Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Meddlesome Moth

The Meddlesome Moth is Dallas’ most interesting full service restaurant, featuring an honest and flavorful chef driven menu, full service bar, and one of the finest selections of hand-crafted beers in the US. In addition to a changing selection of entrees, our small plates are robustly promoted to encourage sharing. We feature local seasonal menu items and offer fresh blackboard specials daily. Our patio area is spacious for dining al fresco, and reservations are encouraged. At 11pm The Moth transforms into one of Dallas' most comfortable bars and remains so until 2am, Thursday thru Saturday. Closing time is midnight otherwise.

1621 Oak Lawn Ave.
Dallas, TX 75207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday Dinner: 3:00pm - 10:00 pm.
Friday & Saturday: Kitchen open until midnight
Bar open until 2:00am Friday-Saturday, Monday - Thursday: Bar open til midnight
Sunday: Bar open until 10

Cross Street:
Hi Line

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 628-7900

Website:
http://www.mothinthe.net/

Catering:
Please call for special catering orders.

Parking Details:
On street parking, parking lot and complimentary valet service.

Executive Chef:
Richard Graff

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Meddlesome Moth has accommodations for parties of virtually any size. From small seated dinners in our semi-private room, to cocktail parties on the patio or a buy-out of the space for you and your guests, we endeavor to accommodate most requests. Please contact events@mothinthe.net for more information

Meddlesome Moth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (50)
Great Beer (50)
Fit for Foodies (38)
See All
Creative Cuisine (36)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Casual (32)
Fun (31)
Good for Groups (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Hot Spot (29)
Great for Brunch (26)
Special Occasion (26)
Bar Seating (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Authentic (20)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Business Meals (18)
Tapas (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Tasting Menu (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
People Watching (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Romantic (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Cozy (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Seasonal (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Healthy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1805 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great environment for a special occasion! John who waited our table was amazing! Thank you for making the children feel inclusive!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Just recently discovered this restaurant and I really like it. Food - very good; service - very good, the vibe - very good ++; frankly the name of the restaurant didn't give me a good feeling so I've been reluctant to try it. But have been on a Saturday two weeks ago and then again this past Sunday. I really liked it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

Food is good and server is very helpful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 13, 2017

The food here is great! Try the burratta as an appetizer! You won't be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 12, 2017

The beer selection here is great, while I am not a "beer drinker" I had a nice full bodied cab, and that was nice, my husband had the recommendation of a good stout beer. He loved it. Its his new favorite. Thanks to our waiter who was attentive, and explained the menu to us, as well as helping my husband decide on a beer. Wish I could remember his name, but he was a great server to us. The food was fine. But not great. The lamb sausage sticks were OK, but the zatziki and hummus were very good! The baby back ribs lack in flavor. But were very tender. I still enjoyed them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Celebrated my nephews 11th Birthday for the weekend in Dallas! So enjoyed brunch on Sunday and loved the Donut sandwich!!! Happy Birthday Reed!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We got to the Meddlesome Moth ~ 9pm for a birthday celebration with a total of five guests, four of which were out of town guests. I had been several times in the past and had good experiences. The best part of the restaurant was the décor/design. The "stained glass" is very cool, the dark wood is inviting, and the Chuck Berry and other decorative pieces really added a nice touch to this restaurant/bar.
The service was sub-par, and the food was very mediocre at best. Some of the items we ordered included the stick meats (fairly good), chicken skin chips (swimming in oil and looked visibly wet; I didn't try these because of how bad they looked), moth balls (these were okay, but surprisingly, they didn't have much flavor and the waitress even told us to eat them first because they don't tast good if they get cold at all), baby back ribs (which were cold to room temperature but had good flavor), roasted chicken plate (I didn't taste this but it looked like the best food on the table), French fries (best item I ate), and broccolini (this could have been good but they put WAY too much sauce on it). No one really enjoyed their meal.
The best item they serve is the beer. They have a great beer selection, and I think everyone enjoyed the drinks much more than the meal. If I ever planned to go here again, I would sit at the bar to drink beer and maybe order an appetizer.
It was a birthday party. At the end of the meal, the waitress was nice enough to bring out a birthday candle to blow out... BUT it was literally a candle stuck (melted) to a plate... no dessert. After paying for meals and drinks for five people, you would think they could spare a dessert (and five forks) to wish someone a happy birthday. On top of it, she brought this out to the wrong person, which made it a little awkward for the party.
When it was time to leave, it was a long process to get our check and to pay. This recent visit to Meddlesome Moth will be my last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We needed a little explanation of the menu. Waitstaff were very attentive. Lots of menu choices. Food was very good. Ambiance was also good, a "night out", upbeat vibe. However, the noise level was a little overpowering. Overall a great evening.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 9, 2017

For my first visit this place was not bad!! I enjoyed the variety of the food and beverage menus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Loved the experience of shared plates, perfect for a date, Liz was an amazing waitress! She gave us room to talk and made sure we always had drinks and let us take our time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 8, 2017

