Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.27mi

About MAX's Wine Dive San Antonio - East Basse Rd

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE.
We’re passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere. In addition, we price our wines on a retail model – you can find amazing wines from around the world at the most competitive prices in town – and then take some home with you!

340 E. Basse Rd., Ste. 101
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11AM-12AM (open for lunch & dinner)
Friday: 11AM - 1AM
Saturday: 10AM-1AM* (open for brunch & dinner)
Sunday: 10AM-10PM* (open for brunch & dinner)


*Kitchen closed Saturday and Sunday from 3-4PM. Regular beer/wine service still available.

Cross Street:
Jones-Maltzberger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 444-9547

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/

Entertainment:
Featuring a Texas-proud juke box covering all your favorites - from Johnny Cash to ZZ Top to AC/DC. Perfect for late-night "Reverse" Happy Hour!

Catering:
MAX's Wine Dive will offer catering for off-premise events, as well as for privately-booked corporate or personal events in our semi-private dining room.

Parking Details:
The Quarry Village features a large parking lot directly in front of the restaurant, as well as public visitor parking in the Artessa apartments’ parking garage.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We continuously have upcoming wine tastings and other related events! Check our website to see what is coming up next, http://www.maxswinedive.com/san-antonio/calendar-of-events/index.php

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MAX’s Wine Dive is one of Texas’s most highly acclaimed restaurant concepts and it is at your disposal for all your party planning and catering needs. Allow the team to create the perfect event for you and your company. With a wide variety of options, MAX’s Wine Dive takes all of the stress out!

MAX's Wine Dive San Antonio - East Basse Rd Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (24)
Comfort Food (22)
Casual (20)
See All
Notable Wine List (19)
Good for a Date (18)
Fun (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Romantic (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Cozy (5)
Business Meals (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Authentic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
862 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

My second business lunch at Max's in as many months and both have been great. Looking forward to getting there after hours so I can get a look at that winelist!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great service, food and value!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Good food, great service and nice ambience! Definitely going back!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great spin on a soul food menu with a great selection of wine. Waitress was great and service was outstanding.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We love and frequent Max's, but something was different today. Our server was awesome! No complaints there. The fried chicken was amazing as always, but they've changed the brunch menu from mashed potatoes to home fries with their famous fried chicken plate - bad idea. There was also no toast. We LOVE their chipotle honey and it was lack luster. No spice, just kind of bland. Their collards were below par today as well. Normally we just can't get enough, but today was a 6 out of 10 on the famous fried chicken plate. Now, the chicken and waffles. The waffle was not near as fluffy and golden as normal. It was dense and like it was out of the freezer. Got three wings instead of a breast with two wings. Chicken and waffles today was a 7 out of 10. Normally these dishes are a 10+. We noticed the cook with the dreadlocks was not in the kitchen today and we do normally have Sunday brunch, not Saturday. Of course we'll be back, but today better not be a repeat or we will have to move on for our fried chicken - and that would be sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Always enjoy Max's food! Their fried chicken is the best! Service is always on point too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 7, 2017

If you dont sit near the door to the patio then you will be fine. Near that table there is to much traffic back and forth between patrons and wait staff. I had to drink 4 mimosas to get over it although it took a long time to get the first one the three after came faster. The food was very good as we went there for brunch. I am a very picky person so me saying its very good is like a regular person calling it the best food they ever tasted.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I live minutes from here and have never been due to the volume of cars. Surprisingly once there and seated outside it was great. Beautiful view of the Quarry and we haven't had a server in many many moons like Lisa. Max's Wine Dive should be proud of this one. I go out to eat almost daily and am amazed by the attitudes of servers. It was truly a pleasure. The wine and food was perfect. We had a great evening and will spread the word.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food is always great! The fried chicken is worth the extra wait (and you can enjoy another glass of wine!) More of a hang out with friends plave, rather than a date night place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great love this place :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Family celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Very enjoyable...service was really good...

