Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.69mi
  2. Distance: 0.81mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 0.84mi

About MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave.

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE.
We’re passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere. In addition, we price our wines on a retail model – you can find amazing wines from around the world at the most competitive prices in town – and then take some home with you!

4720 Washington Ave., Ste. B
Houston, TX 77007
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10AM – 12AM (brunch 10am – 4pm, dinner 4:30pm – 12am)
Monday - Thursday: 11AM -12AM (brunch 11am - 3pm, dinner 4pm - 12am)
Friday & Saturday: 10AM – 2AM (brunch 10am – 3pm, dinner 4pm – 2am)



*Kitchen is closed Thursday - Saturday from 3-4PM. Sunday kitchen is closed from 4-4:30PM. Regular beer/wine service still available.

Cross Street:
Shepherd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 880-8737

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston/index.php

Entertainment:
MAX’s Wine Dive features a jukebox with Texas-influenced classic rock and old favorites to help create the perfect atmosphere.

Catering:
Off-site and private event catering is available. click here for more information, http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston/catering_private-dining/index.php. We love bringing the gourmet comfort food to you!

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary Valet Parking Monday through Saturday nights and have both public and private lots available for all other days & times.

Public Transit:
Metro has stops in the area, and the Washington Wave jitney service makes stops at the Wine Dive as well.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We continuously have upcoming wine tastings and other related events! Check our website to see what is coming up next, http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston/calendar-of-events/index.php

Specials

$18 - The Fried Chicken Special
Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

$18 - The Fried Chicken Special
Details

MAX's Famous Southern Fried Chicken

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 20 People

Starts: April 11, 2017

Ends: October 11, 2017

Availability: Sun 4:00PM-11:45PM
Mon-Thu 11:00AM-11:45PM
Fri 11:00AM-6:00PM
Sat 4:00PM-6:00PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

While Wine Dive Houston is a smaller-than-most restaurant and doesn’t have a private room, we can accommodate cocktail-style events. And on certain nights, portions of the dining area (or even the entire restaurant) can be dedicated to private events.

MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (36)
Comfort Food (36)
Great for Brunch (36)
See All
Good for a Date (32)
Fun (27)
Bar Seating (26)
Notable Wine List (23)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Special Occasion (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Happy Hour (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Cozy (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Late-night Find (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Romantic (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Open Kitchen (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Authentic (11)
Quick Bite (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
People Watching (8)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great Beer (4)
Spicy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Family Style (3)
Organic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Live Sports (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Waterfront (1)
Historic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
1720 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Our second visit was as enjoyable as the first. The wine choices are good, and the food is good value.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

A good experience! Only thing I could think of was the grits may have been to soupy but other than that food was good. I will revisit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

It was mediocre at best. From the moment we pulled up to the moment we left, I didn't get an overall feeling of satisfaction.

Parking is a nightmare. The valet line was horribly backed up to the point that a valet attendant from another restaurant in the strip offered to park my vehicle and give my keys to Max's attendants.

The food was nothing to write home about. I'll give them an A for presentation; however, the food lack flavor. My underage kids were not even impressed with their selections.

Sadly, we probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Server was very prompt and polite. He offered suggestions as it was the first visit for my party. Prices were reasonable and food was amazing. Extremely pleased overall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Fried chicken was outstanding, as usual! Lively but not too terribly loud. A fun "date night" place!

Tags: Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Seasonal, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Max's Wine Dive was pretty good. My love and I both ordered Boss Pineapple Wheat Beer and shared the Southern Fried Chicken, macaroni and cheese, and a small Caesar salad. I'm still full to be honest. Josh took care of us and was very focused on making sure that all of his guests felt welcomed. I commend his professionalism and service with a smile.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Bar Seating, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I was not pleased with my recent visit.
This was my fourth time visiting Max's and my food was not presented good and the taste of the chicken was different. I had to send my waffle back because if was burnt on the bottom and when I told our waitress she apologized and went to get another waffle.
There was a lady who I assume was a manager that met our waitress to give her my food and I heard the manager state " This is how our waffles are" she proceeded to bring it to me stating the same thing and I "said"and picked up the waffle to show
her how burnt it was "This is how you make
Your waffles"? She immediately stated oh yeah that's burnt🤷🏽‍♀️. I was not pleased at all. There must be a new cook?

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server was great and we walked right in and was seated! It was crowded because of Mother's Day but they were VERY efficient!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Really good service. Liked the unique menu items - different but very appealing. We went for brunch on Mother's Day and despite the crowd everything was handled very well - prompt food service, attentive waiter, seated right away even though we arrived early. Noise level is moderate, possible to talk but of course some background noise level. Great for a special event like ours, or even just to stop in - convenient location on Washington Ave. corridor.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent staff, service, and food. The staff went out of their way to seat us comfortably. 1st time dining but definitely not our last.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Took some cohorts from London, England and they loved the atmosphere, service and food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Jake( from State Farm) lol was the best waiter ever very informative gave great advice loved loved loved.

