About Mercadito - River North

108 W. Kinzie
Chicago, IL 60610
View Larger Map

Mexican food with authentic flavors. Lobster, Shrimp, Fish, Steak, Chicken, and Pork TACOS!! Craft Cocktails that will blow your mind!!! Ample sized banquets accommodate large parties while smaller white quartzite tables and the soft wood floor and ceiling keep the atmosphere cozy. Exquisite details include rope screens separating banquettes, handmade pyramid-shaped copper lights illuminating the bar, and unique graffiti-style murals dressing the dining rooms. A massive bar area and lounge lets guests relax while taking in the stylish and upscale environment.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday 11:00am-3:00pm & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Tuesday: 5:00pm - 12:00am, Wednesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Friday: 5:00pm- 2:00am: Saturday: 5:00pm - 3:00am

Cross Street:
Kinzie between N Clark and N La Salle

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 329-9555

Website:
http://www.mercaditorestaurants.com/chicago/

Catering:
MH-Catering: website: www.mh-catering.com
Call: 312.361.3299

Our team's knowledge is grounded in their experience as consumers and connoisseurs, and then improved through decades of restaurant and industry experience. We strive to create a remarkable and unique experience by perfectly detailing every aspect of your catering and event needs. It is important to us that every guest has an exceptional experience and is provided with extraordinary service.

Parking Details:
Valet parking daily

Public Transit:
Merchandise Mart stops Purple and Brown Line and 156 Bus LaSalle.

Executive Chef:
Patricio Sandoval

Private Party Facilities:
Plan your next birthday, office party, or event at Mercadito. For parties of seven or more we offer a range of tasting menus and open bar options to fit any budget and palate. We are happy to help you plan a memorable event that will exceed your expectations.

Private Party Contact:
Wendy Wohlfeill: (312) 329-9555

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties of seven or more we offer a range of tasting menus and open bar options to fit any budget and palate. We are happy to help you plan your event. Contact: events@mercaditorestaurants.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 9:00PM - 11:30PM

Mon - Wed 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:45PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 11:30PM

Thu 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:45PM 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 11:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:15PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Mercadito - River North Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Handcrafted Cocktails (57)
Fun (56)
Good for a Date (55)
See All
Casual (52)
Hot Spot (51)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Tapas (47)
Good for Groups (42)
Modern Decor (40)
Vibrant Bar Scene (38)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Special Occasion (36)
Authentic (36)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Happy Hour (30)
Spicy (28)
People Watching (23)
Great for Lunch (20)
Late-night Find (20)
Business Meals (17)
Cozy (17)
Romantic (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Quick Bite (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Great for Brunch (6)
Family Style (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great Beer (5)
Healthy (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Vegan (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Waterfront (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Seasonal (2)
Historic (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
3420 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Girls night out- we were looking for good food and great atmosphere! We totally found it!! The drinks were awesome and our waiter really knew the menu and had AMAZING recommendations!!! We will totally be back again soon. If you're looking for a quiet sit down restaurant this might not be the place because it was pretty noisy but we all loved that and thought it added to the feel of the theme. Overall a total success and happy we picked this place

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Dinner for 3, salsa & quacamole, 3 taco dinners and margaritas was $320!

Food was good, service was good but $320 for tacos and margaritas?! Seriously?

A'dios Mercadito!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Nice food & excellent margaritas!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Hostess forgot about our reservation. We ended up having to remind her after waiting 20minutes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

As always, awesome.

Host staff always a little difficult to deal with.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Love this place once a week is a must

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was great to the margaritas and tacos. I had the carne tacos and they were delicious and the steak was perfect. The margaritas were also very delicious which I had la vid rosa

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

My daughter and I had reservations, and were seated promptly upon arrival. Our server, Victor, was very knowledgeable about the menu items. We ordered margaritas and a salsa trio to start. We also ordered tacos. I had the Red Snapper tacos, and my daughter had the Hongos tacos. They were so delicious. The drinks were very good. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

