Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Mercer Kitchen

Located at the Mercer Hotel, Mercer Kitchen brings a chic, sophisticated vibe to the heart of SoHo. When Mercer Kitchen opened in 1998, it immediately became a destination for New Yorkers, celebrities, and tourists. Situated in the basement of a historic building constructed in the 1800s, the… restaurant was designed by Christian Liaigre as a combination of industrial and classic modernism. Chef Jean-Georges’ American menu features market-driven, seasonal ingredients prepared in a simple yet elegant style, with favorites like the Tuna Spring Roll, Steamed Shrimp Salad, wood-fired pizzas, and classic Warm Valrhona Chocolate Cake. There is an open kitchen, where guests can sit back and watch the show.

99 Prince Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic, French American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon-Sat 7:00am-11:30am & Sunday 7:00am-11:00am
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30am-3:30pm
Late Lunch: Mon-Fri 3:30-5:30pm
Brunch: Sat, Sun 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Mon-Thu 5:30pm-12:00am
Fri, Sat 5:30pm-1:00am
Sun 5:30pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Prince and Mercer Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 966-5454

Website:
http://www.themercerkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking available after 5 pm and on holidays and weekends. Parking garage is located on Mercer St. between Houston and Prince.

Public Transit:
B,D,F,M to Broadway/Lafayette; 6 to Spring St; or N,R to Prince Street.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Georges Vongerichten

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jean-Georges brings a chic vibe to Soho at Mercer Kitchen, with a bright, airy café upstairs and a spacious restaurant on the lower level. The ambiance of the restaurant is timelessly stylish, and sexy, with exposed brick walls. The American Provencal menu features fresh and seasonal ingredients.

Mercer Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (70)
Hot Spot (53)
Great for Lunch (50)
See All
Fit for Foodies (49)
Good for Groups (47)
Special Occasion (46)
Modern Decor (44)
Fun (43)
Great for Brunch (43)
Casual (42)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Open Kitchen (40)
People Watching (36)
Cozy (35)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Business Meals (33)
Romantic (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Bar Seating (27)
Comfort Food (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Authentic (19)
Late-night Find (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Healthy (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Organic (10)
Afternoon Coffee (9)
Family Style (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Seasonal (6)
Tapas (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Historic (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Private Room (2)
Spicy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fireplace (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
3927 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 2 days ago

As with so many NYC restaurants, the noise level is deafening, making conversation nearly impossible. I would not recommend to anyone over 40. It is a young person's place to go yell at each other over quite nice food.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Mercer Kitchen is the ultimate dining experience!! My favorites are the salmon with crispy sushi rice and the rigatoni and meatballs and smoked ragu. Best dishes ever created and should be tasted by all.

Tags: Fun, Organic, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Tapas, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Healthy, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Authentic, Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was very slow (took about an hour to get our order), and the food just so-so. The waiter and the manager gaveca meak apology but didn't seem to really care, and never offered anything to make up for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was good not outstanding. Lamb chops were ordered rate arrived well done. Returned and came back ok.
Service was not friendly or in any way informative. Staff was clearly not well trained.
A big disappointment. I expected much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Dining room in basement. Was a nice, elegant atmosphere but very hot temperature. Took an hour between picking up the appetizer plates and delivering the main course. Lamb was cold and inedible. The server was lovely and very attentive to the problem. Mixed food results. Pea soup was nice, halibut was good, chicken was good, angel hair good... nothing was amazing, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

My daughter and I shared a crab cake appetizer. It tasted very fishy and we both got sick later that afternoon. Pizza was tasty. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was not great, and we were seated next to loud party and had asked to move. There were plenty of tables and would not move us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Service left the most to be desired. Our reservation was for 8:30 and we were sat on time. However, we waited a half hour for our server to finally take our drink order. No initiative on the part of the server to offer any "for the table" items from the menu to get us started. I had to call him out on this and finally, he was more attentive. I had the Burrata salad which was good, but the arugula it was served on had tough, woody stems included. A few in our party had the rigatoni with meatballs and enjoyed it. I had the veal Milanese which was very good but served on spring peas which left the veal flat.

