About MEX

Modern Mexican Bistro & Tequila Bar

The menu features authentic Mexican comfort food like carne asada, tamales and queso fundido, as well as homemade horchata, more than 100 types of tequila, and an inspired selection of handcrafted cocktails and margaritas.

While traditional Mexican will be the restaurant’s lifeblood, the menu also features modern twists on classics, like chicken taquitos and Mexican-style corn on the cob. Fun, funky and delicious.

6675 Telegraph Rd.
Bloomfield Hills, MI 48301
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Contemporary Mexican

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Maple

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 723-0800

Website:
http://mexbloomfield.com/

Catering:
Now offering taco and fajita bar catering for parties of 10 and up. Menus are designed to suit your group's preferences, perfect for any event from tailgates to graduation parties. Call us at 248.723.0800 or email us at info@mexbloomfield.com!

Executive Chef:
Rocky Williford

Private Party Facilities:
Incorporating regional accents and an inspired interior, the MEX experience is one of a kind. Upon entering guests are transported by the dramatic architecture, handcrafted furnishing, custom art and Alice in Wonderland inspiration that are sure to spark a unique and imaginative table conversations.

Private Party Contact:
Mark Isakov: (855) 993-3829

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

MEX Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Casual (18)
See All
Fun (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Authentic (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Spicy (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Healthy (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
People Watching (8)
Business Meals (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Cozy (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Romantic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Family Style (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Private Room (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
441 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Just o.k. I thought it was too loud, the ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Just o.k. I thought it was too loud, the bench was ripped and repaired with duck tape (not a small tear either) and the food was just mediocre.

I wouldn't rush to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Service was slow, place where we ate fel ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was slow, place where we ate felt like a cafeteria seating at school, instead of a seating for 2, I felt like I was sharing my meal with strangers at the adjoining 2 tops to the left and right especially since it was for Valentine's Day ! This place may be better suited for happy hours and not a dinner for a couples who wants some atmosphere. Food was average to good. Heavy on the lime flavor on my meal.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Shrimp Skewers with roasted vegetables w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Shrimp Skewers with roasted vegetables were awesome, super fresh, spiced just right...splash of lime, and went great with my beer, excellent choices by the way. Ceviche appetizer, with shrimp, was fresh and vibrant, really good. My wife had kale salad and grilled salmon and loved it. We've been regulars a long time...Mex has great traditional dishes and they are always adding new things that we love. We talked, had some laughs, and really enjoyed our Valentine's Day. Heart healthy choices, too. Great server, very attentive and fun to talk to.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food excellent service is way ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Excellent food excellent service is way too loud noise from the speakers. We asked multiple times to lower it and they said they did but they didn't

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good experience. Tight eating qu ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Overall good experience. Tight eating quarters, but that depends on where you're seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Met friends for early dinner on a Sat ni ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Met friends for early dinner on a Sat night. Loved everything about MEX...the ambience/decor, the drinks, the chips & salsa, the entrees. We all loved our dishes...esp Cuban tacos. Our server was fabulous so friendly & we never felt rushed. Have already told several other friends we have to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, , Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. Super loud. Pretty overpr ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was good. Super loud. Pretty overpriced for what we got. Server was fantastic though.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

The food is always unique and delicious ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food is always unique and delicious at Mex! It's a great spot for lunch. You have to get the fresh lemonade or limeade to drink. It's so tasty! I'd like to go again for cocktails and dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had the best and friendly server ever ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 31, 2017

We had the best and friendly server ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was outstanding and food was awe ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Service was outstanding and food was awesome! Beef burrito was better here than the one I had at El Pinto in Albuquerque, NM last week!

Tags: , Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lunch menu was appropriate, good was exc ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Lunch menu was appropriate, good was excellent, as were drinks. The kitchen made several exceptions for my wife, they were very accommodating.

Great, lively atmosphere and dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love all the choices. Something for ever ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Love all the choices. Something for everyone. Especially love make your own salad at lunch!! Loved our server. She was great!!!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Vegan, Business Meals, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is delicious! The chips, ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food here is delicious! The chips, guac and salsa alone are worth the trip. Highly recommend!

Tags: Vegan, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Cocktails and service were outstanding ( ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Cocktails and service were outstanding ( our waitress Sookie) was very attentive!

Food not so much.....guac good but prices and food quality at Rojo are so much better!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Good place to go to for drinks with fri ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Good place to go to for drinks with friends and maybe some apps

Tags: Spicy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

The make your own salad is usually wonde ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The make your own salad is usually wonderful. This time it was very skimpy and when I asked for more black beans (2x) they never brought it. I also had to ask for mild salsa 2x which they finally brought.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

I so enjoy the ability to get vegetarian ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I so enjoy the ability to get vegetarian meals at MEX. They are so accommodating. It's a little noisy for a good conversation but they honored my request to sit us at a quieter area. The food is excellent. I didn't have the guacamole or chips this time but have in the past and it is so good.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great salad for lunch

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great salad for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I really dislike this place. I ordered 3 ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I really dislike this place. I ordered 3 different tacos. The mahi were dry and hard, the chicken, meh and the steak taco smelled like hot garbage, which I left alone. When asked if I want the remaining taco wrapped, I mentioned this to the manager that was strolling the restaurant. He asked how I would like this handled and I asked to have that portion l removed from my bill. Sure enough, it wasn't. The only reason I came here was because of a gift card. Had I known it was accepted at their other restaurants, I would have steered clear of this place. I have been here several times always with another couple or small group. The food is consistently crappy. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

