About Meddlesome Moth

The Meddlesome Moth is Dallas’ most interesting full service restaurant, featuring an honest and flavorful chef driven menu, full service bar, and one of the finest selections of hand-crafted beers in the US. In addition to a changing selection of entrees, our small plates are robustly promoted to encourage sharing. We feature local seasonal menu items and offer fresh blackboard specials daily. Our patio area is spacious for dining al fresco, and reservations are encouraged. At 11pm The Moth transforms into one of Dallas' most comfortable bars and remains so until 2am, Thursday thru Saturday. Closing time is midnight otherwise.

1621 Oak Lawn Ave.
Dallas, TX 75207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday Dinner: 3:00pm - 10:00 pm.
Friday & Saturday: Kitchen open until midnight
Bar open until 2:00am Friday-Saturday, Monday - Thursday: Bar open til midnight
Sunday: Bar open until 10

Cross Street:
Hi Line

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 628-7900

Website:
http://www.mothinthe.net/

Catering:
Please call for special catering orders.

Parking Details:
On street parking, parking lot and complimentary valet service.

Executive Chef:
Richard Graff

Private Party Facilities:
Meddlesome Moth has accommodations for parties of virtually any size. Our semi-private room can seat up to 14 guests, or can be reserved for a standing, mingling event for up to 40 guests. We also have a large patio and beer garden which may be reserved for special events up to 100 guests

Private Party Contact:
Courtney Love: (844) 903-1377

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Meddlesome Moth has accommodations for parties of virtually any size. From small seated dinners in our semi-private room, to cocktail parties on the patio or a buy-out of the space for you and your guests, we endeavor to accommodate most requests. Please contact events@mothinthe.net for more information

Meddlesome Moth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (53)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Good for a Date (45)
See All
Fit for Foodies (41)
Fun (39)
Neighborhood Gem (35)
Modern Decor (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Bar Seating (31)
Casual (30)
Worth the Drive (28)
Good for Groups (27)
Hot Spot (26)
Great for Brunch (26)
Special Occasion (25)
People Watching (24)
Great for Lunch (23)
Business Meals (22)
Happy Hour (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Tapas (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Romantic (16)
Open Kitchen (15)
Authentic (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Seasonal (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Family Style (9)
Cozy (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Healthy (5)
Organic (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Spicy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Historic (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Private Room (2)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1641 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Was recommended by a friend and was told it was a great place to go with colleagues and friends. Plates to share... good food & drinks and a super selection of beers. The beer tasting option is a must if you are into beer. A bit loud for my taste... was in a booth against a wall so maybe this did not help. Anyway great place to have fun and good laughs with friends.

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Service slow. Food less memorable than the last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved the food and the place. Service was good, but a little bit slow. We tried several appetizers and wine and everything was delicious.

Don't have any chocolate desserts !

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything is yummy... Outstanding beer menu. Service is generally very good, but sometimes hard to get waiter's attention because they are busy....But when they are with you wait staff is great!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Reserved a table and got the worst table. It looked like they ran out of seating and set one small table up by a door directly under the ac vent. However they let us move outside and once we got the correct menus we could order very good food with satisfactory service. Excellent beer selection. Not a date place in my opinion. But for an afternoon get away or weekend bar it is wonderful.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Always love Brunch at the Moth. Food is always amazing but make reservations & just know it's going to get busy + loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

The place is nice, even though we had reservation we had to wait 10 minutes for our table, the food wasn't what I expected, tasteless, very good beer menu and the service was always excellent, despite this we had very good time.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined 7 days ago

Been there handful of times, food is excellent and the large selection of beers are very nice. Hostress is okay. She could use some smile but the food and ambience beat that. Our waitress was great!!! Service was pretty quick. Overall is an awesome meeting place for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Love everything there! Fun place, great services, delicious food with unique menu, guarantee you will be satisfied. highly recommended

