busy on a Thursday morning, and a reservation was not necessary; but I would predict that breakfast business at Midtown will increase in future to the point where a reservation will be advisable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Had a business meal at Midtown Cafe for dinner. There were only a few patrons around 7pm, which made it a great setting for the meeting. The wait staff were extremely attentive and helped us through the menu. I had the salmon with risotto, which was very tasty. Will try the Shrimp and Grits next time.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 26, 2017

A wonderful meal. Perfect veal and seafood preparations. Wait staff very professional and welcoming. Has been in Nashville over 30 years and there's a reason for that

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Consistently good. Recently added breakfast option is a real winner.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 23, 2017

My friend and I were visiting Nashville and found that this restaurant had great reviews so we gave it a try. The food was delicious, the staff was very friendly. Our waiter did have his hands full with a big group so we did have to find another waiter to order more drinks but other than that it was a great experience.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

As gluten free diners, we we're pleasantly surprised to find a gf friendly menu and excited to see meatloaf as an option. It was tasty comfort food.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Midtown is a tried and true great Nashville restaurant that has maintained it's great food over the long haul and incorporated some of the Sunset Grille favorites into its menu. It's a warm and welcoming environment where you can't go wrong.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch was wonderful. The staff was helpful and friendly, and the food was very good. We are always on the lookout for a place for brunch after church, and we will most definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food here is always amazing, vut the expanded menu just kills it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It is always easy to valet and walk right in the door. The food is spectacular and is always consistent. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable about dishes and wines.
Always a treat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great Family Easter meal. Easter menu was comprehensive and intriguing. The rack of lamb was especially tasty and on point for the occasion. Randy Rayburn is still at the top of his game.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were celebrating our son's 22nd birthday. The food was delicious we really loved being there and always have great service love your vodka tonics!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This was our 2nd time going since moving to Nashville and the food was excellent, good service, and great, quiet atmosphere when you want to get away from children and their noise.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 14, 2017

It was late on a midweek night, so service was very good, but also with so few tables, I would have expected it to be. The waiter was very helpful with our questions and the food was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 13, 2017

My wife and daughter had the salmon and scallops and were well pleased. I had the shrimp and grits, the shrimp were not up to the grits and excellent sauce, they just had little taste and poor tough texture. The artichoke lemon soup is killer.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 12, 2017

I was greeted by The owner warmly as I arrived...............seated at a very nice table.............service was excellent.................the food was prepared as I requested and it was very good.......................The coconut cake was a wonderful end to a great lunch experience....................I would tell everybody I know to come here and enjoy the wonderful experience....................

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Attended a concert downtown and had dinner prior to event. The service and food could not have been better. The veal saltimbocca was perfect and my friend had the chicken scallopine and it was excellent too. Midtown Café if my favorite Nashville restaurant!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This was a total shot in the dark. We wanted someplace close to our hotel, and stumbled upon this place. We could not have been more pleased. I had the lemon artichoke soup and chicken saltimboca, my wife had the pasta special with chicken shrimp and andouille sausage with wide pasta and a mildly spicy tomato sauce. Everything was truly delicious. Served hot, tasted fantastic. In particular, my chicken was not salty, but just savory. For desert pecan pie and coffee with amaretto and kahlua. Really a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Fantastic restaurant and food is well prepared and the service was excellent - will go back and tell my friends about my experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Our evening was perfect! Great place for conversation, good food and fun, engaging staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Consistently great food and service. The Shrimp stir fry was very tasty and another guest had the trout and said it was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Food is delicious! Service is impeccable.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 27, 2017

If you love Lobster Mac and Cheese - you have got to go to Midtown Café. We always get an order to share - no matter our choice of entree. Midtown Café has a great atmosphere, Randy is always there, staff recognizes repeat customers. It is a very nice dining experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.