Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About McNinch House

For the last 22 years, the ca. 1892 Queen Anne style home of Victorian-era Charlotte Mayor Sam McNinch has served as the McNinch House Restaurant. In this historic Fourth Ward home of the original chef/owner Ellen Davis, guests can expect to be treated like royalty during their multi-course culinary journey. Featuring Charlotte's most carefully constructed wine list, guests will select their entrees from the chef's choice menu, and professional service staff will take care of the rest. Recognized as Charlotte's Most Romantic Restaurant, The McNinch House Restaurant is the perfect place for your anniversary, birthday, special event, private corporate or executive dining. **ALL RESERVATIONS MUST INCLUDE A VALID EMAIL ADDRESS TO CONFIRM**



Dinner Only, Prix Fixe:

7 Courses-$115pp

5 Courses-$95pp

Chef's Tasting-$185pp

Chef's Table-$159pp

+ alcohol, tax, & gratuity (20% standard)

511 North Church St.
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Only: Tuesday - Saturday evenings
Seatings every 30 minutes from 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 9th St. & 8th St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-6159

Website:
http://www.mcninchhouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking on our private property for up to 20 vehicles.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Shepard

Private Party Facilities:
Private party accommodations are offered for groups up to 50. We welcome weddings, rehearsal dinners, corporate closing dinners, and medical education dinners, and will be happy to discuss your individual group's needs for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Corey Cochran: (704) 332-6159

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

McNinch House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

3.6

Noise

Quiet

78% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Romantic (17)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
See All
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Cozy (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
557 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 17 hours ago

It was outstanding. Well worth every penny spent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

We ordered glass of champagne to start our anniversary celebration. It didn't arrive until after the first course was already served. So had to drink it with the meal instead of enjoying prior to the meal. Then the bottle of wine came before we had even finished the champagne. Terrible organization on the part of the sommelier. Otherwise the food service was very good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent ambiance, food, and service. This would be the perfect place for a quiet, romantic dinner. I appreciate the dress code and wish other restaurants would distinguish themselves similarly, but was somewhat disappointed to notice that it is not enforced. Prices are very high, but McNinch House is still a "good" value.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Great restaurant and delicious food. Only complaint was the tiramisu was frozen in the middle.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Thought food was just average, very small portions, price was very high. Ok to experience it once but for the price I would rather go out to lunch / dinner 2-3 times at not so fancy of a restaurant

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Very impressed with ambiance, food and the staff. Outstanding dinner!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

This is a wonderful place. I eat out a lot and have been to many restaurants. This is the best by far. The service is amazing with lots of people looking after you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We enjoyed our meal and everything was quite exceptional especially the swordfish which was probably the best I've ever tasted. I did wish they had different options for dessert. Something like flourless chocolate cake.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 7, 2017

The service was old world and fantastic. Corey our waiter, and Wesley, the sommelier were quite attentive. The wine pairings were chosen well. Mcninch House is romantic and apparently the most popular restaurant in Charlotte to get engaged. It is a 125 year old Victorian house.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Once again an excellent choice and dining experience for a special occasion. Service and food always remarkable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Amazing! This was our first time going and we had such a wonderful experience! The food was awesome and the wine pairing was great! Beautiful setting! Fabulous night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Amazing dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We had a bad experience. The food was good, but the atmosphere was stuffy and the service was mediocre. Definitely wasn't worth the price. Maybe you will have a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had four of us for a dinner for a friend from out of town. Food was incredible and staff very nice. Was a bit of a slow start getting service, but once we were in the fold, the experience was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

As always, a delight. However, the website prices and the actual menu are not the same. There was a significant increase at the restaurant. We made our reservations online and were quite surprised.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Beautiful, Victorian-era home with lovely furnishings, soaring ceilings, and intimate dining spaces. menu is imaginative, and several of items we ordered were knockouts. There is no option for sharing, and dinner was quite pricey, making it a special-occasion-only venue for us. Allow at least an hour and a half to two hours to dine.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Very good, expensive, but a very unique and special experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was very good. The wine was even better. They gave us tremendous wines, and very generous pours. The dessert wines were really good.

