Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

About MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave.

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE.
We’re passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere. In addition, we price our wines on a retail model – you can find amazing wines from around the world at the most competitive prices in town – and then take some home with you!

4720 Washington Ave., Ste. B
Houston, TX 77007
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday: 11am-12am

Tuesday-Thursday: 4pm-12am

Friday: 11am- 1am

Saturday: 10am-1am

Sunday: 10am- 12am

Cross Street:
Shepherd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 880-8737

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston/index.php

Entertainment:
MAX’s Wine Dive features a jukebox with Texas-influenced classic rock and old favorites to help create the perfect atmosphere.

Catering:
Off-site and private event catering is available. click here for more information, http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston/catering_private-dining/index.php. We love bringing the gourmet comfort food to you!

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary Valet Parking Monday through Saturday nights and have both public and private lots available for all other days & times.

Public Transit:
Metro has stops in the area, and the Washington Wave jitney service makes stops at the Wine Dive as well.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We continuously have upcoming wine tastings and other related events! Check our website to see what is coming up next, http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston/calendar-of-events/index.php

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

While Wine Dive Houston is a smaller-than-most restaurant and doesn’t have a private room, we can accommodate cocktail-style events. And on certain nights, portions of the dining area (or even the entire restaurant) can be dedicated to private events.

MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (31)
Notable Wine List (30)
Casual (28)
See All
Great for Brunch (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Fun (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Cozy (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
People Watching (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Romantic (5)
Authentic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Spicy (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1812 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Way way way too cold. Way way way too loud. Everyone trying to talk over the music = cacophony.
Food great. Wine way overpriced. Never going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

I love this place !!! The food the drinks are always good

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

This was my first time dining at Max's Wine. I invited my mother in law as she had never been either. We had a great time! The food was great and the portions were a nice size. We will be back soon.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Enjoyed brunch for 4. They keep changing the menu, but still everything we ordered was really good. Server wasn't all that attentive - we were hoping to order something similar to the Biscuits and Gravy Stack that they used to have on the menu. Seems like it could have been done since it was just biscuits, gravy, sausage and bacon stacked on top of each other, but he didnt want to listen and just offered another dish instead of what we were looking for. Other than that, it was a good time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Fabulous brunch with family celebrating a birthday. Delicious food and service! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Food was mediocre. Chicken tasted good but was dry. Stuffed pepper appetizer was served warm at best.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Max's is always a go-to place for Sunday brunch. Food is excellent with huge portions and they carry my fav wine - Last Judgement!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Don't expect service from the front desk. The point of having a reservation is so we can have a table and not a high top in the bar area.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great food, Customer service was great, Grapefruit mimosas are delicious! I will mof def be going back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Sunday brunch. Didn’t love the mimosas, everything else was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Mimosas were as disappointing as the mac n cheese.

Not sure what kind of orange juice they use, but it was a kind I've never had.

Mac n cheese had no taste. Even adding bacon couldn't help it.

Too noisy to talk.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Chicken was hot and great!

The Pancakes, French Toast and Waffles were cold; had to have all the bread items sentback back and microwaved .The butter would not even melt on these items.
We drove 35 miles each way to come because we were told how great the food is.
We were really excited for our first visit. Very disappointed about the brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Nice place. Brunch menu has great choices. Will definitely visit again

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Max's Wine Dive had a great eclectic atmosphere and the food is really good. I will definitely go there again and bring friends.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Fried Chicken is delicious, as are the stuffed peppers with shredded pork, fried oysters appetizer. Good selection of wine. We always sit at the bar - better service usually.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Their Fried Chicken is out of this world. I would recommend anyone having the fried chicken and champagne. Great place for a date night or get together with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was mediocre at best. The table was not ready until 30 minutes after reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

My wife and I had a very tasty brunch at Max's and enjoyed the atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great like always, food was amazing and great music was played

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Good food great service, two characteristics that will keep me coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Angel was my waitress and was absolutely wonderful. She was not annoyed with me when I wanted to change tables or wait for my friend before ordering a drink. She was not overly hovering around us and did not pressure us to leave. Over all an absolute pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great job at always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Fried chicken was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Very local to us, we call In out of convenience occasionally.
More fun and casual than date night in my opinion.
Friendly with good comfort food and a decent wine selection .

We will continue to go back assuming standards stay high

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Bar Seating, Authentic, Fun, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Delicious, upscale comfort food with generous servings. Good, friendly service. We tried both chicken dishes, and they were unbeatable. Loved the Mac and cheese.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 22, 2017

I enjoy Max's Wine Dive. It was a week night when we went and it was very quiet which was actually perfect for the occasion. Nice spot, friendly employees.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I met with my bridal party. Some were first timers and others frequentl partakers. They really enjoyed the options on the brunch menu. The drinks were wonderful. Great spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Double date night with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Too loud. Too expensive for food that only costs a few dollars to make. It's not a sophisticated menu. The food tasted good but was so greasy I had a stomach ache all night. And it was so loud I couldn't hear my companion. For those prices, shouldn't be this bad

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We come frequently they have great fried chicken and the Brussel sprouts unique and delicious. Many interesting wines both known and not as well known but all good choices

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Went for Houston Restaurants Week. The wine was fantastic. The appetizer was amazing. Service was prompt and polite and the staff worked well together. The rest of the food was good but not particularly memorable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

My friend and I enjoyed our annual Houston Restaurant Weeks - first stop! The food was excellent, their specialty, fried chicken was all that we expected and more. Our waiter, Jake was very nice. Will be returning, also told my co-workers to check this place out!

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Houston Restaurant week is always a blast and the value is totally there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great food, drinks and service. Nice spot to have brunch!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food as always. The fried chicken is awesome.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great experience like always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Best fried chicken. Knowledgeable waiter, extensive wine menu. Definitely will be back.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

it was extremely crowded, even with the reservation there was still a wait. the food was good, even though they messed up my order, they fixed it immediately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

I personally don't enjoy that high of a noise level nor do I like sitting at a table across from the bathroom and swatting flies during my meal. There were only 2 table for 6 and they were at the back of the restaurant. Fish was greasy and chicken was okay, which is their specialty. I have had better. Had some rib sliders with brussel sprout slaw and the meat was dry and very chewy. Probably will not go back here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 2, 2017

First trip, killer fried chicken, will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.