Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.60mi
  2. Distance: 0.67mi
  3. Distance: 0.67mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.60mi
  2. Distance: 0.67mi
  3. Distance: 0.67mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.60mi
  2. Distance: 0.67mi
  3. Distance: 0.67mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.60mi
  2. Distance: 0.67mi
  3. Distance: 0.67mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Fairview St.

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE. We’re passionate about food and wine - just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere.

214 Fairview St., Ste. 2
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10AM – 12AM
Monday: 11AM – 12AM
Tuesday – Thursday: 11AM – 12AM
Friday: 11AM – 2AM
Saturday: 10AM - 2AM

*Lunch served Monday - Friday, 11AM - 3PM
*Brunch served Saturday – Sunday, 10AM – 3PM.

Cross Street:
Taft St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-9200

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston-214-fairview-st/contact/

Catering:
Love the food at MAX’s Wine Dive and planning a special event? Why not have the best of both? MAX’s Wine Dive can cater all kinds of private and corporate events. Let our experienced staff do the work and create the perfect birthday, reunion, rehearsal dinner, graduation, wedding reception, corporate outing, happy hour, charity event…the list goes on and on! For more information, email us, infoHOU2@maxswinedive.com.

Executive Chef:
Shay Prigmore

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Love the food at MAX’s Wine Dive restaurant and wine bar and planning a special event? Why not have the best of both? We can cater all kinds of private and corporate events. Let our experienced staff do the work and create the perfect event!

MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Fairview St. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.7

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (20)
Casual (18)
Comfort Food (15)
See All
Fun (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
People Watching (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Authentic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
602 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent brunch and mimosas. Friendly and efficient service. Will definitely be back next time I'm in Houston!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The staff was quick and courteous, they've got a part of my order wrong, but reconciled it in less than two minutes. I just wish there was a few more cheaper options for a bottle of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Do you like eclectic offerings? Does hollandaise sauce spiked with jalapeno's interest you? Do you like a great mix of classic rock and blues? If you said yes to these, you MUST try Max's WIne Dive. The food was phenomenal. I can't wait to try this place again, hopefully as soon as my wife gets back to town.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Good food good value...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We've been coming here for years and have loved it - it's one of our "go to" spots but sadly each visit lately has been more and more disappointing. Not sure what's happened but we probably won't be back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We enjoyed our visit very much. We were greeted when we walked in the door by friendly hosts. The seating was excellent! Food was tasty and so was dessert! Portions were perfect! Can’t wait till we can return.

Tags: Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, People Watching, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Too greasy, almost all deep fried food. Not too impressed with the menu, more like bar food

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Even after making a reservation for 12:30, we waited over half an hour to be seated. It took a while to place an order, we had the donuts and they were burned. The manager was kind, took them off the tab and sent out another order, which were also burned. The server made a mistake when entering our order and only three of the four entrees made it to the table- a mistake that was compounded by her to checking on us. It wasn't until the other three were nearly finished that I got my entree. I understand that Brunch at Max's is very busy, and even more crowded due to Houston Restaurant Weeks, but the restaurant was completely off that day. I may give them another chance to make it right, but it won't be soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We had an amazing time! Restaurant weeks menu was amazing and filling! Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Love the fried chicken with the greens! Yum! Great place for brunch! And to just meet up with friends. Please do not bring your kids. Brunch in Midtown is not designed for kids. Great wine selection! Nice brunch or evening on the town. Super chill.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Appetizers didn't arrive together, main courses arrived 10 minutes apart. Every dessert on the restaurant weeks menu comes with ice cream and at 8:30 they were out of ice cream and didn't know how or where to get more. It will be a while before I venture back. It was always packed and was pretty empty. I now know why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I feel like the presentation of their food and quality of meals have declined. Was disappointed with their burger this evening. Not impressed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

I made a 9:45 reservation, we made it to the restaurant about 10-15 minutes early and were turned around at the door because they were no longer serving after 9:30. Highly disappointed by my experience here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We were a group of 5 and everything we had was wonderful. I especially liked the brussel sprouts and the fried chicken, but other thoroughly enjoyed the burger and other entrees.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 23, 2017

I did not realize it was Restaurant Week when I made reservations. This meant a limited menu, which I really don't like, and would have preferred to order off the regular menu. The chicken is OUT Of THiS WORLD good, as I expected from dining at other locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

I've frequented Max's many times at many of their locations. This past Sunday 8/20/17 I went for a pre-baseball game brunch and was taken aback by the new seasonal brunch items. There were many new dishes and I landed on the Cornbread, Sausage and Gravy. It was phenomenal! Probably one of the best pieces of cornbread I've had since my grandmother's cast iron skillet cornbread many years ago. Two perfect pieces of cornbread sat next to each other. The sage bacon and sausage gravy was a little too conservatively applied on top of the sausage patty that sat atop the cornbread but only because it was so delicious I wanted so much more! Two beautiful (well ok one, because one broke before service) sunny side up eggs topped each stack of near perfection. Each bite was scrumptious and I easily cleaned my entire plate. This is a dish I will order MANY more times before this seasonal menu changes. My hope is that others feel the same way and Max's moves this dish to their permanent offerings. Sunday brunch was loud and crowded, but that is to be expected at any good restaurant in our great city. The kitchen did, however, take a very long time to get our two dishes out. Nearly 45 minutes, but the wait was WELL WORTH IT! Already looking forward to returning for brunch this next weekend!

