About Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana

Michael Anthony’s Cucina Italiana offers traditional regional Italian cuisine combining innovative presentations and style. The award winning culinary team presents a menu using the freshest ingredients for an unforgettable culinary experience featuring homemade gnocchi, succulent veal,daily selections of fresh fish and house-made desserts. Acknowledged by food and wine enthusiasts and critics alike, the restaurant presents a fine-dining experience combining an award-winning wine list, exquisite food, attentive service and the personal touch of a family-owned restaurant serving the Lowcountry since 2002. In fact, Michael Anthony’s was recognized in 2010 by Open Table diners as one of the "Top 50 Italian Restaurants" in the United States! In addition, Michael Anthony’s operates a Cooking School conducting weekly hands-on and demonstration style cooking classes and a specialty Italian market. Please visit our website or call for information for our class schedule or dining reservations.

37 New Orleans Road
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Serving dinner Monday - Saturday beginning at 5:15pm

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 785-6272

Website:
http://www.michael-anthonys.com/

Private Party Facilities:
At Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana we offer five unique private party options for hosting your special event

Private Party Contact:
Ian Mason: (877) 564-4026

Additional:
Bar Dining, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Michael Anthony's Cucina Italiana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (81)
Special Occasion (72)
Good for a Date (69)
See All
Fit for Foodies (52)
Authentic (50)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Notable Wine List (45)
Romantic (42)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Cozy (35)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Worth the Drive (33)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Bar Seating (26)
Local Ingredients (21)
Casual (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Business Meals (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Fun (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Healthy (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Seasonal (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1915 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

We were celebrating our friend's anniversary. We had a great meal and the service was very good. In every way a wonderful celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We visited Michael Anthony's on a Saturday Night and we ate off of the Prix Fixe Menu. The food was delicious and the waitress really knew the menu. My wife thought the coffee was part included in the prix fixe but it wasn't. They took it off of the bill for us , even though we didn't even ask them to. Great customer service. Highly recommend

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

During our one-week stay in Hilton Head every year, this is a must. the food is predictably excellent

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

A superb dining experience in every way. A memorably knowledgeable waiter. Speck appetizer delicious. Veal scallopini and veal involtini dishes creative and the best in memory. Our foursome agreed this was our best meal of our Hilton Head Island stay. A must.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

What a delightful evening. Don't let the storefront fool you, once you enter this restaurant the quiet, classy ambiance will surround you. The food was excellent along with the service. We were celebrating a birthday and we were treated very special. My me feel important.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Always perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Nice choice of wine flights both red and white Italian. The pasta dishes were excellent. We had the Amatricana and Cacio e Pepe. The veal rolatini were spicy and flavorful

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Fabulous food and excellent service! We enjoyed the Cobia and Scallops-- delicious!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Our second trip to Michael Anthony's was excellent as was first with friends. The prep of food was on spot and wait staff was attentive and not intrusive. We had a team that handled every wish with smile. This time we were upstairs feeling a smaller serving area and special service.
Used OpenTable for reservation and felt that reservation was necessary especially in high season. All food was excellently presented, prepared and served. Upscale dining at its best!

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Our waiter was wonderful. Although a very nice, fancier restaurant they didn't seem turned off by my two young kids and went out of their way to accommodate them. The food was delicious and not at all generic. Well worth the money.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 6, 2017

This is the best food on the island. We ate the early bird specials and it was an excellent value. Otherwise it would be too pricey. With tip plan to spend about $70

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Always a go to place for my family when we visit! And Finny is a great server and has been taking care of us for years.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The service was spot on and friendly. Food is outstanding, wonderful favors and authentic Italian dishes... good wine section.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Michael Anthony's is the best restaurant on HHI. Don't miss the opportunity to dine here.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

The best meatballs ever!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Wonderful restaurant! Funniest, our server, was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Wonderful evening! Knowledgeable staff, good cocktails and fabulous food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Michael Anthony's is touted as a 5 star. Have been there over the years many times. Was dissappointed it has not been renovated for a long time. Ambience negative. Menu is limited although my veal dish was excellent. Would have enjoyed a few more traditional Italian dishes. Caesar was great. Bread was cold and below acceptable with only olive oil and a bean dip. No balsamic to sweeten the oil. Desert menu was non-existent. We were told they could run across the street to get something. No key lime! No next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Last year we love our experience. The service and meal was excellent. We could not wait to go this year. We were very disappointed poor service with a meal that was over priced. Not sure we will return as Hilton Head island has many choices in that price range.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

