About McNinch House

511 North Church St.
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

For the last 22 years, the ca. 1892 Queen Anne style home of Victorian-era Charlotte Mayor Sam McNinch has served as the McNinch House Restaurant. In this historic Fourth Ward home of the original chef/owner Ellen Davis, guests can expect to be treated like royalty during their multi-course culinary journey. Featuring Charlotte's most carefully constructed wine list, guests will select their entrees from the chef's choice menu, and professional service staff will take care of the rest. Recognized as Charlotte's Most Romantic Restaurant, The McNinch House Restaurant is the perfect place for your anniversary, birthday, special event, private corporate or executive dining. **ALL RESERVATIONS MUST INCLUDE A VALID EMAIL ADDRESS TO CONFIRM**



Dinner Only, Prix Fixe:

7 Courses-$109pp

5 Courses-$89pp

Chef's Tasting-$185pp

Chef's Table-$159pp

+ alcohol, tax, & gratuity (20% standard)

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Only: Tuesday - Saturday evenings
Seatings every 30 minutes from 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 9th St. & 8th St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-6159

Website:
http://www.mcninchhouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking on our private property for up to 20 vehicles.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Shepard

Private Party Facilities:
Private party accommodations are offered for groups up to 50. We welcome weddings, rehearsal dinners, corporate closing dinners, and medical education dinners, and will be happy to discuss your individual group's needs for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Corey Cochran: (704) 332-6159

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

McNinch House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Romantic (17)
Notable Wine List (10)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Cozy (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Historic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Seasonal (3)
Private Room (2)
Authentic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Fireplace (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Business Meals (1)
Healthy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It is one of the more interesting and un ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

It is one of the more interesting and unique dining establishments. The ambiance takes you back to a place in time where life seemed to be more simple and manners made a difference. The staff was absolutely wonderful and very attentive, but not annoying or over-bearing. My first disappointment was that the Pear Salad was not available; I was really looking forward to it, but these things happen. My second disappointment was that I asked for them to not put any black pepper on my She Crab soup but there it was when it was served! Rather than make an issue of it, I simply scooped it up in the one spoonful that I gave my husband as a “taste”. And I will say that the soup was probably my favorite part of the dinner. My third disappointment was the salmon, which was the Catch of the day. I ordered it medium but it came well done and was a little too salty for my taste. However, it was seared to perfection giving it a nice little crust. My final disappointment was the Deconstructed Lemon Meringue Pie. The presentation was beautiful and the concept was interesting but I wasn’t impressed with the overall taste, even when I carefully collected each piece of the deconstructed parts and tasted them as one. I gave it an overall rating of 4 stars because I did enjoy the evening and the food was good; just not exceptional. The food presentations were beautiful and there was nothing ordinary about them but I was hoping that the flavors would equal the attractiveness of the plates. However, with that said, I would still recommend giving this place a try for a special occasion. It’s a little pricey so it wouldn’t be one of my monthly “go to” places but I think I’ll probably go back at some point in time and try some other things on the menu and give it a “final review”.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The Valentines Dinner was superb! The wi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Valentines Dinner was superb! The wine pairings worked well, especially the Vouvray with the Lobster Bisque and the Nuits Saint-Georges with the Scallops. Anthony as always did an excellent job. It was great for us to speak with Ellen.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very romantic setting with a delightful ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very romantic setting with a delightful choice of food. A truly enjoyable experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent service and ambiance, very rom ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent service and ambiance, very romantic spot with incredible wine list. Food was excellent except my lamb was chewy (still great flavor) and my chocolate cake was slightly frozen which was a disappointment. Overall a wonderful experience.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have been to the McNich ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My wife and I have been to the McNich House on several occasions and have always been impressed with the food. However on this occasion we were disappointed with the food quality. Great atmosphere, great service. Food quality just not what it used to be, especially for the price. Hopefully this was just a one time thing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Fantastic décor and service. The Chef do ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Fantastic décor and service. The Chef does an amazing job with the menu development and plating presentation. Highly recommend the braised beef shank, scallops, pear salad, wagyu beef tartar and carrot cake. Great for special occasions.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was excellent. Wine paring highl ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Service was excellent. Wine paring highlights meal, however a bit over priced for the quality of food.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Restaurant was easy to get to being clos ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Restaurant was easy to get to being close to downtown Charlotte. Cute well decorated house. Service and food were great. Choices were several for pre fix menu. My only complaint was adding 20% to the bill. I like to tip for excellent service but $70.00 should be my choice. Go back? Probably not but a nice evening to remember

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When you enter the McNinch House you wal ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 10, 2017