For the price of each plate I expected more than one bite worth of food. The ceviche is mediocre and service is extremely slow and inattentive, except for the back waiters who were on top of clearing plates. The only dish I enjoyed was the lobster tacos and the flan. I left as fast as service allowed me to and literally had to go to another restaurant to get full. What a waste of money. I was very excited to try this place coming all the way from California, but it was truly a disappointment.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very busy and energetic restaurant. Cheap prices, great food. The restaurant was very busy, however the service was great and the food came out quickly.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Spicy, Business Meals, Cozy, Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Romantic, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Authentic, Historic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Reservations run very smooth! The food comes out a bit at a time as it is a "shared style" restaurant. Smoked brisket tacos were great. A perfectly grilled flavor with bbq sauce was on point. Any tequila based drink is usually a winner as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

I would definitely recommend this place if you are looking for some good Mexican food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Rude hostesses so probably won't be back.

Lots of other great places to choose from.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was underwhelming, grossly over priced, and the service was some of the worst that I have experienced in Chicago. The entrees came out staggered in 3-4 minute intervals so by the time our party of 8 had our meals the food was cold. When it came time to pay for the meal the servers weren't helpful in splitting the bill, which is a request that many restaurants in Chicago accommodate given the advances in technology over the past number of years. The process of closing out the bill took way longer than it should have. After waiting for 1/2 an hour I had to walk to the host station to pay the bill. Given the number and quality of restaurants in Chicago, I won't be returning to Mercadito. Just go to Antique Taco or Big Star if you want tacos.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food! The drinks and music are a close second!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food! Great service. The only thing I would say is the tables are too close to each other and it's too loud in there. There were some booths but obviously not meant for a party of 2. But other than that great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Meh.

Busy night with long wait, but had reservations and were lead straight to our table by polite staff. Service was fast, friendly and attentive considering the crowd present. Upbeat atmosphere but at times was so noisy you couldn't hear across the table.

For tacos, guacamole, and beers, the price was excessive for the quality received. Swordfish in tacos was overcooked and flavor overall was nothing to write home about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My friends and I went to Mercadito for my birthday recently. I was served the best food I've had in Chicago and would recommend to anyone. One of my friends insisted on returning for lunch the following day and I can assure I will return again.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Awesome. Have the tacos pastor! Great spot for everyday, dates, anything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great place and have been several times. The food is fantastic, the drinks are great, and the service has always been wonderful. I always forget how loud the place is though and how closely they sit people next to you. I am fine with sitting close to other but they literally trap you into your seat so you can get out unless you move your table to the side and cause quite a bit of commotion in order to use the restroom. Not exactly a pleasant experience. That being said, I will of course be back and the food more than makes up for the cramped seating arrangements.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I had a very terrible experience there,the food was bad the waiter took forever to take our order and they over charge me and my wifeand to top it off one of the managers was drunk! I will never go back to that place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good menu and service on Valentine's Day, 2017!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Drinks are outstanding!! The Red Snapper Tacos were delicious! Would've given it 5stars, however the steak tacos werent great, and the salsa for almost 4.00 bucks is a tad bit more than the free salsa you get at the neighborhood taco spots soooo..... other than that, I'd definitely return for drinks!

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Awesome place we will be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went for our 1 year anniversary. The atmosphere was amazing- beautifully designed.

However the service was horrible. We felt so rushed. As soon as we were done eating the staff quickly grabbed our plates without asking if we were finished. We felt like they were hovering over us to quickly finish.

I understand if there was others to be seated, however there were plenty of other tables open around us.

The guac was $11 for a tiny little portion- even then they took the plate without us even finishing the guac!

Very overpriced. Wish we could've have a peaceful experience on our special date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I was in a group of 10 girls, and we ordered the Canastita package. It was the perfect amount of food for us! I recommend the shrimp and lobster tacos!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The restaurant was nice, tables were a little cramped. Food made up for it. Could lower music a little, it was hard to hear across the table.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Tasty food and lively, fun atmosphere. Our tacos were excellent and everything else (guacamole, rice and beans) was good, not great. Don't come looking for true Mexican authenticity but for good food and drinks in a lively environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Overpriced and ridiculous sizes!

This was such a disappointment today.

I had received recommendations on this restaurant from colleagues and had lunch today with my wife and a family friend there.