Drinks were good and strong but the pour on the wine by the glass....underwhelming...served in a diner size wine glass. The ambiance is great, lighting is great, but this joint is NOISY! Overall, too pricey for what you get. We've been to other Jean Georges Vongerichten restaurants and had our wedding reception at Perry Street, in fact, and they were amazing. Not sure I would go back to Mercer Kitchen.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Couldn't believe they didn't have a brunch menu on Mother's Day. Big miss. Usually a very good experience. Hope this was just a oversight and not intentional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Disappointed with the menu on Mothers Day - went for brunch, but was a dinner menu. Terrible decision by the restaurant to only offer one menu all day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The hosts were rude and unfriendly, service was slow and unmotivated. Have been many times before, this was the last time. Once a great venue,now mediocre.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was my first time at Mercer Kitchen and it turned out to be a great experience. First if all, it's close to all the shopping (which is a big plus) but the actual location of the restaurant itself being in the basement of the Mercer Hotel, makes it quite a unique and fun atmosphere. When we first arrived we were greeted by friendly staff who immediately made us feel welcome, and then once we got to the table, our waiter Brandon took over, and nothing that we could have wanted or needed was unattended to. The menu itself offered a vast variety of items, from brunch and breakfast items to sandwiches, burgers and some standard typical (salmon, chicken and steak) main courses. We opted for a few appetizers and then moved on to burgers and sandwiches. Everything was delicious - especially the burger - which some in our party said was the best New York had to offer. The other standouts were the tuna roll and salmon sashimi on crunchy rice. All in all it was a fantastic experience thanks to Mercer Kitchen. I would highly recommend this place if you happen to be in area for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This place is highly overrated for food and service and I won't be back. The wait staff acted like we were doing them a favor by coming to the restaurant. We had an 5:30 pm pre-theatre reservation on Friday and when we arrived the place was empty, only three tables in use, and yet the hostess sat us at a small round table right next to the bar.

The table was so small that two place mats had to be overlapped to fit. I asked our waiter if we could be moved out of bar area to the back of the restaurant. He reluctantly went to ask the hostess. After five minutes, our waiter came back and took us to another table that was five feet away, still near the bar. I immediately asked again if we could be seated in the back of the restaurant.

Each time I asked to be moved the waiter acted put out and like it might be difficult to move. Our waiter at our new (3rd) table never welcomed or greeted us and just plopped down the menus and asked if we wanted a drink. He never told us anything about the menu selections or specials and acted bored. The food was average, my angel hair pasta with asparagus only had five 3/4" pieces of asparagus. All of this could have been smoothed over if any one of the three staff had acted concerned and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Good food, nice atmosphere, ARROGANT HOSTESS, slow service but meant very well. Cannot believe how some NYC restaurants still think its ok to make you feel unwanted and give you the idea that you are lucky that they will even consider having you!!!! Where does that come from?

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The maitre d' was not warm or welcoming—she kept her eyes on the computer screen during my entire contact with her. She made no mention of my request for a corner table, but instead had her hostess take us directly to a table that felt shoved between two larger ones behind a massive brick column. Service was just okay—I noted in my reservation that this was a special occasion, but it was not made to feel that way. However, a dessert with a candle was sent at the end; and a sommelier/manager seemed to appear from out of nowhere when I made my wine selection (I kind of wish she were our server throughout the meal). I'll be back for the food and ambience though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Rica comida pero muy cerca las mesas, mucho ruido

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Fun! Everyone was happy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Warm comfortable place with nice food. Good atmospshere with open kitchen and nice decoration. Keep up the good work!

Tags: People Watching, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always love it here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great service , yummy food and a great beat and pulse !! Always fun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Hot Spot, Authentic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Service was awful. Waiter greeted us, then disappeared for a long while. Coffee came without cream. When presented, the coffee was cold. Cappuccino was ordered differently for two of us, but both were presented cool and bland and the same. One person at our table got cold food, but server could not be located to return. Table near us were seated after we were, got their food first, paid their bill and left before we got our entrees. Not going back. I had been there many times before. This is the first time so disappointed.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great vibe. A little confusing concerning the up/down stairs seating. Also, staff should be more attentive to people walking into the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Good ambience, good food. A little empty at 11:30pm on saturday but the restaurant atmosphere makes up for it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Used to love this place but it has really gone down hill. Bathroom was filthy and the food was only average. Disappointing because it used to be so good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Table was small, but overall amazing food, great options for those with allergies and great service!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy, Organic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Barman and waiter service were very nice, but the hostess let us waiting for one hour, even with a reservation. It was very unpleasant.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine at this NYC staple. The food is spectacular, ambiance is trendy and the service is on point.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We love taking friends from out of town to this spot because it's close to our apartment, and it's truly fine-dining.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

