About Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana

Michael Anthony’s Cucina Italiana offers traditional regional Italian cuisine combining innovative presentations and style. The award winning culinary team presents a menu using the freshest ingredients for an unforgettable culinary experience featuring homemade gnocchi, succulent veal,daily selections of fresh fish and house-made desserts. Acknowledged by food and wine enthusiasts and critics alike, the restaurant presents a fine-dining experience combining an award-winning wine list, exquisite food, attentive service and the personal touch of a family-owned restaurant serving the Lowcountry since 2002. In fact, Michael Anthony’s was recognized in 2010 by Open Table diners as one of the "Top 50 Italian Restaurants" in the United States! In addition, Michael Anthony’s operates a Cooking School conducting weekly hands-on and demonstration style cooking classes and a specialty Italian market. Please visit our website or call for information for our class schedule or dining reservations.

37 New Orleans Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Serving dinner Monday - Saturday beginning at 5:15pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 785-6272

Website:
http://www.michael-anthonys.com/

Private Party Facilities:
At Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana we offer five unique private party options for hosting your special event

Private Party Contact:
Ian Mason: (877) 564-4026

Additional:
Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (65)
Special Occasion (65)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
See All
Fit for Foodies (60)
Authentic (51)
Notable Wine List (44)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Romantic (41)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Cozy (33)
Worth the Drive (32)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Bar Seating (24)
Good for Groups (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Business Meals (15)
Casual (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Fun (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Seasonal (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1944 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

First time diners and what an experience! Waitresses Kat and Lucy were great. Know the menu so well and all their suggestions were incredible...from the drinks, appetizers, entrees to dessert! We'll be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Knowledgeable server. Excellent wine suggestions and superb meal. Yummy! 👍

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

We've been visiting Michael Anthony's while on vacation for many years and each year, we continue to be delighted with the meal, service and ambiance. This year, we brought friends (who are also foodies) and they thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I can't speak highly enough of this great restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

We have visited this restaurant many times and always get a cocktail, bottle of wine, appetizer, entree with coffee and dessert. Tonight I have to say we were not happy with our table near the front door and close enough to the bar that the noise level was loud. We asked to be moved to a booth or quieter table. Even though the place was fairly empty they had nothing acceptable to offer us. Since we live near the restaurant they did say that they will put it in our profile our desire to have a booth.
Otherwise, as always we were pleased with our drinks and our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a quiet and wonderful evening of dining. while I had my doubts as the downstairs was quite noisy and celebrative when we arrived, we were escorted to the upstairs dining room to enjoy. Then we found out the special for the evening (my wife's favorite - osso buco ) was sold out, we settled for the veal scaloppini, her second best with a nice spaghetti kicker. All presented beautifully and with a smile, by our server - Kat. it was also very pleasant to have Ian, the manager stop by and introduce himself and inquire about our experience. Thank you Ian and staff for aa wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

This was a great find! The food was fabulous & the atmosphere was great. I can't wait to try out their hands on cooking class!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

MA offers the finest "high end" Italian food. The servers are first rate. The wine list is pricey but goes with the well-prepared and presented food. This is a full service place - excellent dishes, regulars and creative new ones, Fridays are Osso Buco day, active 'sips and bites" menu at the bar - cooking classes - Italian market where imported items can be bought 10 AM to 4 PM. Again, the servers are veterans, there but not there.... if you know what I mean.

BTW, the General Manager "Ian" was very helpful on a large group future booking - really knows his facility and what can be accommodated.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 12, 2017

One of our favorite Hilton Head restaurants. Great Italian food in wide variety. Always delicious. Prosciutto appetizer and scallops a stand-out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Service was very attentive - not too much. Food was delicious, nice atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Superb dinner plus excellent wine professionally served makes for a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Out standing service from Lucy. Excellent and authentic Italian food. Beet salad was perfect Everyday wine list very affordable with a really nice selection of Italian wines.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Hilton Head or almost anywhere for that matter. The service is great and the restaurant cozy and comfortable but above all the food is great and worth the cost. The specials and deserts are always tempting but the main menu has so much to offer. Like that the the pastas can be ordered in half portions as an appetizer. The tagliatelle pasta with Bolognese sauce is my favorite. We drive up at least once a year from Charlotte, NC and Michael Anthony's is the highlight of our trip.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Everything was nice and the server was super attentive but I expected the food to be a little more flavorful. I would go back and try something different.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Wonderful meal, the server PJ was the best. Food was perfect. We would go back again anytime we are in the area

