About Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana

Michael Anthony’s Cucina Italiana offers traditional regional Italian cuisine combining innovative presentations and style. The award winning culinary team presents a menu using the freshest ingredients for an unforgettable culinary experience featuring homemade gnocchi, succulent veal,daily selections of fresh fish and house-made desserts. Acknowledged by food and wine enthusiasts and critics alike, the restaurant presents a fine-dining experience combining an award-winning wine list, exquisite food, attentive service and the personal touch of a family-owned restaurant serving the Lowcountry since 2002. In fact, Michael Anthony’s was recognized in 2010 by Open Table diners as one of the "Top 50 Italian Restaurants" in the United States! In addition, Michael Anthony’s operates a Cooking School conducting weekly hands-on and demonstration style cooking classes and a specialty Italian market. Please visit our website or call for information for our class schedule or dining reservations.

37 New Orleans Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Serving dinner Monday - Saturday beginning at 5:15pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 785-6272

Website:
http://www.michael-anthonys.com/

Private Party Facilities:
At Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana we offer five unique private party options for hosting your special event

Private Party Contact:
Ian Mason: (877) 564-4026

Additional:
Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (80)
Good for Anniversaries (71)
Notable Wine List (71)
See All
Good for a Date (70)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Creative Cuisine (55)
Romantic (51)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Authentic (50)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Worth the Drive (36)
Bar Seating (33)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Cozy (30)
Good for Groups (26)
Local Ingredients (18)
Business Meals (18)
Tasting Menu (13)
Comfort Food (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Fun (13)
Casual (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Private Room (7)
Outstanding Value (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Healthy (4)
Family Style (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
People Watching (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Seasonal (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1751 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Second visit in the past month and while still excellent, the food was EXTREMELY slow in getting out of the kitchen. It was fairly busy certainly but not that busy. The waiter, Finnie, was good at checking with us periodically and having appetizers, wine, etc. helped pass the time plus being with great friends and catching up gave us a great chance to visit. The food was superb and one of our party even requested an item not on the menu and her request was honored. It was so good, she asked for the recipe and Finnie not only obliged but brought a container of their demi glacé finishing sauce for her to use. We will be returning and perhaps choose a better time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Michael Anthony's remains the best restaurant on Hilton Head Island. It's head and shoulders above competitors new and old with outstanding food and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

We used A gift certificate from our son for Christmas the dining was excellent we were upstairs the food was outstanding and the service couldn't of been better. We highly recommend it for anyone that enjoys good Italian food

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic Food
Best Pasta -the Crab Pasta is amazing
Service perfect

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food, but terribly disappointing service and incredibly noisy. The waiter took our order, poured the first glass of wine and then completely disappeared until it was time to bring the check. He was too busy catering to a table of 4 having a tasting memo. Such poor service and so totally noisy because of a party in another room. The room should have been sealed off. The food wasn't good enough to tolerate the poor service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food,great wine.......all great but price was a little steep.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Spicy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Incredible food, very innovative use of ingredients. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and were given a complimentary glass of prosecco. That set the tone for our evening. The staff is very attentive and very knowledgeable about the menu and wine. We love the freshness of their seafood and they don't overwhelm the delicate flavors with loads of garlic. It was a perfect evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Delicious food and excellent service!!! Will absolutely return when back on the island. Spaghetti with shrimp dish was outstanding as were all other items. Service was spot on and glad we chose this restaurant to celebrate our anniversary!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Good food, but not good enough to warrant the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 13, 2017

First time dining here and will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Awesome all around! Great atmosphere , service and food! My date had the Friday night veal saltimbuca which was fantastic and I couldn't decide between two pasta dishes so our server suggesteded a smaller portion of each and both were delicious! And I had enough for leftovers.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Good meal. Squash blossom special and homemade pasta were top notch!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 10, 2017

very good as usual. been here 3 times before on visits to Hilton Head. Only complaint was we had Finney as server. Very robotic and not personable enough. Very loud also. But we will go back.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We had a lovely dinner and PJ our server was very knowledgeable on menu and helpful about what to order. I loved the Gorgonzola and pear salad! Thanks for a great evening out. Looking forward to coming back next time we are on HHI. We will definitely come to cooking demonstrations and shop your market.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We returned to Michael Anthony's while on vacation after being away five years. It lived up to all we had remembered. Nicki was a fantastic server and we enjoyed all the delicious things we sampled including the bresola special and homemade pastas. As someone who makes it at home myself, this is always something I look for in an Italian restaurant. The wine list is robust - the only hesitation there is that there did not seem to be many bottles (red, at least) under $50. Nonetheless, we had a wonderful time and will return anytime we are in Hilton Head!