We have been to Michael Anthony's a number of times while vacationing in Hilton Head and always had a great experience, until this week. Our server was immediately rude to us, and it was very clear that he was annoyed that we brought our children to a nice restaurant. He never acknowledged them or spoke to them. Our kids are extremely well behaved and acted great the entire time we were there. However, our server failed to ask how our food was, if we wanted more cocktails, he just dropped the check and walked away, and again said nothing when he picked it up when we left. No "Thanks for coming in!" or anything. We spent $200 on dinner and drinks and were treated like garbage. I was so disappointed. It used to be a favorite but I won't be going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Some of the finest Italian we've had. On par with restaurants in Florence an Rome. Would definitely go back when we return to Hilton head!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Celebrating mother's 77th birthday. Nicki was our server. Everyone that came in contact with my mother wished her a happy birthday. She felt very special. When we arrived they had a happy birthday sign on our table which was a nice touch. At dessert time they had a candle in her dessert. We arrived early enough for early bird dinner. Menu had plenty of good options and was a fantastic value. No complaints. Everything was perfect. Thank you for making my mother's birthday so special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Wonderful ambience, food and service.
We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Amazing restaurant. The service was wonderful, and food was authentic and delicious. Wish we lived on HHI so we could go back every weekend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Go to Michael Anthony's!
The food is authentic, cooked to perfection and delicious.
The selection of dishes is fit for every taste and appetite.
Ask for Josh, he is a super server!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Casual, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great food and service. It was an anniversary dinner which they were responsive to from the time we arrived till we left. Highly recommend if in Hilton Head and want some great Italian.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Amazing food. A must when in Hilton Head . Would highly recommend !!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We didnt order anything fancy so maybe my review isn't showing the full picture. I had the pasta with crabmeat. It wasn't bad by any means but it wasn't great either. Definitely would not order it again. My son had gnocchi a la vodka which isn't on the menu but they kindly said they could easily make. It was good. My husband ordered some soicy spagehetti dish. His was probably the only one that was very good. We had the chocolate lava cake for dessert and that wqs delicious. I really liked the atmosphere and would absolutely come again but order fish or meat.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Our server (Josh Thompson) was friendly and helpful since this was our first time at Michael Anthonys Cucina, it made the experience even better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Wonderful upscale, authentic, delicious Italian food. Attentive and knowledgeable servers. We always live it here - 3rd time and many more to come!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Great experience, food was excellent and our server Nicky was fantastic. Highly recommend Michael Anthony's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We were traveling and someone made the suggestion to eat there.It was a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Best restaurant in HH. Period. Nothing else comes close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 19, 2017

If you want to eat excellent Italian food, paired with a great glass of wine, & served by an incredibly knowledgeable staff, then this is you place, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Non descript exterior almost sent us packing except for great reviews. Inside was a complete surprise. Modern, warm, attractive, spacious, elegant - just a few thoughts that come to mind. Tagliatelle bolognese was superb. Linguine with seafood was tasty but the scallops were tiny. Chef had a party at Chef's Table that was a treat to watch. Excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The food was delicious. Our poor waitress was assigned too many tables to take care of. The noise level was extremely loud:(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Very good food and service seated next to a family of young children. Not what we wanted. A restaurant has to have a space for these families if you want repeat customers at this level of food. Come on !! Won't come back. Been coming to hhi since 1981.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Perennial favorite, authentic Italian cuisine. One misstep, for the second time, they did not have my first preferred wine selection--fortunately the list is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Lovely little fine dining restaurant on HHI. Leave the kids at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The reviews don't lie - Michael Anthony's is a great meal. We were celebrating our anniversary here and had indicated it in the OpenTable booking. We were given a complimentary prosecco toast after being seated as an anniversary present. We ordered the meatball appetizer, the gnocchi with tomato basil sauce, and the crabmeat spaghetti dish. All of which were delicious - and the pasta is incredibly fresh. My wife also had the Italian 75 cocktail - which she recommends. We finished the meal by ordering the panna cotta and tiramisu - I thought the sampler would be too small. The desserts were really great. It turns out that our waiter Jay, who was outstanding the entire time, brought us a sample of the third item in the dessert sampler so we could taste all 3! We will certainly return when in Hilton Head.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.