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fun, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Outstanding food, wines, and service by Jay was impeccable! Michael Anthony’s pays attention to every detail making your evening their priority. Reservations highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 6, 2017

We celebrated our daughters’s birthday and had a wonderful time! Our server, Nicki was wonderful and made the night special! The food was fabulous!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Not what we expected. We were celebrating our anniversary. The food was just ok and the price was very high. We will not be back. We have been going there every time we come back to Hiltonhead over the last 20 years. It's a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Tried the “Early Bird” dinning at 5pm to get to a 7:30 movie. Service was very prompt. The menu for early bird dinning was very good. 3 courses: APP, Entre and dessert. The selection of ea course was good. The food is fantastic. The house wines were surprisingly excellent. The portion sizes were ample. We were totally satisfied. We were out the door heading to the movie with plenty of time to spare. Never felt rushed. We have been to Michael Anthony’s for regular dinners which have always been excellent. Each dish has great attention to detail. The ingredients are always fresh and top shelf. One of our favorite places to go on the island.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Food was outstanding. Wine list was great. Sommelier advice and selection was impeccable. An outstanding experience every time we come.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 28, 2017

3rd time going and it never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Best meal I have had in years! Top ingredients, clever creations and classy service - outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2017

My husband and I were on vacation and went here on a recommendation. I had one of the specials of the night which was duck. It was amazing. So amazing that my husband asked them to save us 2 ducks and we came back the following evening so he could have the same meal. Nicki was our server and was very attentive. If we ever go back to Hilton Head we would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 26, 2017

A favorite dinner location in Hilton Head. Food and service are impeccable. Great wine selection and suggestions. The entire staff is excellent, we have had especially lovely evenings when Finnegan is serving us. Thanks for a special evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 26, 2017

This was one of the best meals I have ever had! Everything is made from scratch and delicious - We had meatballs and mussels as an appetizer. Might be the best meatball I've ever had ... beet salad was amazing and the sea scallops for dinner. A sea scallops never tasted so good!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 25, 2017

This was a very enjoyable evening. The food and service met our expectations when dinning at a fine Italian restaurant. We enjoyed their food pairing matching tasty Italian dishes with perfect wine selection. I can’t recall a better dinning experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great service. Food was great. Great atmosphere. Kind of expensive and I sometimes have $500 tabs at multi course restaurants. I would gladly come back. Waiter was awesome and not a pretentious place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We were celebrating our friend's anniversary. We had a great meal and the service was very good. In every way a wonderful celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Always consistenly good! One of my favorite restaurants!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We visited Michael Anthony's on a Saturday Night and we ate off of the Prix Fixe Menu. The food was delicious and the waitress really knew the menu. My wife thought the coffee was part included in the prix fixe but it wasn't. They took it off of the bill for us , even though we didn't even ask them to. Great customer service. Highly recommend

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 21, 2017

During our one-week stay in Hilton Head every year, this is a must. the food is predictably excellent

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 21, 2017

A superb dining experience in every way. A memorably knowledgeable waiter. Speck appetizer delicious. Veal scallopini and veal involtini dishes creative and the best in memory. Our foursome agreed this was our best meal of our Hilton Head Island stay. A must.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2017

What a delightful evening. Don't let the storefront fool you, once you enter this restaurant the quiet, classy ambiance will surround you. The food was excellent along with the service. We were celebrating a birthday and we were treated very special. My me feel important.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Always perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Michael Anthony has become my favorite restaurant in the US. We come to Hilton Head a couple of times a year and we would never pass on the opportunity to dine here. My husband would eat at Michael Anthony's every night. The service is outstanding the wine list offers a good assortment and the food....so good.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Nice choice of wine flights both red and white Italian. The pasta dishes were excellent. We had the Amatricana and Cacio e Pepe. The veal rolatini were spicy and flavorful

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Fabulous food and excellent service! We enjoyed the Cobia and Scallops-- delicious!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Our second trip to Michael Anthony's was excellent as was first with friends. The prep of food was on spot and wait staff was attentive and not intrusive. We had a team that handled every wish with smile. This time we were upstairs feeling a smaller serving area and special service.
Used OpenTable for reservation and felt that reservation was necessary especially in high season. All food was excellently presented, prepared and served. Upscale dining at its best!

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Our waiter was wonderful. Although a very nice, fancier restaurant they didn't seem turned off by my two young kids and went out of their way to accommodate them. The food was delicious and not at all generic. Well worth the money.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 6, 2017

This is the best food on the island. We ate the early bird specials and it was an excellent value. Otherwise it would be too pricey. With tip plan to spend about $70

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.