This place was just awful! It was recommended to us by a friend and we will no longer be friends! We opted to sit on the patio and it was so loud from trucks going by. Service was subpar (is it really that hard to notice my water glass is empty and needs to be refilled?,) but what really mattered was the terrible food. This whole “farm to table” thing is just out of control. As if before this phrase ever came out, all my prior meals didn’t come from a farm? We ordered the guacamole and it was covered with peas? Who does that? That's a cruel joke. One of us ordered the Cobb salad and it was lettuce, some chicken, a piece of what look like beef jerky, tomatoes and some oil and vinegar. It was the most unremarkable, unimaginative, boring salad we ever saw or tasted. I genuinely can't believe they served it and call it a Cobb. If you want bland boring food that is overpriced – then sure go and enjoy. We will never be back. Hip and trendy farm to table this is not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Cool room, nice patio, EXCELLENT beer list... one of the best I've ever seen (and all affordably priced). Hostess was very friendly, but service was average. Food was average in taste and presentation but also reasonably priced. Would go back again for beer and snacks. Mandatory valet, so make sure you have some cash in your wallet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We had a nice meal and a pleasant server at Meddlesome Moth. However, as we were leaving, we asked the hostess if she could give us change for a $5 bill. She barely looked up from her phone and replied " oh the bartender can do that", and continued looking down at her phone. We are very sensitive to customer service and how people are treated in an establishment and this disregard for us was a real turn off.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Meddlesome Moth is our favorite restaurant in Dallas. Best place to try interesting beer. And the food is amazing! We would highly recommend Meddlesome Moth as a must when in Dallas.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Tapas, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Brunch was excellent! Cocktails and waffles were delish!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Brunch was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Took my family to brunch at TMM and it was wonderful. Everyone enjoyed their dishes very much. We were a party of 7 in a huge crescent shaped booth. Plenty of room. Our server was excellent and made good suggestions to folks that were on the fence. And the Bloody Mary's were fantastic. It's a little loud but we were able to have conversation without too much trouble. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant if anyone in your party has a hearing problem and you expect to having quiet conversation. The place has a very unique interior as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Interesting ambiance and good food. The service was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great ambience, excellent service, a fun menu, and an amazing selection of craft beers. Definitely hit up Meddlesome Moth for a fun date night, get together with friends, or girls night. Plates are made for sharing so bring your friends!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Fun, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We stop here to eat almost every time that we are in Dallas. It is in close proximity to the American Airlines Center so it is convenient for pre- or post-events at that venue.
Our last visit was for brunch, and everything was delicious. One person had the Bacon Waffle, another one had the the French Toast Sandwich, two had the Mother and Child Reunion, and one had the BLT sandwich. Everything was delicious and well prepared and presented. There is a wide selection of beer; one of the most extensive that I have seen. The bar also has a nice wine selection and cocktails. Our server was friendly and efficient. Consistently good food and beer.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

One of our go-to's for a variety of craft beer and delicious share plates. Mussels are a must

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

I love everything about Meddlesome Moth! The menu is succinct, but every option is great. The ambiance is cool and I have never had a dull time when I go.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Really great menu options, I loved the delicious plates to share options- these were large portions and 3 was more than enough for dinner for two big appetites!
Beer selection was great, some cool items that you don't see everyday.
Setting really cozy and cool.
Service was 5 star!

My only (very minor) gripe was that a bunch of the beers I wanted to try in a fligh were excluded from flights- worked out okay, all the options I picked were good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Authentic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Pretty good food. Service was fine - maybe a little ambivalent. The dining too was FREEZING cold and we were told they couldn't adjust the temp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Almost every time I visit Dallas I return to Meddlesome Moth. The ambiance is great, but the small plate offerings and the quality of the food, combined with great servers, are the real reasons I return and recommend MM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was good, but the service was extremely slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Had a great brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

One of our "go to" places for Sunday brunch. You can always depend on quality of food - and service has always been excellent. Only down side is the noise level when trying to visit.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Hands down one of my favorite restaurants ever. Brunch is delicious, service is amazing and the restaurant is so damn cool!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 7, 2017

It was a perfect night - food was amazing and the service (Patrick) was exceptional. Drinking tip - order the sparkling wine - best bargain on the wine menu.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We had a great waiter! Knew when to engage and when to let us enjoy being there and the food! Probably one of the top 10 waiters ever!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fun, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We all had a very nice time, food was delicious as always the only drawback was the noise level. It was difficult to talk to each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Good food and plenty of beers and mixed drinks to choose from!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

A true gem in the Dallas area. I love the food, service, and atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Service was very attentive. Food was wonderful. I had the eggs Benedict with crawfish etouffee and it was delicious. Will be back to enjoy other selections.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Food is amazing, service is unparalleled in its greatness. Price our server was wonderful, 100% recommend and will be returning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, People Watching, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Meddlesome Moth is one of my favorite spots for lunch. It's a great place to have a business lunch, with a wide variety of options on the menu. I'm partial to the Greek Yellowfin Salad. The generous portion of Tuna is always fresh and seared perfectly. And the salad greens are plentiful and varied. I highly recommend the Moth!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Excellent service; great variety of interesting lunch choices.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 24, 2017

The service was amazing and we enjoyed the fresh spin on ordinary dishes as well as the beer selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This was a great find for me and my wife. We love good beer and shareable plates. This place had them both. The beer list had beers I never heard about, which has become rare, and the food was excellent.

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.