Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.90mi
  4. Distance: 1.27mi

About MAX's Wine Dive San Antonio - East Basse Rd

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE.
We’re passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere. In addition, we price our wines on a retail model – you can find amazing wines from around the world at the most competitive prices in town – and then take some home with you!

340 E. Basse Rd., Ste. 101
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11AM-12AM (open for lunch & dinner)
Friday: 11AM - 1AM
Saturday: 10AM-1AM* (open for brunch & dinner)
Sunday: 10AM-10PM* (open for brunch & dinner)


*Kitchen closed Saturday and Sunday from 3-4PM. Regular beer/wine service still available.

Cross Street:
Jones-Maltzberger

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 444-9547

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/

Entertainment:
Featuring a Texas-proud juke box covering all your favorites - from Johnny Cash to ZZ Top to AC/DC. Perfect for late-night "Reverse" Happy Hour!

Catering:
MAX's Wine Dive will offer catering for off-premise events, as well as for privately-booked corporate or personal events in our semi-private dining room.

Parking Details:
The Quarry Village features a large parking lot directly in front of the restaurant, as well as public visitor parking in the Artessa apartments’ parking garage.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We continuously have upcoming wine tastings and other related events! Check our website to see what is coming up next, http://www.maxswinedive.com/san-antonio/calendar-of-events/index.php

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MAX’s Wine Dive is one of Texas’s most highly acclaimed restaurant concepts and it is at your disposal for all your party planning and catering needs. Allow the team to create the perfect event for you and your company. With a wide variety of options, MAX’s Wine Dive takes all of the stress out!

MAX's Wine Dive San Antonio - East Basse Rd Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (16)
Casual (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Fun (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Cozy (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great Beer (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Business Meals (4)
Authentic (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Romantic (3)
Tapas (3)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
905 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 10, 2017

My friends and I went for Sunday brunch (4 people). We were seated timely. Greeted by our server timely. I ordered a "Virgin" Mary, he didn't know what that was. My friend ordered a Mimosa. He mixed those up. Then one of our orders was messed up, not once but twice. They fixed it. However, since the food is made to order, it is slow leaving the kitchen. This means my friend sat there while we were eating waiting for her food. Then it was wrong again, with no compensation on the check for the mix up, or inconvenience.

I had the fried egg sandwich, Yummo!!! 2 others had the salmon Benedict and said it was good. My friend whose plate was wrong twice, had the fried chicken Benedict. She said the chicken was good and the biscuit was great.

Of the 4 of us, I was the only one who said they would return, and it wasnt the food that caused it. It was the errors.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 6, 2017

As always the dove was amazing. Great wines and a gourmet twist on comfort foods.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Pre engagement dining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great Sunday brunch offerings! We shared an order of the sweet potato donuts as a starter - fantastic! I had the cornbread, sausage & gravy (!!!) as my entrée - will have to work extra hard at the gym this week, but worth it!

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The server seem to have a bit of an attitude, she seemed impatient when I asked for more time

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Showed up only to be told by the manager they were closing early.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great experience, we were there on a slow day but the staff was very attentive and took excellent care of us.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Dog Friendly Sat outside on the patio, was nice a little noisy from the traffic, but still nice. Food was good

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Visited the restaurant on Saturday 8/19 and was able to order from the new menu. Everything we
Ordered was delicious!!! Highly recommend for
Brunch!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 16, 2017

we love Max's Wine Dive. It's our go to place for fun and great food. Every meal we've had at Max's has been great! Our server Victor made our experience enjoyable. He was knowledgeable of wines, beers and the menu.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Authentic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Been to Max's many times with family, our food presentation was great, egg sandwich is the reason we go but for some reason, we were 1 of 3 parties and our food took longer than ever. Of course our waiter came by at least 3 times to tell us our food was on the way. We know this is not the norm and we were very displeased.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great place for lunch or happy hour. Extensive collection of wine and the food is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Thank you very much! Awesome experience. We enjoyed our time although it was not our first.

Tags: Happy Hour, Spicy, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great happy hour specials! Easy place to meet up for a quick drink and business meeting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Food was very expensive for what you get. I could easily get the same food elsewhere for half the price. $70 for sliders, macaroni, and a glass of wine is way too much. I can get better sliders and macaroni and wine for cheaper at several other places. If the prices were better I would most definitely go back, but don't know if I will...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Overall, a great experience. We appreciate the fact that this location offers 1,000 points when dining!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Service was crap, usually good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We love the fried chicken and brunch here. The food is usually good. However, the service is just terrible! Took us 45 minutes to get our food. Mine didn't even come out hot, it was just barely warm. Manager and waiter were apologetic and even gave us a free dessert. But I'm unsure if we will be going back. Plenty of other brunch places with better service. Disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Nothing short of amazing !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Good, interesting menu. The wine list was very nice however significantly overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Met a friend for lunch. Though it was only my second time eating there they lived up to expectations. I had the chicken club and it was easily the best club sandwich I've had, ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We had great service from John. He was attentive and detailed oriented. The food was really good and we loved the atmosphere. Majority of the table at the fried chicken...it did not disappoint. The mimosas were fantastic as well. We will be back

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 3, 2017

My fav place! Amazing food, love the atmosphere, great wine and champagne. Lively and fun. The shrimp and grits are amazing!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Last minute choice for dinner for eight people but worked out well. A little loud but service and food were good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The crab dip was excellent and so were the chips. I had the had rack ribs and they were excellent as well. The staff was attentive and when they noticed my half-rack ribs were a few ribs short they bought out a few other free of charge. I'd go back

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 30, 2017

It was nice. John was a very good waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Food was amazing and you got a lot for your money. The atmosphere was cozy and although we were sitting next to people it didn't feel cramped. The wait staff was attentive and not overbearing. Javier was pleasant and knowledgeable. The menu was broad and gave a variety options and everything was delicious. Definitely will visit again.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We had a great time. The food and wine were delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food for afternoon Father's Day gathering, 5 people. Good variety on the menu, chicken and waffles were quite good. Noise level was high for conversation. Staff was terrific.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food is always good and staff is friendly and helpful

Tags: Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Everything was fabulous as always. Our waitress was great and the chef created some fantastic dishes!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The Egg sandwich was a great concept with subpar execution. Biscuits and gravy were on point

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Kitchen plus have been a little faster, but was worth the wait.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Good drinks and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Lovely place!! This NOTHING like good food and a great atmosphere. Definitely will be going back to try more of the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Our first time here. Food was delicious and service superb. Definitely will come back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 3, 2017

New chef and new menu makes Max's one of our favorite spots to dine. We visit several times a month for drinks, good food, and to enjoy the great company of friends. Wine on tap a plus! Beer on tap too! Small plates to share are worth ordering a few for the table. Fried chicken is the best in San Antonio. Grilled cheese sandwich with tomato soup is a great lunch to split. The service is friendly, unobtrusive, and spot on.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great Beer, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 29, 2017

11:30 reservation...food didn't come out until 1. Been here several times, but this was first time it was this bad. They gave us a free bottle of champagne to make up for it. But, if you're gonna offer up free stuff to the GUY paying for it, maybe offer him a beer. Disappointing experience. Why even make a reservation?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing! The grapefruit and prickly pear mimosas were truly delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.