Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.09mi
  4. Distance: 0.18mi

About Mercer Kitchen

Located at the Mercer Hotel, Mercer Kitchen brings a chic, sophisticated vibe to the heart of SoHo. When Mercer Kitchen opened in 1998, it immediately became a destination for New Yorkers, celebrities, and tourists. Situated in the basement of a historic building constructed in the 1800s, the… restaurant was designed by Christian Liaigre as a combination of industrial and classic modernism. Chef Jean-Georges’ American menu features market-driven, seasonal ingredients prepared in a simple yet elegant style, with favorites like the Tuna Spring Roll, Steamed Shrimp Salad, wood-fired pizzas, and classic Warm Valrhona Chocolate Cake. There is an open kitchen, where guests can sit back and watch the show.

99 Prince Street
New York, NY 10012
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Organic, French American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Mon-Sat 7:00am-11:30am & Sunday 7:00am-11:00am
Lunch: Mon-Fri 11:30am-3:30pm
Late Lunch: Mon-Fri 3:30-5:30pm
Brunch: Sat, Sun 11:00am-4:00pm
Dinner: Mon-Thu 5:30pm-12:00am
Fri, Sat 5:30pm-1:00am
Sun 5:30pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
Corner of Prince and Mercer Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Pay with OpenTable, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 966-5454

Website:
http://www.themercerkitchen.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking available after 5 pm and on holidays and weekends. Parking garage is located on Mercer St. between Houston and Prince.

Public Transit:
B,D,F,M to Broadway/Lafayette; 6 to Spring St; or N,R to Prince Street.

Executive Chef:
Jean-Georges Vongerichten

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Jean-Georges brings a chic vibe to Soho at Mercer Kitchen, with a bright, airy café upstairs and a spacious restaurant on the lower level. The ambiance of the restaurant is timelessly stylish, and sexy, with exposed brick walls. The American Provencal menu features fresh and seasonal ingredients.

Mercer Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (56)
Good for a Date (53)
Special Occasion (49)
See All
Hot Spot (46)
Great for Lunch (43)
Good for Groups (41)
Fun (38)
Casual (37)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
People Watching (36)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Romantic (31)
Business Meals (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Great for Brunch (23)
Cozy (21)
Bar Seating (16)
Late-night Find (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Authentic (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Organic (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Seasonal (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
4105 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Overall the food and the ambience at the place was pretty good. A little bit loud because the table next to us were celebrating or something but other than that it was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

Best Coconut Chichen soup EVER! Love the fun atmosphere of rustic and contemporary and great lighting is awesome. The Truffle pizza is amazing! Don't forget dessert! Love the molten chocolate cake is great!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Cozy, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fun, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

El lugar está bueno , muy ruidoso. La hamburguesa espectacular pero muy chica y cara para lo que sirven.
Muchas papas fritas y poca carne
He comido buenos platos en otras oportunidades
Mucho ruido

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

El lugar está muy bien ambientado, los meseros demasiado atentos y la calidad de los platillos muy buenos, recomiendo ampliamente este restaurante

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was pretty good and the service was alright. We started with the crispy squid (over-salted, don't recommend) and the burrata which was very good. The kale salad was overpriced for what was, frankly, a plate of kale. The truffle pizza was very taste-y, but disappointingly small. Best part of the meal was the chocolate cake dessert (we recommend). The staff was pleasant but it was clear they were looking to turn over the table as they kept taking away unfinished drinks without asking (not acceptable for a good restaurant). Unfortunately, we won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (London)·Dined 3 days ago

A new favorite. Food really is excellent. The gazpacho was to die for so we ordered a second one to go. The squid could have been a bit crispier. Pizza is proper Italian and excellent. Great watermelon and goats cheese salad. Really loved this place and will be going back often. Not inexpensive but worth it and you get what you pay for. The tables upstairs are lovely and light and you can see out onto Mercer. Downstairs much bigger of course and also very cool. Try it. I think you will like it a lot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The food (while moderately pricey) was delish but the service was shockingly poor. It was late but the server had barely any tables and just could not be bothered with us. Even after saying we'd skip dessert and requesting the check - we had to get up and find him 10 min later when he still didn't bring it. Unacceptable. Would love to go back and recommend it to others but don't feel I can based on the experience we had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Good place for lunch with a nice variety of different food choices for every palate. Wait staff could be a little more attentive and I do not appreciate being told to make sure I have all my queries asked so the wait staff need not walk back and forth when one of my guest asked if the hot dog was pork or beef.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Not what it used to be, expensive food and not at all impressed with the quality, always have the Bass and this time around it was not at all what i expected, very poor presentation and overall quite disappointing evening

Rest of the food was so, so....

