About Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm

2601 NW Vaughn Street
Portland, OR 97210
View Larger Map

One way to make sure you’re cooking with the freshest ingredients is to grow them yourself. Meriwether’s grows the produce it serves at its own Skyline Farm and is proud to be among only a handful of truly farm-to-table restaurants across the country. Chef Michael Delaney's menus are inspired by the Willamette Valley’s peak-of-the-season abundance, matching our harvest with some of the finest raw ingredients in the world, from the farmers, fishers and ranchers of the Pacific Northwest.

Inside, experience our warm and cozy ambiance with stone fireplaces, hardwood floors, stained glass and copper accents. Outside, guests dine year-round in the covered, heated & enclosed patio, gardens & gazebo. There is even an outdoor fire-pit, so perfect for a chilly Portland evening. Take a walk through our gorgeous all-season garden that surrounds the entire 2601 Vaughn Street historic building.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday through Friday from 11am to 2:30pm
Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday from 9:00am to 2:30pm
Afternoon Menu: Everyday from 2:30pm to 4:00pm
Happy Hour (in the bar only): Everyday from 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Dinner: Everyday from 5:00pm to 9:00pm
Full Bar Open during normal business hours

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-1250

Website:
http://www.meriwethersnw.com/

Parking Details:
Our large private parking lot is located just west side of the restaurant. There is also plenty of on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Tri-Met bus lines 15,17 and 77

Executive Chef:
Michael Delaney

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From small, intimate dinners and corporate gatherings to rehearsal dinners, receptions and weddings, Meriwether’s Restaurant can accommodate parties between 15 and 300 people in a variety of ways. Meriwether’s offers prix-fixe sit down or buffet menus that can be created from your preferences.

Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (72)
Fireplace (65)
Special Occasion (58)
See All
Good for a Date (55)
Cozy (55)
Creative Cuisine (53)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Seasonal (43)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Romantic (40)
Great for Brunch (38)
Great for Lunch (33)
Historic (32)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Healthy (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Quiet Conversation (29)
Worth the Drive (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Organic (23)
Casual (22)
Business Meals (21)
Comfort Food (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Authentic (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Fun (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
People Watching (4)
Family Style (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great Beer (3)
Private Room (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
2500 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Birthday luncheon

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

This was my first time at Meriwether's. We went to celebrate a very successful business deal. I was not impressed. The seating was very tight. You felt as if you were sitting at the same table as those next to you. The service was slow. The food was ok, but the portions were very small. In my business, I always want the customer to feel they got an excellent value. Excellent value is not something you will find at Meriwether's. $175 - $200 to feed four w/o drinks.

Not a restaurant I would recommend. Portland has some great restaurant's this in not one of them.

In my option Meriwether's will not be around long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Very accommodating to families

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was excellent. I recommend reservations for Brunch even though they accept walk ins.

Tags: Fireplace, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Enjoyable evening with good food and attentive service.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was a very nice dining experience. There were four in our party and each ordered differently but all enjoyed their selection. The wait service was attentive and knowledgeable but not intrusive. Our out of town guests were really impressed. Kudos to the staff, job well done.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had reservations that were early so had to wait a couple of minutes for them to get set up but when we got seated were immediately waited on we got the menu & drinks started. When drinks came maybe 5 minutes later we began to ask questions regarding that day's menu options, which were answered by a very well informed waiter. He gave us a few minutes to make our decisions & then came back & took our orders. Again, within minutes the appetizers came & were explained as to what each item on the platter were. Our entrees showed up maybe 5 minutes after we were finished with the appetizers & the feast began. Food was excellent, service equaled the food. All in all it was a very enjoyable evening at a very good restaurant, even if it might be a little pricey.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Always a hit! The flavors are fantastic. The ambiance is great.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

the valentine dinner was largely overpriced

85 $ for 3 meal course

the restaurant added 20 % service and 2% minimum wage fee???

