About MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Fairview St.

214 Fairview St., Ste. 2
Houston, TX 77006
View Larger Map

At MAX’s Wine Dive it’s all about the EXPERIENCE. We’re passionate about food and wine - just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Wine Bar, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 10AM – 12AM
Monday: 11AM – 12AM
Tuesday – Thursday: 11AM – 12AM
Friday: 11AM – 2AM
Saturday: 10AM - 2AM

*Lunch served Monday - Friday, 11AM - 3PM
*Brunch served Saturday – Sunday, 10AM – 3PM.

Cross Street:
Taft St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 528-9200

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/houston-214-fairview-st/contact/

Catering:
Love the food at MAX’s Wine Dive and planning a special event? Why not have the best of both? MAX’s Wine Dive can cater all kinds of private and corporate events. Let our experienced staff do the work and create the perfect birthday, reunion, rehearsal dinner, graduation, wedding reception, corporate outing, happy hour, charity event…the list goes on and on! For more information, email us, infoHOU2@maxswinedive.com.

Executive Chef:
Shay Prigmore

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:00AM - 1:00AM 4:00PM - 11:00PM

Mon - Thu 12:00AM - 12:00AM 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 11:00PM

Fri 12:00AM - 12:00AM 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Sat 12:00AM - 1:00AM 4:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Love the food at MAX’s Wine Dive restaurant and wine bar and planning a special event? Why not have the best of both? We can cater all kinds of private and corporate events. Let our experienced staff do the work and create the perfect event!

MAX's Wine Dive Houston - Fairview St. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Casual (17)
See All
Great for Brunch (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Cozy (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Fun (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
People Watching (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Authentic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Romantic (3)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Healthy (2)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Scenic View (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I have eaten at Max's 4 or 5 times and love it. They play good background music and their foot is excellent...especially their signature fried chicken!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Cozy. Had good time with friends. I had the chicken and waffle. The chicken was great. The waffle seemed to be slightly undercooked. The Max and Cheese was great! I had a small sample. I want to go back and try that!

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Each time we eat here the level of service and quality surpasses the last time. We have always had a good experience here with the food service and wine list.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Everything is always great when I go here.... never any complaints

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The Chef was so amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great laid back atmosphere, ambiance and vibe. Service was excellent from the moment we valet to the time we paid. Food was delicious, would highly recommended the Famous Southern fried chicken.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was ok not what other reviews hyped it up to be.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I normally love having the classic fried chicken meal, but this time the chicken was very dry and the toast crumbly. This didn't happen the other times I ate there. So I was a bit disappointed when I brought a friend there for the first time, after giving the place much hype.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love this place, the food is always great & the service was great as well!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Freezing inside ! AC way too cold!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Overall this place is great. Always good service, tasty food, and reasonable price. The ambience is good too, not too loud, but not quiet. I recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I have been here before, or this review would have been a lot more negative. My boyfriend & myself had reservations for the Saturday evening before the Super Bowl. Had it not been for this, the horribly slow service would have been enough to make sure I didn't go back again. Even with reservations, we were not seated until 45 minutes past the time reserved! And ONLY because we opted for bar seating as our table was endlessly "still not ready". Once sat, the wait time for service was almost unbearable. When we finally did get our food, it was great (as usual). Staff was obviously in the weeds. Hopefully next time will be better.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I love Max's! This is not my first visit here, and I keep coming back whenever I am in town! The service is great, the food is awesome, and the environment is great! Its open late, which is also good to know.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Terrific place for a boisterous, fun night out in surroundings that will wow your senses. The signature dishes such as the fried chicken , four cheese macaroni and the ultimate hamburger made with top quality meats live up to their well deserved top tier reputations! The only draw back that made me hesitate to give it five stars was the tasteless dry and over priced rocky road brownie. Overall superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always a great go to for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Sorry but not nearly as good as it used to be. The lobster risotto were three tiny balls of fried rice and a bit of lobster meat. Expensive and underwhelming. My wife like the fried chicken and my dad thought the pork loin was OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

It was great! Please keep the apple cinnamon French toast. It's amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Service was great! It wasn't extremely packed like the Washington location usually is. Food was awesome. Will definitely visit this location again soon!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was terrible. They used to be really good but I guess they just don't care anymore. Waiter said we are not the only table when voicing concerns. Rude. Manager said she would comp meals then requested half. I didn't even ask for anything free so why renig on what you advised originally

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Max's is a fun place with the BEST servers. Where else can you start brunch with a bottle of champagne and little carafes of orange and pomegranate juices. The fried chicken is super yummy, and my new favorite is the jalapeño cheese grits...those are legendary!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

I normally go to the Washington location but was talked into this one. I orders bacon that was undercooked. The bacon was translucent. I had scrambled eggs that were old, cold, and a dark yellow color. I ordered chicken and the grease was leaking in the plate. When I order French toast as a side item I was Given the French toast with the apple slice which is fine but that was not what I ordered and the menu for side items did not specify that it would be on my French toast. The waitress was aware that I was not happy with my food and only changed the French toast. I am not a confrontational individual so I simply paid for my meal and left but I will not be coming back to this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The fried chicken with mashed potatoes and collard greens was awesome!

