Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.60mi
  2. Distance: 0.67mi
  3. Distance: 0.67mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.60mi
  2. Distance: 0.67mi
  3. Distance: 0.67mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.60mi
  2. Distance: 0.67mi
  3. Distance: 0.67mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi
  1. Distance: 0.60mi
  2. Distance: 0.67mi
  3. Distance: 0.67mi
  4. Distance: 0.67mi

About MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Fairview St.

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE. We’re passionate about food and wine - just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere.

214 Fairview St., Ste. 2
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10AM – 12AM
Monday: 11AM – 12AM
Tuesday – Thursday: 11AM – 12AM
Friday: 11AM – 2AM
Saturday: 10AM - 2AM

*Lunch served Monday - Friday, 11AM - 3PM
*Brunch served Saturday – Sunday, 10AM – 3PM.

Cross Street:
Taft St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-9200

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston-214-fairview-st/contact/

Catering:
Love the food at MAX’s Wine Dive and planning a special event? Why not have the best of both? MAX’s Wine Dive can cater all kinds of private and corporate events. Let our experienced staff do the work and create the perfect birthday, reunion, rehearsal dinner, graduation, wedding reception, corporate outing, happy hour, charity event…the list goes on and on! For more information, email us, infoHOU2@maxswinedive.com.

Executive Chef:
Shay Prigmore

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

$18 - The Fried Chicken Special
Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

$18 - The Fried Chicken Special
Details

MAX's Famous Southern Fried Chicken

Terms and Conditions: Excludes tax and service

Valid For: 1 - 20 People

Starts: April 11, 2017

Ends: October 11, 2017

Availability: Sun 4:00PM-11:45PM
Mon-Thu 11:00AM-11:45PM
Fri 11:00AM-6:00PM
Sat 4:00PM-6:00PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Love the food at MAX’s Wine Dive restaurant and wine bar and planning a special event? Why not have the best of both? We can cater all kinds of private and corporate events. Let our experienced staff do the work and create the perfect event!

MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Fairview St. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (32)
Good for a Date (26)
Casual (26)
See All
Great for Brunch (22)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Fun (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Happy Hour (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Hot Spot (11)
People Watching (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Cozy (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Authentic (7)
Romantic (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Business Meals (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Scenic View (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Live Sports (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
542 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service was absolutely amazing we will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This has to be one of the coolest places to hang out in Houston. The food is amazing specifically their steak night on Wednesdays. The staff is very friendly and super cool. Their creative drink menu is awesome. One of the best lemon drop martini's in the city. There made to order southern fried chicken is phenomenal a must if you go here.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server was Jamie he started off as a very nice guy then things took a turn we were not checked on but once then whenever we needed something the busser was more than helpful it took us forever to get our bill and once we received our bill we were hit with an alcohol tax which I thought we should have been for warned about I was dining with my mother and sister so we asked for
2 separate checks ...I tip him on my bill out of courtesy but my sister didn't he followed her out of the restaurant and yelled to her "Thank you for not tipping me" VERY UNPROFESSIONAL since when did you have to tip for bad service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I invited a free for lunch, she's xa newbee to Maxs. Everything that could go wrong did.
1. The 2-3 managers left 1 waiter for the lunch crowd. Over 39 people.
2. We arrived long before the party of 15, but my chicken took over 30 minutes. We were told they had new cooks. That's your problem, not mine because I still have to pay the bill.
3. We had to send another entree back, not prepared correctly.

I was disappointed and ashamed

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Champagne salad lacked as many topping as the other location, but their fried chicken can't be beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Loved the food, drinks, and the service! Going back to try the famous fried chicken and more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Jayme was such an amazing server and Melvin was an awesome host. I am gf and soy free and Jaime made it his mission to check with the kitchen and call the chef to be sure the dish was completely soy free as well as gluten free. Jaime gave us suggestions for bars to visit throughout our visit here and Melvin came over to add to our list as well. Overall, food was incredible and service was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Took forever to get the food (salad and chicken sliders), terrible service that never refilled drinks or asked about food once we finally received, and the specialty drinks are tiny with little alcohol (terrible value).

What has happened to Max's? It will be a long time before we spend our money again inside Max's four walls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Service was really slow, and my food was cold when it finally arrived.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Came here for brunch and was seated immediately. The server was fantastic and the food was excellent. I can't complain

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I really enjoyed my chicken benedict. The food was seasoned, and the temperature was hot. I haven't been in a while and I was glad we decided to go today.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food is always great. To me it's all about how I am treated as a customer. I have worked in the restaurant business for 6 years and I know good customer care. The server we had last Sunday was not very enthusiastic and didn't seem to care.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Best pot roast in town! Service can be sketchy, and is normally just a wee bit slow. Still - the staff is friendly and pleasant.
Also very good is the Lobster pot pie!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Best brunch ever - yes, ever (and anywhere)! Impeccable service, fair price, just doesn't get any better. No one should miss it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Because my wife is Gluten-free, we drive across town to get their Famous gluten free fried chicken. Maybe add 1 extra piece and it's enough to share.
I thinks outs really good but because my wife can't get fried chicken hardly anywhere, she think it's a gift from heaven...
First time at the Fairview location, but actually like the sitting and parking better here than at Washington.... Both have the same great food...
We give it 2 thumbs up and 1 big toe🤗

Tags: Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was good and it was a great place for Sunday brunch. The restaurant was busy on Mother's Day but we did not feel rushed. Server was nice but not particularly attentive. After we finished our meal, we had to ask for our check. We gave the server our credit card and had to wait another 30 minutes to get our card and receipt back to sign. Not thrilled with the wait after the meal and very uncomfortable about having our cc out of sight for that long.

