About MAX's Wine Dive San Antonio - East Basse Rd

340 E. Basse Rd., Ste. 101
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE.
We’re passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere. In addition, we price our wines on a retail model – you can find amazing wines from around the world at the most competitive prices in town – and then take some home with you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11AM-12AM (open for lunch & dinner)
Friday: 11AM - 1AM
Saturday: 10AM-1AM* (open for brunch & dinner)
Sunday: 10AM-10PM* (open for brunch & dinner)


*Kitchen closed Saturday and Sunday from 3-4PM. Regular beer/wine service still available.

Cross Street:
Jones-Maltzberger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 444-9547

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/

Entertainment:
Featuring a Texas-proud juke box covering all your favorites - from Johnny Cash to ZZ Top to AC/DC. Perfect for late-night "Reverse" Happy Hour!

Catering:
MAX's Wine Dive will offer catering for off-premise events, as well as for privately-booked corporate or personal events in our semi-private dining room.

Parking Details:
The Quarry Village features a large parking lot directly in front of the restaurant, as well as public visitor parking in the Artessa apartments’ parking garage.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We continuously have upcoming wine tastings and other related events! Check our website to see what is coming up next, http://www.maxswinedive.com/san-antonio/calendar-of-events/index.php

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:00AM - 1:00AM 4:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 11:45PM

Tue - Thu 12:00AM - 12:00AM 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 11:45PM

Fri 12:00AM - 12:00AM 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 11:45PM

Sat 12:00AM - 1:00AM 4:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 11:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MAX’s Wine Dive is one of Texas’s most highly acclaimed restaurant concepts and it is at your disposal for all your party planning and catering needs. Allow the team to create the perfect event for you and your company. With a wide variety of options, MAX’s Wine Dive takes all of the stress out!

MAX's Wine Dive San Antonio - East Basse Rd Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Casual (15)
See All
Happy Hour (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Fun (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Cozy (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Romantic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Family Style (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
People Watching (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Live Music (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Authentic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Spicy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
817 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

Unique food items. We had grilled oyster nachos, chicken sliders, and a baked Brie shareable - all tasty but more style than substance. Also caution: the automatic timer for the lights on the patio made it too dark to eat out there, so we had to relocate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

Birthday Brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a dinner date recently, but was excited to try their brunch. I had their chicken wings and waffles, wife had the honey bitter benedict, and our daughter had their French toast. Everything was awesome, but their waffle left me wanting something for bigger and tastier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The atmosphere was amazing and the food was outstanding.. Customer service was on point as well.. Staff was knowledgeable about the wine and encouraged me gently to try something new which I enjoyed.. I will definitely be back!!.. Great first impression!

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

lunch menu was very different from dinner menu and couldn't get risotto for lunch which is what I wanted. the chicken club sandwhich was really good, tenders were nothing to write hone about, same with fries and coleslaw. it was way overpriced for a lunch but it was a birthday lunch so I was okay with that. could have went a million other places and got the same food, same price or less. waitress was very nice though and the banana bread pudoing was maybe the best dessert I ever had. Guess they are popular for the wine? I don't know but we didn't drink any so maybe that's why I wasn't impressed. I may go back for dinner but probably not.

Tags: Modern Decor, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Originally ordered the chicken sliders, but changed out minds because we were ordering their fried chicken entree; so we decided to get the belly sliders as an appetizer. Tasty for small; 3 bite-sized pieces of meat. The fried chicken entree consists of a leg, thigh, and breast. The breast was borderline dry and tough. However, the dark meat pieces were delicious. As was the mashed potatoes and collared greens. We absolutely loved the Luca Bosio Moscato that our server recommended. The dessert choice was their banana fosters bread pudding. We shared one...we wished we hadn't. It was damn good. We wanted a serving of our own...We'll definitely be back to try the rest of their menu and guaranteed we'll be back for their brunch - chicken and waffles!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My friends and I meet here for fried chicken and champagne every year on New Year's Day. This year we were all out of town, so had the celebration a bit later!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Normally this is our absolute favorite place to go for brunch but lately they are trying to make it into a booming night club with extremely loud music. We were left with the option of sitting outside or leaving because they wouldn't turn down the music. It was so loud we couldn't have a conversation. We sat outside and had a much better experience. If the outside option wasn't available we would have left. The food isn't worth the headache of the music.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Second meal at Max's - awesome service and good food. Fun place for drinks and brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great service by Ryan!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food was good, it was not super busy so not sure why our food took so long to arrive. We were ahead of the rush.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Waiter didn't get order right.

