About Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana

Michael Anthony’s Cucina Italiana offers traditional regional Italian cuisine combining innovative presentations and style. The award winning culinary team presents a menu using the freshest ingredients for an unforgettable culinary experience featuring homemade gnocchi, succulent veal,daily selections of fresh fish and house-made desserts. Acknowledged by food and wine enthusiasts and critics alike, the restaurant presents a fine-dining experience combining an award-winning wine list, exquisite food, attentive service and the personal touch of a family-owned restaurant serving the Lowcountry since 2002. In fact, Michael Anthony’s was recognized in 2010 by Open Table diners as one of the "Top 50 Italian Restaurants" in the United States! In addition, Michael Anthony’s operates a Cooking School conducting weekly hands-on and demonstration style cooking classes and a specialty Italian market. Please visit our website or call for information for our class schedule or dining reservations.

37 New Orleans Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Serving dinner Monday - Saturday beginning at 5:15pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 785-6272

Website:
http://www.michael-anthonys.com/

Private Party Facilities:
At Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana we offer five unique private party options for hosting your special event

Private Party Contact:
Ian Mason: (877) 564-4026

Additional:
Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Notable Wine List (45)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
See All
Creative Cuisine (40)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Romantic (35)
Bar Seating (31)
Good for a Date (30)
Authentic (30)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Worth the Drive (24)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Cozy (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Business Meals (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Local Ingredients (11)
Private Room (10)
Casual (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Healthy (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Family Style (4)
Fun (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1640 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We think that what you get for the price ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

We think that what you get for the price is not a good value. Small

Portions big prices the salad we had was lettuce with some onions and 4 tomato slices and they were 9.00 should have been 4.00 and we asked the waitress for more bread and she never brought any she was more interested in accomadating the table next to us with 6 people to come back with the bread. We have ate much better Italian meals at Olive Garden for one third the price. We will not be returning.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Salad selection for us was not very good ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Salad selection for us was not very good, the lettuce in the salad was not fresh and the taste was lacking something. The wait staff appear to be more performing versus really caring for the diners.

The entrees we ate were good but were pricey for what we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent service, food, and value. Wen ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service, food, and value. Went for early tasting 3 course price fixe meal.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time here and I was ve ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

This was my first time here and I was very pleased. Great, cozy atmosphere with little noise. The service was spot on and food was delicious. Will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good. We've been here before and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Always good. We've been here before and it never disappoints.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable dining experience. Server Jos ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyable dining experience. Server Josh Thompson excellent.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Italian on Hilton Head. The pasta w ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Best Italian on Hilton Head. The pasta was other worldly. The early bird menu and value was perfect.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food, great ambiance, good size ta ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food, great ambiance, good size tables and the service is fabulous.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in Hilton Head. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Hilton Head. Consistently high quality food, presentation, service. Would highly recommend Michael Anthony's

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always enjoy ourselves at Michael Ant ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We always enjoy ourselves at Michael Anthony's, The food , the service are something you can always count on.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This might be my new favorite restaurant ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This might be my new favorite restaurant in Hilton Head. We went this week with 2 other couples. Everyone enjoyed what they ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food at very reasonable food and w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food at very reasonable food and wine prices. I will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great night. We always love it here. But ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great night. We always love it here. But this really special as it only $15 per meal and $15 for wine. Hope they do this every year !

Our waiter PJ was the best waiter we have had since we moved here.

This is the second time he has waited on us.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always . Never had a bad me ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent as always . Never had a bad meal or a bad experience there.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good. This time, especially so, ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Always good. This time, especially so, since they were offering $15 entrees to celebrate their 15th anniversary.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We settled on Michael Anthony's for a fr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We settled on Michael Anthony's for a friends' get-together. We spend our winters in Hilton Head and meet long time friends from Ohio and New Jersey who do the same. Both of the other couples had not experienced Michael Anthony's exceptional cuisine so at my suggestion we dined there last Friday night. Although we were not in the main dining room, the Market was cozy and quiet. Each of us had a different entree and much tasting of each others' meals was experienced. Everything was wonderful--each had its own distinctive taste and on my next visit to Michael Anthony's I will have difficulty selecting from it's extensive menu. I totally recommend Michael Anthony's as as exceptional dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, , Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took advantage of the $15.00 anniversary ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Took advantage of the $15.00 anniversary special. A real value. Will probably try an early bird in the future.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated the 15th year of restaurant ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Celebrated the 15th year of restaurant with 15 entrées for $15. Great value for their traditionally superb service and outstanding food. All four of us chose different dishes, but all agreed the duck was the best of the four entrées. Ambiance and service were outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal and service while celebra ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Excellent meal and service while celebrating the restaurant's 15th Anniversary. Very professional staff at all positions. We were seated upstairs where it was quieter ..if one can negotiate the stairs, this is a pleasant option. Thank you, MA.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for their 15th anniversary speci ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We went for their 15th anniversary special - good selection of $15 entrees. Tough to get a table but excellent service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Michael Anthony is celebrating a very sp ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Michael Anthony is celebrating a very special anniversary this week so we were lucky enough to have choices of all of their favorites for $15 per entree. This is our second visit to this restaurant and both visits were exceptional. We were a party of six and sat upstairs in a beautiful semi-private area. Each couple shared an appetizer, which they plated individually. Everyone had a different entree-pasta with lump crabmeat to duck breast to osso bucco. All were prepared very well with the freshest ingredients and the flavors were sensational.

