Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Michaels Restaurant

One of the finest Key West restaurants is nestled among the charming tropical back streets of
Key West's Old Town District. Come discover a garden oasis where Chef Michael Wilson
and his wife Melanie offer a classic menu with an island twist. Their emphasis on
quality and service, coupled with casual island elegance, has established
Michaels Restaurant as a favorite of Key West locals
and visitors with discriminating dining palates.
If you're searching for Key West restaurants, search no further. Treat yourself to a delicious dining experience outdoors in a relaxing Key West garden atmosphere or indoors in one of our two dining rooms. Michaels Restaurant is in Old Town Key West,
near the corner of Southard Street- on Margaret Street.

"From the first chilled martini to the last sumptuous bite of the
warm chocolate volcano, Michaels will delight and satisfy. "

532 Margaret Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 11:00pm



Requests for specific tables will be honored on a first come first serve basis. If a specific table is a necessity please feel free to call us at 305-295-1300 after 3:30pm.

Thank you.

Cross Street:
Southard Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 295-1300

Website:
http://www.michaelskeywest.com/

Catering:
Michaels can cater any event from 20 to 200! You can expect our same attention to detail and excellence that you get when you dine with us! Let us make your special occasions out of this world!

Executive Chef:
Michael Wilson

Private Party Facilities:
Michaels can accommodate groups from 12 to 30 in our intimate garden. Is your group larger? Our main ding room seats 40. Larger still? Rent out the whole restaurant for a truly memorable event.

Private Party Contact:
Melanie Wilson: (305) 295-1300

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michaels Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (77)
Special Occasion (75)
Great for Outdoor Dining (69)
See All
Romantic (65)
Neighborhood Gem (64)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Cozy (34)
Bar Seating (31)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Casual (30)
Local Ingredients (28)
Authentic (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Fun (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Business Meals (13)
Hot Spot (12)
People Watching (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Historic (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Healthy (8)
Private Room (7)
Family Style (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Seasonal (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1979 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was simply amazing! Hand crafted cocktails wonderful. We ate outdoors which was mostly covered with shade umbrellas so just perfect warmth plus breeze. Only down was wine list. Needs SERIOUS work. No red older than 2014. What?!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a wonderful experience at Michael's in Key West! Ricardo was a top-notch server with much knowledge about the menu! We will return next year!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

We will definitely return to Michaels. Food and service were both exceptional!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Michael's is one of our favorite Key West restaurants; we typically visit on special occasions or when we have guests who we know will appreciate such a fine restauarnt. The service and ambiance were great as we expected. The food and drink were both unusually mediocre.

DRINK: It was a Wednesday night and Michaels features Whiskey cocktails every Wednesday. We love Rye Whiskey and are always up for a good Sazerac; not sure what we got but the three of us at the table who ordered Sazeracs were all disappointed. The accompanying whiskey food bites were fantastic. The drink, well, I don't ever plan to order another Sazerac here. We all switched to different drinks for round two; those were better.

FOOD: Three of the four at our table found the food to be okay: two had the grouper special and one had the fish and grits. Normally we love Michaels' food. Not this time. It was good food, just not spectacular as it normally is.

We'll be back, hoping to be delighted the next time -- just as we have been every other time except for this week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great service, amazing food, and open late!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Michaels never fails to impress. Great food, beautiful setting, great service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great with food allergies. Very helpful service and flexible with even helping find parking! Many bugs but that's to be expected in key west. would definitely go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Love that they offer half portions of the entrees!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This is our favorite place to eat in Key West especially when we are going out with friends. The service the food and the atmosphere is always wonderful. It's also only a short walk from our house. When we are in Key West and use our Thursday night place to be

Tags: Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Late-night Find, Healthy, Happy Hour, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We dine at Micheal's eveytime we visit Key West.
Food is always excellent. We both had filets this time and as usual, fantastic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 11, 2017

One of the best restaurants in Key West! Off the beaten path and hustle and bustle of Duval it is worth the stroll there (about 15-20 min from the aquarium). The outside patio is intimate and relaxing, the service was extremely friendly and the food was wonderful. You have to try this stuffed veal chop! It was beautiful! Plus a decent wine list makes it a top choice when I'm in Key West.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Excellent. 4 stars for ambiance and overall only because we were inside. Will ask for outside next time we go. One of the best in KW.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

No view but great food. Good value although not cheap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Michael's never disappoints ! Innovative menu plus beautiful patio dining = perfection!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 5, 2017

A very pleasant evening, we were a group of 5 anglers who have visited Kew West for the last 30 years.
A very pleasant evening and upmarket from our usual restaurants which are more noisy and only average food.
Certainly worth paying the extra for and everyone recommends the stakes which are first class

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great spot in Key West! Awesome find...I definitely will be coming back in the future! Their scallops and brie appetizer was amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Historic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Incredible in every way!! Food amazing. Service excellent and knowledgeable!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Brought my family there while on vacation for our last night in key west. Beautiful restaurant! Got us in right on time for our reservation. Veal chop and short ribs outstanding. Avoid the grilled octopus appetizer as it was chewy. Stick with the tuna and the beef carpaccio instead!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 28, 2017

