Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.27mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About McNinch House

For the last 22 years, the ca. 1892 Queen Anne style home of Victorian-era Charlotte Mayor Sam McNinch has served as the McNinch House Restaurant. In this historic Fourth Ward home of the original chef/owner Ellen Davis, guests can expect to be treated like royalty during their multi-course culinary journey. Featuring Charlotte's most carefully constructed wine list, guests will select their entrees from the chef's choice menu, and professional service staff will take care of the rest. Recognized as Charlotte's Most Romantic Restaurant, The McNinch House Restaurant is the perfect place for your anniversary, birthday, special event, private corporate or executive dining. **ALL RESERVATIONS MUST INCLUDE A VALID EMAIL ADDRESS TO CONFIRM**



Dinner Only, Prix Fixe:

7 Courses-$109pp

5 Courses-$89pp

Chef's Tasting-$185pp

Chef's Table-$159pp

+ alcohol, tax, & gratuity (20% standard)

511 North Church St.
Charlotte, NC 28202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, European

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Only: Tuesday - Saturday evenings
Seatings every 30 minutes from 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 9th St. & 8th St.

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(704) 332-6159

Website:
http://www.mcninchhouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Valet parking on our private property for up to 20 vehicles.

Executive Chef:
Matthew Shepard

Private Party Facilities:
Private party accommodations are offered for groups up to 50. We welcome weddings, rehearsal dinners, corporate closing dinners, and medical education dinners, and will be happy to discuss your individual group's needs for private dining.

Private Party Contact:
Corey Cochran: (704) 332-6159

Additional:
Banquet, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

McNinch House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Romantic (21)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
See All
Notable Wine List (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Cozy (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Historic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Business Meals (3)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fireplace (2)
Authentic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
509 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 6 days ago

This was an experience! It has all the elements to be be a magical experience but is missing one small ingredient.... attitude. The dining experience suffered because of the 2* attitude from some of the staff. Food was great, building was unique but for $300 meal I would expect a little more enthusiasm.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Classic elegance; great food, wine and service. Top class in every regard.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The service was superb, and the food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very special restaurant. Food was delicious. We chose the 5 course menu which was plenty. We ordered between us: crab cake, shrimp cocktail, pea feta and prosciutto salad with pea and mint soup. All lovely. Entrees were filet mignon and pheasant with risotto. Again absolutely faultless. Dessert was blueberry soup and caramel cheesecake. We shared a bottle of Pinot noir. The evening was amazing and rounded off by a beautiful red rose!! Cannot wait to go again..... just need to save up!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Overall I really liked this place. The wine pairings were great and the service was excellent. My only complaint is that the menu doesn't push the boundaries much for a 5-7 course menu. Everything we did have though was very good even if a little ordinary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My husband and I dined this past Saturday evening for our 15th wedding anniversary. Our experience was perfect from start to finish. We did the seven course meal with wine pairings. Best lamb I have ever had! Wine pairings were excellent! This was our third visit and we have had stellar service each time. I highly recommend for special occasion or just to treat yourself. We plan to return again soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 21, 2017

By far THE best fine dinner experience you will get in Charlotte. Top notch! If you want a true dining experience, this is it. Not recommended for folks that do not appreciate multiple courses. They only serve 5,6,7,9 course meals. Heaven for foodie in you!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We went to celebrate our daughter's engagement, and this was just the place for a special occasion. The menu is diverse and unique and the service is impeccable, including a sommelier who helped with wine pairings for each entre. Will definitely return for future special occasions, as it is a bit pricey for every day dining. A wonderful, memorable dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The meal was wonderful! The best Crab cakes and duck!

Tags: Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The restaurant is a perfect place for a special occasion. The food and service was outstanding. It was quiet; which is rare for restaurants.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great dining experience!! Food was exceptional and ambiance was perfect!!'

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Most overpriced restaurant I have ever been to for average food.
The wine steward was amazing and entertaining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

From the minute we arrived, everything was perfect. The attention to detail by every staff member was impeccable. The food was portioned and displayed appropriately. It was a beautiful evening and perfect setting for our special occasion. We will return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was a very special evening, spent with our son and daughter in law who live in Charlotte. The service was outstanding, with great attention paid to our meal and to make us feel welcome, informed and comfortable. Wesley, who did our wine pairings, was especially interesting and we enjoyed speaking with him. Rebecca was also very welcoming and enjoyable, and also fun. We had the five-course premier menu option with wine pairings, and we left the restaurant with wonderful memories and very full stomachs. The food and wine were great, and the ambience was also perfect for this special night. It was a bit pricey, but we knew that going in.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 31, 2017

