Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Michaels Restaurant

One of the finest Key West restaurants is nestled among the charming tropical back streets of
Key West's Old Town District. Come discover a garden oasis where Chef Michael Wilson
and his wife Melanie offer a classic menu with an island twist. Their emphasis on
quality and service, coupled with casual island elegance, has established
Michaels Restaurant as a favorite of Key West locals
and visitors with discriminating dining palates.
If you're searching for Key West restaurants, search no further. Treat yourself to a delicious dining experience outdoors in a relaxing Key West garden atmosphere or indoors in one of our two dining rooms. Michaels Restaurant is in Old Town Key West,
near the corner of Southard Street- on Margaret Street.

"From the first chilled martini to the last sumptuous bite of the
warm chocolate volcano, Michaels will delight and satisfy. "

532 Margaret Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 11:00pm



Requests for specific tables will be honored on a first come first serve basis. If a specific table is a necessity please feel free to call us at 305-295-1300 after 3:30pm.

Thank you.

Cross Street:
Southard Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 295-1300

Website:
http://www.michaelskeywest.com/

Catering:
Michaels can cater any event from 20 to 200! You can expect our same attention to detail and excellence that you get when you dine with us! Let us make your special occasions out of this world!

Executive Chef:
Michael Wilson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michaels Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for a Date (36)
Special Occasion (33)
See All
Romantic (30)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Cozy (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Bar Seating (15)
Business Meals (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Fun (12)
Casual (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Authentic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Seasonal (4)
Tapas (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
2059 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We always look forward to coming home to Key West to spend time with special friends at one of our favorite restaurants. The staff here is awesome for cocktails are out of this world and the food is amazing

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 29, 2017

I have to be honest. The only reason we visited was that I had earned a $50.00 Open Table Gift card and Michael's was only one of 4 restaurants that I could use it at in Key West. It was lovely. We sat indoors since the temps were very hot and humid. We heard from several locals that the steaks were really good there; but I have a very hard time paying those prices when we are perfectly capable of grilling out top quality steaks at home. I LOVE meatloaf and always want to try other peoples versions and I understood that it was Michael's mothers recipe. It was very traditional; nothing outstanding or note worthy but a good portion of comfort food. My husband really wanted Coconut Shrimp which is only on the appetizer menu. He asked if he could have that in a dinner and they said yes, but they DOUBLED the appetizer itself which resulted in WAY too much food. They did not serve it with the typical dipping sauce until we asked for it, and that was much needed as the Shrimp without some type of sauce was too dry. Our server was great and suggested a really nice bottle of wine which we enjoyed immensely. All in all it was a pleasant evening but if you're looking for something more adventurous in Key West, I would try some of the more ethnic offerings.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

No,no and no.( ambiance was the only ,O.K)........................:...........................No

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

A nice neighborhood place. Service was very good. Food adequate but not worth the $ in my opinion. When I spend almost $50 for a steak, I expect an outstanding cut and received a lesser grade. Don't know if I would retry on my next visit to Key West given the many options in old town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Third time at this establishment and like the previous times dining here the cocktails, food and ambiance were outstanding. This restaurant will remain a staple in our future visits

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 22, 2017

One of Key West's best restaurants
Service is outstanding
Food is always delicious

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Highly recommended for anyone in Key West. Been going here for 12 years!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Amazing. I got the snapper and my husband the veal chop. Both were outstanding. We sat at the bar and our bartender, Ricardo, had the best suggestions and was wonderful. My only suggestion would be more variety with the Cabernet wine selection (I'm partial to the reds ;)) and we wish we had seen the fondue menu! Overall ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Overall a wee bit disappointed.
Appetizers were very good. The fried oysters were some of the best I've had
The snapper special was very well presented with a nice sauce and balance to the sides served.
Service however was just ok and not really friendly.
I was pleased to see they had Hangar 1 vodka which makes and excellent dry martini for those who like that.
In summary, food was very good and well presented but the ambience and service diminished my experience.
Tim

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Always an excellent experience! Completely consistent. Your favorite dish is just like you remembered it. As a local, I recommend this restaurant frequently . A must try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

One of our most favorite restaurants on the island! Love! Love! Love!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Food is always excellent. We like to sit at the bar and it's always fun. Friendly people. Bartender has been there for 17 years. Nuff said

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Excellent food and service! Met our expectations of fine dining.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

I had the count shrimp. It was the best shrimp I've had in a long time.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Tapas, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on August 12, 2017

great service and ambiance is good inside or outside.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food and the service were both outstanding. Michael's came highly recommended and did not disappoint. We can't wait to return!