There were four of and we all got different things and it was all excellent. We were seated outside and it was quiet enough that we could have a conversation. Service was superb.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Michael's is always a special treat once a year when viviting Kwy West.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 27, 2017

For the past 15 years we've enjoyed the menu and the service. Moses has been a great asset to your restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Michael's is the epitome of "casual elegance". The hostess was treating neighborhood dogs to cookies as we waited to be seated. The dogs were actually waiting for her to return to her post before continuing their walk. We were seated inside; she must've noticed we were local. The ambiance was lovely, the service fantastic, our waiter was extremely knowledgeable about the menu and asked the chef about special dietary needs, which were met. We did not have wine or cocktails. The steaks were perfect, melt in your mouth, I ate more than I should, having pushed the plate away a couple times. For tourist or local, a great place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had an amazing dinner, the food and service were outstanding. Make sure you ask for Justin, he is exceptional!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Lovely neighborhood spot with a cute garden and excellent food.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy, Historic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We are almost annual visitors to KW but this was our first time at Michael's and we were very pleased with all aspects of our experience. I had the veal chop and my wife had the filet along with one of the salads. The filet was great and the veal chop was the best ever. Great cocktails and wines. There was a nice selection of 1/2 bottles too. We had a 1/2 of Honig cab, terrific with the meals. Great service and a couple of visits from the owner, Michael who was very engaged. Best fine dining on the Island. We are going to return with pleasure.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Casual, People Watching, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

It was a wonderful dinner: good food, good service and very enjoyable. Would go again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 18, 2017

This was our first visit to Michael's on a recommendation from a local waitress. We sat outdoors in a lovely garden setting.we started with the scallops and Brie, and the coconut shrimp. Both very good. For dinner, I had the snapper menuire and my husband had the short ribs. Both were prepared perfectly to our liking. The sauces and accompaniments were delicious. The service was excellent without being imposing. The tamarind sorbet for dessert was luscious. I would highly recommend this restaurant if you are visiting Key West. You won't be disappointed. We will be back on our next visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

This meal was possibly the highlight of our vacation.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The USDA Prime NY Strip was superb, the asparagus a little under cooked but better than being over cooked and limp. The spinach salad portion was small for the price but the ingredients fresh.

We sat at the bar so the service was just so so. Bar tenders by nature are social and get caught up in lengthy conversations with friends or others to the detriment of their service. Also one of the two were clueless about clearing dirty dishes between courses. They let them sit there and stood around chatting.

The ambiance is typical KW; renovated/repurposed house made into a restaurant. The interior was ok but nothing special. We would return because we love steak and that was good but if that failed, it would be easy to move on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great food, service, outdoor dining - it started pouring and they quickly brought us inside - service superb.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Michaels is usually top notch and one of our favorites but tonight was a little off. Our appetizer took a long time to come out which put our food coming out really late. Service was just ok. It might be a while before we go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We love the fondue option at the bar - but this time the fans keeping the air moving (it wasn't terribly warm, but a cool evening) blew out the Sterno keeping our cheese hot! It became cold, very quickly, and unpleasant to finish. The service staff was very friendly, but inattentive to a small detail like this. We'll probably be back, but not sure when.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Dinner at Michael's is always excellent. We love having dinner here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This was our first time to Michaels and we LOVED it. I would definitely go back again when we are in Key West. The food was fabulous as will as the drinks. I always enjoy trying something new when we are on vacation and was very pleased at everything I had to eat.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Start with Michael greeting you at the door; always a good sign. Delicious bread; second good sign. The main attraction is the food and appetizers, always fresh and delish. Try the Rum Cake dessert with Vanilla ice cream. You will thank me.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Food is alright, staff was super nice. Ambiance is nice outside...cute courtyard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Our waiter Moses was very friendly & knowledgeable about the menu items and recommended some great choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Food and service was excellent! But the best thing was their dessert Lava Cake. Best dessert on the island!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We chose Michael's for one of our 2 dinners during a quick trip to Key West. We selected Michael's not knowing anything about it other than the Open Table description/reviews. It was a bit off the beaten path from the pulse of Key West, but that was actually a nice feature. The outdoor seating area is lovely and the service was quite good though we were there a solid 10 minutes before anyone came to our table for a drink order. The most noteworthy part of the evening was the food. My wife and I had 2 salads (caesar and beet) and entrees (meatloaf and snapper). We eat out a lot at good restaurants around our home near NYC and while traveling. This was among the best meals we have had in some time.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Michael's has always been a favorite "go to" place when entertaining friends visiting Key West. Unfortunately, they seated us next to the bar, and conversation became almost impossible. Food was generally good. Service was friendly but a little slow. I will go back, but this time it didn't work for my situation.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.