Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.43mi
  4. Distance: 0.49mi

About Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm

One way to make sure you’re cooking with the freshest ingredients is to grow them yourself. Meriwether’s grows the produce it serves at its own Skyline Farm and is proud to be among only a handful of truly farm-to-table restaurants across the country. Chef Michael Delaney's menus are inspired by the Willamette Valley’s peak-of-the-season abundance, matching our harvest with some of the finest raw ingredients in the world, from the farmers, fishers and ranchers of the Pacific Northwest.

Inside, experience our warm and cozy ambiance with stone fireplaces, hardwood floors, stained glass and copper accents. Outside, guests dine year-round in the covered, heated & enclosed patio, gardens & gazebo. There is even an outdoor fire-pit, so perfect for a chilly Portland evening. Take a walk through our gorgeous all-season garden that surrounds the entire 2601 Vaughn Street historic building.

2601 NW Vaughn Street
Portland, OR 97210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday through Friday from 11am to 2:30pm
Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday from 9:00am to 2:30pm
Afternoon Menu: Everyday from 2:30pm to 4:00pm
Happy Hour (in the bar only): Everyday from 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Dinner: Everyday from 5:00pm to 9:00pm
Full Bar Open during normal business hours

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-1250

Website:
http://www.meriwethersnw.com/

Parking Details:
Our large private parking lot is located just west side of the restaurant. There is also plenty of on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Tri-Met bus lines 15,17 and 77

Executive Chef:
Michael Delaney

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From small, intimate dinners and corporate gatherings to rehearsal dinners, receptions and weddings, Meriwether’s Restaurant can accommodate parties between 15 and 300 people in a variety of ways. Meriwether’s offers prix-fixe sit down or buffet menus that can be created from your preferences.

Meriwether's Restaurant & Skyline Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (104)
Local Ingredients (100)
Special Occasion (75)
See All
Good for a Date (62)
Neighborhood Gem (61)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Great for Brunch (46)
Organic (46)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Romantic (43)
Casual (41)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Seasonal (40)
Cozy (39)
Authentic (36)
Worth the Drive (34)
Sunday Lunch (33)
Great for Lunch (30)
Notable Wine List (26)
Good for Groups (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Business Meals (22)
Fun (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Bar Seating (17)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Scenic View (11)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
People Watching (3)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2778 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Always enjoy our time at Meriwethers. Local for us and great staff! We find we crave the farm fresh salad every so often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We were a bit disappointed with the food (good, but not great considering the local farm pedigree) and service (slow, with one entree delivered minus a key ingredient that was later provided on a separate plate with no attempt to reconstruct the original dish). On the plus side, the space is charming and the staff is friendly. Maybe they were just having an 'off' day.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The essence of farm to table goodness!
Best eggs Benedict and hollandaise in town . Out of town guests raved about the hash and said it was the best they'd ever had .
Not much to improve upon - will be back soon!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Service was great. It was cozy and quiet in both the bar and in the main restaurant for our special occasion. Every dish was excellent. I had never tried rabbit, and was a little hesitant to try it, this was delicious and melted in the mouth. The gardens were beautiful but due to the poor air quality we couldn't sit outside which would have made the evening perfect.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We always love going to Meriwethers and this visit was enhanced by Alex our server. Service was fantastic! Our food and drink was delicious as well. We usually sit outside but due to The smoke were seated inside at the mezzanine level. All the candles were lit and made it very cozy. We had a great experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 15, 2017

This restaurant never disappoints. We celebrated our 15 year wedding anniversary 9on the garden patio which is so romantic! The farm to table food they serve is always fresh. My husband had the trout and I had the pasta with mussels. Mine was a bit bland but still fresh. Love love the salads they serve. This restaurant is one of my Portland favs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Outside seating area is really cute .
Inside a little noisy and not much privacy.
Food ok but not really worth the price. Also food was not hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We had a very enjoyable evening on the patio. The food was delicious, fresh and seasonal. Our only complaint is that there are absolutely no substitutions allowed. Having it's own parking lot is a bonus. We will definitely dine there again!