The dining room is too cold! The movable ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The dining room is too cold! The movable walls are cool in the summer but the need more insulation in the winter. It was almost unbearable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Second time I have been to Mex. Fun atmo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Second time I have been to Mex. Fun atmosphere, not exactly Mexican inspired, but whimsical decor. Did not have the elotes because it is a seasonal item, which was a bummer because it was my favorite item when I visited in October. Margaritas are good, chips & guac & salsa are on point. Entrees are large portions and tasty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Fun, People Watching, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Waiter was fine and pleasant. The fish ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Waiter was fine and pleasant. The fish taco was not great- not even good. Mostly cabbage and sauce. The place has deteriorated in the past year. Skirt steak was not prepared correctly. Oh well. Pass next time - average food at higher prices Place was terrific when it first opened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Food was decent, service was poor.

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was decent, service was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I have yet to have a really good meal he ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I have yet to have a really good meal here, but it is too convenient sometimes, and last night was one of those. Good energy last night, more crowded than normal, which creates the illusion that the place is cool. It would be if the food was good. People see other people and say "oh yeah, its great". It isn't. Someone should teach the chef what ceviche is because theirs is nothing more than a shrimp cocktail with the shrimp pulled apart. Not the same thing. My girlfriends tacos were at best mediocre. She is not a foody, but finally proclaimed that we will not be going back. Whew, its about time. OVERRATED

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Love this place! Unique and delicious f ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Love this place! Unique and delicious food and great atmosphere! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our group arrived 15 minutes late due to ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Our group arrived 15 minutes late due to traffic accident - waiter did a great job, provided options for the table for drinks/food. Food was fantastic and we enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant. we will definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Meal and our waitress was phen ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent Meal and our waitress was phenomenal. Definitely going back for any occasion!!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Private Room, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They say is in a corner behind a tall wa ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 16, 2016

They say is in a corner behind a tall wall so it wasn't very friendly but the food was good.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

I always love the brunch here. It seems ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I always love the brunch here. It seems that everyone of the wait staff knows that I order the hot chocolate. That's the first thing I'm asked when we are asked about drinks. Love the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband had never been to Mex before, ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My husband had never been to Mex before, and loves Mexican food, so I made a reservation. We had great food and a great time chatting with others in the bar until our table was ready. And we sat at a tall bar table so could watch what was going on in the kitchen, too!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After reserving a spot at 7:30 on a Frid ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 10, 2016

After reserving a spot at 7:30 on a Friday evening for six people we were placed at a four-person table all squeezed together with empty tables next to us . When we requested that we spread out to another table they told us that was not possible . We had to hold our dishes in our hands because nothing could fit on the table for six people and we complain to the manager not only did he look like he was clueless he didn't even offer any type of arrangement or anything for such a horrible experience at this restaurant .

After spending close to $300 at this restaurant I would not choose to return here and the manager needs to be replaced with someone oriented to customer service .

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Always a good experience dining at Mex. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Always a good experience dining at Mex. The wait staff is friendly and responsive and the food is good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We went to Mex for a birthday celebratio ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We went to Mex for a birthday celebration. Our server was training, but his trainer was worse than him. The food was really good, but it took over 2 hours for dinner. I walked in about 3 minutes behind the rest of the people in our party. The server took drink orders for 2 of the 6 of us. Then he came back to take the rest of the drink orders, but not appetizers. Then he came back with the drinks and took app orders. He left one out, but claimed it wasn't ordered. The sides we thought were included with our entrees were not and they didn't say anything about an up charge. The food was very good, but the services was pretty horrible. Considering that the restaurant was nearly empty, I expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

At most restaurants, the chorizo is too ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 4, 2016

At most restaurants, the chorizo is too dry but the chorizo on the tacos was cooked perfectly here.

Tags: , Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good but I've had be ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was really good but I've had better and paid 1/3 of the price. You're paying for the W Bloomfield address and not the value of the meal. It was great to try, service was great just the meal was over priced. The meal wasn't very authentic, it was too "Americanized" The Guacamole was AWESOME but you really can't mess that up. It is good for a date or for a special occasion but not really anything other than that. I probably won't go again unless I was invited. But I won't deter people for going either.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Our server was knowledgeable and friendl ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our server was knowledgeable and friendly. She made drink and food recommendations. We tried two different margaritas. The ghost margarita was very good. The everything guacamole was more than enough for two to share. Between the two of us, we tried five different tacos. Two out of the five were below average. The chicken taco was dry with very little flavor and the Gogi taco was a bit too rich and sweet. The cod, mahi, and chorizo tacos were good. Overall, we feel that $75 (not including tip) is a bit pricey for a basic taco dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

It was a business lunch with an out of t ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 1, 2016

It was a business lunch with an out of town client. She really enjoyed Mex And wished there was a restaurant like it on her town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fun restaurant. Cool, eclectic decor. Fo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Fun restaurant. Cool, eclectic decor. Food was good. Service was very personable and prompt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent drinks, great food and wonderf ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent drinks, great food and wonderful service. Everyone loves the funky decor, but the margaritas keep you coming back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food could have been hotter. Service wa ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food could have been hotter. Service was excellent. Not sure why they don't offer pitchers for the margaritas.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.