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Overall good..little loud after about 9:30 from poor acoustics..makes it hard to hear conversation. Food and service was in point.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Get the bacon on a stick! It really is incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Eclectic menu, generous portions, & great service. Everything we tried was yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day, very warm and comfortable setting. The food was delicious! Definitely worth the price!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I wasn't sure what to expect. I'd heard the place had a large beer selection, which was the primary draw for my girlfriend and me. This didn't disappoint, either. We spent several minutes going over the thrity-something item draught list. The menus gave thorough descriptions of the beers and how they were brewed, but the food item descriptions were rather spartan. We weren't entirely sure about portion size vs price or what was even in some of the "Shared plates." We ended up getting an order of "stick meats", which was a steak filet served on five skewers in a sesame glaze, and some baby back ribs that came with a side of fries. The ribs were very tasty and were in a spicy dry-rub. The meat was so tender it just fell off the bones. I can't recommend the stick-meat, however. The steak was rather tough and was basically an appetizer portion that was roughly the same price as the ribs and fries.

The beers are really where this place shines. We sampled four different kinds, five if you count the waiter bringing us the wrong beer. Our favorite being the Firestone Walker Sucaba. If you're looking for a place to try new beer, you'll most certainly find something you like here.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

More than happy to tell everyone about this place. We absolutely loved it. My husband is a chef and sometimes it's hard to find a menu that intrigues him. We ordered the bone marrow, Belgian style Mussels, a rabbit pot pie, and shared a flight of really nice brews. It was amazing! We will be going back soon (hopefully for brunch) ☺

Tags: Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our table was very near the patio door, so lots of traffic and gusts of wind detracted from our evening. Our server was not on top of things - we repeatedly had to ask for simple things like our drinks, a salad, a fork - it got ridiculous. The server always downplayed the delay and made it sound like he was doing us a favor by checking on the issue. We used to love the Moth, now we won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of our favorite spots for brunch! We also love to go for casual dinners and the great beer selection. The only downside is that the service can be iffy. It was great this time though!

Tags: Disabled Access, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great, fun restaurant.Amazing selection of beers and a fun opportunity to try 5 beers in their beer flight.Delicious and interesting foods.The waiters are friendly and helpful with selections.We enjoyed our evening and will definitely go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The Meddlesome Moth is fine dining at its best. Fantastic food, incredible desserts, and awesome local bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

One of my favorite brunchs period. The mother and child reunion and the country breakfast are my favorites. Solid French toast. Good coffee and amazing beer selection.

Tags: Romantic, Disabled Access, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food and service. Four friends having brunch. It was great for conversation on the patio. Badass bacon waffle was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We frequent this establishment for all occasions. The staff is great and very helpful.

Our favorite is the Brunch the BLT is to die for and the blood mary's with Beer chasers are a nice compliment. For Lunch we love Hamburger, and dinner is a variety of choices Pot Pies are always good. The Beer choices are many and can be confusing if you are not a beer professional.lol But just read you will be fine.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always love Meddlesome Moth. Great menu and beer selection. We always start with mussels and a beer flight each. On this night we were with a bigger group which I liked because it enabled us to share several different small plates. All the food was great as usual. We have never been disappointed. It's always an enjoyable experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Looking for something while out of town.

Meddlesome Moth delivered.

Unique, tasty, and top not service

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 3, 2017

awesome atmosphere and great food, daily specials were spectacular!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We had a great meal with great service. Food was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, People Watching, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Pleasant and efficient service, good food, fun (and vivacious) atmosphere. A nice lift after a long day!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Very nice business dinner before heading to the Mavericks' game. The beer flight our server selected for me was outstanding!

Tags: Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Three of us from out of town found this local gem. Tapas style but better with highly creative items from pork belly to octopus to scallops to greens. Something for everyone. The decor of the stained glass was fascinating. This will not disappoint you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our brunch on Sunday was delicious! The only reason I'm giving a 4 overall is due to our server. I understand everyone has bad days, but this was extreme. The first time she asked if we were ready to order was less than a minute after handing us our menus, she asked 2 more times soon after that, and we weren't dawdling or taking our time. She hardly looked at us, never smiled, didn't ask if we had any questions, etc. We also noticed she didn't return after our meals were served to see if we needed anything else (we didn't, so it wasn't a problem.) It was the only less-than-great part of our experience, though, and we will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I liked most of the dinner, The receptionist was not very welcoming as usual.

Our muscles came out at different times. They forgot the 2nd order.

