Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.15mi

About Menton

The Fort Point neighborhood’s urban cityscape, with its blend of historic brick buildings and sleek design statements, is the perfect setting for Menton, Chef Barbara Lynch's modern interpretation of fine dining.

With beautifully executed cuisine, an unparalleled wine program, warm hospitality, and a glamorous setting, Menton seeks to excite, inspire, and transport guests. Pristine ingredients and refined technique are the basis for the seasonally inspired menus for lunch and dinner. A six-seat bar, with additional seating for ten at tables along a banquette, features expertly crafted cocktails and an approachable menu of comforting classics. Executive Wine Director Cat Silirie’s carefully curated wine list highlights small grower champagnes and rare vintages from lesser-known vineyards.

In addition to the dining room and bar, Menton boasts two private event spaces perfect for gathering with colleagues, friends, or family.

354 Congress
Boston, MA 02210
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French, Italian

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH ( a la carte & express lunch)
Dining Room
Monday - Friday: 11:30am-2:00pm

DINNER
Dining Room
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:30-10:00
Sunday - Monday: 5:30-9:00

(Please inquire for more information regarding parties 9 or larger in our Main Dining Room)

The Gold Bar
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00-11:00
Sunday - Monday: 5:00-10:00

Cross Street:
A Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 737-0099

Website:
http://www.mentonboston.com/

Parking Details:
Menton offers valet parking beginning at 5:00pm every evening at a price of $19.00 per vehicle.

Public Transit:
South Station

Executive Chef:
Barbara Lynch

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Mon 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Thu 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 1:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Menton offers both a Private Dining Room accommodating up to 45 guests seated or 65 for a reception as well as a Chef’s Table, an intimate space with a dynamic view of the kitchen seating up to 12. Our Private Events Manager will assist you in creating a truly memorable and personalized event.

Menton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Tasting Menu (43)
Creative Cuisine (39)
See All
Romantic (36)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for a Date (32)
Notable Wine List (26)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Modern Decor (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Business Meals (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Molecular Gastronomy (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Private Room (5)
Authentic (4)
Healthy (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Casual (0)
Sort By:
S
1450 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Food presentation was outstanding and service was great, unfortunately the food had no flavor. Pretty disappointing. My wife and I ordered different things and we both had the same 'no flavor' conclusion to our meals. Maybe just an off night?

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

We were there this past Sat. for our 31st wedding anniversary. Actually flew into Boston in large part to celebrate at Menton. Absolutely no disappointments. They were aware of our occasion and sat us at a nice quiet table where we enjoyed an absolutely wonderful evening. Jonathan and Simon were gracious and attentive as was the entire staff. The food was just excellent as was the wine.
We enjoyed the tour of the kitchen and meeting sous chef and other staff members.
We plan to make it a point to visit again, and again and again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

I don't mind paying good money for exceptional food. The meal was above average but didn't come close to justifying the prices. The ambiance was dated and not interesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I booked the restaurant due to the reputation of the best restaurant in Boston. It happened to be mothers' day, so the menu selection was only two.
We had five course plus cheese plate before the dessert.
The portion was rather small, but it made us fully enjoy the entire course.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Delicious. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Everything! And do mean everything is absolutely awesome at Menton!!!
My wife and I are regulars!!!!

Job well done Team Menton!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Simply Amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We loved everything about this place! The service was excellent but not obtrusive. We took our waiters recommendation and had the best octopus we have ever tasted. Ditto for my husbands quails. Even the bread and butter were exceptional.. The wine list was large and top notch as well. Portions were not huge but made up for it in flavor. We would love to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The "small plates" are indeed small - but they are tasty!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Another wonderful Barbara Lynch restaurant. My son and I celebrated an early Mother's Day with the chefs tasting menu. Each course was a work of art. The butter soup was unbelievable. Can't say enough about what a special place this is. Service was outstanding as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 9, 2017

While we were the only group in the dining room, the food, while plated almost perfectly (but not quite) lacked flavor—literally had no flavor whatsoever. The china was quite worn, maybe from catering. Service sterile and slow. This is not a 5 star establishment by any means; makes me rethink choosing Relais & Chateaux. The accreditations do not match the locale. We won't be back nor recommend. A very disappointing Boston dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Splurged on the tasting menu for an anniversary dinner, which turned into an engagement dinner between the last entree and the dessert! The food was incredible -- creative tastes, textures, and presentation. They were very willing to adapt the tasting menu to some dietary preferences, and even the palate cleansers were amazing! The staff were wonderfully attentive, accommodating, and knowledgeable (without being annoying or pretentious), and they eagerly conspired with my new fiancee when he wanted to pop the question but had to move the table out of the way first. A memorable night all around. Thank you, Menton!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

