About Mercer Kitchen

99 Prince Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Located at the Mercer Hotel, Mercer Kitchen brings a chic, sophisticated vibe to the heart of SoHo. When Mercer Kitchen opened in 1998, it immediately became a destination for New Yorkers, celebrities, and tourists. Situated in the basement of a historic building constructed in the 1800s, the… restaurant was designed by Christian Liaigre as a combination of industrial and classic modernism. Chef Jean-Georges’ American menu features market-driven, seasonal ingredients prepared in a simple yet elegant style, with favorites like the Tuna Spring Roll, Steamed Shrimp Salad, wood-fired pizzas, and classic Warm Valrhona Chocolate Cake. There is an open kitchen, where guests can sit back and watch the show.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic, French American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon-Sat 7:00am-11:30am & Sunday 7:00am-11:00am
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30am-3:30pm
Late Lunch: Mon-Fri 3:30-5:30pm
Brunch: Sat, Sun 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Mon-Thu 5:30pm-12:00am
Fri, Sat 5:30pm-1:00am
Sun 5:30pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Prince and Mercer Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 966-5454

Website:
http://www.themercerkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking available after 5 pm and on holidays and weekends. Parking garage is located on Mercer St. between Houston and Prince.

Public Transit:
B,D,F,M to Broadway/Lafayette; 6 to Spring St; or N,R to Prince Street.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Georges Vongerichten

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jean-Georges brings a chic vibe to Soho at Mercer Kitchen, with a bright, airy café upstairs and a spacious restaurant on the lower level. The ambiance of the restaurant is timelessly stylish, and sexy, with exposed brick walls. The American Provencal menu features fresh and seasonal ingredients.

Mercer Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (65)
Special Occasion (48)
Modern Decor (47)
See All
Hot Spot (46)
People Watching (42)
Fun (40)
Good for Groups (37)
Casual (35)
Romantic (34)
Cozy (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Open Kitchen (30)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Great for Brunch (25)
Business Meals (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Comfort Food (18)
Late-night Find (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Authentic (15)
Healthy (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Seasonal (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Family Style (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Historic (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Organic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great Beer (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3781 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

staff is always attentive without being overbearing. Price is reasonable for good quality food every time. Family comes here as often as possible.

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Very disappointing. Under whelming food and very poor service. Confused about the order, over cooked meat and a bad wine list. Too many good restaurants in New York to bother with a bad one. Go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Dimly lit, noisy basement setting. Food was excellent, though, especially lentil soup, burger, pasta and pizza.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I will never return to Mercer Kitchen and do not recommend it, which is unfortunate because I have been to other Jean George restaurants, where the food and service were impeccable. Mercer was simply a hot mess!

I had reservations here on Saturday for a birthday dinner and wasn't seated until an hour later. Once we were finally seated, the management tried to smooth things over by giving us complimentary appetizers. This gesture was appreciated and I was hoping the rest of the experience would have improved, but it just continued to go downhill. We waited for over 30 minutes for someone to take our drink orders. When we received our meals two of my friends ordered the skate and the cod fish, but they were both given the sea bass. They informed the wait staff of this error and the wait staff seemed confused, so we informed the manager. The manager told us that they ran out of both the cod and skate fish so they replaced the dishes with the sea bass! First off, we should have been informed that the dishes we ordered were not available. Secondly, we should have been giving the opportunity to select another dish. Instead, the staff at a Mercer Kitchen tried to sneak my friends dishes they did not order! What an insult!! My friends ended up ordering the burger which seemed to be one of the better entrees. Other dishes were not executed well - the salmon was too salty, the lamb was dry and somehow Mercer Kitchen ran out of dough for pizza so my friends who ordered this had to wait even longer!

The service at Mercer was incompetent atbest. The managers were nonchalant about the disastrous service, which leads me to believe that this service is the norm for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

More for the scene, wasn't impressed with the food.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Our food was over the top delicious. We did have to wait about 25 minutes for our table even though we had a reservation. Our entrees also took almost an hour to come out, but were definitely tasty when they arrived. Also, it's really, really loud so I wouldn't recommend it for anyone trying to have a quiet, intimate dinner. It's more of a high energy party scene with delicious food and drinks type of place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The lighting is super lovely and the space has a romantic modern vibe.Unfortunately, the 2 of us were seated at a communal table, between two loud groups. Not ideal for our date. The sea bass carpaccio starter was delicious, as was my main fish entree, but my date's lamb chop entree was overcooked & so tiny (2 small chops), even I would have wanted to order 2 more. Dessert was delightful. Overall, I'd say come for a glass a wine and dessert, not necessarily to get full.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

This is my second time here. The food is good and atmosphere is fun. Service was a little slow but that's to be expected on Saturday lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

One of my all time favorites! Love the ambiance and location. No matter what you chose on the menu, it is never a disappointment.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

My friend and I had a great time at The Mercer. Everything was well organized. We got seated fairly quickly. Our food and drinks were absolutely delicious and so filling. I feel like there is a wide variety of food. The service was fantastic. All the waiters were so kind and always checked in to see how we were doing. I would most definitely recommend The Mercer and will absolutely come back again. One of my favorite restaurants by far.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Very small portions, but great environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Terrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I love Mercer Kitchen and have been many times, but honestly it was terrible on Valentines's Day -- very disappointing. The service was awful, the waiter was full-on rude. In addition, the food was just off, cold and not nearly up to par with how it normally tastes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Overall decent experience. See below for full review.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Disappointed by the incredibly poor service. I was really not expecting that from a Jean-Georges restaurant.