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

You can't be in a hurry at this restaurant. We waited almost an hour for food. At least 10 minutes to even be greeted. This is during the weekend brunch rush though. I have come here before on a Friday afternoon and it was fine. Weekends are super busy for brunch and reservations are a must.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great food and service. Only real downside is that tables were quite close to each other - could have eaten off the table next to ours. Even with that, not too loud. Plan to return in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Cannot rate the food because we didn't get to try it. Had a reservation on Saturday night at 7. Promptly seated but no one came to our table for 15 minutes to take a drink order. Ordered 2 glasses of wine which took 10 minutes to arrive. Then our server disappeared and no one seemed to know where she was. We left at 7:30 to go elsewhere. Note: Management was apologetic and comped the wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2017

My first visit to the Fairview location was a miss. The kitchen was clearly overwhelmed. Our waffles were cold and the famous fried chicken was not breaded and greasy. I only ate a little bit of the breast. The mac and cheese and greens were good. The staff was attentive but busy with gaps in service. I'll visit the heights location over this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 14, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed a tasty Houston Weeks dinner at Max's with great service and atmosphere!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2017

First time I have ever been disappointed in the service here. Also, I like a lively crowd but the combination of loud music and a packed restaurant made it nearly impossible to talk. This was brunch but the noise level was like a disco. Great food but staff was not working up to the usual standards and too loud.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Tried this location for the first time & loved it. The service & food was great! I will definitely try it again & recommend it to others.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great overall experience. The food was fantastic!! Friedchicken Benedict.... sooo good!!! The Bloody Mary was awesome too!!! Service was top notch!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

My favorite spot for brunch! Everybody I take there leaves impressed, happy and full!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Fun, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 7, 2017

This place is very non-descript and uninspiring. I won't bother to visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The food was not hot...it was sent back twice. The server was hands off and didn't follow up which did not help the service aspect of this experience. The manager came by, but didn't resolve the issue. I eventually paid for my drink and left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Had to ask for water refills. Had to ask for iced tea refills. Was not offered a second bottle of wine. Asked for fork as "roll up" didn't have one. Fork never received. Pancakes were, literally, black on one side. I could go on, but you get the point.

This was a hugely disappointing experience. I can usually rely on Max's for delicious food and impeccable service. It will be a while before I can give them another chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Maybe the best fried chicken I've ever had! Everything was great, even the music selection playing all night.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Great place! Our first experience here-took the opportunity with Houston Restaurant Weeks to enjoy a new location...and we were happy we did! The food was perfect and well-presented. If you have not tried Max's...you need to!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Casual, Spicy, Notable Wine List, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Max's Wine Dive is very well-known in Houston and has grown into a national chain. So they are doing something right - in this case, really amped-up versions of classic dishes. This works to a point. My fried egg sandwich had way too many ingredients competing for my taste buds. The old saying is, before you leave the house, look in the mirror and take one accessory off. Max's would do well to remember this.

On the other hand, the fried chicken was minimal with hardly any seasoning at all.

Otherwise it's a fun atmosphere which can get very loud when crowded. Wine and cocktail selection is very good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I have visited this location several times of the last year and the same issue happens. Poor service! I had to get up and ask to be waited on after 10 minutes. There were at least 3-4 employees standing by the front door, but they really were not watching how numerous guests sat and had to wait to even get their beverage order. It's a shame that the food is always great, but you are lucky if you can ever place an order. Management really needs to fix this or continue to lose customers as time goes on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I usually like going there but the service wasn't great. I didn't get a spoon for my mac and cheese. I went to the bar to get one. They were out of the short rib sliders
, but the waitress didn't know that. I hate ordering something only to find out they don't have it even though it is on the menu. I also prefer to have someone who is attentive, like asking me if I need a soda or water refill without my having to flag them down. I like the Washington location better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 18, 2017

I've been to this location many times just not in the last year and a half. Service was inattentive at best. My fried chicken was excellent with great mashed potatoes. My wife's ribs? Man were they terrible. Like McRibs with an even sweeter sauce. I can get passed sub par food. However, after ordering a cocktail (campari and soda) they said they didn't have but then did have, it took 20 minutes to get a glass of wine with my meal...at the WINE dive. After the wine she never came back. I had to wave her down for dessert which was a microwaved brownie. Not exaggerating. Probably won't return for that kind of pricepoint.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Very poor service from waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Service was slow, waffles had no taste, max and cheese had no flavor. Chicken was just ok. Not worth the money or the time. Sorry I was hoping to give a better review but the food was NOT good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Absolutely terrible service. Food was ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Adelaide / SA)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Had been here for brunch and it was great. Came back for dinner and our food was horrible. The service was slow.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 9, 2017

My first time at this Max's location, well worth the drive from Clear Lake. As usual the food and the service was phenomonal, love the atmosphere here. The host was awesome and friendly. Kudos to the chef for a great meal. Will be back soon

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 8, 2017

I was disappointed, to say the least. We have enjoyed the three-egg sandwich in the past. Yummy bread with truffle oil grilled with gooey cheese, mounds of bacon and perfectly runny eggs. NOT this time.

The bread was barely toasted, the cheese and bacon were sparse and the eggs were overcooked. When I brought this to the attention of the waitress, she apologized, but did not offer a suggestion to make it better. I ordered an extra "runny" egg to add. My boyfriend does not like to complain, but it was easy to see that the sandwich was a letdown after our previous experience.

I ordered brownie for his "birthday cake." The manager came by to tell us that they were our of ice cream. He offered to comp us a serving of bananas foster. We declined because my boyfriend does not care for bananas. However, since he was at our table, I mentioned our disappointment with the sandwich. He apologized and said he would "make it right." When I got the bill I was not charged for the additional egg and there was a credit for $4 "birthday credit" on our $52 bill.

Won't be back to the Fairview location, even though it is walking distance from the house. Will instead drive to the Washington location. We have always had a great experience there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.