Tags: Historic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Cozy, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We've been coming to Max's since it opened, but the quality of the food has noticeably declined. We had to send back the burger that my wife ordered because she ordered it cooked medium and it was cooked well done. The server was extremely nice about it, and took it back to the kitchen. Second time around...still well done. Again, the server apologized. We didn't want it sent back again, so he just took it off the bill. Not to mention, it simply didn't look appetizing. What happened to the delicious Kobe beef burger with the wedge of brie that used to be on the menu? That burger was amazing. What I saw on Saturday, I could have gotten a better burger at Five Guys. I had the fried chicken. After coming to Max's a number of times, I had never had the "famous" fried chicken. Yeah...it was okay. I didn't find it particularly flavorful. The collard greens were bland. We will continue to come to Max's for the wine and the appetizers, but not for dinner anymore. It's quite a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

consistently wonderful food! service is good, atmosphere as well. I'm almost all the way through the menu and haven't had anything i did not like a lot!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Enjoyed myself and the food was absolutely delicious.

Tags: Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great atmosphere, awesome food and a great place to have great conversation and unwind and relax with a good glass of wine. I had brunch on two occasions with different friends and they all loved the restaurant. Several managers stopped by, awesome service and I definitely will be returning very soon

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Romantic, Quick Bite, Cozy, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had a great time! The food was delicious and the service was amazing-- we wanted for nothing.
The music was a bit loud though; I felt like we were shouting across the table at times.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 27, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants! We take all of our out of town guests. Never heard a complaint!! Great food & wine choices.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Too much loitering at outside tables after people have finished their food/wine etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

One of our go to's for a great brunch! Shrimp and grits are the best!

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Awesome place with high quality selection of wines and fresh food. Very consistent. Happy hour is great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Tori was excellent!!! Thank you for making my friend's birthday special!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The food was great especially the waffles and chicken. Can't wait to go back and sample some more dishes.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Fab! Been there 3 times in the last 10 days and I'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was loud for a Sunday brunch with family. Couldn't really talk to each other over the music.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The manager really took care of us since our reserved table had been given away. She made sure we found a replacement table and since there was a small wait she gave our table a bottle of champagne.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My parents were visiting from Philadelphia and we wanted to show them something they wouldn't get at home. Mission accompmished! Food was great and much enjoyed (my ham was a bit on the salty side, but the green eggs more than made up for it!) and service was great, as always. See yoy soon!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a great experience here for an anniversary with my girlfriend. The ambiance and service were excellent and our waiter was extremely helpful in choosing a wine. The food was amazing! Will come back again!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (München)·Dined on April 15, 2017

They have perfected Comfort Food to the point that you wouldn't mind moving in! From appetizers to dessert, Max's takes good care of you and your tastebuds and pairs wonderful wines to go with your meal. Who knew fried chicken could be paired with a robust red to a point of pure bliss?

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The music is tooooo loud. It makes it difficult to have a conversation with the person sitting right across from you. I asked to have the volume lowered and was told that per the manager "this is a rock & roll wine bar" and they won't lower the volume.
I grew up with rock & roll and I love it but I don't want to have to shout over it while I eat a meal. This is a restaurant, not a disco, not a bar; people should not have to shout to be heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Good staple when you want reliably good food and wine. Would definitely recommend, but you need to make a reservation if you're coming here on the weekend. Also, just bite the bullet and valet; the parking at the Washington location is abysmal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The food was great! Comfort food with a wonderful wine selection. Quantity was more than enough, quality was outstanding. A regular stop for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Good service. The wine recommendations were spot on as the wine was good. All in our group liked their food choices.

I will visit again.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Lobster sauce wasn't as good as it usually is

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Mashed potatoes were watery, inedible. Server missed the ball on a wine recommendation, should have let us sample before we purchased bottle. Charged us for third bottle when we only had two, had to tell ask him to remove from check. Friendly service, tasty chicken, second bottle was good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 30, 2017

I ordered the gluten free fried chicken. It was delicious. You couldn't tell the crust did not have gluten. Really appreciate a restaurant making the effort to not only cater to special diets but make it delicious as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We had a busy night, and decided at the last minute to make a reservation at Max's. I had the fried chicken salad while my spouse enjoyed the Chicken and Mac&Cheese - both were very good. Always enjoy the menu and wine list at Max's - and this trip did not disappoint.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

My wife and I had a great time there. The service was excellent. Not more than a few minutes before someone would stop and make sure you were okay. The food was good. I like the atmosphere, had a nip vibe to it without being pretentious and trying too hard.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.