As for the food, the standouts were the crab cake, the rabbit, and the amberjack. I don't like cinnamon, but the very small amount in the sauce was actually quit pleasant. The only detraction of the 6 courses was the blueberry cobbler. I feel like it was more like blueberry jam, warmed up, and not enough ice cream or cobbler.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I took my boyfriend there for his birthday and the atmosphere was wonderful. The service of the food was fantastic! We have the 7 course dinner and we enjoyed about half of the courses. Some of the foods weren't all that great. We also got the wine paring which I was super excited about as really that's what we went for. I was disappointed in it. The wine as I read was supposed to be a great experience, but unfortunately it was brought not explained what kind it was half of the time or why it paired with the food, which is really why we went there. We also had to wait a really long time for each glass to be brought to us. Sometimes I would be half way through a course before the wine paired with it even got there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Such a wonderful find in Charlotte for a date night with the hubby! The house is gorgeous, dining in a Victorian style home with amazing details to catch the eyes are simply everywhere. From the paintings on the walls to the chinaware, it's the details that enhanced the meal.
Kudos to the chef for his use of garden herbs grown on property, and the wine pairings were perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We dined for our 30th anniversary, it was perfect. I had the amberjack and my wife had steak, it was a wonderful night. The cucumber vase first course is amazingly unique as is the blood orange and mint sorbet.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Food was very good and a little different in selection....I had pan seared rabbit entree which is not on the menu of many restaurants and it was very tasty. Ambience is quiet and relaxing, service was very attentive but not overbearing. Wine list is extensive but I thought $15 for a glass of wine was overpriced. Restaurant is expensive but worth the experience of dining in this beautiful establishment for a special occasion that you will always remember.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We returned after 7 years and we were happy to see the server from many years ago also serve us yet again. Warm, hospitable and knowledgeable in wines he paired all our meals with the perfect choices. Seven delicious courses over a three hour period that we'd do all over again in a NY minute. Great evening and money well spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We were celebrating our 50th anniversary and had a wonderful evening of dining. The service was great and the food fantastic. We enjoyed every course. I had ordered flowers for the table and they were received by the staff and set up on our table waiting to surprise my wife. The presentation of each course was very artistic. My wife's stacked cucumber salad was a work of art and tasty as well. We enjoyed our evening of dining very much for our first visit to the McNinch house.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

The place is very overpriced but the sommelier was amazing. He made my wife's dining experience A+ with the wine suggestions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

When you travel to different states and explore local gems, you definitely would like to find something like this unique restaurant. Imagine that you're going back in time and you have fine dinning in the very sofisticated way with all this old anturage, interior, amazing food and service. I would definitely recommend this place to visit. Wine tasting and paring was great!
I'll come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 19, 2017

I went to the Mcninch house restaurant on Wednesday July 19th and was impressed and amazed from the moment I walked in. As I was seated in the parlor dining room to a beautiful table the manager corey greeted me. Following was the wine sommelier Wes. He was very knowledgeable about the history of the house and restaurant and was a very entertaining host as well. We sat for a few minutes looking over the menu and were delighted with our chef tasting.

It was a 6 course dinner started with a delicious jumbo lump crab cake complimented with Louisiana remoulade and a cucumber and tomato salad. Moist and tender on the inside but crispy on the outside.

Next we had the cucumber case salad. It was a delicious array of beech mushrooms, alfalfa sprouts, endives, radicchio, and mixed greens.

Following the salad was a raspberry house made sorbet that was as sweet and tangy as it was gorgeous.

Out came our first entree. Red snapper basted in herb butter over a bed of basmati rice and sweet corn. The whole dish was topped with spring onions, exotic mushrooms and a delicious fig and honey sauce.

The second course was the highlight of the meal for me. A beautifully cooked medium rare filet mignon complete with horseradish spaetzel, zucchini and a house made bordelaise sauce. Absolutely amazing!

For dessert we each had an excellent blackberry cobbler in its own personal ramekin! It was delightfully sweet with a little citrus to give it that extra boost. It was the perfect end to a great meal!

