About MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave.

4720 Washington Ave., Ste. B
Houston, TX 77007
View Larger Map

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE.
We’re passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere. In addition, we price our wines on a retail model – you can find amazing wines from around the world at the most competitive prices in town – and then take some home with you!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10AM – 12AM (brunch 10am – 4pm, dinner 4:30pm – 12am)
Monday - Thursday: 11AM -12AM (brunch 11am - 3pm, dinner 4pm - 12am)
Friday & Saturday: 10AM – 2AM (brunch 10am – 3pm, dinner 4pm – 2am)



*Kitchen is closed Thursday - Saturday from 3-4PM. Sunday kitchen is closed from 4-4:30PM. Regular beer/wine service still available.

Cross Street:
Shepherd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 880-8737

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston/index.php

Entertainment:
MAX’s Wine Dive features a jukebox with Texas-influenced classic rock and old favorites to help create the perfect atmosphere.

Catering:
Off-site and private event catering is available. click here for more information, http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston/catering_private-dining/index.php. We love bringing the gourmet comfort food to you!

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary Valet Parking Monday through Saturday nights and have both public and private lots available for all other days & times.

Public Transit:
Metro has stops in the area, and the Washington Wave jitney service makes stops at the Wine Dive as well.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We continuously have upcoming wine tastings and other related events! Check our website to see what is coming up next, http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston/calendar-of-events/index.php

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:00AM - 1:00AM 4:00PM - 11:00PM

Mon - Thu 12:00AM - 12:00AM 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 11:00PM

Fri 12:00AM - 12:00AM 10:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Sat 12:00AM - 1:00AM 4:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

While Wine Dive Houston is a smaller-than-most restaurant and doesn’t have a private room, we can accommodate cocktail-style events. And on certain nights, portions of the dining area (or even the entire restaurant) can be dedicated to private events.

MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Washington Ave. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (45)
Good for a Date (38)
Casual (30)
See All
Sunday Lunch (27)
Bar Seating (26)
Hot Spot (26)
Great for Brunch (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Happy Hour (24)
Great for Lunch (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Fun (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Cozy (20)
Special Occasion (18)
Modern Decor (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
People Watching (15)
Late-night Find (15)
Open Kitchen (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Romantic (8)
Authentic (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Live Sports (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Family Style (4)
Tapas (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Live Music (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Organic (3)
Spicy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Business Meals (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1649 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I Love Max's!! Great Brunch spot for Fun ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined a day ago

I Love Max's!! Great Brunch spot for Funday Sunday! I bring different friends each time and anything they order they love. My favorite is the Mac N Cheese and of course the Fried Egg Sandwich.

Tags: Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We came for brunch on the recommendation ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

We came for brunch on the recommendation of a friend. It did not disappoint! Our waiter was courteous and honest about menu choices. We really appreciated that. Our orders were prompt, hot, and delicious!! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great date! Small but good atmosphere an ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Great date! Small but good atmosphere and food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is excellent. Service is good. Only ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food is excellent. Service is good. Only complaint is the tables are very close together and you can feel a little crowded while eating.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We went for Sunday brunch and it was ver ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went for Sunday brunch and it was very busy and glad we reserved a table. Everyone there seemed to be enjoying their time. Good food, good drinks, good service, what more can you want? Note... Only valet parking on Sunday, which was a surprise to us.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We enjoyed our brunch w/ our son & fianc ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We enjoyed our brunch w/ our son & fiancé. The food was amazing. It's a little crowded and loud but our experience was outstanding! Definitely a do-over! We will go back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

Love the new menu. Breakfast sliders wer ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Love the new menu. Breakfast sliders were on point!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a reservation and got to the restaur ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had a reservation and got to the restaurant t to be told that only high top tables were available. Throughout the meal, our table continuously got knocked by patrons walking past which ruined the dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

Great date night and we loved the atmosp ...

 
 (Baton Rouge)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great date night and we loved the atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The pot roast was awesome!!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The pot roast was awesome!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is very consistent and alw ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food here is very consistent and always good. The fried egg sandwich is a must try!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Restaurant was freezing but everything e ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Restaurant was freezing but everything else was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

The food here is always pretty good. It ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food here is always pretty good. It can be busy during brunch so make a reservation. My only negative comment is that I really wish they would bring back the jake cakes. I had the waffle and I was underwhelmed.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

I met a friend here for Sunday brunch. T ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I met a friend here for Sunday brunch. The service is amazing...everyone greeted us warmly and seemed very happy to be working there. The food was delicious and plentiful. I tried the country fried steak & eggs. My friend had the mac & cheese with fried chicken. She loved it!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

HORRIBLE place to eat

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

HORRIBLE place to eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

We had a fun time. Only downfall was in ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a fun time. Only downfall was in the middle of dinner the A/C kicked on in full force and we were freezing. The vent was a direct hit to our corner table.

