Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 1.77mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 1.77mi

About MEX

Modern Mexican Bistro & Tequila Bar

The menu features authentic Mexican comfort food like carne asada, tamales and queso fundido, as well as homemade horchata, more than 100 types of tequila, and an inspired selection of handcrafted cocktails and margaritas.

While traditional Mexican will be the restaurant’s lifeblood, the menu also features modern twists on classics, like chicken taquitos and Mexican-style corn on the cob. Fun, funky and delicious.

6675 Telegraph Rd.
Bloomfield Hills, MI 48301
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 723-0800

Website:
http://mexbloomfield.com/

Catering:
Now offering taco and fajita bar catering for parties of 10 and up. Menus are designed to suit your group's preferences, perfect for any event from tailgates to graduation parties. Call us at 248.723.0800 or email us at info@mexbloomfield.com!

Executive Chef:
Rocky Williford

Private Party Facilities:
Incorporating regional accents and an inspired interior, the MEX experience is one of a kind. Upon entering guests are transported by the dramatic architecture, handcrafted furnishing, custom art and Alice in Wonderland inspiration that are sure to spark a unique and imaginative table conversations.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Isakov: (855) 993-3829

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

MEX Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (37)
Good for Groups (28)
Fun (24)
See All
Good Vegetarian Options (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Great for Lunch (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Authentic (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Healthy (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Spicy (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Kid-friendly (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
People Watching (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Cozy (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Business Meals (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Seasonal (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Family Style (2)
Romantic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
486 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

All three of us had food allergies/sensitivities. They were very accommodating and were knowledgeable about the ingredients in their food!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 21, 2017

From bad to worse. This is on the way completely downhill. The food is worse than ever and the clientele is changing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Over priced weak drinks
Never been charged for salsa before especially at a Mexican restaurant
Waiter was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Fabulous margaritas! Awesome food, cleaner than the usual Mexican places around. Fun. Great staff, go there...

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I had heard a lot about Mex, and expected quite a bit more than what it delivered. The food was good. It is very loud and the level of cleanliness left a bit to be desired. Would I think to go back? No. Would I object if others in my group wanted to go there? No. Not a bad restaurant, but over-rated.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I had a great time at MEX and our service was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Love Mex, always find something great on the menu and leave stuffed. The food is fresh and flavorful. My daughters took me there for Mother's Day and we all loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 8, 2017

First visit to Mex. Nice decor. Good guacamole. Loved the cilantro rice and the homemade refried beans! The taco selection was very interesting too.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Service was sooooo slow!!! Margarita was with no salt and you could see where they made it and tried to wipe off the salt instead of making a new one. It is such a shame because the restaurant is so cute but service is HORRIBLE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a great time and our server was very personable albeit slow. Our appetizers never came out and we had to bring that to his attention. We also had to ask for the check after our dessert was cleared for quite some time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Ambience is great. Beautiful location. Drinks are great. Food is just ok.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is the third poor experience with Mex. The food is decent and they can accommodate large parties however each time we wait an inordinate amount of time for a table and food. With what seemed like a mostly empty restaurant the wait was very long even with reservations they cannot seem to get you seated on time. Each time the kitchen seems to have issues expediting food, we are always waiting long after we should be for entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The happy hour apps and drinks were a good value. The food is always tasty and the drinks are generous. The service was great. The atmosphere was just ok. It's kind of bright and not very cozy, however, the decor is different and interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We always enjoy the food and drink at mex. Very tasty and fresh

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Initially we were greeted by our server, Rachel, who seemed to be a little over her head. She had a full section. She took our drink order, and then a different server named Francisco, finished taking our order. He was very knowledgeable, friendly and easy to talk to. We received our appetizer very fast, and while enjoying she came over to apologize for the food taking so long, which is was not at all. She then proceeded to apologize for literally everything.... and absolutely nothing was wrong, we were just enjoying our meal. I can appreciate a server that apologizes, but nothing at all was wrong and she was so apologetic at this point it was annoying.