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great local farm to table food, creatively prepared & with wonderful attentive service! I never visit Portland without having a meal here 😄

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Afternoon Tea, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great Beer, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Excellent farm to table fare in a nice relaxed setting. I love the outdoor seating in the back, which is some of the best in Portland.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I live in the neighborhood and SO appreciate having such a wonderful restaurant (ambiance and cuisine) within walking distance. I come for brunch, Happy Hour and dinners. You do a marvelous job!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was good, I like that they have their own farm. The back patio is lovely.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The restaurant was quiet so we could hear each other. The service was great. There was a relaxing atmosphere and no hurrying or rushing us.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 9, 2017

It's in our neighborhood & we've clearly overlooked it too often. Great food, staff, drinks & walkable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Would not accommodate my polite request for veg substitution. I understand the chef created the dishes however I am paying for the dish! Very snobby attitude about this. The veg portions I did have were so meager. Paper thin ribbons of squash-- I went home hungry. Last time visiting there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Too noisy!! I specifically asked for a quiet seating.....I am assuming that does not exist.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Fresh local ingredients, creatively prepared. Excellent service--timely, thoughtful, friendly but unobtrusive. A very good restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Reasonable food and service, if a little pricey for the quality. Fairly noisy. Still, would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We went to meriweathers as a group of 4. My husband was protesting because he said it wasnt much to look at when he checked it out online. I insisted that we go there just to try something new... and boy did he change his mind! He went from "maybe we should go to PCG instead" to "meriweathers where have you been all my life?!" The hostess was super sweet and called to check up on us when we were running late. I appreciated that. Then we were seated at a candle lit table with fresh flowers. The building is sort of vintage, it feels like you're in the 1920s which I loved. We had the 5 item pantry board to start with and everything was spectacular! I had never had warmed olives before and now thats the only way I'll eat them! I got trout as my main and it was perfectly crispy on the outside and soft and juicy on the inside. The marinated chantrelles were perfect. I do wish my portion would have been a bit bigger, or perhaps a bit more starches on the plate. I just had a bit of creamed corn. The rest was veggies, so I was satisfied but not quite full. And it was 38$.My husband ordered the lamb. It was tender and juicy! Perfectly cooked. Our friend ordered the chicken.. so so good and also a filling portion. But our favorite was the steak! Perfectly cooked and a good portion. As good as my trout was, I wished I had ordered the steak. (I guess next time I wont skip lunch) for dessert we had a berry trifle, espresso creme brulee (this put my husband over the moon, two of his favorite flavors combined) flourless torte which was fantastic and chocolate ice cream. But although the food was good, the service was even better! Our server did a fabulous job accomodating our requests and being perfectly attentive without over doing it. Absolutely will go back, but only for a special occasion because we ended up spending about $150. This included a few glasses of wine, an irish cream coffee and a tea. Not bad but not for casual dining.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 7, 2017

This was a pleasant surprise when visiting Portland. My nephew highly recommended.
It was lovely in everyway from the service, ambiance, food, wine and a tour of then
outside dining which was not available that evening due to the smoke in Portland at the time.
If we lived in Portland, this would be a fav for all occasions and any hour!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Always consistent service and good food. This is a great restaurant for any type of meal from family gatherings, date night or business.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Wonderful historic building. Lots of rough lumber, fireplaces and stained glass leaded windows. Very peaceful, relaxing vibe.

All the food was screamed fresh and local- they do have a farm. The gazpacho soup was clearly all fresh ingredients including the baby tomatoes. A drizzle of olive oil really made the dish. The farm salad had some greens and shaved vegetables (carrot, zucchini, etc) with a very light dressing so the vegetables showed thru. So fresh, so crunchy.

One of our party wanted to enjoy their house made pasta but can't eat seafood- no worries. The chef made a fresh from the garden pasta dish that she reported was spectacular. The flank steak came with mini vegetables and potatoes from the garden- we are talking vegetables the way they are supposed to taste.

Dessert included homemade ice cream and sorbet and a plate of hot from the oven cookies.

We will be back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We were most pleased with our whole experience. Our eggs for Eggs Benedict were overcooked and the staff was very gracious about taking them back and having them redone. I believe it was the manager who later came to our table to check on our meal and make sure we were happy with it. Over all, we had a great meal and visit with special friends. Even though it wasn't crowded, we were glad our server did not rush to get us out of his serving area. This allowed us time to visit with friends we rarely see without feeling pressured to leave.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Easy to make reservations online. Parking off-street. Food okay. We were unable to use our $100 gift certificate as computer was down. We asked waiter regarding this issue if there was a solution on how to use the gift cards as we live 40 miles away and did not plan on making another visit to this restaurant. He told us to call and talk to Francesca and hopefully she will be able to help. We will be calling her.