All in all my experience at the McNinch house was one I will never forget and would highly recommend for anyone who wants to feel as if they are royalty.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 19, 2017

What a wonderful meal. Our servers Corey and Wesley were outstanding. Wesley paired wine with my Rabbit that went perfectly with it. The food was so delicious. It does come with a price, but it is worth every penny. Note though: it takes about 2 hours to get through the course so plan ahead.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It is a nice place but way too expense for what you receive. Their 5 course meal is now 99 dollars and not worth it. It was barely worth it at 79.00. There are better options in Charlotte.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Not as expected. This is a high end, prix fixe menu restaurant yet the food quality was not impressive, nor was the service. Had to send my duck breast back as it arrived rare although ordered medium rare. Ambiance was awkward. Our table of four was in the library. There was one other couple at a nearby table who seemed more interested in listening in on our conversation vs. having their own. We let our server know when we arrived that we had tickets for a play and needed to be out the door by 7:45...giving us an 1:45 for dinner. We had to skip the dessert because service was tediously slow. We asked to have the bill split between couples. I presented a Groupon which the server then applied to both bills. Didn't have time to stick around and have it straightened out. All in all, not an impressive evening for $240/couple. Perhaps it was an off night (can't chalk it up to being overwhelmed with customers, as there were other open tables), but we won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 8, 2017

McNinch House price point is comparable to some of the best restaurants in the country. Unfortunately we found the food to be average and therefore were really disappointed. We are foodies and have no problem paying the price for a great meal, but the price tag comes with expectations and McNinch did not deliver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Fiancé Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Absolutely delightful! We enjoyed our anniversary dinner here. We had the five course dinner with sommelier chosen wine for each course. Delicious! We were seated at six and finished with our coffee at nine. Perfect time spacing for five courses. The dining room was intimate and private. The service persons were all timely, engaging and knowledgeable. I felt like we were having a privately served dinner for two in our own dining room with absolutely none of the prep or cleanup. Really just divine.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 24, 2017

To find something as old as the McNinch home Uptown in a city that does not value it's historic side, makes this place a gem all of it's own. Then you throw on top of it the service from from Thomas and Wesley and the rest of the staff, it made for a very pleasurable dinner experience.
I had received a very good bottle of wine from a close friend for the wife's birthday dinner and had it at the McNinch house, the wine was wonderful the $45 corkage fee was punitive, and in my mind unreasonable, but no need to complain I could have called and found out in advance but...
That aside the only real down side to the entire dinner was my cheese cake which was not fresh, in fact frozen tasting and very hard and cold.
Other than that what a great place for a special occasion and to sit and talk. Jackets are required, Phone Usage in the dining area is not allowed so if your 40 and under who can not put it down go to McDonald's.
Well done! Consider reducing the Corkage fee or offer a discounted one if we still purchase a bottle of wine from your establishment, which we did.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food quality has declined since I dined there before....not a good value for the price.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Loved it like always!! One of our special spots!!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 20, 2017

This is a repeat anniversary visit to the McNinch House. As always we truly enjoyed the meal, service and ambiance. The menu is narrow since it is a 'prix fixe'. The shrimp cocktail was spectacular - 5 large, sweet shrimp. The cocktail sauce brought the Row 11 Pinot Noir to a super level. My bride had the filet and I the lamb. Both well prepared, although I always berate myself for ordering lamb chops...they are tiny and only three, but a nice side piece of lamb.
All in all this is a great restaurant for special occasions. Thanks

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This is an amazing place. The staff are incredible and the sommelier has world class knowledge. The food is prepared perfectly. This is a great place to celebrate special occasions. If you can indulge, try the wine pairing option. We are so fortunate to have McNinch House in Charlotte.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I would say if you have never been to Charleston and you plan on living in Charlotte for the rest of your life, check this place out. My tab was nothing less than overpriced for the great experience. It's whisper quiet, the musk of old wood and leather adds a unique dining experience. Overall great spot to blow a wad on your significant other. Wait that didn't sound right but you catch my drift.
This was my honest experience if you want to impress your date then give this place a visit. Memorable time at his historic house that will leave you talking about it for ages!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 9, 2017

It was good but not great. The wine pairings were on point, but my dining partner did not choose them, and his drink seemed to always be empty. The servers never asked him if he wanted another drink, and he had to flag them down to get something. I feel that for the price you pay, the service should have been more attentive. Food was delicious, but overall service was too slow.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.