Tags: Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Highly disappointed. We had a reservatio ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Highly disappointed. We had a reservation as this was a special occasion for our family. My family likes dive bars as much as the next guy, but this one was a disappointment. They put us in the last booth by the back door where the seats were a very uncomfortable distance (about 8 inches) from the table. One of our guests could not begin to fit and sat uncomfortablely on the edge of the bench until they were able to move us. The booth just in front had their booth pushed all the way back for a comfy position from the table. After 30 minutes they moved us up to the front where were mostly ignored by wait staff the entire meal except when ordering. Ordered the house chardonnay for myself and my Mother, only to find out when when the bill came, they were $17 per glass! Somehow I think they should have let us know that piece of info prior to ordering. My food was ok. You can use too much truffle oil! One person in our group said this was by far the best fried chicken they had ever eaten. Overall, very disappointed, but great music playing the entire time!!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

This wasn't our best dining experience a ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This wasn't our best dining experience at Max's. We only had reservations for 2 so we got a crowded, tiny bar-style table in the middle of the room and it was loud as it always is but it wasn't very conducive to conversation for a breakfast date. I think if you reserve for a larger group you'd get an actual table with booth seating and more room. The food wasn't nearly as good as it was before. I watched the kitchen since I couldn't visit with my date. They made up about a half dozen biscuits and just had them sitting out above the grill where there was not a heating element and they weren't covered until someone ordered them as they were plated upon order so my biscuit was hard and cold. The portions weren't as generous as they were the last time we dined here either. Management is good though as they passed through asking if everything was ok several times. Max's usually has very good food though and decent wine prices.

Tags: Quick Bite, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Wonderful dinner with my girlfriend

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Wonderful dinner with my girlfriend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I drive about 80 miles to visit this est ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I drive about 80 miles to visit this establishment! Sunday brunch is awesome and reasonably priced. I absolutely love the menu, my only complaint would be the size of the establishment.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service, sometimes the no ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food and service, sometimes the noise level gets pretty high.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We went and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The staff was very attentive and knowledgeable. The manager stopped by and checked on us for more than a few seconds. We will definitely be going back

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WOW!!!! Great food very tasty....The mim ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

WOW!!!! Great food very tasty....The mimosas where perfect. Excellent customer service!!!! Will definitely dine at this HOT SPOT again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a great time at Max's. F ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We always have a great time at Max's. Food and drink were fantastic. Alex was excellent and attractive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was excellent. Place is ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Place is tooo small.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food and wine selection for happy ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Great food and wine selection for happy hour prices. Quick service, and enjoyable atmosphere. They can improvise on food, such as my dinner for Salisbury steak made with bison at my request. It was outstanding! Make sure you try their oysters as well! Very creative taste that truly hits a comfort spot!

Tags: Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

My sister and I decided to eat at MAX's ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 17, 2017

My sister and I decided to eat at MAX's Wine Dive Houston on Washington Ave.

We read the Opentable reviews about their Happy Hour and Fried Chicken plate.

We decided to split the Fried Chicken plate and a side order of macaroni and cheese. Even though the menu warns you that the Fried Chicken is made fresh it still took 35 minutes to receive our plate. It was worth the wait. The plate includes three pieces of Fired Chicken, collard greens and mash potatoes. If it wasn't for the long wait, I would have given the restaurant a higher rating. ENJOY!

Tags: Fun, Tapas, Casual, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Everything was outstanding with one exce ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Everything was outstanding with one exception being the greens with the fried chicken. They tasted a little sour like they needed more time to develop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We made reservations, but still waited 4 ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We made reservations, but still waited 40 minutes for our table. The food and service was wonderful, but they wait was not so much.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was great! I had the chicken an ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was great! I had the chicken and waffles which were so good. The eggs Benedict over chicken and biscuits were also very tasty. Can't wait to try more menu items!

From the outside I wasn't sure what to expect but they place was packed and I was still seated right away even though my reservations were still 45 minutes away.

Great find!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food! Fabulous atmosphere! We ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Amazing food! Fabulous atmosphere! We loved the mimosas and fried chicken!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valet parking, made a reservation and wa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Valet parking, made a reservation and was seated immediately upon arrival. Greeted warmly by host/owner and server. Limited menu for brunch however they are known for their fried chicken which was at the tip of the menu. Server was very knowledgeable about the menu and history behind Max's and was very attentive. The food was great, it was a little noisy, the atmosphere was nice!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It's slightly crowded since the establis ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It's slightly crowded since the establishment is "cozy." Love the wings- waffles not my fave but it's a great stop in for a lazy Sunday. I recommend reservations though bc of the crowding.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Great birthday brunch! Wonderful food an ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great birthday brunch! Wonderful food and very attentive wait staff.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place for dinner and brunch ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We love this place for dinner and brunch. Amazing food and wine list. The Max and Cheese is one of our favorites.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious brunch, didn't have to wait lo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Delicious brunch, didn't have to wait long for the food to come out.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I visited Max's twice previously and bot ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I visited Max's twice previously and both times had an excellent experience. This time not so much. The only time my server paid us any attention was when he recommended a $22 glass of wine (during happy hour no less). The rest of the evening he was a ghost. Also Max did not credit me my OpenTable points, so I had to follow up with OpenTable (twice) to get credited. I emailed Max (via his website) to inform him about this experience, but he did not reply. The entire experience from beginning to end was disappointing. I will not be visiting Max's Wine Dive Bar again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

My gf mentioned this restaurant so I sur ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

My gf mentioned this restaurant so I surprised her and took her there for dinner. Food was fantastic, we both had the fried chicken. The wine selection is very extensive and if you don't know you're wines, like me, ask your host and they'll let you try some to find one you like. Place is awesome!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was great but service was slow. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was great but service was slow. It wasn't the usual rush but it took a little too long for service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.