Tags: Great Beer, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Wonderful setting for a special get-together. The ambiance was perfect and the food delicious. Everyone enjoyed the meal and thought the garden was lovely.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We really enjoyed the whole experience of dining in the garden. The space was very nicely decorated with lights and great landscaping. The food was innovative and very tasty. I had the pork chops, in a generous serving. I can't remember the last time we carried home food from a restaurant. This time the pork was too good not to enjoy the next day.
My wife enjoyed her salmon (none left for carryout). Our server (a guy) was efficient and attentive. Our receipt showed the name "Genevieve", but that probably wasn't his name.
Overall, a great time and we will do it again soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We celebrated our 38th Anniversary at Meriwether's and was not disappointed. The food was delicious, we had the Salmon and Flat Iron Steak and both were wonderful from presentation to the very last bite. We had reservations at 6:30 and arrived about 20 minutes early because the traffic wasn't as bad as we thought, so we assumed that we'd go ahead and be seated early but that was not the case. It would've been nice to have been seated at least 5 minutes after we arrived; especially when we saw other couples who had 6:30 reservations who arrived after us be seated before us. The garden is very nice and cozy with a very unique and comfortable atmosphere. Yes, we will definitely be back but will make sure we arrive closer to our reservation time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We had an excellent dinner for our Anniversary. Food is fabulous, service is excellent and the ambiance is perfect. One if our favorite places and a true Portland gem!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Our meal was so fabulous as was the service! Creamsicle ice cream!!
And Andalusian cold gazpacho.......just perfect

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

There were two of us. We each had one glass of wine. We first ordered the "short list" of appetizers. Then I ordered a small salad and my wife ordered an entree but asked that the "meat" be replaced with another vegetable. The grains in her dish were undercooked (hard). Her portion was a reasonable size. My salad was tiny. The bill was $84. The food is oily. Just look at the concrete pathways in the garden and you will see the layers of grease. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 27, 2017

If I could give our server more than 5 stars I would. She was excellent. Not only was she friendly, but she did everything she could to accommodate our dietary restrictions and find substitutions for ingredients that we couldn't have. I would love to see better mocktail selections on the menu for those of us who can't consume alcohol, but are sick of straight sodas and juice.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Superb dining experience providing excellent service and food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Second visit in the past 2 months. Sadly, the salads have been quite boring. This visit I also order soup and it was lukewarm and forgettable. Focaccia was delicious and the atmosphere is delightful. Next time I'll steer away from the salads and try something else. Too bad I've had two negative experiences because the salad descriptions sound yummy but something lacks.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

GF and I had dinner out two nights ago on her birthday. They only had outdoor seating, their indoor dining area they close during the summer on weeknights. It was hot hot hot outside and I was unaware of their set up in the summer when I made the reservation through open table. Totally disappointed, so we sat in the bar, she had a drink and I looked frantically for an open table at another restaurant. About 20 mins later we were getting up to leave when the host came out and grabbed us on our way out. Said the hadn't looked closely enough at the reservation and it was her birthday. They apologized and gave us a table in the main dining area and said we could have the entire place to ourselves. They closed off the entire dining room with curtains and it was completely private. It was just as cool as it could be and perfect. Talk about a come from behind victory. They have great food, but with service like that I'd have been happy with a cucumber an some elmers glue. Thank you Meriwhether's!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Organic, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Love Meriwether's but prices have gone up substantially. Found that parking lot was pretty open when arrived which did not used to be the case. Food delicious 😋

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 21, 2017

The food was so much better than I was anticipating from just looking on-line. The Caprice Salad was delicious--best I've had anywhere recently. The ingredients in all our dishes were unusual mixes of flavors, but worked so well together. The garden seating is always very enjoyable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Dreaming always about my last meal there - Yum! Very Oregon.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Cozy, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Always excellent food emphasizing high quality ingredients, many grown by Merriweathers themselves. Classic NW restaurant successfully balancing NW casual / 'formal' atmosphere. Although not extensive menu item choices, you can be sure all listed dishes will be equally superb.....ours were. Attractive bar area staffed with bartenders who can mix a good cocktail. Has comfortable outdoor rear patio area for our warm days. Immaculate & attentive service from front entry to bar to table. Merriweathers is consistently excellent, we always leave happy & look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

I could make a meal of the charcuterie board alone. Never disappointed here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Always good food and great service! Farm to table menus are delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.