About MAX's Wine Dive Dallas - McKinney Ave.

3600 McKinney Ave., Ste. 100
Dallas, TX 75204
View Larger Map

At MAX's Wine Dive it's all about the EXPERIENCE.

We're passionate about food and wine – just like you! We pride ourselves on bringing you gourmet comfort food made from the highest-quality local ingredients in an exciting and unique atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday*: 10AM-10PM (brunch 10AM-3PM; dinner 4PM-10PM)
Monday-Thursday: 4PM-11PM
Friday: 4PM-12AM
Saturday*: 10AM-12AM (brunch 10AM-3PM; dinner 4PM-12AM)


*Kitchen closed from 3-4PM, regular beverage service still available.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 559-3483

Website:
http://www.maxswinedive.com/dallas/index.php

Catering:
Please email eventsdallas@maxswinedive.com for more information.

Parking Details:
In addition to valet, MAX's Wine Dive has access to a 4 level parking garage that directly connects to the restaurant.

Public Transit:
MAX's Wine Dive is directly in front of the Uptown Trolley (McKinney Ave), on the Dallas Transit bus stop (Lemmon & McKinney) and is walking distance (approx 2 blocks) from the Dallas Rapid Transit Authority.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Looking to host an event? Email eventsdallas@maxswinedive.com for more details on MAX’s Wine Dive private event spaces, or give us a call at 214-559-3483 to create the most talked-about event of the year (in a good way of course)!

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 12:00AM - 12:00AM 4:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Thu 11:00AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 11:00PM

Fri 4:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 11:45PM

Sat 12:00AM - 12:00AM 4:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 11:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

MAX's Wine Dive Dallas features a beautiful private event space which can seat 40-50 and accommodate 60+ standing guests, not to mention a fantastic patio that's perfect for an alfresco gathering.

MAX's Wine Dive Dallas - McKinney Ave. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

3.7

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (37)
Great for Brunch (30)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Casual (23)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Fun (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Happy Hour (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Cozy (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Romantic (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Authentic (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Family Style (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Private Room (6)
Scenic View (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Live Sports (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
People Watching (4)
Business Meals (3)
Spicy (3)
Historic (3)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
912 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Kesha was our server she was amazing! The food is amazing as always and we just love being around Max's staff!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Love it here. The food is the best

I enjoy myself every time

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, service was a little slow but they were moderately busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The hostess was incredibly rude, and our food arrived after the table next to us- even though we arrived before them, and the server did not check on us in a regular basis. If it weren't for the Groupon, I would not have eaten there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The chicken and waffles were incredible! Fast service too!

Tags: Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

I enjoyed my date at Max! The chicken was delicious and the wine. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 19, 2017

I do not recommend Max's for any couple wanting to have a dinner for just the two of them. The tables are about 8 inches apart so you are hearing multiple conversations at once. I got the burger and it had no flavor, my girlfriend got the fried chicken and asked for only chicken breast and they brought her order wrong even though I paid the extra $5 for the request. All in all I was not impressed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on February 19, 2017

Hostess gave little attention to the fact that we announced our reservation and continued to find seating for walk-ins, while we waited. Then, when our table was prepared, the server sat another party at it, only to be told by the hostess that the table was intended for us, and REMOVED that party. How awkward. Later asked the hostess for a spoon. She return with a spoon that had a wet sauce on the entire back of it. Asked for grits; received potatoes. Ordered a burger to go. Took over 30 minutes to prepare and package.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great experience. We enjoyed the fried chicken dinner. Delicious! Will definitely return and invite friends to drop by.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on February 18, 2017

It was our first visit and it was a great experience. The Hostess was awesome, the server for our table had a large party so she took care of us. We don't drink liquor and because of the name I just wasn't sure if I would like the place. But I will return. Thumbs up.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 18, 2017

The service was great. The food was delicious. The staff were very friendly. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 18, 2017

Went with my family for my birthday. Was excited to try something new. Food was excellent! But the service was very slow. It was a Friday night, by the restaurant was not busy at all and we had to call our waitress over every time we wanted another glass of wine. The wine menu is eh and very expensive for options offered. Overall, we had a good time but not sure I'll be running back.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for a Valentine special evening. Tried the house wines, Oysters and Brie Puff Pastry.