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Me and my wife go every yr that we visit key west..amazing food,quiet outdoor setting...must haves are the duck and volcano dessert..it wont dissapoint

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 10, 2017

VERY PLEASANT EXSPERIENCE, WOULD GO THERE AGAIN. WAITRESS WAS VERY ATTENTIVE.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Very good food, the wait staff needs some training, not quite up to its ranking but certainly a pleasurable dining experience.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Have been here many times and we ALWAYS love it! Great food, wine, staff and atmosphere! Long standing gem :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Healthy, Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The restaurant used to be outstanding. Unfortunately you can't rest on your laurels. The restaurant needs to be spruced up and the wait staff more attentive. The kitchen needs help. Both entrees were sent back. The Snapper had a salty cream sauce (not edible). The meatloaf dish was terrible. No kitchen should ever send out food "looking" so terrible.
The waiter was apologetic and both the new orders of Salmon and Snapper entrees were pretty good.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We were expecting great food for our 35th anniversary dinner in key West. Everyone told us Michaels is the finest restaurant on the island. When we booked the table, we indicated it was for our 35th wedding anniversary.
The food was fine, nothing special especially considering the price. I ordered the short ribs and my husband ordered the Cowboy
The staff was very formal and did not recognize the occasion.
The restaurant is in need of some sprucing up.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 5, 2017

It was the best steak we have ever had! It was so good we ate there twice while we were in town. We had chops and fish and it was all excellent!! We judge our vacations by how good the food is and this food made it our best Key West vacation!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Food was amazing and the key lime pie dessert was by far the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Excellent meal for my sister's birthday! We always plan a dinner at Michael's when we come to key west.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Was so excited to go here but was underwhelmed. Service was most disappointing, especially on my 40th birthday. Steak came out almost raw when ordered medium and server did not seem to care. Atmosphere was nice and I prob would much rather sit at bar than empty dining room. Disappointed and most disappointed no one seemed to care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Fantastic. The food was unbelievable. Their ravioli were impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Asked for well done steak, came out medium rare. They heated it back up but left the cheese on to on, which burnt to a crisp. Probably on of the worst steaks we've ever had. No idea why they would bring that back out from kitchen. Waitress was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Micahel's came highly recommended by many of the Key West locals. My wife and I thouroughly enjoyed the evening. Ambiance, service, food....next time we are in Key West, this will be 1st on our list!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This is by far one of our most favorite restaurants in Key West. The food is always delicious. They actually make the best rum cake I've ever had anywhere! The prices are reasonable. Very very quaint off-Duval Key West charming.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Llegamos por una recomendación, así es que la valla estaba alta. El lugar satisfizo el gusto de los 11 comensales. Y claro, ahora el que lo recomendare seré yo.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Very good gourmet quality dishes. Great service and friendly staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The restaurant was ok. There are so many restaurants in KeyWest. This one would not be near the top of my list of favorites. The portions were tasty but meager for the price, not a satisfying value.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Parking is a challenge. French onion soup, Caesar salad, veal chop above average. Attentive service. Recommend this restaurant A+.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We celebrated our daughters 21st birthday at Michael's. The filet mignon and cowboy ribeye were outstanding--cooked to perfection. The wait staff was very accommodating and ensured, as first time diners, we had a wonderful experience. We will definitely return. Thank you Michaels, for making our birthday celebration special!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Amazing! Came here for our wedding anniversary and it was great! I got the duck and my husband got the meatloaf. Both dishes were phenomenal, service was great, and the atmosphere is so romantic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The food was good, but our server had too many tables and we waited on every interaction. Heard many good things about this restaurant - maybe we caught them on a bad night. Added online that it was our 31st anniversary, but it doesnt seem that anyone read that (at least, no one said anything).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We had dinner here when we were in Key West on our honeymoon. We totally enjoyed it and vowed to go back when in Key West again. Fast forward almost 14 years and finally made it back to Key West and made a point that go back to Michaels. You know how things that you really liked are often not as good when you revisit them? Well, this was NOT the case with Michaels! The food was great! I had the Snapper Picatta and it was absolutely delicious. We also made sure to order the Chocolate Volcano for dessert and it was just as good as when we had it years ago. The service was professional, yet very friendly and added to the dining experience. We mentioned our previous visit on our honeymoon and our dessert came out with a huge sparkler on it! We also witnessed a proposal! The whole staff brought out the young lady's cake with the engagement ring on top and took pictures for the happy couple. Just a great experience all around!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Always the best meal on the Island. Don't miss it.

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Table next to us was extremely obnoxious. And you should sit outside the inside is loud and Non appealing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.