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great evening enjoyed a super early bird dinner good staff good wine & good food!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Tough duck

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 8, 2017

My husband and I were visiting from California and were given this recommendation by and acquaintance from the area. We were delighted with our entire experience all the way from our server's wine recommendations through appetizer, salad and finally our entree--which we shared. It was a foodie's heaven!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Perhaps one of the most memorable dining experiences of my life. The recommended wine for my pasta entree brought the flavors of both wine and pasta to a peak. Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We have eaten at Michael Anthony's before. The meals have always been outstanding. Last evening, we ate at the bar and Elijah, the bartender, turned outstanding into memorable. From his cocktail descriptions to his thoughts re the menu to his comments re the home made limoncello, all led to a really special evening. THANKS!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The service is top notch and the food is memorable. I love going to a place where you are appreciated and where there is a spirit of excellence. My wife and I have made this a "must stop" dining destination whenever we are in Hilton Head. The service and the food are worth coming back for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Michael Anthony 's is always excellent. Great food service wine selection. Highly recommend

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Very good food, EXCELLENT SERVICE - Finnie

Chef at chef's table extremely nice. Came to our table to wish my brother-in-law HAPPY BIRTHDAY

We plan to dine with him at the chef's table on our next visit to HHI

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Exceptional on every level. Both the regular menu items and specials are prepared very well and feature the ingredients as opposed to overwhelming them with heavy sauces or distracting flavors. The staff is exceptionally well versed on dishes, preparation and also the right wines to have with each item. Because we chose such different entres we allowed the staff to select wine for each course and were very pleased. This restaurant should be on everybody's "don't miss list" when on Hilton Head.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Excellent overall experience. Good food, service and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 1, 2017

My go to Italian restaurant on Hilton Head. In fact, my go to Italian restaurant in South Carolina.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Only negative about this restaurant is the cocktail prices. Always ask or be prepared to pay $15 - 18 for a single malt scotch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Outstanding Service. Quality if Food second to none

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great service. Servers knowledgeable and accommodating. Spaghetti and gnocchi were excellent. Osso bucco special was disappointing. Osso bucco was tough. Should fall off the bone. Served on a bed of saffron risotto. Risotto was under done and pasty. Dessert sampler was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Loved Michael Anthony's . Next time I will reserve a table on 1st floor where the ambience is.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Always good food. Seems to me the portions are
smaller than usual.
Not related to food, but the bar stools need rollers on
them. Very hard to move and loud when you do.

Tags: Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great service along with fantastic food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Best meal we had on Hilton Head. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 26, 2017

My husband and I shared the meatballs for an app and Caesar Salad. Both very good. I ordered the Sea Scallops for my entree - delicious! My husband had the Veal Piccata also good but, scallops were better. Had a cannoli for dessert - not the best. Service good. Noise level was loud due to small place and large obnoxious parties.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Simply stated - Michael Anthony's is one of the very best restaurants of varied Italian cuisines on the east coast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Without a doubt, one of the best restaurant on HHI. Lovely ambience, great service (Lucy was our server), and excellent mouth-watering food. The mussels appetizer was perfect and delicious. My veal chop could not have been better. We love this place above all the other great restaurants on the island.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Outstanding food, service and sommelier assistance.
Dinner with friends from out of town, exceeded all expectations.
Would highly recommend for foodies and wine lovers.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Good decor, friendly staff, good food, and an upstairs dining area that keeps you out of the noise.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

As usual, an all around exceptional dinner. Food and service was outstanding. Very knowledgeable staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our dinner entrees were good but a little heavy. Service was fast altho no personal attention; just getting the food out. Overall good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.