It's loosing its cool and place was packed with loud tourist

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Service was poor, they forgot our drinks and needed to be reminded after we received our meals. Food was adequate, nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Too noisy! We especially told them at reservation time and upon confirmation that it was our 25th wedding anniversary! The staff did nothing to celebrate this event! Not even a candle in our dessert. When we arrived they tried to place us at a horrible table which we refused. The waiter was excellent! We felt there was definite age discrimination as we are above 50 years old! We live jean George on Central Park west and jojo and perry street. This experience other than good food and a nice server was unpleasant!!!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

With the exception of the first 30 minutes, the experience was excellent. Let me explain what I mean. We came for our anniversary with our two children, ages 6 and 10. We were seated and asked what type of water we wanted for the table very shortly after. We didn't meet our server for another 15 minutes at which time he took drink orders (cocktails) and we were ready to order by that time, so we ordered our food at the same time. 15 minutes later, he comes back with the cocktails and the appetizer and kids' food all at the same time. That's just odd. From that time forward, the service was attentive, friendly, quick and the food was excellent. We were there for about 90 minutes in total and by the time we were ready to leave, the strange start to the experience had faded to memory. Still, it happened and shouldn't have.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

vibrant place. Beautiful interior. Friendly host staff sat us as soon as we arrived 15 min early for our reservation. Server was very nice, friendly knowledgeable and attentive. Food was awesome. Seafood platter, truffle pizza and Veal milanese finished with warm chocolate cake. Definitely go back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Amazing food, cocktails and time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Mercer Kitchen is such a cool spot - absolutely gorgeous and in a central location! We had a fantastic meal there and the servers were very attentive, although they were busy. As other reviewers have said, this place is upscale and trendy but not pretentious. Price-wise, to give you an idea, we ordered three beers, one appetizer, and two of the lower-priced entrees (burger + pasta dish, both EXCELLENT) and our bill was a bit over $100, plus tip. So by NYC standards it's not cheap, per say, but it's not tremendously expensive by any means either. We had a great time and will absolutely be back on our next trip into the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great experience, great service and the ambiance allowed for conversation and also interaction w the vibe of the restaraunt

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 10, 2017

I am a diehard Mercer Kitchen fan. Best restaurant in NYC!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Perfect spot for brunch with plenty of on street parking on weekends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Headed here for a birthday celebration. The place is quite big and noisy but didn't bother anyone as we wanted to celebrate anyways.

Service was ok but they didn't seem to be interested why we hadn't touched our pastas - both the rigatoni and the angle hair pasta had a funky Gorgonzola like taste that wasn't mentioned anywhere (the menu stated aged parmigiano- which tastes totally different)
Salmon and burger seemed to be tasty though.
The wine we ordered was "out of stock" so the only alternative was a Tempranillo for $30 more than the one we wanted - and then we even had to ask for suitable red wine glasses as they usually serve their wine in tiny white wine glassware.
Overall was not what we had expected and weren't happy when we left . I wouldn't recommend or come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Everything was lovely...I was late for my reservation, but once I arrived they still made sure to squeeze me in and accommodate myself and my date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 8, 2017