Though the food is tasty, the sizes of the Tacos are ridiculous - 5cm diamater at most and filled with very little stuffing, and you get 2 of these tacos ($8.5 before tax). Luckily, we decided to change one of our tacos to an enchilada (which cost $12 before tax) which was a bit bigger - otherwise I would have had to go home for some real food afterwards.

Service was OK at best, waitress kept bugging us to order more food (restaurant was half empty) and ended up throwing the bill in our faces when we said we don't want to order more food.

Won't come back here, and won't recommend it to anyone I know - highly expensive and not worth it.

Michelin starred restaurants serve sizes like this, for a lunch menu - this is totally absurd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Tacos are delicious. Too noisy! Great service. Good corn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderfull service and exceptional food as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

AmIng flavors. Authentic cuisine.

Tags: Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We got the pamagranite guac to start out. It was decent, but way way over priced for what you get. Margaritas are good. I got barbacoa tacos. They were OK, I won't get them again. They don't allow you to mix and match tacos and require you to get 4 per order. Made my meal quite burning eating 4 of the same tacos. My opinion is you can get the same quality of food from a local taqueria and pay a fraction of the price. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Excellent drinks. Tasty innovative food. Perfect portions. Can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I came here with a few of my girlfriends for food and drinks, and both were excellent! We had the trio guacamole, 3 different types of tacos, and the fried plantains. Everything tasted great and the service was outstanding. The only complaint is that everything is on the smaller side, yet pretty pricey.. But it is in the River North area and that is to be expected!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We went during Restaurant Week where Mercadito offered a three course sampling. Great service and the tacos we selected were outstanding. The two types of guacamole were equally yummy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The service and food was Great! As a foodie, Mercadito has always been in my top list of restaurants. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Food was good, not great. Very busy. Service was good. Upper shelf margaritas were delish - although pricey. Worst was that the acoustics are awful and we had to really raise our voices across the table to hear each other. Don't recommend if you are catching up with an old friend.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Amazing experience with business friends. Food and drinks were excellent!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Tapas, Romantic, Spicy, Business Meals, Family Style, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We went during restaurant week and pleased with the quality and quantity (did not appear to serve smaller portions). We tried 4 different margaritas and every one was wonderful! One of my favorite River North resturants and we would definitely go back!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was great! Went for brunch and was one of the first tables to sit down. Took 20 minutes for our waitress to come to our table. Service was slow by the waitress. Food was ran out by the food runners so that was nice and fast just our waitress slacked. Good food tho!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Came here for a special brunch menu during Chicago Restaurant Week. All the dishes we had were excellent--the guacamole, beef, swordfish, huevos rancheros, etc. We will definitely be returning to enjoy their standard menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Tapas, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our service, ambiance and food were really amazing. Would go back if not for the food than the drinks! The prices were a lil pricey but it was worth it.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We went to Mercadito during restaurant week and the value of what we got for the cost was outstanding. Plenty of food to feed both myself and my (larger than average) boyfriend and multiple options within the pre-fixe menu! I'm not a big tequila drinker but the cocktails were outstanding! Our reservation was at 8:30, so it was very busy, as expected, but the volume level was something to contend with. That being said, it wasn't a total mood killer and even when we left at 1030, there were no empty tables in sight! Mixto Ceviche was my favorite thing on the menu. Definitely worth a visit!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great restaurant. We came for restaurant week and ordered off the regular menu.

Everything is delicious. My husband is a vegetarian and our friends got meat. The tacos are the way to go !

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, People Watching, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Three of us were seated at a table that clearly was made for 2 people. We were all uncomfortable sitting the whole meal. The food was great, but the service was slow and we couldn't wait to finish eating so we could get out of our uncomfortable seating situation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We went during restaurant week, which happens to be the same time as our anniversary. The menu offered something for each of us. The service is always attentive. The food well prepared & the fell of a hoping tapas restaurant. Its a nice meal with good people working. Enjoy!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great tequila selection. Great margaritas! Loud so be forewarned. Food is great. Servers will give great recommendations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Tacos are delicious. Highly recommend the red snapper tacos.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in Chicago! I tell everyone to go here. The tacos are amazing. The drinks are amazing and the service is always great!

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.