A fantastic foodie experience. Worth the trip from anywhere. Very attentive waitstaff. We had two out of 6 diners with food allergies/sensitivities and the kitchen was able to accommodate beautifully. The Chef's menu with the wine pairing is not to be missed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Top notch service and excellent chef's tasting menu.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

A very unique experience that although expensive was a wonderful night out and enjoyable with a very nice friend!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Absolutely amazing experience! Great food and service. Very creative and imaginative menu. It's bit of a marathon...out meal took almost 3 hours

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent birthday dinner! Delicious food, great service, dinner done right. Highly recommend for a birthday celebration, or any special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great first anniversary experience! Would totally recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

If Barbara Lynch would take time from the promotion of her recently published memoir to critically assess and inspect her flagship, I can't imagine she'd be pleased with what she'd find. It's a classic example of "celebrity" chef gone absent .....

The food was OK. But is "OK" okay at this price point? True it was lunch and the menu was pared down. But many of the choices are tired old warhorses from the restaurant's 8 +/- year run --- great perhaps when conceived and originally executed by Lynch and her A-team; but worn, bland, uninspired and under-executed by today's kitchen crew.

And speaking of worn .... An establishment which prides itself on Relais & Chateau recognition, and which Boston food-scene cheerleaders vaunt as a Michelin-star level restaurant, should do better than present food on dishwasher worn, marred and chipped china in a room furnished with beaten up chairs and marked-up walls/columns. Linens are cheap; not a flower to be seen on a table. These are the signs of a "fine dining" restaurant in decline, not an aspirant to Michelin-star recognition. Our wine was served in beautiful Zalto stemware, a detail that more restaurants with ambitious wine programs (Menton's wine list is carefully curated) should adopt.

Service was professional if somewhat clumsy at times. As with the room's furnishings, china and flatware, however, server uniforms were worn, soiled and ill-fitting --- not to mention out of style.

It's springtime in Boston. Lynch would do well to freshen up her pride and joy -- both what's coming out of the kitchen and the room in which it's served. For these $$$, you'd do better given the current state of affairs to hop a train to NYC where a myriad of true fine dining choices can provide real value and a memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Very fine experience with the tasting menu with wine pairing.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food was very tasty and unique. Presentation was awesome. And the service was great. However, I wouldn't recommend going there hungry. Portions are very tiny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Absolutely awesome!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We did the Chefs Tasting. Every Dish was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great Meal. The 8 course prefix was a work of art! The staff was so attentive and warm. I wasn't sure what to expect when other reviewers left comments that the staff was cold and aloof- our experience was quite the opposite. They gave us recommendations on where else to eat for our next trip to Boston. After dinner the GM gave us a tour of the kitchen and helped escort us down to Drink. Great experience and look forward to coming back to Menton and trying more places in the Barabara Lynch family of restaurants. Thank you for a memorable evening!

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Fantasy food , Awesome service, Romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The service and food were both spectacular. It's definitely a great restaurant for a romantic date. However, it was way too overpriced for what it entailed and the service staff took too long in between dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 3, 2017

My wife and I had a great time at the Captain's Table. The Tasting Menu and Pairings were excellent, but more importantly, everyone was friendly, answered all our questions, and made our experience a memorable one. We would highly recommend Menton!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Went to Menton for the first time this past weekend. The food was amazing and the service was spectacular. We will most definitely be eating at Menton again in the near future.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Menton lived up to its reputation and beyond. We had the Chef-table for the evening and it was a delight to watch the activity and interaction in the kitchen. The presentation was fabulous and the food beyond delicious. The creativity in the kitchen is amazing and the work is done in great harmony and precision.It is a place to be delighted and to impress.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I love food and traveling. Have been been to many top restaurants. This is definitely one of the most overrated restaurant. Food quality is low, service staffs are not well train, noise level is very high. Food is too salty. A $45 small piece of waygu beef doesn't taste authentic. Extremely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2017