Although the food was lovely, I would not go back.

In a city jam packed with amazing restaurants there's no reason to be underwhelmed with any aspect of your dinning experience.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great service - nice drinks - cozy upscale - Maitre'D reserved "special" table - will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

very pleasant - food always at excellent level - service same time is too slow, also if many people are around to serve but they are not so efficient. sorry to say because i love the place!

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I would not recommend. There's so many great places in the neighborhood that would be a better bet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The hostess staff was not very polite to me. Your hostess staff was not friendly and a little rude in their approach upon my arrival.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The cocktails were excellent, the service was awful, and the food was okay.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

While the food was excellent, our server tonight was less than stellar. Perhaps one of the worst services I've had. We received water fairly promptly, and our server initially presented us with food and drink menus, but then he vanished for nearly 15 minutes. We closed our menus and both looked around for him, but did not see him. We then ordered drinks, and it took several more minutes for him to return and take the rest of the meal order. The food was good, but there was no check-in during the meal to verify this. So while I recommend the restaurant itself, get a different server, and hopefully you will enjoy a better experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Did not enjoy. The food was too expensive for it's worth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Yummy food!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was slow. They didn't have enough chairs at our table to cover the reservation and tried to give us a barstool to sit on at a table!! We had to ask 3 different people to give us a chair. Very disappointed. The waitress did not know the menu and gave the wrong descriptions for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

great spot for a date. have gone for both appetizers and full meals - have always walked away satisfied

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Nice brunch with girlfriends in a great neighborhood. Very lively. Superb service, great food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Terrible service. Took over 2 hours for appetizers. Not worth the price or "scene".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Bartending staff was excellent. Offered great service and attention to detail

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good meal but not good service. We were there for about 3 hours and it took 40 minutes to just get a drink. Waiter also had a major attitude. Sent back undercooked food and it took about 35 minutes to get it back, when inquiring he said "well you sent it back".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This place has a great vibe and good food - I've been too many times to count. It's frustrating, however, that when you make a reservation, you're almost NEVER seated promptly. If I sign up for a table at 8, I want it at 8 - not 8:17.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Get a table under the class glass soho sidewalks and watch the city crowds go by overhead. Classic New York restaurant with classic New York slow service. Food is always great. If you want a nice long romantic meal this is your place.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

It may have just been the server we had - he was really not up to par compared to the rest of the team. The food was perfect as always, though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Have been there before. This time felt rushed even though the restaurant was quite empty. Did not have the table I requested. A little disappointed this trip. Will still return.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The service was outstanding and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were there for restaurant week, so we were ordering from the special pre-fixe menu. Everything was excellent, but it was the appetizers that stood out the most, and the deserts were awesome. The main course would have been a hit in any other context, but just wasn't as good as the other two courses. Service at the bar was mixed - they seemed to be changing shifts, and forgot about us. That said, they mix a great martini. The service at the dinner table was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It took a while to get to our table, despite having a reservation. They also seemed understaffed because we had to flag our waiter down anytime we wanted to order anything or ask for the check.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Special table was reserved - they accommodated request perfectly! Drinks, wine, appetizers, and entrees were all perfect - attentive staff - will come again!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The waffle was average. It was a bit disappointing to be told they couldn't get strawberries. Their explanation was that strawberries were not in season. We eat strawberries all year long everywhere in NYC and Long Island. I guess they are using the wrong vendor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fine. Not great, not terrible. Wouldn't go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great first courses (steamed shrimp + pear salad) Dismal mains: the 55$ ribeye overcooked (ordered medium rare arrived almost well done) the fish overcooked also. They should be careful about the quality of the food - Jean-Georges you should show up and taste and control the quality once in a while.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our reservation was for 7:30 and we weren't seated until 8:30. Once we sat, it took 10 minutes for the waiter to bring our menus and water. He actually brought us lunch menus instead of dinner.

The water was spilt all over the table and we had to ask them to come help clean up what they spilt.

What saved the meal was the food. Very delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The service was terrible!! We had to practically beg waiters to come and get our order! Plus not once did the waiter come to the table on their own to ask for our order, serve water, pick up our plates or even ask how the food was. Really its a shame because the food is delicious but the service is TERRIBLE!! Jean-georges should come and dine in his own place and fire the person in charge of service, because this is shameful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Best burger in town. Great restaurant and excellent service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Casual, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Mercer Kitchen is geared towards an under-40 crowd. A bit loud. Food is good, but not great for a Jean-Georges restaurant. My main course of lamb chops was over cooked, so I felt they were partially cooked and then finished off before served. I think that for a younger crowd, it is a great "hang-out" when food is not a priority. In the future, I will continue to go to other Jean-Georges restaurants, but will skip this one.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We had lunch with a group of coworkers during the Restaurant Week and it was a big success! Beautiful restaurant with lots of brick and wood accents. Food was amazing, very well seasoned a bit on the spicy side but nothing too hot to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

i love the place, the food and the location.

service sometime is slow

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Thick hot chocolate. Waffles with blueberries and whipped cream was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food is always excellent but service is always slow. I don't recommend if you are on a lunch break and only have an hour.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 30, 2017

We dined during restaraunt week and the food was amazing. The atmosphere was lovely and our server was incredible!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.