Serving staff was great and the mood was divine. Will be back for more.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for early Valentine's Day dinner (6pm). Had reservation and was promptly seated. Wait staff was very friendly and attentive. Had Shrimp and Grits and their famous fried chicken. Both were Delish!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had the best time celebrating Valentine's Day. The service was great!. Our server was very knowledgeable and was on point in delivering our food. We started with the pork belly! OMG, I had never had it before and I am so glad it was here. It was so tender and the glaze was delicious!. Next came our meals. I order the shrimp stuffed lobster tail. It was delicious. My husband had the steak and it was cooked perfectly. Dessert was the chocolate mousse and chocolate torte to end the experience on a high. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Private Room, Cozy, Good for Groups, Casual, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was good but I had called in ahead of time and ordered 2 kids waffle meals. The employee advised that it would be no problem. When I got there no order had been placed, there were no more waffles and I had 2 sad grandchildren. Then I ordered grill chicken for the children since the server stated it was not spicy, but it was. Not a great experience today. 😕😕😕

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

I haven't made it a point tho come back for a while, but in glad I did. It appears their have been a few menu changes and for the good! It was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was great!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

We arrived at the time of our reservation and were told there would be a wait since we wanted booth/low table seating. However there wasn't a crowd and seats were available. Our food came out less than five minutes from placing our order. The chicken was hot but the waffle was cold like it has been sitting. We had three different servers. The service was bad. The food was mediocre. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

When we arrived we walked in to the welcome table to see not 1 but 4 employees and not one greeted us. We stood for 5 minutes and they asked if someone could help us with our reservations. After being seated it was amazing. Our waitress was friendly and offer suggestions on the menu and everything was delightful. 10 stars for the waitress, customer service was exceptional!!! Try the watermelon mimosas you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

The fried chicken is so good and the jalapeño gravy is the best gravy I've ever tasted. Plus you can make a brunch reservation so no longer waits here. Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food is very good but the service was spotty and slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

I don't like that you can only order wings during brunch. Do people only eat wings at brunch?

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was good, not great. The service was pretty bad. The place was not busy at all, and it took 15 minutes or more to get drinks. And even then, we had to flag down bus-boys and a manager to get one round of drinks and some water refills. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food is exceptional!! Service sucked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

 
·Dined on February 10, 2017

The chicken was wayyyy too salty and the service was a little sloppy. Mac and cheese was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was great. Service was atrocious. Not enough wait staff to take care of the customers. While the music selections were good the volume was too loud and had to shout over the music to be heard.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great Place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Tamekia was an excellent waitress very attentive and fast. I ordered the chicken dinner. The food was delicious, the chicken was juicy but the skin (my favorite part) was to tough to eat on all my 3 pieces. It had lots of flavor. The greens were good and I loved the honey chipotle sauce. Overall it was good and I would like to try other menu options.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Was my first time restaurant very nice only thing that had me disappointed we order chicken wings and feathers was left on the chicken.. I order soft scramble egg they were hard... I will give it another chance.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Worst service I have had. Food took over an hour to come out for party of 2. Server seemed new and brought dirty glasses to the table. People who has arrived much later than us received their food before we did (and they ordered the same dishes). Won't be back. And it was really expensive for what you get. Way better places in uptown for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food! Friendly staff! Relaxing atmosphere! Definitely will be visiting again!