Chicken was over cooked

Took forever for meal to arrive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Recommended, with reservations. Restaurant is extremely noisy, making conversations difficult.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Delicious southern Texas charm. Welcomed this northeasterner to the joys of chicken fried steak and wings n waffles. Must try the jalapeño grits. Service was fine- not spectacular- I suggest better honey for tea (pure honey). Food is the star here! Came early at 11:15 on a Saturday morning and got a great table- beat the crowd and had good conversations with friends that I could actually hear.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Me and my wife wanted to get out for a date night . We have been to Max's many times before and decided to go back. We had a reservation and we're sat a few minutes with in arriving. The waitress came to greet us shortly after being seated. We order wine. When she brought us our wine she almost spilled my glass of red wine on me beam cause she was to busy trying to drop it and go. She took our order. After 30 minutes I asked the manager what was the dealt as it was not overly busy. He made an excuse that it was only 30 minutes ago and he would check on it. 15 more minutes went by and the waitress came out to tell us that the food was coming out and that they were just waiting on more mashed potatoes for my wife's plate (fried chicken, greens, and mashed potatoes ). A few minutes later they brought the food out. At this point we were starving. So we begin to eat just for me to discover that my roast beef and scalloped potatoes were cold. Not like warm but cold. I sent the food back and decided I did not want anything else as I was pretty annoyed and did not want to wait again. The manager provided me a free fried chicken dinner as it was already finished (likely someone else's plate ). So that makes up for it ? Well it was fine until we asked for the check and when the waitress comes to pick up the check she knocks out to go box on the floor. Luckily the food survived and did not hit the floor, but come on. Needless to say it was a experience we will not forget and will likely take s break from Max's wine dive.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Overall, enjoyable. I ordered shrimp tacos and a side of potatoes. The flavor was mild, the tacos were juicy. The plate as a whole was cold, as if it had sat for a while waiting for the tacos to be done. Service was excellent--both the waitress and the shift manager came to check on me. The menu choices are appealing and may return to try some other offerings.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The music created a great atmosphere. The food for restaurant week was amazing. The chef has a great imagination with food and can pair courses perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Too loud! With the music so loud and then people's conversations it was extremely loud. Not the best place for a meeting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was amazing. 4 of us all got a different entree and each one was unique and delicious. Price of the drinks is a little high, but we don't plan on eating there all the time. Try their EOS hefe if you like a good crisp wheat beer.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This is not oyr first time to Max's Wine Dive. Normally shortly after food arrived the wait staff would come & see if we needed something. Our waitress was very attentively in the beginning but I ended up needing to ask for condiments from another wait staff after waiting for at least 5 min. My pot roast was very good but portion was on the smaller side for the price of food. My friend had the Salisbury steak. We both enjoyed our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Food on the restaurant week menu was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 16, 2017

It was our first time there. Our servers were great -very friendly and personable made suggestions on the wine and the wine was delicious along with the food. Great experience. Cant wait to visit again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We decided to have our friend's birthday brunch here. It was a group of 7 girls, and we split two champagne bottles for mimosas. The service was amazing, the food was even better, and it was a perfect spot for a girls' get together. I had the chicken and waffles. I'm not sure what they put in their batter but it's incredible! Even the manager came over to help with pictures! We will most likely be coming back for brunch!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The Nacho Mama's Oysters made for a tasty appetizer. The Chorizo Max and Cheese were almost tastier than the Lamb Lollipops. But for the chilly weather, the Pot Roast ordered at our table was the real winner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 2, 2017

It was a rough night for the Max's team... server was not attentive, 40 min wait on food (only 5 other tables seated when we arrived) manager came over and was very apologetic. We ordered dessert which took another 20 min. Manager came back and apologized and said their oven was a bit on the fritz. He gave us a $20 gift card for our next visit. We will return... it was just a crazy night for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food, slow service- expect to wait 40+ minutes for your food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was delicious and our waitress Taylor was phenomenal! It is hard sometimes to have good good with a good waiter but Taylor went above and beyond and made the night extra special.