Rip off

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food. More expensive then expected, however great flavor on all courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The overall experience was disappointing. We were seated then waited and watched while other tables around us were seated and served receiving their main courses before we even received our appetizers. The food was good but not the quality i would expect for the price. It was Valentines night and they were somewhat busy but i would expect more than mediocre for the price we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was very good, but not as good as I would expect for the price point and level of this restaurant. We've eaten and Meriwether's in the past and were more impressed. Came away with the impression that this restaurant is past its prime.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good food; great atmosphere, friendly service; parking lot and in a convenient location.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great ambiance, service!! Poor value: soup, entree (small serving -- one slice of duck???) and dessert . . .$85??????? Should've been $50-55. No bread, no complimentary champagne?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day event was over priced.

They packed too many tables in, and it took away from the vibe. The tables were also metal garden tables covered by a tablecloth. They should have rented better quality tabletops, and spaced them out more. Focus less on capacity and more on quality.

Overall great place... but they missed the mark on this event.

Great server.

Less than professional hostess - displayed an unpleasant demeanor when asked to reseat.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food and service all great but felt like portions were on the small side of entrees. Besides that it was good would recommend to a friend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had lunch for Valentine's Day and the total experience was great! The food was amazing, the service was perfect and where we were seated was quiet.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Historic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We had a great evening and the food was really good. I love to cook and it's really great to go somewhere and really enjoy a good meal out.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very tasty food and excellent service. Paired with ingredients sourced locally, it's hard to beat.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Loved everything was there for an early Valentine Dinner.

The service was excellent, food outstanding in a great setting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went for the weekend before Valentines Day, ambience was great, décor was average, low lighting, and food was well prepared. The freshness of all the items we tried was amazing. There wasn't a bad portion of the meal

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Yummy food but expensive. Staff were friendly. Definitely a slower paced restaurant which is great for a special occasion or date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

My caesar salad was unlike any caesar I've had before. It was on the spendy side and I've never had to cut my own salad before. My friend's mushroom pasta looked good and she said it was. I like the fact that you're easy to find when coming from south of Portland and it's easy to get back on the freeway. The ambience is great and the service is superb. However I do find it a bit on the spendy side.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great farm to table food. They have a brand new chef, according to our server, and he's brilliant! Great sauces, delicate nibbles on the "cutting board" pre menu. Changes daily so expect delightful surprises.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We went here for brunch. The food, ambiance and service were excellent- it is a little pricey though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Was fantastic. We very much enjoyed our brunch, and they even tolerated having a child as well. Our server was great!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were given a gift card for this restaurant. They were very service oriented and the ambience was lovely, but I felt over priced for what it was. Our food order got lost or pushed back so they brought us not one, but two appetizers on the house. They were very good and very appreciated. My steelhead was just bland though. I lived in Alaska off and on and cooked fish frequently, and I can say I know how to cook fish, especially salmon. I prefer my recipes to the fish I had here that was prepared by a chef. I won't return, but again the service was impeccable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Went there for breakfast with my wife. The service was excellent very attentive but not bothersome. The food was delicious and I especially love the fresh squeezed orange juice. My wife and enjoyed our time there by the fire place and will be returning soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Enjoyed the ambiance of Meriwether. Wine and food was great. Unique seasonal fare. Nice servers. Want to comeback in the summer to enjoy the outdoors fresco dining.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The food us excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We took our friend from Switzerland to have dinner at Meriwether's.

It was a really nice experience. The food was delicious, the atmosphere was great.