I visited The Mercer Kitchen with a group of 6, who ordered various menu items including the salmon and corn pudding, the "Mercer Burger," steamed skate, and a steak (which cut, I do not recall. I had a bite which was delicious, but my dinner was the skate). The atmosphere was delightful. Not too loud, not too quiet; dim, but not too dim. Our table offered a clear view of a clean, calm, and very effective kitchen, and was also near the bar, where the bartender and assisting staff did their part in concocting a solid evening for all involved. The host station at the base of the stairs was well-located and well-staffed, and the bathrooms were clean and pleasant. The menu itself was one of difficult choices. Not difficult as some restaurants are, where you must decide which items are solid choices and which things you _might_ order, if you feel you can trust the kitchen staff. Difficult because anything and everything is a good choice. Excellent seasoning and preparation, top-shelf pairings of foods with their sides and garnishes, and good portion size. Our server was attentive, but not overly so, and was very positive and well-prepared. I would recommend this restaurant without hesitating, if one was looking for very good New American cuisine at this price range.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great ambiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Everything about Mercer Kitchen was good, not great. I expected more from the menu as well as the service. It was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 7, 2017

We were looking forward to this lunch but we're so disappointed! It took 10-15 minutes for anyone to take our order, they never brought our cocktails and we had to ask...they finally arrived 30 minutes after we sat down and after our food had arrived. The manager did comp the drinks because of the delay. The salads were delicious but came with the entree, no oil was placed into the empty bowl on our table with the bread. The pizza bottom was burned. The crowd was not heavy and there was staff everywhere---it was just disappointing overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

My husband, friends and I have been to Mercer Kitchen hundreds of times. We live nearby and we love their food. It's inside a hotel so they never close for the holidays—one can go there almost anytime of the day and year. The food is exceptional as their dishes are made with high quality ingredients, seasonally fresh. The kitchen staff is very calm considering they work in an open kitchen setting. It's amazing to see each day how they cook so many dishes for the restaurant and for the hotels guests who order room-service day and night. The dishes are consistently reliable and seasonally tasteful. They have incredibly tasty soups, both hot and cold, among other dishes which they change according to the seasons. If I had to choose one restaurant to dine at, I'd always choose Mercer first. It has creative and diligent chefs and staff. We are lucky to live nearby so we can go there very often: rain or shine!

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2017

I used to love this place but frankly I was a bit disappointed last time I took a date there. Her burger was too rare and the crab salad was too cold. They were pretty nice to us. The tuna roll was absolutely amazing. I love the decor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

A shame about the poor service. We were clearly seated out of the way at the tourists table.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The Food was absolutely delightful and the service was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

This time the service was extremely bad. Our meal was served by "kids" who didn't know how to serve. I requested a soda 3 times and they never brought it and at the end I gave up. But I was charged for it. Didn't have the time to ask to remove it from the bill as the service was so slow and didn't know who was our server as no one introduced themselves.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Perhaps a little bit noisy but great food and place in my favorite área in nyc

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Food was mediocre and usually great. Was not fresh tasting organic chicken

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 28, 2017

I called the restaurant for running late.
The staffs there are very late back .
Not cheerful.. no smile..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

My husband and I had a date at The Mercer Kitchen. Andre (I think) was our server and he was amazing!!! We order the seafood platter, the ribeye and The Mercer burger. All fantastic. The manager Ashley (I think lol) made sure to stop by our table and check on us. From the bartenders/servers upstairs that said hello, to the friendly hosts, to the super kind staff member cleaning the restroom...everyone was very kind. This was a second time at Mercer and it hasn't disappointed yet.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

This restaurant had been recommended by a couple of different friends. We went for brunch, and unfortunately did not find anything special about this restaurant. We had to send two of our breakfast meals back as the eggs were over cooked. Maybe it's better for dinner. The upstairs room is beautiful. The downstairs is dark so would be better in the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food and ambiance were great! My only complaint was the service. Our waiter was completely uninterested in our table and never once came by to check on us.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Must have the angel hair pasta. The cocktails are also great. Love it here!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

$45 steak was fatty, burnt and horrible. Service was poor, waiter couldn't understand a single word we said even though we speak English. Clueless. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great place to eat everything was delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great ambiance - and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 24, 2017

I recently had a very nice breakfast at the Mercer Kitchen - food was excellent, service attentive, environment pleasant. While the tests of such restaurants are more often lunch or dinner, breakfast was of a quality that I certainly recommend for breakfast and would be encouraged to have either lunch or dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.