We had previously dined at the other Mex location at Great Lakes Crossing, we were much more impressed by the food there. This location just seemed a little off. The fajita bowl came out in a room temperature iron skillet, not sizzling at all, which left us with room temperature steak and vegetables. The spaghetti squash (which we were looking forward to) came out slightly undercooked and under seasoned. Besides the squash, everything had great flavor, but I think the overall execution of the food was perhaps lacking slightly. Not a bad experience by any means, but we had higher expectations based on our previous dinner at the other location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our first trip to MEX was during the week for dinner and it was lovely. Great service, great food, nice experience.

However, our second trip to MEX on a busy Saturday evening was very disappointing. We were there to celebrate 3 anniversaries (so 6 people at our table). Our dinners came out with no rice but no one told our waiter (who consequently didn't inform us) until the manager brought it out after most of us had finished our entrees. My mahi tacos were dry and our waiter was so busy with other tables that we could barely flag him down to get more sauce or to get drink refills.

When we ordered dessert, we were told the fried ice cream was to cold to fry (?) so we chose the other desserts. But when they brought those, our fried ice cream showed up. And all three of the desserts were awful in taste and presentation. The restaurant did comp our fried ice cream but it was only after my mom-in-law argued with the manager who was not apologetic at all.

Overall, MEX needs to have more help on hand on a Saturday night and the staff needs to communicate with each other and the customers better. It was unfortunate for our celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Hostess was going to seat us at a table in the bar area. After requesting that we would rather sit in the main dining area she STILL seated us in the bar section - this time the one closest to the windows. There were plenty of open tables in the main dining room so I don't know what the problem was.

If a patron is giving you specifics on what will make them have a more enjoyable dining experience, why not oblige?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Hostess was not helpful. We arrived early for our reservations. She told us we would have a wait. They continued to seat walk ins until 5 minutes after our reservation time and the finally found a table facing the sunny window. The manager failed to close the blinds until the sum went down then asked if we still wanted them to lower them. Not a great first experience and I will most likely find somewhere else next time.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Arrival and seating-- why wait?

I made a reservation for 2 at 6:30pm on a Tuesday evening; I saw many open tables.

I arrived without my guest, and was greeted by 2 very friendly hostesses. One said, "You are 10 minutes early." With no other customers in line before or after me, they directed me to wait to be seated.

I waited. Not happily.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Always love Mex! Delicious food, drinks, and atmosphere. Having Jenna as a server is a huge bonus.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food was great! And the happy hour specials were good
too! Great drinks and very quick service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I was so disappointed this time. We had built up the reputation of Mex to our business guests, but Mex didn't deliver. We waited 15 minutes for our chips & salsa and guacamole. We then had to wait 50 minutes for our meal, and then one of the entrees was incorrect. When the manager asked how everything was going, we told him, but he didn't have much of an apology and didn't attempt to fix the problems. I'm going to try Mex again, but there is way too much competition for inefficient service and wrong orders for parties like ours.

Tags: Hot Spot, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The service was friendly and attentive. Our waiter did a good job checking in and also was good about not interrupting when he could tell the group was settling into a conversation. Drinks and water were always available and refilled.

The restaurant is well decorated and quirky. There are a lot of windows and so it feels open and well lit. It was comfortable and not stuffy.

The food was average. Ordered the taco platter with chorizo taco and the al pastor taco. The al pastor was was well marinated with chunks of pineapple to brighten up the meat. The chorizo taco was disappointingly salty. There wasn't anything to cut down the salt/seasoning. The rice that came with it was different - it was seemed like it was made out of jasmine/sticky rice - it was different in a good way! For the price, the platter was of average and slightly lackluster in value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Service was very slow even though everyone around us received their food. Margaritas we're awful and over priced, food we didn't eat!! Not going back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great food, atmosphere and cocktails! I would definitely recommend this restaurant to others and I will also be returning soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Incredible guacamole. Mahi mahi tacos were decisions.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great food, small selection on menu. Great customer service, very friendly. Waiter asked if we wanted chips and salsa? Of course. Then charges every guest $1.50 for them. It was my birthday and waiter asked me if I wanted them to bring a birthday dessert (insinuating it was on them) and they could sing happy birthday? Sure why not. Then charged me for the dessert. Also, drinks were well I had a classico margarita

