About Mercadito - River North

Mexican food with authentic flavors. Lobster, Shrimp, Fish, Steak, Chicken, and Pork TACOS!! Craft Cocktails that will blow your mind!!! Ample sized banquets accommodate large parties while smaller white quartzite tables and the soft wood floor and ceiling keep the atmosphere cozy. Exquisite details include rope screens separating banquettes, handmade pyramid-shaped copper lights illuminating the bar, and unique graffiti-style murals dressing the dining rooms. A massive bar area and lounge lets guests relax while taking in the stylish and upscale environment.

108 W. Kinzie
Chicago, IL 60610
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday 11:00am-3:00pm & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Friday: 5:00pm- 2:00am: Saturday: 5:00pm - 3:00am

Cross Street:
Kinzie between N Clark and N La Salle

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 329-9555

Website:
http://www.mercaditorestaurants.com/chicago/

Catering:
MH-Catering: website: www.mh-catering.com
Call: 312.361.3299

Our team's knowledge is grounded in their experience as consumers and connoisseurs, and then improved through decades of restaurant and industry experience. We strive to create a remarkable and unique experience by perfectly detailing every aspect of your catering and event needs. It is important to us that every guest has an exceptional experience and is provided with extraordinary service.

Parking Details:
Valet parking daily

Public Transit:
Merchandise Mart stops Purple and Brown Line and 156 Bus LaSalle.

Executive Chef:
Patricio Sandoval

Private Party Facilities:
Plan your next birthday, office party, or event at Mercadito. For parties of seven or more we offer a range of tasting menus and open bar options to fit any budget and palate. We are happy to help you plan a memorable event that will exceed your expectations.

Private Party Contact:
Wendy Wohlfeill: (312) 329-9555

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties of seven or more we offer a range of tasting menus and open bar options to fit any budget and palate. We are happy to help you plan your event. Contact: events@mercaditorestaurants.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 9:00PM - 11:30PM

Mon - Wed 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:45PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 11:30PM

Thu 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:45PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:15PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Mercadito - River North Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Hot Spot (66)
Handcrafted Cocktails (62)
Good for a Date (59)
See All
Fun (59)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Casual (48)
Good for Groups (48)
Tapas (47)
Vibrant Bar Scene (46)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Modern Decor (43)
Good for Birthdays (37)
Happy Hour (36)
Special Occasion (36)
Authentic (32)
Spicy (32)
Great for Lunch (23)
Romantic (21)
People Watching (21)
Late-night Find (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Comfort Food (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Business Meals (16)
Cozy (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Family Style (7)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Healthy (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Waterfront (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Music (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dancing (0)
Sort By:
S
3520 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome avocado guacamole and the cocktails were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Drinks are always great. Food can go either way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious late night dining spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome place for a first date.
Love the drinks.
Pre clubbing.

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

HAD A GREAT TIME WITH MY PEEPS, THEY HAD NEVER BEEN ADN THEY ALL ENJOYED

Tags: Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

AmaIng shrimp tacos and margaritas (the cucumber one was our fave!) A little loud but a very nice ambiance for a date.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

Very loud. Hard to hear and communicate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great, service was great, it was way too loud. Lots of people noise plus loud music over the pa.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and great margaritas. It is Mexican tapas concept and you order dishes to sure. Exotic guacamole variants.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellence food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Awesome. All the waiters were naked!!! So hot. We slow danced with one of the waiters while rubbing guaca over each other.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Waterfront, Tapas, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Organic, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Our severs and everyone were super nice and friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Always a vey reliable place for great food and good ambiance.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and service. Price is not bad, it is worth every penny.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was delicious but the service was lacking. May not be back.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers Day Brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for Mother's Day brunch. They had a special menu for a price fix. It was a little confusing but our server was very patient and attentive. The cocktails were fabulous. We had two each. The traditional margarita is the real deal - no limeade fillers here. Delicious. The paloma was also good but a little on the sweeter side. Food was fantastic especially the poached eggs on corn bread with chipotle hollandaise. The only weird thing is that the dishes came out separately as the kitchen finished them. Haphazardly. We want to go back for their regular menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Loved the food and drinks. A bit loud for conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The service was lackluster. I had to actively seek out the server and repeat requests for refills or additional beverages.

The food was overly seasoned, overpowered by salt.

I'm not certain that I will return. The price is not comparable to the value of service and food.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Tapas, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Overpriced, bland dishes, terrible service. I did enjoy the traditional guacamole and the carne asada. The waiter was more interested in packing people in the restaurant than about service and food quality.

Chipotle is better....and that's not saying a lot.

Disappointed :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Used to love this place, but every time we go it seems like they are rushing us in and out. Our food came within 5 mins of ordering and the check was dropped off the second we were done eating.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent food, personal service, great ambiance & music! Highly recommend this place for a night out! We were celebrating a special occasion and they went above & beyond to make it memorable!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Fancy mexican in a great location but it is so over-priced. $3.5 for two tablespoons of salsa? $18-22 for small tacos? $11 for (maybe) a cup of guacamole? $18 for a margarita? Nothing that special or amazing for this place to charge so much and deliver so little. Despite the convenient location, I will not return until they adjust their portion sizes or their prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Had reservations for 9 o'clock got seated at 9:01! Food was amazing

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2017

amazing service. great selection of tequila based cocktails. ok food. noise level is a bit extreme.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food and ambiance was amazing with service to match. Amazing selection of tequila used in an eclectic cocktail list. I highly recommend the "Paloma Diabla".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 7, 2017

While I do enjoy the food and the cocktails, the wait when you have a reservation is a bit much. We shouldn't have had to wait over 30 minutes past our reservation to be seated. I saw open tables as well, so I did not understand why. However, our waiter was wonderful and the food was great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food and service!! Still going strong.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Overall great food and delicious drinks but the tables for 2 are set very close together. There's only a small sliver of space between each table and one person's seat is a shared booth type seat so if that person needs to get up you have to shift your table over to squeeze out. When we were seated, we apologized to the people next to us because we felt like we joined their dinner. Would suggest this place for parties of 4+ so you can secure your own table/booth! We'll be back just with a couple more people next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food was very spicy and salty. Not enough options for NON SPICY food. The restaurant was VERY NOISY..................

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Staff was amazing, attentive and went above and beyond

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was great. Music was too loud. I could not hear anything from across the table. Tough to have conversations.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Have always loved this place. I go on dates with my boyfriend here and we always brings guests from out of town to eat here as well. Food and service is always great. Must try is the lobster tacos and the guacamole (garlic one). Margaritas and other cocktails are amazing!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great service and food. The noise level was off the charts. We're been here many times but this was over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Mercadito awesome as always. Food service and overall experience all wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Everything was great but the tables are packed so tight you don't get any privacy. Several times we had to literally slide the table over to let the couple next to us out to go to the bathroom.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 27, 2017

This was the noisiest restaurant I have ever been to. We left as soon as we finished our meal (which was pretty good) to find a quieter place to talk. Unbearably loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Cute outside patio and great service. Came for happy hour but there was only happy hour taco deal ($7.50 for 2 tacos) and no drink specials. Cocktails are $14... pricey place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Go with the mango guacamole, and tacos...Mahi Mahi tacos very good, swordfish a bit dried out. Always VERY loud in the dining hall, but that's part of the deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Love the food! very very loud, wish they could do something about that. Kind of pricey. Nice, attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.