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I wish they had more smaller portion options. Food was excellent. Came in town for a visit and had to have a Maxis Wine dive detour. Love this place

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Fun place for good comfort food with a kick. The fried chicken was fabulous! Others in the group had the pot roast and shrimp with grits. Everything was great! Nice patio seating for a quieter experience.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Food was very good (pork chop and fried chicken). Collared greens a bit too vinegary. Wine list awesome. Service also awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Where to start with Max's...it was a very dreadful experience. The restaurant was crowded and there was a wait, which usually is a good sign. We had a reservation and were seated within 5 minutes of our reservation which was a good start, but that's where the good times ended. Our server took 10 minutes to greet us, bring us water and take our order. This was at 1140. Our food didn't arrive until 1135, while during that hour span our server only came back 2x, once to bring a mimosa we ordered and 2nd was to tell us our food would be right up (which it didn't and took 15 more minutes past that). To boot, the French toast they served was cold. The manager when we asked to speak to him was very eager to fix what had happened, which meant this wasn't the first problem they had that day. He gave us a $50 certificate and removed the French toast from the bill. Overall, it was a very poor experience. Wouldn't recommend it with all of the other great food options in San Antonio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I love this place. The Famous Southern Fried Chicken with Collard greens are AMAZING!!! Top notch service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Sadly, this location continues to disappoint. It was once a great place to eat with their cuisine prepared perfectly to order. The last few times we have visited, the food takes longer and longer to arrive and then its either cold or not cooked to order. I hope they get it together, but there does not seem to be much emphasis on taking care of the customer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Always love to brunch at Max's. Did a bottle of brut and their prickly pear nectar in place of OJ. Had the fried chicken, delicious as always! Their fried chicken is what keeps me coming back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is a great place to eat, drink and have fun. Food and music are good.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

There were only a couple tables with people when our small group of 4 arrived. We waited more than an hour for our food and it wasn't as great as we had hoped. The shrimp in the shrimp and grits was overcooked and firm, and the bacon and bread on the egg sandwiches were soggy. The max n' cheese sounds really good but it was a bit thin/watery on the sauce and not as flavorful as described.

Our waitress was very nice but we didn't see her too much.

Rather disappointed in this spot considering it's reviews. Not worth the price either on the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food but the service is terrible. Everyone has an attitude and very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We went for their Sunday brunch. The food was okay but their weekday menu is much better. I would not go again for brunch. The service was slow. Out server did her job but was not impressive.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our server was exceptional. Food was delicious. We sat outside, there was more traffic than we desired (2 semi trucks delivering).

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Lots of fun, easy and tasty menu, good wines...all around a great place for dinner and drinks or a delicious brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fun, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Service was OK, but my chicken sliders were burnt!

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food took about 45 min but was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 3, 2017

The food was good. At one point the manager who was sitting next to us was refilling our drinks and asking if were okay or needed anything. The place wasn't busy at all, so not sure why our waitress was unavailable. Oh wait, she was drinking coffee and standing around.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We loved our experience at Max's Wine Dive! The reservation we made on OpenTable was accurate (we will only go to restaurants that take OpenTable reservations), the service was fantastic, the food was amazing and the over experience exceeded our expectations! We highly recommend Max's Wine Dive! When you visit for brunch on Sundays, the chicken fried steak, the chicken dinner, and the Max's Half Mac & Cheese were all amazing!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I was a bit underwhelmed with my brunch choice. I had the chicken Benedict, while the flavor was wonderful, I felt like I was eating at Luby's, everything was soft and mushy including my potatoes.

I am not sure I will return for brunch for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 1, 2017

As always, Max's is a great option for brunch, happy hour, or dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Sunday brunch Reservation for 12 noon, didn't get seated until 12:30. Beverages brought quickly, but meal finally arrived at 1:50. Had to find the waitress to ask about the delay, and after meal delivered didn't see her again until I went to get to-go boxes and the check. Love their brunch, but not worth the aggravation.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Just ok. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Our food was great but the service was bad. Won't be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had a great time! The service was right on time and the food yummy. I have a food allergy and another friend had some special requests- all were acomadated. We will be back👍🏻

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Noticed the food portions are smaller and disappointed with the new $5 upcharge to have all white meat.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always delicious food, great menu of wines! Sweet server who was very attentive. I love coming here!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Everything was good but the music is too loud. We could barely hear each other across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great place to meet friends for food and drink! The newly updated menu has some excellent choices among the old favorites like the wings & waffles and fried chicken.

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Made a reservation and ended up placed at the bar "because they had no tables." Bar was overcrowded with way too many seats too close together.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.