20 % gratuity automatically added regardless of party size. Food is good, but not great, especially for price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I took my mother for her birthday and she said it was the best birthday she had ever had! It isn't something you would do on a regular basis (unless you are VERY rich) but it was worth the drive from Columbia, SC to hear my mother say what she did. The food was great and the staff was very friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 24, 2017

My wife and I have been dining at McNinch House for at least 4 years now on special occasions (anniversaries, New Years, Valentine's Day) or if we just really want to treat ourselves for working hard. The food is always superb, the ambiance is amazing (the Christmas decorations are gorgeous!), and the service can't be beat.
We were so lucky this time around; due to the NCAA tournament, we literally had the entire restaurant to ourselves after the first 30 minutes. We didn't realize this until dessert, when we asked why it was so quiet compared to the usual packed dining room. I actually felt badly for them that they had to stay just for us, but not once did they let on that they were waiting just for us. Corey and Anthony treated us like royalty, as always.
My only regret each time we dine here, is that I don't have a bigger stomach to eat more and a higher alcohol tolerance so I could enjoy more wine! :-D

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

They deserve the Michelin star, great service, food and ambience. Our server was well verse in wine paring, highly recommend. Worth the price! This is an experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great evening at McNinch. Did 5 courses and pairing. Sommelier worked with us on flavors we enjoyed that complimented course. And had fun trying some dessert wines.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Portions very small for price, service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It is one of the more interesting and unique dining establishments. The ambiance takes you back to a place in time where life seemed to be more simple and manners made a difference. The staff was absolutely wonderful and very attentive, but not annoying or over-bearing. My first disappointment was that the Pear Salad was not available; I was really looking forward to it, but these things happen. My second disappointment was that I asked for them to not put any black pepper on my She Crab soup but there it was when it was served! Rather than make an issue of it, I simply scooped it up in the one spoonful that I gave my husband as a “taste”. And I will say that the soup was probably my favorite part of the dinner. My third disappointment was the salmon, which was the Catch of the day. I ordered it medium but it came well done and was a little too salty for my taste. However, it was seared to perfection giving it a nice little crust. My final disappointment was the Deconstructed Lemon Meringue Pie. The presentation was beautiful and the concept was interesting but I wasn’t impressed with the overall taste, even when I carefully collected each piece of the deconstructed parts and tasted them as one. I gave it an overall rating of 4 stars because I did enjoy the evening and the food was good; just not exceptional. The food presentations were beautiful and there was nothing ordinary about them but I was hoping that the flavors would equal the attractiveness of the plates. However, with that said, I would still recommend giving this place a try for a special occasion. It’s a little pricey so it wouldn’t be one of my monthly “go to” places but I think I’ll probably go back at some point in time and try some other things on the menu and give it a “final review”.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

My wife and I initially walked up to a locked door. We were 5min early for our reservation but the maître d' (I believe as he was tending to the door) was close by and promptly let us in joking that the locked door was their "security system". Not a big deal but slightly surprising. It seemed as though they were caught off guard by our arrival as they asked us to explore the home while they parked our car. When we were seated, the server was putting on his jacket as he walked us to our table. The table was prepared for us and we were seated. The server had to return two or three times before we received everything we needed (menu, wine list, etc...). Again, this surprised us but we were more concerned with spending time together and having a relaxing evening. The maître d' seemed to observe the fumbling server and took over for the rest of the evening. During our evening, a total of 2 other couples were seated in the restaurant and both were spread out so that each of us had our own space. The food was excellently prepared, seasoned, and plated. The old fashioned's I had were well made and the pour was generous. My wife and I left very happy after just shy of a 3hr dining experience. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking to have a relaxing evening with their loved one where time is not a concern.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The Valentines Dinner was superb! The wine pairings worked well, especially the Vouvray with the Lobster Bisque and the Nuits Saint-Georges with the Scallops. Anthony as always did an excellent job. It was great for us to speak with Ellen.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very romantic setting with a delightful choice of food. A truly enjoyable experience.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent service and ambiance, very romantic spot with incredible wine list. Food was excellent except my lamb was chewy (still great flavor) and my chocolate cake was slightly frozen which was a disappointment. Overall a wonderful experience.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Very disappointing meal. For years I had heard that McNinch was a very high end and amazing experience, the tip of the local dining scene. The location is unique, an old house downtown, kept up nicely.

What is odd is that there didn't seem to be enough employees. We saw four employees total while there, and one ran the reservation desk and parked cars.

The pace was incredibly slow and the food not bad, but not memorable either. We were looking for a special experience for our anniversary and it fell quite short.