Tags: Cozy, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I had the bison burger and it was very good. The wife had the fish and chips and it was just ok. They had not dried the fish before frying and the batter fell off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I had the fried chicken which was good as well as the mashed potatos. I didn't care for the greens. I could not believe the resturant did not have patron nor pineapple juice! The group I was with enjoyed their food.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Max's changed their business model and their menus. It used to be one of my favorite brunch places, but with the changes in July 2015, we decided to find a new location. After six months, we decided to try it again and are now re-committing to finding a new go-to brunch spot.

If you weren't committed to the old menu, the dining room is still lively, and the service is friendly. All of the menus are now the same, so it doesn't matter which location you prefer.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food, great soundtrack. Drinks were amazing. If you are lucky enough to get Jacob as your waiter, you will love the experience. Highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our first time visiting was much better than the second visit as far as the food is concerned. Food tasted much more fresh and hot the first visit....the second not so much! The chicken was tough seeming to be day(s) old....just chewing and chewing! Our food was not hot either. Which was surprising being that we had an early reservation and it wasn't crowded. Our waitress was friendly as with our first visit. The music they play is the best. We will give it another shot.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food! Everything was delicious. The waitstaff were friendly and attentive. We had a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food with a good menu variety without an overwhelming selection. Classic American items with a contemporary twist. Casual, comfortable setting but not grungy. Service is OK though our waiter was not familiar with basic bar drink requests and the beer selection was very limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My niece had been begging me to try the fried lobster which I always get and rave about. She was not disappointed. As always it was a good size portion and delicious!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Made a reservation for 7 at the Fairview location which I had not been to before. I was very pleased with the location, food and service. If you are looking for that relaxed, local and just darn good food, you can't go wrong with Max's Wine Dive!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Usually one of my favorite restaurants and I wanted to introduce my brother to it. The service was not as good as previous visits. Waitress tried rushing us even though place was just half full. She got order wrong even after 2 reminders. Wife's meal arrived 10 minutes after everyone else. No compensation was offered. Ordered fried chicken and it was served in 5 minutes. So was obviously precooked this time. Greens were underseasoned and luke warm. Probably time to look for another favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 23, 2016

They forgot about our entree & had to ask about it. It was cold & had the wrong side. We would have sent it back but had another place to be. They did bring the correct side which was hot. Our drinks were comp'ed without asking. I was a bit disappointed because I love Max's food & it would have been so much more enjoyable had it been hot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our server was fantastic, food was great and speedy and a very pleasant atmosphere and experience for my Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This is a different Max's location than the Washington St. venue we'd been to previously. Both are pretty much the same. My wife had the lobster pot pie and I had the fried chicken. Both were pretty good for comfort food. The service was credible, but the atmosphere is typical bar. We arrived on time for our reservation and checked in, but someone reported us to Open Table as a no show. It took a couple of days with Open Table for them to override Max's incorrect input and give us the 1000 points that had been promised. Max's needs to train people better - although it could be something more devious like trying to avoid the points. That may put us off going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We came for happy hour and ended up staying for dinner with the Fried Chicken Anniversary special. We had a lovely server named Rachel and just an overall wonderful time.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Max wine dive is a very nice place it's just that I tried to order like 3 things on the menu and the server kept saying they was out. Are they didn't have something to use to make something. It was just a big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

One of our favourite spots in Houston. Great fried chicken and wine! Staff is very friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We wanted a nice place for dinner after a day outing and found it here. Small nice place for a dinner after an active day. The Christmas Music was loud which made it hard for a conversation. Food was good. Seems a larger group's order was entered before ours and it took a it longer for our order. Service was very good and attnetive otherwise

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 9, 2016

My daughter found this Gem...Wonderful Fried Chicken and service was genuine and comfortable... we will be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Casual, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We LOVE Max's and our waitress was great! She took care of our large party and everything was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Had the lobster pot pie. It has a phenomenal taste but the veggies in the filling are a little too al dente. Otherwise, great place! We're still regulars!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Love brunch here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The new menu changes at Fairview (wings and donuts) doesn't make it more appealing to choose Max's. By far one of our favorites. Removing the half-wall did open it up more but you lost something also by doing that. I think each location having it's own unique menu and style was a plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The food was great and the customer service was excellent. I would definitely recommend anyone to try them out if they'e never been and they like good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Everything was great EXCEPT for the older gentleman with NO SHIRT allowed to eat on the patio... And with a parrot!! I do believe the no shirt situation is a health code violation! When I inquired, I was told he's a regular! He walked through the restaurant with NO SHIRT! I really don't care who he is or how often he frequents the restaurant... THIS SHOULD NOT BE ALLOWED!!! Oh... I had reservations for the patio but ate inside due to this 'situation'!! The food and service were both great!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was really good!!! Love the atmosphere!!! Will definitely go back!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Max's is fantastic. We took advantage of their 10th anniversary fried chicken and champagne specials. Major bang for our buck! That's what we order every time, but this time is was nearly half price!

Tags: Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Fried Chicken definitely good specially with the deal for the 10th anniversary. Special price on bubblies also helped. Server was great though the maître d was a little harried though pleasant enough. We were late for our reservation but they did accommodate us.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.