Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.42mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Meddlesome Moth

The Meddlesome Moth is Dallas’ most interesting full service restaurant, featuring an honest and flavorful chef driven menu, full service bar, and one of the finest selections of hand-crafted beers in the US. In addition to a changing selection of entrees, our small plates are robustly promoted to encourage sharing. We feature local seasonal menu items and offer fresh blackboard specials daily. Our patio area is spacious for dining al fresco, and reservations are encouraged. At 11pm The Moth transforms into one of Dallas' most comfortable bars and remains so until 2am, Thursday thru Saturday. Closing time is midnight otherwise.

1621 Oak Lawn Ave.
Dallas, TX 75207
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 3:00pm, Sunday Dinner: 3:00pm - 10:00 pm.
Friday & Saturday: Kitchen open until midnight
Bar open until 2:00am Friday-Saturday, Monday - Thursday: Bar open til midnight
Sunday: Bar open until 10

Cross Street:
Hi Line

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 628-7900

Website:
http://www.mothinthe.net/

Catering:
Please call for special catering orders.

Parking Details:
On street parking, parking lot and complimentary valet service.

Executive Chef:
Richard Graff

Private Party Facilities:
Meddlesome Moth has accommodations for parties of virtually any size. Our semi-private room can seat up to 14 guests, or can be reserved for a standing, mingling event for up to 40 guests. We also have a large patio and beer garden which may be reserved for special events up to 100 guests

Private Party Contact:
Courtney Love: (844) 903-1377

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Meddlesome Moth has accommodations for parties of virtually any size. From small seated dinners in our semi-private room, to cocktail parties on the patio or a buy-out of the space for you and your guests, we endeavor to accommodate most requests. Please contact events@mothinthe.net for more information

Meddlesome Moth Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (63)
Good for a Date (57)
Creative Cuisine (54)
See All
Fit for Foodies (51)
Fun (42)
Special Occasion (35)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Casual (32)
Bar Seating (32)
Vibrant Bar Scene (31)
Good for Groups (30)
Modern Decor (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Great for Brunch (27)
Happy Hour (27)
Hot Spot (26)
Great for Lunch (24)
Comfort Food (22)
Open Kitchen (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Tapas (20)
Business Meals (20)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Romantic (19)
People Watching (18)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Authentic (16)
Tasting Menu (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Cozy (13)
Seasonal (11)
Healthy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Organic (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Family Style (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Historic (2)
Spicy (2)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1711 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined a day ago

Consistently very good food at reasonable prices. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

The most fabulous roast chicken I've ever had! And great service from our server, Christian!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

This is a very attractive restaurant and the location is great. I also appreciate the valet parking. Our server was very good and overall it was a good experience. We were there for lunch and I had the smoked chicken croissant which was OK. My friend had the grilled cheese. Both of us thoght the food ws nothing special. In my opinion the best part was the wine!! But this won't be high on my list for a return trip. Maybe it's better for brunch?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Loved the moth balls and the rabbit pot pie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Always loved the Moth, but this time was very disappointing. Service was super slow and the food was well below what we've normally had. Hopefully we just caught an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 16, 2017

We have eaten here several times before. Had a so so meal but it had been a while. Thought we would try again as it is close by.
Mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Delicious! Beautiful place!

Lots of beer selections. Every single thing we are (8 different dishes) was delicious and very fresh. Excellent quality.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I love coming for Brunch. The bacon slices are darned near the size of a pork chop! Great outdoor seating. Always always make a reservation, breakfast, brunch or dinner. They have a huge full service bar, in case you forget, that will be the only seat you will get. Maybe.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I love going to the Meddlesome Moth for any occasion. My latest venture there had everything perfect save an undercooked steak, which happens. Their cocktails are greatness and they also have a super beer menu.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Good food and service! Soup was excellent! Waiter was well informed on menu items and had several suggestions for our party of five!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Went for a pre-Mothers day lunch. Mother in law loved it. A little noisy, but not bad. Very interesting menu and quite affordable, considering the area (design district). The interior is very inviting and comfortable - kinda library/hip. Nice drinks selection, especially for the craft beer connoisseur. Valet parking.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great place to have a business meal, or a dinner date. Black bean soup at lunch was a big miss last week. The texture was that of a thick bean dip. But that's the first time I've been disappointed in a meal there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Took my mom to Sunday Brunch for her birthday. Had the most delicious cinnamon buns we have ever tasted plus french press coffee, amazing cocktails, great atmosphere, service, all around wonderful experience. Very creative menu as well. We can't wait to go back for dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was good but from the hostess to the waitress the service was below average. Not one smile on their faces, over all body language seemed hesitant to attend our table and her tone seemed bothered when taking our order. Once we were finished eating we waited a good 20 minutes for our check and even had to call another waiter to get her attention. I've heard so many good things about this place but was very disappointed when I came to see for myself. The food is fairly good but in my opinion it really was not worth the unnecessary attitudes.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Loved it! Great date night and awesome tequila for cinco de mayo celebrations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Met with friends for dinner. The atmosphere is very positive, and every staff person very professional and upbeat. Definitely will spread the word about the Meddlesome Moth as a place to relax and unwind after work, or date night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Organic, Tapas, Fun, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I really like Meddlesome Moth but I've learned that it's not everyone's cup of soup. I'll keep going back if for no other reason than Chuck, Elvis and Jerry Lee!