I didn't think the waiter was particularly knowledgable. When I asked for a recommendation for a medium to full bodied red wine, he recommended a Pinot Noir and made sure to mention it was on the light side. I suspect he is asked by the manager to push this wine. When I asked if there was a sommelier the first bottle she recommended was a $225 bottle of red. She didn't even ask for my price point and seemed surprised when I said that was more than I was planning on spending.

Overall, I would still recommend this restaurant due to the quality of the food and the ambiance.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The food was good, service was TERRIBLE. Our waiter was nonexistent, we waited 15 minutes for cocktails and coffee, we were constantly out of water. Our appetizer came out after 20 minutes then was on the table for less than 5 minutes when our meals arrived leaving us to scramble to finish our appetizer. We were crowded into a table that could barely fit 4, seated next to another table that that had packed in as well. I noted this to the hostess saying this looks a bit tight and she literally looked at me said nothing and walked away.

The restaurant wasn't crowded enough for this kind of service, it put a damper on the whole brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Been here before and had a great experience. Came back again and you would have thought we were somewhere else. The service was horrible and seemed like we didn't even receive service. A manager came over at one point as could tell things were taking long no apology and no comment other than can I get you another drink. Our water glasses even sat empty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always have a great time at the Mercer. The food is delicious and fresh. Fantastic place for brunch!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The kitchen/server timed our food incorrectly: the apps were delivered at the same time as our dinner. Also, there was a very creepy and intrusive Busser always hanging around our table, waiting for us to finish our meals to clear the table. He stood over me for about 2 minutes watching me eat. After catching his stare I asked him politely if he needed something. Weird! Overall, good food. I don't mind paying a lot for good food, but that with the intrusive busser and timing of the food, made for a less than stellar experience. And, it was my friend's 50th bday celebration.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Front of house staff weren't very friendly or welcoming and infact, forgot about us, leaving is sitting at the bar for ages, inspite of having a reservation. No apology. Service was average, coffee was the worst I've ever had and food was just ok. It was chaotic and noisy without a good vibe. Won't be back.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always a great meal the burger and the rib eye both order medium were cooked to perfection..al carte drink cocktails ordered over the course of the date were pricey . If you're having a good time just order a bottle of wine it will provide the most value

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Shrimp salad was disappointing. Shrimp tasted of bleach!

Limp lettice.

Won't go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Seated in the basement and crammed by the bar while we waited for our table to be ready. For a restaurant charging that much the food was just ok and it was so loud it was a very overrated, over crowded place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I came here for a birthday brunch with a party of 10. I have been here before for dinner and had a wonderful experience... this brunch was not like that.
First, we essentially had to beg for our drinks orders to be taken. When brought to the table they were incorrect. When we asked for our drinks to be corrected our waitress acted as though we were whining children.
Once we passed the drinks "hurdle" we moved on to fighting to get our orders taken. It took an HOUR for them to even take our order even though we continually requested a server to come over and then when our food came out it was TERRIBLE. The omelet looked like rubber and the Eggs Benedict was revolting. I have never been so dissatisfied by a dining experience in my life.

I will NEVER go back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The Mercer Kitchen is an excellent restaurant to visit in the city. The food tasted great and the service is phenomenal. When I was there, my friend asked for French fries and they arrived within a minute!! I would definitely visit again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I've loved this place for years, but the last couple of visits have been very unsatisfying, especially given the price tag on a meal at this restaurant. My biggest letdown was the service. It took 35 minutes to order an entree and 35 minutes to receive a drink AFTER it was ordered. The service was so terrible that we had to place our order with two different people. The food is good, but with a $100 price tag per person before our drinks, it was an overall disappointing experience. Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.