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

We have visited several times before. This was the worst ever. We had a reservation. We were not greeted when we walked in. The employees just kept discussing whatever it was they were talking about. Next, we were told that our table was ready and were led to a dirty table. We had to go back and wait for it to be cleaned. Once seated, with no table settings, we waited over ten minutes without being acknowledged. Even then, we had to flag down our server who told us that she didn't see us sitting there. We're not invisible so I don't know why she didn't. Another guy came over and took our order while our server waited on another table that she did see. We then waited another 20-25 minutes with no food. The table next to us, who had arrived 10 minutes after we did, got their food before we did. I had to get up and go find the guy who took our order in order to find our food. When it arrived, we still did not have any utensils. Our server only showed up twice to apologize for the poor service. She was the reason why it was poor. She did absolutely nothing to help us. If I had not already purchased a gift certificate there is no way that I would ever go back to this horrible place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had visited Max's in Houston and had a wonderful experience. This, unfortunately, was not the same. The dark meat fried chicken was delicious, but the breast was so dry it was difficult to cut, much less eat. The grits were good and the greens were average. The burger and fries were delicious, but there are lots of places in Dallas where you can get a good upscale burger and fries. The wine was overpriced for the selection and the service was non-existent. The music was good, but so loud one couldn't have a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

Love the food here, but was sorely disappointed with the service during this visit. Took us roughly 15 minutes to get our drinks after placing our order, and had to get up to receive assistance at one point. If it wasn't for the fact I've had good visits here in the past, I would not return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

With the word "wine" in the title, there is obviously not a children's menu. But, everything was delicious!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

My friends and I decided to brunch and watch the game at Max's!! The chicken and waffles were pretty popular and the wings were sold out. So we actually got breast and waffles which was even better!! I Broke my mimosa glass and some got in my meal!! The waiters quickly replaced both the meal and drink hassle free!! Always been a loyal customer bc of intangibles such as these!! Not to mention their chicken and waffles are second to none!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

Love it here go all the time the atmosphere is amazing ! Order your food get it right away ! Reservations are always on point

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

We went for date night and had a 7:30 reservation. We were greeted and sat quickly, but then left there without a server for too long. Once we had one, which was not really a waiter (he was more of a manager type), we ordered a bottle of wine and then waited forever to order food. Once it finally arrived, it tasted okay, but was nothing special. We finished our wine and were ready to leave and had to flag someone down to get our check. The manager looking guys was nowhere to be found. The service was the worst part. The food was okay, but nothing special. The prices are relatively high. I had a "cheeseburger", which is a hamburger plus $3 for the cheese and it was almost 20 bucks. The wine was $55, the fried chicken was $22. I expect to pay about a hundred bucks for a night out like this, but I also expect to have staff take care of us. We didn't need anything special, just a little attention. Also, unless you are into fried food and red meat, there is literally nothing else to eat here.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

Worse place I have ever been to in Dallas don't go. The service was the worst, waiting for drinks, for food, for checks, received wrong check. Overall bad experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

This place has now became place I will be returning thanks

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

The fried chicken and collard greens are almost as good my moms. :) great food and good atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

Went on a Friday night after giving a gift card. Had their signature fried chicken and beef marrow app. Food was good, but not remarkable. Uptown $$$ prices for slightly reimagined soul food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on January 20, 2017

The mac n cheese was creamy and delicious and would recommend! Wish I was there for their great happy hour deals:(

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 19, 2017

Food was pretty good but service was not. The waiter was not good at all. I ordered mac and cheese and when it was brought to the table, it was cold. I sent it back and I was finished my dinner before it was brought back out. No apology or anything. Ugh!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was wonderful but the service was awful! We sat for about 15 minutes without anyone taking a drink order from us so the gentleman that was hosting noticed and came to take our drink and food order. We didn't have a server acknowledge my fiancé or I until right before our food was brought to us. I will only be coming back for to go orders, will never done in again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

The Fried Lobster was to die for! The food is prepared with great seasoning.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food. Great service. Highly recommend.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

I wasn't sure what to expect based on some of the reviews but I was excited about the GF fried chicken option so we decided to give them a try. We had the Pork Belly appetizer and Fried Chicken entree. Both were so amazing. Service was great and the manager was present throughout the evening checking on folks. Two thumbs up from us... we'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Love this place everything is always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.