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Awesome service. Service was spot on and the food was cooked to order.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 16, 2017

It was busy but food arrived quickly. We ordered, ate, and left within an hour but we could easily see how people stayed all day. Kids brunch options aren't huge on choice but they are amazing on flavor. Toddler approved French toast and fruit. Would definitely come back for another Easter brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food and perfect service. The egg sandwich was amazing (yes, I know). Fried chicken was great and the burger with foi grass (sp) was very tasty. The waiter was friendly and knowledgeable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The Sunday Brunch offers a nice variety. I especially liked the discounted bottles of champagne. I would return to and recommend this location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food there is great, and that you can get gluten-free Fried Chicken is a huge Plus in my book. The chicken is always really crispy and really moist... Delicious. I don't know too many other things on the menu except for the cobb salad with the fried chicken and that's pretty good too. It's got a really reasonable happy hour, the music is usually din, classic rock (loud! ), and the staff there are really friendly ... though they're pretty slow, so count on that. Overall great dining experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

So disappointed that fried chicken and donuts and red velvet pancake were taken off the menu. Talked this up to friends. Other options were good but not like the donuts. Bring em back!!!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The fried lobster is my favorite and the mimosas with pineapple juice

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food. No wait. A little pricy, but good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 7, 2017

great food and service. the weather was ideal for outdoor eating.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Get the fried chicken! Food is great. Service goes from OK to great - it depends on the day- but it is never poor. Beer list is a little limited, but it's a Wine bar, so that make sense :-). Great spot for getting together with friends hanging out.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Our second visit to MWD. We came back because the the food is so good. Unfortunately, we had a waitress who, because of her failure to provide service, kinda ruined the experience this time. She forgot some of the things that we had ordered; she TOTALLY IGNORED US after she turned in order, and she sat at the back of the bar chatting with a co- worker until our order was ready to be delivered to the table. In the future, when they ask "where would you like to sit" - I will say "at any table that is not in Sara's section.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Killer cocktails. Killer fried chicken (allegedly).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Patty our server was awesome. Great food and excellent service. Will definitely be returning our next visit to Houston!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Our first visit to Max's Wine Dive. We were very impressed. The pot roast was the best I've ever had! (Sorry Mom!). Anxious to back and sample other dishes!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Our food came out cold and tasteless. The chicken I was told was supposed to be their signature dish was not cooked well. I was expecting some well battered fried chicken, but it was plain and wasn't worth the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 28, 2017

I have been to both locations, and this location was disappointing. The food took way too long to come out, and most of it was only lukewarm when it arrived. The temperature in the restaurant was extremely cold and we were the only ones in the place. We asked multiple times to have the temperature raised, but it never was. The food itself tasted blander than at the other location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This place is incredible! We had brunch and the service was impeccable! Thank you Jacob! Best fried chicken I've ever had. A few standout dishes were the Honey Butter Benedict, the biscuits and gravy and the Southern Fried Chicken platter. The executive chef, Shay, even brought out our entrees and made sure we had everything we needed! We loved the mimosa options and decided to pick a bottle and get a variety of juices to make our own. Shout out to Kim for making sure we had an unforgettable brunch at Max's!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, People Watching, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Not impressed with food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Birthday lunch with my girlfriend who lives in the neighborhood. We walked over and the place was pretty sedate, with only a couple of tables in use. Both of us got dishes that involved fried chicken and we were beyond happy with them, accompanied by a couple glasses of wine apiece in a charming easy place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great brunch, great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

It took over 15 minutes for us to get service. I've been here before many times. I don't know if it was because o was wearing my MAGA shirt. But we've never had such bad service. We even notice other patrons getting service before us ;(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We frequent MWD on Washington St. often and when we couldn't get a reservation, decided on this location. It was a huge disappointment. The menu was different and the friendly service that we receive at the other location was absent here. The fried chicken was barely lukewarm and the chicken fried steak was tough and lacked flavor. The server was not concerned about our dissatisfaction and was not very attentive as he never came back to refill our drinks. This has only been my second visit to this location and I definitely won't be going back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The waiter was terrible I was disappointed 15 min to even get acknowledged and only came back when food showed up and of course the check. I was disappointed I love Max's in Austin. Also very noisy hard to hear people talk even next to you.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I have to say I am sooooo disappointed with ALL of the Max's chain. I wanted to like this particular location b/c of the patio, but we had problem after problem.
A fly flew into my drink and the waiter said they have an "at risk" notice for patio diners. So if you sit outside...you better keep your hand over your wine Or just be willing to drink the protein that flys into your drink. The waiter was nice enough to fix the problem for free without us asking b/c he had failed to mention the policy ahead of time which was redeeming. Great job.
However, when our food arrived I was served the wrong thing (salad) so they took it back and about 10min later (my business lunch colleague almost done with his food) brought the salad I ordered and had just transferred the grilled shrimp from the other salad. Since it had been over 10 min at this point the shrimp had died in the window (so to speak) and were cold. AND not to mention it was an extra $9.00 for the shrimp. This is were it gets good.....There were only THREE shrimp on the plate!!!
Soooooo you mean I paid $3.00 Per shrimp = $9.00 and you still served them to me cold. WOW.

I can forgive a lot of things. But $3.00 per shrimp is crazy especially when served cold and the "at risk" policy is just funny. Great way to turn people away.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.