About Mercadito - River North

Mexican food with authentic flavors. Lobster, Shrimp, Fish, Steak, Chicken, and Pork TACOS!! Craft Cocktails that will blow your mind!!! Ample sized banquets accommodate large parties while smaller white quartzite tables and the soft wood floor and ceiling keep the atmosphere cozy. Exquisite details include rope screens separating banquettes, handmade pyramid-shaped copper lights illuminating the bar, and unique graffiti-style murals dressing the dining rooms. A massive bar area and lounge lets guests relax while taking in the stylish and upscale environment.

108 W. Kinzie
Chicago, IL 60610
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Saturday 11:00am-3:00pm & Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Tuesday: 3:00pm - 12:00am, Wednesday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 1:00am, Friday: 3:00pm- 2:00am: Saturday: 3:00pm - 3:00am

Cross Street:
Kinzie between N Clark and N La Salle

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 329-9555

Website:
http://www.mercaditorestaurants.com/chicago/

Catering:
MH-Catering: website: www.mh-catering.com
Call: 312.361.3299

Our team's knowledge is grounded in their experience as consumers and connoisseurs, and then improved through decades of restaurant and industry experience. We strive to create a remarkable and unique experience by perfectly detailing every aspect of your catering and event needs. It is important to us that every guest has an exceptional experience and is provided with extraordinary service.

Parking Details:
Valet parking daily

Public Transit:
Merchandise Mart stops Purple and Brown Line and 156 Bus LaSalle.

Executive Chef:
Patricio Sandoval

Private Party Facilities:
Plan your next birthday, office party, or event at Mercadito. For parties of seven or more we offer a range of tasting menus and open bar options to fit any budget and palate. We are happy to help you plan a memorable event that will exceed your expectations.

Private Party Contact:
Wendy Wohlfeill: (312) 329-9555

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For parties of seven or more we offer a range of tasting menus and open bar options to fit any budget and palate. We are happy to help you plan your event. Contact: events@mercaditorestaurants.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 9:00PM - 11:30PM

Mon - Thu 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 11:30PM

Fri 3:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 5:15PM

Sat 3:00PM - 5:15PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Mercadito - River North Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (55)
Good for Groups (54)
Fun (50)
See All
Fit for Foodies (44)
Casual (42)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Hot Spot (37)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Authentic (35)
Tapas (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Special Occasion (27)
Spicy (27)
Great for Lunch (24)
Happy Hour (22)
Late-night Find (20)
Romantic (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
People Watching (14)
Quick Bite (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Business Meals (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Cozy (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (2)
Live Music (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
3692 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Great experience lots of fun cool ambiance I highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The waitress was very nice and attentive. The inside was very loud so we chose to sit outside. We ate at 8pm so it was very dark and they did not have much lighting on the patio. We ordered two drinks and one of them was terrible. The waitress took it back and replaced it with a new one. The new one was better, but not great. We didn't finish either of our drinks. Such a waste at $14 a piece. We ordered the traditioal Guacamole, flautas, pork tacos and street corn. Everything tastedgreat except for the tacos. They were so spicy, we each took one bite and could not take another. Overall good food, but small portions for the price.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic small tacos are great to share over cool drink menu. Super tasty!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a good time here, great tacos, and great drinks. What more do you want? Little pricey though, but then again what isn't in Chicago?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Chose Mercadito to celebrate my best friend’s birthday. The food was amazing as was the service! I will definitely choose Mercadito again in the future

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

This was my third visit to this restaurant, but the first time for dinner. The lunch and dinner menus are great (I'm vegetarian, and there are lots of options) and the cocktails were phenomenal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Lots of fun. Food was awesome. Place is loud. And people sit right on top of each other. But with food like this who cares.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious meal and very attentive waiter! Would definitely come back again in the future. Get the lobster tacos

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

It's super noisy. I could not hear across the table. The food is very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Food was amazing as usual. The hostess tried to seat our party of four which was reserved ahead of time, on a table meant for three people. They happily changed our table but should not have been placed on the small table in the first place.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Just as I remembered it - creative cool vibe to the interior as well as to the drinks and food. Loved the margaritas - esp Little Market. Of course the guacs were superb and the tacos were all perfectly delicious. We ordered the swordfish, mahi-mahi, skirt steak and Barbacoa and loved them all. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The food and drinks were good. The noise level was really bad and we couldn't hear anything. We were seated at the corner table and there was a speaker above us. In addition, with the large amount of tables in a small open room the noise level was high to begin with. Service was good but not excellent.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Lobster tacos were outstanding! Crispy potato slivers added texture and flavor. Tres leches cake was sweet and tasty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our party of six had a terrific time at Mercadito. The food was excellent. Everything we ordered was delivered hot and quickly. The margarita's were exceptional. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Super fun place to go to! My boyfriend and I went for date night and we had fun. It gets really loud though so if you are looking for quiet and intimate this is not the place to go to. Food was delish, music was upbeat and we just had a good time.