While the food was absolutely spectacular, it was very over-priced in my opinion. We had been to the restaurant next door (Sportello), which had a very similar menu-this turned out to be because the two restaurants had the same owner and kitchen. It depends on what you're looking for: if it's supposed to be a fancy dinner and you're willing to pay a lot ( the tasting menu for one person with wine is 290$) menton is the place for you, but if you just want authentic Italian food Sportello is probably your better ( and more fairly priced) option.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We where looking forward to a special dinner. The waitstaff was terrific, the menu very interesting. We ordered our food and wine. Got one breadstick per person as an amuse bush.
The appetizers where very good and interesting. We got our main course and we where all disappointed. My pasta dish was cold under cooked pasta and I cold not even taste what the meat was. The portions where small and they served the bread with the main course.
We did not order dessert but went straight for coffee. We got a nice cookie platter and some mini macaroons. Very nice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Went here to for a birthday dinner and must say it was an amazing experience. Service was impeccable from start to finish. Even got a private tour of the Kitchen. Although everyone was great I have to acknowledge Jonathan. He made the experience even more memorable. I will admit that food was not amazing as I expected but from start to finish we had some really delicious courses from the "chefs whim". I will however return to try a la carte items. Cocktails are a must and wine list is fantastic. Overall a wonderful experience a must try for anyone who can appreciate dining at its finest!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This one of the best restaurants that I've ever eaten. The service is impeccable. Nothing is wrong here. Order the chefs menu if you've got the time. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We went to Menton during Dine Out Boston thinking they were participating in it for dinner. When our server informed us that it was only doing Dine Out Boston for lunch, we decided to try the Chef's choice 6-course dinner. I liked the idea of being surprised and also of trying something we might not have ordered from the menu otherwise. For instance, I'm not a big fan of beets, but the doppio ravioli was quite good. We also chose to have our dishes be different so we can sample each other's food. The food was delicious, especially the butter soup. There's a reason that's their signature dish. The portions are very small, but I left feeling like I couldn't eat another bite of food. In addition to the six courses, an amuse-bouche, mini croissant and butter, bread and dessert plate that included mini macarons were also served, on the house.

The service is outstanding, just read the other reviews. My husband found an eye lash on his food and requested that it be replated. When his plate was ready, the chef also sent me an extra dish, the bigoli, so that I didn't have to just watch my husband eat. They also comped my cocktail. The pace of the meal was also great - I didn't feel like I was waiting too long for each dish and certainly did not feel rushed. Another thing I'd like to mention is that my glass of water was never empty. It seems simple enough, but often doesn't happen at other restaurants.

Overall, an amazing experience. We are not used to spend this kind of money on a single meal, but Menton actually made us feel like it was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 17, 2017

It was just ok. I'll have to admit there were 2 courses that were very flavorful/beautiful, but out of the 10 we got total (separately), it was just ok. They could've tended to our tables a bit more, cleaned off the top of our tables some more. I am all about diversity, but it was EXTREMELY difficult to hear the composition of our plates with some of the servers thick accents. I really believe that hurts the dining experience, especially when you're guessing what you're having and starting off with confusion. I also wished they could cater to our diets better like they said they would. Granted, they did accommodate a pescatarian diet, but my wife really didn't want breads in the dishes. and I guess 2/5 they did. Oh well, I know we're at the whim of the chef, but we were hopeful when they said they could.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Lunch during restaurant week was superb which is often not the case at other restaurants that offer less than their best during restaurant week. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

I have been meaning to dine at Menton since it opened, and Dine Out Boston was the perfect time to try it out. I will save up and be back. (Staff made the entire experience even better.)

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Went there for lunch. The starter salad was less than expected--the greens were an excellent mixture however there was an unmistakable paucity of flavor in the Parmesan truffle--as a matter of fact, I did not detect any truffle flavor and the meager pieces of crisped Parmesan should have been increased. The flavoring of the salad was simply too subdued & uninspired. For my main course, the ribeye beef was outstanding in flavor and cooked to perfection at my requested medium rare!!! However, the portion was one tiny slice of beef no more than 2"X 1" & that was a disappointment!!! Really, at least 2-3 slices would have been nice! The accompanying vegetable (salsify) was delicious but again the attempt to be creative should have been balanced with a few more items on the plate! Because the serving sizes were so small, we ordered a dessert: the chocolate espresso tart. Again, I was underwhelmed--I can't explain why but it just was not an exciting flavoring. I will say the bread served with the food was delicious! And, service was exemplary overall. I'm glad I went, but not sure if I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

celebrating a special anniversary; received complimentary champagne, outstanding service and a tour of the kitchen. Food was outstanding. Very special and very memorable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.