Tags: Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Fun, Cozy, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Romantic, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I asked for a quiet spot for a special friend, his birthday. I was so surprised that it was exactly what I had asked for and they greeted us by name at the door. Waiter was fantastic, wine was good value at happy hour and the food was excellent. Will be differently returning. I love the fact that the reservation was online and yet they treated us so personally.

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Best fried chicken in Texas! Nothing more you can say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I always get their fried chicken; it's my favorite, but tried the lobster puff pastry. Now, I will to flip a coin next time to decide between my two favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great survey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food, service everything was great except for their choice of music and it was way too loud. We could barely hear each other across the table. It sounded like a night club. Maybe young folks like it, but t was quite annoying for us middle aged folks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great time as always, we always enjoys our time here

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We've dined here numerous times for the atmosphere, menu selection and wine selection. Though the main menu was thin, the entree was still tasty. The music box was not operating so the management streamed Pandora. The music was early 80s English new wave instead of a variety. This made the atmosphere lacking thus a quick exit. The wine selection and service by our server helped to make dinner enjoyable.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Lately service has been lacking. Never got the second glass of wine we ordered. Out of menu items. Order was wrong. The whole meal just missed the mark. Sad. Each subsequent visit lately seems to leave us wondering if we should come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Brunch menu was good. I had the fried chicken champagne salad. It was great. The grapefruit mimosas are my favorite! Don't forget the habanero salsa if you're ordering the omelette! Spicy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food and customer service. I recommend anyone to come here and experience the food. Located in a beautiful area. From Houston and I would visit again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Late reservation, initially the only people sitting inside, three groups outside that had already had their food delivered - it took just over 30 minutes to get our hamburger and grilled chicken sandwiches. Ceiling is very high and background music is loud. Can't imagine the noise level when crowded. Probably designed more for a younger demographic than my husband and I fit into.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Want great chicken and waffles this is the place!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I made reservations for a friend and I to have brunch. Seating was fast, but service was sooo slow. I don't know if they're understaffed or what, but we waited about an hour for our small brunch order. As far as taste, our food was pretty good. Nothing amazing and definitely overpriced. My son had French toast and they wouldn't let me sub the eggs or fruit for bacon so that was ANOTHER charge. Very small mimosas for $5-$7 each. Overall, decent place for a date perhaps, but not a casual brunch.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I didn't like the selection of only craft beers. The service was so, so., not a lot of urgency on the part of the waitress. Fried Chicken and Salisbury steak was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 6, 2016

This was our first visit. We asked to sit outside since inside was a little noisy due to the music. They were very accommodating. Our server was Noelle. She was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. She checked on us often but not to often. Everything was good. If you order the Bloody Mary, be prepared it is on he spicy side. Two of us had watermelon mimosas that were very tasty. I ordered the honey butter biscuit Benedict. It was excellent. One of our party ordered the shrimp and grits. The only change would be to put less of the broth/sauce on the dish. The other person in our party had the hangover hash. She said it was excellent. Would definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food and service are always awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 3, 2016

My friend had the shrimp & grits. It seemed like the presentation was a little different from when I laat had it about 1.5 yrs ago, but improved as I didn't remember the bacon stew on the side nor the poached egg. The stew was a bit salty but my friend loved the dish. I had the buffalo sliders. Very flavorful & delicious! I ate 2 of them & my daughter ate the last one in a few bites! We got the half & half dessert w the bread pudding & brownie & the ice cream on the side. The desserts were very good but the ice cream tasted a bit ice burnt. Overall we had a good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 30, 2016

First time. Went for brunch. Music was way too loud with the number of people inside. If we go back will sit outside. Omelet was interesting. All the filling on the bottom and covered with egg. Very good though.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food was excellent. Our server was good SLOW SERVICE FROM KITCHEN

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Very loud restaurant.

Food was okay.

Thats all the time i have to write anything today.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Kitchen was very slow. Food was sub par and overpriced. Won't go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The menu change for brunch leaves little to be desired when you are going to charge the prices you charge. Being out of main ingredients is not a good way to run the business.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 13, 2016

This is the second time we have eaten at Max's. The food was good. We paid $50 for 2 fried chicken meals. This included the substitutions that we made. I did not want mashed potatoes but loved the collard greens. Husband did not want collard greens, but loved the mac and cheese sub. It was overpriced for their special chicken, in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.