We could talk to each other without shouting. A really nice evening.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Meriwethers is a favorite for breakfast. Please bring back peach bellinis.. also bring back breakfast pastries and scones. How about a breakfast basket of pastries with order? Chilaquiles need to stay on the menu. Period. The Luis mole is ok but lacks crunch! Also make a meat quiche with bacon please!! And a meat scramble. Love your fresh veggies but mix it up with meat!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Over priced for the amount of food served. Taste was very good but did not offset the cost.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Very crammed in, cute place but quickly lost my enjoyment as it filled up. Table for 2 felt extremely closed in. High priced and limited selections.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great restaurant in a historic building. The service was top notch as was the food. We enjoyed the brunch menu which had several selections that included local produce from the restaurant's farm. The seasoned potatoes are something you can't pass up and must try. My 7 and 9 year olds enjoyed the Dutch baby , the pancakes, and the eggs. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food ranged from pretty good to excellent, but was very rich. my stomach is still sorta churning today; and it gave me acid reflux last night (rarely happens). The service was sporadic: ranged from inattentive (20-30 mins between courses / check-ins) - it was almost a 3 hour dining experience for the two of us, which was annoying. It took the waiter 15 mins or so to inform us that the dessert we had chosen was out (but he did comp us another dessert). overall, the crowd skewed on the older side for sure. Good food but the long wait for food and weird service - not to mention how it made me feel afterwards - means i won't be going again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

As always the food was delicious. I think the Scallop order is over priced considering there are only two on the plate. The restaurant is beautiful and always vey clean. If you are a 'foodie' and look for unusual food choices this is worth it for you.

I was very surprised to see the restaurant has added a 2% surcharge to the already high prices to cover a fee for higher hourly rates. Very unfair I think to pass this along to your customers. It is a cost of doing business as all licensing, taxes, and benefits are.

I guess this means less tips from now on.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Menu changes weekly, and is often determined by what is seasonally available so the entrees are hit or miss. For the most part I've enjoyed most of my orders here. The noise level can get loud and becomes difficult to hear across the table for a business lunch. Food is great. Service is wonderful. Ambiance is nice.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Fun, Fireplace, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Servers seem invested in business as reflected by attention they bring to service or stated concerns

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Unfortunately, even though OpenTable accepted my reservation, the restaurant was closed. I was bummed!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This is an absolute gem. We did the Sunday brunch and it was excellent. Amazing cocktails and the food was outstanding! Five stars across the board!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Consistently fabulous food and excellent service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Love this place...food always fresh and yummy and locally sourced partially because they have their own farm. Service efficient, friendly and not intrusive. Not the cheapest place in town but always high quality!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 10, 2017

consistently excellent! Will return many many times again.....

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Meriwether's is a quaint spot in NW Portland with an outstanding garden area for warm weather dining. It was quiet yesterday due to predicted back weather so the place was unusually quiet for a Saturday morning. The food is very good as is the services. Prices are cheap but you get good value for your money.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

A friend gave us a gift card for Christmas and we went for brunch. The food was amazing! Everything tasted fresh and was perfectly seasoned. It's a beautiful space, cozy fireplace and lovely stained glass. The staff was very friendly and efficient. Definitely will be back

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Historic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Very consistent with an interesting but comfort food

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

It was a nice evening. Service was great. The water guy was really great - attentive, but not hovering. Took care of our needs and cleared plates away pronto. Relaxed evening with appetizer, great meal, drinks and no rush. Appreciate that.

I do want to say to the owner that the 2% surcharge b/c of the minimum wage increase is ridiculous. Your food is good, but is expensive. Our meal for 2 with one drink each, an appetizer to share and two plates was exactly $100.00 for which we tipped $20.00. You added $2.00 (yes, I know, only $2.00) for this surcharge, and I don't know why?? We tipped generously, and I'm sure you, the owner are making plenty of money with what you charge for food. I don't begrudge your staff (waiters, busboys, chefs, hosts) getting more money, but you should pay them, not pass that onto us. We are already paying a lot for our food, and most people at your establishment will pay a decent tip >18% certainly. Are you trying to make a statement to Multnomah County? If so, the statement I understand from you is "I am a cheap, greedy owner, who is unwilling to pay my staff, who make this place happen for me, what they are worth". Is that what you are trying to say to your patrons??? Think about it.

Tags: Healthy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Always outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Best local farm-to-table we've had yet in Portland. We'll be back soon. Outstanding dinner.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.