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I had fish tacos summer of 2016 at MEX and they were outstanding - quite good. I took a group of five other people with me the other night and ordered the fish tacos again, very poor experience. What happened? No one raved about their food. I was disappointed because I had told everyone how good it was. Something changed. Also, we wanted to eat in the main dining room instead of on a high bar table in the hot setting sun and were told we could not, even though there were empty tables to hold six - perhaps there were later reservations for those, did not think to check if they got filled. Oh well. Not sure I will make it a point to go again as my first two visits were great expereinces and Sunday night not so much.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Second time here and excellent once again! Great service and the servers always give excellent recommendations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Decorations were eclectic and cool. Architectural design of the building was beautiful allowing for maximum natural light which really added to the Decour. Food options were gastronomically outstanding and creative. Waiter was extremely well knowledgeable, friendly and quick. Substitutions and unique questions were accommodated and answered professionally. Really love this new finding a return again and again. Please-don't everybody go there so we can always get a seat without waiting to happen!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Spicy, Tapas, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, People Watching, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2017

I love the interior of Mex, the style and layout are very inviting. A mix of rustic ropes and tin cans juxtaposed elegant lighting and sugar skulls has fun vibe.

My youngest used the children's menu to order, which had an adequate selection for kids. However the menu itself was no fun for a child. With all the sugar skulls around it would be great to have a menu with a skull the kids could color while they wait for their food.

I had a margarita which was acceptable, I was not asked what kind of tequila I would like, which kind of surprised me in a Mexican restaurant. The fresh made tortilla chips were thick, but crisp. I would have preferred a little salt on them. The guacamole could have used a little more lemon or lime juice and the salsa was ok. I ordered the classic beef tacos in the hard shell. There was so little inside the taco, all I could really taste was the shell. In fact, I would say there was only about a table spoon of beef in each of the two shells. The rice and beans were cold on the side. My daughter had a quesadilla and found a hair in it, that was the end of her dinner.

It was my birthday dinner, which the restaurant knew upon arrival. We had to order a dessert, which wasn't very good, avocado pie? There was no candle or sparkler, no singing and the waitress didn't even say Happy Birthday, not very celebratory. I would not recommend Mex for any celebrations.

I really wanted to like Mex because I love Mexican food, but I think I will only go for drinks in the future.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Everything here is amazing!
The guac is super fresh with huge chunks of avocado.
The tacos are great, I love a good crunchy taco and they are very good here.
My favorite is the build your own salad option, with dozens of topping to choose from it always hits the spot at a reasonable price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very solid food quality and taste. Presentation also very good. Ambiance nice but crowd noise level on the loud side. In this case, not a bad thing cause it's a popular place and it has good energy. Service is friendly and fast. Despite the fact that the place was full. Don't leave without ordering Tres Leches cake.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Consistently good food. Highly recommend advance reservation as without one the wait can be lengthy, especially on the weekends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The ambiance at MEX is terrific! I love the salad/pick your own ingredients! I had the shrimp added and it was delicious. My co-worker ordered shrimp as well and it did not come out for another 5-10 minutes after we all got our salads. The staff was very apologetic, though, and handled it very well. Overall I really like the place, the food, and the service. I think $10 is high for guacamole and the fact that lunch for 4 was around $80 is pretty amazing. Again, I love the place, though!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Mex is a great, eclectic spot with delicious food that is presented well. The guacamole is insanely delicious. The margaritas taste so fresh and not like cheap, pre-mix type of concoctions that you find too often in restaurants. My daughter had to send her quesadilla back because it was too salty. That was the first time we've had that experience. The management is very accommodating. The ambience is nice. Wonderful spot for dining!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Overall it's a good place, I do think they are a little bit overpriced. Great salad, fajitas and kids menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Skillets took a very long time to come oit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our first time to Mex and it was top 3 all time. The Margaritas were fresh and unique....I had the one with ghost pepper jelly! The guacamole was awesome and our waitress was attentive and friendly. We will be back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Delicious Mexican food and beverages served by helpful and sweet waiter. Fan favorite!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Spicy, Bar Seating, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.