When you enter the McNinch House you walk into warm and inviting atmosphere and feel as though you are transported to a time when dining was more about the experience than flipping tables. The staff was attentive and engaging. The food was fantastic and perfectly paced for our dining enjoyment. I will come back again when in the Charlotte area and would recommend this restaurant when you are looking to take your time and really enjoy the company you are with and an amazing experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent in every way! Cannot think of ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent in every way! Cannot think of a better place for a wonderful quiet New Years celebration. Great attention and all the food was cooked to perfection. We will be back for another special ocasion...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible as always - our favorite spec ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Incredible as always - our favorite special occasion date venue was exceptional once again. Delicious food, beautiful and romantic ambiance, excellent wine pairings and fantastic service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife had been trying to get me to go ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife had been trying to get me to go there for some time, so I went in with heightened expectations. The food was very good up until the main course. The shrimp cocktail was wonderful with cocktail source heavy on the horseradish (just the way I like it). The salad and lobster were both very good. And then came the filet. The temperature of it had fallen through warm and was approaching cool by the time it reached our table. My wife's portion was approaching blue it was so rare. We were never asked how we preferred our steak as well.

The service was very good, however. Everyone was very attentive but not too much all except for the sommelier. He seemed to be stretched too thin and was forced to move from pour to pour much too quickly. I didn't receive much info on the wine other than what was on the menu. The wine pairings were just ok. I know pairing reds with chocolates can be fun, but I'm still a bit baffled by pairing a Caymus Conundrum with what was essentially chocolate cake. It seemed odd on paper and even more so on the palate.

I knew what I was getting into price-wise before going. The bill would have been reasonable if service were incorporated into the stated price; alas, that was not to be. This is a place that prices itself as excellent at every level. Yes, this was a New Year's Eve celebration dinner and the place became packed as the night wore on, but that's no excuse for providing just a "good" level experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Incredible service. Great food. Only dis ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Incredible service. Great food. Only disappointment was that the tasting menu that the chef chooses all comes off the regular menu. Not enough to dampen the experience though. Delish!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and son-in-law spent 10 year ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My daughter and son-in-law spent 10 years in one of NYC's top restaurants. My husband and I thought it would be great fun to bring them to McNich for Christmas. We were not disappointed. The total service and food was impeccable. They thoroughly connected and enjoyed Anthony and his exquisite wine parings. The food was excellent and the presentation beautiful. Our dinner lasted nearly four hours and we were never rushed. The ambiance was delightful and all the Holiday decorations just added to the total pleasure. As we left our guests shared that if we'd like to do that each year for Christmas, they would be totally delighted! So....maybe!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique ambiance complimented by great wi ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Unique ambiance complimented by great wine and palete pleasing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've lived in Charlotte my whole life an ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I've lived in Charlotte my whole life and tried most of the good restaurants. This was the first time at McNinchs on the occasion of a pre Christmas dinner.

The environment is rather elegant in an old fashion way with a slight air of pretention. How often do you have a gentleman introduced as your wine sommelier. The waitress was pleasant and helpful but a tad officious, acting as though you were expected to understand the menu options.

I may have been expecting too much, but I do not think the meal for two was worth $250. And that was with no wine or drinks !! There was no salad option and the only bread was a dry biscuit with no butter! But it did include a mandatory tip of 20% !! I was expecting perhaps $150 total...but even for that it was not exceptional....good, but not great. I think the head chef is a recent grad of Johnson & Wales . For the image of McNinchs, the chef should have trained for years at a major NYC restaurant.

In any case I probably won't be going back. There are too many good restaurants in Charlotte at half the price !!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Food was good but not great. Filet mign ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food was good but not great. Filet mignon entree much better than the rack of lamb, which was skimpy. Overpriced but lovely ambiance for a special occasion. Delightful sommelier!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Mcninch House is impeccable! I love love ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Mcninch House is impeccable! I love love love EVERYTHING about the experience. From the historical home and wonderful service, to the absolutely delicious tasting, this is my absolute favorite restaurant in Charlotte. My husband & I have never been disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This remains the singular intimate dinin ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

This remains the singular intimate dining locations in Charlotte. The menu is well designed, the execution is excellent, the service is top-notch, and the ambiance quiet and refined. The wine pairings are excellent and the sommelier is a gem of the institution that is the McNinch House.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I can't believe we didn't know about thi ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I can't believe we didn't know about this restaurant. It is now a favorite😁

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, , Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and ambiance were superb. Food ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Service and ambiance were superb.