Their wine list has a nice mix of mostly Italian & California varieties and were reasonably priced.

Service was good - attentive but not intrusive.

We will definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Ambiance comfortable, inviting and roman ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Ambiance comfortable, inviting and romantic. Consistently delicious food. All the staff is extremely polite and professional. Our request for a booth was noted and honored. Definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was delicious and our server wa ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Our food was delicious and our server was very friendly, fun and accommodating. Look forward to dining here again!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a very nice anniversary dinne ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We enjoyed a very nice anniversary dinner on Tuesday evening. Particularly enjoyed sitting upstairs and the atmosphere was perfect. The Service was excellent and professional and our dinner selections were prepared perfectly. We did not know it was your 15th Celebration and congratulations!

We will continue to recommend to our friends and will be back at the first opportunity. Thanks,

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, over the top in every categor ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 31, 2017

As always, over the top in every category! Never disappointed!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined on Saturday during Restaurant Week ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Dined on Saturday during Restaurant Week with a party of 6. Very pleasant atmosphere upstairs, two wine menus with a good variety from moderate to expensive (1st wine ordered not available), and nice choices of smaller portion entrees. Food quality was good. Service was ok but felt a little rushed to get orders in and not overly friendly wait staff....hopefully all driven by RW volume. I've had better experiences at this restaurant in the past and will not return for next years RW. Overall value was fair to good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This was my 2nd time at this restaurant. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was my 2nd time at this restaurant. My appetizer was superb and my entree very good. Dessert was also very good. Service was outstanding. Michael Anthony's is tucked away in a quiet area with several other restaurants. We liked it well enough to make reservations for this coming Saturday as well. This time we're bringing friends along to enjoy it with us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We always eat here when we are in Hilton ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We always eat here when we are in Hilton Head every year. It is one of our favorite places. The food is excellent and very creative. We love sitting in the bar at a high top. Elijah is an awesome and knowledgable server...both about the food offerings and wine. We tried the Restaurant Week menu for the first time and it was delicious. The gnocchi with sausage was wonderful as were the short ribs over polenta. It was a dilemma not eating from the regular menu but we are glad we tried the Restaurant Week menu. We highly recommend this restaurant! Delicious food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great and the staff is on po ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Service was great and the staff is on point. I see why everyone raves about this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Michael Anthony's is quickly becoming on ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Michael Anthony's is quickly becoming one of our favorite dining destinations on Hilton Head Island. The culinary attention to detail is impressive and the service is beyond impressive.

Everyone makes you feel special from the hostesses upon entering to the service tech clearing your table.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again Michael Anthony's delivered a ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Once again Michael Anthony's delivered an outstanding dining experience! We were a party of six celebrating a birthday. It was Restaurant Week but we came planning to order from the regular menu. However, the Restaurant Week menu was so well put together, we all ended up ordering from it. I had the cheese stuffed ravioli which were absolutely divine. The food isn't the only thing that stands out at Michael Anthony's; the wine list and the service are equally as outstanding. We are locals but I would tell visitors that no visit to Hilton Head Island would be complete without a visit to Michael Anthony's. Thanks to all there!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming here for years when ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We have been coming here for years when we visit the low country. The consistency of good falvourful Italian food is a reason to return! Atmosphere is inviting. The staff are friendly and professional. The service is outstanding. The food preparation is 5 star. We do enjoy the tasting menus when available. The prices are fair and well worth it.

Tags: Private Room, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Michael Anthony's always maintains the t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Michael Anthony's always maintains the toughest of standards to service in a manner in which few others can top. Great menu, inventive and varying, whether you wish seafood, veal, chicken or steaks and always the best, handcrafted pasta dishes.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. The eggplan ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent service and food. The eggplant appetizer was out of this world. Sauce was excellent. Veal was excellent also. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Michael Anthony's many t ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We have been to Michael Anthony's many times and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I'm never disappointed with the quality ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I'm never disappointed with the quality of the food and service at Michael Anthony's.

With next week being Restaurant Week, you really get to try some fabulous dishes st special rates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff exceptional. Food great! Real ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Wait staff exceptional. Food great! Really fun evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have dined many times at M ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My wife and I have dined many times at Michael Anthony's. The Food and service gets better and better. We LOVE sitting in the Bar area at the high top tables. Elijah behind the Bar is a MASTER. We also LOVE sitting in the Wine Room. If at all possible, have JOSH serve you. Beyond Josh's knowledge of the Menu, he is also a Sommelier. A real PLUS !!!!!!!!!!! The menu has something for everyone. Authentic Italian. The atmosphere is great. Overall, you will really, really enjoy the experience. Kudos to all

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Private Room, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ravioli, osso buco, and service were ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The ravioli, osso buco, and service were impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great!

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Everything was great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.