Tags: Comfort Food, Organic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had a great time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Overall, I thought MM was very good, bordering on great. Tried a lot of smaller dishes, no entrees, and most were excellent. The bone marrow and tuna sticks were exceptions as I felt that they were just okay, and we're missing something. That bacon with hollandaise though...woah. Service was good, but a tad slow, which is understandable because they were slammed on a Friday night. I can't knock them for being busy and didn't hesitate to tip well. Beer selection is fantastic. I think that you can get great value for your dollar here as prices are not that steep and even the smaller dishes are plentiful. Don't skip that broccollini if you like spicy dishes. It was awesome.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Tapas, Bar Seating, Fun, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Spicy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

As always delicious brunch, not a single bad thing yet on this menu. Service was a little slow but it was Sunday morning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The shrimp and grits are phenomenal. Great place and has a great tap selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

It was a bit cold, as some patrons being served on the patio led to the door constantly blowing gusts of very cold air into the dining room. Unfortunate, but once we warmed up with the food it was okay. The food was great, the waiter was excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This restaurant offers a lot of small plates which are ideal for sharing, so it's great for groups willing to share flavorable and unhealthy food. Go with an open mind and try new things. The staff is knowledgeable and although he disappeared for a while at times he gave good service when he came around.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Starting with the noise level, it was so loud I couldn't hear my daughter who was sitting next to me. Which also meant we could barely hear the waiter. The menu is a bit meat centric but even though I don't eat meat, I still had several options to choose from. All of the salads were very good. On that note, when a server brought out 2 of the 3 salads we had ordered, I asked her if the 3 rd had been ordered and her answer was " I only have 2 hands and I'll have to go back to get the other one!" This same server was less than nice the next time she brought something to our table. Overall, it wasn't a bad experience, just not one I would be quick to revisit

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I chose this restaurant because of its reviews on Open Table, and I totally agree. It was a wonderful experience. The food is varies, fresh, and delicious. I had PEI Mussels while my husband enjoyed a steak. He also tried the house special dessert, the cinnamon roll bread pudding. There is a lively bar crowd, and our mixed drinks were perfect. The service is friendly and fast. Great place!

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The food was great. Unfortunately our waitress wasn't very good and spent most of her time talking to the hostesses rather than checking in and taking care of her guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

the menu is always inventive and fun to try, especially the small plates to share. You always have to remind them to space out the servings and they still will bring them to you all at once, so be sure they understand. Great beer selection and paring suggestions.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Tapas, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful Easter brunch. Very creative options all super tasty and served in large portions. Loved the gooey table rolls. Loved the Pork belly hash. Loved the chicken and waffle. Loved the smooth Frech roast coffee from the coffee roaster next door. In fact we loved everything we had. Our waiter was just awesome too. Great meal in every way. Will absolutely do it again soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Delicious food, great drinks, down to earth restaurant.

Tags: Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Great Beer, Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Came over from Fort Worth to try this sister restaurant to Bird Cafe on Sundance Square in Fort Worth. The theme here is small plates to share, and it's the perfect dining option for a date as you both get to try lots of stuff. The craft beer list here is extensive. The wine list is average, some nice choices, but the craft beer gets the nod. Service is very good, we had a primary server for our table, but the team did a great job to ensure we enjoyed our experience. There is complementary valet parking next to the restaurant, and a nice big bar area. We sat out on the patio and it was delightful. I will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 14, 2017

A beautiful selection of draft beer and excellent menu. We shared Oysters, Bone Marrow, Chicken Skins and Duck Wings for a spectacular impromptu dinner.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great food! Love the plates to share. Waiter offered suggestions and offered a sample of beer to help decide which one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The food was unique and really good. The beer flights the waitress recommended were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We met friends for brunch, as we regularly do at different restaurants in Dallas. The drinks were delicious. The "morning buns" (although not morning buns, but cinnamon rolls in a cast iron skillet) were delicious. So far, an excellent brunch. But then the wheels came off. The entrees were delivered, but not as ordered. Poached eggs were fried. Gravy on the side was poured all over the meat. Bacon was a pork chop. Cheese grits were heavy and flavorless. Jalapeño gravy barely tasted on jalapeños. The bill for two with drinks and shared morning buns was over $60 - not outrageous, but outrageous for the food and service. You have a choice of being seated outside (too windy today) or in the extremely dark restaurant. I'm sure the ambiance would have been better outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great Sunday brunch. Interesting specials. Noteworthy service. Cool decor. Highly recommended.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Love this place! Took my lady on a date here and she loved it as well. This is my go to date place and they have an amazing selection of beer and wine and cocktails, with some of the tastiest food in Dallas!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We had hummus and guacamole and both were fantastic! We were two girls out for wine and light dinner. We agreed that our husbands would not have liked the menu! Not enough meat and potatoes items. But we were very pleased with our choices. Portions are large so don't over order!!!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Wonderful service and food with original flair. The temperature inside the restaurant was a little chilly this rainy morning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

It is a shared plate style of dining. The muscles were my favorite of everything we got. They were cooked perfectly and the broth was so good I couldn't stop dipping my bread in it. We also got the Waygu tartar. It was excellent. Although the presentation wasn't great, the flavor was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 2, 2017

In Dallas for business and we actually ate here twice. The menu is somewhat limited but eclectic enough that there is something to suit a variety of tastes. The food is imaginative and very well-prepared. Most of the menu is small plates to be shared which I love because I get to try more items that way and don't overeat. The Belgian mussels were outstanding and were nicely accompanied by the broccolini. The second visit we had a Vietnamese style shrimp crepe which was a wonderful mix of flavors that really worked. We paired it with asparagus that was prepared with olives and capers. The asparagus was so al dente that I had difficulty cutting it with a knife even though they were very thin. The dish was good, but not a good mix with the crepe - too many cultures on one plate, but that was our fault for choosing that pair of items, not the restaurant's. The mixed green salad was excellent. I would definitely recommend this restaurant - it was a real find.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.