Food was very good. It was very Pricey though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Went with hubby. Service was good, but f ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Went with hubby. Service was good, but food was subpar. Crab cake was more cake than crab and was very fried and crumbly. Halibut was over cooked and seasoned with too much salt. Beef Wellington was also too salty. The she crab soup and tartar were good, but not great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

There seemed to be a lot of confusion as ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

There seemed to be a lot of confusion as to which waiter's turn it was to wait on us. We waited a long time to be asked what our menu choices were. I was unsure of the wine list and so I asked for assistance. We waited quite a while for someone to return. He allowed me to taste two white wines. ( he did not allow me to see the labels) Neither were on their regular menu for $15 a glass. When I asked what I had chosen it was a very inexpensive brand that you could buy for $6.00 a bottle ! I'm not sure why he did not offer me wines from their list ? I ordered something different next but wasn't very happy that he had felt I would like a cheaper wine ! Any one that knows me would laugh at me buying a cheap wine ! We were there for 2 1/2 hours ! The food was great but the service was way too slow. We will not go back.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

One of the finest restaurants we have di ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 8, 2016

One of the finest restaurants we have dined in. The sommelier Wes, suggested the perfect wines for each course. The 5 - 7courses had unusual combinations with visually pleasing presentations. It is so hard to find a quiet, intimate restaurant nowadays with superb attention to service as The McNinch House. A special occasion destination for sure!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Historic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceedingly overpriced for the quality o ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Exceedingly overpriced for the quality of experience. The food was good, not great . . . service was good, and very friendly. The place is getting a little worn around the edges. There was a valet parking sign out front, but no valet, and there was no one to greet us when we walked in the door. After standing in the lobby for a bit, I walked into the kitchen area and found the maitre d', who was cordial and apologetic. The McNinch House is like the ol' grey mare--she ain't what she used to be.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Very pricey, but worth the expense. The ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Very pricey, but worth the expense. The food was great, but the historical house made for an excellent setting. Allow enough time to experience all the courses. Great for very special occasions and for when you want to impress or treat someone special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding meal and service...........E ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Outstanding meal and service...........Extraordinarily expensive............!!!!!

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a lovely dining experience and th ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a lovely dining experience and the food was wonderful. Sadly, however, my spouse contracted food poisoning from the experience. She had a beef tartar dish and we suspect that may have been the culprit. We phoned McNinch House the next day to relay our experience. Although we left a voicemail message and our number for a call back, the McNinch staff did not return our call. Given the significant expense of our dining experience combined with a very ill outcome, a brief return call of concern or goodwill would have been in order and appropriate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always excellent choice for special occa ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Always excellent choice for special occasions. Great food, presentation, and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I received a gift certificate to dine th ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 6, 2016

I received a gift certificate to dine there and my daughter and her husband came with me. It was very good, but only two other people were there, it is very expensive, but elegant. I probably won't ever go again but if was a nice experience. If was uncomfortable to me without other people there, especially since I heard I had to make my reservations far in advance because they are always so crowded. The service was excellent and the food was very good, but I suspect it would be more fun to go on a weekend when more people are there.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Love this place! Celebrated our 39th An ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Love this place! Celebrated our 39th Anniversary! Wait staff was excellent! Looking forward to another special occasion!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was excellent. The staff was ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service was excellent. The staff was very friendly and informative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Did the 5 course with wine pairings. Ple ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Did the 5 course with wine pairings. Plenty of food and the foie gras will blow you away. Service wasnt stuffy at all and they all worked as a team. Expensive but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

McNinch House is a beautiful, quiet sett ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 6, 2016

McNinch House is a beautiful, quiet setting for a romantic evening. The service is fantastic, not stuffy or stodgy, but attentive, friendly, and providing just the right balance of "I'm here to serve you" and "I know when to disappear". The food was, as expected, top notch. We chose the "five course" meal. From the lump crab cakes starter, to the peach ice cream (homemade from South Carolina peaches), each course was wonderful. It was a great way to spend our 33rd anniversary. We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best word to describe our experience ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 2, 2016

The best word to describe our experience was amusing. Or maybe pretentious. In either case, we laughed our way through the cat food reminiscent beginning through the greens that should have been left in the weedbed and all the way to the pudding-like desert. In between was sea bass that had the taste of a tablespoon of Morton's salt and an average and undercooked filet. Otherwise a perfect first anniversary celebration. And all of it for under $300. Who would've thunk it possible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Very romantic!!! Perfect for a special n ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Very romantic!!! Perfect for a special night out with someone you love!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great dining experience. Food was fantas ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great dining experience. Food was fantastic. The wine Stewart was knowledgeable and picked perfect wine pairings. Very pricey but nice for that special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Expensive but you get what you pay for. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Expensive but you get what you pay for. And the food was worth it. The chef came out too. The serving team did a great job pairing wines with each course. Looking forward to next visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal though it was somewhat pr ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent meal though it was somewhat pricey. Would recommend if it was for a very special occasion (ours was a 42nd wedding anniversary)

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have enjoyed dining at the McNinch house ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Have enjoyed dining at the McNinch house for many years. Excellent food and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.