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Fantastic food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I wish the portion size was bigger for the prices they are charging

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Finally decided to try Mercadito (I walk by to / from work every day). Why did I wait so long? Lobster tacos were the stand out and the pork taco with the radish slaw take second prize. A long list of margarita options is definitely worth exploring as the two we had were top notch.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great, trendy atmosphere, creative drinks, knowledgeable waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We celebrated a bday there, food was excellent, steak tacos were the favorites! and the cucumber drink!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The tacos are so delicious especially the braised pork ones!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great food! Loved the drinks too. It was a little bit on the louder side for dinner with my parents, but they still had a good time

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food was good! Place was too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Consistently a good choice for upscale Mexican food in the city with a lively vibe!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great lobster tacos and shrimp ceviche! Impeccable service. I'm looking forward to returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We always have an excellent experience at Mercadito. While the tacos are always amazing, the queso fundido is what keeps me coming back for more!! Can't help but get one plain and and one with chorizo, soooooo good! We tried a variety of cocktails this time and were all pleasantly surprised. None were over powered by alcohol or sickening sweet. Looking forward to the next visit.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Margaritas were amazing! Tried ceviche for the first time (as I don't really like raw fish) but it was so good!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 27, 2017

My rating would be much higher if the restaurant weren't in the heart of Rick Bayless territory. The guacamoles, salsas, and ceviches were delicious but nowhere near the level of nearby Frontera Grill. The small tacos are loaded and fun to share. What's not to love about brisket with root vegetables tacos or lobster tacos, for that matter? The drink menu is full of fun tequila drinks and the Michelada I had was truly fantastic. The restaurant is loud, with music really pumping. That's not really my thing but it did make for a fun party vibe. All in all, it was all very satisfying experience but just not quite at the level of the local rival.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was excellent but service was lacking. For example, one waitress stopped by to greet us, then a different waitress came by to take our drink order. My husband received his drink, but we had to ask two more times to get my drink. Then the original waitress came back and acted like she hadn't already waited on us. It was very strange.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great food just wish it was a little less noisy. It is tiny portions for a lot of money so be prepared for tapas style. Service and cocktails were awesome though, jusr expensive and loud inside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Favorite River North tacos - come here often! Love the food and drinks - only complaint - LOUD!!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We were seated and left, I flagged someone down 15 minutes later ( no water no orders taken). Our section was empty and someone who sat near us and AFTER US, already had some food. We quickly ordered when someone finally came over and said that our waitress was actually waiting on the other side of the restaurant and somehow had our section too. We ordered shrimp tacos ceviche guacamole and steak tacos we got everything except the steak tacos at once the steak tacos a ride when everything else was already done being Consumed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Tables are to close together. Bad service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was too spicy. I admit that I have a sensitivity to hot spicy food, but I did ask the server about the dish that I planned to order. He told me that there would be a mild heat to it and that other restaurants used much more hot spices than this one. I ordered a chile releno which is not usually spicy at all and I could barely eat it. The sauce used in the dish was extremely spicy and even the guacamole had some kind of heat added to it. My friend, who loves spicy food even remarked that the guacamole was too spicy and that after eating his fish tacos, his lips felt like they were on fire.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This restaurant was extremely LOUD. We could barely hear each other and we were at a table for two. The food was very good but we will NOT return because of the noise level.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This place is the real deal! 👍 My husband and I ordered the salsa trio, guacamole tradicional, mahi mahi taquitos, and swordfish tacos. Not a bad plate, everything was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

This was my third visit to Mercadito and it did not disappoint us. Love the tapas-style food that is prepared so delicately and has a distinct taste and flavor. I'd highly recommend it any of my friends without hesitation. A couple of comments though: please make seating more comfortable. Way too many tables placed too closely together preventing guests from even getting out of their seats without the guests at the next table getting up as well or moving their tables. Therefore the seating arrangement is very uncomfortable . And, the paid salsa portions are woefully inadequate and it is an insult. Please pay attention to these things.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We got there and got seated right away. Our server was nice and got our order right. Will come back. Thanks Emily

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great food and wine but it is way too loud every time I've been there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Good food and a great crowd and very good drinks so over all diffently will be going back 🙌

Tags: Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.