I got the cowboy ribeye for 69 last fall when I was in and it was great. I ordered the Ribeye for 51 and it was not bone in and was very over cooked. I was disappointed for such an expensive piece of meat. The dinner was nice, but I was a disappointed.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our server bizarrely changed her eye-glasses during our meal. Not sure if one pair was her "reading glasses" or what but it certainly made for an interesting conversation on the way home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We enjoyed the opportunity to try many dishes (tapas style)and especially liked the Thai mussells, Ahi tuna sticks and the lamb sticks! Our server Patrick was friendly and informative making suggestions without being obtrusive. Their beer selection is second to none, but since we do not drink, we were pleased to have a house made basil/lime beverage which complemented the meal. We enjoyed it so much we have made a reservation to bring our friends next week as it is a perfect envi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Comfortable atmosphere that contributes to either romantic dinner or dinner with friends and family. The small and large entrees are varied to meet anyone's taste. Meddlesome Moth has a high standard of using very fresh ingredients to create unique dishes. The service was warm, knowledgable.

Tags: Seasonal, Tapas, Bar Seating, Organic, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 26, 2017

I love the ambiance and vibe. The last time I was there, I remember the food being better. Everything I ordered was "just ok", nothing that I would go back for.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Love Meddlesome Moth. Food, service and ambiance are always something I look forward to.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 25, 2017

I surprised my girlfriend with dinner at Meddlesome Moth for our 3 year anniversary and I am pleased to say it was a success. We love hummus, so we started with the hummus and pita bread plate and it was a very tasty dish with a little bit of spice and the pita bread was soft and warm. Her and I both ordered salads, hers was the Cobb, mine was the Caesar and both were excellent. I added chicken to mine and it was cooked to perfection. We will be back on our cheat day so we can get some different, more high caloric, entrees next time! My only critique goes to the waitress, although she did her job well, I could barely hear her over everybody else - I would recommend just speaking up a bit; but it did not hurt her tip, she did a great job and was clearly busy but still attended to us timely.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Food was amazing and they have a great beer selection mixed with a very cool decor. The service was great for half of our dinner and then we were kind of Forgotten for the second half. Overall though A great experience

Tags: Family Style, Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Always a delight to lunch at Meddlesome Moth. Always good mix of salads and sandwich choices.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 23, 2017

All a matter of principle. Dawned on me finally after dining there numerous times that if you want a sofa is a small bottle which does not fill up a glass and each refill is a separate charge. It felt like intentional fleecing. Won't be going back and likely will not mention the restaurant to anyone. I spoke to the person at the front desk but didn't get the sense the criticism was of interest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Poor service and food not that good. A party of 5, took quiet a while to even get drinks, server seemed overly busy. Hardly ever saw him. We were not impressed with our food, not that good. The atmosphere is good but we were there for a special occasion and it was not that special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always a great beer selection. Amazing food to go along with it on this visit as well...

Tags: Business Meals, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Generally, pretty good. Best part was the beer menu. I had an IPA and Pale Ale from breweries I had never head of, both were excellent. My girlfriend had a margarita which I tasted and found very refreshing.

Food was pretty good as well. Only problem is that I never know how to order off of a 'share plates' type of menu. We ordered separately which worked out fine, but I never like the sharing thing.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We would most definitely return to this restaurant!! Overall terrific find!! My only reason for not giving 5 stars is the waiter too busy folding napkins, conversing with other waiters, then checking on our table (i.e. we had to wait for bill, then wait again for him to return to get bill & it was not busy at the time).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fun, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I really enjoy going to Meddlesome Moth! Great service, value priced and daily specials! One of my favorites!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

If you are a foodie, you will definitely find something amazing to please your palate! Lot's of fun, good wines and shareable plates!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Yet again, thoroughly enjoyed the food and ooverall experience.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Terrific find in high priced Dallas area near Anatole. The food was tremendous (Wagyu Beef Tartare, mussels, and Rabbit Pot Pie) all FABULOUS. Unbelievable cheap with these three items and two drinks for two --$66. a MUST go place!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Sunday brunch was great. We both had three mother and it was so good! The peach mimosas were great to finish it all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Best brunch in Dallas! Try the Mother Child Reunion or the Whiskey Maple Donut; did I mention the beer selection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.