Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 1.77mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.50mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 1.77mi

About MEX

Modern Mexican Bistro & Tequila Bar

The menu features authentic Mexican comfort food like carne asada, tamales and queso fundido, as well as homemade horchata, more than 100 types of tequila, and an inspired selection of handcrafted cocktails and margaritas.

While traditional Mexican will be the restaurant’s lifeblood, the menu also features modern twists on classics, like chicken taquitos and Mexican-style corn on the cob. Fun, funky and delicious.

6675 Telegraph Rd.
Bloomfield Hills, MI 48301
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday:11am-10pm Friday-Saturday:11am-11pm

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 723-0800

Website:
http://mexbloomfield.com/

Catering:
Now offering taco and fajita bar catering for parties of 10 and up. Menus are designed to suit your group's preferences, perfect for any event from tailgates to graduation parties. Call us at 248.723.0800 or email us at info@mexbloomfield.com!

Executive Chef:
Rocky Williford

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

MEX Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (17)
Casual (17)
Fun (17)
See All
Great for Lunch (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Bar Seating (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Healthy (8)
Authentic (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Business Meals (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
People Watching (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Spicy (5)
Vegan (5)
Cozy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
554 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Kitchen seemed to be having some problems getting food out timely. Rice did not come until ten minutes after mains. The rice, like the rest of the food, was delicious; but how does a Mexican restaurant not have rice ready on a continuous basis? Will definitely be back for the food. We were in no rush, so took delays and disorganized order of the meal in stride. Hopefully it was a one-time glitch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

MEX once again was wonderful. I met friends for drinks and snacks. Our waiter was happy to bring us just drinks, chips and guacamole as well as spaghetti squash - even if he was annoyed that a friday night table didnt' eat much he didn't show it. As one of my party said Mex is always a great place whether you order a huge order or a small one. Great food and a great place! One of my favorites.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

It’s always a great experience to come to this restaurant. The food is good and the service is top notch. Everyone is friendly and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Always love Mex. Delicious food, great drinks and wonderful atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Nice waiter. Bad food. Incorrect orders. Uneven delivery of orders Seemed like a kitchen problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

I passed by the restaurant a million times and decided that this would be a great place for a date and I. The unfortunate thing was I was dieting and was not able to fully indulge in the menu as I watched other customers have delectable plates that passed me by with my mouth watering. I really enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant and the staff was very friendly and courteous to all the customers. I definitely would recommend anyone that has a taste for a exquisite dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Mex never disappoints! Great experience from start to finish.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Mex never disappoints. Our waiter was especially attentive and sent out of his way to be helpful. Food was awesome. Great meeting spot. White Sangria is to die for!!! Thanks Mex!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The tacos and guacamole are excellent and they offer a great selection of tequila and margeuritas. The atmosphere is fun and the decor is funky and charming. Service was fine but could be more attentive and prompt. We will definitely return!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 21, 2017

There were eight in our party. We were seated on time. That was about it. After we gave our order, we waited for over 45 minutes for our food. The waiter came over to tell us, after at least a half hour had elasped, that the kitchen got some of the order wrong and was remaking it. Still, we waited. The manager came by and offered his apologies...that was it at the time. Then, I believe he changed his mind and offered us all a free desert. Food finally came. It was ok. But one entree was totally incorrect. That was taken off the bill. However, after an unsatisfactory experience, none of us wanted desert especially since we had two young school age children with us. No other consideration was shown by management. I find this lack of appropriate customer relations both surprising and distressing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We have dined here several times, dinner and a couple of lunches. It is a busy schedule place but staff always pleasant and helpful. We are wine people so cannot address cocktails. Portions generous and tasty. Not really TexMex or mainland Mexico but good choices to satisfy everyone.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had a pretty large group & sat at the table for a long time, but we were constantly checked on. It was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Our food took forty minutes to arrive. Way too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Even with a reservation, we were given what was probably the worst table....air conditioning blowing down right on us. When we asked for a different table, we were told they all were reserved. We opted to be seated in the bar which was so cold with wind blowing in from outside. Apparently they can't close the windows which makes no sense. My guest had a taco plate which she didn't like-tasteless which heavy, soggy shells. I had the salad where you choose everything yourself which was quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Excellent restaurant! Nice ambiance. Tasty choices. Service was top notch. I will be returning for sure!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Business Meals, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food is reliably good, atmosphere is lively and service is great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 31, 2017

As always, Mex delivers! While the price always seems to creep up, it does not come without a terrific quality of food. I will be back again (and again)!

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2017

I've been going to MEX for several years and have noticed the quality of both the food and service slowly diminishing. There are no new dishes or specials and this past visit the service was downright awful. It used to be my go to place for business meetings - will reconsider for next time.

Tags: Tapas, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food and drinks were average for a restaurant with Mexican theme. This is not authentic Mexican food but covers a craving.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Waiter was fine but kitchen was sooooo slow!!!! Got meals in stages with one arriving well after everyone was finished! And the cauliflower side is NOT good.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 25, 2017

I normally can't eat at Mexican restaurants because of cross-contamination with the flour tortillas. MEX was totally accommodating. The food was very tasty, and I didn't get sick. I really appreciate the option of being able to eat Mexican at a restaurant again. Thanks!

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The wait for food (despite the restaurant not being full) was extremely long... ambiance was poor (way too bright and very loud), and the food, once served, was disappointing - did not seem fresh and was very salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Good food and we loved the environment. Great drinks and a wide variety of tequila options. I would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 17, 2017

No air conditioning !! You gotta be kidding. It was extremely uncomfortable. We should have been told that when we made our reservation. It was over 80 and humid that day and all the west windows were open. Terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Food was amazing. First drink was not good but the second one was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Incredibly fast and friendly service from Berkeley. Food was delicious as always.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Loved it! This is my all time favorite restaurant!

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The waiter was....just not paying attention. He would take an order for see how one table was doing but. It look up to see what if anything his other tables needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent waiter, food was tasty and had an authentic taste. My wife and daughter (who is 8yrs old) always enjoy dinner at MEX .

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was excellent. The service was pleasant but quite alow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was delicious as usual. We told the server we were trying to make a movie and he got our food with time to spare. So much do that we had time for their delicious skinny margarita at the bar !

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Our server was very friendly but I'm not quite sure if he was overwhelmed with tables or just forgetful. Service could have been much better. Forgot an appetizer, and took very long to receive meals. When food came it wasn't warm but everyone was so hungry that we didn't send it back. I've never had a bad experience here, usually good service. Not sure what happened. Dinner took 2 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The food was very good, although slightly overpriced for the amount you get. Our waitress was very attentive and checked back with us often. Overall a good meal with relatively quick service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 23, 2017

A really unique room full of great staff and great spins on Mexican food. Apps, salads, tacos all really really solid

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 20, 2017

The food is amazing! Coconut Caprihana was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Everything was great - we will definitely return. Loved the food and the menu - so many options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Love the food, but tonight it was really hot inside. The temperature took away from our meal and it was way too loud. Don't come here if you want to talk

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Don't get the Mahi Tacos. The tortillas were stale , the fish was overcooked, and the tacos were soggy. Plus the sun was shining right in our faces though a high window, but the blinds were broken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Fun eclectic place with a good menu of unique flairs and standard menu items. Friendly staff.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.