So, it really isn't suitable for a regular night dining out, and it was much less that it should be for a special occasion, so we don't be back for either.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 27, 2017

My wife and I have been to the McNich House on several occasions and have always been impressed with the food. However on this occasion we were disappointed with the food quality. Great atmosphere, great service. Food quality just not what it used to be, especially for the price. Hopefully this was just a one time thing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Fantastic décor and service. The Chef does an amazing job with the menu development and plating presentation. Highly recommend the braised beef shank, scallops, pear salad, wagyu beef tartar and carrot cake. Great for special occasions.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Service was excellent. Wine paring highlights meal, however a bit over priced for the quality of food.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Restaurant was easy to get to being close to downtown Charlotte. Cute well decorated house. Service and food were great. Choices were several for pre fix menu. My only complaint was adding 20% to the bill. I like to tip for excellent service but $70.00 should be my choice. Go back? Probably not but a nice evening to remember

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 10, 2017

When you enter the McNinch House you walk into warm and inviting atmosphere and feel as though you are transported to a time when dining was more about the experience than flipping tables. The staff was attentive and engaging. The food was fantastic and perfectly paced for our dining enjoyment. I will come back again when in the Charlotte area and would recommend this restaurant when you are looking to take your time and really enjoy the company you are with and an amazing experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent in every way! Cannot think of a better place for a wonderful quiet New Years celebration. Great attention and all the food was cooked to perfection. We will be back for another special ocasion...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Incredible as always - our favorite special occasion date venue was exceptional once again. Delicious food, beautiful and romantic ambiance, excellent wine pairings and fantastic service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife had been trying to get me to go there for some time, so I went in with heightened expectations. The food was very good up until the main course. The shrimp cocktail was wonderful with cocktail source heavy on the horseradish (just the way I like it). The salad and lobster were both very good. And then came the filet. The temperature of it had fallen through warm and was approaching cool by the time it reached our table. My wife's portion was approaching blue it was so rare. We were never asked how we preferred our steak as well.

The service was very good, however. Everyone was very attentive but not too much all except for the sommelier. He seemed to be stretched too thin and was forced to move from pour to pour much too quickly. I didn't receive much info on the wine other than what was on the menu. The wine pairings were just ok. I know pairing reds with chocolates can be fun, but I'm still a bit baffled by pairing a Caymus Conundrum with what was essentially chocolate cake. It seemed odd on paper and even more so on the palate.

I knew what I was getting into price-wise before going. The bill would have been reasonable if service were incorporated into the stated price; alas, that was not to be. This is a place that prices itself as excellent at every level. Yes, this was a New Year's Eve celebration dinner and the place became packed as the night wore on, but that's no excuse for providing just a "good" level experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Incredible service. Great food. Only disappointment was that the tasting menu that the chef chooses all comes off the regular menu. Not enough to dampen the experience though. Delish!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My daughter and son-in-law spent 10 years in one of NYC's top restaurants. My husband and I thought it would be great fun to bring them to McNich for Christmas. We were not disappointed. The total service and food was impeccable. They thoroughly connected and enjoyed Anthony and his exquisite wine parings. The food was excellent and the presentation beautiful. Our dinner lasted nearly four hours and we were never rushed. The ambiance was delightful and all the Holiday decorations just added to the total pleasure. As we left our guests shared that if we'd like to do that each year for Christmas, they would be totally delighted! So....maybe!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Unique ambiance complimented by great wine and palete pleasing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I've lived in Charlotte my whole life and tried most of the good restaurants. This was the first time at McNinchs on the occasion of a pre Christmas dinner.

The environment is rather elegant in an old fashion way with a slight air of pretention. How often do you have a gentleman introduced as your wine sommelier. The waitress was pleasant and helpful but a tad officious, acting as though you were expected to understand the menu options.

I may have been expecting too much, but I do not think the meal for two was worth $250. And that was with no wine or drinks !! There was no salad option and the only bread was a dry biscuit with no butter! But it did include a mandatory tip of 20% !! I was expecting perhaps $150 total...but even for that it was not exceptional....good, but not great. I think the head chef is a recent grad of Johnson & Wales . For the image of McNinchs, the chef should have trained for years at a major NYC restaurant.

In any case I probably won't be going back. There are too many good restaurants in Charlotte at half the price !!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food was good but not great. Filet mignon entree much better than the rack of lamb, which was skimpy. Overpriced but lovely ambiance for a special occasion. Delightful sommelier!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Mcninch House is impeccable! I love love love EVERYTHING about the experience. From the historical home and wonderful service, to the absolutely delicious tasting, this is my absolute favorite restaurant in Charlotte. My husband & I have never been disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.